PDA

View Full Version : Sandro Mamukelashvili



Zagceo
02-16-2017, 12:48 AM
Rivals has Zags offer on the table

rivals reliable?

https://n.rivals.com/content/prospects/182980

we have 0 available scholarships?

http://www.verbalcommits.com/schools/gonzaga

jazzdelmar
02-16-2017, 02:22 AM
A project?

CanadianZagFan
02-16-2017, 04:20 AM
A project?

He looks legit to me. Very mobile, good passer, good ball handler, good shooter, and nice foot work....all at 6'10"

See this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXyLPDYY_9E

JPtheBeasta
02-16-2017, 04:34 AM
The last name is Zag material, but does he have a beard?

Bogozags
02-16-2017, 04:40 AM
This young man has skills, similar to Title...needs a few pounds and to learn how to defend but has intangibles...6 '10", looks to pass and can shoot from outside the lane...doesn't seem like a re-bounder but there are few like DS that have a knack to go outside their immediate area to rebound...he would be a very good get and probably a three year player for GU...

jazzdelmar
02-16-2017, 04:56 AM
Maybe but not exactly being chased by bluebloods

TexasZagFan
02-16-2017, 05:01 AM
Maybe but not exactly being chased by bluebloods

Perfect!

If anyone can turn a 3-star into an NBA prospect, it's us.

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 06:09 AM
Maybe but not exactly being chased by bluebloods

Neither was Ammo.

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 06:10 AM
By the name it sounds like he's from Georgia. The country not the state. Tiblisi, not Atlanta.

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 06:14 AM
He looks legit to me. Very mobile, good passer, good ball handler, good shooter, and nice foot work....all at 6'10"

See this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXyLPDYY_9E

That pump fake, drive and reverse layup at 1:20 was sweet! This kid looks legit and he's at a powerhouse school. Tommy working his euro connections once again. me likey!

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 06:16 AM
A project?

Not by his school and highlights.

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 06:17 AM
Rivals has Zags offer on the table

rivals reliable?

https://n.rivals.com/content/prospects/182980

we have 0 available scholarships?

http://www.verbalcommits.com/schools/gonzaga

Shem and Jordan are gone, Corey and Jesse have their schollies. If NWG and ZC leave, we'll have two. This kid is a stretch 4 so makes sense.

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 06:19 AM
Maybe but not exactly being chased by bluebloods

Uh, did you not look at the link in the op? He's got an offer from Louisville and Maryland. Plus BC, Miami, Pitt, Seton hall, SMU, Vandy and us.

https://n.rivals.com/content/prospects/182980

WallaWallaZag
02-16-2017, 06:24 AM
Shem and Jordan are gone, Corey and Jesse have their schollies. If NWG and ZC leave, we'll have two. This kid is a stretch 4 so makes sense.

already have tillie...so would prefer a more physical specimen...

ZagsObserver
02-16-2017, 06:29 AM
Verbalcommits has him as a 2 star, rivals a 3. Stars don't mean everything, but there is a correlation. Color me surprised.

Zagceo
02-16-2017, 06:45 AM
Title is a little deceiving....nothing new to the informed but letting uninformed know

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/15/gonzagas-zach-collins-puts-nba-draft-chatter-on-ho/

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 06:48 AM
Title is a little deceiving....nothing new to the informed but letting uninformed know

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/15/gonzagas-zach-collins-puts-nba-draft-chatter-on-ho/

Maybe edit your title to, "new offer out on 2017 pf". I had no idea about this guy, but am now really excited.

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 06:50 AM
Three star on Scout. Says us and Vandy are in the lead!

http://www.scout.com/player/210293-sandro-mamukelashvili?s=75

Oh and I forgot to mention regarding schollies, if Edwards does leave as a grad transfer, as some have speculated, that opens a spot as well.

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 06:52 AM
already have tillie...so would prefer a more physical specimen...

Tillie is a beast on the boards and like Sabonis goes after rebounds out of position, he just has a really good all around game. This guy seems like more of a prototypical euro stretch four, but he did have some nice blocks and dunks in the video.

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 07:00 AM
Good article about him:

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1691640-european-prospect-emerges-at-nike-skills

It sure sounds like he sees himself as a 3 more than a stretch four:

“Everybody calls me a big guy, but I don’t like playing like a big guy,” he said. “I like passing the ball. I like grabbing rebounds and pushing in transition and finding guys. I like shooting threes and getting to the rim. My favorite thing is to get an assist.”

Zag_Dad
02-16-2017, 07:00 AM
Three star on Scout. Says us and Vandy are in the lead!

http://www.scout.com/player/210293-sandro-mamukelashvili?s=75

Oh and I forgot to mention regarding schollies, if Edwards does leave as a grad transfer, as some have speculated, that opens a spot as well.

I don't think there's much chance Edwards leaves Gonzaga. Students who know him report that he's happy to be part of the team, receive a free education and has dreams that don't include playing basketball. I can't say any of this information is more than just campus gossip but it seems consistent with what we have seen from Edwards over the past couple seasons.

hockeyzag
02-16-2017, 07:00 AM
Maybe but not exactly being chased by bluebloods

Time to check the prescription on your glasses there Jazz.

Offer list includes Louisville, Maryland, Miami, Pitt, Seton Hall, SMU, and Vandy. With interest from Villanova, UConn, Florida, and Indiana.

Zagceo
02-16-2017, 07:04 AM
“Everybody calls me a big guy, but I don’t like playing like a big guy,” he said. “I like passing the ball. I like grabbing rebounds and pushing in transition and finding guys. I like shooting threes and getting to the rim. My favorite thing is to get an assist.”

little backstory

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1691640-european-prospect-emerges-at-nike-skills

WallaWallaZag
02-16-2017, 07:04 AM
Tillie is a beast on the boards and like Sabonis goes after rebounds out of position, he just has a really good all around game. This guy seems like more of a prototypical euro stretch four, but he did have some nice blocks and dunks in the video.

tillie needs probably another 20 pounds before he can be considered to guard a mika or landale...

jazzdelmar
02-16-2017, 07:06 AM
Verbalcommits has him as a 2 star, rivals a 3. Stars don't mean everything, but there is a correlation. Color me surprised.

Like I said a project.

jazzdelmar
02-16-2017, 07:07 AM
Time to check the prescription on your glasses there Jazz.

Offer list includes Louisville, Maryland, Miami, Pitt, Seton Hall, SMU, and Vandy. With interest from Villanova, UConn, Florida, and Indiana.

Only one bb in that list and Ricky offers everybody, as we know. Interest means squat.

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 07:08 AM
Only one bb in that list and Ricky offers everybody, as we know.

Man, I know being the resident curmudgeon is your "shtick" but you come across as such a miserable person sometimes. It's tiresome.

jazzdelmar
02-16-2017, 07:09 AM
Time to check the prescription on your glasses there Jazz.

Offer list includes Louisville, Maryland, Miami, Pitt, Seton Hall, SMU, and Vandy. With interest from Villanova, UConn, Florida, and Indiana.

GU is #1 and should be shooting higher. Not your fathers Zags anymore boys.

jazzdelmar
02-16-2017, 07:10 AM
Man, I know being the resident curmudgeon is your "shtick" but you come across as such a miserable person sometimes. It's tiresome.

Look in the mirror.

thespywhozaggedme
02-16-2017, 07:11 AM
tillie needs probably another 20 pounds before he can be considered to guard a mika or landale...

Those guys are centers, Tillie is a pf.

WallaWallaZag
02-16-2017, 07:23 AM
Those guys are centers, Tillie is a pf.

who might have to guard those guys if collins takes off...which is why i want a physical specimen, not another stretch 4

jazzdelmar
02-16-2017, 07:35 AM
Man, I know being the resident curmudgeon is your "shtick" but you come across as such a miserable person sometimes. It's tiresome.

So you'd be OK replacing a McD AA freshman with a 2 star?

kitzbuel
02-16-2017, 07:42 AM
Monninghoff?

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

ZagsObserver
02-16-2017, 07:52 AM
Monninghoff?

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

That was my thinking as well. Right after tommy hit some home runs, Few gave him the reigns and the resulting, mostly foreign, class almost ruined GUs tourney streaks. Few took a more active role after that debacle and the Zags stabilized and rose to new heights. This feels like a repeat.

GoZags
02-16-2017, 07:56 AM
That was my thinking as well. Right after tommy hit some home runs, Few gave him the reigns and the resulting, mostly foreign, class almost ruined GUs tourney streaks. Few took a more active role after that debacle and the Zags stabilized and rose to new heights. This feels like a repeat.

Not quite correct.

Few delegated recruiting to his staff (not just Tommy). I think some of Ray's "misses" were what really led to Few re-engaging. (Keegan Hyland anyone?)

As for this kid .... I would pay zero attention to what a Rivals.com or Scout.com recruiting service says. As Tommy so eloquently pointed out a few years ago, they know less than 5 percent of what's going on.

ZagsObserver
02-16-2017, 07:59 AM
Not quite correct.

Few delegated recruiting to his staff (not just Tommy). I think some of Ray's "misses" were what really led to Few re-engaging. (Keegan Hyland anyone?)

As for this kid .... I would pay zero attention to what a Rivals.com or Scout.com recruiting service says. As Tommy so eloquently pointed out a few years ago, they know less than 5 percent of what's going on.

Thanks for the correction. Good clarification.

Zagceo
02-16-2017, 07:59 AM
Not quite correct.

Few delegated recruiting to his staff (not just Tommy). I think some of Ray's "misses" were what really led to Few re-engaging. (Keegan Hyland anyone?)

As for this kid .... I would pay zero attention to what a Rivals.com or Scout.com recruiting service says. As Tommy so eloquently pointed out a few years ago, they know less than 5 percent of what's going on.

answer is ........unreliable

thx GZ

willandi
02-16-2017, 08:13 AM
Do the Zags REALLY want another 6'10"+ that can rebound, pass, shoot the 3 and wants to play team ball? I mean, how many bigs do they really want?

And by Blue Bloods, do you mean teams that make the NCAA every year and almost always equal or pass their seeding, or do you mean a bunch of stuffy old schools that rely on home cooking, both in placement and calls?

hockeyzag
02-16-2017, 08:14 AM
Man, I know being the resident curmudgeon is your "shtick" but you come across as such a miserable person sometimes. It's tiresome.

I could not agree more.

ZagMan in Philly
02-16-2017, 08:27 AM
Monninghoff?

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

Please NO.

ZagsObserver
02-16-2017, 08:45 AM
Please NO.

For what it's worth, he was better than Keita.

Worthington
02-16-2017, 08:56 AM
Kid has some game, but from what I've seen I would pass. Time to start reeling in some Jonathan Williams type bigs on a regular basis. I know that's easier said than done, but those are the kind of players that will keep the program at this level.

maynard g krebs
02-16-2017, 09:14 AM
Verbalcommits has him as a 2 star, rivals a 3. Stars don't mean everything, but there is a correlation. Color me surprised.

A lot of times those things aren't up to date.

In the next video that comes up on youtube following the linked one, playing at Montverde, he looks noticeably stronger. Guessing in the Euro vid he's probably 16.

Not a project at all. You can tell from 5 min of video that he can pass, shoot, handle the ball, good feel for the game.

SWZag
02-16-2017, 09:46 AM
24/7 Sports (http://gonzaga.247sports.com/Season/2017-Basketball/Recruits?Page=2) - Lists him as a 4-Star

Rivals: Mamukelashvili breaks down favorites (https://basketballrecruiting.rivals.com/news/mamukelashvili-breaks-down-favorites) - posted yesterday. More information at link, but no mention of GU.


Maryland: “I think it is a great spot for me. They develop their players really well. If I go there, they will get me ready for the next level. They have a great name and great history. Coach (Mark) Turgeon is a great coach; he knows how to use players and develop them.”

Vanderbilt: “They have been on me a lot. I have a great relationship with the coaches. They are straight up with me telling me what I did good and what I did bad. They are telling me a lot of good stuff with how I could play the point-forward, which I want to do.”

USC: “It is a great spot. It is a little hard to be in California, but they have great coaches, great teammates and they have a lot of good commitments. If I add to them, we would have a great team and we would battle for the Final Four.”

Marcus
02-16-2017, 09:50 AM
His linked video reminded me of Kelly Olynyk in his High School videos. Moves well, really skinny, nice touch and good court vision, decent ball handler and not really playing inside too much.

Goshzagit
02-16-2017, 11:03 AM
Wont happen but great to see us recruiting the southeast!

Just note his comments on all the schools outside his region.

Not going west coast, but love the fact we are developing another pipeline.

JPtheBeasta
02-16-2017, 11:34 AM
I don't know the guy, but mentions of wanting to be a "point forward" would raise some red flags with me and I would want to vet that out. That could equate to being a selfless team-first player you dream of, or the person who thinks he needs the ball in his hands all of the time that you have nightmares about.

jazzdelmar
02-16-2017, 12:27 PM
24/7 Sports (http://gonzaga.247sports.com/Season/2017-Basketball/Recruits?Page=2) - Lists him as a 4-Star

Rivals: Mamukelashvili breaks down favorites (https://basketballrecruiting.rivals.com/news/mamukelashvili-breaks-down-favorites) - posted yesterday. More information at link, but no mention of GU.

Not sure what kind of player he is, but he has a flair for superlatives. Actually they sound scripted. Loves everybody, everything except California.

jimmycarter
02-16-2017, 12:37 PM
Offers from Louisville and Maryland are nothing to sneeze at.
And haven't we reached a point as a program that when Tommy says, "Hey, we found this Euro big that we like", we just shut-up and smile?

jvrady
02-16-2017, 12:57 PM
I liked his frame and he was able to play above the rim. What I liked in the video was how comfortable he was using his right hand for a left handed jump shooter. In both video's he showed he would drive to his right. He also showed he would use it for tip-ins, layups, and blocks. Could make him a tough cover on defense with the ability to go either way or pull up from range.

NathanVC
02-18-2017, 03:29 PM
Hello, this is Nathan from Verbal Commits.

Sandro is now listed as a 3* on VC. We are having errors with Rivals profiles on our site, but the Scout page is now linked and shows that he a 3*.

ProVeeZag
02-18-2017, 03:39 PM
The last name is Zag material, but does he have a beard?

With a name like Mamukelashvili, he could probably grow one in about 36 hours!

Birddog
02-18-2017, 06:08 PM
With a name like Mamukelashvili

Heister is having nightmares!

TexasZagFan
02-18-2017, 06:13 PM
Heister is having nightmares!

Nah, he'll just call him Sandro.

JPtheBeasta
02-18-2017, 06:15 PM
With a name like Mamukelashvili, he could probably grow one in about 36 hours!

Good call :]