PDA

View Full Version : The Monday AP / Coaches' Poll Thread



former1dog
02-13-2017, 08:33 AM
http://collegebasketball.ap.org/poll/2017/15?utm_campaign=SocialFlow&utm_source=Twitter&utm_medium=AP_Top25

TexasZagFan
02-13-2017, 08:48 AM
St. Mary's drops two slots to 22.

RenoZag
02-13-2017, 09:08 AM
http://www.collegepolltracker.com/basketball/team/gu2/2016

60 first place votes.

Seth Davis has Kentucky ranked 19th. He's still waving the Villanova banner with his first place choice. . .

TexasZagFan
02-13-2017, 09:25 AM
http://www.collegepolltracker.com/basketball/team/gu2/2016

60 first place votes.

Seth Davis has Kentucky ranked 19th. He's still waving the Villanova banner with his first place choice. . .

This year's Kentucky squad clearly has not bought in to Cal's coaching. These kids are unfocused, and looking ahead to the NBA draft. We lucked out with Zach, as opposed to the 5 stars that are fading out there.

ZagsGoZags
02-13-2017, 09:32 AM
at least Graham Grouch [yes this is the correct spelling for him]
voted us second instead of fifth or something this time,
watching him give us any credit is like watching a mountain decompose ...

former1dog
02-13-2017, 09:34 AM
Number one in both polls.

http://m.espn.com/ncb/rankings?pollId=2

ZagMan in Philly
02-13-2017, 10:32 AM
at least Graham Grouch [yes this is the correct spelling for him]
voted us second instead of fifth or something this time,
watching him give us any credit is like watching a mountain decompose ...

I hope we can win him over after Zags win it all, Seth as well LOL.

ProVeeZag
02-13-2017, 10:41 AM
I see that Vermont received a vote for Top 25. I guess that 3-point win over UMBC was enough to flip a voter. (BTW, it took some digging, but UMBC stands for Univ of Maryland-Baltimore County. The "Retrievers" are in the America East conference.

Zagceo
02-13-2017, 10:57 AM
I see that Vermont received a vote for Top 25. I guess that 3-point win over UMBC was enough to flip a voter. (BTW, it took some digging, but UMBC stands for Univ of Maryland-Baltimore County. The "Retrievers" are in the America East conference.

http://www.umbcretrievers.com/fan_zone/traditions/grit.jpg?max_height=333&max_width=250

MontanaCoyote
02-13-2017, 11:02 AM
SMC loses to Gonzaga, rises 1 spot in RPI

seacatfan
02-13-2017, 11:14 AM
Vermont is 23-5 and 13-0 in league, although no real quality wins. Pretty nice record though.

Xavier finally fell out of the polls, but Butler still hanging on somehow.

Zags_Fanatic
02-13-2017, 11:17 AM
I hope we can win him over after Zags win it all, Seth as well LOL.

Can't totally argue with Seth's reasoning, he clarified it in an article this morning. Any other year Nova would be a clearcut #1, their resume is pretty fantastic.


You might be surprised I am wondering this considering I am one of just six AP voters who did not have Gonzaga as my No. 1 team last week. But there are different questions to be addressed. There’s the question of whether the Zags should be No. 1 in the polls. Then there’s the separate question of whether they deserve a No. 1 seed, and potentially the No. 1 overall seed, in the NCAA tournament.

Then, there’s the only question that matters to The Wonderer: Can they win the whole thing?

Most people are saying yes to the first two questions yet giving a resounding no on the third. I am of the opposing view. No, I don’t have the Zags at the top of my ballot, but I am increasingly convinced that Gonzaga is a short-list favorite to win the national championship.

No, the Zags have never made the Final Four, but that means nothing. They have bona fide NBA talent, not just in junior point guard Nigel Williams-Goss and senior center Przemek Karnowski, but also with backup center, freshman Zach Collins. This is the only team in the country that checks all the boxes: They have a stud point guard (check), a bevy of three-point shooters (check), a classic back-to-the-basket five man (check), and a couple of stretch fours (check). They’re athletic (check), committed defensively (check), have a great coach (check) and oodles of experience (check).

The main reason to denigrate their chances at a title is their conference. I think this is a fair concern, not because it means they are fraudulent but because I worry that this league will not properly prepare the Zags for the mental stress of March.


Still, every team has concerns. If Gonzaga were in the ACC or the Big 12, would they be undefeated right now? Doubtful. Yet, I also doubt there are many teams who would be undefeated to this point while playing Gonzaga’s schedule. Even the metrics confirm this: Gonzaga is ranked No. 1 on kenpom.com, No. 4 on KPISports.net and No. 5 in the RPI. Rank them or seed them wherever you want. But I would warn you not to bet too much against them come tourney time.

Mantua
02-13-2017, 12:05 PM
Can't totally argue with Seth's reasoning, he clarified it in an article this morning. Any other year Nova would be a clearcut #1, their resume is pretty fantastic.

Keep in mind that Seth Davis was a sports reporter for the campus newspaper while he was an undergraduate at Duke.

RenoZag
02-20-2017, 08:52 AM
Week 16 Rankings Out: http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/rankings

Villanova and Kansas also getting 1st place votes. St. Mary's at # 20. Iowa State is receiving enough votes to be #28.

The usual suspects in the AP poll have GU # 2 or # 3: http://www.collegepolltracker.com/basketball/team/gu2/2016

In the USA Today Coaches Poll, GU received 29 of 32 first place votes; other three went to the defending national champs.

gonzagafan62
02-20-2017, 08:56 AM
Nobody can convince me that Kansas deserves a first place vote

PeninsulaDog
02-20-2017, 09:05 AM
Look who displaced Gonzaga at the top of the futures list: http://www.vegasinsider.com/college-basketball/odds/futures/
:vomit-smiley-007:

gonzagafan62
02-20-2017, 09:07 AM
Look who displaced Gonzaga at the top of the futures list: http://www.vegasinsider.com/college-basketball/odds/futures/
:vomit-smiley-007:

Our buddies from Washington are 2500/1 and at the end of the column

TexasZagFan
02-20-2017, 09:08 AM
Week 16 Rankings Out: http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/rankings

Villanova and Kansas also getting 1st place votes. St. Mary's at # 20. Iowa State is receiving enough votes to be #28.

The usual suspects have GU # 2 or # 3: http://www.collegepolltracker.com/basketball/team/gu2/2016

Couch has Northwestern at 16, Maryland ahead of Wisconsin (after Wisky beat UM last night), and Louisville at 3, ahead of Kansas.

RenoZag
02-20-2017, 09:09 AM
Look who displaced Gonzaga at the top of the futures list: http://www.vegasinsider.com/college-basketball/odds/futures/
:vomit-smiley-007:

If UNC knocks off L'ville and Pitt this week, do you think they'll move to the top of that list, Peninsula ?

PeninsulaDog
02-20-2017, 09:25 AM
I'm afraid Duke is pulling it together at just the right time -- as usual. Maybe Grayson Allen will have another meltdown. BTW, am I the only one who thinks Allen is a ringer for George McFly:

http://www.top10films.co.uk/img/george_savesday.jpg

http://fikklefame.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/Grayson-Allen-520x325.jpg

MBAGael
02-20-2017, 09:33 AM
St. Mary's drops two slots to 22.

We rose to 20 AP and 18 coaches.

gonzagafan62
02-20-2017, 09:39 AM
We rose to 20 AP and 18 coaches.

Sorry MBA. That was dated 2-13

RenoZag
02-20-2017, 09:47 AM
I'm afraid Duke is pulling it together at just the right time -- as usual. Maybe Grayson Allen will have another meltdown. BTW, am I the only one who thinks Allen is a ringer for George McFly:

http://www.top10films.co.uk/img/george_savesday.jpg

http://fikklefame.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/Grayson-Allen-520x325.jpg

:clap:

jpn17
02-20-2017, 09:48 AM
Nobody can convince me that Kansas deserves a first place vote

Agreed, they were not impressive at all against Baylor, Baylor was just slightly more unimpressive. I came away from that game saying "these are two of the top 4 teams in the country?"

jpn17
02-20-2017, 09:52 AM
I'm afraid Duke is pulling it together at just the right time -- as usual. Maybe Grayson Allen will have another meltdown. BTW, am I the only one who thinks Allen is a ringer for George McFly:

http://www.top10films.co.uk/img/george_savesday.jpg

http://fikklefame.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/Grayson-Allen-520x325.jpg

I really want Gonzaga to play Duke this year. I'd love to see Allen get in a hissy trying to find an open shot against Mathews or Melson.

Zagsker
02-20-2017, 10:38 AM
Nobody can convince me that Kansas deserves a first place vote


What if a pastrami on rye was thrown in there? Would that help convince ya?

gonzagafan62
02-20-2017, 10:44 AM
What if a pastrami on rye was thrown in there? Would that help convince ya?

Yes. I'm hungry