PDA

View Full Version : Monday Morning Hype:



gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 05:42 AM
http://www.fanragsports.com/cbb/rothstein-files-gonzaga-passed-eye-test/

Mods feel free to add slivers of the piece if you would like. I Gonzagafan62 encourage it.

Thanks

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 05:47 AM
http://collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2017/02/13/college-basketball-talk-top-25-it-is-time-for-you-to-be-on-board-with-gonzaga

NBC is on board too

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 05:49 AM
Gary Parrish Podcast

Discussing how the media got it wrong with Gonzaga

http://www.cbssports.com/college-basketball/news/podcast-discussing-how-the-selection-committee-got-it-wrong-with-gonzaga/

Starts immediately

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 05:51 AM
Also Rothsteins Top 25:

http://www.fanragsports.com/cbb/rothsteins-top-25-pac-12-shines-top/

I'm sure more will come

FroZAG
02-13-2017, 06:03 AM
And the books
Sportsbook.ag

Gonzaga 8/1
Duke 9/1
Kansas 9/1
North Carolina 10/1
Villanova 10/1
UCLA 11/1
UK 12/1
etc...

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 06:07 AM
And the books
Sportsbook.ag

Gonzaga 8/1
Duke 9/1
Kansas 9/1
North Carolina 10/1
Villanova 10/1
UCLA 11/1
UK 12/1
etc...

Just heard on Parrish's podcast that this is the first time the professional gamblers are disagreeing with public that "Gonzaga is overrated"

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 06:11 AM
Jeff Goodman Power Rankings:

Duke back in the title race in new power rankings Video via @ESPN App http://es.pn/2kZTZU4

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 06:42 AM
https://www.google.com/amp/www.sportingnews.com/amp/ncaa-basketball/news/this-is-the-year-gonzaga-proves-doubters-wrong/12bzn1r4nioqd17i8c9k9f7k7r?client=safari

Sporting News:

This is the year Gonzaga proves the doubters wrong

Zagceo
02-13-2017, 06:42 AM
Last night ESPN wonder which book they pull from

http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag58/Corey_Olson/IMG_5123_zpsvfriq37x.jpg

Zagceo
02-13-2017, 06:44 AM
http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag58/Corey_Olson/IMG_5125_zpsmrppw5jj.png

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 08:08 AM
Gonzaga : Are we all sleeping on them?

Article by Seth Davis http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/02/13/hoop-thoughts-burning-questions-gonzaga-villanova-kansas

gonstu
02-13-2017, 08:24 AM
Gonzaga : Are we all sleeping on them?

Article by Seth Davis http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2017/02/13/hoop-thoughts-burning-questions-gonzaga-villanova-kansas

Seth's question should be: "Am I sleeping on them?" because most clearly are not at this point. Getting more and more difficult to find snubs and disrespect out there - at least from media.

TexasZagFan
02-13-2017, 08:25 AM
Must be a lot of people lurking today, a couple of threads this morning are pushing 500 views, despite very few replies. I love it!!!

strikenowhere
02-13-2017, 08:39 AM
Last night ESPN wonder which book they pull from

http://i1298.photobucket.com/albums/ag58/Corey_Olson/IMG_5123_zpsvfriq37x.jpg

UCLA 7-1? They go up against a team with a decent defense and they'll be screwed.

Ballguy
02-13-2017, 08:45 AM
Must be a lot of people lurking today, a couple of threads this morning are pushing 500 views, despite very few replies. I love it!!!

We're all busy reading! :drool:

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 09:14 AM
Andy Katz and Seth Greenberg have a podcast out. Starts immediately with GU. Can't geta link though

Ezag
02-13-2017, 09:14 AM
Bracketology: Weak schedules hurting Kentucky, UCLA and Gonzaga

http://www.cbssports.com/college-basketball/news/bracketology-weak-schedules-hurting-kentucky-ucla-and-gonzaga/

TheZagPhish
02-13-2017, 09:19 AM
Andy Katz and Seth Greenberg have a podcast out. Starts immediately with GU. Can't geta link though

http://www.espn.com/espnradio/play?id=18677276

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 09:33 AM
STL radio station talking zags. Boy it's some rough hate lol

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 09:33 AM
http://www.espn.com/espnradio/play?id=18677276

Thanks Phish

Birddog
02-13-2017, 09:46 AM
Greenberg said that the only weakness he could see, and he said it's a small point, is the Zags lack of a 6'5"/6'6" small forward. Other than that, he thought the Zags had it all. He also waxed on about how tight and cohesive the team was as a group. He said just the way they carry themselves is a notch above. He said Karno was truly a mountain of a man.

TexasZagFan
02-13-2017, 09:52 AM
Greenberg said that the only weakness he could see, and he said it's a small point, is the Zags lack of a 6'5"/6'6" small forward. Other than that, he thought the Zags had it all. He also waxed on about how tight and cohesive the team was as a group. He said just the way they carry themselves is a notch above. He said Karno was truly a mountain of a man.

Nothing, absolutely nothing fazes this team. Biggest game of the year, NWG out with two early fouls, Karno leaves with an ankle ailment. Tie game turns into 15 point Zag lead, in our closest rival's house. Bring on those neutral court games...lol.

Flash back a couple of months, to Nashville. Tennessee's making a game of it, 13000+ fans are screaming...Zags hit 16 of 17 FT's in the last 5-6 minutes. Our young Mr. Collins goes 4-4, nothing but net.

I'm sure hoping that Jordan gets it turned on in the Dance. He can be a huge factor early in the game, when we're forcing the tempo. It can be a real punch in the gut to get a few early 3's, before the first TV timeout.

CDC84
02-13-2017, 12:52 PM
My response to Seth Greenberg's concern would be Silas Melson. He's a legit 6-4 and is a terrific athlete and defender. Even if a wing has a few inches on him, he can be disruptive enough to keep the guy from going off big time, which is really all that Gonzaga needs. I mean, Gary Bell was, what, 6-1 or 6-2? And he was able to shut down Tyler Haws who was four inches taller than him. I'm surprised that Seth didn't mention Silas as at least an option.

But as Greenberg says, every team has got weaknesses. It's about who is best at disguising their weaknesses.

LongIslandZagFan
02-13-2017, 01:03 PM
Best part of that segment was Greenberg's description of the team. Gym rats... every last one of them. Working on stuff on their own when the coaches just want to get them out of the hotel.

ZagNative
02-13-2017, 03:52 PM
Thanks so much to everyone who contributed to this thread. I especially enjoyed the podcasts from Gary Parish and Andy Katz and Seth Greenburg.

gonzagafan62
02-13-2017, 04:33 PM
Thanks so much to everyone who contributed to this thread. I especially enjoyed the podcasts from Gary Parish and Andy Katz and Seth Greenburg.

You're welcome ZN. Have a good evening.

RenoZag
02-13-2017, 06:29 PM
Thanks so much to everyone who contributed to this thread. I especially enjoyed the podcasts from Gary Parish and Andy Katz and Seth Greenburg.

Yes indeedy. I muted Dickie V and listened to Coach G instead. . .

As more of the national media types weigh in on the Zags, I have the impression those guys are really pulling for "Fewie." There was an article ( Feinstein ? ) linked on this MBB where Gary Williams called Few " a great coach." When the Zags faced Coach K two seasons ago, he was also very complimentary of Few and the GU program. Izzo and Bill Self have also had positive things to say, as did Arizona's Sean Miller.

I'm just a knucklehead Zag grad living vicariously through the drama and excitement of this season ( and every season, for that matter ). Should the Zags make a deep, deep run, I'll be happy for the players, for the fans, and for my alma mater. But I think I'll feel the happiest for Mark Few. I think he's paid his dues and deserves to get the skeptics off his backside.

$0.02

23dpg
02-13-2017, 07:56 PM
Listened to the espn podcast. Good Zag stuff.

The interview with the head of the selection committee was a bit discouraging. He made it clear that rpi was still the only metric being used. Good wins on the road count the most but bad losses don't seem to matter much.
Most perplexing was how he said listening to all of the new metrics folks (for next year) left the committee more confused than before. This is why the selection should not be done by ADs but true basketball people!

Spike94
02-13-2017, 08:35 PM
I'm so sick and tired of listening to this crap. They will use whatever metric they want to get the result they want. We are not only a #1 seed, but we are THE #1 seed. No doubt. But, they don't want that, and RPI proves it for them so that is what they will use. Season after season the RPI as been proven faulty and can be rigged. And yet, this is what is used THIS year as opposed to last year. Beautiful system. Crap is what it is. 4th #1 at this point is a joke. That means with one loss we would be a #2. After beating 2 first place teams from Power 5 conferences, that is just crap. Ok rant over. Good night.

Martin Centre Mad Man
02-14-2017, 04:05 AM
Listened to the espn podcast. Good Zag stuff.

The interview with the head of the selection committee was a bit discouraging. He made it clear that rpi was still the only metric being used. Good wins on the road count the most but bad losses don't seem to matter much.
Most perplexing was how he said listening to all of the new metrics folks (for next year) left the committee more confused than before. This is why the selection should not be done by ADs but true basketball people!

RPI is a metric that skews in favor of power conferences. I can't see them dropping it entirely.

75% of the score is calculated using the strength of schedule metric. A team's actual winning percentage is only a quarter of the formula. This is why great mid-majors who win lots of games tend to fare better with other metrics.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rating_Percentage_Index