PDA

View Full Version : GU-SMC post game media



Section 116
02-11-2017, 07:33 PM
http://collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2017/02/11/no-1-gonzaga-remains-undefeated-with-impressive-win-at-no-20-saint-marys/
Dauster goofed in #4, he means SMC obviously!

http://www.midmajormadness.com/2017/2/11/14588844/gonzaga-bulldogs-defeat-saint-marys-gaels-zags-undefeated-26-and-0-przemek-karnowski-jock-landale

http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2017/2/11/14589296/gonzaga-saint-marys-basketball-game-recap

http://www.foxsports.com/college-basketball/story/no-1-gonzaga-beats-no-20-saint-mary-s-74-64-021117?cmpid=feed:-sports-CQ-RSS-Feed

TheZagPhish
02-11-2017, 08:34 PM
Steve Kroner, SF Chronicle

No. 1 Gonzaga proves too much for No. 20 St. Mary’s (http://www.sfgate.com/collegesports/article/No-1-Gonzaga-proves-too-much-for-No-20-St-10926290.php)


“They haven’t had a team that’s been this dominant,” said Bennett, who is in his 16th season with the Gaels. “I think we have a pretty good team. There are some other teams in our league that are pretty good.

“They haven’t been challenged yet.”

With this amazing AP photo by Ben Margot in there:

http://ww3.hdnux.com/photos/57/11/04/12357942/3/920x920.jpg

Section 116
02-11-2017, 08:39 PM
From the Gaels board compliments of MBAGael, post game Gael player and coach quotes:

http://www.smcgaels.com/ViewArticle.dbml?SPSID=101615&SPID=12536&DB_LANG=C&DB_OEM_ID=21400&ATCLID=211470902

ProVeeZag
02-11-2017, 08:47 PM
From the Gaels board compliments of MBAGael, post game Gael player and coach quotes:

http://www.smcgaels.com/ViewArticle.dbml?SPSID=101615&SPID=12536&DB_LANG=C&DB_OEM_ID=21400&ATCLID=211470902

Thanks for posting!

TheZagPhish
02-11-2017, 08:58 PM
Al Saracevic, SF Chronicle

St. Mary’s spotlight dimmed by loss to Gonzaga (http://www.sfchronicle.com/sports/article/St-Mary-s-spotlight-dimmed-by-loss-to-Gonzaga-10926285.php)


No. 24 had his way inside against St. Mary’s, finishing the first half shooting seven-for-eight from the field, and adding a free throw. Every time the Gaels got close, Karnowski stood in the doorway and slammed it shut. With his big, bushy beard and burly physique, he looked like a full-grown man playing in a high school game. The Gaels’ center, and best player, Jock Landale was giving up 50 pounds, easy.

ZagsGoZags
02-11-2017, 09:22 PM
here are a couple more:

http://www.oregonlive.com/collegebasketball/index.ssf/2017/02/gonzaga_bulldogs_vs_saint_mary_1.html

The Bulldogs were seeded fourth overall in preliminary rankings for the NCAA tournament released earlier Saturday and can ill afford a slip-up if they want to be assured of being a top seed in a region next month.






http://collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2017/02/11/no-1-gonzaga-remains-undefeated-with-impressive-win-at-no-20-saint-marys/

3. Yes, Gonzaga can win it all: I feel like I shouldn’t have to say this at this point, but I do. That’s what happens when you play Yes, Gonzaga can will it all.

gonzagafan62
02-11-2017, 10:17 PM
Spokesman : ESPN Loves Gonzaga, and it shows with flare

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/11/tv-take-espn-loves-gonzaga-and-shows-it-with-flare/

TheZagPhish
02-11-2017, 10:50 PM
Parrish: No. 1 Gonzaga passes final test with ease, rolls to 26-0; any questions? (http://www.cbssports.com/college-basketball/news/no-1-gonzaga-passes-final-test-with-ease-rolls-to-26-0-any-questions/)


What if I told you before tip-off that Nigel Williams-Goss would miss 10-plus minutes of the first half because of foul trouble and that Przemek Karnowski would leave temporarily with an ankle issue? You would've probably thought Saint Mary's would've been in a good spot, right? If so, you would've been wrong. Because despite both of those things happening, Gonzaga was up 40-31 at the half. And that was the best sign that the Zags were going to remain undefeated. They were fine at SMC with two key players watching.

TheZagPhish
02-11-2017, 11:04 PM
Medcalf: Gonzaga's message to their doubters after big win: We don't care (http://www.espn.com/blog/collegebasketballnation/post/_/id/117695/gonzagas-message-to-the-haters-after-big-win-we-dont-care)


“It doesn’t matter,” said Gonzaga senior center Przemek Karnowski, who finished with 19 points and nine rebounds. “I have my teammates. I have my coaches. And that’s all that matters. We work hard in little Spokane, Washington. We come to work every day. We try to get better every week. And that’s all that matters. Doesn’t matter what other people say. We had challenges this year. We met every challenge that was put in front of us, and that’s how we need to respond.”

BayAreaZagFan
02-11-2017, 11:07 PM
Al Saracevic, SF Chronicle

St. Mary’s spotlight dimmed by loss to Gonzaga (http://www.sfchronicle.com/sports/article/St-Mary-s-spotlight-dimmed-by-loss-to-Gonzaga-10926285.php)

"But come Sunday morning, that title goes to Spokane, Wash. — where America’s No. 1 college basketball team resides."

I like the sound of that.

MDABE80
02-12-2017, 12:09 AM
The Dagger comments:
http://sports.yahoo.com/news/gonzaga-responds-with-big-road-win-after-selection-committees-snub-042825445.html

CDC84
02-12-2017, 01:01 AM
Because the article was published AFTER the game, I think it fits...although it mainly addresses how Gonzaga was screwed by the NCAA committee in their sweet 16 preview bracket:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/ncaa-tournament-2017-march-madness-cbs-bracket-preview-gonzaga-big-ten-villanova-kansas-baylor/6kfh903kn80i10a2q6445mgf2


Perhaps this is most notable in regards to Gonzaga. To reach 25-0 in a season is impressive. To make it all the way through a conference season and a conference tournament with a perfect record is one of the rarest achievements in the sport. If Gonzaga were to do that, along with non-conference wins over Florida and Iowa State and Arizona — none of them at home — perhaps the committee members would be more impressed.

However, they should have been impressed enough with the Zags’ work to date to make them the overall No. 1.

None of the three teams ranked ahead of them — overall No. 1 Villanova, then Kansas, followed by Baylor — has accomplished enough to trump a perfect record with several high-quality victims.

A simple breakdown:

— Gonzaga’s perfect records includes three wins against the Ratings Percentage Index Top 25, three more against teams ranked 26-50.
— Villanova is 4-1 against the top 25, 3-0 against 26-50. Villanova also has a loss outside the top 50.
— Kansas is 3-0 against the RPI top 25, 5-2 against 26-50. Kansas lost to a team outside the top 50.
— Baylor is 3-1 against the top 25, 7-2 against 26-50.

Hollis indicated these were clearly the four No. 1 seeds at this point. “None of the twos are really in the conversation on the 1 line,” he said. That certainly makes sense. But there’s nothing other than big-conference preference to indicate the latter three should be ranked above Gonzaga

Zagger
02-12-2017, 03:03 AM
Al Saracevic, SF Chronicle

St. Mary’s spotlight dimmed by loss to Gonzaga (http://www.sfchronicle.com/sports/article/St-Mary-s-spotlight-dimmed-by-loss-to-Gonzaga-10926285.php)

I liked that story - pretty well written showing a deserved respect for both teams.

I like the WCC. It's got character and spirited teams. To me it is college basketball at its most --- enjoyable/entertaining and even nerve wracking. Good fun.

kitzbuel
02-12-2017, 04:20 AM
Meehan on Melson

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/11/silas-melson-comes-through-again-for-gonzaga-again/

gonstu
02-12-2017, 05:42 AM
From the Gaels board compliments of MBAGael, post game Gael player and coach quotes:

http://www.smcgaels.com/ViewArticle.dbml?SPSID=101615&SPID=12536&DB_LANG=C&DB_OEM_ID=21400&ATCLID=211470902

Thanks for posting. Lots of respect from the gaels to the zags.

TexasZagFan
02-12-2017, 06:32 AM
Thanks for posting. Lots of respect from the gaels to the zags.

Pretty funny poster from yesterday: Zags #1 Ranking is an Alternative Fact

FuManShoes
02-12-2017, 06:37 AM
More Sporting News
http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/this-is-the-year-gonzaga-proves-doubters-wrong/12bzn1r4nioqd17i8c9k9f7k7r


Bracket fans may be tempted to balk at selecting Gonzaga to make a long run again this year, but just remember everyone said the same thing about Villanova until it cut down the nets last April.

ZagNative
02-12-2017, 06:53 AM
San Jose Mercury News (http://www.mercurynews.com/2017/02/11/gonzaga-stays-perfect-in-74-64-victory-over-saint-marys/), with a pretty good photo album.

And another piece, by Jon Wilner of the same Mercury News (http://www.mercurynews.com/2017/02/11/college-hotline-gonzaga-handles-saint-marys-remains-unbeaten-and-looks-like-a-final-four-contender/) ,,,

bballbeachbum
02-12-2017, 07:37 AM
Pretty funny poster from yesterday: Zags #1 Ranking is an Alternative Fact

:lmao:

ZagNative
02-12-2017, 07:40 AM
Blanchette in the Spokesman-Review (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/11/blanchette-committee-gave-gonzaga-pat-on-back-befo/)

TexasZagFan
02-12-2017, 07:46 AM
San Jose Mercury News (http://www.mercurynews.com/2017/02/11/gonzaga-stays-perfect-in-74-64-victory-over-saint-marys/), with a pretty good photo album.

And another piece, by Jon Wilner of the same Mercury News (http://www.mercurynews.com/2017/02/11/college-hotline-gonzaga-handles-saint-marys-remains-unbeaten-and-looks-like-a-final-four-contender/) ,,,

Wilner's teeth must have been grinding as he wrote this.

Zagger
02-12-2017, 08:09 AM
San Jose Mercury News (http://www.mercurynews.com/2017/02/11/gonzaga-stays-perfect-in-74-64-victory-over-saint-marys/), with a pretty good photo album.

And another piece, by Jon Wilner of the same Mercury News (http://www.mercurynews.com/2017/02/11/college-hotline-gonzaga-handles-saint-marys-remains-unbeaten-and-looks-like-a-final-four-contender/) ,,,

Like this photo - to me it shows focus, interest, concentration, respect, concern ...... being in the moment.

http://www.mercurynews.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/sjm-smcbkc-0212-10.jpg?w=620

bballbeachbum
02-12-2017, 08:21 AM
Blanchette in the Spokesman-Review (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/11/blanchette-committee-gave-gonzaga-pat-on-back-befo/)

Blanchette, on target as usual

RenoZag
02-12-2017, 08:31 AM
Thanks to all for rounding up a great assortment of stories. Have a great day

hooter73
02-12-2017, 08:42 AM
I know its too much to ask for a replay, but if anyone comes across a highlight video, well I guess thats something...

Marcus
02-12-2017, 08:47 AM
I know its too much to ask for a replay, but if anyone comes across a highlight video, well I guess thats something...

https://youtu.be/1xDUYzPAdN8

Here you go.

MontanaCoyote
02-12-2017, 09:17 AM
Al Saracevic, SF Chronicle

St. Mary’s spotlight dimmed by loss to Gonzaga (http://www.sfchronicle.com/sports/article/St-Mary-s-spotlight-dimmed-by-loss-to-Gonzaga-10926285.php)

Oh, Yeah!

Zagceo
02-12-2017, 09:18 AM
Everything is little when you're Przemek


“It doesn’t matter,” said Gonzaga senior center Przemek Karnowski (http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/player/_/id/62585/przemek-karnowski), who finished with 19 points and nine rebounds. “I have my teammates. I have my coaches. And that’s all that matters. We work hard in little Spokane, Washington. We come to work every day. We try to get better every week. And that’s all that matters. Doesn’t matter what other people say. We had challenges this year. We met every challenge that was put in front of us, and that’s how we need to respond.”

MontanaCoyote
02-12-2017, 09:20 AM
Medcalf: Gonzaga's message to their doubters after big win: We don't care (http://www.espn.com/blog/collegebasketballnation/post/_/id/117695/gonzagas-message-to-the-haters-after-big-win-we-dont-care)

Perfect! One smart "kid."

MontanaCoyote
02-12-2017, 10:07 AM
Perfect! One smart "kid."

Want to follow up on this a bit.

Karno will play pro ball, but after that (way deep down) I would just love to see him come back to Gonzaga in a coaching or public relations capacity. In my eyes he's just too good to lose.

I have absolutely no idea if he'd want to do that. He has his long term future to consider, the well being of his family and love of his country to fold into any decisions he makes.

So maybe I'm just hopin' and dreamin'. All I know for sure is that I'm really going to miss him when he's gone and that that time is (too) fast approaching.

Soak in all the Karno you can, friends. You never really know what you have till it's gone!

rennis
02-12-2017, 10:19 AM
I know its too much to ask for a replay, but if anyone comes across a highlight video, well I guess thats something...

Blanchettes piece had a highlight vid in the body


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

RenoZag
02-12-2017, 12:10 PM
From The Slipper Still Fits: http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2017/2/12/14589510/10-observations-from-the-saint-marys-game




6. Gonzaga suffered some turnovers trying to manufacture tempo to force the Gaels to play faster. While the Zags only had 9 turnovers for the whole game, it seemed like every one of them was costly and led to an SMC bucket.

7. Gonzaga’s starting backcourt had a pretty bad game. Jordan Mathews and Josh Perkins each played 30 minutes but only combined for 6 points on 1-8 shooting from the field, 4-9 from the free throw line, and 0-5 from distance. While Nigel Williams-Goss did finish with 14 points, even his usual impact was understated.

8. The starting guards may have had a night to forget, but Silas Melson was excellent. He played his usual high-level defense, and provided big baskets that helped stop a few SMC runs. His athleticism bothered SMC’s guards on both ends of the floor, and earned himself a ridiculous 200 offensive rating per KenPom.