PDA

View Full Version : Gonzaga @ St. Mary's : Pre-Game Media



RenoZag
02-10-2017, 08:23 AM
ESPN's Myron Medcalf: http://www.espn.com/blog/collegebasketballnation/post/_/id/117596/weekend-picks-gonzaga-remains-perfect-with-win-at-saint-marys


Saturday’s game is its most difficult test prior to the West Coast Conference tournament. If the Bulldogs beat Saint Mary’s, their chances of ending the regular season and potentially entering the NCAA tournament with an unblemished record will exponentially increase. They’ll also slide into the driver’s seat for the top overall seed on Selection Sunday.

And they’ll enter this matchup with the confidence from the first game, a 79-56 win. In that meeting, Gonzaga’s starters connected on 70 percent of their shots inside the arc, while Saint Mary’s starters made just 34 percent of their 2-pointers. The latter was far off the Gaels’ top-10 clip. But Jock Landale (5-for-11) was the only Saint Mary’s starter who made an offensive impact.

RenoZag
02-10-2017, 08:26 AM
Thoughts on the betting line from ESPN: http://www.espn.com/chalk/insider/story/_/id/18658893/best-bets-gonzaga-saint-marys-kentucky-alabama-other-top-weekend-games-college-basketball


Projected line: Gonzaga -2

Gonzaga not only sits atop nearly every poll and power ranking but also owns one of the nation's best against-the-spread records at (17-4-1 ATS). In 2015, the Zags won 35 games, earned a No. 2 seed and reached the Elite Eight. This year's edition thus far has an even better statistical profile. In the first meeting against Saint Mary's in Spokane, Gonzaga netted 79 points on only 59 possessions. It was one of the better offensive performances of the season by any team in the country, when you consider the competition. The Zags appear destined for a No. 1 seed and there's been plenty of talk of an undefeated regular season. But can the good times continue to roll?

This is a tricky game to handicap, considering Gonzaga has played at a ridiculously high level for the entire season. No team is immune to a letdown and Saturday's contest would serve as a logical time for it to occur. But I'm going to need points with the underdog to step in front of Gonzaga's personnel advantages. Let's see what oddsmakers and the market do with this one. Perhaps we can grab St. Mary's at +3.

Lean: St. Mary's +3 or more

RenoZag
02-10-2017, 08:28 AM
Eamonn Brennan, ESPN: http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/18652643/saint-mary-gaels-road-block-perfect-gonzaga-bulldogs


This is, quite possibly, the best Saint Mary's men's basketball team ever.

The only problem: The same goes for Gonzaga.

What once might have been construed as an uncertain collection of transfers and new faces (plus a big man battling a bad back) now looks like a terrifying, all-devouring juggernaut. It's at once the most talented, deepest, most versatile and just plain all-around best team 18th-year coach Mark Few has ever had in Spokane, and arguably the best in college basketball. Their Saturday visit to McKeon Pavilion (8:15 p.m. ET, ESPN/ESPN App) -- a fixture big enough to attract the College GameDay crew, by the way -- is the last, best chance before March for Gonzaga to lose.

It is, likewise, Saint Mary's best chance (if not their last -- there's always the conference tournament) to satisfy their honor. The first meeting between the two teams on Jan. 14 was a competitive, hard-fought game for 30 minutes. For the remaining 10, it was a disastrous blowout (79-56 Gonzaga). Before the final run(s) arrived, the Zags were already prodding at the Gaels with ruthless savvy. Center Jock Landale -- one of the nation's best and most efficient players, in any league or any level -- found himself in early foul trouble but got back on the floor early in the second half, at which point the Gaels' potent inside-out offensive engine began to spin up. And then Gonzaga ended this brief interlude of competitive basketball by throwing Landale into one ball screen after the next, begging him to overhedge and foul. He promptly complied.

RenoZag
02-10-2017, 08:38 AM
From Sports-reference.com's Gonzaga page: http://www.sports-reference.com/cbb/schools/gonzaga/2017.html

http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x375/RenoZag/Zags%2040min%20stats_zpsmfoxtr9s.jpg (http://s1178.photobucket.com/user/RenoZag/media/Zags%2040min%20stats_zpsmfoxtr9s.jpg.html)

DixieZag
02-10-2017, 09:34 AM
Just a great breakdown of stats, Reno.

Not a BB expert but casual notice:

Might get the ball more to Tillie at the 3pt line, .478 is generally considered pretty good. :) Nice to see Mathews back to about .400. Perkins killin' it.

FT shooting at end of game, we have great options, try to get the ball to Silas, Mathews, Tillie or Zach

TexasZagFan
02-10-2017, 09:48 AM
Just a great breakdown of stats, Reno.

Not a BB expert but casual notice:

Might get the ball more to Tillie at the 3pt line, .478 is generally considered pretty good. :) Nice to see Mathews back to about .400. Perkins killin' it.

FT shooting at end of game, we have great options, try to get the ball to Silas, Mathews, Tillie or Zach

I think you forgot someone, and he's leading the team with a FT% of nearly 88%...lol.

Hard to believe, but Zach Collins has shot nearly 20 more FT's than Nigel, and he's gotten his % back to nearly 80%.

Zagceo
02-10-2017, 09:53 AM
San Jose Mercury News (http://www.mercurynews.com/2017/02/10/no-1-gonzaga-visits-saint-marys-for-all-the-hype-its-not-a-must-win-game-for-the-gaels/)

TexasZagFan
02-10-2017, 09:58 AM
San Jose Mercury News (http://www.mercurynews.com/2017/02/10/no-1-gonzaga-visits-saint-marys-for-all-the-hype-its-not-a-must-win-game-for-the-gaels/)

Although I tend to agree that SMC gets in without beating the Zags, Wilner has never been an admirer of the Zags.

RenoZag
02-10-2017, 12:38 PM
http://www.foxsports.com/college-basketball/story/if-you-dont-think-the-gonzaga-bulldogs-deserve-to-be-no-1-thats-ok-by-them-021017


“We’ve got to take care of the WCC, then the tournament, then Selection Sunday,” Karnowski said. “Take it one day at a time.”

It continues at Saint Mary’s. But Gonzaga’s players also know that the doubts won’t stop until they get to that elusive Final Four and … win the national championship.

“You’ve got to get over the hump,” Williams-Goss said. “And I would like to be part of the group to do it.”

stevet75
02-10-2017, 02:17 PM
Not a bad analysis, but a bad prediction.

http://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/ncaabk/best-of-the-weekend-gonzagas-biggest-test/ar-AAmOrNA?li=BBnba9I

stevet75
02-10-2017, 02:21 PM
Sorry about the misspelling of Gaels, I don't know how to change it.

Zag_Dad
02-10-2017, 02:25 PM
Not a bad analysis, but a bad prediction.

http://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/ncaabk/best-of-the-weekend-gonzagas-biggest-test/ar-AAmOrNA?li=BBnba9I

I don't think much of his analysis. He picks SMC because they beat Gonzaga twice last year? Last year's team is not this year's team. I don't have any heartburn over someone picking SMC to win, just so long as it's based on an intellectual and informed basis. "Last year the Gaels beat a bunch of guys wearing the same jersey as the guys wear this year" just doesn't cut it for me.

DixieZag
02-10-2017, 02:25 PM
I think you forgot someone, and he's leading the team with a FT% of nearly 88%...lol.

Hard to believe, but Zach Collins has shot nearly 20 more FT's than Nigel, and he's gotten his % back to nearly 80%.

I didn't forget, I didn't see it well. He is our main man in just about anything so he is almost presumed. But, thx for pointing it out.

BayAreaZagFan
02-10-2017, 03:12 PM
Current odds -4.5 (it went up 1/2 in the last 5 mins!). Smart money is on the Zags!

ZagNative
02-10-2017, 03:49 PM
Everybody set your DVRs:

8:00 Pacific - College game day on ESPN

9:00 Pacific - March Madness Bracket Preview - CBS Comcast Channel 102

Zagceo
02-10-2017, 03:52 PM
Everybody set your DVRs:

8:00 Pacific - College game day on ESPN

9:00 Pacific - March Madness Bracket Preview - CBS Comcast Channel 102

8:00 AM

����

ZagNative
02-10-2017, 03:58 PM
8:00 AM

����Yup.

RenoZag
02-10-2017, 04:49 PM
The CBS Top 16 Bracket reveal starts at 9:30 am PST, according to the CBS web site:

SAT FEB 11
12:30 PM ET
NCAA March Madness Bracket Preview

and is a 30 minute show.

gonzagafan62
02-10-2017, 04:54 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=MUIq6vVsRI8

Few and Bennett on the big game.

RenoZag
02-10-2017, 06:31 PM
Sporting News' Mike DeCourcy: http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/gonzaga-saint-marys-score-schedule-tv-time-college-basketball-ncaa-tournament-march-madness/1psf8s95or8oc1w06xckjty94b


There is nothing statistically that supports the idea that entering the NCAA Tournament undefeated works against that team’s ambition. Indeed, it has been 41 years since we last had an NCAA champion with a perfect record. Indiana finished the 1975-76 season at 32-0. Did you know it’s been even longer since there was an NCAA champion with one loss?

We’ve had 22 teams enter the NCAAs with a single defeat since David Thompson and NC State knocked off UCLA and Marquette at the 1974 Final Four. Only five of them made the Final Four.

There have been four undefeated teams entering the NCAA Tournament since 1976. Three of them reached the Final Four. If we want to go back to examine the past 10 undefeated teams, we see that six made the Final Four.

willandi
02-10-2017, 06:42 PM
I don't think much of his analysis. He picks SMC because they beat Gonzaga twice last year? Last year's team is not this year's team. I don't have any heartburn over someone picking SMC to win, just so long as it's based on an intellectual and informed basis. "Last year the Gaels beat a bunch of guys wearing the same jersey as the guys wear this year" just doesn't cut it for me.

Based on that, the Zags should have a very competitive football team! Just a few years earlier!

RenoZag
02-10-2017, 06:46 PM
Ken Pomeroy: Gonzaga is Smashing the WCC Harder Than It Usually Does http://kenpom.com/blog/gonzaga-is-smashing-the-wcc-harder-than-it-usually-does/#more-1495


If Gonzaga manages to beat the Gaels, it will not be by 27 points or more so its current average will take a hit. But the Zags will be at least 20-point favorites in three of their last four games after this one, and they’ll be a 15 to a 20-point favorite in the fourth. If you assume they meet projections in each of their remaining games, they’ll finish with an average scoring margin of 25.5. There’s a realistic path for them to beat ’99 Duke’s mark while losing on Saturday.

This run is a commentary on Gonzaga’s strength this season as well as the general weakness of the WCC. That Gonzaga will have four of the top-12 seasons in conference scoring margin over the last 19 years is telling, as well. By the time the NCAA tournament starts, Gonzaga will have likely had seven games against Tier A1 opponents and that will be in the ballpark of the top Pac-12 teams and AAC teams. But it’s that next level of competition that is missing from Gonzaga’s schedule, with possibly just three additional games against Tier B2 foes.

RenoZag
02-10-2017, 07:38 PM
SFGate: Steve Kroner http://www.sfgate.com/collegesports/article/Gonzaga-vs-St-Mary-s-A-very-big-deal-in-10924774.php


“Anytime you play Gonzaga, there’s a lot of hype,” Bennett said after the Gaels’ 51-41 win over Portland on Thursday night. “With them being ranked what they are, and both teams having a good year, just in that alone it would be an extremely hyped game.

“Now you throw in this ‘GameDay’ crew, I have no idea where that takes it.”

Yes, ESPN’s “College GameDay” show makes its first appearance in Moraga on Saturday. The hour-long, nationally broadcast program that begins at 8 a.m. will bring an extra dose of attention to the Gaels, which senior guard Joe Rahon says he and his teammates welcome.

“It’s something that we’re not going to shy away from and try to hide. We’re going to enjoy it,” Rahon said. “We feel like we’ve earned it. … We also know that (‘GameDay’) is probably not coming here unless we’re playing the other team. We know that, and we’re going to have a chip on our shoulder.”

Rahon tries the ol' chip on the shoulder move. . .sneaky.

gonzagafan62
02-10-2017, 07:47 PM
Ken Pomeroy: Gonzaga is Smashing the WCC Harder Than It Usually Does http://kenpom.com/blog/gonzaga-is-smashing-the-wcc-harder-than-it-usually-does/#more-1495

Really like the UNLV part of that discussion. Pretty telling on why conference affiliation means nothing more than a slap in the face to teams that come from said conferences..... UNLV was fine and so will zags

sittingon50
02-10-2017, 08:17 PM
Not a bad analysis, but a bad prediction.

http://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/ncaabk/best-of-the-weekend-gonzagas-biggest-test/ar-AAmOrNA?li=BBnba9I

Zags had an easy win Thurs @ S.F.? I tuned in the wrong channel.

MDABE80
02-10-2017, 08:35 PM
Zags had an easy win Thurs @ S.F.? I tuned in the wrong channel.


FAKE news from MSN! lolol sorry..had to;)

Zagceo
02-10-2017, 09:27 PM
Rahon (http://m.sfgate.com/collegesports/article/Gonzaga-vs-St-Mary-s-A-very-big-deal-in-10924774.php)


. “We don’t get all the glamour,” he said. “We don’t get all the cool facilities that you see when you go on the road, but you come here to win. You come here to play for league championships.

jpn17
02-10-2017, 10:14 PM
Although I tend to agree that SMC gets in without beating the Zags, Wilner has never been an admirer of the Zags.

They should be in, but if SMC does lose this game convincingly, then I think we might start to see some of the talking heads put SMC's resume under a bigger microscope.

ZagaZags
02-11-2017, 12:19 AM
I have seen Gonzaga -4 and -5. I might need to take a drive to Vegas or Laughlin.

http://upw-prod-images.global.ssl.fastly.net/nugget/537e524c10eb8cc6de000011/attachments/money-fb4b002cc65736db7dbb4b6336274694.gif

gonstu
02-11-2017, 05:09 AM
I have seen Gonzaga -4 and -5. I might need to take a drive to Vegas or Laughlin.

http://upw-prod-images.global.ssl.fastly.net/nugget/537e524c10eb8cc6de000011/attachments/money-fb4b002cc65736db7dbb4b6336274694.gif

Yes zaga, i have to say that is pretty tempting

RenoZag
02-11-2017, 05:52 AM
Jim Meehan's Pre-Game Article: http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/10/gonzaga-saint-marys-collide-in-wcc-mens-basketball/


Lloyd may know the Gaels better than anyone not employed on the Saint Mary’s coaching staff. He knows from hours of watching videotape that the Gaels present a unique challenge.

“They’re not super complicated, but they’re so good at executing what they do that you have to find solutions,” he said. “It’s not your standard team. They force you to make decisions, and based on that they usually can counter. A lot of teams don’t have that many tools in their tool box.”

Meehan also wrote a short blurb on match-ups: http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/10/another-battle-of-the-bigs-as-gonzaga-saint-marys-/

Mr. Meehan also recapped some of the recent series history in this short feature: http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/10/gonzaga-men-hold-significant-advantage-over-saint-/


Saturday’s game, featured as the location for ESPN’s GameDay, will be the 94th meeting with the Gaels. The Zags own a 64-29 advantage in the series, having won 10 of the previous 12 matchups.

Head coach Mark Few is 38-9 against the Gaels in his career.

This is the fourth time the teams have faced each other while being ranked in the Associated Press Top 25. Gonzaga has also faced Saint Mary’s seven times while the Gaels have been ranked. Out of those seven games, SMC holds a 4-3 advantage over the Bulldogs.

The last eight West Coast Conference Tournament titles have been won by either Gonzaga or Saint Mary’s. Gonzaga has won six of the last eight WCC championships, including last season when the Bulldogs beat SMC 85-75 to clinch a berth to the NCAA tournament.

RenoZag
02-11-2017, 05:57 AM
The ESPN Game Day Crew fielded questions from other media members. Jim Meehan reports: http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/10/gameday-crew-q-a-as-they-prepare-for-gonzaga-saint/

Crash Williams:


Q: Has Gonzaga been battle tested enough to be prepared for the NCAA tournament?

JW: That’s always a question you’re going to have with the WCC. Look, the Zags’ resume is impeccable … they’ve done a great job in the nonconference. I never really worry about the level they’re able to play, but the only question you always have for both Gonzaga and Saint Mary’s is it feels like the two times they get challenged are when they play each other. When you start thinking about how other teams have to battle through the gauntlet of the playing in the Big 12, SEC, ACC, it almost prepares you for being battle tested because then when you get in the NCAA tournament you’re comfortable being in uncomfortable situations.

Doesn’t mean they can’t do it. You just wonder if that may be the one knock on them going into the NCAA tournament.


SSDD

RenoZag
02-11-2017, 06:00 AM
Rahon (http://m.sfgate.com/collegesports/article/Gonzaga-vs-St-Mary-s-A-very-big-deal-in-10924774.php)

Gaels go to Moraga to play for league championships. Zags go to Spokane to play in the NCAA Tournament. Therein lies the difference.

gonstu
02-11-2017, 07:24 AM
ESPN Game Day: Can we use your gym and campus to talk about Gonzaga in front of your fans? LOL. It's been 25 mins and they haven't talked about SMC yet!

RenoZag
02-11-2017, 07:30 AM
Gonzaga Athletic Dept Press Notes for today's game: http://grfx.cstv.com/photos/schools/gonz/sports/m-baskbl/auto_pdf/2016-17/release/release_20170210aaa.pdf

sittingon50
02-11-2017, 07:38 AM
ESPN Game Day: Can we use your gym and campus to talk about Gonzaga in front of your fans? LOL. It's been 25 mins and they haven't talked about SMC yet!

This.

RenoZag
02-11-2017, 08:09 AM
Williams double-crossed the Gaels fans; had a Zags jersey underneath the SMC jersey. . .also shouted out 'The Zags will be undefeated'. . .Thought the "94 feet with Randy Bennett" segment was kinda lame. . .

Hoopaholic
02-11-2017, 08:12 AM
Disappointed in the crowd size. Maybe 1/3 full

TexasZagFan
02-11-2017, 08:16 AM
Disappointed in the crowd size. Maybe 1/3 full

I cut them a bit of slack, considering they're on spring break. It was pretty loud in there, though.

Zagdawg
02-11-2017, 08:21 AM
https://www.instagram.com/p/BQYRDzPgrsD/

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/C4Zn8JFVcAA4p6o.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/C4Zn8JFVcAA4p6o.jpg.html)

gonzagafan62
02-11-2017, 08:23 AM
Williams double-crossed the Gaels fans; had a Zags jersey underneath the SMC jersey. . .also shouted out 'The Zags will be undefeated'. . .Thought the "94 feet with Randy Bennett" segment was kinda lame. . .

https://mobile.twitter.com/CollegeGameDay/status/830465522777071619/video/1

Here's the clip if anyone wants to watch

Kong-Kool-Aid
02-11-2017, 08:27 AM
I cut them a bit of slack, considering they're on spring break. It was pretty loud in there, though.

Slack? It's the one and only time Gameday will be there and it's a commuter school.

I wonder if the game tonight is even sold out.

rennis
02-11-2017, 08:37 AM
Williams probably wanted to take the Gaels. But he also wanted to be right.