PDA

View Full Version : Gonzaga: Still Number 1



former1dog
02-06-2017, 08:18 AM
Latest AP Poll - They picked up an additional 13 first place votes for a total of 59 versus last week.

http://collegebasketball.ap.org/poll/2017/14?utm_campaign=SocialFlow&utm_source=Twitter&utm_medium=AP_Top25

former1dog
02-06-2017, 08:20 AM
Meanwhile, Saint Mary's drops 2 spots?!?!?

What the hell?

basketballzag
02-06-2017, 08:22 AM
Meanwhile, Saint Mary's drops 2 spots?!?!?

What the hell?



When did we beat Colorado? And why isn't Akron in the Top 25?!!!

https://www.google.com/amp/collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2017/02/06/college-basketball-talk-top-25-gonzaga-moves-into-the-no-1-spot/amp/

former1dog
02-06-2017, 08:23 AM
Florida jumps 7 spots to 17

Iowa State in the 31st spot.

former1dog
02-06-2017, 08:24 AM
Akron lost to Ohio on the weekend, so that likely hurt their chances significantly.

DixieZag
02-06-2017, 08:24 AM
Meanwhile, Saint Mary's drops 2 spots?!?!?

What the hell?

Strange. I thought they'd jump up 2.

See where ESPN and their ratings pick puts them. Given we play on Saturday, wouldn't surprise me to see SMC climb in their poll.

Ezag
02-06-2017, 08:26 AM
SMC's gonna to drop even more after this weekend's loss

former1dog
02-06-2017, 08:27 AM
SMC's gonna to drop even more after this weekend's loss

If we win, but not by double digits, I would say SMC stays the same or moves up.

If we win by double digits, they'll drop.

If we lose, I'll cry. :mecry:

TexasZagFan
02-06-2017, 08:31 AM
Meanwhile, Saint Mary's drops 2 spots?!?!?

What the hell?

Graham Couch (Lansing) did not have them in the top 25. He was one of the six voting for Villanova. Power 5 homer.

jazzdelmar
02-06-2017, 08:42 AM
If we win, but not by double digits, I would say SMC stays the same or moves up.

If we win by double digits, they'll drop.

If we lose, I'll cry. :mecry:

We can only carry the WCC so much......

wiszag
02-06-2017, 08:43 AM
Graham Couch (Lansing) did not have them in the top 25. He was one of the six voting for Villanova. Power 5 homer.

And he had Wisconsin at 17 when they are leading the Big 10 and ranked 7th by everyone else. That's a strange ballot he concocted.

LongIslandZagFan
02-06-2017, 08:44 AM
Graham Couch (Lansing) did not have them in the top 25. He was one of the six voting for Villanova. Power 5 homer.

He has them at 2. Big of him. Data is still coming in. BTW... 2 is the lowest for the Zags. Here are the 6 #2 votes:

Graham Couch
Joe Juliano (Philly guy... so he has Nova... not unexpected there)
Matt McCoy
Scott Wolf
Seth Davis
Soren Petro

LongIslandZagFan
02-06-2017, 08:44 AM
And he had Wisconsin at 17 when they are leading the Big 10 and ranked 7th by everyone else. That's a strange ballot he concocted.

Couch isn't in touch with reality.

ConnZag3
02-06-2017, 08:48 AM
I don't understand how Kansas stays at 3 losing at home to an unranked team. The pollsters must think highly of ISU (which can only further support GU's argument for #1)...

TexasZagFan
02-06-2017, 08:50 AM
He has them at 2. Big of him. Data is still coming in. BTW... 2 is the lowest for the Zags. Here are the 6 #2 votes:

Graham Couch
Joe Juliano (Philly guy... so he has Nova... not unexpected there)
Matt McCoy
Scott Wolf
Seth Davis
Soren Petro

Zags could win the tournament, and Seth Davis would still rank them no higher than #2.

LongIslandZagFan
02-06-2017, 08:52 AM
Zags could win the tournament, and Seth Davis would still rank them no higher than #2.

He'd say their path was easier.

drvenkman05
02-06-2017, 09:11 AM
The history, the tradition, the 2 national championships in the past 65 years (coincidentally, that powerhouse USF has the same number), pay heed, all who enter, beware the Phog, yadda, yadda, yadda. Lots of hype without the results.


I don't understand how Kansas stays at 3 losing at home to an unranked team. The pollsters must think highly of ISU (which can only further support GU's argument for #1)...

gonzagafan62
02-06-2017, 09:17 AM
Zags could win the tournament, and Seth Davis would still rank them no higher than #2.

And if we cured cancer they'd be saying that we didn't do it soon enough

former1dog
02-06-2017, 09:19 AM
Gonzaga maintains the #1 spot in the Coaches Poll

http://sportspolls.usatoday.com/ncaa/basketball-men/polls/coaches-poll/2016/14/

Hoopaholic
02-06-2017, 09:30 AM
Gonzaga maintains the #1 spot in the Coaches Poll

http://sportspolls.usatoday.com/ncaa/basketball-men/polls/coaches-poll/2016/14/

ouch disrespect towards SMC

former1dog
02-06-2017, 10:50 AM
Gonzaga now at the top of ESPN power rankings

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/page/powerrankings170206/college-hoops-power-rankings-watches-big-teams-arizona-kansas-others-fall

Kiddwell
02-06-2017, 11:57 AM
...the pollsters will keep 'em in both Top-25s, IMO, whatever our game's outcome. If they play us tough, lose by a nickel or so, their poll-ranking goes up. If we beat 'em like a sick kangaroo, they'll drop a bit. If they beat us, heaven help us!, Australia will declare the Gaels fight song ("I saw a Croc eat Randy Bennett") the new Aussie National Anthem and stamp a silver coin.



:]

ZionZag
02-06-2017, 12:08 PM
In all the polls 4 out of the first 10 are from the west.....Interesting

U Zig, I Zag
02-06-2017, 12:16 PM
Much like Trump himself, I expect the Zags to help sour our relationship with Australia. I can't believe SMC dropped in some polls though. To make room for someone else I guess.

OZZY
02-06-2017, 12:17 PM
...the pollsters will keep 'em in both Top-25s, IMO, whatever our game's outcome. If they play us tough, lose by a nickel or so, their poll-ranking goes up. If we beat 'em like a sick kangaroo, they'll drop a bit. If they beat us, heaven help us!, Australia will declare the Gaels fight song ("I saw a Croc eat Randy Bennett") the new Aussie National Anthem and stamp a silver coin.



:]

Let's not get too ahead of ourselves here.......

Basketball is really only a minor sport in OZ (followed by very passionate fans though), probably about #6 or #7 in the interest stakes.

Cricket
AFL
NRL
Soccer
Rugby
Netball
basketball

:)

TexasZagFan
02-06-2017, 12:32 PM
Let's not get too ahead of ourselves here.......

Basketball is really only a minor sport in OZ (followed by very passionate fans though), probably about #6 or #7 in the interest stakes.

Cricket
AFL
NRL
Soccer
Rugby
Netball
basketball

:)

Cricket??? That's downright un-American. :drool:

seacatfan
02-06-2017, 01:11 PM
Oregon w/ a big jump like I expected. The Dukies only nudged up a few places though. Where is the respect for K? They should've jumped at least 5 places just because he returned to the sideline, even if they didn't win a game (sarcasm). SMU has been completely off the radar all season but entered the top 25 in at least 1 of the polls. A bunch of Big East teams hanging on for their lives (Creighton, Butler, Xavier).