PDA

View Full Version : Spokesman-Review: "Gonzaga’s No. 1 ranking pays off for local T-shirt business"



ZagNative
02-04-2017, 06:49 AM
Fun piece in the Spokesman-Review (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/feb/04/gonzagas-no-1-ranking-pays-off-for-local-t-shirt-b/)about a local T-Shirt business basking in the glow of the Zags #1 ranking.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/942d5613-8306-4028-bfe1-1dd05237ed6c_zpsuefdt84c.jpg

Rusty Namie was ready for Gonzaga to reach No. 1.

His design was set and approved by the university. He had hired eight extra employees to work the printing machines at his T-shirt printing plant in Spokane Valley. A staggering $70,000 worth of supplies to make new shirts for Gonzaga fans had already been ordered, and it waited inside the walls of Namie’s business, Zome Design.

All that was left to do was sit, wait and watch for the results, which can make for a long, agonizing couple of days. Especially with $70,000 on the line.

“It was all weekend long, it was what all the conversations were,” Namie said, since the Associated Press releases its weekly college basketball rankings on Monday.

“I kept hearing, ‘No, they’re probably not going to go No. 1 this week, maybe next week.’ Meanwhile, we’ve got all this blank gear sitting here.”

But that’s the beauty of the T-shirt business: never knowing if it will pay off. At least that’s how Namie describes it.

“It was a financial risk,” Namie acknowledged. “If it doesn’t happen, then you’re financially upside down.”

But his gamble paid off.

gonzagafan62
02-04-2017, 07:13 AM
Thank you so much for posting. I was wondering how I was going to get one!!!! Thanks for being so helpful ZN!

ZagNative
02-04-2017, 07:19 AM
You're welcome, 62. Info on where to purchase, per the piece:

The design is available as a short- or long-sleeve T-shirt, hooded sweatshirt or crewneck sweatshirt, and is also available in women’s sizes. Fans can choose between either a navy blue or red shirt.

The “Top Dog” shirts can also be purchased online at GonzagaApparel.com (http://www.gonzagaapparel.com/). Prices depend on vendors, but the T-shirts are generally priced between $12 and $15. Hooded sweatshirts cost from $30 in stores to almost $42 online.

The shirts were available in some stores by Tuesday afternoon, early enough for fans to buy them ahead of Thursday night’s 85-75 win over BYU and Saturday’s game against Santa Clara at the McCarthey Athletic Center.

Zome Design’s senior account manager, Zane Troester, expects the company to produce about 2,000 more shirts, for a total of 17,000. Of course, it all depends on Gonzaga’s ability to remain atop the polls in the upcoming weeks – and the Zags’ ability to keep winning.


Thank you so much for posting. I was wondering how I was going to get one!!!! Thanks for being so helpful ZN!

Bogozags
02-04-2017, 07:36 AM
ZN THANKS...just ordered mine :-)

gonzagafan62
02-04-2017, 07:53 AM
Thanks!!! I'll order mine Monday!

ZagNative
02-04-2017, 01:36 PM
Has everybody got their t-shirts ordered, before this thread falls off the first page of guboards?

Ballguy
02-04-2017, 02:12 PM
Ordered!!

TexasZagFan
02-04-2017, 02:30 PM
Has everybody got their t-shirts ordered, before this thread falls off the first page of guboards?

I'm holding off until after St. Mary's...just call me "cautious."

RenoZag
02-04-2017, 09:03 PM
https://twitter.com/JPBlanchette/status/828106609545011200

gonzagafan62
02-11-2017, 07:45 AM
Ordered my shirt last night

Ballguy
02-11-2017, 07:55 AM
T-shirt will be here Monday. I was hoping to wear it today.

RenoZag
02-11-2017, 07:57 AM
Next T Shirt in my collection:

http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x375/RenoZag/gozags-cu_zpsitv1vbei.png (http://s1178.photobucket.com/user/RenoZag/media/gozags-cu_zpsitv1vbei.png.html)

jazzdelmar
02-11-2017, 08:00 AM
Great in spirit. But a very busy graphic. No art and design majors up there?

Zagdawg
02-11-2017, 08:05 AM
As usual -- most don't agree with you jazz.

Happy Saturday and College Game Day!

jazzdelmar
02-11-2017, 08:11 AM
As usual -- most don't agree with you jazz.

Happy Saturday and College Game Day!

TOP DOG in a very large Helvetica bold w the logo in one of the "o's" would work better. Simple sells. Nike knows.
Don't understand the globe and the map.

gonzagafan62
02-11-2017, 08:24 AM
TOP DOG in a very large Helvetica bold w the logo in one of the "o's" would work better. Simple sells. Nike knows.
Don't understand the globe and the map.

Agreed. Still bought it though cuz Nike ain't making a #1 shirt lol

Jstock12
02-11-2017, 09:45 AM
TOP DOG in a very large Helvetica bold w the logo in one of the "o's" would work better. Simple sells. Nike knows.
Don't understand the globe and the map.

;)

http://i.imgur.com/FoIvlfG.jpg

jazzdelmar
02-11-2017, 09:54 AM
;)

http://i.imgur.com/FoIvlfG.jpg


There you go. A little more stylized. Bold helvetica with tight kerning. Stack the words. Smaller logo.

Mantua
02-11-2017, 11:05 AM
You have a good eye, Jazz.

jazzdelmar
02-11-2017, 11:09 AM
You have a good eye, Jazz.

Thx. 15 years VP of largest college of art, design, architecture in the country.

Birddog
02-11-2017, 11:14 AM
You have a good eye, Jazz.

Gotta agree, Jazz is right. Anybody with a computer now thinks they can be a designer, in fact some colleges even teach them that way. Computer =clip art with a mouse.

jazzdelmar
02-11-2017, 11:28 AM
As usual -- most don't agree with you jazz.

Happy Saturday and College Game Day!

Dawg, wrong.....yet again

Zagdawg
02-11-2017, 11:40 AM
Now you can say that we have something in common -- in addition to being a bit different in outlooks.

I am more of a half glass full guy ---- I say kudos for the local business taking the initiative to put together a product for Zag fans celebrating being #1 in the country-- not going to pick apart their design because I have nothing better to do on a Saturday.

Carry on.

jazzdelmar
02-11-2017, 11:42 AM
Now you can say that we have something in common -- in addition to being a bit different in outlooks.

I am more of a half glass full guy ---- I say kudos for the local business taking the initiative to put together a product for Zag fans celebrating being #1 in the country-- not going to pick apart their design because I have nothing better to do on a Saturday.

Carry on.

Yet you somehow found the time for a snarky comment.

Zagdawg
02-11-2017, 11:45 AM
For you jazz-- I always will make time to return the favor.

jazzdelmar
02-11-2017, 11:48 AM
For you jazz-- I always will make time to return the favor.

More's the pity.

Section 116
02-11-2017, 11:48 AM
I'm curious Jazz? Is what you refer to as the "globe" wedged in between New England and the upper midwest? If it is, my take is that is a basketball?

jazzdelmar
02-11-2017, 11:50 AM
I'm curious Jazz? Is what you refer to as the "globe" wedged in between New England and the upper midwest? If it is is, my take is that is a basketball?

You're absolutely right. My bad. Thanks for the snark free correction.

ZagsGoZags
02-11-2017, 12:07 PM
I checked 5 different retail sights advertising a different t-shirt which just had #1 with a hand, and all are sold out except for the:
extra, extra, extra, extra large,
and the extra, extra, extra, extra, extra large sizes,
but thanks to Native for this website,
I just ordered some for myself, that show the USA map with a basketball in Great Lakes area

BayAreaZagFan
02-11-2017, 12:31 PM
Just ordered mine - thanks for the post!

Jstock12
02-11-2017, 01:09 PM
There you go. A little more stylized. Bold helvetica with tight kerning. Stack the words. Smaller logo.

Thanks for the feedback! ;)

http://i.imgur.com/W4U3C7G.jpg

Hoopaholic
02-11-2017, 01:10 PM
Thanks for the feedback! ;)

http://i.imgur.com/W4U3C7G.jpg

Where can I order this shirt. Love it

soccerdud
02-11-2017, 01:53 PM
Where can I order this shirt. Love it

agreed

gonzagafan62
02-11-2017, 02:06 PM
agreed

I'll buy it

johno
02-11-2017, 02:17 PM
Hoarding my limited funds for the "National Champions" iteration.

Jstock12
02-11-2017, 03:01 PM
Where can I order this shirt. Love it

Just tried to execute jazzdelmar's ideas. I'm sure it would be possible to find a place in Spokane to print a graphic onto a blank shirt. If someone will want to do that for themselves, I can give the vector format of the design.

jazzdelmar
02-11-2017, 03:18 PM
Just tried to execute jazzdelmar's ideas. I'm sure it would be possible to find a place in Spokane to print a graphic onto a blank shirt. If someone will want to do that for themselves, I can give the vector format of the design.

Bauhaus style?