PDA

View Full Version : KREM 2: "Basketball wins draw new Zags"



ZagNative
02-03-2017, 05:58 AM
Fascinating numbers in this video and article from KREM 2. (http://www.krem.com/sports/gonzaga/basketball-wins-draw-new-zags-to-campus/395818055)


n the fall of 2014, after the Zags were ranked number one, nearly 41,000 high school seniors inquired about Gonzaga. That was up 2,000 people from the previous year.

In the fall of 2015, after the Zags made it to the Elite 8, 50,000 seniors inquired. This past fall, Gonzaga had their highest number yet: more than 54,000.
....

Admissions representatives said they also saw a big jump in interested high school seniors after the documentary on the team aired on HBO.

strikenowhere
02-03-2017, 06:03 AM
Fascinating numbers in this video and article from KREM 2. (http://www.krem.com/sports/gonzaga/basketball-wins-draw-new-zags-to-campus/395818055)

You'd think this would be another reason for other WCC schools to start pumping money into their programs - look at the effect winning has on admissions!

basketballzag
02-03-2017, 07:26 AM
You'd think this would be another reason for other WCC schools to start pumping money into their programs - look at the effect winning has on admissions!

Gonzaga better start building more buildings and facilities and open the door up for a freshman class of 7k.

TexasZagFan
02-03-2017, 07:32 AM
Gonzaga better start building more buildings and facilities and open the door up for a freshman class of 7k.

Wow...I think we had about 2000 undergrads during my time there. The Bookstore wasn't much larger than the Holy of Holies in Solomon's Temple. I'm sure it's changed even more from my last visit in 2001.

former1dog
02-03-2017, 07:36 AM
Gonzaga better start building more buildings and facilities and open the door up for a freshman class of 7k.

I really, really hope they never go that direction. IMO, that just changes Gonzaga to unrecognizable.

TexasZagFan
02-03-2017, 07:37 AM
I really, really hope they never go that direction. IMO, that just changes Gonzaga to unrecognizable.

IIRC, we're already at 5500.

former1dog
02-03-2017, 07:39 AM
IIRC, we're already at 5500.

Thats total undergrads, I read BasketballZag's post as wanting an incoming class of 7000

Birddog
02-03-2017, 07:39 AM
IIRC, the university did a study some years back and decided that about 7,500 students (undergrad, grad, law) was the best number. I think it was about 2500 when I was a student.

Gonzdb8
02-03-2017, 08:03 AM
IIRC, the university did a study some years back and decided that about 7,500 students (undergrad, grad, law) was the best number. I think it was about 2500 when I was a student.

not sure where we would put them all. GU has bought up just about all available property between hamilton and division and we can't really expand much further into the logan neighborhood. we'd for sure need more classroom and dorm space than we currently have. last i heard they were targeting 1175 (or close to that) for next years incoming class.

DixieZag
02-03-2017, 08:14 AM
I suspect they're far more interested in raising admissions standards and recruiting kids from all over the country, especially the east coast. As pointed out above, they'd have to start just buying up whole blocks in the neighborhoods to expand much more, or putting up 15 story buildings - doable, I guess - but I don't think that's their priority or desire.

basketballzag
02-03-2017, 08:32 AM
There is a point where the school needs to grow and we are at that point now. The sleepy school of yesteryear is now ready to breakout into a Duke or Georgetown.

former1dog
02-03-2017, 09:29 AM
There is a point where the school needs to grow and we are at that point now. The sleepy school of yesteryear is now ready to breakout into a Duke or Georgetown.

Respectfully, I think you're ignoring the incredible and well managed growth that Gonzaga has experienced over the last 20 years. Anything more aggressive than the current reality, IMO, would be reckless.

ZagNative
02-03-2017, 09:34 AM
Respectfully, I think you're ignoring the incredible and well managed growth that Gonzaga has experienced over the last 20 years. Anything more aggressive than the current reality, IMO, would be reckless.I need to find a really annoying graphic to express how much I disagree with your silly-ass opinion here. Any suggestions? Ima go look now with the help of the google, find something really offensive but terribly clever.

Edited to add: Respectfully, I think this one says it nicely:

https://mermaidforaday.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/wpid-0bdf4feeebc848e5523c24a995502d1124ecdb8e6902379f0d 647397fdde4daa.jpeg?w=687

former1dog
02-03-2017, 09:39 AM
I need to find a really annoying graphic to express how much I disagree with your silly-ass opinion here. Any suggestions? Ima go look now with the help of the google, find something really offensive but terribly clever.

Are you replying to the correct post?

Gonzaga has nearly tripled (300% growth) its incoming class size since I was a student there. There are more new buildings on campus than old. The endowment will soon exceed $250 million. That is fantastic growth that has been extremely well managed. My impression is that Gonzaga is continuing on this pace of growth.

Continuing to clarify my opinion, exceeding the exceptional growth by wanting to quadruple the size of the student body would in my opinion by reckless. There is the practicality of such a goal, which others have already pointed out as impractical in this thread. Beyond that, Gonzaga becomes a much different place with 7000 students per class.

When I was a student, I had access to fully tenured and brilliant professors who knew me by my first name and truly cared about me. Will Gonzaga still have that type of atmosphere with 400% growth in enrollment? Doubtful.

Sorry you feel that is "silly-ass".

Have a good day.

former1dog
02-03-2017, 09:43 AM
https://mermaidforaday.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/wpid-0bdf4feeebc848e5523c24a995502d1124ecdb8e6902379f0d 647397fdde4daa.jpeg?w=687

Whats the matter with you?

TexasZagFan
02-03-2017, 09:43 AM
I need to find a really annoying graphic to express how much I disagree with your silly-ass opinion here. Any suggestions? Ima go look now with the help of the google, find something really offensive but terribly clever.

Edited to add: Respectfully, I think this one says it nicely:

https://mermaidforaday.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/wpid-0bdf4feeebc848e5523c24a995502d1124ecdb8e6902379f0d 647397fdde4daa.jpeg?w=687

What brought this on?

I haven't been on the campus for over 15 years, but 10,000 students on 150 square acres seems a bit cramped to me.

ZagNative
02-03-2017, 09:45 AM
http://big.assets.huffingtonpost.com/gooddaysir.gif

former1dog
02-03-2017, 09:48 AM
http://big.assets.huffingtonpost.com/gooddaysir.gif

Seriously, are you ok? I'm honestly worried.

I know I'm not your favorite board member but I've never known you to be irrational towards me or anyone else.

ZagNative
02-03-2017, 09:53 AM
Former, I'm just having fun with you. Teasing, okay?

I grew up in that neighborhood and used to sneak into the women's bathroom in the ad building for a cigarette with my girlfriends on my way to Mass at St. Al's. I think the growth of the campus has been a terrific boon for my old neighborhood and for the city at large. I have no doubt that if the powers that be decide to expand dramatically they'll do it thoughtfully and responsibly.

former1dog
02-03-2017, 09:54 AM
Former, I'm just having fun with you. Teasing, okay?


Ok, that's fine. I guess my humor meter is not working today.

TexasZagFan
02-03-2017, 09:56 AM
Former, I'm just having fun with you. Teasing, okay?

http://twoinnocents.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/update2.jpg

sittingon50
02-03-2017, 10:09 AM
I'm with former on this one.

I graduated from EWU in '82 (on the 12 yr. plan) & had classes of upwards of 300 taught by T.A..s

My 2 oldest kids graduated from GU in '06 & '07, never had a class larger than 30, never had a T.A. & if they were struggling, could go to their instructor's office & be greeted by their 1st name.


IMHO, their "experience" was better than mine.

TexasZagFan
02-03-2017, 11:00 AM
I'm with former on this one.

I graduated from EWU in '82 (on the 12 yr. plan) & had classes of upwards of 300 taught by T.A..s

My 2 oldest kids graduated from GU in '06 & '07, never had a class larger than 30, never had a T.A. & if they were struggling, could go to their instructor's office & be greeted by their 1st name.


IMHO, their "experience" was better than mine.

Most of my classes were 30 or less. My accounting classes my last 3 years ranged from 70-100+. Dan Brajcich was my only accounting professor for 30+ hours those last 3 years. He basically accounted for 5% of the undergrad population back then.

Simply an amazing professor.

I had smaller classes, such as Macroeconomics with Dr. Graue (5 students), and Philosophy with Fr. Gerry Kohls (14). Every professor was accessible.