PDA

View Full Version : We're #1, We're #1, We're #1



LongIslandZagFan
01-30-2017, 06:04 AM
Don't be surprised if the the Zags stay at #3

ESPN seems to think that is where they belong

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/page/powerrankings170130/kansas-jayhawks-top-college-hoops-power-rankings-big-win-kentucky-wildcats

Snowkane
01-30-2017, 06:09 AM
I would be pretty surprised if they stay at #3. I can see #1 or #2, but not #3. In the grand scheme of things, the national ranking is just a fancy title but doesn't change anything for the Zags ultimate goal of a Conference Championship and National Championship. In fact, getting the #1 seed right now might actually make that more difficult. Huge target to wear on your back into any game.

If we do stay #3 that is fine with me. Expect to see the Zags at 1 or 2.

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 06:13 AM
Don't be surprised if the the Zags stay at #3

ESPN seems to think that is where they belong

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/page/powerrankings170130/kansas-jayhawks-top-college-hoops-power-rankings-big-win-kentucky-wildcats

I'm with Karno, who cares? I'm just enjoying watching this team.

BTW, just checked the WCC standings: Gonzaga has 3 wins against top 25 teams, the rest of the conference has...ZERO. Let's keep it that way.

gueastcoast
01-30-2017, 06:36 AM
It has occurred to me more than once that how I feel about the rankings may be counter to how the rankings impact the players and the program. To wit: as fans we all want to see us at the #1 ranking we colorably deserve, while one could also argue getting passed over for the top spot will further "fuel the fire" among the squad and drive a desire to "prove the doubters wrong". So either way - I guess it's fine, or I can make my peace with it.

LongIslandZagFan
01-30-2017, 06:41 AM
Whether they are #1 or not is debatable... What I don't like is the blatantly bias against the Zags. You want to tell me Nova and or Kansas is better... I'd say there is a good argument for both. But I can almost guarantee some sportswriter will have the Zags at 6.

former1dog
01-30-2017, 06:44 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XM4jJc8w4H0

gonzagafan62
01-30-2017, 06:52 AM
The hell does the biased media know. Kansas isn't close to GU on Ken Pom nor do they have as many Top 50 wins. Villanova? Come on. Also not close to GU on Ken Pom

zagfan24
01-30-2017, 06:54 AM
Whether they are #1 or not is debatable... What I don't like is the blatantly bias against the Zags. You want to tell me Nova and or Kansas is better... I'd say there is a good argument for both. But I can almost guarantee some sportswriter will have the Zags at 6.

One nice thing about the Zags' success this year is I feel that there are a few more writers who have bee clear about the fact that the standard arguments against the Zags (i.e., not playing anybody, underperforming in the tournament) don't really hold water. The ESPN Power Ranking blurb though was a clear reference to an easy conference schedule, and highlights the ongoing battle the Zags will have to fight from a reputation standpoint.

All you can do is schedule the best you can (which happened) and win the games you play (which is happening). This group has a lot to be proud of no matter what number is placed aside their name.

LongIslandZagFan
01-30-2017, 06:56 AM
I'm cool with being at #3 to be perfectly honest. I was just trying to tell people that maybe they shouldn't get their hopes up.

ChicagoZag
01-30-2017, 06:56 AM
Good ol' Seth Davis was so kind to move Gonzaga from 6th to 4th on his rankings yesterday.

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 06:58 AM
https://cdn.meme.am/cache/instances/folder539/500x/75035539.jpg

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 06:59 AM
https://cdn.meme.am/cache/instances/folder691/500x/75089691.jpg

Zagger
01-30-2017, 07:06 AM
Since the Zags have already gotten #1 votes in the polls of the last two weeks I feel it is safe to assume they'll get more #1 votes today :)

gonzagafan62
01-30-2017, 07:06 AM
I'm cool with being at #3 to be perfectly honest. I was just trying to tell people that maybe they shouldn't get their hopes up.

I understand LIZF. I can't stop getting hopes up even though I can clearly see us being biased against

MontanaCoyote
01-30-2017, 07:10 AM
Good ol' Seth Davis was so kind to move Gonzaga from 6th to 4th on his rankings yesterday.

SI does have the Zag's #1 in their power rankings. Sticking with Karno on rankings........Whatever.
Beat BYU!

TimberZag
01-30-2017, 07:14 AM
Another article saying "you're crazy" if you rank Zags #1...

https://www.google.com/amp/collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2017/01/30/college-basketball-talk-top-25-why-you-should-have-kansas-at-no-1-not-gonzaga/amp/?client=safari

scott257
01-30-2017, 07:18 AM
I'm with Karno, who cares? I'm just enjoying watching this team.

BTW, just checked the WCC standings: Gonzaga has 3 wins against top 25 teams, the rest of the conference has...ZERO. Let's keep it that way.

I agree completely. It isn't something that is within our control. Nothing more than a distraction! We really should just enjoy the ride.

Kiddwell
01-30-2017, 07:40 AM
The West Coast Conference, I really believe, will see a turnaround w/the new coaches at USF and SCU, for instance, and their improved recruiting. USF is really, really young yet beat Illinois St. (18-4, and undefeated in the same conference as Wichita State) and Utah (tied in PAC-12 for third), which came within two points of beating hated UCLA at home. So, seeing the glass as half full and filling, better days are ahead for the WCC. BYU's really young too, so they oughta pump it up, Arnold, next year.

As for today's rankings, the Zags were a lock, IMHO, for #01 after Numbers 1, 2, and 4 went down. When #2 Kansas subsequently went to #4 Kentucky, however, and beat 'em, that win canceled the Jayhawks' earlier shellacking at West Virginie and bumped KU into this week's Number One slot.

We nudge up.

01. Kansas
02. Zags
03. Baylor


:]

CDC84
01-30-2017, 07:46 AM
http://collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2017/01/30/college-basketball-talk-top-25

At some point, the fact that GU has 2 less losses than Kansas (and is unbeaten), is seven spots ahead of KU at kenpom, and the fact that GU is the only team to have a top 6 offense and defense at kenpom has to start playing a factor.

I can live with them not giving GU the number one this week, but if GU gets by their next four games unblemished, Mr. Dauster is insane for not ranking them number one. At some point it has to happen due to the unbeaten record.

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 07:51 AM
At some point, the fact that GU has 2 less losses than Kansas (and is unbeaten), is seven spots ahead of KU at kenpom, and the fact that GU is the only team to have a top 6 offense and defense at kenpom has to start playing a factor.

I can live with them not giving GU the number one this week, but if GU gets by their next four games unblemished, Mr. Dauster is insane for not ranking them number one. At some point it has to happen due to the unbeaten record.

Thanks for posting, I hadn't looked at the schedule lately, and thought the SMC game was next Thursday. Better that it's on Saturday, so the TZF clan can enjoy a watch party at our favored spot (Twin Peaks in Valley Ranch).

mzimmer
01-30-2017, 08:04 AM
The silver lining here (if they aren't number 1) is that they might grow that chip on their shoulder and come out pissed at BYU and Mary.

That would be fun.

LongIslandZagFan
01-30-2017, 08:05 AM
Well.... Zags are #1 in AP poll

http://collegebasketball.ap.org/poll

Zagger
01-30-2017, 08:10 AM
Well.... Zags are #1 in AP poll

http://collegebasketball.ap.org/poll

YeeHaw! :)

LongIslandZagFan
01-30-2017, 08:14 AM
Dying to see where Graham Couch has them... gotta suspect it will be no higher than 6.

caduceus
01-30-2017, 08:16 AM
http://i.imgur.com/Xb7B9xk.gif

scrooner
01-30-2017, 08:20 AM
Graham Couch has them #4:

http://collegebasketball.ap.org/poll-voter/graham-couch

Kiddwell
01-30-2017, 08:20 AM
Those first three are really close, point-wise. St. Mary's, so happy to see, moved from #21 to #18. Good, now when we vaporize 'em, they won't drop completely out.

:boxing:


:]


<Kinda think we oughta be #2 behind Kansas, though, then move up to #1 a bit later.>

gonzagafan62
01-30-2017, 08:22 AM
What a great day this is. I'm so happy!

gonzagafan62
01-30-2017, 08:23 AM
1. Gonzaga 46 first place votes
2. Baylor 6
3. Kansas 9

Villanova 4

gonstu
01-30-2017, 08:28 AM
1. Gonzaga 46 first place votes
2. Baylor 6
3. Kansas 9

Villanova 4

Not surprised at all at the #1 ranking. A bit surprised at how overwhelming. 46 out of 65 votes.

Great day to be a zag fan - now prepare yourselves for the haters!!!!!!!

Zag_Dad
01-30-2017, 08:29 AM
Prepare for the haters to vent! Nothing they can say will ruin this moment for me...

UNFINISHED BUSINESS!

GO ZAGS!

gonstu
01-30-2017, 08:32 AM
Prepare for the haters to vent! Nothing they can say will ruin this moment for me...

UNFINISHED BUSINESS!

GO ZAGS!

exactly - tune them out. IMO, worst thing you can do is try to convince someone that thinks the zags don't belong at the top. If they think that, there is nothing you can do to convince them otherwise. Just enjoy the moment. I'm going back to the poster several days ago that reminded everyone how we used to be so excited to be in the "Others Receiving Votes" category!!! What a great day to be a zag fan. So thankful for Few and that I'm a part of the GU community.

JPtheBeasta
01-30-2017, 08:32 AM
I'm with Karno, who cares? I'm just enjoying watching this team.

BTW, just checked the WCC standings: Gonzaga has 3 wins against top 25 teams, the rest of the conference has...ZERO. Let's keep it that way.

+1

as an aside, if the Zags lose in conference, do they make the conference better more than it makes the conference worse by the Zags losing?

ZagMan in Philly
01-30-2017, 08:33 AM
Yes #1

Mantua
01-30-2017, 08:39 AM
Congratulations to the team!

This is a memorable day for Zag Nation.

:clap:

TheZagPhish
01-30-2017, 08:42 AM
Congratulations to the team!

This is a memorable day for Zag Nation.

:clap:

+1

former1dog
01-30-2017, 08:54 AM
http://sportspolls.usatoday.com/ncaa/basketball-men/polls/coaches-poll/

#1 in both polls!

kitzbuel
01-30-2017, 08:58 AM
Excellent starting point for a historic season!

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 09:00 AM
http://sportspolls.usatoday.com/ncaa/basketball-men/polls/coaches-poll/

#1 in both polls!

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTHpRLgzkdyJyuLuxkVSb3G5SZL53sm8 PLF2Xc-D902UNDDkASNEQ

So much for sneaking up on everybody...

lol

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 09:01 AM
Not surprised at all at the #1 ranking. A bit surprised at how overwhelming. 46 out of 65 votes.

Great day to be a zag fan - now prepare yourselves for the haters!!!!!!!

Agreed, but if I may be so bold to ask, "What the heck's wrong with those other 19 voters?" lol

thespywhozaggedme
01-30-2017, 09:05 AM
All of you silly doubting Thomases

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 09:07 AM
https://media.giphy.com/media/26tOZ42Mg6pbTUPHW/giphy.gif

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 09:10 AM
https://cdn.meme.am/cache/instances/folder539/500x/75035539.jpg

Zagger
01-30-2017, 09:14 AM
http://www.sbaran.net/zags/GU1.png

And, Beat BYU!

23dpg
01-30-2017, 09:17 AM
Also, Akron 30th in the AP poll.

23dpg
01-30-2017, 09:20 AM
One of the coaches has the Zags 14?

EDIT

Ok, hold the phone. The high/low refers to the yearlong rankings.
Nobody had GU 14th. That was their preseason ranking.

MBAGael
01-30-2017, 09:22 AM
Congrats! Well deserved.

mgadfly
01-30-2017, 09:25 AM
One of the coaches has the Zags 14?

And someone has Duke as #1.
A coach has Baylor not ranked at all.

wow

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 09:28 AM
One of the coaches has the Zags 14?

I'll check on that in a minute.

In the AP poll, the usual cast of characters, whom I will call the 3 Musketeers (Graham Couch, Seth Davis, and Soren Petro (Kansas)), all had the Zags at #4.

Seth has Arizona at #2. SMDH

ETA: Baylor received a big "NR" from a coach. Duke gets a first place vote. Zags got 24 of 32 possible first place votes.

It's been mentioned before how many coaches let their staff vote for them, they're just too busy.

Kentucky loses twice and drops a couple of spots.

MontanaCoyote
01-30-2017, 09:28 AM
#1 AP, Coaches, KenPom, SI Power. The spotlight just got turned on. Will be visible tonight on the East Coast on NASA
Satellite. Thursday it'll burn even brighter. Boy's can handle it, take NOTHING for granted. Beat BYU

sittingon50
01-30-2017, 09:31 AM
Congrats players & staff.

:clap:

23dpg
01-30-2017, 09:34 AM
Ok, hold the phone. The high/low refers to the yearlong rankings.
Nobody had GU 14th. That was their preseason ranking.

ZagaZags
01-30-2017, 09:37 AM
http://i0.wp.com/www.nerdsonearth.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/giphy-4.gif?resize=300%2C225

http://toons.artie.com/alphabet/numbers/arg-1-50-trans.gif

Zag365
01-30-2017, 09:41 AM
I don't think the majority of those who regularly watch MBB think Gonzaga is the best team. But, the pollsters played by traditional rules (thank-you) and decided to recognize this team because of the rarity of being undefeated this far into season after playing decent competition. I don't think they would hesitate to drop GU to 4, 5, 6, or so if we lose at any point going forward (especially if we look bad in the loss). So, the challenge to this team from the pollsters is "okay, we recognize you are really good and you deserve your 15 minutes of fame, but you are on secret double-probation." My belief is that this will keep the chip squarely on the shoulder. I don't think this team wants to give the pollsters any excuse to take the #1 ranking away fom them. They are on a mission (apologies to BYU).

seacatfan
01-30-2017, 09:42 AM
The "we get no respect" crowd will have to look somewhere other than the polls to find something to complain about now, but I'm sure they will succeed. Jay Williams seems to aid their cause regularly.

RenoZag
01-30-2017, 09:46 AM
I just like to stare at it. . .printed a copy for my CFO, the BYU BA/MBA/CPA. . .He's already talking smack about Thursday's game. . .

http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x375/RenoZag/1%2030%2017%20Rankings_zps0gxhtqla.jpg (http://s1178.photobucket.com/user/RenoZag/media/1%2030%2017%20Rankings_zps0gxhtqla.jpg.html)

buenaparkzag
01-30-2017, 09:51 AM
It is time to wear
We Are #1
imprinted shirt again.

Go Zags!

Reborn
01-30-2017, 09:56 AM
Congrats to the Zags coaches and players. Now beat BYU and don't bw one of those teams that can't hold on to the #1 ranking and crash beneath it's weight.

Go Zags!!!

ProVeeZag
01-30-2017, 09:59 AM
I'll check on that in a minute.

In the AP poll, the usual cast of characters, whom I will call the 3 Musketeers (Graham Couch, Seth Davis, and Soren Petro (Kansas)), all had the Zags at #4.

Seth has Arizona at #2. SMDH

ETA: Baylor received a big "NR" from a coach. Duke gets a first place vote. Zags got 24 of 32 possible first place votes.

It's been mentioned before how many coaches let their staff vote for them, they're just too busy.

Kentucky loses twice and drops a couple of spots.

Maybe Coach K let Grayson Allen's mother cast his vote this week??

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 10:02 AM
+1

as an aside, if the Zags lose in conference, do they make the conference better more than it makes the conference worse by the Zags losing?

Probably makes the conference look worse, because the Zags aren't deserving of the ranking in the polls...they don't play anyone. :lmao:

Zagger
01-30-2017, 10:03 AM
This photo is SWEET!
Isn't that Sacre in there too?
From the Spokesman-Review online edition: http://www.spokesman.com/gonzaga-basketball/

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2016/12/06/SRX_GU_VS_ARI_28_t2500.jpg?6913dd5f0afa17a0b7a91a8 8b4e808d586264d13

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 10:04 AM
One of the coaches has the Zags 14?

EDIT

Ok, hold the phone. The high/low refers to the yearlong rankings.
Nobody had GU 14th. That was their preseason ranking.

Are you sure about that? I saw several schools with a #1 ranking.

CDC84
01-30-2017, 10:08 AM
The coaches don't vote in the coaches poll. Their sports information director usually does. Hence, the occasional wacky results.

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 10:16 AM
I don't think the majority of those who regularly watch MBB think Gonzaga is the best team. But, the pollsters played by traditional rules (thank-you) and decided to recognize this team because of the rarity of being undefeated this far into season after playing decent competition. I don't think they would hesitate to drop GU to 4, 5, 6, or so if we lose at any point going forward (especially if we look bad in the loss). So, the challenge to this team from the pollsters is "okay, we recognize you are really good and you deserve your 15 minutes of fame, but you are on secret double-probation." My belief is that this will keep the chip squarely on the shoulder. I don't think this team wants to give the pollsters any excuse to take the #1 ranking away fom them. They are on a mission (apologies to BYU).

https://cdn.meme.am/cache/instances/folder680/500x/75175680.jpg

mgadfly
01-30-2017, 10:22 AM
Ok, hold the phone. The high/low refers to the yearlong rankings.
Nobody had GU 14th. That was their preseason ranking.

That makes more sense. Thanks.

TheZagPhish
01-30-2017, 10:36 AM
NY Times, Matt Pentz

Gonzaga Reaches No. 1 but Hears Familiar Criticism (https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/30/sports/ncaabasketball/gonzaga-bulldogs-number-1-unbeaten-associated-press-poll.html)


Four Bulldogs are averaging more than 10 points a game. Three more are within 2 points of that benchmark. The Zags play stingy defense, too, giving up the ninth-fewest points per game (61.4) in Division I. Against San Diego, Gonzaga held the Toreros to 2 points in the opening 10 minutes of the second half.

Few, the coach, dismissed the significance of a No. 1 ranking at this point in the season.

“To me, No. 1 is like tracking a stock,” he said. “It doesn’t do you any good looking at your 401(k) until you go to cash out.”

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 10:39 AM
NY Times, Matt Pentz

Gonzaga Reaches No. 1 but Hears Familiar Criticism (https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/30/sports/ncaabasketball/gonzaga-bulldogs-number-1-unbeaten-associated-press-poll.html)


“That’s the nature of sports,” said the senior guard Jordan Mathews, a graduate transfer from the University of California. “Like, if we saved the world, there would be a comment that we should have done it faster.”

Damn, I love this team!!!

DixieZag
01-30-2017, 10:54 AM
Also, Akron 30th in the AP poll.

Interesting. So they are about 100 points higher than either SDSU or UW - two teams supposedly strengthening our schedule. Nice.


Well, I didn't expect it. I thought Kansas' victory would compel the usual crowd to convince themselves that Kansas was the real number one, glad to be wrong. Congrats to the team and coaches. It IS something to be proud of. Obviously it's not one of the "goals" along the way, but that's a pretty big feather in your cap.

You aren't the first, but you're almost almost almost the first and from now on, being number one will not be news at Gonzaga, it won't be seen as some epic historical accident, it's now just a "thing."

Nice job. Beat BYU by 50. It will be a knife fight in the lane.

MontanaCoyote
01-30-2017, 11:10 AM
Damn, I love this team!!!

Right On! You cannot beat good players with smarts! And our players go to their classes!

BayAreaZagFan
01-30-2017, 11:32 AM
It is time to wear
We Are #1
imprinted shirt again.

Go Zags!

That's exactly what I was thinking. Unfortunately, I think my shirt also says "Making History" or something like that on it. No longer history at this point.

zagbeliever
01-30-2017, 11:52 AM
Woohoo!!!! Yay for Rem and Shem too. Twice number one in their GU careers.

gonzagafan62
01-30-2017, 11:53 AM
Woohoo!!!! Yay for Rem and Shem too. Twice number one in their GU careers.

3 times In the Top 2 also. Just incredible

zagitup
01-30-2017, 12:14 PM
I don't think the majority of those who regularly watch MBB think Gonzaga is the best team. But, the pollsters played by traditional rules (thank-you) and decided to recognize this team because of the rarity of being undefeated this far into season after playing decent competition. I don't think they would hesitate to drop GU to 4, 5, 6, or so if we lose at any point going forward (especially if we look bad in the loss). So, the challenge to this team from the pollsters is "okay, we recognize you are really good and you deserve your 15 minutes of fame, but you are on secret double-probation." My belief is that this will keep the chip squarely on the shoulder. I don't think this team wants to give the pollsters any excuse to take the #1 ranking away fom them. They are on a mission (apologies to BYU).

http://www.gablescinema.com/media/filmassets/slides/animal_house_6.jpg

Ezag
01-30-2017, 12:48 PM
Haters out in full force.....F' them

TexasZagFan
01-30-2017, 12:51 PM
It is time to wear
We Are #1
imprinted shirt again.

Go Zags!

Nah, time for a new one."Big D" has just about outgrown the Zag shirt I got him for his birthday in September.

Section 116
01-30-2017, 12:54 PM
From the Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/fancy-stats/wp/2017/01/30/gonzaga-deserves-to-be-the-no-1-team-in-college-basketball-rankings/?utm_term=.d9dacef09fef

RenoZag
01-30-2017, 02:10 PM
From the New York Times:


“In the past, some of our teams maybe had somebody you don’t have to guard, and they’d double the post off that guy,” said Coach Mark Few, in his 18th season leading the program.

But this team is more balanced, he said, and Karnowski has the passing skills to make daring opponents pay.

Four Bulldogs are averaging more than 10 points a game. Three more are within 2 points of that benchmark. The Zags play stingy defense, too, giving up the ninth-fewest points per game (61.4) in Division I. Against San Diego, Gonzaga held the Toreros to 2 points in the opening 10 minutes of the second half.

Few, the coach, dismissed the significance of a No. 1 ranking at this point in the season.

“To me, No. 1 is like tracking a stock,” he said. “It doesn’t do you any good looking at your 401(k) until you go to cash out.”

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/30/sports/ncaabasketball/gonzaga-bulldogs-number-1-unbeaten-associated-press-poll.html?_r=0


Few dismisses the notion that his program needs to reach the final weekend to validate the previous two decades, and he doubted that the criticism would end even if his team made it to Phoenix in March.

“It’ll morph into another one,” Few said. “ ‘How come you haven’t won a national championship?’ ‘When are you going to get back there again?’ ‘You’re not really an established program if you don’t get back there again.’ It never ends.

“For me, I just want our guys to play our best when our best is needed. If they do that, then good on them. I think we can compete with anybody in the country on any particular night.”

Zag_Dad
01-30-2017, 02:17 PM
exactly - tune them out. IMO, worst thing you can do is try to convince someone that thinks the zags don't belong at the top. If they think that, there is nothing you can do to convince them otherwise. Just enjoy the moment. I'm going back to the poster several days ago that reminded everyone how we used to be so excited to be in the "Others Receiving Votes" category!!! What a great day to be a zag fan. So thankful for Few and that I'm a part of the GU community.

Funny, I was just thinking Saint Mary's is what GU used to be a decade ago... let's see if they can maintain success the way Gonzaga has.

TheZagPhish
01-30-2017, 03:54 PM
Blanchette: 2013 Bulldogs reflect on what’s in store for No. 1 Gonzaga (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2017/jan/30/blanchette-2013-bulldogs-reflect-on-whats-in-store/)


At least the 2013 team had a couple of close calls. This year’s Zags haven’t had a WCC win of fewer than 15 points. But two tests come in short order – at BYU on Thursday, even if the Cougars have been wildly erratic, and the rematch at Saint Mary’s on Feb. 11.

“This team will have it’s own journey,” Hart said, “and they’ll have more time in the conference season to deal with all of it. Hopefully they’ll have to fight through a challenge or two. Because you’re going to get hit with them at some point.”

RenoZag
01-30-2017, 04:12 PM
Thanks for that link, Phish. Good read indeed. Went well with my Triscuit. . .

gonstu
01-30-2017, 06:03 PM
Would any one in Spokane be willing to pick up a couple copies of the spokesman and mail them to me? Or give me another idea how to get them? I have a framed copy of the other #1 paper hanging at my house and would love to get another. Of course I'd pay for everything plus a 6-pack fir your trouble. PM if willing and able!

ZionZag
01-30-2017, 06:23 PM
Yup.....they are just as happy in Provo.....if you know what I mean. They have NEVER had a #1 team visit them and they are 12-1 at home this season

Zagger
02-01-2017, 02:46 PM
Bump .... Thought we could use a dose of more #1 :)

Ballguy
02-02-2017, 08:32 AM
My new Desktop!

I just noticed Sacre is in there!


This photo is SWEET!
Isn't that Sacre in there too?
From the Spokesman-Review online edition: http://www.spokesman.com/gonzaga-basketball/

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2016/12/06/SRX_GU_VS_ARI_28_t2500.jpg?6913dd5f0afa17a0b7a91a8 8b4e808d586264d13

RenoZag
02-02-2017, 09:48 AM
This photo is SWEET!
Isn't that Sacre in there too?
From the Spokesman-Review online edition: http://www.spokesman.com/gonzaga-basketball/

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2016/12/06/SRX_GU_VS_ARI_28_t2500.jpg?6913dd5f0afa17a0b7a91a8 8b4e808d586264d13

Is that Steve Lavin looming over Jordan Mathews ?

ProVeeZag
02-02-2017, 09:58 AM
Is that Steve Lavin looming over Jordan Mathews ?

Good call, Reno, but Lavin would likely be wearing a $7500 Armani suit ... probably just me, but looks like he is giving the "throat slash" sign.

Great reactions by the bench guys!

Goshzagit
02-02-2017, 11:03 AM
#1 a curse?

Every team ranked #1 in the latest poll has subsequently played their worst game and/or lost...

Interesting trend to track this season.

BYU playing us at the right time if this continues.

DixieZag
02-02-2017, 11:11 AM
#1 a curse?

Every team ranked #1 in the latest poll has subsequently played their worst game and/or lost...

Interesting trend to track this season.

BYU playing us at the right time if this continues.

We will never, ever, hear the end of it if we commit the sin of a mid-major loss right after being ranked number one.

Fortunately, I have a ton of faith in these guys.

gonzagafan62
02-02-2017, 04:48 PM
Did someone say that there is a new #1 shirt? I don't see one on any Gonzaga shops. Do they not exist or were they only given to students or what? Looking for a friend! Thanks :)

seacatfan
02-02-2017, 05:54 PM
Kara Lawson was glowing in her praise for the Zags and NWG in particular in studio tonight on ESPN.

Hoopaholic
02-02-2017, 06:16 PM
Kara Lawson was glowing in her praise for the Zags and NWG in particular in studio tonight on ESPN.

And then says this is the game zags lose

gonzagafan62
02-02-2017, 06:20 PM
And then says this is the game zags lose

She always picks us to lose. Very annoying

RenoZag
02-03-2017, 08:14 AM
http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x375/RenoZag/Trump%20Zags%20Memo_zpsjtqm9tcr.jpg (http://s1178.photobucket.com/user/RenoZag/media/Trump%20Zags%20Memo_zpsjtqm9tcr.jpg.html)

GodZaga76
02-03-2017, 11:00 AM
So question is now even if we win are next game are we still number 1 next Monday? Or does Kansas jump us and push us to 2? Not that it matters really just wondering.

former1dog
02-03-2017, 11:50 AM
So question is now even if we win are next game are we still number 1 next Monday? Or does Kansas jump us and push us to 2? Not that it matters really just wondering.

That crossed my mind, but rarely(ever?) is #1 knocked down after they win. I would predict we'll be #1 again this coming Monday, provided we beat SCU at home.

sittingon50
02-03-2017, 12:08 PM
Zags had a pretty healthy margin of 1st place votes on both major polls. Would take a lot of people to flip.