PDA

View Full Version : Other Games - Wednesday - 1. 04. 2017



RenoZag
01-04-2017, 06:09 AM
TOP 25

#1 Villanova @ # 18 Butler 3:30pm FS1
Georgia Tech @ # 8 Duke 4:00pm ESPN2
IOWA STATE @ # 2 Baylor 5:00pm ESPNEWS
#10 Creighton @ St. John's 5:30pm FS1
#21 Virginia Tech @ NC State 6:00pm
#9 Louisville @ #23 Notre Dame 6:00pm
#11 Virginia @ Pitt 6:00pm
#15 Oregon @ WASHINGTON 6:00pm ESPN2

Others of Note

SMC Fans will be rooting for Nevada; GU fans will root for San Diego State (?) Wolfpack vs. Aztecs @ Reno, 8:00pm ESPN2 (UNR has not beaten SDSU in the MW era. . .)
QUINNIPIAC @ Canisius
SOUTH DAKOTA @ Denver

Link to complete Division 1 Schedule: http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/schedule

Have a good day.

gonstu
01-04-2017, 06:54 AM
Lots of good ones, thanks. The game at butler is intriguing.

jazzdelmar
01-04-2017, 07:55 AM
Iowa State, Butler, Pitt and ND wins wd be suhweet. Quinn is hopeless.

gonzagafan62
01-04-2017, 07:58 AM
Would really be nice to see Iowa State and Washington win but Washington is not happening

jazzdelmar
01-04-2017, 08:01 AM
Would really be nice to see Iowa State and Washington win but Washington is not happening

Agree. That possibility didn't even cross my mind. Like GT over Dook.

WallaWallaZag
01-04-2017, 08:40 AM
Agree. That possibility didn't even cross my mind. Like GT over Dook.

not at cameron...

TexasZagFan
01-04-2017, 08:49 AM
Would really be nice to see Iowa State and Washington win but Washington is not happening

Iowa State's not happening, either. I expect 10K+ in Waco tonight. They've been tough at home this year, and have 3 Top 10 wins to their credit.

CDC84
01-04-2017, 09:30 AM
The game at Butler might be Nova's toughest game in league play this season. As I said last night, I wouldn't put it past those guys to go undefeated during the regular season. They have already won at Creighton. A win at Hinkle would be huge.

If the game were at Iowa State I would give the Cyclones a real shot. Hilton is one of the toughest joints to play in the nation.

MontanaCoyote
01-04-2017, 10:01 AM
TOP 25

#1 Villanova @ # 18 Butler 3:30pm FS1
Georgia Tech @ # 8 Duke 4:00pm ESPN2
IOWA STATE @ # 2 Baylor 5:00pm ESPNEWS
#10 Creighton @ St. John's 5:30pm FS1
#21 Virginia Tech @ NC State 6:00pm
#9 Louisville @ #23 Notre Dame 6:00pm
#11 Virginia @ Pitt 6:00pm
#15 Oregon @ WASHINGTON 6:00pm ESPN2

Others of Note

SMC Fans will be rooting for Nevada; GU fans will root for San Diego State (?) Wolfpack vs. Aztecs @ Reno, 8:00pm ESPN2 (UNR has not beaten SDSU in the MW era. . .)
QUINNIPIAC @ Canisius
SOUTH DAKOTA @ Denver

Have a good day.

For "The Good of the Order" I only watch the ZAG's and I am just fine with that ..........really.

But I also really appreciate your daily posting of games. Keeps me in the loop. So, Thanks!

There are probably better ways to prep for games but you might try this for good previews of each game;

Go to sfgate.com. Then sports. Then College. Then NCAA men's basketball. Then scores. Then. Preview

How's that for high tech competency!? At any rate, the previews are pretty extensive. See what you think.

This is also a good site to keep up on SMC.

RenoZag
01-04-2017, 10:25 AM
If I have the time to post these, I'm glad to do it. Appreciate the "attaboys"

Beat the Dons !

Rangerzag
01-04-2017, 10:37 AM
attaboy

gonstu
01-04-2017, 10:50 AM
For "The Good of the Order" I only watch the ZAG's and I am just fine with that ..........really.

But I also really appreciate your daily posting of games. Keeps me in the loop. So, Thanks!

There are probably better ways to prep for games but you might try this for good previews of each game;

Go to sfgate.com. Then sports. Then College. Then NCAA men's basketball. Then scores. Then. Preview

How's that for high tech competency!? At any rate, the previews are pretty extensive. See what you think.

This is also a good site to keep up on SMC.

Link to above reference, in case anyone's interested. Looks like previews available for all the top 25 matchups: http://sfgate.stats.com/cbk/scoreboard.asp?conf=000&day=20170104

CDC84
01-04-2017, 10:57 AM
On the other hand, Villanova almost got beat last week at home by DePaul who is terrible.

sittingon50
01-04-2017, 11:10 AM
Thank you coyote & stu. I like it!

MontanaCoyote
01-04-2017, 11:35 AM
Link to above reference, in case anyone's interested. Looks like previews available for all the top 25 matchups: http://sfgate.stats.com/cbk/scoreboard.asp?conf=000&day=20170104

Hey, gonstu! Thanks very much! I' m always appreciative when one of our posters lends a hand to another. I'm especially appreciative when one saves me from myself!

Best from frigid Montana!

MontanaCoyote
01-04-2017, 11:38 AM
Thank you coyote & stu. I like it!

Sitting on 50; glad you like it. I have no idea how it stacks up against other options, but when a guy with damn near 10,000 posts lends his endorsement it must be good.

Hope others give it a look!

RenoZag
01-04-2017, 12:24 PM
Those summaries are very cool, Coyote. Thanks for the head's up

ZagMan in Philly
01-04-2017, 03:18 PM
St.John's is playing on campus tonite, they will give Creighton a game.
I like to see Butler take out Nova, game is on in few minutes.

seacatfan
01-04-2017, 04:32 PM
I don't even know the score of the game today, but I think there's very little chance Villanova runs the table undefeated. Just not gonna happen.

MontanaCoyote
01-04-2017, 04:50 PM
Those summaries are very cool, Coyote. Thanks for the head's up

You bet. Hope others take your 39,891 post advice and take a look.

ProVeeZag
01-04-2017, 04:55 PM
You bet. Hope others take your 39,891 post advice and take a look.

I just did and looked at total team rebounding per game. Zags come in at a surprising #12 in the nation while BYU ranks #3. I did not see a breakdown between offensive and defensive rebounds. Based on total volume though, maybe we aren't as deficient as we thought.

http://sfgate.stats.com/cbk/leaders.asp?conf=&stat=52

Bocco
01-04-2017, 05:19 PM
Butler up by 5 with 1:46 to go.

Held on for a 66-58 victory over Nova.

U Zig, I Zag
01-04-2017, 05:26 PM
Butler should win this..

Mantua
01-04-2017, 05:29 PM
Butler could lose...

ZagaZags
01-04-2017, 05:31 PM
The Butler did it! And then there was two.

Mantua
01-04-2017, 05:34 PM
The Butler did it! And then there was two.


Heady stuff!

jazzdelmar
01-04-2017, 05:37 PM
Court stormed. Big east is best conference in CBB. Too bad Zags aren't part of it.

U Zig, I Zag
01-04-2017, 05:37 PM
Kids rush the court.

Mantua
01-04-2017, 05:45 PM
Iowa State down 1 at the half 36-37.

Bogozags
01-04-2017, 05:48 PM
Iowa State down 1 at the half 36-37.

Boy, wouldn't an ISU victory be the cherry on top of the sundae!

strikenowhere
01-04-2017, 06:00 PM
Court stormed. Big east is best conference in CBB. Too bad Zags aren't part of it.

What are you talking about? Are you saying that San Fransisco, Portland, and the rest of the WCC won't provide the same depth of competitive, compelling, and high level basketball as the Big East does? Blasphemy!

23dpg
01-04-2017, 06:04 PM
Oregon is favored by just 11 at UW? Wish I had a bookie!

U Zig, I Zag
01-04-2017, 06:10 PM
Boy, wouldn't an ISU victory be the cherry on top of the sundae!

They are hanging. Baylor's got some jumping jacks in there, but bad passes, etc hurting them. ISU doesn't look rattled.

CDC84
01-04-2017, 06:11 PM
The Butler student body were apparently handed pamphlets before the game asking them not to storm the floor if Butler beat Nova. I guess the Big East has some minor $5,000 buck fine for storming the floor. Anyway....it didn't work.

I realize that Nova is #1 in the nation and the reigning national champion, but Butler went to back to back national title games not too long ago, and they are a borderline top 10 team this season. Kind of odd they would storm, but oh well......

CDC84
01-04-2017, 06:15 PM
Poor Iowa State is just so lacking in size. If they just had a solid, reasonably skilled 6-11 center it would do wonders for their team. I'm scared that Baylor's bigs are just going to get them in all sorts of foul trouble as this game moves along.

jazzdelmar
01-04-2017, 06:25 PM
Kind of poetic that the two remaining undefeateds squared off in a preseason scrimmage. Who knew? Which brilliant pundit will be the first to point that out?

RenoZag
01-04-2017, 06:26 PM
You bet. Hope others take your 39,891 post advice and take a look.

Those posts don't mean too much. Lots of time wasted in The Foo forum.

STATS has a very nice product there. Surprised more newspapers / on-line news sources don't utilize that.

Martin Centre Mad Man
01-04-2017, 06:33 PM
Poor Iowa State is just so lacking in size. If they just had a solid, reasonably skilled 6-11 center it would do wonders for their team. I'm scared that Baylor's bigs are just going to get them in all sorts of foul trouble as this game moves along.

ISU leads 57-53 with under 8 minutes to play.

jazzdelmar
01-04-2017, 06:39 PM
Iowa state game but will be nipped by the team in cadmium yellow.

jazzdelmar
01-04-2017, 06:44 PM
The best point guard in the country STINKS.

Worse than I even imagined. Morris was 4-18.

jazzdelmar
01-04-2017, 06:48 PM
Told ya.

Martin Centre Mad Man
01-04-2017, 06:49 PM
ISU 63
Baylor 65
Final.

Bocco
01-04-2017, 06:50 PM
..and Baylor remains unbeaten defeating ISU 65-63

U Zig, I Zag
01-04-2017, 06:50 PM
Dang. Great effort by ISU.

jazzdelmar
01-04-2017, 06:51 PM
Dang. Great effort by ISU.

Not really. Morris stunk and they played not to lose the last 5 minutes.

ZagzKrak
01-04-2017, 06:52 PM
With the Nova loss and Baylor win...Zags and Baylor have the longest active winning streak at 14

CDC84
01-04-2017, 06:56 PM
Meanwhile there is a game on ESPNU between Tulsa and Houston. The game is at Houston....one of the largest cities in America. There has to be less than 1,000 people in the stands. I don't care if the students are on break...it's really embarrassing for the Cougar program. They once used to be a powerhouse in b-ball.

U Zig, I Zag
01-04-2017, 06:57 PM
My word, Walton for the Ore/UW game. Honestly, needs to be put out if his misery. Give him a 48-speed. Put him in Peru. Give him $450 USD and let him make his way back.

CDC84
01-04-2017, 06:58 PM
I am just so glad that Walton got his bike back. He says he can't get anywhere without it.

MontanaCoyote
01-04-2017, 06:59 PM
Kansas, Baylor "escape." Villanova goes down. It's tough at the top.

U Zig, I Zag
01-04-2017, 07:03 PM
Not really. Morris stunk and they played not to lose the last 5 minutes.

Tough place to play. Played it close on the road against the #2 team. Could have done more, sure.

RenoZag
01-04-2017, 07:04 PM
Virginia @ Pitt is on DIRECTV 790 Start of 2nd Half PITT 37, VA 32

Louisville @ Notre Dame DIRECTV 795. Halftime: LVille 37, ND 42

Either is a better choice than Walton and his incessant rambling about the Conference of Champions. . .

23dpg
01-04-2017, 07:06 PM
Tough place to play. Played it close on the road against the #2 team. Could have done more, sure.

I thought it was a great effort by ISU. They had a few decent looks that didn't go in and the Baylor guy hit a very tough, well contested shot to win it. At Baylor no less. Some of you are tough to please.

gonzagafan62
01-04-2017, 07:14 PM
I thought it was a great effort by ISU. They had a few decent looks that didn't go in and the Baylor guy hit a very tough, well contested shot to win it. At Baylor no less. Some of you are tough to please.

Yeah if you don't win you're a choker even if you weren't supposed to win in the first place

CDC84
01-04-2017, 07:18 PM
ISU was severely undermanned in the frontcourt against Baylor. The Baylor bigs were just grabbing over the back rebounds from ISU without even fouling.

They needed the three point shots to keep dropping to win the game, but they went cold the final 6 minutes of play.

jazzdelmar
01-04-2017, 07:21 PM
ISU was severely undermanned in the frontcourt against Baylor. The Baylor bigs were just grabbing over the back rebounds from ISU without even fouling.

They needed the three point shots to keep dropping to win the game, but they went cold the final 6 minutes of play.

4-18 for the putative best point guard in America.

CDC84
01-04-2017, 07:36 PM
Well that didn't help, but Baylor is the 8th best team nationally in defensive efficiency for a reason. And they were playing at home.

I would think that most people would say Frank Mason at KU is the best PG in the nation right now. In fact, he's a potential POY candidate. That Lonzo Ball guy at UCLA isn't too bad either.

Ekrub
01-04-2017, 07:49 PM
Oregon is favored by just 11 at UW? Wish I had a bookie!

Tried to parlay that game ATS with UVA moneyline - stupid of me to parlay. Kicking myself on not taking oregon ats

RenoZag
01-04-2017, 08:00 PM
#23 Notre Dame defends their home court, holds off # 9 Louisville 77 - 70.

jazzdelmar
01-04-2017, 08:05 PM
Well that didn't help, but Baylor is the 8th best team nationally in defensive efficiency for a reason. And they were playing at home.

I would think that most people would say Frank Mason at KU is the best PG in the nation right now. In fact, he's a potential POY candidate. That Lonzo Ball guy at UCLA isn't too bad either.

Hold on, didn't Mason graduate about 5 years ago with Perry Ellis?

RenoZag
01-04-2017, 08:10 PM
Unranked Pitt breaks a 7 game losing streak to # 11 Virginia Cavaliers, winning an OT battle 88 - 76. Game was tied at 70 at the end of regulation.

CDC84
01-04-2017, 08:51 PM
Hold on, didn't Mason graduate about 5 years ago with Perry Ellis?

Ha. Kind of like Bryce Alford. The kid whose eligibility seems to never expire.

Going back to the Baylor/ISU game....there's been some interesting discussion on twitter about the officials stopping the game after Baylor made what turned out to be the game winning hoop. They stopped play to check the game clock. The end result was that they put .4 more seconds on the clock. The stoppage of play kept ISU from being able to advance the ball with the defense retreating. Consequently, Baylor - a great half court defensive team - was able to get their defense set. In order to get the timing of end of game situations absolutely perfect, are we ruining the flow and excitement of games?? I'm sure ISU would gladly have given up that .4 seconds to be able to have Baylor's defense on their collective heels.

sittingon50
01-04-2017, 09:12 PM
QUINNIPIAC 77
Canisius 83

SO. DAKOTA 75
Denver 69

ProVeeZag
01-04-2017, 09:13 PM
Poor Iowa State is just so lacking in size. If they just had a solid, reasonably skilled 6-11 center it would do wonders for their team. I'm scared that Baylor's bigs are just going to get them in all sorts of foul trouble as this game moves along.

Like Ryan Edwards?

23dpg
01-04-2017, 10:15 PM
San Diego State loses again.

maynard g krebs
01-04-2017, 11:33 PM
I just did and looked at total team rebounding per game. Zags come in at a surprising #12 in the nation while BYU ranks #3. I did not see a breakdown between offensive and defensive rebounds. Based on total volume though, maybe we aren't as deficient as we thought.

http://sfgate.stats.com/cbk/leaders.asp?conf=&stat=52

It's a meaningless stat. Only rebound stat that matters is percentage and +- margins. Teams that play run and gun and play in games with more missed shots have more total rebounds.

jazzdelmar
01-05-2017, 04:48 AM
San Diego State loses again.

Wonder if Narain still feels like he made right choice. At this pace the Crooktecs shouldn't be poaching many more recruits and transfers from Zags.

gonstu
01-05-2017, 09:20 AM
Wonder if Narain still feels like he made right choice. At this pace the Crooktecs shouldn't be poaching many more recruits and transfers from Zags.

And the local media will quiet on their support of fisher/aztecs with no bandwagon to trumpet to!

ProVeeZag
01-05-2017, 10:51 AM
It's a meaningless stat. Only rebound stat that matters is percentage and +- margins. Teams that play run and gun and play in games with more missed shots have more total rebounds.

Agree with this...to see BYU at #3 nationally is a big clue as to its meaningless-ness. It doesn't necessarily win you ballgames.

jazzdelmar
01-05-2017, 11:13 AM
And the local media will quiet on their support of fisher/aztecs with no bandwagon to trumpet to!


Stu. They already have. Try to find a segment on the 2 substandard sports talk channels on the Crooktecs other than Teddys fawning interviews. Fish should quit. Probably won't. With the minor league padres and chargers, no one really cares about SDSU either. They had decent FB team w a fun running back and they still drew 20K a game. Now somehow SDSU is pledging $100 million towards Spanos new palace. Where did they find that? Scam Diego, our kind of town.