PDA

View Full Version : Post-game Media - Tennessee



ZagNative
12-18-2016, 03:04 PM
Spokesman-Review: (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/dec/18/zags-hold-off-vols-stay-unbeaten/) This story contains a brilliant photo gallery. Dan Pelle, a genius as far as I'm concerned, apparently traveled to Nashville with Meehan and Blanchette. Thanks, SR!

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2016/12/18/SRX_GU_VS_TENN_8_t1140.jpg?abf36d44fcda22a1f704116 2086f31df6a374511

Gonzaga guard Nigel Williams-Goss beats Tennesse guard Jordan Bowden on the baseline, Dec. 18, 2016, in the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn. (Dan Pelle / The Spokesman-Review)


NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Gonzaga has won offensive shootouts, defensive grind-it-out affairs and everything in between.

The eighth-ranked Zags won a whistle-filled, flowless game Sunday, downing Tennessee 86-76 in a contest that turned interesting in the final 10 minutes at Bridgestone Arena.

They did it with their signature balance and depth, both of which came in handy as the Zags were called for 30 fouls.

Nigel Williams-Goss finished with 20 points, nine rebounds and six assists. Josh Perkins added 15 points and Jordan Mathews had 13. Przemek Karnowski and Zach Collins each had 10 points.

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 03:15 PM
From the Times Free Press (http://www.timesfreepress.com/news/sports/college/story/2016/dec/18/tennessees-second-half-rally-comes-short-against-unbeaten-gonzaga/403610/) (Nice to see the author shares our opinion about the poor refereeing:

NASHVILLE — Tennessee left itself too tall a mountain to climb in a mid-state clash with one of college basketball's remaining unbeaten teams.

The Volunteers trimmed a 21-point first-half deficit all the way down to four in the final minutes, but couldn't get over the hump against eighth-ranked Gonzaga, which moved to 11-0 with a deserved 86-76 victory at Bridgestone Arena in the "Battle on Broadway" on Sunday afternoon.

Tennessee let a 15-point lead in the first half fade in the loss at North Carolina a week ago, but the chances of an upset looked bleak save for an intense few minutes in the second half as the Vols (6-5) charged back from a double-digit deficit.

Detrick Mostella scored all but two of his team-leading 17 points in the second half for Tennessee, and Robert Hubbs III added 10.

Coming off a 30-point game on Thursday, Vols freshman Grant Williams scored 11 in 15 foul-plagued minutes, while Lew Evans started for the injured John Fulkerson (elbow) and struggled with 1-of-8 shooting and four turnovers.

Washington transfer Nigel Williams-Goss scored 20 points to lead the Zags, who overcame 20 turnovers and foul trouble in a game plagued with unnecessary whistles and bad calls both ways.

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 03:22 PM
AP story from the Miami Herald (http://www.miamiherald.com/sports/article121673262.html):

http://www.mcclatchy-wires.com/wire_photos/cnvjo1/picture121673242/ALTERNATES/FREE_960/Gonzaga_Tennessee_Basketball_15738.jpg

http://www.mcclatchy-wires.com/wire_photos/cnvjo1/picture121673242/ALTERNATES/FREE_960/Gonzaga_Tennessee_Basketball_15738.jpg


NASHVILLE, Tenn.

Nigel Williams-Goss scored 20 points, and No. 8 Gonzaga remained undefeated by holding off Tennessee 86-76 on Sunday.

Gonzaga (11-0) hadn't played since Dec. 10 and looked strong as the Bulldogs scored the first eight points and never trailed. They led 27-6 on a jumper by Zach Collins with 12:06 left, 43-29 at halftime and 64-48 midway through the second half.

Tennessee (6-5) went on a 10-3 run and got within 75-71 on a jumper by Robert Hubbs III with 2:26 left.

Read more here: http://www.miamiherald.com/sports/article121673262.html#storylink=cpy

jazzdelmar
12-18-2016, 03:25 PM
From the Times Free Press (http://www.timesfreepress.com/news/sports/college/story/2016/dec/18/tennessees-second-half-rally-comes-short-against-unbeaten-gonzaga/403610/) (Nice to see the author shares our opinion about the poor refereeing:

'Both ways?'

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 03:25 PM
ESN video clips (http://www.espn.com.au/mens-college-basketball/video?gameId=400910800)(I'd like them better if they weren't prefaced by too-long advertisements!)

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 03:28 PM
'Both ways?'
Yup.

Washington transfer Nigel Williams-Goss scored 20 points to lead the Zags, who overcame 20 turnovers and foul trouble in a game plagued with unnecessary whistles and bad calls both ways.

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 03:36 PM
From the Spokesman-Review: (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/dec/18/gonzaga-tennessee-three-things/) "Zags-Vols: 3 keys to Gonzaga’s 86-76 win"

Okay, I'll admit it, this surprised me:

Defensive player of game

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2016/12/18/3.SRX_GU_VS_TENN_24.JPG_t1024.jpg?bdc080b5ea37941e a9a420c9a1a1515850fa88e8


Gonzaga guard Jordan Mathews clamps down on Tennesse guard Robert Hubbs III, Dec. 18, 2016, in the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn. (Dan Pelle / The Spokesman-Review)

Jordan Mathews drew the defensive assignment on Robert Hubbs III and helped limit the talented senior wing to 10 points. Hubbs came in averaging 16.5 points and had three straight games with at least 20 points. Hubbs, a 55.6 percent shooter, was just 4 of 10 from the field.

sittingon50
12-18-2016, 03:50 PM
Great job Jordan!

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 04:06 PM
We moved up in KenPom's rankings (http://kenpom.com/#) from 13 to 12.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/6WVPQzk9ClLMJGLYrQmuIYk2L6C0Hvw9cuf6OscNjlqepyerMn PwNFbzLc5uF6U8w-69dq1tttOljarxYNl_F6M3ZoxbAAWOH2WqOebX2UFSnRqLlKnS ZHV26pC75aXUZpxG7eyUce_6Tnm8x4A6T96ij3onzjWOMk4TrY VRUjODpWurGfepe4f-sReKE8DBE3o1Sq-rOLwd4QCcJIDWzKMKbQhNIVPS1coTWj35tpBGWTwXDj9VEEBU2 sxT2FulEFbQjD6YICDlSzMLOf1h2cLxS73A1PgxuwKCJp7hhli QLZj66lRfEct6JbUtkUtUBT115L9zL2djxmfuAliya0hbIcP_e G8rg8wGtGvvlccMoZAHgRo31Jab-YYwug9fbmoeDeZ8lQr2L-Qh47vGMPBtnAnROEiDGXJD7_ozbh6aZuZgR-2W86UvKO91P2IvnAaC51hNQtQKFJCxa9MHsuOwHISk86xOD1UG GHrzgQL6A11IBHnaZ3fZtIfp9M2elbo2OA7LD8q_1FTadfHsa-NfilnuItzUaRG9F4btBe1RWfh0s7csi4wHa5psbI9z7mH7btha L03rx6pWqTiIGwhDLm1bL2cH1_and37h6fRwYU_S9XRKFg=w10 24-h852-no

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 04:21 PM
The full photo gallery in the Spokesman -Review (http://www.spokesman.com/galleries/2016/dec/18/gonzaga-vs-tennessee-dec-18/) contains some killer photos, including this one:

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2016/12/18/SRX_GU_VS_TENN_19_t1140.jpg?abf36d44fcda22a1f70411 62086f31df6a374511

Gonzaga forward Killian Tillie pressures Tennessee guard Shembari Phillips, Dec. 18, 2016, in the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn. (Dan Pelle / The Spokesman-Review)

sittingon50
12-18-2016, 04:28 PM
We moved up in KenPom's rankings (http://kenpom.com/#) from 13 to 12.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/6WVPQzk9ClLMJGLYrQmuIYk2L6C0Hvw9cuf6OscNjlqepyerMn PwNFbzLc5uF6U8w-69dq1tttOljarxYNl_F6M3ZoxbAAWOH2WqOebX2UFSnRqLlKnS ZHV26pC75aXUZpxG7eyUce_6Tnm8x4A6T96ij3onzjWOMk4TrY VRUjODpWurGfepe4f-sReKE8DBE3o1Sq-rOLwd4QCcJIDWzKMKbQhNIVPS1coTWj35tpBGWTwXDj9VEEBU2 sxT2FulEFbQjD6YICDlSzMLOf1h2cLxS73A1PgxuwKCJp7hhli QLZj66lRfEct6JbUtkUtUBT115L9zL2djxmfuAliya0hbIcP_e G8rg8wGtGvvlccMoZAHgRo31Jab-YYwug9fbmoeDeZ8lQr2L-Qh47vGMPBtnAnROEiDGXJD7_ozbh6aZuZgR-2W86UvKO91P2IvnAaC51hNQtQKFJCxa9MHsuOwHISk86xOD1UG GHrzgQL6A11IBHnaZ3fZtIfp9M2elbo2OA7LD8q_1FTadfHsa-NfilnuItzUaRG9F4btBe1RWfh0s7csi4wHa5psbI9z7mH7btha L03rx6pWqTiIGwhDLm1bL2cH1_and37h6fRwYU_S9XRKFg=w10 24-h852-no

Hey sugar; wasn't this good enough for you?

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?58400-Zags-jump-a-spot

:roll::roll::roll:

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 04:35 PM
Hey sugar; wasn't this good enough for you?

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?58400-Zags-jump-a-spot

:roll::roll::roll:GET UTA HERE!

Nicely done...

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 04:44 PM
From GoZags.com (http://www.gozags.com/sports/m-baskbl/recaps/121816aaa.html), some nice tidbits ...


''I thought they did good, especially the way we started the first half,'' Few said. ''Usually when you come out of finals like this, you're a little bit concerned about losing rhythm. We had some pretty good rhythm going into finals. Gave them several days off, I was a little bit worried about that. They responded.''

''Obviously we weren't perfect, but to come in here and beat a good Tennessee team by double digits, and pretty much control the entire game, I thought we did a good job,'' Williams-Goss said. ''But there's room to grow.''

QUOTABLE

''I think he's got as good a team as he's ever had,'' Barnes said of Few. ''I think he's going to become an even bigger story in college basketball because if you look ahead, he's always done tremendous things with his team in the league and he could be the first time in a long time that you've got a team capable of being undefeated heading into postseason play.''

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 04:48 PM
And from the photo gallery in the Miami Herald AP story above, (http://www.miamiherald.com/sports/article121673262.html) they added this photo, which I like a lot ...

http://www.mcclatchy-wires.com/wire_photos/cvvlzn/picture121683997/ALTERNATES/FREE_960/Gonzaga_Tennessee_Basketball_66359.jpg

Gonzaga guards Rem Bakamus, left, and Josh Perkins (13) leave the court after Gonzaga defeated Tennessee 86-76 in an NCAA college basketball game Sunday, Dec. 18, 2016, in Nashville, Tenn. Mark Humphrey AP Photo

Read more here: http://www.miamiherald.com/sports/article121673262.html#storylink=cpy

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 05:22 PM
Spokesman-Review game story now has links for post-game audio interviews (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/dec/18/zags-hold-off-vols-stay-unbeaten/) of Mark Few, Jordan Mathews, osh Perkins, Przemek Karnowski, and Zach Collins.

RenoZag
12-18-2016, 06:36 PM
The "TV Take" column from Vince Grippi


And Hart’s partner, former Tennessee All-American Kara Lawson, wasted no time pointing that often-overlooked GU strength out.

“This is an elite defensive team,” Lawson said with less than 7 minutes elapsed in the first half and Gonzaga leading 22-6. “They have the size, they have the ability on the defensive end of the floor to make you take tough shots.

“Mark Few has been pleased with their first-shot defense … (because this is a team) that makes you take contested shots.”

It was sentiment shared by former college coach Seth Greenberg, supplying commentary in the ESPN studios at the half.

“Gonzaga’s defense has been terrific,” he said.

How terrific? In the first half, Tennessee, which was averaging more than 80 points a game coming in, shot 23.5 percent from the field. The Vols were just 3-of-12 beyond the arc. But 10 free throws helped ease the pain a bit.

So did shooting better from beyond the arc in the second half, hitting 7 of 17. Still, Tennessee finished converting just 30.4 percent of the field goal attempts.

All of which impressed Lawson, who was seeing Gonzaga in person for the first time this season.

“I’m a little overwhelmed,” she said as the Zags were overwhelming the undersized Volunteers in the


http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/dec/18/tv-take-gonzaga-11-0-zags-volunteers-didnt-seem-be/

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 06:52 PM
John Blanchette's Column (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/dec/18/blanchette-number-this-win-among-the-unusual/)

SWZag
12-18-2016, 06:58 PM
Thanks for all the articles!!!

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 09:45 PM
There's a cool photo album and some interesting commentary in this story from The Tennessean (http://www.tennessean.com/story/sports/college/ut/2016/12/18/tennessees-second-half-surge-falls-short-against-gonzaga/95370916/), including a brief video of Coach Barns comments.

http://www.gannett-cdn.com/-mm-/2306bc5954a46b8dd75e7d14ce8b1a8149b85d51/c=3-0-2861-2149&r=x393&c=520x390/local/-/media/2016/12/18/TennGroup/Nashville/636176770836384335-UT-Gonzaga-003.jpg`


Were a team that cant play the way we started the game, said Tennessee coach Rick Barnes, whose team also struggled in the first half of last Thursday's 92-77 win over Lipscomb. I thought we absolutely played as poorly as weve played all year. You can give them credit for that, but I didnt like our demeanor as a team.

Tennessee senior Robert Hubbs III said the team's start was frustrating.

A game like this, we should have come out swinging, he said.

Detrick Mostella scored 15 of his team-leading 17 points in the second half to lead the late rally for Tennessee (6-5), which shot just 8-for-34 (23.5 percent) from the field in the first half, but the unbeaten Bulldogs outscored the Vols 16-6 in the final 4:07.

I thought they did good, especially starting the way they did, Gonzaga coach Mark Few said. "There was a lot of stuff that wasnt going our way (in the second half) and we knew that Tennessee was going to make a run at us.

We got a little out of sorts on both offense and defense, but, down the stretch, we took care of the ball, got good shots, made free throws and were able to do what we do best string together good first-shot defense and dig out some rebounds.

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 09:57 PM
From the official South East Conference website, some nice video. (http://www.secsports.com/article/18306548/tennessee-falls-short-no-8-gonzaga-86-76)

ZagNative
12-18-2016, 10:19 PM
Tennessee's basketball site (http://www.utsports.com/sports/m-baskbl/recaps/121816aad.html) has an interesting post-game video interview with Coach Barnes, followed by a player interview with Dietrick (sp?)

sittingon50
12-18-2016, 10:42 PM
Coach Few made an interesting point near the end of his interview, saying that now (with school over) they were going to be able to give Rui a lot more reps. And with Jeremy getting healthy I assume that that is 2 more guys to plug in, especially when foul trouble creeps up.

Zagger
12-19-2016, 03:40 AM
John Blanchette's Column (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/dec/18/blanchette-number-this-win-among-the-unusual/)

Blanchette's my fav when it comes to game/Zags pieces ..... love this tidbit:

And massive Przemek Karnowski dismissing an opponent’s pathetic – but rewarded – flop with a gesture that implied a trip to the weight room was in order.

Section 116
12-19-2016, 03:32 PM
From the Knoxville Sentinel News: You’ll have to consult coworker Grant Ramey to compare all four of the top-20 teams Tennessee has played this season, because he’s the only media member to see all four play the Vols in person. I saw seventh-ranked North Carolina last weekend, and I saw Gonzaga on Sunday, and I think that Gonzaga team is better.

Link to an interesting article: http://tennessee.247sports.com/Article/Rucker-Young-Tennessee-Vols-basketball-team-not-as-far-behind-bi-49902434

RenoZag
12-19-2016, 03:39 PM
Thanks for the link to that article, 116. Good read.

ProVeeZag
12-19-2016, 03:52 PM
Thanks for the link to that article, 116. Good read.

Yes it was, THANKS!

sittingon50
12-19-2016, 06:00 PM
Thanks 116.