PDA

View Full Version : Media Coverage GU vs. Utah Valley



ZagNative
11-11-2016, 11:17 PM
This is a great highlight video:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qWu0aFGcE2I


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mY6b_QaviXs

ZagNative
11-11-2016, 11:35 PM
From the Spokesman-Review (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/nov/11/freshmen-killian-tillie-strong-in-first-game-as-za/):

Freshmen Killian Tillie strong in first game as Zag

By Michael Gulledge staff writer



Freshmen Killian Tillie, a six-foot-ten forward, played 21 minutes on Friday night but made his presence known in Gonzaga’s season opener.

In his first official game in a GU uniform, Tillie dominated the glass and recorded nine rebounds to lead the Zags defensively.

Eight of the rebounds were in the first half, along with a three-pointer at the 14:41 mark to give the Bulldogs a 15-6 lead.

Tillie attended the National Institute of Sport and Physical Education (INSEP) in France, located just outside of Paris. The school specializes in training athletes to excel in academics and athletics.

Although this was his first official game for Gonzaga, Tillie had four offensive rebounds in the Zag’s exhibition game against West Georgia in which they cruised to a 122-76 win.

Tillie said the exhibition game helped take away the nerves associated with playing in his first official game Friday night. “It was a good game,” he said. “Lot of intensity in the game and I felt good.”

And Jim Meehan's gamer from the SR: (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/nov/11/zags-pull-away-from-utah-valley-win-opener-92-69/)

Seniors Przemek Karnowski and Jordan Mathews combined for 30 points. Juniors Nigel Williams-Goss and Silas Melson teamed for 31 as the Zags pulled away from Utah Valley 92-69 in front of a packed house of 6,000 at the McCarthey Athletic Center.

“That’s to be expected,” said Mathews, who dropped in four 3-pointers and finished with 16 points and five assists. “When I was a freshman and sophomore it was the older guys that steadied the ship. Myself, Nigel, Silas, guys like Josh (Perkins) and Przemek, we’ve been through every type of game. You just have to fight for 40 minutes.”
Three factors allowed GU to enjoy a double-digit lead most of the way. One, the Zags were efficient offensively, hitting 52.2 percent of their shots, seven 3s and 15 of 18 at the free-throw line. Two, they did a nice job corralling a Utah Valley offense that tried to make it a track meet and a 3-point shooting contest.

And three, GU cleaned up on the glass (51-31) and on the interior (42-24 edge in the paint points). Karnowski made 7 of 10 shots for his 14 points, but it was the penetration of Williams-Goss and Melson that augmented the lane production.

Melson made 8 of 10 two-point attempts en route to 17 points, one away from his career high.

“Lot of things I’ve been working on, my paint work, getting to the basket, getting to my floater,” said Melson, who added four assists. “My 3 wasn’t falling, I airballed my first shot, so I had to find answers somewhere.”

Melson also delivered defensively, opening up against Brandon Randolph, who had a triple-double in Utah Valley’s exhibition win, and switching on to Conner Toolson in the second half.

ZagNative
11-12-2016, 12:31 AM
Here's a
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/nov/11/blanchette-old-shoes-przemek-karnowski-silas-melso/:


Blanchette: ‘Old shoes’ Przemek Karnowski, Silas Melson fit just right

http://media.spokesman.com/photos/2016/11/11/SRX_GU_UTAH_VALLEY_22_t1140.jpg?abf36d44fcda22a1f7 041162086f31df6a374511

Gonzaga guard Silas Melson (0) reacts after a foul call during the second half of a college basketball game in the McCarthey Athletic Center, Fri., Nov. 11, 2016. Nelson was top scorer for the Zags with 17 points. (Colin Mulvany / The Spokesman-Review
...
So the Zags’ 92-69 victory – their 28th straight in a home opener – spends just like that old play money. Meanwhile, it was a good chance to weigh the merits of old-shoe comfort against new-shoe style, knowing full well once the new kicks get broken in, they’ll feel fine, too.

That is to say, it’s good to have a couple of old shoes like Przemek Karnowski and Silas Melson to slip into.

They are, for the moment, the old pros in Gonzaga’s rotation, the players who’ve been here and done that, as opposed to been elsewhere and done it – or never been. Though the Zags were never in any particular danger of letting this one get away, Melson and Karnowski always seemed to be in the rescue party when things threatened to become too interesting.

We’re thinking of the moment in the first half when the visiting Wolverines had cut a 15-point deficit to five, and Melson banked in a 6-footer coming out of a timeout. Or Karnowski’s deft footwork in the post for buckets in a nine-point run just before halftime. Or Melson’s game-long defensive work, first on Brandon Randolph (who had a triple-double in UVU’s exhibition win and just a 7-5-0 this night), and then on long bomber Conner Toolsen. Or big Shem’s rim-protecting presence – and throwing his 300-pound self on the floor for a loose ball.
As for Karnowski, now that games have begun his pain-staking comeback takes on more urgency – except he can’t hurry.

“I want to do more,” said the 7-foot-1 giant, “but I need to slow down with my body and make sure I don’t overdo stuff – especially at the beginning of the season when I feel fresh and think I can do a lot. We play every couple of days, and I need to be ready for that.”

Just think of them as new realities, for a couple of old hands.

ZagNative
11-12-2016, 12:45 AM
Spokesman-Review Audio interview of Mark Few. (http://www.spokesman.com/audio/2016/nov/11/gonzaga-utah-valley-coach-mark-few/)

ZagNative
11-12-2016, 01:23 AM
GoZags.com story, video, and photos: http://www.gozags.com/sports/m-baskbl/recaps/111116aaa.html

Photo Album (http://www.gozags.com/view.gal?id=198976), which includes this dandy:

http://grfx.cstv.com/photos/schools/gonz/sports/m-baskbl/auto_player/12241756.jpeg

ZagNative
11-12-2016, 01:32 AM
SWX game story video (http://www.swxrightnow.com/category/162983/vc-gonzaga)

RenoZag
11-12-2016, 08:25 AM
Nice Grippi column on the home opener

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/nov/11/gonzaga-took-wraps-its-new-team-friday-night-and-i/


But, to paraphrase Butch and Sundance, who were those guys?

Thanks to Sam Adams and Richard Fox, broadcasting the game on KHQ in the Spokane area, we knew. Not just who they were, but, for the most part, the journey they had to take to become a Zag.

Virginia Zags Fan
11-12-2016, 09:00 AM
A lot of questions about SDSU in the audio post game interviews. I know they are a very good, athletic team. But the interviews are really trying to lower expectations. And give no bulletin board material I suppose.

Really like the Jordan Mathews interview. That young man is going places! When talking about the athleticism and length of SDSU, "They've got some guys, but we've got some guys, too. It's going to be fun."


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sittingon50
11-12-2016, 09:06 AM
And on a sad note:

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/nov/11/longtime-zags-scorekeeper-dies/

John was a REALLY good guy.

Goshzagit
11-12-2016, 09:24 AM
outside of SMC, i've never seen a team put so much stock in 1 game vs Zags.

take a moment to read Aztec Mesa message board, and SDSU is literally putting all their eggs in one basket.

They believe their entire hope at making the NCAA Tourney is our game, also their OOC schedule.

Just reading the sentiment, makes me nervous for them.

Talk about pressure.

I see what they mean, they won 28 games last yr and were held out of the Tournament (they deserved it imo).

Well, we know SDSU will be fired up, apparently, their season rests in the balance.

Hope Zags play a little more organized, consistent, and Perkins and NWG figure out their backcourt roles. Collins slows down, Karno speeds up, J3 fouls less, Silas continues to play in control, and Nigel takes better shots inside perimeter.

Should be fun.

seacatfan
11-12-2016, 10:00 AM
I agree about Collins slowing down, but I don't think Karno needs to speed up. He was masterful in his minutes on the court, don't need to change a thing.

Goshzagit
11-12-2016, 10:47 AM
I agree about Collins slowing down, but I don't think Karno needs to speed up. He was masterful in his minutes on the court, don't need to change a thing.

You are right. Karno was terrific on defense and touch on his post moves. Not 'speed up' as in movement, more conditioning. He was so good last night that I'm hoping for more than 4 mins at a time. He literally plays in 4 min spurts, which will probably increase every game.

Excited to have the big fella back. Heart warming and fun to say the least...

seacatfan
11-12-2016, 11:16 AM
You are right. Karno was terrific on defense and touch on his post moves. Not 'speed up' as in movement, more conditioning. He was so good last night that I'm hoping for more than 4 mins at a time. He literally plays in 4 min spurts, which will probably increase every game.

Excited to have the big fella back. Heart warming and fun to say the least...

Gotcha, totally in agreement with you. I think the conditioning will improve as the season goes on.

ZagNative
11-12-2016, 12:17 PM
KREM 2 post-game video (http://www.nwcn.com/sports/zags-look-good-in-season-opening-win-over-utah-valley/351281805)

bballbeachbum
11-12-2016, 12:20 PM
“Lot of things I’ve been working on, my paint work, getting to the basket, getting to my floater,” said Melson, who added four assists. “My 3 wasn’t falling, I airballed my first shot, so I had to find answers somewhere.” - Silas Melson

Love this right here

Goshzagit
11-12-2016, 12:48 PM
“Lot of things I’ve been working on, my paint work, getting to the basket, getting to my floater,” said Melson, who added four assists. “My 3 wasn’t falling, I airballed my first shot, so I had to find answers somewhere.”

- Silas Melson

Love this right here

+1

Silas used to put his head down &/or visible frustrated when his shots weren't falling.

Terrific sign of maturing and coming into his own...

Its 'clicking'. Excited to watch his continued growth. He took all the right shots last night, while he missed some wide open teammates, his shots were effective.

Keep it going Mr. Melson.

MontanaCoyote
11-12-2016, 03:43 PM
Gotcha, totally in agreement with you. I think the conditioning will improve as the season goes on.

Karno aka "The Presence" mentioned in an interview after the game that he's working on his conditioning. He and coach will
pace his play to make sure he works his way all the way back without making the mistake of pushing it too hard.

It's still amazing to me that he's playing as well as he is after such a serious injury and long lay off. He's back already and changes the game any time he's in. And his best is still to come.

seacatfan
11-12-2016, 03:47 PM
Karno aka "The Presence" mentioned in an interview after the game that he's working on his conditioning. He and coach will
pace his play to make sure he works his way all the way back without making the mistake of pushing it too hard.

It's still amazing to me that he's playing as well as he is after such a serious injury and long lay off. He's back already and changes the game any time he's in. And his best is still to come.

Definitely. Pretty fortunate he's able to play at all, let alone effectively. I think a lot of people forgot how good he is since he missed most of last year. He reminded a lot of folks of how many different ways he impacts a game last night.

krii
11-13-2016, 04:35 AM
Definitely. Pretty fortunate he's able to play at all, let alone effectively. I think a lot of people forgot how good he is since he missed most of last year. He reminded a lot of folks of how many different ways he impacts a game last night.

With improved conditioning and FT (which seems to improved since the last season) he might have a shot in the draft. Even in the guard era there is always a need for 7ft brutal force inside the paint even for a bench units. I'm pretty sure he could work on his shooting abilities to make himself more playable in offense. In terms of defense he is able to run to the perimeter and with his size it should be at least good for any bench unit in the league.

This is important because if Karno and, say, JWilliams will be drafted and join KWiltjer and Domas there is a huge boost for Gonzaga's reputation around the country. My oh my! ;-)