PDA

View Full Version : Evolution of a Zag Fan

drnoe
10-10-2007, 10:25 AM
I grew up in the Dayton,OH area during the 60s and much of the 70s. While there wasn’t exactly a dearth of good college hoops in the area, I was completely unable to latch on to the UD Flyers, despite their fairly rich local tradition…afterall, they did lose to UCLA in the ’67 NCAA finals. To satisfy my unquenchable desire to adopt a favorite team, my mind drifted west to UCLA. Afterall, how could I ignore the mystical charm of Wooden and the talent of Alcindor, Allen, Wicks and Rowe? Consistency, reliability, poise and greatness were attributes I couldn’t ignore. Obviously, they didn’t disappoint me until about the time Larry Brown left town.

I stuck with the Bruins up until about the time I graduated from San Diego State in 1982. The Aztecs were definitely my second favorite team and I didn’t miss a single game while I was there. I thoroughly enjoyed watching players like Tony Gwynn, Michael Cage and Eddie Gordon. Though inconsistent and many times disappointing, they were highly competitive and exciting to watch. My highlight game was when Tony Gwynn led the Aztecs to a thrilling win over Danny Ainge’s very strong and ranked BYU team. Gwynn and Cage dominated that game. It was no fluke that Gwynn was subsequently drafted by the Clippers and Cage went on to have a long, successful NBA career as one of the league’s all-time leading rebounders.