PDA

View Full Version : OT ... Seattle Times piece questioning Romar/Brandon Roy and "crossing the line"

GoZags
06-27-2016, 08:22 PM
http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/high-school/did-lorenzo-romar-brandon-roy-and-uws-recruiting-of-the-porter-brothers-cross-the-line/

Ouch

"raising eyebrows"

"Larry Brown playbook"

hooter73
06-27-2016, 09:28 PM
How in the living hell is Romars bs just now becoming a story???

MDABE80
06-27-2016, 09:33 PM
He's dirty. All this doens't happen by accident. It may be legal technically but apparently eh's willing to be seen in a dirty light to win a few games with the Porter kids. Love the part where the kid says it's not a sure thing and that he may still be looking. Now they've apparently corrupted the kid too. High moral character? Doesn't sound like it. If I was a coach in the Metro, I'd be furious. Pretty good manipulation though......Seattle Times is sticking its neck out on this. I doubt they'd print this if they didn't know more.

LongIslandZagFan
06-28-2016, 05:59 AM
I am no fan of Lorenzo... but that would be one heck of a long game to be friends with a guy for 20+ years and becoming the godfather of a kid in hopes he is going to turn out to being a great player.... just sayin'.

That being said... the hiring looks fishy.

MDABE80
06-28-2016, 07:41 AM
Wrong issue. He probably never had plans 20 years ago. He wasn't even the coach then. But, as things "evolve", Romar's in a position to capitalize on being the godfather. So here comes these kids ( unborn 20 years ago) and all of a sudden, he sees an opportunity because these 2 kids are now stars...
Thus the story. To even posit that he might be innocent BECAUSE of what he was doing or not doing 20 years ago is not the point and muddies the waters.

GoZags
06-28-2016, 07:49 AM