PDA

View Full Version : NBA Draft Thread - Sabonis taken 11th



Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 03:05 PM
Round 1 Draft Picks
1 Philadelphia
2 LA Lakers
3 Boston
4 Phoenix
5 Minnesota
6 New Orleans
7 Denver
8 Sacramento
9 Toronto
10 Milwaukee
11 Orlando
12 Utah
13 Phoenix
14 Chicago
15 Denver
16 Boston
17 Memphis
18 Detroit
19 Denver
20 Indiana
21 Atlanta
22 Charlotte
23 Boston
24 Philadelphia
25 LA Clippers
26 Philadelphia
27 Toronto
28 Phoenix
29 San Antonio
30 Golden State

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 03:06 PM
Round 2 Draft Picks
1 Boston
2 LA Lakers
3 LA Clippers
4 Phoenix
5 Boston
6 Milwaukee
7 Houston
8 Milwaukee
9 New Orleans
10 New Orleans
11 Orlando
12 Utah
13 Houston
14 Atlanta
15 Boston
16 Dallas
17 Orlando
18 Chicago
19 Detroit
20 Indiana
21 Boston
22 Utah
23 Denver
24 Atlanta
25 Brooklyn
26 Denver
27 Memphis
28 Boston
29 Sacramento
30 Utah

ZagNative
06-23-2016, 03:10 PM
Thanks, Zagdawg!

Mantua
06-23-2016, 03:12 PM
I haven't seen Domas. Thanks Espn!

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 03:20 PM
Predraft Trades (impacting this years draft):

June 23: Kings land No. 22 pick from Hornets

Charlotte Hornets get:
Marco Belinelli, SG

Sacramento Kings get:
2016 first-round pick (No. 22)


June 23: Pacers deal No. 20 pick for Nets' Young

Indiana Pacers get:
Thaddeus Young, PF

Brooklyn Nets get:
2016 first-round pick (No. 20); future second-round pick


June 22: Teague to Pacers, Hill to Jazz in 3-team deal

Indiana Pacers get:
Jeff Teague, PG

Utah Jazz get:
George Hill, PG

Atlanta Hawks get:
2016 first-round pick (No. 12 via Utah)

ZagNative
06-23-2016, 03:33 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ClrDN8RWQAEmlJa.jpg

MDABE80
06-23-2016, 03:38 PM
Great family support!

ConnZag3
06-23-2016, 03:41 PM
As a Wisconsin resident, fingers crossed that the Bucks don't screw it up and pass on Sabonis if he's available. Would fit well with Middleton, Parker and Giannis for the next few years.

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 04:42 PM
Orlando for Sabonis at 11 ---- "Sources" say.

Hooray4Daye&Gray
06-23-2016, 04:42 PM
Congratulations Domas! 11 is my favorite number too.

jazzdelmar
06-23-2016, 04:47 PM
Congratulations Domas! 11 is my favorite number too.

Domas' agent?

zagfan94
06-23-2016, 04:52 PM
Traded to OKC. Serge Ibake for Victor Oladipo, Ersan Ilyasova and rights to Sabonis

whatazag
06-23-2016, 04:53 PM
Congrats to Domas.
I think the majority of players so far selected have been born outside the US, seems odd, don't think that is common for the lottery.

Mantua
06-23-2016, 04:54 PM
Congratulations Domas!

I was glad to hear Bilas' remarks about the Utah game.

Saxon_zag
06-23-2016, 04:56 PM
Rights traded to OKC...

Wow :( :( :(:( Sabonis is a zombie sonic......

DixieZag
06-23-2016, 05:00 PM
Wow. going at 11 - wherever he ends up, is just so impressive.

Continues a great tradition of Zag bigs, lately Sacre Olynick, Sabonis, Zach step right up.

jazzdelmar
06-23-2016, 05:03 PM
Fabulous opportunity.

Mantua
06-23-2016, 05:07 PM
Given the recent events in Orlando, I'm relieved about the trade.

SoonerZag
06-23-2016, 05:11 PM
So happy I had turned it off after Sabonis went to Magic. WIfe called me back saying Sabonis to OKC. Feels like Christmas

Saxon_zag
06-23-2016, 05:12 PM
Given the recent events in Orlando, I'm relieved about the trade.

LOL

True, I can't think of anything bad ever happening in Oklahoma city.......

SoonerZag
06-23-2016, 05:13 PM
Looks like he will playing right up the road from me. Look forward to some Thunder games next season.

Coach Crazy
06-23-2016, 05:21 PM
This is a nightmare.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mantua
06-23-2016, 05:24 PM
LOL

True, I can't think of anything bad ever happening in Oklahoma city.......

I see what you mean but I have lived in Florida - incredible crime, bugs and coral snakes.

willandi
06-23-2016, 05:26 PM
LOL

True, I can't think of anything bad ever happening in Oklahoma city.......

No bombs or nothin'!

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 05:28 PM
Durant "replacement".........;)

Coach Crazy
06-23-2016, 05:28 PM
No bombs or nothin'!

No bombs, anymore. Just men who are the antithesis of good and right, that bought that team. And now Domas is a prisoner of that purgatory.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

B Wayne
06-23-2016, 05:28 PM
agree...durant leaving...Westbrook after next year probably. The only hope is OKC becomes the team that moves to Vegas

surfmonkey89
06-23-2016, 05:34 PM
agree...durant leaving...Westbrook after next year probably. The only hope is OKC becomes the team that moves to Vegas

Last I heard, the OKC owner was head of the relocation committee. They ain't goin' anywhere.

jazzdelmar
06-23-2016, 05:34 PM
No bombs, anymore. Just men who are the antithesis of good and right, that bought that team. And now Domas is a prisoner of that purgatory.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Didn't the key guy off himself a few years ago?

B Wayne
06-23-2016, 05:36 PM
Last I heard, the OKC owner was head of the relocation committee. They ain't goin' anywhere.

Well on the bright side...I was wondering why OKC wanted him so bad...maybe they want someone to out nasty D Green of Golden State.

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 05:40 PM
Sabonis interview:

http://espn.go.com/espnradio/playPopup?id=16463039

Coach Crazy
06-23-2016, 05:42 PM
Didn't the key guy off himself a few years ago?

Yeah. By driving his car into a wall. You're so corrupt and dishonest that you drive your car...into a wall. Just to end the pain. And Tom, one of the other major figures, is being investigated. I know some are going to be frustrated with me going off track...this is just the worst place he could have gone for a die-hard Supes fan that had some involvement in Sonicsgate.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

strikenowhere
06-23-2016, 05:44 PM
Didn't get a chance to watch - was Few there too?

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-23-2016, 05:44 PM
agree...durant leaving...Westbrook after next year probably. The only hope is OKC becomes the team that moves to Vegas

I'm not so sure KD is leaving OKC. Oladipo is a solid addition and gives Thunder a very athletic, defensively stout backcourt. They pushed Warriors to brink of elimination. If they can entice a quality free agent PF to replace Ibaka, then I'd say OKC remains Durrant's best shot at a title.....unless he signs with the Warriors of course ��

I think Durrant is a big hearted guy who feels very loyal to OKC as a franchise and the community. Hope he stays and Sabonis can play with him but will always like KD regardless.

23dpg
06-23-2016, 05:46 PM
Didn't get a chance to watch - was Few there too?

Yes. I didn't see him on tv but I'm pretty sure he's there.

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-23-2016, 05:48 PM
Yes. I didn't see him on tv but I'm pretty sure he's there.

Yes, Few was at table with Sabonis family and seen briefly on ESPN coverage, he just doesn't shamelessly mug for the camera like Calipari.

jazzdelmar
06-23-2016, 05:50 PM
Yes, Few was at table with Sabonis family and seen briefly on ESPN coverage, he just doesn't shamelessly mug for the camera like Calipari.

Amen. One more reason to appreciate MF and loathe Crookapari.

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-23-2016, 05:51 PM
Given the recent events in Orlando, I'm relieved about the trade.

One of the dumber comments I've read here

jazzdelmar
06-23-2016, 05:53 PM
One of the dumber comments I've read here

The first of a couple. Silly season

willandi
06-23-2016, 05:54 PM
Yeah. By driving his car into a wall. You're so corrupt and dishonest that you drive your car...into a wall. Just to end the pain. And Tom, one of the other major figures, is being investigated. I know some are going to be frustrated with me going off track...this is just the worst place he could have gone for a die-hard Supes fan that had some involvement in Sonicsgate.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That was mythought too. Glad for Domas, but....I don't know if I can watch OKC.

CDC84
06-23-2016, 05:55 PM
The general thinking on the part of many analysts is that Durant will stay one more year in OKC and then bolt.

CdAZagFan
06-23-2016, 06:01 PM
Now I'm really pining for OKC to move back to Seattle...

CdAZagFan
06-23-2016, 06:08 PM
Sabonis interview:

http://espn.go.com/espnradio/playPopup?id=16463039

He's really got his head on straight and with his passion and potential, I think he can go far in the nba... I believe he will outplay Poeltl at the next level.

cjm720
06-23-2016, 06:14 PM
####. Now I have to root for that ####ing team. Great opportunity for DS tho! Congrats big man!!!

Zags11
06-23-2016, 06:30 PM
####. Now I have to root for that ####ing team. Great opportunity for DS tho! Congrats big man!!!

Nah I'll never root for the fake sonics. Wish him well

MDABE80
06-23-2016, 06:37 PM
:lmao:
Yeah. By driving his car into a wall. You're so corrupt and dishonest that you drive your car...into a wall. Just to end the pain. And Tom, one of the other major figures, is being investigated. I know some are going to be frustrated with me going off track...this is just the worst place he could have gone for a die-hard Supes fan that had some involvement in Sonicsgate.

Told ya.....he should have stayed around....:)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zagceo
06-23-2016, 06:46 PM
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2016/06/24/article-urn:publicid:ap.org:f852022300b44b12899b0ebda3ade3 57-2IF7Xn8RdX9b22b814ffc505f11e-98_634x443.jpg

Wonder if he knew about possible trade before draft?

willandi
06-23-2016, 06:54 PM
I don't like OKC because they were stolen from Seattle. Still, it is a better place for Domas to be than the Magic. He is on a playoff team.

jazzdelmar
06-23-2016, 06:57 PM
I don't like OKC because they were stolen from Seattle. Still, it is a better place for Domas to be than the Magic. He is on a playoff team.

Surrounded by all stars.

surfmonkey89
06-23-2016, 06:57 PM
My best case is: Durant goes, Westbrook goes, and OKC spirals for a few years. Seattle gets a new Sonics team while Sabonis is still playing, and he comes and plays for us :)

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 07:48 PM
http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Sabonis.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Sabonis.jpg.html)

gonzagafan62
06-23-2016, 07:50 PM
Love sabonis on thunder.. Now gotta hope KD stays so he can be on a winner.

gonzagafan62
06-23-2016, 07:51 PM
My mavs picked up AJ Hammons. Great pickup

Pallet
06-23-2016, 07:51 PM
UW's Murray going to San Antonio is his best case. They can fix a shot, just look at Leonard, he shot less than 30% in college from 3 and now shoots around 40%.

Zag 77
06-23-2016, 07:53 PM
Wow, I would be embarrassed if I were an alum of some of the major universities in the country and have to listen to players who had spent 2-4 years in college and cannot put together an intelligent sentence in an interview.

At least GU alums who have played in the NBA have been able to demonstrate that they got enough education to express themselves when a simple question is asked: Sacre, Olynyk, Stockton Senior, Stockton Junior; even Adam Morrison was better than some of the guys I have heard tonight. Sabonis and Turiaf do very well considering they grew up in foreign countries.

Zag 77
06-23-2016, 07:58 PM
Geez, get over it already. Some of you guys complaining about the Sonic move to OKC sound like geezers I used to hear who complained about the Brooklyn Dodgers moving to LA.

Professional sports is a business, and if you are silly enough to be loyal, you are eventually get your heart broken when a trade or a team move happens (OFTEN). That is why I generally stick to college sports. The cynicism and money grubbing is slightly less than in pro sports and most college teams are at least somewhat attentive to their fan base.:horse:

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 07:58 PM
Jim Meehan Retweeted
Anthony Slater ‏@anthonyVslater 5m5 minutes ago
Rookie Domantas Sabonis in NYC on the Thunder: "They were 30 minutes away from the Finals. Hope I can bring that extra piece to their team."

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 08:16 PM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/jun/23/gonzagas-domantas-sabonis-selected-11th-in-nba-dra/

Zagceo
06-23-2016, 08:19 PM
Few Donovan connection could have been in play?

Coach Crazy
06-23-2016, 08:29 PM
Wow, I would be embarrassed if I were an alum of some of the major universities in the country and have to listen to players who had spent 2-4 years in college and cannot put together an intelligent sentence in an interview.

At least GU alums who have played in the NBA have been able to demonstrate that they got enough education to express themselves when a simple question is asked: Sacre, Olynyk, Stockton Senior, Stockton Junior; even Adam Morrison was better than some of the guys I have heard tonight. Sabonis and Turiaf do very well considering they grew up in foreign countries.

Didn't you post about the NBA being a business? The NBA isn't in the business of putting together complete sentences. It's in the business of doing things on the court that put people in the stands.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

willandi
06-23-2016, 08:29 PM
Geez, get over it already. Some of you guys complaining about the Sonic move to OKC sound like geezers I used to hear who complained about the Brooklyn Dodgers moving to LA.

Professional sports is a business, and if you are silly enough to be loyal, you are eventually get your heart broken when a trade or a team move happens (OFTEN). That is why I generally stick to college sports. The cynicism and money grubbing is slightly less than in pro sports and most college teams are at least somewhat attentive to their fan base.:horse:

Sonics didn't move to OKC. Stern was angry with Seattle that they wouldn't spring for a new arena even though the were the first to do a multi-million renovation of Key Arena. He allowed the OKC buyers to pretend to give Seattle a chance when they were outspoken that they didn't buy the team to keep it in Seattle. Sorry if you don't like it, but it wasn't done according to the rules. Stern allowed the rules to be broken to teach Seattle, and all the other cities, a lesson.

U Zig, I Zag
06-23-2016, 08:45 PM
Glad for Sabonis. The OKC/SEA thing is, well, a thing - but it's not the players' problem. Certainly not Sabonis' problem. Hopefully he gets some PT. They should be pretty loaded if they can keep Durant.

ZAG65
06-23-2016, 08:45 PM
Any word on KW?

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 08:48 PM
Darren WolfsonVerified account
‏@DWolfsonKSTP
Hear Kyle Wiltjer to Houston. His shooting would've been nice to see on the #Twolves in summer league, etc.

Zagceo
06-23-2016, 08:51 PM
Seattle fans would welcome Sonics back in 20 years if it happens....just like Rams to LA.

And Seattle tried getting Sacramentos team.....so business as usual.

Obama said he'd like to own NBA team........Sonics?

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 09:02 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 5m5 minutes ago
Kyle Wiltjer headed to @HoustonRockets? NCAAs best shooter could score in bunches for Rockets #flamethrower #gonzaga

amaronizag
06-23-2016, 09:10 PM
Watched until the end and heard nothing about Wiltjer. Very glad to hear he got picked up by Houston. Wishing him the best this summer and a more lucrative contract next year when even bigger bucks start raining on the NBA salary caps. Of course I'm also glad to see Domas go to OK and hope KD sticks around for a while. Would love to see another ZAG with a ring.

CDC84
06-23-2016, 09:52 PM
Jim Meehan ‏@SRJimm 8m8 minutes ago

Exchanged texts with Wiltjer, who has agreed to three-year deal with Houston, will play on Rockets' summer league team.

Zags11
06-23-2016, 10:12 PM
Geez, get over it already. Some of you guys complaining about the Sonic move to OKC sound like geezers I used to hear who complained about the Brooklyn Dodgers moving to LA.

Professional sports is a business, and if you are silly enough to be loyal, you are eventually get your heart broken when a trade or a team move happens (OFTEN). That is why I generally stick to college sports. The cynicism and money grubbing is slightly less than in pro sports and most college teams are at least somewhat attentive to their fan base.:horse:

These teams aren't loyal. Bah. I won't root for okc ever and if I'm wrong, so be it. I highly doubt college teams are all loyal since they get banned for taking $ and gifts. If that's loyalty to have your fans see wins and titles removed for players or coaches wealthy......you got funny sense of humour.

Screw okc.

Zags11
06-23-2016, 10:14 PM
Seattle fans would welcome Sonics back in 20 years if it happens....just like Rams to LA.

And Seattle tried getting Sacramentos team.....so business as usual.

Obama said he'd like to own NBA team........Sonics?

I'd welcome sonics back. Duh. If its okc(let's say) I'd love em again but until that day may they rot.

GeorgiaZagFan
06-23-2016, 10:55 PM
Didn't you post about the NBA being a business? The NBA isn't in the business of putting together complete sentences. It's in the business of doing things on the court that put people in the stands.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

...YES, YOU ARE CORRECT! But colleges ARE in the business of educating their students!

Mantua
06-23-2016, 11:08 PM
These teams aren't loyal. Bah. I won't root for okc ever and if I'm wrong, so be it. I highly doubt college teams are all loyal since they get banned for taking $ and gifts. If that's loyalty to have your fans see wins and titles removed for players or coaches wealthy......you got funny sense of humour.

Screw okc.

I'm very happy to see Domas go to a good team and I will root for him. If KD stays, Domas could end up with a ring. I still harbor my bitterness about the Sonics but I can compartmentalize when it comes down to supporting our guys. And I'm a Golden State fan.

Zagceo
06-24-2016, 12:20 AM
From thunder blog .....

Just another opinion



. The final piece is Sabonis who is a total throwback. He is a legit seven footer and he has legit low post scoring skills. His Dad (Arvydas) was a legend and he appeared to inherit some of those moves and skills. And now he gets to enter into a low pressure situation with Kanter and Adams ahead of him and Collison there to help guide him. He probably won't get a ton of playing time next year, but I bet we see him a decent amount. I loved him at Gonzaga.


.....to be continued

zagsfanforlife
06-24-2016, 03:42 AM
There will not be a NASTIER combo in the NBA downlow than Steven Adams and Sabonis. That will be FUN to watch. Outwork, outhustle, and KD and RW do the flashy things. Add Oladipo and i see a championship in the near future for DS

Coach Crazy
06-24-2016, 04:47 AM
From thunder blog .....

Just another opinion





.....to be continued

You don't trade your starting 4 for a draft pick at the 4, unless you intend on giving that forward impact minutes. Enis Kanter?! Please. Domas will shred that pretender. You draft Domas because you want an instant contributor on a team that can use a legitimate low post threat who can rebound and pass out to shooters and scorers like KD and RW.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zaga
06-24-2016, 05:03 AM
Sabonis salary $4,990,200 for a two year total. Sweet... Congrats Domas!

jazzdelmar
06-24-2016, 05:17 AM
Sabonis salary $4,990,200 for a two year total. Sweet... Congrats Domas!

How does that compare w his offer before he came to GU?

GoZags
06-24-2016, 05:32 AM
How does that compare w his offer before he came to GU?

I believe Domas was offered $2,000,000 for 4 years to stay with Malaga. At least I think I recall that being the deal.

jazzdelmar
06-24-2016, 05:45 AM
I believe Domas was offered $2,000,000 for 4 years to stay with Malaga. At least I think I recall that being the deal.

Two mil a yr bump....Nice.

kitzbuel
06-24-2016, 05:53 AM
From thunder blog .....

Just another opinion



. The final piece is Sabonis who is a total throwback. He is a legit seven footer and he has legit low post scoring skills. His Dad (Arvydas) was a legend and he appeared to inherit some of those moves and skills. And now he gets to enter into a low pressure situation with Kanter and Adams ahead of him and Collison there to help guide him. He probably won't get a ton of playing time next year, but I bet we see him a decent amount. I loved him at Gonzaga.


.....to be continued

Yeah, somebody needs to let them know that he started out last year as a bench player and finished the season as a lottery pick.

jazzdelmar
06-24-2016, 06:23 AM
ESPN likes it:

Oklahoma City Thunder: A

Round 1: Domantas Sabonis (11)

Round 2: Daniel Hamilton (56)


What a night for the Thunder. Not only did they move into the lottery to get one of the toughest, most-skilled big men in the draft, but they also landed Victor Oladipo, a recent No. 2 pick in the draft. He will be their best 2-guard since James Harden. A Russell Westbrook-Oladipo backcourt could be devastating.

The cost was high. Serge Ibaka has been a key part of the team. But the way this trade sets the Thunder up both now and in the future earns OKC an A.

Hamilton is sort of a point forward who would've been a first rounder had he ever learned to shoot.

TexasZagFan
06-24-2016, 06:25 AM
The general thinking on the part of many analysts is that Durant will stay one more year in OKC and then bolt.

I've heard that Durant wants to get it over with now, he doesn't want to have to answer the same questions every day for the next year.

TexasZagFan
06-24-2016, 06:27 AM
Nah I'll never root for the fake sonics. Wish him well

I hated the Lakers until they drafted Ronny and then covered his medical bills.

And then they drafted Big Rob.

Having moved around since college, I follow the players more than I follow a team. I sure wasn't broken up when Steph and the Warriors couged it.

TexasZagFan
06-24-2016, 06:30 AM
My mavs picked up AJ Hammons. Great pickup

Mavs fan? My heart goes out to you (and to my family). I don't engage in Mavericks talk until the last Zags game is complete.

I already know what I'm getting my grandson for Christmas: a Thunder jersey with Sabonis' number.

TexasZagFan
06-24-2016, 06:32 AM
Wow, I would be embarrassed if I were an alum of some of the major universities in the country and have to listen to players who had spent 2-4 years in college and cannot put together an intelligent sentence in an interview.

At least GU alums who have played in the NBA have been able to demonstrate that they got enough education to express themselves when a simple question is asked: Sacre, Olynyk, Stockton Senior, Stockton Junior; even Adam Morrison was better than some of the guys I have heard tonight. Sabonis and Turiaf do very well considering they grew up in foreign countries.

Karno's the guy that floors me...all-WCC academic team.

These young men and women that represent our alma mater make my heart burst with pride.

Zagdawg
06-24-2016, 06:51 AM
http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1681223-domantas-sabonis-heads-to-oklahoma-city

TexasZagFan
06-24-2016, 07:07 AM
If I'm a U-Dub fan, I have to be wondering about the program under Romar. The Huskies had two players drafted in the first round, which is a good indication that Romar is a good recruiter. What does he have to show for his 14 years as head coach?

bballbeachbum
06-24-2016, 07:20 AM
when I heard Orlando, I was kind of bummed for Domas even with the payday, but wow, OKC could be an incredible opportunity. If his mid range jumper keeps developing, it was already good, with all the open looks he could see depending on who is on that team, wow. I guess I'm following OKC now.......

bballbeachbum
06-24-2016, 07:21 AM
I hated the Lakers until they drafted Ronny and then covered his medical bills.

And then they drafted Big Rob.

Having moved around since college, I follow the players more than I follow a team. I sure wasn't broken up when Steph and the Warriors couged it.

with you on all of this

jazzdelmar
06-24-2016, 07:23 AM
Expect a lot of "OKC found the missing piece" during the season as the Bonus excels.

zagzilla
06-24-2016, 08:13 AM
Geez, get over it already. Some of you guys complaining about the Sonic move to OKC sound like geezers I used to hear who complained about the Brooklyn Dodgers moving to LA.

Professional sports is a business, and if you are silly enough to be loyal, you are eventually get your heart broken when a trade or a team move happens (OFTEN). That is why I generally stick to college sports. The cynicism and money grubbing is slightly less than in pro sports and most college teams are at least somewhat attentive to their fan base.:horse:

You don't get it. I was a lifelong Sonics fan and season ticket holder. The way that OKC move went down was dirty and dishonest. Plenty of blame to go around but as a fan who put countless hours and thousands of my dollars into that team, I don't need to be lectured by you about getting over it. I will root against OKC (in the rare moments I bother to look at the NBA these days) just like I rooted agains the jazz when Stockton was there. Go Zags

Coach Crazy
06-24-2016, 08:22 AM
You don't get it. I was a lifelong Sonics fan and season ticket holder. The way that OKC move went down was dirty and dishonest. Plenty of blame to go around but as a fan who put countless hours and thousands of my dollars into that team, I don't need to be lectured by you about getting over it. I will root against OKC (in the rare moments I bother to look at the NBA these days) just like I rooted agains the jazz when Stockton was there. Go Zags

Not to mention, the thought process that he uses to criticize professional fan loyalty, doesn't give justification for college fan loyalty, either.

GoZags
06-24-2016, 08:27 AM
You don't get it. I was a lifelong Sonics fan and season ticket holder. The way that OKC move went down was dirty and dishonest. Plenty of blame to go around but as a fan who put countless hours and thousands of my dollars into that team, I don't need to be lectured by you about getting over it. I will root against OKC (in the rare moments I bother to look at the NBA these days) just like I rooted agains the jazz when Stockton was there. Go Zags

Well put.

There was a brief moment last night when my interest in the NBA was rekindled. My wife and I talked about catching a couple games next year in Orlando. Then BAM ... a gut shot. We will NOT be visiting OKC.

Our family had Somics tickets since Lenny Wilkens' first year here as a player (1969).

We do NOT need to be lectured as to how we "feel".

75Zag
06-24-2016, 08:30 AM
Wow. Congrats to Sabonis and KW. Very exciting times for both of them. As we celebrate NBA opportunities, do you BB experts believe we have a legitimate one-and-done in Collins coming to GU this fall? Can the Few system position him to be not only a one-and-done but to go high in the 2017 draft by showcasing his talent? Does GU staff have sufficient experience (and motivation) to handle a legitimate one-and-done? I have no idea.
Enjoy the summer.

Go Bulldogs!

Coach Crazy
06-24-2016, 08:41 AM
Geez, get over it already. Some of you guys complaining about the Sonic move to OKC sound like geezers I used to hear who complained about the Brooklyn Dodgers moving to LA.

Professional sports is a business, and if you are silly enough to be loyal, you are eventually get your heart broken when a trade or a team move happens (OFTEN). That is why I generally stick to college sports. The cynicism and money grubbing is slightly less than in pro sports and most college teams are at least somewhat attentive to their fan base.:horse:

They are actually not the same. Not even close to the Brooklyn Dodgers. Sorry. That's a reduced comparison that ignores plenty of nuance.

What you have not addressed is the reality that a professional sports franchise *can* be more than just a corporate, movable entity. With regard to the Supersonics, they were a community asset. The stadium was literally in a neighborhood. As well, they were a source of cultural identity, both for the city, the state, and the African American community. A professional sports franchise creates a source of civic and cultural integration into the commitment for one's city, as well. And don't forget the financial benefit that comes to commerce surrounding the arena. It also brings TV time on multiple networks for branding that would cost a great deal, otherwise, to pay for. And while the system is not perfect and has become a bit too convenient for ownership groups looking to skip out on the bill, it also brings a great deal of consumer purchasing power in the form of players. Some of which remain in the city on various levels.

As for the Sonics, they were very community oriented and gave back. As has already been mentioned, some of us have been fans for a long time. Those memories and experiences made up part of who we were. Taking those away not only took a piece of us...but made it a reality that those children of the fans to follow may never have those experiences.

As for the saga itself, there are very few people relative to the total number of fans of the Sonics that know about Sonicsgate more than myself. It was a hard thing to experience, and it was a manifestation of a lot that is wrong in politics and sports. So, no. Not beating a dead horse. And no, I can never root for OKC. Perhaps I will buy a blank Sonics jersey and put a #11 and 'Sabonis" on the back of it.

Zagceo
06-24-2016, 08:52 AM
Wow. Congrats to Sabonis and KW. Very exciting times for both of them. As we celebrate NBA opportunities, do you BB experts believe we have a legitimate one-and-done in Collins coming to GU this fall? Can the Few system position him to be not only a one-and-done but to go high in the 2017 draft by showcasing his talent? Does GU staff have sufficient experience (and motivation) to handle a legitimate one-and-done? I have no idea.
Enjoy the summer.

Go Bulldogs!

Having watched him in Nike Tournament against No.1 team in Nation which included Alonzo "man among boys" Ball (UCLA)……..this is a 7' athletic kid that can run the court and shoot the ball like no High Schooler I can recall.

If Pros draft on potential and like em young…….sure seems like a lotto pick when eligible IMO

TexasZagFan
06-24-2016, 08:59 AM
Well put.

There was a brief moment last night when my interest in the NBA was rekindled. My wife and I talked about catching a couple games next year in Orlando. Then BAM ... a gut shot. We will NOT be visiting OKC.

Our family had Somics tickets since Lenny Wilkens' first year here as a player (1969).

We do NOT need to be lectured as to how we "feel".

I feel your pain, GZ. Remember when the Zags drafted Kelly, only to find out 5 seconds later he was going to the Celtics?

Each and every fan deserves to "feel" however they want. I still get physically ill when I see video of the Immaculate Reception.

TexasZagFan
06-24-2016, 09:05 AM
Having watched him in Nike Tournament against No.1 team in Nation which included Alonzo "man among boys" Ball (UCLA)……..this is a 7' athletic kid that can run the court and shoot the ball like no High Schooler I can recall.

If Pros draft on potential and like em young…….sure seems like a lotto pick when eligible IMO

We'll see...has GU ever had a one and done? I think the NBA's going to go with a 20 YO age limit in the next CBA, that seems to be the direction the players association is leaning toward.

That would definitely alter the landscape. I don't think Burger Boys will want to sit on the bench for a year at Duke and Kentucky. Some will likely head off to international leagues.

zag944
06-24-2016, 10:19 AM
I couldn't root for that team if the roster was made of Jesus and his apostles. Really bummed he plays there now. I've always hated the Lakers and all but it is a nice fun sports hate (the SMC/BYU kind) rather than utter disgust at their very existence.

OKC has Kanter and Adams, both steadily improving young big men. I wouldn't be surprised to see the latter as an all star in the very near future. They also started playing a lot more small ball to good results near the end of the season...I can't imagine they won't do this more with a quality 2 now. Really hope he can break through because if he does its a team where he'll be in a lot of big games (I think KD stays a year myself), but he has some tough guys to battle for minutes with. Risk/reward in that regard, but I'm happy for him that he landed somewhere that will have a plan and good coaching for him. Orlando would have been a dud franchise to be with these days.

CDC84
06-24-2016, 10:59 AM
I've heard that Durant wants to get it over with now, he doesn't want to have to answer the same questions every day for the next year.

If he bolts now, he will have fewer options and make less money. The cap is going to expand a great deal after next season. Signing a one year deal will also allow him the opportunity to see what Russell Westbrook wants to do after next season.

Bogozags
06-24-2016, 11:10 AM
Four of our last six bigs are playing in the NBA (RS, KO, DS and KW) only missing EH, who just missed making the final cut for the Lakers and SD...not to bad IMO...

CDC84
06-24-2016, 11:17 AM
TSN: Don't Expect Thon Maker's NBA Draft Success To Start A Rebellion Against College Hoops

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/news/thon-maker-nba-draft-2016-skal-labissiere-one-and-done-players/ylkkr4q45rfg1gu7kspwkigph

Zags11
06-24-2016, 11:20 AM
I hated the Lakers until they drafted Ronny and then covered his medical bills.

And then they drafted Big Rob.

Having moved around since college, I follow the players more than I follow a team. I sure wasn't broken up when Steph and the Warriors couged it.

I don't really care for the NBA since Seattle left. I root for the local players and lebron. That's it.

northsidezagfan
06-24-2016, 12:53 PM
So much bitterness here. Happy for Domas, and a great trade for my Thunder.

LongIslandZagFan
06-24-2016, 01:06 PM
Don't know about others... but really felt horrible for Deyonta Davis last night. To be asked to be in the green room, have your name mention over and over by the talking heads and dropping to the top of round 2... well that sucks.

Zagceo
06-25-2016, 01:41 PM
Looks like OKC wanted Domas from the get go .....


. “You're just trying to find ways to make sense because oftentimes, I said this recently, it's not so much about the things you want. It's about the things that are made available to you. So to your point a little bit, like it's not about things you want in NBA personnel or identifying what you would like. That's not the part that's challenging. The part that's challenging is actually making decisions that impact winning from what's actually available. So I think when these types of players are not often available, they matched up well.“For us, Sabonis was a significant aspect to it, as was Ersan's ability to fill in around our core players. So you're just trying to find deals that make sense for everybody.”
Sounds like Presti is being awfully nice to his old friend Hennigan. Presti acknowledged that the values of Oladipo and Ibaka are in the same neighborhood. But then the Thunder also got Sabonis and Ilyasova.
Who knows if Sabonis will pan out? He was a really good center in two years at Gonzaga. He has great bloodlines, as the son of Arvydas Sabonis, the Soviet legend who ranks among the greatest players in basketball history. Best of all, Presti wanted him. Orlando obviously made this pick for the Thunder.

http://m.newsok.com/article/5506174