PDA

View Full Version : Recruiting 2018 Talent



Zagdawg
06-15-2016, 07:57 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 1h1 hour ago
Gonzaga also reached out to 2018 4🌟 talents David Singleton (6'4 SoCal SG) & Elijah Hardy (6'0 NorCal PG) #ZagUp 🔴⚪🔵


Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 2h2 hours ago
Gonzaga contacted 5🌟 Joey Hauser (6'8 PF from Wisconsin) + 4🌟 Timmy Allen (6'6 SF from Arizona) #FutureZags?


Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 3h3 hours ago
Gonzaga has reached out to 5🌟 SoCal 2018 talents Miles Norris (6'10" PF) and Brandon Williams (6'1" PG)


Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 7h7 hours ago
Gonzaga contacted Shareef O'Neal, @SHAQ's son. Hall-of-Famers' sons have done well at GU: @Dsabonis11, @dstockton32

Zagdawg
06-15-2016, 09:26 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 12m12 minutes ago
Gonzaga contacted 4�� 2018 prospects Jack Wilson (7'0 C from Cali) & Tim Finke (6'6 SG from Illinois) #FutureZags?

gonzagafan62
06-15-2016, 10:17 PM
Really interested in Wilson, O'Neal and Williams

sittingon50
06-15-2016, 10:35 PM
Thanks Zagdawg.

Zagceo
06-15-2016, 11:37 PM
Really interested in Wilson, O'Neal and Williams

O'Neal plays for small private school in LA

check out video in link

http://www.verbalcommits.com/players/shareef-o-neal

Zagdawg
06-16-2016, 06:24 AM
Thanks to Gonzaga Guru for taking the time to share his digging--it looks like we have some great potential opportunities.

rennis
06-16-2016, 07:49 AM
How about Robert Bobrockzy?

Jstock12
06-16-2016, 02:04 PM
Would love to have O'Neal just for the sole reason of Shaq stepping in to commentate a game or two.

MDABE80
06-16-2016, 02:17 PM
Lots of good movement for 6 9 kid at least in this short video. Does everything well. He'll likely go to one of the big schools but I'd give him a pretty hard look.

Zagdawg
06-18-2016, 05:24 PM
Pia Culp Retweeted
Devin H. Culp ‏@_DevinCulp_ 4h4 hours ago
Proud to announce my verbal commitment to the University of Oregon! #GoDucks #WhatsQuackin����

"Gonzaga Prep (Washington) wider receiver Devin Culp, a 6-foot-5, 205-pound target, committed to Oregon during his trip on campus Saturday, tweeting his announcement shortly thereafter"

http://www.oregonlive.com/recruiting/index.ssf/2016/06/devin_culp_2018_gonzaga_prep_w.html

webspinnre
06-18-2016, 05:29 PM
Bummer.

sittingon50
06-18-2016, 09:17 PM
Congrats Devin.

gonzagafan62
06-18-2016, 10:02 PM
O'Neal plays for small private school in LA

check out video in link

http://www.verbalcommits.com/players/shareef-o-neal
Awesome

Zagdawg
06-20-2016, 03:58 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 17m17 minutes ago
Gonzaga contacted 4�� PG Jordan McCabe & should see him in July. He wants to model game like Zag legend John Stockton

Zagdawg
06-20-2016, 04:10 PM
Jordan McCabe
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cb8GCUQdvr0

David Singleton
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VYthvA8IBg4

Elijah Hardy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVDd8qHQM1Q

Joey Hauser
https://vimeo.com/147974204

Timmy Allen
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=StRsKyb6_lM

Miles Norris
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oVYCLpO0kG0

Brandon Williams
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UcWsx06VHKA

MDABE80
06-20-2016, 07:28 PM
Kid's McCabe) super flashy..............."we don't cotton to them kinds around here".......> Abe does. He's quite the sight. Still reminds me of a better shooting Jason Williams..........

Zagdawg
06-20-2016, 07:37 PM
McCabe reminds me a bit of a shorter Raivio.

Hardy has great court vision.

hooter73
06-20-2016, 10:05 PM
McCabe reminds me a bit of a shorter Raivio.


Exactly what I was thinking. Just toys with defenders... because he can.

Hardy has the Perkins vision, but he also has the Perkins high/wide handles.

Besides the obvious length, Norris has some skill but he cant weigh 170lbs soaking wet. He'll be that type that has to be careful while putting on weight not to loose that quickness adn smoothness.

Williams has a little bit of Stephen Gray to his game. Quick, high release shot looks real nice.

Zagdawg
06-21-2016, 05:28 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 18m18 minutes ago
Gonzaga recruiting Jamal Bey (3�� 6'7 SF) from Bishop Gorman (Nevada), teammate of 5�� Gonzaga big man Zach Collins

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1602597-highlights-jamal-bey

Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 1m1 minute ago
Kamaka Hepa is at Gonzaga in beautiful Spokane at #ZagTeamCamp. Could be Zags 1st 2018 offer. 4�� Filipino-Alaskan PF

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lgrbv1I0EeA

kitzbuel
06-21-2016, 05:49 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 18m18 minutes ago
Gonzaga recruiting Jamal Bey (3�� 6'7 SF) from Bishop Gorman (Nevada), teammate of 5�� Gonzaga big man Zach Collins

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1602597-highlights-jamal-bey

Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 1m1 minute ago
Kamaka Hepa is at Gonzaga in beautiful Spokane at #ZagTeamCamp. Could be Zags 1st 2018 offer. 4�� Filipino-Alaskan PF

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lgrbv1I0EeA
I'm kinda excited about Hepa. I like the GU-Alaska connection.

hooter73
06-21-2016, 10:19 PM
I do hope Hepa has a good visit and both he and the staff see something they can work with. His games not perfect, but if hes a good kid, he'd be coming in with the style of play that GU has spun into gold again and again over the last six or so years.

Coach Crazy
06-22-2016, 07:24 AM
I do hope Hepa has a good visit and both he and the staff see something they can work with. His games not perfect, but if hes a good kid, he'd be coming in with the style of play that GU has spun into gold again and again over the last six or so years.

He definitely looks a little unnatural in some of his movements, and you can tell that basketball is not something he grew up playing. Having said that, if he polishes his game and gets that natural flow/rhythm to the way he thinks and moves on the court, he could be anywhere from Top 50-Top 25. Will be up to him, but definitely a player I would want at Gonzaga, even if he doesn't reach that level pre-college.

GonzaGAW
06-22-2016, 07:25 PM
- kamaka kepa, what I liked is he seemed comfortable with dribbling with his off hand, his left. plus he made a couple of nice post up moves that were baby left hooks.
- to me that shows a willingness to work at making the correct shot, the better shot, rather than just falling back on natural talent and being the biggest player on the court and taking all shots with the right hand.

Jstock12
06-30-2016, 07:12 PM
I would like to start a petition to recruit this '99 born shot-blocking, 3-pt shooting, monster dunking French machine to Gonzaga :D


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WRdoTD1SwE

Zagdawg
06-30-2016, 07:42 PM
Is he looking to play college ball in the United States?

He can definitely can get up ---at 6'6" --can score, board, shoot free throws.

More footage
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k2jNFcJWR9Q

hondo
06-30-2016, 07:43 PM
I'll sign that petition.

madness
06-30-2016, 08:20 PM
I would like to start a petition to recruit this '99 born shot-blocking, 3-pt shooting, monster dunking French machine to Gonzaga :D


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WRdoTD1SwE

"Unplug the photocopier, there's a big jam" is now my favorite line ever.

Replacing "boom goes the dynamite"

jimmycarter
06-30-2016, 09:05 PM
Send in Ronny!

LongIslandZagFan
07-01-2016, 06:02 AM
O'Neal plays for small private school in LA

check out video in link

http://www.verbalcommits.com/players/shareef-o-neal

Shaq wants him to go to a blue blood... so not getting too hyped. Although, the idea of Shaq in the Kennel.. pretty cool.

Zagdawg
07-01-2016, 06:43 AM
Shaquille O'Neal wants son, Shareef, to play for coaches with 'next-level stuff'

http://espn.go.com/recruiting/basketball/story/_/id/16616376/shaquille-oneal-wants-son-play-lsu-michigan-state-kentucky

Coach Crazy
07-01-2016, 08:31 AM
I can't recall seeing a more explosive European prospect. It sounds like he may need work on some other parts of his game...but that is athleticism...pretty awesome.

OZZY
07-01-2016, 08:21 PM
From a talent / Athleticism point of view it will definitely be in interesting U17 game Canada Versus France for 5th place.

RJ Barrett, Simi ####tu and Emmanual Akot for Canada and Pons, Hoard for the French. From a 4 year college prospect point of view Canada's 6'7" SF Danilo Djuricic is probably the most exciting prospect, three point sharpshooter and aggressive around the basket. Kelowna B.C.s 6'110" post Grant Shepard is backing up Simi and should get some game time up against Sarr. Shepard is following in KO's foorsteps as the BC high school MVP as a Junior and while isn't quite on the same level of athleticism as the others he is smart, quite mobile and fares well in a more structured game.

http://www.fiba.com/world/u17/2016/Canada

They face off Sunday morning at 6:00 am Pacific time alas it will be 11:00 pm here...

http://www.fiba.com/world/u17/2016/0307/France-Canada

If the Canadian's can play a team game they could very well win, if the star players want to play "highlight reel night" then they will go down....

doctorzag
07-03-2016, 11:43 AM
From a talent / Athleticism point of view it will definitely be in interesting U17 game Canada Versus France for 5th place.

RJ Barrett, Simi ####tu and Emmanual Akot for Canada and Pons, Hoard for the French. From a 4 year college prospect point of view Canada's 6'7" SF Danilo Djuricic is probably the most exciting prospect, three point sharpshooter and aggressive around the basket. Kelowna B.C.s 6'110" post Grant Shepard is backing up Simi and should get some game time up against Sarr. Shepard is following in KO's foorsteps as the BC high school MVP as a Junior and while isn't quite on the same level of athleticism as the others he is smart, quite mobile and fares well in a more structured game.

http://www.fiba.com/world/u17/2016/Canada

They face off Sunday morning at 6:00 am Pacific time alas it will be 11:00 pm here...

http://www.fiba.com/world/u17/2016/0307/France-Canada

If the Canadian's can play a team game they could very well win, if the star players want to play "highlight reel night" then they will go down....

The Canadians destroyed France by 31. Pons did nothing for France. Huge game for Iggy on Canada. Lots of good looking prospects on the Canadian team.

OZZY
07-03-2016, 06:41 PM
The Canadians destroyed France by 31. Pons did nothing for France. Huge game for Iggy on Canada. Lots of good looking prospects on the Canadian team.

Yes, great game by Canada, realistically if they played as a team, they were the second best side there.

Iggy had a great game as did most of the Canadian team. Danilo Djuricic went 4/5 from downtown.

Zagdawg
07-09-2016, 07:11 AM
Dinos Trigonis
‏@trigonis30
Colorado and Gonzaga among several schools checking on 2018 Gs David Singleton and Bryce Hamilton tonite at @PangosSweet16

Zagdawg
07-10-2016, 04:58 PM
Andrew Slater
‏@ASlater247
Miles Norris' most recent offers are from UNLV, Memphis, Gonzaga & Texas w/ Duke, UNC, OU, Maryland & UVA interest

Zagdawg
07-11-2016, 08:33 AM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 50m50 minutes ago
Gonzaga prioritizing Taeshon Cherry in the 2018 class?
4�� 6'9 SF/PF of Oakland Soldiers
http://www.hoopseen.com/news/player/201607/taeshon-cherry-impresses-pit …

Coach Crazy
07-11-2016, 09:17 AM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 50m50 minutes ago
Gonzaga prioritizing Taeshon Cherry in the 2018 class?
4�� 6'9 SF/PF of Oakland Soldiers
http://www.hoopseen.com/news/player/201607/taeshon-cherry-impresses-pit …

Sophomore tapes can be unimpressive and not really telling. This kid's tape, this early, is a bit different. Will be interesting to see where he goes from here. Glad the staff is going after kids that have elite potential.

Zagdawg
07-12-2016, 01:12 PM
Inside The Kennel ‏@InsideTheKennel 4m4 minutes ago
Key updates from the first weekend:

-Gonzaga was at every game @DaejonDavis played
-Some top 2018 guys really impressed the staff
@davidsingleton0
@BWilliams2_
@slim_reaper635
@kamaka_hepa4

cggonzaga
07-13-2016, 09:00 PM
Scout has Hepa ranked 26th overall.

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1685699-recruiting-picking-up-for-top-30-pf-hepa?s=137

webspinnre
07-14-2016, 09:43 AM
Hepa would be a big-time get, and the Zags seem to be going hard after him.

Zagdawg
07-14-2016, 10:16 AM
BRYAN ALBERTS Retweeted
Jack Pollon ‏@pollonpreps 18m18 minutes ago
pacific's luke wicks, fordham's ali ton, uc san diego's clint allard, gonzaga's tommy lloyd all here in irvine for ryan silver's tourney

Zagdawg
07-17-2016, 06:14 PM
Inside The Kennel ‏@InsideTheKennel 20s20 seconds ago
Sounds like @DaejonDavis and @SeattleRotary1 won the NW Showcase tourney. Zags were there all weekend for him, @kamaka_hepa4 and @revolijh

Zagdawg
07-19-2016, 07:06 AM
#TeamArsenal
‏@ArsenalAAU
U of Washington and Gonzaga are the most recent schools heavily recruiting Elijah Hardy after the last 2 periods

Zagdawg
07-19-2016, 02:09 PM
http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1687696-second-evaluation-period-review

Coach Crazy
07-19-2016, 03:04 PM
http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1687696-second-evaluation-period-review

Nice list of 2018 targets. All Top 100's (right now), and all but one, Top 50 (I'll have to look at them on ESPN Recruiting). Get Daejon to go with Corey. One step closer to getting that Seattle recruiting door open.

Zagdawg
07-20-2016, 06:50 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 3m3 minutes ago
Gonzaga watched Jordan McCabe (2018 @WisconsinPGC 4�� 6'0 PG). Zag legend John Stockton is among his favorite players

Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 5m5 minutes ago
Kamaka Hepa (2018 4�� 6'9 forward) continues to be a huge focus of Gonzaga into the final summer recruiting period
kamaka q. and PortlandBasketball

Zagdawg
07-21-2016, 01:10 PM
Gonzaga Checked In On Some Key Recruits During The Opening Day In Vegas


http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1688288-vegas-day-one-review

Zagdawg
07-21-2016, 03:01 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 35m35 minutes ago
Gonzaga watching a lot of @LVProspects & KJ Hymes (2018 4�� 6'10 PF) at @ny2lasports Summer Showdown in Las Vegas

Zagdawg
07-22-2016, 06:10 AM
Vegas Elite
‏@VegasEliteHoops
Gonzaga Head Coach Mark Few came to watch 6'7 2018 guard Jamal Bey (B. Gorman) tonite.
Bey did not disappoint with 27pts 14reb 7ast and a W.

Zagdawg
07-22-2016, 08:39 AM
Aaron Pierce ‏@BBallplayaz 11m11 minutes ago
@TandZsdad Do you think @jamal_bey5 would be a good fit to play with @zcollins_33 and the Zags? #Final4bound #GoZags

Mike Collins ‏@TandZsdad 3m3 minutes ago
@BBallplayaz @jamal_bey5 @zcollins_33 Jamal would be a perfect Zag. TEAM FIRST guy.
He's young and 6'7" - pure wing GREAT YOUNG MAN

Zagdawg
07-22-2016, 08:49 AM
Jerry Meyer ‏@jerrymeyer247 1m1 minute ago
Assts from Kansas, Gonzaga, UCLA, Cal, USC, Stanford, Indiana & Rick Stansbury watching Billy Preston, Cassius Stanley, David Singleton

Zagdawg
07-25-2016, 11:26 AM
Mike Collins Retweeted
Unit 1 Hoops ‏@u1hoop 2h2 hours ago North Las Vegas, NV
Some Of Vegas Best!Jamal Bey 1 Of the Top 10 players N Las Vegas they can't deny that! @VegasElite2018 @PremierBall

Zagdawg
07-25-2016, 12:40 PM
Inside The Kennel ‏@InsideTheKennel 14s15 seconds ago
Inside The Kennel Retweeted Courtside Films
Awesome footage of key 2018 recruit @davidsingleton0. Gonzaga is prioritizing him big time.

http://www.courtsidefilms.com/news_article/show/673109?referrer_id=

cggonzaga
07-25-2016, 03:37 PM
Inside The Kennel ‏@InsideTheKennel 14s15 seconds ago
Inside The Kennel Retweeted Courtside Films
Awesome footage of key 2018 recruit @davidsingleton0. Gonzaga is prioritizing him big time.

http://www.courtsidefilms.com/news_article/show/673109?referrer_id=

Jeremy Pargo clone? Maybe better shooter.

CDC84
07-25-2016, 08:39 PM
I'm all for developing a Bishop Gorman pipeline. They are almost always going to have top notch players. The staff has been recruiting Las Vegas players for quite some time, spending most of their time on the Findlay Prep guys. Perhaps they have found their niche....a different HS where they can legitimately land players.

zagsfanforlife
07-26-2016, 06:36 AM
Inside The Kennel ‏@InsideTheKennel 14s15 seconds ago
Inside The Kennel Retweeted Courtside Films
Awesome footage of key 2018 recruit @davidsingleton0. Gonzaga is prioritizing him big time.

http://www.courtsidefilms.com/news_article/show/673109?referrer_id=

That kids release is funky and inconsistent. I would be interested to see what his shooting percentage is... is he a 2 guard?

willandi
07-26-2016, 07:06 AM
Why do the coaches insist on recruiting anybody? Don't they know that we, the Gonzaga fan, will pick apart that players game years before the player ever comes to Gonzaga?

zagsfanforlife
07-26-2016, 04:29 PM
Why do the coaches insist on recruiting anybody? Don't they know that we, the Gonzaga fan, will pick apart that players game years before the player ever comes to Gonzaga?

If you cant see that he has an unorthodox release dont know what to tell ya.

Coach Crazy
07-26-2016, 07:06 PM
If you cant see that he has an unorthodox release dont know what to tell ya.

It is. And he is listed as a SG on ESPN. He seems like he could be a nice piece to put along side a Jesse Wade. But I don't know his mentality. Didn't look like he was really a passer, but did have some handles.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

willandi
07-26-2016, 07:30 PM
If you cant see that he has an unorthodox release dont know what to tell ya.

If you don't recognize tongue in cheek, don't know what to tell you!

OZZY
07-26-2016, 09:20 PM
If you don't recognize tongue in cheek, don't know what to tell you!

But this is internet, to be fair we can't actually see your tongue or your check when you are typing on your keyboard.........

:)

jazzdelmar
07-27-2016, 05:07 AM
Singleton? Meh.

Zagdawg
08-01-2016, 07:35 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Colorado Hawks ‏@ColoradoHawks 7h7 hours ago Denver, CO
Gonzaga University showing interest in 2018 6'4" SG Daylen Kountz #Hawksnation

willandi
08-01-2016, 07:45 PM
Why do the coaches insist on recruiting anybody? Don't they know that we, the Gonzaga fan, will pick apart that players game years before the player ever comes to Gonzaga?


If you don't recognize tongue in cheek, don't know what to tell you!


But this is internet, to be fair we can't actually see your tongue or your check when you are typing on your keyboard.........

:)

Taken in context it should be fairly obvious...at least it seems so to me!

Ebay
08-02-2016, 09:58 AM
I'm all for developing a Bishop Gorman pipeline. They are almost always going to have top notch players. The staff has been recruiting Las Vegas players for quite some time, spending most of their time on the Findlay Prep guys. Perhaps they have found their niche....a different HS where they can legitimately land players.

http://www.findlayprep.com/coaches

I wouldn't give up on a Findlay Prep connection. The head coach and assistant both went to Gonzaga Prep. I actually went to grade school with one of them on the South Hill. Both ended up at UNLV, but you gotta think(or at least hope) the Zags have a part of their hearts.

Zagdawg
08-02-2016, 11:26 AM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Julius Kim ‏@JKim97 19h19 hours ago
UNLV & Gonzaga are the latest schools to call the 2018 @earlwatsonelite forward Miles Norris, he tells @Phenom_Hoops.

Zagdawg
08-02-2016, 12:09 PM
Dinos Trigonis
‏@trigonis30
Gonzaga has offered 6-4 2018 G David Singleton @jerrymeyer247 @RonMFlores @ebosshoops @ASlater247 @PaulBiancardi @jeffborzello @JoshGershon


http://247sports.com/Player/David-Singleton-88157


http://ballislife.com/david-singleton-shows-out-at-pangos-spring-spectacular/

Zagdawg
08-02-2016, 02:56 PM
Brandon Williams
‏@BWilliams2_
Blessed to receive my 13th offer from Gonzaga University. #GoZags����

cggonzaga
08-02-2016, 05:43 PM
Singleton? Meh.

Just curious why Jazz? He's a top 60 recruit.

cggonzaga
08-02-2016, 05:49 PM
Brandon Williams
‏@BWilliams2_
Blessed to receive my 13th offer from Gonzaga University. #GoZags����

Wow. A long shot but you never know.

hondo
08-02-2016, 06:13 PM
Gonzaga has had very good success recruiting out of Crespi, however that was in baseball.

Zagdawg
08-02-2016, 06:37 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 1h1 hour ago
Gonzaga offered 2018 6'1 5�� Brandon Williams of @CalSupremeBball. 1 of the top PGs in the West #ZagUp

jazzdelmar
08-02-2016, 06:53 PM
Just curious why Jazz? He's a top 60 recruit.

Just eye test. No more, no less.. With this spate of offers, does it seem we are dipping a bit from the Norvell, Collins, even Perks latitude?

Zagdawg
08-02-2016, 07:02 PM
Norvell is ranked 105 while Singleton is ranked 47 -- not sure about the whole "dip" you are seeing.

cggonzaga
08-02-2016, 10:52 PM
Norvell is ranked 105 while Singleton is ranked 47 -- not sure about the whole "dip" you are seeing.

And Williams is a top 25 five star pg.

Zagdawg
08-04-2016, 02:19 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 38m38 minutes ago
2018 top 100 guard David Singleton has 2 favorites right now... Gonzaga & Oregon
http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1692653-david-singleton-talks-gonzaga-offer …
@iamdavidjerome3 @davidsingleton0

btzag
08-04-2016, 06:24 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 38m38 minutes ago
2018 top 100 guard David Singleton has 2 favorites right now... Gonzaga & Oregon
http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1692653-david-singleton-talks-gonzaga-offer …
@iamdavidjerome3 @davidsingleton0

Man, hope he does he research on the last 5-10 years for each school and looks at how passionate the Zag fans are. SOOOO much turmoil has gone on in that program with transfers, scandals, lawsuits, apathy from the fanbase...it has been real bad down there. Sure they have wonderful facilities and had success last year but that program for me is like a 1st cousin to Romar up north. Just bad news.

Coach Crazy
08-05-2016, 06:43 AM
Man, hope he does he research on the last 5-10 years for each school and looks at how passionate the Zag fans are. SOOOO much turmoil has gone on in that program with transfers, scandals, lawsuits, apathy from the fanbase...it has been real bad down there. Sure they have wonderful facilities and had success last year but that program for me is like a 1st cousin to Romar up north. Just bad news.

Just like with Kendall Small, though. Sometimes the recruit makes the right choice for GU. This kid has some size, and he is only a sophomore. IF he develops beyond a certain point, those "favorites" could change, too. But I am glad the staff is able to identify and be in the running for these types of targets early on. ESPN has him as a 3* at this point, but as a sophomore, that doesn't necessarily mean much. Long way to go for him. There was a time when GU didn't get these types of players. I am glad times are changing.

maynard g krebs
08-05-2016, 10:32 AM
SOOOO much turmoil has gone on in that program with transfers, scandals, lawsuits, apathy from the fanbase...it has been real bad down there.

Transfers: Altman chose this route when the program was in shambles when he took over, with remarkable results; 20+ wins and CBI title when picked last his first year, NIT his second, then all NCAA tourneys w/ and E8 and S16 the last 4 years. Now stabilized, with consistent fr classes and recruiting on the rise.

Scandals: singular, not plural. And no ongoing issues. It was "real bad" for one spring, but isn't currently.

Apathy from fan base: true. It's a football school first, but winning builds a following.

Point is that the Zags are in a position to recruit positively, on the basis of the strength of their own program, and negative recruiting is unnecessary and probably counterproductive. Kids visit, talk to players and coaches, draw their own conclusions from the inside, and bashing another program just makes you look weak and desperate, in my opinion. I would guess, and hope, the Zags' staff recruit by emphasizing their own strengths.

Zagdawg
08-06-2016, 08:37 AM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 25m25 minutes ago
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted Singleton Basketball
2018 Gonzaga priority David Singleton is a combo guard with special scoring ability, strong defense & facilitating

Singleton Basketball
‏@davidsingleton0
'18 6'4"+ 4 str CG Singleton of BS was efficient @ the FAB48. 14 ppg @ 53%, FT: 83%, 4.8 apg, 1 spg, & only 0.4 tpg.
http://www.courtsidefilms.com/news_article/show/673109?referrer_id= …

btzag
08-06-2016, 08:57 AM
Transfers: Altman chose this route when the program was in shambles when he took over, with remarkable results; 20+ wins and CBI title when picked last his first year, NIT his second, then all NCAA tourneys w/ and E8 and S16 the last 4 years. Now stabilized, with consistent fr classes and recruiting on the rise.

Scandals: singular, not plural. And no ongoing issues. It was "real bad" for one spring, but isn't currently.

Apathy from fan base: true. It's a football school first, but winning builds a following.

Point is that the Zags are in a position to recruit positively, on the basis of the strength of their own program, and negative recruiting is unnecessary and probably counterproductive. Kids visit, talk to players and coaches, draw their own conclusions from the inside, and bashing another program just makes you look weak and desperate, in my opinion. I would guess, and hope, the Zags' staff recruit by emphasizing their own strengths.

Yes, guaranteed that the Zag staff recruits focused on the good of gonzaga and not on the bad of other programs. I however am just a fan and that is my personal viewpoint on their program and university which I follow very closely here locally. Believe me you see a lot of good in Oregon as long as you put blinders on for everything else.

Vanzagger
08-06-2016, 09:28 AM
Transfers: Altman chose this route when the program was in shambles when he took over, with remarkable results; 20+ wins and CBI title when picked last his first year, NIT his second, then all NCAA tourneys w/ and E8 and S16 the last 4 years. Now stabilized, with consistent fr classes and recruiting on the rise.

Scandals: singular, not plural. And no ongoing issues. It was "real bad" for one spring, but isn't currently.

Apathy from fan base: true. It's a football school first, but winning builds a following.

Point is that the Zags are in a position to recruit positively, on the basis of the strength of their own program, and negative recruiting is unnecessary and probably counterproductive. Kids visit, talk to players and coaches, draw their own conclusions from the inside, and bashing another program just makes you look weak and desperate, in my opinion. I would guess, and hope, the Zags' staff recruit by emphasizing their own strengths.

Well said. And football does pay the bills at the large schools. If a young hooper wants to choose a bball power house there is a clear choice. No need to negative recruit.

maynard g krebs
08-06-2016, 12:23 PM
Yes, guaranteed that the Zag staff recruits focused on the good of gonzaga and not on the bad of other programs. I however am just a fan and that is my personal viewpoint on their program and university which I follow very closely here locally. Believe me you see a lot of good in Oregon as long as you put blinders on for everything else.

"Everything" consists of one bad incident, as far as I can tell. Altman has a decades long history; what else has happened at his programs that I'm not aware of?

Just trying to point out the objective facts. Tell me why I'm wrong, but your post imo was a bit of fact and a whole lot of spin. So what is "everything else"?

btzag
08-06-2016, 07:01 PM
"Everything" consists of one bad incident, as far as I can tell. Altman has a decades long history; what else has happened at his programs that I'm not aware of?

Just trying to point out the objective facts. Tell me why I'm wrong, but your post imo was a bit of fact and a whole lot of spin. So what is "everything else"?

Here is a good article for you from Pat Forde two years ago:

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/investigations--shady-connections-show-disconnect-between-dana-altman-and-oregon-roster-203539882-ncaab.html

Also from 2010 to 2015 brought in 23 transfers into his program as you say to stabilize a program. Doubt those 5 years were very stable for his players as he focused on winning quickly to retain his job. My belief is that a real 'program-builder' with the resources that UO has would have recruited normal classes with his type of kids from day 1 and then sprinkled in some JC guys or transfers. To each his own but I don't like the way he has handled his recruiting at all.

Also not to mention their other issues...high-level here but you could always dig deeper:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/ccap/2014/08/08/athletic-scandals-are-key-in-university-of-oregon-presidents-resignation/#3124f29879da

Also have to mention they used to have a booster as their AD and have just had countless other 'questionable' things like that go on over the last 15 years of their 'success' on the field. Response typically from UO fans is either to mention how this would be the norm in the SEC or to just totally ignore and mention their success on the court or field.

Again my point was more that there is wide difference between the Zags and UO but you wanted specifics....

maynard g krebs
08-07-2016, 02:50 PM
Here is a good article for you from Pat Forde two years ago:

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/investigations--shady-connections-show-disconnect-between-dana-altman-and-oregon-roster-203539882-ncaab.html

Also from 2010 to 2015 brought in 23 transfers into his program as you say to stabilize a program. Doubt those 5 years were very stable for his players as he focused on winning quickly to retain his job. My belief is that a real 'program-builder' with the resources that UO has would have recruited normal classes with his type of kids from day 1 and then sprinkled in some JC guys or transfers. To each his own but I don't like the way he has handled his recruiting at all.

Also not to mention their other issues...high-level here but you could always dig deeper:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/ccap/2014/08/08/athletic-scandals-are-key-in-university-of-oregon-presidents-resignation/#3124f29879da

Also have to mention they used to have a booster as their AD and have just had countless other 'questionable' things like that go on over the last 15 years of their 'success' on the field. Response typically from UO fans is either to mention how this would be the norm in the SEC or to just totally ignore and mention their success on the court or field.

Again my point was more that there is wide difference between the Zags and UO but you wanted specifics....

Click bait aside, when the star players (Dillon Brooks, Joe Young) are recruiting the kids they know from home to come play at their school, it must mean that they find it to be a good situation. Again, my point was that there is no reason to say "I hope he does his research" as it will show what a bad situation it is there. If the kid doesn't do his research on the schools he's considering, is he somebody you'd even want? Kind of makes the whole line of thought moot, doesn't it?

I just find the holier than thou stuff (accidentally typed hokier; Freudian slip of the fingers?) to be tiresome.

btzag
08-07-2016, 05:53 PM
Click bait aside, when the star players (Dillon Brooks, Joe Young) are recruiting the kids they know from home to come play at their school, it must mean that they find it to be a good situation. Again, my point was that there is no reason to say "I hope he does his research" as it will show what a bad situation it is there. If the kid doesn't do his research on the schools he's considering, is he somebody you'd even want? Kind of makes the whole line of thought moot, doesn't it?

I just find the holier than thou stuff (accidentally typed hokier; Freudian slip of the fingers?) to be tiresome.

Hahaha wow Maynard, you pushed and prodded to get me to back up my statements and then you claim it is "click-bait", label my statements as 'holier than thou' and claim we wouldn't want the kid anyway if he doesn't do his research? Is that all correct? Should we have not taken in Dickau or Erroll or NWG because they picked UW and had to suffer through that program before they flourished under the GU staff? Did they not do their research or maybe listened to influence from other UW star players before making their selection?

I just find the 'stick your head in the sand' argument to be very tiresome.

maynard g krebs
08-08-2016, 10:38 AM
Hahaha wow Maynard, you pushed and prodded to get me to back up my statements and then you claim it is "click-bait", label my statements as 'holier than thou' and claim we wouldn't want the kid anyway if he doesn't do his research? Is that all correct? Should we have not taken in Dickau or Erroll or NWG because they picked UW and had to suffer through that program before they flourished under the GU staff? Did they not do their research or maybe listened to influence from other UW star players before making their selection?

I just find the 'stick your head in the sand' argument to be very tiresome.

Hahaha is right. And sand smells better than some places you could stick your head, I suppose. Your premise, that UO is a bad choice, just seems subjective and biased imo, and I see nothing that backs it up. You think Michael Cage, with his NBA pedigree and connections, isn't gonna vet a program thoroughly for his son, who could have gone to all but a handful of schools? Keith Smith's dad talked about UO's record of player development under Altman. You bash Oregon for taking transfers, while 60% of this year's likely GU starters are transfers, and from other 4 yr programs, not JC's. Kind of hypocritical, don't you think?

I said click bait because that stuff about the last president resigning really has no relevance to the basketball program, and was a reach in an attempt to bash a rival. Not relevant to the basketball program at all.

Hope the kid picks the Zags, of course, but for reasons that make sense.

maynard g krebs
08-08-2016, 10:39 AM
Hahaha wow Maynard, you pushed and prodded to get me to back up my statements and then you claim it is "click-bait", label my statements as 'holier than thou' and claim we wouldn't want the kid anyway if he doesn't do his research? Is that all correct? Should we have not taken in Dickau or Erroll or NWG because they picked UW and had to suffer through that program before they flourished under the GU staff? Did they not do their research or maybe listened to influence from other UW star players before making their selection?

I just find the 'stick your head in the sand' argument to be very tiresome.

Hahaha is right. And sand smells better than some places you could stick your head, I suppose. Your premise, that UO is a bad choice, just seems subjective and biased imo, and I see nothing that backs it up. You think Michael Cage, with his NBA pedigree and connections, isn't gonna vet a program thoroughly for his son, who could have gone to all but a handful of schools? Keith Smith's dad talked about UO's record of player development under Altman. These are good kids with involved fathers. You bash Oregon for taking transfers, while 60% of this year's likely GU starters are transfers, and from other 4 yr programs, not JC's. Kind of hypocritical, don't you think?

I said click bait because that stuff about the last president resigning really has no relevance to the basketball program, and was a reach in an attempt to bash a rival. Not relevant to the basketball program at all.

Hope the kid picks the Zags, of course, but for reasons that make sense. That's all I got; last word is yours if you like.

btzag
08-08-2016, 05:21 PM
Hahaha is right. And sand smells better than some places you could stick your head, I suppose. Your premise, that UO is a bad choice, just seems subjective and biased imo, and I see nothing that backs it up. You think Michael Cage, with his NBA pedigree and connections, isn't gonna vet a program thoroughly for his son, who could have gone to all but a handful of schools? Keith Smith's dad talked about UO's record of player development under Altman. These are good kids with involved fathers. You bash Oregon for taking transfers, while 60% of this year's likely GU starters are transfers, and from other 4 yr programs, not JC's. Kind of hypocritical, don't you think?

I said click bait because that stuff about the last president resigning really has no relevance to the basketball program, and was a reach in an attempt to bash a rival. Not relevant to the basketball program at all.

Hope the kid picks the Zags, of course, but for reasons that make sense. That's all I got; last word is yours if you like.

Sure I'll take some last words!

This is a discussion board where personal opinions are given so I have no problem with our back and forth, that's the point of a discussion board!

My opinion of UO as a BB program and university still stands. Not a good opinion at all.

For you...chill on the attacks. You can make your points without the veiled references to discredit me by 'calling names'. You averaged about 5 of them for every post you made on this topic and it's much less effective than just making a good argument.

TexasZagFan
08-09-2016, 09:11 AM
Sure I'll take some last words!

This is a discussion board where personal opinions are given so I have no problem with our back and forth, that's the point of a discussion board!

My opinion of UO as a BB program and university still stands. Not a good opinion at all.

For you...chill on the attacks. You can make your points without the veiled references to discredit me by 'calling names'. You averaged about 5 of them for every post you made on this topic and it's much less effective than just making a good argument.

Be nice to Maynard...likely suffering from the demise of the OCC. :lmao:

maynard g krebs
08-09-2016, 11:42 AM
Sure I'll take some last words!

This is a discussion board where personal opinions are given so I have no problem with our back and forth, that's the point of a discussion board!

My opinion of UO as a BB program and university still stands. Not a good opinion at all.

For you...chill on the attacks. You can make your points without the veiled references to discredit me by 'calling names'. You averaged about 5 of them for every post you made on this topic and it's much less effective than just making a good argument.

What attacks? Seems like those came from you imo.

maynard g krebs
08-09-2016, 11:45 AM
Be nice to Maynard...likely suffering from the demise of the OCC. :lmao:

Nah. Just don't care for the gratuitous bashing of a rival. Find it classless. Notice I consistently defend SMC as well.

MDABE80
08-09-2016, 12:59 PM
I don't know but Oregon with all that money will flourish in all sports. The thing is this: Kids may get their ryrs popped out by the facilities, the Football program and sign there knowing Altman is a superior human being. he is. As far as success goes, we can hold up compared to the higher top 20 programs in basketball. We are solid in school. We have a family type program, all the TV exposure one might want.
The thing is though...........some kids just want "sizzle". I doubt a 17 or 18 yr old thinks about the basics like 1. "Is it a good academic school". 2 . Even more so "can I function well in the school I chose in terms of academics."?

We're solid in both. We don't have "sizzle" though but we don't have any scandals. Close family environment with excellent basketball with solid academics. We really can't do much more. We perform year in and out. That Elite 8 miss last year is still under my skin but Sweet 16 is plenty fine. Oregon's massive though. In some ways it's like asking for a Domani's sandwich when someone else offers you want a 7 course dinner. Lots of teens would take the Domani's ( me included) instead of the 7 course dinner. Point being: We have Domani's galore here.....things other schools don't.


"?

doctorzag
08-17-2016, 12:04 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 3m3 minutes ago
Gonzaga watched Jordan McCabe (2018 @WisconsinPGC 4�� 6'0 PG). Zag legend John Stockton is among his favorite players

Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 5m5 minutes ago
Kamaka Hepa (2018 4�� 6'9 forward) continues to be a huge focus of Gonzaga into the final summer recruiting period
kamaka q. and PortlandBasketball

Jordan McCabe just pledged to West Virginia. Damn .

Coach Crazy
08-17-2016, 02:03 PM
Jordan McCabe just pledged to West Virginia. Damn .

I can understand that someone would be disappointed at not getting this kid. At the same time, He wasn't going to get much playing time here if Jesse Wade and Zach Norvell are on the 2018 roster. And can you imagine if Daejon were to commit? Also, 2018 is a long way away.

sittingon50
08-17-2016, 02:14 PM
Good Luck to the young man.

OT, but am curious if Few has ever tried to line up his good friend Huggie for the Battle in Seattle?

And not meant to be condescending, but is there an acceptable non-campus site in WV?

scott257
08-19-2016, 04:04 AM
I suspect there are a lot of Oregon fans like me that are Oregon football fans and Gonzaga basketball fans. Having said that, I will always be a Gonzaga basketball fan first. I am encouraged though that Oregon is building a strong program. As a kid growing up outside of Eugene, I loved basketball and I remember some solid players going through the program. Dick Harter and the Kamikaze Kids with Ronnie Lee were my favorites (that should age me a bit), but I also remember the Stan Love days. Having attended several games there as a kid in old McArthur Court, I couldn't imagine a better place to watch a game, those seats hanging off the side of the building would just jump when the place was full of fans. I think Oregon tries hard to run a clean athletic program though and if they didn't the fans there would desert them in a heartbeat if they didn't. To me I will never understand why some kids choose one program over the other, but I think the competition is healthy and I doubt that Gonzaga is going to suffer from it.

Zagdawg
08-30-2016, 06:19 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
BallerVisions ‏@BallerVisions 2h2 hours ago
#1 2018 PG on the west coast Brandon Williams mixtape from CIF playoffs last season! https://youtu.be/RawVRcJ4fJs

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/CrJUaJNUMAEL2m2.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/CrJUaJNUMAEL2m2.jpg.html)

Martin Centre Mad Man
08-30-2016, 07:16 PM
Good Luck to the young man.

OT, but am curious if Few has ever tried to line up his good friend Huggie for the Battle in Seattle?

And not meant to be condescending, but is there an acceptable non-campus site in WV?

Pittsburgh is just up the road even if it is not within the state of West Virginia. It is a lot closer to WVU than Seattle is to GU.

raise the zag
08-30-2016, 07:39 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
BallerVisions ‏@BallerVisions 2h2 hours ago
#1 2018 PG on the west coast Brandon Williams mixtape from CIF playoffs last season! https://youtu.be/RawVRcJ4fJs

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/CrJUaJNUMAEL2m2.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/CrJUaJNUMAEL2m2.jpg.html)

Anytime we've seen kids post photos with 10 logos by their name…we've never get them…save Josh Perkins. He publicly posted his recruitment and he eventually chose us, but typically not. Josh seemed upset with other schools wavering after his shoulder issues, while we did not.

Think of recruits we've lost to SDSU, UW, UCLA, et al. They all do this -- recruiting all over twitter, Facebook, instagram, etc. Those types generally don't choose us, for whatever reason.

Coach Crazy
08-31-2016, 07:36 AM
Anytime we've seen kids post photos with 10 logos by their name…we've never get them…save Josh Perkins. He publicly posted his recruitment and he eventually chose us, but typically not. Josh seemed upset with other schools wavering after his shoulder issues, while we did not.

Think of recruits we've lost to SDSU, UW, UCLA, et al. They all do this -- recruiting all over twitter, Facebook, instagram, etc. Those types generally don't choose us, for whatever reason.

That's fair, but this kid is an '18 prospect, and if Gonzaga were to sign Daejon Davis, go to another EE, or reach the Final Four, and send another player or two in the draft...I feel like the staff will have raised the profile, again. We'll see, though. And even if we don't get this kid, getting into more late-round recruiting can give brand exposure. I like what this staff is doing, and how many of us could have predicted even 4 years ago, that we would be going after players like this and having at least a shot? Most of us would probably have had that as a very bold prediction, or a secret wish.

DixieZag
08-31-2016, 07:51 AM
I don't know about our history with kids that post pics with logos all over, I do know that if we want that kid, there are better places to be than looking like an after-thought in the lower left corner, like he needed 10 and added it b/c it looked cool. (our logo is cool)

seacatfan
08-31-2016, 08:19 AM
LMU and GCU seem to be statistical outliers in that group of logos. Who is the block C representing?

Darreno
08-31-2016, 08:23 AM
I believe the C is for UCONN

seacatfan
08-31-2016, 09:54 AM
I believe the C is for UCONN

I thought their logo is a head of a husky with its tongue sticking out slightly.

slickguser
08-31-2016, 10:20 AM
I thought their logo is a head of a husky with its tongue sticking out slightly.

This particular logo seems to be some kind of Alternate Logo (Alternate Logo 1996-2012) for the UConn Huskies:

http://www.sportslogos.net/logos/view/88441211996/UConn_Huskies/1996/Alternate_Logo

Zag_Dad
08-31-2016, 07:53 PM
LMU and GCU seem to be statistical outliers in that group of logos. Who is the block C representing?

Wait. What? LMU as in Loyola Marymount is one of his finalists? How can that be? Seems odd compared to the rest.

Coach Crazy
09-01-2016, 07:58 AM
Wait. What? LMU as in Loyola Marymount is one of his finalists? How can that be? Seems odd compared to the rest.

Not sure? But we've got a chance to be a part of his Top 5. GCU and LMU do not. And if somehow they did? Well, who knows...maybe the world is ending?

DixieZag
09-01-2016, 08:15 AM
Not sure? But we've got a chance to be a part of his Top 5. GCU and LMU do not. And if somehow they did? Well, who knows...maybe the world is ending?

If GCU, the new and for-profit university suddenly got this guy, I'd want to look at their recruitment of him, closely. Though, who knows, they seem to be dead serious about being legitimate and maybe the coach is a guy that kids want to play for. No idea.

seacatfan
09-01-2016, 09:32 AM
This particular logo seems to be some kind of Alternate Logo (Alternate Logo 1996-2012) for the UConn Huskies:

http://www.sportslogos.net/logos/view/88441211996/UConn_Huskies/1996/Alternate_Logo

Cool, thanks.

seacatfan
09-01-2016, 09:35 AM
Eh, let's not start accusing GCU of dirty recruiting. Program seems to be building some momentum quickly. I know several kids going to school there, both they and their parents are really excited about the university and feel like it's a great place to be. Kinda like how many feel about Gonzaga.

CDC84
09-01-2016, 09:45 AM
GCU has a really nice basketball facility, I will tell you that........

MDABE80
09-01-2016, 09:50 AM
Lots of enthusiasm at GCU with Thunder Dan running the show. Academically on the rise. Basketball is key there. Might be a nice place for a one and done type. Schedule's becoming "beefy" in a short period of time.

Zags_Fanatic
09-01-2016, 12:52 PM
If GCU, the new and for-profit university suddenly got this guy, I'd want to look at their recruitment of him, closely. Though, who knows, they seem to be dead serious about being legitimate and maybe the coach is a guy that kids want to play for. No idea.

Now that schools are allowed to pay a "Cost of Attendance" to incoming players above and beyond the scholarship Grand Canyon has a bit of a recruiting advantage. Unless something has changed in the last year, GCU pays the second highest COA in the NCAA at $5700 for undergrad behind only Cincy. For athletes from low income families in particular this is a HUGE factor. Not saying that is the case for him, but you will see GCU in the mix more often and eventually they will snag the big fish. I would love to know if anybody knows how much GU is offering for COA for student athletes.

Here is an ESPN article from last year if anyone is interested:

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/13549583/ncaa-coaches-believe-cost-attendance-allowance-recruiting-advantage

DixieZag
09-01-2016, 01:16 PM
Now that schools are allowed to pay a "Cost of Attendance" to incoming players above and beyond the scholarship Grand Canyon has a bit of a recruiting advantage. Unless something has changed in the last year, GCU pays the second highest COA in the NCAA at $5700 for undergrad behind only Cincy. For athletes from low income families in particular this is a HUGE factor. Not saying that is the case for him, but you will see GCU in the mix more often and eventually they will snag the big fish. I would love to know if anybody knows how much GU is offering for COA for student athletes.

Here is an ESPN article from last year if anyone is interested:

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/13549583/ncaa-coaches-believe-cost-attendance-allowance-recruiting-advantage

Great post, thanks. I had no idea they were already on a COA, and that GCU was such a mover in that area. I did know that they have no intention of being a doormat, they're not a diploma mill, but they are out to make money and one way is by investing in things that get your name associated with other good things, so it makes some sense.

And, it should be a huge deal to a kid from a poor family. I would bet that many of them who are recruited by schools close to home and far away from home, often base their decision upon whether Mom/Dad can see them play bc they don't have the funds to travel. Even small amounts like that at least allow a parent to come out and see them, ensures that a player who is prohibited from taking a job can still get a pair of jeans or go to a movie.

Thx for the article and post.

Bogozags
09-02-2016, 07:10 AM
Now that schools are allowed to pay a "Cost of Attendance" to incoming players above and beyond the scholarship Grand Canyon has a bit of a recruiting advantage. Unless something has changed in the last year, GCU pays the second highest COA in the NCAA at $5700 for undergrad behind only Cincy. For athletes from low income families in particular this is a HUGE factor. Not saying that is the case for him, but you will see GCU in the mix more often and eventually they will snag the big fish. I would love to know if anybody knows how much GU is offering for COA for student athletes.

Here is an ESPN article from last year if anyone is interested:

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/13549583/ncaa-coaches-believe-cost-attendance-allowance-recruiting-advantage

What is the reason GU isn't participating? I thought it would be ideal for both basketball teams...

Zags_Fanatic
09-02-2016, 10:14 AM
What is the reason GU isn't participating? I thought it would be ideal for both basketball teams...


I haven't seen GU on any lists but I suspect they are participating now or will in the near future. One thing to keep any eye on is that UOP is in the Top 20 nationally at $4000 so between the $$$ and Stoudamire I suspect we will see huge strides for them in the next 3-4 years. I know they already picked up Kendall Small as a transfer and we should see an uptick in their recruiting very soon. BYU is also very high on the list at around $4500.

Zagdawg
09-13-2016, 06:31 AM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Ty Amundsen ‏@SMCoachTy 17h17 hours ago
Great catching up with Gonzaga http://Asst.Coach Donny Daniels. He was on campus today visiting St. Mary's KJ Hymes @TDNike @HymesKj

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/216431/kj-hymes

titopoet
09-13-2016, 07:20 AM
GCU has a really nice basketball facility, I will tell you that........

And not to mention coach Dan Majerle and his deep NBA roots will get recruits to take a second or third look. They have been building a program and will challenge NSMU for a quite a while. Same for coach Mike Dunlap and LMU. Having such NBA connections are good for a program.

Zagdawg
09-13-2016, 10:21 AM
Inside The Kennel ‏@InsideTheKennel 50m50 minutes ago
Zag coaches are in Arizona yesterday and today and then seeing @davidsingleton0 @BWilliams2_ and others in SoCal later this week.

http://www.courtsidefilms.com/news_article/show/673109?referrer_id=

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UcWsx06VHKA

Zagdawg
09-13-2016, 05:56 PM
PoP ‏@PremierBall 3m3 minutes ago
Yesterday Grand Canyon Coaches and Gonzaga Coach Donnie Daniels was in to see 2020 6'1 PG Nico Mannion; Pinnacle (AZ)

Coach Ryan Silver "2020 pg Nico Mannion Pinnacle AZ / Earl Watson Elite has been invited to USA Basketball in October. Mannion top 10 player in 2020 class"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=daRt00jzb6A

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtNviWFR2Ug

DixieZag
09-14-2016, 08:27 AM
PoP ‏@PremierBall 3m3 minutes ago
Yesterday Grand Canyon Coaches and Gonzaga Coach Donnie Daniels was in to see 2020 6'1 PG Nico Mannion; Pinnacle (AZ)

Coach Ryan Silver "2020 pg Nico Mannion Pinnacle AZ / Earl Watson Elite has been invited to USA Basketball in October. Mannion top 10 player in 2020 class"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=daRt00jzb6A


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtNviWFR2Ug


2020?



https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTv1c-tpm9VZYovAJkC9-oG1bdLG6gqfySz_ikeTGrkOn1_Wkjs

Zagdawg
09-14-2016, 08:36 AM
One of the top reasons a highly rated recruit chooses Gonzaga--- "Gonzaga was the first to show interest", "Gonzaga was one of the early teams in the mix".

I guess we are one of the early teams in the mix for one of the top 10 rated kids in the 2020 class.

Can't say the coaches are not trying--but they are going a different direction than hiring the kids family members to the staff to seal the deal.

Go Zags

Zagdawg
09-14-2016, 08:39 AM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Tipton Edits ‏@TiptonEdits_ 13h13 hours ago
@Kid_Groovy Where should Kevin Porter Jr attend college? 🔥🔥

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDvAmbB7rEA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TzRMTiJ3qU

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Porter.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Porter.jpg.html)

seacatfan
09-14-2016, 09:38 AM
Porter Jr.'s long list looks kinda nonsensical too. If you are a highly regarded recruit and you're looking at schools most of the way across the country--TCU and Missouri? Seriously? Nah, can't be serious. And Montana and Boise St. more locally seem like quite a stretch too when it looks like he's got most of the Pac 12 and Gonzaga after him. Memphis too--they are kinda in shambles currently and in a terrible conference. Maybe he just likes some of the pretty logos.

At first I thought this was the new UW assistant coach's kid and I was thinking "that's already a done deal." Different Porter Jr. And of course he's not going to Beach, he's going to Nathan Hale (which has like 0 bball tradition as far as I know).

Zags_Fanatic
09-14-2016, 12:37 PM
Porter Jr.'s long list looks kinda nonsensical too. If you are a highly regarded recruit and you're looking at schools most of the way across the country--TCU and Missouri? Seriously? Nah, can't be serious. And Montana and Boise St. more locally seem like quite a stretch too when it looks like he's got most of the Pac 12 and Gonzaga after him. Memphis too--they are kinda in shambles currently and in a terrible conference. Maybe he just likes some of the pretty logos.

At first I thought this was the new UW assistant coach's kid and I was thinking "that's already a done deal." Different Porter Jr. And of course he's not going to Beach, he's going to Nathan Hale (which has like 0 bball tradition as far as I know).

Don't underestimate TCU. I would be shocked if Jamie Dixon doesn't turn his Alma Mater into a Top-25 contender in 2-3 seasons and they will likely have some staying power as well. Good school in a power conference in a recruiting hotbed with a fantastic football program and a great coach will eventually lead to success. They have 1 Top 100 recruit this year and a couple of 4 stars locked up for 2017 and 2018.

maynard g krebs
09-14-2016, 12:52 PM
Porter Jr.'s long list looks kinda nonsensical too. If you are a highly regarded recruit and you're looking at schools most of the way across the country--TCU and Missouri? Seriously? Nah, can't be serious. And Montana and Boise St. more locally seem like quite a stretch too when it looks like he's got most of the Pac 12 and Gonzaga after him. Memphis too--they are kinda in shambles currently and in a terrible conference. Maybe he just likes some of the pretty logos.

At first I thought this was the new UW assistant coach's kid and I was thinking "that's already a done deal." Different Porter Jr. And of course he's not going to Beach, he's going to Nathan Hale (which has like 0 bball tradition as far as I know).

Kevin Porter's "list" in the picture could just be all the offers he's received at this point, rather than the schools he's actually considering. He was awesome in the state tourney, and with 2 years to go he'll have a lot more high major offers than that. At one point he did say UW was his "dream school".

seacatfan
09-14-2016, 12:58 PM
Don't underestimate TCU. I would be shocked if Jamie Dixon doesn't turn his Alma Mater into a Top-25 contender in 2-3 seasons and they will likely have some staying power as well. Good school in a power conference in a recruiting hotbed with a fantastic football program and a great coach will eventually lead to success. They have 1 Top 100 recruit this year and a couple of 4 stars locked up for 2017 and 2018.

Very possible. The football program has proven you can win there. Dixon was an eye opening hire for them, but he'd been getting diminishing returns for a while at Pitt, the move to the ACC really hasn't worked out very well for them so far. We'll see if a change of scenery does him some good. I think TCU has improved somewhat in recent years even before the new hire...but upward mobility in the Big 12 isn't very easy. I don't think their conference record has changed much from year to year. Texas is definitely a hot bed, but lots of competition, too. Obviously Big 12 and SEC schools, but pretty much everybody else, too. The Dukes and Kentuckys of the hoops world regularly swoop into Texas to pick up top talent. And the Longhorns are a bit of a sleeping giant with a fairly new coach themselves that might invigorate the program. We shall see. Could be interesting.

DixieZag
09-14-2016, 07:16 PM
Kevin Porter's "list" in the picture could just be all the offers he's received at this point, rather than the schools he's actually considering. He was awesome in the state tourney, and with 2 years to go he'll have a lot more high major offers than that. At one point he did say UW was his "dream school".

I suspect that's it. Just a show of schools he's received letters from.

And I don't think there's anything wrong or weird about that.

Zagdawg
09-14-2016, 08:04 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
washingtonsupremeaau ‏@wasupremebball1 5h5 hours ago
Wichita State, Gonzaga and Utah all in town today checking out Emmitt Matthews Jr.

Zagdawg
09-15-2016, 07:38 AM
Donny out hitting the recruiting trail.....

Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Michaeltore Smith ‏@BballCoachSmith 11h11 hours ago
Appreciate the visit @ practice today from one of the top schools out west Gonzaga - Assistant Coach @DonnyDaniels1

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Donny.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Donny.jpg.html)

Zagdawg
09-15-2016, 07:48 PM
Miles SimonVerified account
‏@milessimon
Love seeing long time great friend Coach Donny Daniels today. 1of the best I know @ZagMBB @MaterDeiHoops all love

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Donny2.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Donny2.jpg.html)

Zagdawg
09-16-2016, 03:12 PM
Inside The Kennel
‏@InsideTheKennel Inside The Kennel Retweeted Josh Gershon
One of the guys Gonzaga was watching this week in Southern CaliforniaInside The Kennel added,
Josh Gershon @JoshGershon

Josh Gershon
‏@JoshGershon
2018 San Diego St. Augustine forward Taeshon Cherry picked up an offer from #Gonzaga.

Zagdawg
09-17-2016, 03:16 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Tipton Edits ‏@TiptonEdits_ 1h1 hour ago
@milesbnorris15 Where should Miles Norris go to college?


http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Norris.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Norris.jpg.html)

Zagdawg
09-17-2016, 03:17 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Tipton Edits ‏@TiptonEdits_ 2h2 hours ago
@BWilliams2_ Where should Brandon Williams go to college?

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Williams.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Williams.jpg.html)

Zagdawg
09-18-2016, 08:43 PM
Brandon Haughton ‏@bballdream55 1h1 hour ago
2018 F 6'9 Kamaka Hepa (@kamaka_hepa4 ) Jefferson HS (OR) #1 ranked player in Oregon!

http://www.bballdream.com/videos/view/co-2018-69-f-kamaka-hepa--jefferson-high-school-or_243.html

soccerdud
09-18-2016, 11:41 PM
Brandon Haughton ‏@bballdream55 1h1 hour ago
2018 F 6'9 Kamaka Hepa (@kamaka_hepa4 ) Jefferson HS (OR) #1 ranked player in Oregon!

http://www.bballdream.com/videos/view/co-2018-69-f-kamaka-hepa--jefferson-high-school-or_243.html

i REALLY hope we get him.

DixieZag
09-19-2016, 12:06 AM
Brandon Haughton ‏@bballdream55 1h1 hour ago
2018 F 6'9 Kamaka Hepa (@kamaka_hepa4 ) Jefferson HS (OR) #1 ranked player in Oregon!

http://www.bballdream.com/videos/view/co-2018-69-f-kamaka-hepa--jefferson-high-school-or_243.html

This is the guy that seems like really ought to be priority one for the next "big" get.

Zagdawg
09-19-2016, 09:49 AM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Julius Kim ‏@JKim97 14h14 hours ago
LSU, FSU, Cali, Missouri, & Gonzaga are the latest schools to reach out to the 2018 five-star wing Emmanuel Akot, he tells @Phenom_Hoops.


Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 3h3 hours ago
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted CrespiAthletics
Gonzaga was in SoCal to see 2018 5�� 6'1" PG Brandon Williams. Priority recruit with Zags offer @BWilliams2_

CrespiAthletics
‏@CrespiAthletics
Hoops: Coaches from Cal, UCLA, Rice, Arizona St, Gonzaga, Colorado, Santa Clara, and Virginia all visited the C-House last week. #CeltPride

Zagdawg
09-19-2016, 07:46 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
JOSH C. ‏@Josh_calbert 52m52 minutes ago
Gonzaga was just in today for 2018 James Akinjo.

Zagdawg
09-20-2016, 05:46 AM
Inside The Kennel ‏@InsideTheKennel 29m29 minutes ago
Inside The Kennel Retweeted #TeamArsenal
Zags liked @revolijh a lot this summer.


#TeamArsenal
‏@ArsenalAAU
Gonzaga was in yesterday to watch 2018 Center Jack Wilson. Elijah Hardy will be getting a visit today as well

Zagdawg
09-20-2016, 12:17 PM
PoP ‏@PremierBall 2h2 hours ago
#Gonzaga Assistant Brian Michealson will visit Clark (NV) this evening to watch 2019 6'2 PG Sedrick Hammonds @swaggyseddi per @LamarBigs

Zagdawg
09-21-2016, 06:38 AM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 14h14 hours ago
Gonzaga was at Bishop Gorman in Las Vegas to see 2018 3�� 6'6" SF Jamal Bey. Former teammate of Zach Collins

Zagdawg
09-26-2016, 07:09 PM
2019--

Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 2h2 hours ago
Gonzaga has offered Bryce Wills after visiting him today. 2019 4�� 6'5" guard from New York. @IonaPrepBBall & @PSACardinals

Zagdawg
09-28-2016, 11:57 AM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Julius Kim ‏@JKim97 3h3 hours ago
Louisville & Gonzaga will be in today to see 2018 five-star wing @emman_akot of @WATigers, he tells @Phenom_Hoops.

Emmanuel Akot

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/217236/emmanuel-akot

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iVfou3fbdcQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xb2LoHvEkjw

Zagdawg
01-11-2017, 12:23 PM
Brandon Williams Updates His Injury and Where Everything Stands With Him

The Top PG On The West Coast Discusses Gonzaga

http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1744940-top-2018-pg-talks-gonzaga

thespywhozaggedme
01-11-2017, 12:33 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Julius Kim ‏@JKim97 3h3 hours ago
Louisville & Gonzaga will be in today to see 2018 five-star wing @emman_akot of @WATigers, he tells @Phenom_Hoops.

Emmanuel Akot

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/217236/emmanuel-akot

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iVfou3fbdcQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xb2LoHvEkjw

Well, he's Canadian and we used to have a ton of those Crazy Canucks; now it's just Dustin, so we need to up our Canadian content.

sittingon50
01-11-2017, 12:34 PM
Thanks for the update, ZD. Have been checking the Scout site periodically; not seeing much movement.

CDC84
01-11-2017, 01:02 PM
Brandon Williams is a big time prospect. #14 in the 2018 class with ESPN:

http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/203668/brandon-williams

OZZY
01-11-2017, 01:25 PM
Well, he's Canadian and we used to have a ton of those Crazy Canucks; now it's just Dustin, so we need to up our Canadian content.

It would sure be nice, Western Canadian as well, unfortunately he did not list us in his final four (from Twitter). still I would not think that Coach Few would waste his time if there wasn't some chance..

thespywhozaggedme
01-11-2017, 01:41 PM
It would sure be nice, Western Canadian as well, unfortunately he did not list us in his final four (from Twitter). still I would not think that Coach Few would waste his time if there wasn't some chance..

That was back in Sept.

OntZags
01-11-2017, 02:31 PM
Well, he's Canadian and we used to have a ton of those Crazy Canucks; now it's just Dustin, so we need to up our Canadian content.

As a Canadian who has adopted Gonzaga because of the traditionally high Canadian content, I second this motion. :)

I would love to see Gonzaga turn a deep run this year and next year into making a push for http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/217370/rj-barrett RJ Barrett. It'd be cool to see Gonzaga start taking down some of the top, top talent from the big boys. (and his dad works with Jay Triano in Basketball Canada so maybe Dustin's dad could help there..)

thespywhozaggedme
01-11-2017, 02:57 PM
As a Canadian who has adopted Gonzaga because of the traditionally high Canadian content, I second this motion. :)

I would love to see Gonzaga turn a deep run this year and next year into making a push for http://www.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/217370/rj-barrett RJ Barrett. It'd be cool to see Gonzaga start taking down some of the top, top talent from the big boys. (and his dad works with Jay Triano in Basketball Canada so maybe Dustin's dad could help there..)
Welcome to the board. We thought we landed Nolan Narain but he went to San Diego State instead. I guess we actually dodged a bullet because he hasn't done a thing since he's been there. With her history of gray Canadians on the team I'm surprised we haven't had a nice couple years.

OntZags
01-11-2017, 05:16 PM
Welcome to the board. We thought we landed Nolan Narain but he went to San Diego State instead. I guess we actually dodged a bullet because he hasn't done a thing since he's been there. With her history of gray Canadians on the team I'm surprised we haven't had a nice couple years.

Thanks. Your last sentence has me - uh - a little confused lol. :)

thespywhozaggedme
01-11-2017, 05:36 PM
Thanks. Your last sentence has me - uh - a little confused lol. :)

Stupid voice diction. LOL

ZagNative
01-18-2017, 10:00 PM
From twitter:

Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Dinos Trigonis ‏@trigonis30
Gonzaga assistant Donny Daniels watched 6-5 2018 David Singleton practice today at Bishop Montgomery HS

Zagceo
01-18-2017, 10:29 PM
David Singleton info (http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1743373-david-singleton-talks-gonzaga)

ZagNative
01-18-2017, 11:37 PM
From the Inside the Kennel piece linked above by Zaceo: (http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1743373-david-singleton-talks-gonzaga)
“This year, Arizona, Stanford, Gonzaga, USC and Utah have seen me play. I’d say USC, Gonzaga, Penn, Arizona and Colorado are recruiting me the hardest.”

Of those schools recruiting him, the Zags, USC and Penn have offered scholarships. The Trojans, along with Arizona, are scheduled to receive unofficial visits during the season.

“Right now, I am planning to go to the University of Arizona for an unofficial and USC for an unofficial. Both of those visits will be for games.”

Zags not on the list for a visit yet? Too far away to pay the travel costs for an unofficial visit?
d
Other site links with more information on David:

Verbal Commits (http://www.verbalcommits.com/players/david-singleton-iii)

ESPN Recruiting (http://insider.espn.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/evaluation/_/id/203663/david-singleton)

Slipper Still Fits (http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2016/8/2/12361458/2018-recruiting-gonzaga-extends-offer-to-guard-david-singleton)

Rivals (https://n.rivals.com/content/prospects/11108)

247 Sports (http://247sports.com/Player/David-Singleton-88157)

soccerdud
01-18-2017, 11:49 PM
From the Inside the Kennel piece linked above by Zaceo: (http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1743373-david-singleton-talks-gonzaga)

Zags not on the list for a visit yet? Too far away to pay the travel costs for an unofficial visit?

it says in the bit you quoted that he's traveling to the two listed for games. there's no indication that he's taking the time/paying for travel to any schools just for an unofficial visit yet. remember, this is still during the season for him. so yeah, i'd guess that the issue is that he isn't already scheduled to be in spokane for ball. nothing surprising about that.

Zagdawg
02-06-2017, 08:04 PM
2018 forward Taeshon Cherry

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1752804-2018-taeshon-cherry-excels-at-extravaganza

hooter73
02-06-2017, 10:02 PM
smooth outside shot. He has the idea of court awareness and sounds determined to improve that aspect. interesting prospect.

CDC84
02-06-2017, 11:45 PM
About Cherry:


What's your school list?
Cal, Gonzaga, USC, UCLA, San Diego State, Kansas, Arizona, Harvard, Texas A&M and that’s kind of it.

Have they all offered?
Yeah.

You going to go to any of these campuses?
Yeah, I think I am going to A&M soon, Gonzaga, definitely Arizona, I went to UCLA 2 weeks ago and USC a couple of weeks ago too and that’s kind of it right now.

Obviously, the fact that Harvard is on the list suggests that academics will not be an issue with this young man. He is ranked in the low 30's. Again, I love how the staff are swinging for the fences with the 2018 class. Strike while the iron is hot with the #1 ranking, the potential of an unbeaten season and number one seed, etc. Just about every kid they're going after is a top 50 player. And some, like Brandon Williams, are top 20 types. Williams wants to visit GU:

http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1744940-top-2018-pg-talks-gonzaga

Zagger
02-07-2017, 04:01 AM
About Cherry:



Obviously, the fact that Harvard is on the list suggests that academics will not be an issue with this young man. He is ranked in the low 30's. Again, I love how the staff are swinging for the fences with the 2018 class. Strike while the iron is hot with the #1 ranking, the potential of an unbeaten season and number one seed, etc. Just about every kid they're going after is a top 50 player. And some, like Brandon Williams, are top 20 types. Williams wants to visit GU:

http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1744940-top-2018-pg-talks-gonzaga

I liked that he used the words "the Kennel" in a possible visit to GU in the summer or fall.

DixieZag
02-07-2017, 06:04 AM
About Cherry:



Obviously, the fact that Harvard is on the list suggests that academics will not be an issue with this young man. He is ranked in the low 30's. Again, I love how the staff are swinging for the fences with the 2018 class. Strike while the iron is hot with the #1 ranking, the potential of an unbeaten season and number one seed, etc. Just about every kid they're going after is a top 50 player. And some, like Brandon Williams, are top 20 types. Williams wants to visit GU:

http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1744940-top-2018-pg-talks-gonzaga

Have NWG talk to him just once, that'd be the best recruiting pitch one could make. Same type of player, ivy-league student, great player. Have Nigel tell him why he needs to be here.

Zagceo
02-07-2017, 07:30 AM
I went to the Nike tourney last year at Mater Dei......Zach played against Ball brothers.

Zags probably had recruiters in the house

Bagley set a scoring record this year........he's a Junior from LA ......link (http://www.latimes.com/sports/highschool/varsity-times/la-sp-vi-marvin-bagleyii-20170204-story.html)

Chino Hills 60 game winning streak ended at the Nike Tourney to Oak Hill 96-91....offense is the new defense

Coach Crazy
02-07-2017, 08:17 AM
Cherry has improved since his freshman footage. Getting to a final four means you're probably looking at a 2018 recruiting class that realistically has a shot at being David Singleton, Brandon Williams, and Taeshon Cherry. That's a blue crew.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TexasZagFan
02-07-2017, 08:27 AM
Cherry has improved since his freshman footage. Getting to a final four means you're probably looking at a 2018 recruiting class that realistically has a shot at being David Singleton, Brandon Williams, and Taeshon Cherry. That's a blue crew.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Help me out, Coach...what's a "blue crew?" Is that short for blue chippers? I'd like to think last year's recruiting class fits that mold.

Coach Crazy
02-08-2017, 04:00 PM
Help me out, Coach...what's a "blue crew?" Is that short for blue chippers? I'd like to think last year's recruiting class fits that mold.

That's not an official term or anything. And we'll have to see where Cherry and Singleton pencil out in the rankings when all is said and done. But Brandon Williams is a Top 20 player. This would have the potential to be the best recruiting class ever.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Coach Crazy
02-08-2017, 04:01 PM
Taeshon Cherry Update

http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1753684-the-latest-on-one-of-2018-s-best


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sittingon50
02-08-2017, 09:13 PM
A visit to the Kennel for BYU? Yeah, the family might enjoy that.

GonzagasaurusFlex
02-08-2017, 09:46 PM
Taeshon Cherry Update

http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1753684-the-latest-on-one-of-2018-s-best


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hope they can make it for BYU game. A whole lot of ZagNation love will be shown for Karnowski, Bakamus and Matthews on
the occasion of their final home game as Zags.

Zagdawg
03-02-2017, 05:58 PM
Elite3Performance‏ @davidsingleton0 23h23 hours ago
'18 4S 6'5" CG Singleton of BMHS was visited by AC Daniels of Gonzaga today during practice preparing for the CIF-SS Op Div vs MD.

thespywhozaggedme
03-02-2017, 07:32 PM
Just outta curiosity, why is this thread 7 pages long but the 2017 available recruits thread from yesterday was deleted?

Zagdawg
03-03-2017, 12:53 PM
http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1744940-top-2018-pg-talks-gonzaga

maynard g krebs
03-03-2017, 01:00 PM
Anyone seen 7'3 Riley Sorn of Richland? They upset perennial 4a power Federal Way 61-57 in a shocker yesterday, and he had 16 pts on 7/8 w/ 10 boards and 8 blocks. Son of a baseball player and a basketball playing mom. Search shows mostly low/mid major interest, but also OSU/WSU on his list.

Certainly a project, and maybe GU doesn't do that any more, but they've done it w/ Foster, Edwards. Is he worth considering with the 13th scholarship, as a project?

cggonzaga
03-03-2017, 01:24 PM
Riley has gotten way better since the beginning of the year and seems to be turning a corner. Still very thin but learning to use his body and being more physical. He looks better than a Will Foster to me. Just can't teach 7'3". My guess is Richland plays Gonzaga Prep in championship. Prep has beat them twice already but should be a great game.

sittingon50
03-13-2017, 02:16 PM
Actually found this on the BYU board. Checked the Scout board for Hawaii-nothing:

http://www.hawaiiprepworld.com/boys-basketball/q-a-kahuku-basketball-coach-brandyn-akana/

A native New Zealander?

MDABE80
03-13-2017, 05:26 PM
He's a good prospect. Got a decent feel for the game. He could be a good one. Still in HS and he's got a good chance to get better. I think he's a sophomore now. Two years to develop. I liked him as a player. Co-ordination needs some improvement but he's got a high base to work with.

Zagdawg
03-15-2017, 06:21 AM
Inside The Kennel‏ @InsideTheKennel 9h9 hours ago
Inside The Kennel Retweeted Ballislife.com
Some great highlights of @davidsingleton0 in this. The priority Zag recruit is No. 34 on Bishop Montgomery

http://ballislife.com/chino-hills-vs-bishop-montgomery-epic-match-up-epic-game-full-highlights/

Zagceo
04-18-2017, 12:15 PM
Gonzaga has been one of the schools recruiting Taeshon the hardest, and this past season certainly caught his eye.
(http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1771654-taeshon-cherry-breaks-down-gonzaga-interest)“It’s the family atmosphere and the way they play,” Cherry said of what stands out about the Zags. “I love the way that Coach Few coaches and how he uses his players. I watched them a lot this year. Like a lot. The way they used their stretch 4’s, that’s how I want to play, and it’s cool how Coach Few uses them.”
(http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1771654-taeshon-cherry-breaks-down-gonzaga-interest)


http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1771654-taeshon-cherry-breaks-down-gonzaga-interest

northsidezagfan
04-18-2017, 12:24 PM
:pray::pray::pray:




http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1771654-taeshon-cherry-breaks-down-gonzaga-interest (http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1771654-taeshon-cherry-breaks-down-gonzaga-interest)

cggonzaga
04-18-2017, 12:45 PM
:pray::pray::pray:

Agreed nzf.

Zagdawg
04-18-2017, 02:02 PM
Hope we find a good long term talent in this class.

WallaWallaZag
04-20-2017, 07:46 AM
Hope we find a good long term talent in this class.

i take it you're not a fan of the 1 or 2 and done? the priority guys for 2018 (if they pan out) won't be around long enough to graduate...but don't worry, the 4 person 2017 freshman class should be around a while.

Zagdawg
12-21-2017, 10:14 AM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted

Paul Honda‏
@PupulePaul
Dec 19
Filip Petrusev added 16 points and five boards, while Andrew Nembhard added 12 points, six assists and two steals, and Michael Devoe tallied 11 points and five assists. Makhi Mitchell had 10 points, seven caroms before fouling out. @HawaiiPrepWorld @StarAdvertiser @MVABasketball – at ʻIolani School

Filip Petrusev‏
@PetrusevFilip
9h9 hours ago
More Filip Petrusev Retweeted FloHoops
The Best way to end the trip!!!
Championship ✅����@MVABasketball #goeagles

Zagdawg
12-23-2017, 07:44 PM
Five-star forward Taeshon Cherry reopens recruitment

Five-star forward Taeshon Cherry backed off an early pledge to USC on Saturday, according to his father, Darnell Cherry.

https://247sports.com/Article/Five-star-forward-Taeshon-Cherry-decommits-from-USC-112700416

cggonzaga
12-23-2017, 09:42 PM
Interesting development. Wonder if we’re still interested?

TexasZagFan
12-24-2017, 03:06 AM
Interesting development. Wonder if we’re still interested?

I'm sure we are, but I sense he goes no further north than Tucson.