PDA

View Full Version : Zags Working Out for NBA Teams



ZagNative
05-21-2016, 01:18 PM
Here's a tweet about Kyle Wltjer:


Kevin McNamara ‏@KevinMcNamara33

Working out for @celtics today: Michael Gbinige, Damion Lee, Kyle Wiltjer, Ryan Anderson, Devin Williams, Cam Oliver @DraftExpress



Hoping to see Dranginis and McClellan get some looks as well....

ZagNative
05-25-2016, 09:20 AM
Hooray! Jazz reported to give Eric a look-see today! From HoopsRumors (http://www.hoopsrumors.com/eric-mcclellan):

The Jazz will also hold a six-player workout on Wednesday, with four guards and two big men taking part. According to the team (via Twitter), Georgia Tech’s Marcus Georges-Hunt, Gonzaga’s Eric McClellan, Notre Dame’s Demetrius Jackson, UNC’s Marcus Paige, Virginia’s Mike Tobey, and Australian Thon Maker will be in attendance for that workout.

ZagNative
05-29-2016, 02:22 PM
Twitter:

Kyle Wiltjer Retweeted
Michael Scotto ‏@MikeAScotto

Cleveland Cavaliers brought in Ron Baker, Yogi Ferrell, Derrick Jones and Kyle Wiltjer among others today for a workout, per league sources.

Zagdawg
05-29-2016, 03:28 PM
Domantas Sabonis ‏@Dsabonis11 May 27
Had a great day at Pro Day with @Wasserman Thank you to everyone that came! #TeamWass #GoZags

Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru May 27
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted Wasserman
Domas Sabonis (@Dsabonis11) is working out in front of 125 NBA staff members today. Potential lotto pick #ZagUp

WassermanVerified account
‏@Wasserman
Wasserman draft workout. 125 NBA personnel from all teams in our gym to watch #TeamWass prospects #WassermanProDay

Mantua
05-29-2016, 04:09 PM
Great news about Eric!

I'm a little confused about how it all works with Sabonis' agent. Just keeping my fingers crossed.

ZagNative
05-31-2016, 06:53 PM
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-M96NSU0z3u4/V05M3Ypu6AI/AAAAAAACo2I/LzxH4RPkKiUtRErAK9_QKQjcIDCuFZr9QCCo/s512/Cj1REPxUgAAAyeu.jpg

RenoZag
05-31-2016, 08:37 PM
Thank you very much for gathering the info into a consolidated thread, Zag Native.

ZagNative
05-31-2016, 08:58 PM
You betcha, Reno. Here's a bit more from twitter today:

Kyle Wiltjer Retweeted
NetsDaily.com ‏@NetsDaily
#Nets recently worked out @kwiltj the Kentucky - Gonzaga shooter.


Eric also tweeted that he was heading to Atlanta, but he didn't say the purpose of the trip. I assume a workout...

ZagNative
06-01-2016, 10:04 AM
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Y5m6s4F1pts/V08jCMxFytI/AAAAAAACo2o/RZEMbjFZ3yIafPW4C2ODQf5CgSCT8-4zwCCo/s576/2016-06-01%2Bkyle%2Bwiltjer%2Braptors.jpg

ZagaZags
06-01-2016, 09:18 PM
https://cbssportsradio.files.wordpress.com/2016/06/my-life-wiltjer_1024x512_dl_rev1.jpg?w=640&h=360&crop=1


Once I got to college and I had some really bright spots my freshman year in practice and games (24 points against Loyola Maryland), I knew I could have a really good future and I just wanted to keep working towards it and see what happened. I had a great first two years at Kentucky but decided to make a change and decided to go to Gonzaga because they have such a great tradition there. For myself, it was really good to have that red-shirt year to really work on my game. From there it was just a really good offense tailored to my game, a lot of inside-out style and versatility, which suits how I play.

That said, the red-shirt year was tough at first because you don’t get to play any games and all you’re doing is just working out every single day. But, Mark Few and the coaching staff did a great job of keeping me in the moment and I just got lost in the process. As I started to see results, my game started to take off from there.

http://cdn-jpg.si.com/sites/default/files/2015/02/25/gonzaga-cover.jpg

Read the rest of the story at link.

http://radio.cbssports.com/2016/06/01/my-life-as-an-nba-draft-prospect-kyle-wiltjer/

ZagNative
06-02-2016, 10:37 AM
From twitter today:

Paul Coro Verified account
‏@paulcoro

Gonzaga's Domantas Sabonis is working out alone in today's second Suns draft workout.

ZagNative
06-02-2016, 11:04 AM
The Suns draft order:
2016 Draft Picks: Round 1 - Picks 4, 13, 28 | Round 2 - Pick 34

So would we looking at Domas to go #13?

Mr Vulture
06-02-2016, 11:07 AM
If the Suns take him it will be #13 as he won't go as high as #4 and will be gone by #28

ZagNative
06-02-2016, 12:26 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pLL39b6ETB8

Coach Crazy
06-02-2016, 01:03 PM
Some really awful questions.

Zag365
06-02-2016, 03:41 PM
About halfway in, he says something about "Gonzaga." Replayed it but still could quite make out what he said. Anyone?

ZagNative
06-02-2016, 03:45 PM
I had a hard time understanding that too. Was it something about having recently worked out at Gonzaga and in LA?

About halfway in, he says something about "Gonzaga." Replayed it but still could quite make out what he said. Anyone?

Zags_Fanatic
06-03-2016, 09:08 AM
McClellan working out for the Suns today: https://twitter.com/paulcoro/status/738778318992855040

ZagNative
06-03-2016, 11:08 AM
Wltjer working out for the Jazz tomorrow...https://twitter.com/utahjazz/status/738799954626371588

MDABE80
06-03-2016, 11:42 AM
McClellan working out for the Suns today: https://twitter.com/paulcoro/status/738778318992855040

I really hope his meteoric comeback continues. Nice kid. Did a great job here. Superior athlete. Got a late start but he may make it to the league if he continues his winning ways. Also some hope for Eric.

Coach Crazy
06-03-2016, 12:00 PM
I really hope his meteoric comeback continues. Nice kid. Did a great job here. Superior athlete. Got a late start but he may make it to the league if he continues his winning ways. Also some hope for Eric.

Before the season started, I thought we would see 3 Zags get drafted. Once PK went down with the back injury, that dropped down to 2, potentially, and the mock drafts were not being kind to Wilt. Which would leave us with one. Now, with Wilt lighting it up in the Combine and workouts (I am assuming), Eric would make a 3rd. That would be huge for this program, and we might as well just keep those grad transfers coming.

ZagNative
06-04-2016, 01:19 PM
Here's an enjoyable post-workout video of Kyle Wiltjer from the Jazz: http://www.nba.com/jazz/video/2016/06/04/1465067546515-Wiltjer_6.4.16.mov-573257/

DixieZag
06-04-2016, 01:37 PM
I couldn't tell for sure, but I believe the question regarded where he was going from Phoenix and he said about 2 places and then I believe he said something about "going back to Gonzaga" - he might well be referring to coming back for a day or two around hoopfest.

Bogozags
06-04-2016, 01:44 PM
Here's an enjoyable post-workout video of Kyle Wiltjer from the Jazz: http://www.nba.com/jazz/video/2016/06/04/1465067546515-Wiltjer_6.4.16.mov-573257/

ZN THANK YOU for all you do in keeping us informed about our past, present and future Zags...your efforts are truly appreciated!!!

SLOZag
06-04-2016, 03:20 PM
... but nothing really new:

https://www.ksl.com/index.php?sid=40063013&nid=304&title=jazz-bring-in-richardson-gbinije-for-workouts-stockton-still-plays-pickup-ball

ZagNative
06-06-2016, 12:12 PM
Toronto Raptors:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S6hcglTQknE

ZagNative
06-06-2016, 01:29 PM
Here's a good piece about Sabonis from Raptors Rebublic.com (http://www.raptorsrepublic.com/2016/06/06/draft-workout-notes-domantas-sabonis/):

Draft workout notes: Domantas Sabonis

....

For as fun as Sabonis landing in Toronto would be, there’s still the matter of whether he’s worthy of the No. 9 pick. Nobody seems to have him that high, and to paraphrase Chad Ford, everyone likes him but nobody loves him. That type of guy can either get plucked early or slide a bit, and Sabonis has one of the wider draft ranges in the first round. For as much as he does well and as many intangibles as he brings, there remain questions about his defense once the quality of competition increases (he can be a stout post defender but is a bit foul-prone there, and his athleticism could make pick-and-pop scenarios a challenge), and the overall talent level isn’t quite high enough to have him in the top 10 on most boards.

His potential fit, how far along his shot is, and whether he’d be able to handle a limited role as a rookie – he was an eager role player as a freshman and played sparingly for the national team, so this probably isn’t a concern – are all likely to factor in. So, too, will how the Raptors want to play the pick in general. Sabonis seems to be one of the safest players in the draft, the consummate floor pick with a quicker path to contributing than some of the higher-ceiling names, and he just turned 20. At the very least, he’d bring energy, rebounding, and the type of culture fit the Raptors are always looking for.

Sabonis impressed the Raptors on Monday. Whether he impressed them enough to get into the conversation at No. 9, well, we’ll see.

Coach Crazy
06-06-2016, 01:41 PM
Here's a good piece about Sabonis from Raptors Rebublic.com (http://www.raptorsrepublic.com/2016/06/06/draft-workout-notes-domantas-sabonis/):

The industry paralysis is frustrating. He played against longer, more athletic forwards at Seton Hall...and did his thing. He played against the crowned best center in college ball, who was also longer and taller than he was, oh and did so as a PF...and did his thing. And then he plays in the teeth of a 23 against players that were longer and more athletic...and he did his thing.

Whoever picks up Sabonis is going to have one of the best PF's in the league that is not a #1 option.

cggonzaga
06-06-2016, 04:59 PM
So true coach.

MDABE80
06-06-2016, 05:30 PM
He should have stuck around for his Jr year. No doubt in my mind. Not to be though. Getting rocky toward the end. Sharks are looking for a deal.

jazzdelmar
06-06-2016, 06:43 PM
He should have stuck around for his Jr year. No doubt in my mind. Not to be though. Getting rocky toward the end. Sharks are looking for a deal.

Agree Doc. But we are alone in that belief here.

bigblahla
06-07-2016, 04:35 AM
Agree Doc. But we are alone in that belief here.

Not even close Jazz ol buddy...he would have been in the running for player of the year....another season to work on his skill set and show how dominant he really is against all competition....got over silly fouls...could have worked his mid-range and 3 pt shot, right hand and handles...and lateral quickness....what a warrior....I too think he should have stayed but I also think he won't last past pick #10....I doubt there is a tougher player in the draft and the Not Basketball Anymore league is for men not boys....

Just my opinion...

Go!! Zags!!!

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-07-2016, 05:56 AM
Not even close Jazz ol buddy...he would have been in the running for player of the year....another season to work on his skill set and show how dominant he really is against all competition....got over silly fouls...could have worked his mid-range and 3 pt shot, right hand and handles...and lateral quickness....what a warrior....I too think he should have stayed but I also think he won't last past pick #10....I doubt there is a tougher player in the draft and the Not Basketball Anymore league is for men not boys....

Just my opinion...

Go!! Zags!!!

To say he should have stayed and you think he won't last past pick #10 makes no sense to me. If the latter is true than the former is false.

bigblahla
06-07-2016, 07:34 AM
To say he should have stayed and you think he won't last past pick #10 makes no sense to me. If the latter is true than the former is false.

Don't think he'll last past 10 because of toughness and heart...think he would have been a much more complete player with one more year to work on his game in the college atmosphere and would have been in the running for player of the year....I could care less about the F'n NBA...ruined the game I love....there isn't a college official in the country that calls the game by the book thanks to the NBA...rugby on hardwood...

Again just my opinion...

Go!! Zags!!!

Coach Crazy
06-07-2016, 07:52 AM
Not even close Jazz ol buddy...he would have been in the running for player of the year....another season to work on his skill set and show how dominant he really is against all competition....got over silly fouls...could have worked his mid-range and 3 pt shot, right hand and handles...and lateral quickness....what a warrior....I too think he should have stayed but I also think he won't last past pick #10....I doubt there is a tougher player in the draft and the Not Basketball Anymore league is for men not boys....

Just my opinion...

Go!! Zags!!!

Here is what I see: had he stayed, he would have had to have become a higher volume 3 point shooter. He would have had to have been in the 38%-low 40's range. As well, Karnowski would be coming back, which means that if they play on the court at the same time, then his post numbers go down, his 3 and mid range shots have to go up. If he hits his shots, that's a deadly combination, for sure. However, there is also the possibility that he doesn't shoot well from 3 and the mid-range and very much damages his reputation.

maynard g krebs
06-07-2016, 11:24 AM
We all would have loved to see him stay. But it's a purely selfish interest on our part; all things considered he did what's best for him and that's fine. We should all be grateful for the 2 years he gave us as fans, and nothing more and nothing less.

ZagNative
06-07-2016, 11:30 AM
I enjoyed this video of the Raptor's Dan Tolzman discussing Domas' workout.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qqmCv1yaMsQ

And here's the article wound the here I found the video. (http://www.sportsnet.ca/basketball/nba/draft-notebook-sabonis-raptors-latest-target-no-9-pick/) It contains some interesting analysis.

ZagNative
06-07-2016, 02:00 PM
Yeah, Eric! Keep it up!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-pDNGBswd4P8/V1dDXidZCNI/AAAAAAACo28/W_VW_Tpi9oYEvnQWS01C9YH3P3fSG3xmwCCo/s512/2016-06-07%2Beric%2Bmcclellan.jpg

Coach Crazy
06-07-2016, 02:16 PM
Yeah, Eric! Keep it up!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-pDNGBswd4P8/V1dDXidZCNI/AAAAAAACo28/W_VW_Tpi9oYEvnQWS01C9YH3P3fSG3xmwCCo/s512/2016-06-07%2Beric%2Bmcclellan.jpg

Really want to see this kid get drafted.

MDABE80
06-07-2016, 02:21 PM
We all would have loved to see him stay. But it's a purely selfish interest on our part; all things considered he did what's best for him and that's fine. We should all be grateful for the 2 years he gave us as fans, and nothing more and nothing less.

Nope not selfish at all. He needed another year to continue his development with this particulare group of coaches. He needed another year. Not for US but for HIM!

MDABE80
06-07-2016, 02:31 PM
Go Eric! I really hope he sticks. So good the 2nd half of this past season.

jazzdelmar
06-07-2016, 07:31 PM
Nope not selfish at all. He needed another year to continue his development with this particulare group of coaches. He needed another year. Not for US but for HIM!

One final year in college and at GU is incomparable to a dreary first year of many on some low end NBA teams bench. For a young man to pass on that experience, especially one whose background easily allows him to forestall making NBA lucre, is a shame, IMO. Doc is right. His loss more than ours. And ours is immense.

bigblahla
06-07-2016, 08:11 PM
One final year in college and at GU is incomparable to a dreary first year of many on some low end NBA teams bench. For a young man to pass on that experience, especially one whose background easily allows him to forestall making NBA lucre, is a shame, IMO. Doc is right. His loss more than ours. And ours is immense.

+1

Go!! Zags!!!

Coach Crazy
06-08-2016, 06:41 AM
One final year in college and at GU is incomparable to a dreary first year of many on some low end NBA teams bench. For a young man to pass on that experience, especially one whose background easily allows him to forestall making NBA lucre, is a shame, IMO. Doc is right. His loss more than ours. And ours is immense.

Disagree. The risk of coming back was far too high. And whoever is taking him won't be doing so to place him on the bench. He'll either be an immediate rotational player, or starting. Financially, I hope he goes higher, but from a success-on-the-court standpoint, I would love to see him with the Warriors. Especially if Festus Ezeli gets a bigger contract elsewhere.

ZagNative
06-08-2016, 09:49 AM
Domas working out for the Celtics today. From Hoops Rumors (http://www.hoopsrumors.com/2016/06/draft-notes-celtics-beasley-papagiannis-hawks.html):

It’s a busy day for Celtics pre-draft workouts, as the team is working out a six-player group and taking a closer look at two more prospects in individual workouts. Those solo workouts belong to Kentucky’s Jamal Murray and Gonzaga’s Domantas Sabonis, per Chris Forsberg of ESPN.com (Twitter link), and it sounds like it was a good showing for Murray — he hit a record 79 of 100 three-pointers during his session, tweets Jeff Goodman of ESPN.com. In our community mock draft, Hoops Rumors readers have Murray coming off the board seventh overall and Sabonis being picked 13th..

ZagNative
06-08-2016, 10:08 AM
Altitude TV hosts Scott Hastings and Chris Marlowe breakdown one of the top prospects for the 2016 NBA Draft.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0pB5VyGHLo

ZagNative
06-08-2016, 10:30 AM
Rookie minimum salary scale, from realgm.com (http://basketball.realgm.com/nba/info/rookie_scale)
First year:

1 $4,753,000
2 $4,252,600
3 $3,818,900
4 $3,443,100
5 $3,117,900
6 $2,831,900
7 $2,585,200
8 $2,368,300
9 $2,177,100
10 $2,068,100
11 $1,964,800
12 $1,866,500
13 $1,773,200
14 $1,684,600
15 $1,600,200
16 $1,520,300
17 $1,444,200
18 $1,372,000
19 $1,310,300
20 $1,257,800
21 $1,207,500
22 $1,159,300
23 $1,112,900
24 $1,068,400
25 $1,025,700
26 $991,600
27 $963,000
28 $957,200
29 $950,200
30 $943,300



I recall that Kelly Olynyk, the #13 pick, negotiated a $2 million dollar deal.

bartruff1
06-08-2016, 10:41 AM
Coulda....woulda.....shoulda....is a waste of time....having a front row seat of Shem's injury would have made a huge impact on me...

ZagNative
06-08-2016, 10:48 AM
Yeah, weigh the prospect of a $2 Mil+ starting salary against coming back for another year, with all its vagaries and the potential for a serious injury like Premek's, and staying in the draft is the only sensible option. However, I really hope this thread doesn't devolve further into post after post about whether he should have gone or stayed, at least until the actual draft settles the question.

Coulda....woulda.....shoulda....is a waste of time....having a front row seat of Shem's injury would have made a huge impact on me...

ZagNative
06-08-2016, 11:12 AM
Looks like Domas plans on only one more workout - Utah

Brian Robb ‏@CelticsHub

Domantas Sabonis said he's only going to workout for four teams total: Boston, Utah, Phoenix and Toronto.

maynard g krebs
06-08-2016, 11:36 AM
Nope not selfish at all. He needed another year to continue his development with this particulare group of coaches. He needed another year. Not for US but for HIM!

Well, it's apparent his father disagreed with you and Jazz. He certainly had major input. I'll go with the opinion of one of the greatest ever to play, who also has a vested interest in the outcome. Injury, the depth of last year's draft, possibility of dropping. He'll be able to work on the areas he needs to develop; perimeter shot and defense, with total emphasis on basketball. Where he'd develop best is an open question; opinions can vary and there's no definitive answer.

Sorry to devolve, ZN. That's all I have; done.

ZagNative
06-08-2016, 11:44 AM
I mapped out the teams Domas will have had workouts for, with the team's position in the draft and the rookie minimum salary for that position:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-ZlVtoRJrkGM/V1h0ZZzpneI/AAAAAAACo3U/qTpTRRhQgMI9cYdPASWnprvAOCCYTPkuwCCo/s512/2016-06-08%2Bdomantas%2Bsabonis.jpg

webspinnre
06-08-2016, 01:10 PM
I mapped out the teams Domas will have had workouts for, with the team's position in the draft and the rookie minimum salary for that position:



ZN, you're amazing.

vandalzag
06-08-2016, 01:32 PM
Well, it's apparent his father disagreed with you and Jazz. He certainly had major input. I'll go with the opinion of one of the greatest ever to play, who also has a vested interest in the outcome. Injury, the depth of last year's draft, possibility of dropping. He'll be able to work on the areas he needs to develop; perimeter shot and defense, with total emphasis on basketball. Where he'd develop best is an open question; opinions can vary and there's no definitive answer.

Sorry to devolve, ZN. That's all I have; done.

Yeah but who would you put more credence in? I mane would take the word of a Hall of Fame player, considered by some to be one of the greatest players ever to step on the court, over the opinions of a few internet posters. Domas really should checked this site before making his decision. At that point he would have found out if he was good enough or ready to play in the NBA. He also would have discovered how much money he or his family needs and whether or not he has fully enjoyed the college experience, according to the standards set forth by others.

Coach Crazy
06-08-2016, 01:43 PM
Yeah but who would you put more credence in? I mane would take the word of a Hall of Fame player, considered by some to be one of the greatest players ever to step on the court, over the opinions of a few internet posters. Domas really should checked this site before making his decision. At that point he would have found out if he was good enough or ready to play in the NBA. He also would have discovered how much money he or his family needs and whether or not he has fully enjoyed the college experience, according to the standards set forth by others.

Actually, they should have consulted me, bro. Just sayin'...

ZagNative
06-08-2016, 01:48 PM
Abe and Jazz at your service, ready to direct your path, Domas!

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Xr6eeANy0bc/Ti2FjL4V26I/AAAAAAAABy4/ZCfmkM0BqOw/s1600/Statler%2Band%2BWaldorf%2Bbench.jpg

kitzbuel
06-08-2016, 01:54 PM
Abe and Jazz at your service, ready to direct your path, Domas!

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Xr6eeANy0bc/Ti2FjL4V26I/AAAAAAAABy4/ZCfmkM0BqOw/s1600/Statler%2Band%2BWaldorf%2Bbench.jpg

Hahaha ha. Made me laugh.

Coach Crazy
06-08-2016, 01:59 PM
Hahaha so are we going to assign Muppet avatar's to everyone? That would be kinda funny.

bartruff1
06-08-2016, 02:25 PM
:000tens:
Abe and Jazz at your service, ready to direct your path, Domas!

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Xr6eeANy0bc/Ti2FjL4V26I/AAAAAAAABy4/ZCfmkM0BqOw/s1600/Statler%2Band%2BWaldorf%2Bbench.jpg

sittingon50
06-08-2016, 03:18 PM
Hahaha so are we going to assign Muppet avatar's to everyone? That would be kinda funny.

Can I be Oscar?

2nd choice would be Beaker.

ZagNative
06-12-2016, 12:17 PM
from a Jazz reporter on Twitter:

Tony Jones ‏@Tjonessltrib
Domantas Sabonis will work out for the Jazz on Monday.

From reports, this will be the last workout for Domas, hopefully leaving him with one of the following highlighted paydays:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/8802c997-724a-4c3b-afaa-ee4d7aef6ba7_zpsdivxzysz.jpg

ZagNative
06-12-2016, 01:33 PM
Wiltjer to work out for the Wizards?

Kyle Wiltjer ‏@kwiltj 2h2 hours ago

DC bound. ✈️ have any dinner recommendations? @POTUS

Once and Future Zag
06-12-2016, 02:07 PM
Wiltjer to work out for the Wizards?

No Benihana in DC?

:)

ZagNative
06-13-2016, 11:06 AM
Gunther & Ben radio show audio interview with Domantas (https://audioboom.com/boos/4690401-domantas-sabonis-6-13-jazz-pre-draft-workout) after Utah workout.

Mantua
06-13-2016, 12:31 PM
Goodman's tweet on Wiltjer today:

"To me, the top two pure shooters in this draft are Buddy Hield and Kyle Wiltjer."

ZagNative
06-13-2016, 01:23 PM
Kyle Wiltjer tweets after his Wizards workout:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-WwZgYn6GoXc/V18jI3RmPfI/AAAAAAACo4c/Y9JDQ4U4MCAiLs0GUGeT78dyxznutJQBQCCo/s735/2016-06-13%2Bkyle%2Bwiltjer%2Bdraft.jpg

ZagNative
06-14-2016, 09:10 AM
Wiltjer continues working hard:

Michael Scotto ‏@MikeAScotto

Bucks brought in Kyle Wiltjer, Derrick Jones Jr, Tyrone Wallace, Kyle Collinsworth, Max Landis and Carrington Love for a group workout today
8 retweets 4 likes

Pallet
06-14-2016, 10:55 AM
From Kevin Pelton's latest chat (http://espn.go.com/sportsnation/chat/_/id/52152/nba-insider-kevin-pelton):
What are your projections for Domantas Sabonis? He looked pretty good against Poeltl in the NCAA tourney. What is his draft range?
Kevin Pelton (3:17 PM)

Was saying earlier today to a friend that I think that Gonzaga-Utah game is going to end up leaving a misleading impression of the two players. Not that Sabonis is a bad prospect, but Poeltl was the better college player over the last two years, and comfortably so. I have Sabonis projected in the late teens in terms of value but if the 3-point shooting he's showcased in workouts is legitimate, that could make the case for taking him higher.
-------------------------------------

Sabonis-Poeltl reminds me a bit of LaMarcus Aldridge getting dominated by Tyrus Thomas (and Big Baby) in the NCAA tourney that year.
Kevin Pelton (3:27 PM)

This wasn't a specific one-on-one matchup, but my go-to has always been Kevin Love struggling against an athletic Memphis frontcourt in the 2008 Final Four, which was taken at the time as a good preview of how he might struggle against NBA athleticism.

MDABE80
06-14-2016, 11:30 AM
Kyle will find a place. I have no doubt he's a better shooter than Buddy. But Buddy does plenty of things Kyle doesn't and vice versa. Kyle is being portrayed as one dimensional. Kyle will find a spot though.
As for Domas, he'll get about $1 million and sit on the end of someone's bench. Eventually he'll get more minutes if he develops further. Wait and see I guess. Right now, think how he might fare against most bigs in the NBA. Marginal is my guess.

Coach Crazy
06-14-2016, 11:55 AM
Kyle will find a place. I have no doubt he's a better shooter than Buddy. But Buddy does plenty of things Kyle doesn't and vice versa. Kyle is being portrayed as one dimensional. Kyle will find a spot though.
As for Domas, he'll get about $1 million and sit on the end of someone's bench. Eventually he'll get more minutes if he develops further. Wait and see I guess. Right now, think how he might fare against most bigs in the NBA. Marginal is my guess.

No, he won't. If this was the consensus among the NBA scouts and executives, he would not be entering the draft this year. Regardless of where he gets drafted, he'll either be starting or getting solid minutes. There aren't very many big's like him. Many have been trained to shoot three's and play more like over-sized wing's. The things that he gets criticism for are not going to create major issues for him in the League. He's going to continue doing what he has done. Theoretically, he should struggle, but once you put him against one of those who are thought to be superior to him...well, we have seen what happens.

ZagNative
06-14-2016, 12:25 PM
Dagnabit, people! Can you respect this thread as a source of honest-to-god information as to where and when Zags are working out and confine your opinion on players' worth to this thread: http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?57272-Domas-at-7&p=1226796#post1226796


Kyle will find a place. I have no doubt he's a better shooter than Buddy. But Buddy does plenty of things Kyle doesn't and vice versa. Kyle is being portrayed as one dimensional. Kyle will find a spot though.
As for Domas, he'll get about $1 million and sit on the end of someone's bench. Eventually he'll get more minutes if he develops further. Wait and see I guess. Right now, think how he might fare against most bigs in the NBA. Marginal is my guess.

ZagNative
06-14-2016, 12:57 PM
Go Eric!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-ZcgKc5gZxaw/V2BvRQQBxDI/AAAAAAACo4w/P7Lp0xOSUK4iVWvGB9UtazfL6dp88syaACCo/s718/2016-06-14%2Beric%2Bmcclellan%2Bkings.jpg

MDABE80
06-14-2016, 02:01 PM
Yeah, he will Coach. It's the NBA my friend. Bigger, stronger and faster than anything he's seen. He'll get some minute but I doubt he'll be in full bloom this year unless he's drafted by a team of weaklings. Most of his time with a good team will be spent watching and learning. I doubt he'll be an all star ever. He's a superior kid in this system and in the college ranks. Pro's are a huge step up for him....not everyone but for him ..yes. I hope he kick the a** off the NBA. I doubt he will though. Middle type player when he hits his stride. He'll go mid teens. Weak draft this year.

Coach Crazy
06-15-2016, 07:45 AM
Yeah, he will Coach. It's the NBA my friend. Bigger, stronger and faster than anything he's seen. He'll get some minute but I doubt he'll be in full bloom this year unless he's drafted by a team of weaklings. Most of his time with a good team will be spent watching and learning. I doubt he'll be an all star ever. He's a superior kid in this system and in the college ranks. Pro's are a huge step up for him....not everyone but for him ..yes. I hope he kick the a** off the NBA. I doubt he will though. Middle type player when he hits his stride. He'll go mid teens. Weak draft this year.

First and foremost, the end of the bench is mainly for aged veterans, 10-day contracts, players that are D-League-NBA go-between's, and roster filler. You don't draft a player like Domantas that high, unless you are filling a need. You don't take a player that has the perceived deficiencies that keep being batted about that high to stash him away.

As well, you're making an argument that doesn't reconcile with the current state of NBA big men. Many are not the Karl Malone/Antonio Davis/Dennis Rodman/Shawn Kemp "beast" model, anymore. Domantas is a 6'10"/11" 240 lbs Forward, that played against grown men before he turned 18, in one of the world's better professional leagues. As well, let us not forget that he had to learn how to tone down the physicality. He's going to be a force. There just isn't a logical way for me to see him be on the end of the bench right away, unless he is injured. And I don't even like typing those words.

He's going to be fine. He may not ever be what his dad was, but he'll end up having a long, long NBA career.

MDABE80
06-15-2016, 08:34 AM
We'll see soon enough. Figuratively the "end of the bench" was used to approximate his position. Not sure your definition is accurate but it doesn't matter. He'll get some time. Weak draft. Soon enough we'll see where our boy lands.

soccerdud
06-15-2016, 08:46 AM
Dagnabit, people! Can you respect this thread as a source of honest-to-god information as to where and when Zags are working out and confine your opinion on players' worth to this thread: http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?57272-Domas-at-7&p=1226796#post1226796

[insert picture of maxine from the hallmark cards...]

ZagNative
06-15-2016, 11:51 AM
Wiltjer keeps at it ...

Mike Solarte Verified account ‏@MikeSolarte

(2/2) Chinanu Onuaku (Louisville),Kyle Wiltjer (Gonzaga) in predraft workouts Thursday #Hornets

ZagNative
06-16-2016, 03:58 PM
Wiltjer Hornets highlight video (http://www.nba.com/hornets/video/teams/hornets/2016/06/16/1466096390570-160616-wiltjerhighlights.m4v-597255)

Post-workout interview video (http://www.nba.com/hornets/video/teams/hornets/2016/06/16/1466096413859-160616-Kyle_Interview.m4v-597256)

Martin Centre Mad Man
06-16-2016, 05:19 PM
Can I be Oscar?

2nd choice would be Beaker.

I drum like Animal...

http://www.snopes.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/animal-muppet.png

But my kids think I look like Sam the Eagle.

http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/disney/images/7/77/Sam-the-Eagle.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20140604010026

You pick one for me.

GrizZAG
06-17-2016, 09:44 AM
I really hope Wiljer gets picked up. He certainly still has the touch shooting for sure. I visited with him and he is a really nice fellow. He's high on Perkins.

ZagNative
06-20-2016, 09:10 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ClZ5FeIUoAIALMa.jpg


Keith Langlois ‏@Keith_Langlois

Kyle Wiltjer another workout warrior. Today's #Pistons workout was his 14th with one - at #76ers - still to go.