PDA

View Full Version : Old Dogs (Few Good Men) in action - updates - thread title change



Pages : [1] 2

Zagdawg
04-09-2016, 07:52 AM
Gonzaga players "A Few Good Men" --currently only have qty 72 votes--- so it is really easy to make a difference.

Dickau, Heytvelt, Ira Brown and Blake Stepp-- plus more!

Take a moment and vote for our guys-- would love to see them in person one more time.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

phxfireflames
04-09-2016, 03:27 PM
This tournament is only going to get bigger, great time to have it in the Summer when basketball activity slows down!

Zagdawg
04-09-2016, 09:45 PM
I wonder which Zags they will be adding to fill out their roster.

Might be worth a road trip to Los Angles to watch some great Zags play some ball --July 9th and 10th.

Good to see ESPN televising these games.

Looking good so far--but could use some more help -- 7th place with 166 votes (we are only 11 votes away from 6th place and only 6 votes away from being overtaken by 8th place team).

Take a minute and vote for our Zags.

GonzagasaurusFlex
04-10-2016, 05:36 AM
Gonzaga players "A Few Good Men" --currently only have qty 72 votes--- so it is really easy to make a difference.

Dickau, Heytvelt, Ira Brown and Blake Stepp-- plus more!

Take a moment and vote for our guys-- would love to see them in person one more time.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Thanks for posting Zagdawg. You have to register (free) to vote, which is normally a nonstarter for me, but then I saw the 5 Zags already committed to playing for this team. A pretty solid lineup
Dickau / Stepp / Ira Brown / Casey Calvary / Josh Heytvelt

These are the only players currently listed on the roster. They need to have 7 players to be eligible (and of course enough fan votes to get in). Who would you want to see added to this team?

For quality depth and balance, I would like to see the team add: Batista , Downs, Gray and Raivio. No idea if any of them are free to play this summer or what their status is with current professional teams.

Zagdawg
04-10-2016, 06:30 AM
I would love to see Turiaf, Pargo and Harris added to the team also.

Ekrub
04-10-2016, 07:21 AM
Morrison?

Ekrub
04-10-2016, 07:24 AM
Okay I'm excited. I hope they get in. Would be fun to watch them all play

Zagdawg
04-11-2016, 07:45 AM
For the West bracket----(first round played in Los Angeles)---Up to 198 votes-- currently in 6th place (top vote getter New Mexico with 318 votes).

We are 2 votes ahead of Utah and only 1 vote behind "Fresno City" --we are also only 19 votes away from 4th place Utah State.

ezcure17
04-11-2016, 01:50 PM
ok I voted come on everyone, show your true Zag colors!! let's do this!!

Zagdawg
04-11-2016, 05:00 PM
Gonzaga now in 4th place with 222 votes--only 4 votes behind Utah State. We are also closing in on the top team with 331 votes (New Mexico).


https://www.thetournament.com/teams/...8c9a1702291646

Zagdawg
04-11-2016, 05:34 PM
Dan just confirmed 2 more Zags being added to the lineup.

Dan Dickau
‏@dandickau21
Pargo and Downs should be signing up any day.

Zagdawg
04-12-2016, 02:52 PM
Zack ‏@bballnut88 2h2 hours ago
@Ronny_Turiaf why don't you join "A Few Good Men" in the TBT basketball tournament. Bunch of former zags. Could use a good big man!


Ronny TuriafVerified account
‏@Ronny_Turiaf
@bballnut88 they good! Josh will hold down the fort. Maybe I could coach and channel my inner PHIL Jackson lmfao

Ronny Turiaf ‏@Ronny_Turiaf 21m21 minutes ago
Ronny Turiaf Retweeted A Few Good Men
Will do my best! God willing I'll be there. #GoZags


We are currently in 4th place with 233 votes--top team in the West is now Utah State with 358 votes.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/...8c9a1702291646

basketballzag
04-12-2016, 03:10 PM
Zack ‏@bballnut88 2h2 hours ago
@Ronny_Turiaf why don't you join "A Few Good Men" in the TBT basketball tournament. Bunch of former zags. Could use a good big man!


Ronny TuriafVerified account
‏@Ronny_Turiaf
@bballnut88 they good! Josh will hold down the fort. Maybe I could coach and channel my inner PHIL Jackson lmfao



We are currently in 4th place with 233 votes--top team in the West is now Utah State with 358 votes.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/...8c9a1702291646


This team is not legitimate if Rem is not included.

Zagdawg
04-14-2016, 08:26 AM
Up to qty 245 votes --still in 4th place (but only 8 votes ahead of 5th place now).

Dickau verified that Pargo and Downs would be added to the roster shortly and Turiaf would like to be a "manager/coach".

Can you say....Road Trip -- I have a ball that all of these Zag greats can sign.

Go Zags!

Zagdawg
04-15-2016, 09:38 PM
We are now in 6th place --with 269 votes--- only 7 votes behind 5th place and 12 votes behind 4th place.

If you haven't yet-----take a moment to vote for our Zags.

Ebay
04-18-2016, 10:39 AM
I can't lie. I'm disappointed in Zag nation right now. How are we in 8th place in the West rankings? Only 275 votes? COME ON! It takes 2 minutes to sign up and vote. You won't get inundated with offer emails or anything like that. Get your wife/husband/coworkers/friends/neighbors/kids to sign up and vote too. There is no excuse for us to not win this vote outright.

How cool would it be to see some old dogs play in this tourney? First place in the West has 504 votes right now. We should win the vote. These guys gave YEARS to the program and everyone calls them "zags for life". I would not be able to blame them if they are frustrated with the lack of support they are receiving. Get it done. Rant over.

zagsfanforlife
04-18-2016, 11:33 AM
I can't lie. I'm disappointed in Zag nation right now. How are we in 8th place in the West rankings? Only 275 votes? COME ON! It takes 2 minutes to sign up and vote. You won't get inundated with offer emails or anything like that. Get your wife/husband/coworkers/friends/neighbors/kids to sign up and vote too. There is no excuse for us to not win this vote outright.

How cool would it be to see some old dogs play in this tourney? First place in the West has 504 votes right now. We should win the vote. These guys gave YEARS to the program and everyone calls them "zags for life". I would not be able to blame them if they are frustrated with the lack of support they are receiving. Get it done. Rant over.

Exactly. It takes two minutes to sign up. I have voted a few times from various accounts haha. Does no one else want to see a team of Zags greats in the tournament? I think its awesome with a capital A. I want to see Stepp, Dickau, Calvary, Pargo, Downs, IRA lace it up again!!

Zagdawg
04-18-2016, 10:00 PM
We are now #9 place with 287 votes---only 1 vote behind#8 and 2 votes behind #7 --- 10 votes behind #6 ----so only a few votes away from moving up the ladder.

Take a minute and vote.

OZZY
04-19-2016, 02:50 PM
Unfortunately I am unable to vote due to my location..

:(

gonstu
04-19-2016, 02:54 PM
I signed up and voted today. I think it took 60 seconds.

Zagdawg
04-19-2016, 02:57 PM
Update -- we are now ranked #8 with qty 295 votes-- only 5 votes behind number 7 (9 votes behind #6) and 5 votes ahead of #9.

Top team with qty 594 votes (Boston College Alum)

We have Mexico State, Utah and Utah State currently ahead of us in the voting.

Zagdawg
04-19-2016, 03:32 PM
First Rounds--
TBT West Regional: The Eagle's Nest at Cal State Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA • July 9-10, 2016
July 9: Round 1, 9am - 11pm PT (8 games)
July 10: Round 2, 11am - 6pm PT (4 games)

Tickets to watch the games are $20 for adults and $10 for children/students

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

mgadfly
04-21-2016, 08:25 AM
I was really hoping we'd get in this, but it isn't looking good at this point.

zagsfanforlife
04-21-2016, 08:31 AM
I was really hoping we'd get in this, but it isn't looking good at this point.

I thought Zag nation supported its former players better than this...

strikenowhere
04-21-2016, 09:42 AM
Is the Kennel Club promoting this at all?

gonstu
04-21-2016, 10:52 AM
It says top 12 vote getters get in, zags are 7th right now. Wouldn't that mean they are in as of right now?

Also, why does it say 'ineligible' yet other teams with less votes are 'eligible'?

Admittedly, I didn't read through the site closely - so sorry if the answers are obvious.

mgadfly
04-21-2016, 11:02 AM
It says top 12 vote getters get in, zags are 7th right now. Wouldn't that mean they are in as of right now?

Also, why does it say 'ineligible' yet other teams with less votes are 'eligible'?

Admittedly, I didn't read through the site closely - so sorry if the answers are obvious.

I really didn't look at the rules at all, but for some reason I was thinking there were automatic qualifiers based on separate criteria (e.g. participation in last year's tournament), and then 12 teams could be voted in (I thought that meant 3 from each of the 4 regions, but maybe it is 12 from each region with 48 of the 64 teams voted in).

I really hope they get in!

Zagdawg
04-21-2016, 11:06 AM
The ineligible status is due to not having the minimum number of players registered yet-- Pargo and Downs should be registering any day per Dickau-- then the status should update to eligible.

Eligible = 7 registered players and 200 votes minimum

Zagdawg
04-24-2016, 06:33 AM
Sunday update---Gonzaga currently tied for 8/9th place with 309 votes ---#7 place has 310 votes-- Top team (Boston College Alumni) has 713 votes.

We are a month and a week from voting completion.

It just takes a minute to vote.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Zagdawg
05-02-2016, 03:00 PM
Update-- less than a month before the announcement of the eligible teams -- Zags in sole possession of 8th place with 335 votes -- only 1 vote in front of 9th place.

7th place is 29 votes ahead.

If you have not-- take a minute and vote our Zags into the tournament.


https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Zagdawg
05-03-2016, 09:07 PM
Are the boys warming up at Hoopfest?

Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Will Sherratt ‏@willsherratt 4h4 hours ago
.@msantangelo13 says there will be a 5 on 5 game on the Friday of @SpokaneHoopfest featuring former Zags. That's gonna be awesome! #GoZags

phxfireflames
05-03-2016, 09:25 PM
Last week Dickau was on the Jay and Kevin show promoting the team.

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/the-jay-and-kevin-show-podcast/id694105908?mt=2

April 28th Interview starts at 16:25

Confirmed: Dickau, Stepp, Calvary, Heytvelt, Ira Brown
Others:Pargo, Downs, Hart, Daye, Gray, Sacre

Scare and Daye would be ineligible if they are still under NBA contract for next season

bigblahla
05-04-2016, 09:18 AM
Voted....

Zagdawg
05-04-2016, 03:25 PM
Now ranked #9 only 1 vote behind #8.

Email the tournament shared.

"Few Good Men is Here!
Few Good Men Fans!
Because of your help, we’re sitting atop the West team rankings and one step closer to competing in TBT 2016 this summer for the $2,000,000 prize! Our roster is looking great so far, with a lot of talent scheduled to play for us:

PG Dan Dickau
PG Blake Stepp
F Ira Brown
F Casey Calvary
C Josh Heytvelt

We can add 6 more players to the roster, and we’re in discussions with several. Also, if we get to 2,000 votes, we will be able to add a Ringer during the Super 16 and beyond, which can be any player we want!"


https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Zagdawg
05-06-2016, 11:52 AM
Jeremy Pargo and Mike Hart are now part of the team.

Dan Dickau ‏@dandickau21 4m4 minutes ago
Hey @ImJustPargo welcome to @AFGM_TBT let's go win this @thetournament @ZagKennelClub @ZagMBB @700espn @GonzagaU

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

zagsfanforlife
05-06-2016, 02:27 PM
Still think they need a couple more players. And 1 or two more bigs. Some teams that are also "stacked" have like 10 players on their team.... any rumors of others joining the squad?

phxfireflames
05-06-2016, 03:16 PM
Micah Downs, Steven Gray, Austin Daye, and Robert Sacre


Still think they need a couple more players. And 1 or two more bigs. Some teams that are also "stacked" have like 10 players on their team.... any rumors of others joining the squad?

webspinnre
05-06-2016, 04:51 PM
Regarding Sacre, are current NBA players allowed?

zagsfanforlife
05-06-2016, 05:01 PM
Micah Downs, Steven Gray, Austin Daye, and Robert Sacre

Rumors of them joining or you are just hoping?

phxfireflames
05-07-2016, 04:13 PM
Dickau did a radio interview last week referencing the players. See my earlier post for link.


Rumors of them joining or you are just hoping?

ZagNative
05-07-2016, 04:42 PM
hey need more votes. Now at 405: https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Requires registration before voting.

Zagdawg
05-09-2016, 10:46 AM
Austin Daye has been added to the roster.

Now #6 in ranking for the West.


https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

ZagMan in Philly
05-09-2016, 03:46 PM
Voted. Hope to see the Few Good Men in Philly this summer.

SunDevilGolfZag
05-09-2016, 05:26 PM
I voted too and encourage everyone to take a few minutes and do so

ZagNative
05-10-2016, 03:10 PM
now at 440. Hope y'all vote!

Zagdawg
05-11-2016, 09:52 AM
Dan Dickau ‏@dandickau21 9m9 minutes ago
Looking forward to being a part of @SpokaneHoopfest with a great new event this year w @ImJustPargo and @msantangelo13 on the Friday

Team now in 5th place!

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

GoZags
05-12-2016, 08:23 AM
I've just edited the Subject Header .... this hadn't really caught my attention but I took a "deep dive" yesterday and registered/voted. This is a GREAT opportunity. If you haven't had a chance to do this ... I "invite" you to help. Again ... this is pretty cool. GoZags

ZagNative
05-12-2016, 04:41 PM
Still in 5th place, with 486 votes. Pretty close to 4th place (493 votes). Vote now if you haven't voted yet.

Zagdawg
05-13-2016, 07:55 AM
4th Place!! -- Moving up --next in line to pass --New Mexico RH--- with 19 days until final results are in.

On a positive note our Zags have a ton of experience on the roster (tied for 2nd in years of professional level experience in the West--includes Euro/Pro play).


https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

NotoriousZ
05-13-2016, 03:59 PM
I've just edited the Subject Header .... this hadn't really caught my attention but I took a "deep dive" yesterday and registered/voted. This is a GREAT opportunity. If you haven't had a chance to do this ... I "invite" you to help. Again ... this is pretty cool. GoZags

I passed over this thread several times. I don't know if it would help but if I saw the Zag players' names in the thread title I would have looked right away. I suppose the title can't be much longer, but stil...

I plan on voting tonight!

zagsfanforlife
05-13-2016, 04:18 PM
Who is Justin BUrrell? Is he friends with someone? Looked up his stats in college and idk about this addition. Is Sacre joining? Downs?

Zagdawg
05-13-2016, 09:11 PM
Burrell must be a friend of Heytvelt and Ira Brown --they play in the same league overseas -- he averaged 17 and 9 this year in the same Japanese league.


I would love to see Sacre/Downs/Harris join in with the fun also (I know Harris is still playing in the playoffs in Europe).

SLOZag
05-13-2016, 10:43 PM
Who is Justin BUrrell? Is he friends with someone? Looked up his stats in college and idk about this addition. Is Sacre joining? Downs?

Started his college ball at Holy Cross, and transferred to and graduated from St. John's. Lots more info at Google.

zagsfanforlife
05-14-2016, 11:50 AM
According to the rules they can add 2 more players to complete a 11 team roster limit. Who are the two that you would like to see?

Im scanning over these teams and some have some real talent: Mike Bibby, White Chocolate on one team haha

I want Downs and Sacre if possible.... if it was any possibility I would get AMMO but i dont think hes interested. Ammo could take over and lead this team to a championship.

Cant wait to see them play. Is Sacre under contract right now? a 7 foot bruiser who has been playing against NBA players in practice would make a nice front line with him, Calvary, Heytfelt, Daye and Burrell.

zagsfanforlife
05-14-2016, 11:52 AM
Actually give me Downs and Gray. Lacking a few wings on this team. In a tournament like this shooting probably more valuable than bigs and they have a few bigs already.

Zagdawg
05-16-2016, 09:07 AM
Monday update with the final vote closure just over 2 weeks away.

Zags in 4th place in the West-- 3rd place New Mexico RH is 41 votes ahead.

Zags have spots open to add to the team still.

Current lineup:
6' Dan Dickau
6'2" Jeremy Pargo
6'4" Blake Stepp
6'4" Ira Brown
6'6" Mike Hart
6'9" Casey Calvary
6"9" Justin Burrell (friend of Josh/Ira plays in same international league as them)
6'10" Josh Heytvelt
6'11" Austin Daye

Ronny Turiaf mentioned he might help as a bench coach.

Additional Great Zag Options: Sacre, Batista, Raivio, Downs, Harris or Bell.

If you haven't voted--take a minute to vote (you do not get any spam after you vote--it just takes a minute to vote).

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

bigblahla
05-18-2016, 05:39 AM
bump

Go!! Zags!!!

ZagNative
05-19-2016, 04:46 PM
We need more votes, now slipped to #5. The roster for the team at #4 is pathetic. Come on folks, cough up that vote if you haven't taken the time yet. https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni

Zagdawg
05-19-2016, 06:09 PM
Only one vote behind #4 -- and BC Portland only 8 votes behind us and coming on strong.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

bigblahla
05-19-2016, 09:29 PM
Somebody tweet the kennel club....

Zagdawg
05-21-2016, 06:48 AM
Austin Daye ‏@Adaye5 3h3 hours ago
Austin Daye Retweeted Dan Dickau
@ZagMBB �� the squad coming together pretty nice

Zags currently at #7 with a bunch of teams making a push (only 1 vote ahead of #8) --teams #9 and 10 moving up also.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Dickau drumming up some support for this last 10 day push of voting.

Dan Dickau ‏@dandickau21 9m9 minutes ago
Come on @ZagMBB fans and @ZagKennelClub voting closes june1. @ImJustPargo @Adaye5 @GonzagaU @ZagAlumni @Bobby_Sacre

Zagdawg
05-22-2016, 12:40 PM
John Blanchette: ‘Few Good Men,’ aka former Zag stars, need your vote

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/may/21/john-blanchette-few-good-men-aka-former-zag-stars-/


To Vote:

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

ZagNative
05-22-2016, 12:44 PM
Blanchette's column is great! And it's boosted the team into third place, with 723 votes!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-1gR1WTKz-1Y/V0ITnVbhNUI/AAAAAAACoyk/jbai6RhUKz4Pqqdje-4yZwlnwXbfjlSHACCo/s452/2016-05-22%2Ba%2Bfew%2Bgood%2Bmen.jpg

exclusivelee
05-22-2016, 07:49 PM
Closing in on #2

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160523/95860a05e9e3f0ce9eb1a258bf95a15f.jpg (https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=574227c28cc45589765829)

Zagdawg
05-23-2016, 07:17 AM
Wow!!

John Blanchettes article really helped kick in the voting --now in 2nd place with 900 votes --- only 100 votes away from being able to design the teams own jerseys.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

strikenowhere
05-23-2016, 07:30 AM
I know that ESPN is planning on televising the semi's and championship games but does anyone know if there are plans to stream the rest of the games online? I'd love to be able to watch online if possible!

phxfireflames
05-23-2016, 07:44 AM
I remember watching the Sweet Sixteen & Elite Eight on Espn last year. I would think the opening rounds could be found on WatchESPN

strikenowhere
05-23-2016, 07:54 AM
I remember watching the Sweet Sixteen & Elite Eight on Espn last year. I would think the opening rounds could be found on WatchESPN

Thanks!

Zagdawg
05-23-2016, 08:35 PM
Update:

We have 1032 votes and are currently #2 in the West (#11 overall for the entire tournament fan voting).

We are 192 votes behind #1.

9 Days left of voting.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Ekrub
05-24-2016, 04:59 AM
Amazing with the number of board members here, and the chance to essentially see a bunch of zag all stars play, there isn't about 1000 more votes. Get on it folks

ZagsObserver
05-24-2016, 06:16 AM
Amazing with the number of board members here, and the chance to essentially see a bunch of zag all stars play, there isn't about 1000 more votes. Get on it folks

Agreed.

Students are out now, right? Would have been good to have an email by kc or a bulletin article.

maynard g krebs
05-24-2016, 11:38 AM
Amazing with the number of board members here, and the chance to essentially see a bunch of zag all stars play, there isn't about 1000 more votes. Get on it folks

I tried to register and they wanted my email password. Didn't know how to deal with that. Seems like a no-no.

Zagdawg
05-24-2016, 11:57 AM
I think part of the registration process is creating your name/password so that there won't be a bunch of fake voting.



Here is what it says when you are registering--- The password is for your registration login --not for your email.


E-mail *

A valid e-mail address. All e-mails from the system will be sent to this address. The e-mail address is not made public and will only be used if you wish to receive a new password or wish to receive certain news or notifications by e-mail.


Confirm email *



Password *


Confirm password *

ZagsObserver
05-24-2016, 12:08 PM
I tried to register and they wanted my email password. Didn't know how to deal with that. Seems like a no-no.

They don't want your email password. They want your email and any password you want to create.

Zagdawg
05-24-2016, 08:17 PM
Micah Downs has joined the team.

MICAH DOWNS
View Profile
Alma Mater: Gonzaga
Height: 6’ 8”
Position: Shooting Guard

phxfireflames
05-25-2016, 07:48 AM
ESPN TV Schedule

https://www.thetournament.com/news/tbt-announces-espn-schedule

ZagsObserver
05-27-2016, 11:05 AM
We are in the home stretch. Less than 100 votes separate Gonzaga from the #1 team in the West. Vote!

link:
https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=5743748d322eb780342268

madness
05-27-2016, 12:00 PM
I just voted (finally) and sent recruiting links to all my twitter feeds. Hopefully we continue to creep up the rankings as I'm sure there will be late pushes by some teams next week.

zagsfanforlife
05-28-2016, 10:18 AM
I really wonder why AMMO is not on the team. The guys dont like him? He woudlnt want to play in a tournament like this? To me he is the most obvious choice of a guy i would want on this team. No one, and i mean no one in this tournament I feel could guard him and in a poetic kind of way, I think Morrison can redeem his demons of the Sweet 16 game vs UCLA and bring GU's A Few Good Men to the promised land of this tournament.

There is still 1 spot open.. who is it going to?

exclusivelee
05-28-2016, 10:39 AM
There is still 1 spot open.. who is it going to?

Steven Gray

zagsfanforlife
05-28-2016, 10:40 AM
Confirmed lee?

gonzagafan62
05-28-2016, 10:59 AM
Finally voted. Yeah. That was tough to do on a phone. Very frustrating. Do we have to be in first in the west to be able to play? How does that work?

phxfireflames
05-28-2016, 01:22 PM
Finally voted. Yeah. That was tough to do on a phone. Very frustrating. Do we have to be in first in the west to be able to play? How does that work?

The zags just need to be in the top 11 in the West to guarantee a sport in the tourney. Not sure if teams will be seeded on votes

Zagdawg
05-29-2016, 02:49 PM
Some Q&A about seeding

"How are you seeding the teams?

By talent, chemistry, leadership and reliability; i.e., how good we think the teams are.

How are you scheduling the teams?

Teams match up by seed: #1 vs. #16 and so on. Teams in the South & Midwest regions will play their first games on Saturday, July 9. Teams in the Northeast and West regions will play their first games on Saturday, July 16.

What is the Experience Ranking?

The Experience Ranking is a tool to let fans know the relative experience level of each team. When you sign up as a Player, you put in your highest level played. We then assign a value to your team based on the cumulative experience level of all of its players."

Zagdawg
05-30-2016, 07:44 AM
We are currently in 2nd place --only 1 vote behind 1st place in the West in voting---but we only have 2 days left (by 12 noon EST).



https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

phxfireflames
05-31-2016, 09:37 AM
There is a new leader in the West!

https://www.thetournament.com/teams?region=west

Zagdawg
05-31-2016, 10:25 AM
Whoohoo!! Great News-- if we can get in another 590 votes (2000 total) -- we unlock a "ringer" -- a player that can be added when we get to the final 16 teams left in the tournament.

"RINGER. If a Team receives 2,000 votes or more before 12:00 pm (NOON) (ET) on July 8, 2016, that Team will be permitted to add one (1) additional player to its roster if such a Team advances beyond the Second Round. Such Teams MUST NAME THEIR RINGER BEFORE MIDNIGHT (12am) ET ON JULY 18, 2016. FAILURE TO NAME THE RINGER BEFORE THIS DEADLINE WILL RESULT IN THE QUALIFYING TEAM FOREITING ITS RIGHT TO ADD THEIR RINGER."

Let's get a Ringer added ---

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Zagdawg
05-31-2016, 09:35 PM
Dan Dickau Retweeted
Darnay Tripp ‏@DarnayTripp 1h1 hour ago
Adam Morrison was one of the 1st guys @dandickau21 asked to be on @AFGM_TBT. He passed. But there may still be hope.

ZagsObserver
06-01-2016, 05:17 AM
I was thinking that it ended June 1st, but the website appears to say voting ends July 7th


We are currently in 2nd place --only 1 vote behind 1st place in the West in voting---but we only have 2 days left (by 12 noon EST).



https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Zagdawg
06-01-2016, 05:45 AM
Voting to get into the tournament ends noon EST today-- but for the ability to have a ringer added to your team -- Noon EST July 8th final voting is over.

ZagsObserver
06-01-2016, 08:43 AM
Looks like Heytvelt is no longer on the roster. May need another big


Voting to get into the tournament ends noon EST today-- but for the ability to have a ringer added to your team -- Noon EST July 8th final voting is over.

Zagdawg
06-09-2016, 08:58 AM
Dickau has been talking to Ronny to see if he would be interested in getting some time on the court with the guys as another big.

Still looking for another 408 votes to be able to add a "ringer" to the team (ringer= an extra player that can be added to help with the final push to the finish).

If you haven't voted take a moment and vote for our guys.


https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

zagsfanforlife
06-13-2016, 08:28 AM
We are getting near the home stretch of voting for TBT and the "alumni Zags" if you will. If the team reaches 2,000 votes, than they qualify to get a RINGER player in the sweet 16 should they advance that far. Ammo? Turiaf? A couple names I have heard that would definitely help the team if they advance to the round of teams consisting of mostly pros. Keep voting! Cant wait to watch these guys. Only a handful of days longer to vote!

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570bdbd48f71f953592491

Zagdawg
06-15-2016, 08:00 PM
Dan Dickau Retweeted
Darnay Tripp ‏@DarnayTripp 12h12 hours ago
Via @thetournament here's the logo for Gonzaga's alumni squad @AFGM_TBT. I'm a fan. (H/T @dandickau21)

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/ClAPawOUoAAd6n0.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/ClAPawOUoAAd6n0.jpg.html)


If you haven't voted --we need another qty 370 votes for a ringer (extra player).


https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Zagdawg
06-23-2016, 07:19 AM
Email about ticket special:

"Good for Next 72 Hours
Voters!
We have a limited amount of group ticket packages remaining for the TBT 2016 West Regional. For the next 72 hours, you can buy a 4-ticket pack for 50% off the regular price.

https://thetournament.ticketspice.com/westregional

Game will be played at Cal State Los Angeles on July 9 & 10. To get 50% off, simply click the link above, select the date you’d like to attend, and select the Discounted Group/Family Package.

This limited-time offer is only good through Sunday. See you in Los Angeles!"

Also to vote (if you have not) -- currently 1692 votes --shooting for 2000 to get a ringer added to the lineup.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

phxfireflames
06-23-2016, 07:55 AM
Anyone know how Leo Lyons is connected to the Zags? Just saw his name on the roster

https://www.thetournament.com/players/leo-lyons

Zagdawg
06-25-2016, 01:42 PM
We are only 282 votes away from unlocking our extra player for the tournament --but votes have slowed down.

We only have until July 8 to get the extra 282 votes to get the extra player --if you have not yet --please take a moment to vote for our Zags!

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

Zagdawg
06-27-2016, 09:02 AM
Uniforms for our guys in the tournament.

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/TBT.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/TBT.jpg.html)

phxfireflames
06-29-2016, 08:30 AM
Drew Barham has been added to the roster.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni

Zagdawg
07-01-2016, 07:25 AM
Only 201 votes needed to add our ringer! We have only 8 days to get it done. John Stockton has been added as a Coach.

If you have not voted-- please take a minute and vote.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

RINGER. If a Team receives 2,000 votes or more before 12:00 pm (NOON) (ET) on July 8, 2016, that Team will be permitted to add one (1) additional player to its roster if such a Team advances beyond the Second Round.

Zagdawg
07-01-2016, 08:37 AM
1st round matchup/opponent

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/tbt.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/tbt.jpg.html)

ZagMan in Philly
07-01-2016, 10:12 AM
So, based on the bracket, they have a good shot to play in Philly...that would be swell, as I planned to be there with my family to cheer them on.

phxfireflames
07-01-2016, 10:48 AM
Anyone going to the Opening Round games in the West Region? I'll be there on Saturday

zag buddy
07-02-2016, 10:06 AM
http://www.midmajormadness.com/2016/7/2/12086362/the-basketball-tournament-2016-march-madness-gonzaga-bulldogs-vcu-rams
This is the first I've seen of this tournament. Any info guys.

ZagNative
07-02-2016, 10:15 AM
Isn't that the tourney we've been talking about here? http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?57036-ACTION-REQUESTED-Vote-for-Gonzaga-Player-Alum-to-be-eligible-for-Tournament

zag buddy
07-02-2016, 10:25 AM
If it is Mods please delete this post.

Zagdawg
07-02-2016, 11:17 AM
We have until Noon EST this Friday to come up with another qty 192 votes to allow our Zags to get the ringer added to the lineup (less than a week left to vote).

If you have not --take a minute to tweet, share on facebook or instagram or email this link to get our guys the extra voting help that can allow them to win this-- just take a minute to vote.


https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646


RINGER. If a Team receives 2,000 votes or more before 12:00 pm (NOON) (ET) on July 8, 2016, that Team will be permitted to add one (1) additional player to its roster if such a Team advances beyond the Second Round.

Go Zags!

gonzagafan62
07-03-2016, 08:33 AM
Will these first and second round games be on TV?

Zagdawg
07-05-2016, 06:55 AM
We have until Noon EST this Friday to come up with another qty 154 votes to allow our Zags to get the ringer added to the lineup (only 3 days left to vote).

If you have not --take a minute to tweet, share on facebook or instagram or email this link to get our guys the extra voting help that can allow them to win this-- just take a minute to vote.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

RINGER. If a Team receives 2,000 votes or more before 12:00 pm (NOON) (ET) on July 8, 2016, that Team will be permitted to add one (1) additional player to its roster if such a Team advances beyond the Second Round.

Go Zags!

Zagdawg
07-05-2016, 08:22 AM
To watch games:

All regional round games will be livestreamed on Facebook over Whistle Sports' pages.

West & Northeast: https://m.facebook.com/WhistleSportsBasketball/

You can also get to all games via the Bracket page. "Watch" links will go live when games are on.

Zagdawg
07-05-2016, 07:33 PM
Getting a little momentum--let's keep it going....

We have until Noon EST this Friday to come up with another qty 60 votes to allow our Zags to get the ringer added to the lineup (only 3 days left to vote).

If you have not --take a minute to tweet, share on facebook or instagram or email this link to get our guys the extra voting help that can allow them to win this-- just take a minute to vote.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

RINGER. If a Team receives 2,000 votes or more before 12:00 pm (NOON) (ET) on July 8, 2016, that Team will be permitted to add one (1) additional player to its roster if such a Team advances beyond the Second Round.

Zagdawg
07-06-2016, 07:49 AM
Dan Dickau ‏@dandickau21 22m22 minutes ago
Dan Dickau Retweeted TBT
I like your pick @GoodmanESPN it's time for the Zags to make a final 4. @ImJustPargo and @Adaye5 let's back it up

TBTVerified account
‏@thetournament
#TBT2016 Expert Picks Revealed! Make your own picks here: http://www.pickhoops.com/tbt

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Picks.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Picks.jpg.html)

Zagdawg
07-06-2016, 12:55 PM
Closing in on it!!! So Close.......

We have until Noon EST this Friday to come up with another qty 7 votes to allow our Zags to get the ringer added to the lineup (only 3 days left to vote).

If you have not --take a minute to tweet, share on facebook or instagram or email this link to get our guys the extra voting help that can allow them to win this-- just take a minute to vote.

https://www.thetournament.com/teams/few-good-men-gonzaga-alumni?type=fan&f=570923938c9a1702291646

RINGER. If a Team receives 2,000 votes or more before 12:00 pm (NOON) (ET) on July 8, 2016, that Team will be permitted to add one (1) additional player to its roster if such a Team advances beyond the Second Round.

ZagNative
07-06-2016, 08:28 PM
Got it!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-FkIbs4oBFrk/V33Z3GwLDtI/AAAAAAACo5w/Yhqa9xjoo4sRJHV9fBrJ5lIi0mDL3yZeACCo/s800/2016-07-06%2Bfew%2Bgood%2Bmen.jpg

Zagdawg
07-06-2016, 09:06 PM
Great News!!! Hope the extra addition is a solid Zag contributor!

Go Zags!

Zagdawg
07-08-2016, 12:28 PM
HOW TO WATCH TBT 2016

https://www.thetournament.com/news/how-watch-tbt-2016

Zags game starts at 2:15pm Saturday

"Gonzaga alums vs. the man behind the James Harden impression that you and everyone else have seen on Facebook. Few Good Men come into this matchup as the clear favorite, but if they take the Dot Squad too lightly (or if they show up short-handed), Brandon Armstrong will show the world what he can do with a basketball besides hilariously spoof the NBA’s biggest stars."

kitzbuel
07-08-2016, 12:40 PM
Great News!!! Hope the extra addition is a solid Zag contributor!

Go Zags!

I dunno.... my phone still hasn't rang!

ZagsObserver
07-08-2016, 03:37 PM
Recognizing that many of the old zags aren't young anymore, and some aren't playing professionally, what are the chances that they can compete versus some of the younger teams in the tournament? I recall some saying that they looked a bit underwhelming at the game during hoopfest (save for pargo).

ZagaZags
07-09-2016, 01:05 PM
We have about16 Zag fans here for the game.

gonzagafan62
07-09-2016, 01:31 PM
Is this game even on yet? It's supposed to be on whistle sports Facebook page but I'm not seeing it listed? Need help!!!

scott257
07-09-2016, 01:41 PM
Is this game even on yet? It's supposed to be on whistle sports Facebook page but I'm not seeing it listed? Need help!!!

Can't find the game either. Help!

Radbooks
07-09-2016, 01:43 PM
I'm watching it here:

https://www.facebook.com/WhistleSportsBasketball

ZagaZags
07-09-2016, 01:44 PM
Few Good Men 30

Other guys 19

6:55 to go first half

gonzagafan62
07-09-2016, 01:51 PM
I'm watching it here:

https://www.facebook.com/WhistleSportsBasketball

That's where I was. Clicked live vids and eerything. Not seeing it.

Radbooks
07-09-2016, 01:54 PM
Don't know what to say because I'm watching it. It is the basketball FB page, not just the Whistle Sports page. It's a bit confusing. :)

ZagaZags
07-09-2016, 01:57 PM
51-31 halftime.

scott257
07-09-2016, 01:59 PM
I'm watching it here:

https://www.facebook.com/WhistleSportsBasketball

Got it now, thanks.

gonzagafan62
07-09-2016, 02:15 PM
The first half didn't pop up until the first half was over. Really weird

ZagaZags
07-09-2016, 02:17 PM
Gonzaga will have their hands full tomorrow, 7 Outz is loaded.

gonzagafan62
07-09-2016, 02:33 PM
For some mobile users (maybe just myself) you may only get to use the Facebook app to get live game. I was using Facebook website itself... I used the app and it worked.

Zags_Fanatic
07-09-2016, 02:52 PM
Man that was fun! No question why they brought Burrell and Lyons in for this tournament, this team could go all the way.

gonzagafan62
07-09-2016, 02:54 PM
Even the old dogs can't lose in the first round lol. WITH AUTHORITY!

ZagsObserver
07-09-2016, 02:54 PM
Who looked good to you?

gonzagafan62
07-09-2016, 02:58 PM
Who looked good to you?

Lyons and Burrell really impressed from what I was able to see. I'll watch the whole thing tonight.

ZagsObserver
07-09-2016, 04:13 PM
Lyons and Burrell really impressed from what I was able to see. I'll watch the whole thing tonight.

According to the box score pargo, downs and Ira were all playing well

Birddog
07-09-2016, 04:58 PM
Whatever you do, don't mention the final score, OK?

Rangerzag
07-09-2016, 05:36 PM
Whatever you do, don't mention the final score, OK?


Since you requested not to know the score .................

I will no feel too guilty when I cannot tell it to you.

I can say the following:

The Few Good Men (Zag) team won easily.

They scored over a hundred points.

The score was not close.



And even though I looked, I could not find a box score entry.

gonzagafan62
07-09-2016, 06:10 PM
Since you requested not to know the score .................

I will no feel too guilty when I cannot tell it to you.

I can say the following:

The Few Good Men (Zag) team won easily.

They scored over a hundred points.

The score was not close.



And even though I looked, I could not find a box score entry.

Here you go Ranger. I found it for you.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/138620512@N04/28099323262/

Rangerzag
07-09-2016, 06:39 PM
Whatever you do, don't mention the final score, OK?


Back to Birddog's question:

Few Good Men (Zags #3 seed) 110

Whistle Sports Dot Squad (Other Guys #14 seed) 79

Zags_Fanatic
07-09-2016, 07:05 PM
Here you go Ranger. I found it for you.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/138620512@N04/28099323262/

Geez, Lyons with a double double in 12 minutes is pretty impressive. Ira Brown not far behind with some incredible plays too.

ZagsObserver
07-09-2016, 07:23 PM
Looks like stepp didn't play. Is still going to play?

gonzagafan62
07-09-2016, 07:27 PM
Mike Hart was .... Well, Mike Hart. 1 shot missed, played 25 minutes and 0 points. Lots of solid basketball plays, and the same mike hart we've always known. I can live with it.

gonzagafan62
07-09-2016, 07:33 PM
Anyone know game time for tomorrow?

soccerdud
07-09-2016, 07:44 PM
Anyone know game time for tomorrow?

12:45 PM

sittingon50
07-09-2016, 08:20 PM
1. Recognize Brandon Armstrong. Did they play PEP?

2. Tomorrow's team - who do they represent?

3. Micah Downs gets up 15 shot's in 14 minutes?

ZagaZags
07-09-2016, 09:56 PM
The ringer hasn't been decided yet. I asked Dan if they have the ringer. He said they don't know yet, they got turned down yesterday from a player. I didn't ask who turned them down. FYI,the coach from 7 Outz sat next to us during the game and said we won't like him tomorrow. He was bragging about his team, I asked him if they already played today, he said they played the game before the Zag game. They won by 1 point and looked terrible. I told the coach that they will get killed. He didn't appreciate that much.

gonzagafan62
07-09-2016, 10:13 PM
Looks like stepp didn't play. Is still going to play?

He was announced when the roster was announced at very beginning of the game. He's probably dealing with all kinds of injuries and they probably wanted to save him for tomorrow. This is all speculation of course I'm just being silly with his past history.

ZagaZags
07-09-2016, 10:22 PM
Stepp did play a few minutes.

zagsfanforlife
07-09-2016, 11:00 PM
Stepp did play a few minutes.

I didnt see him....?

zagsfanforlife
07-09-2016, 11:05 PM
1. Recognize Brandon Armstrong. Did they play PEP?

2. Tomorrow's team - who do they represent?

3. Micah Downs gets up 15 shot's in 14 minutes?

Not that Brandon Armstrong. This was Brandon Armstrong who makes those videos that make fun of NBA players... they are played on sportscenter quite often. He played at Lincoln Memorial... hes ok.

Tomorrow though the team plays a former WCC foe, Paul Marigney of St. Mary's. Dude was a stud then, and is still a stud. HIt the game winning three for the team the zags play tomorrow.

Regarding the ringer, my guess is they asked AMMO. I know he was on their short list so i am sure he was one of the first they asked.

phxfireflames
07-09-2016, 11:13 PM
I didnt see him....?

I was in attendance and I can confirm Stepp never even took off his shooting shirt let alone got into the game

ZagaZags
07-09-2016, 11:41 PM
I was in attendance and I can confirm Stepp never even took off his shooting shirt let alone got into the game

I was at the game too, I was distracted in the 2nd half by the 7 Outz coach. I thought I saw Blake on the court for a short time.

ZagaZags
07-09-2016, 11:43 PM
The 7 Outz coach is an egomaniac.

phxfireflames
07-10-2016, 10:37 AM
The 7 Outz coach is an egomaniac.

Did you mean the coach from WHISTLE SPORTS DOT SQUAD? Anyway that coach kept on talking for days and was entertaining especially when he was trashing his own 7'2" player

Zagdawg
07-10-2016, 11:25 AM
The first # one seed goes down --(Bluff City Blues --Memphis Alum) on a three in the last seconds by "Trained to Go" (#8)---qty 2 made threes in the final 11 seconds to get a win.

ZagaZags
07-10-2016, 11:55 AM
Is there a link to watch the game live?

Radbooks
07-10-2016, 12:17 PM
Here:

https://www.facebook.com/WhistleSportsBasketball/

ZagsObserver
07-10-2016, 12:26 PM
Here:

https://www.facebook.com/WhistleSportsBasketball/

Score update? Thanks

Radbooks
07-10-2016, 12:31 PM
Score update? Thanks

At halftime it's 42 - 18 with the Zags crushing the other team! :)

Zagdawg
07-10-2016, 12:31 PM
42 - 18 at the half --all Zags

ZagNative
07-10-2016, 12:32 PM
Thanks, Radbooks. Pretty good quality video.

ZagaZags
07-10-2016, 12:32 PM
Here:

https://www.facebook.com/WhistleSportsBasketball/

Thanks. :cheers:

gonzagafan62
07-10-2016, 12:35 PM
Pargo is a monster.

Stepp did play a little in first half, and is mic'ed up.

Zagdawg
07-10-2016, 12:39 PM
Stepp has 5 pts ---team looking good --solid contributions across the board.

gonzagafan62
07-10-2016, 12:39 PM
Dickau is also mic'ed up. It's refreshing. He was telling the team to keep increasing the lead. Wasn't satisfied with a ten point lead. Told team to make it 16 or 18. Then the half ended like it did and it's 42-18.

Once and Future Zag
07-10-2016, 12:49 PM
Dickau is also mic'ed up. It's refreshing. He was telling the team to keep increasing the lead. Wasn't satisfied with a ten point lead. Told team to make it 16 or 18. Then the half ended like it did and it's 42-18.

Overheard the 7Outz coach say that his team has given up. Wow.

Once and Future Zag
07-10-2016, 12:53 PM
No look from Stepp to Calvary for dunk... sweet.

madness
07-10-2016, 01:02 PM
On to the Sweet 16!

Zagdawg
07-10-2016, 01:07 PM
98-54 Go Zags!

I loved the "Zags on three"....one...two...three .....Zags!!" that Dan and the guys called out at the end.

Radbooks
07-10-2016, 01:09 PM
That was fun!

madness
07-10-2016, 01:10 PM
The Off the backboard alley oop from Pargo to Burrell was sick. Pargo is so much fun to watch.

Now the big question...Who is going to be the ringer????

whatazag
07-10-2016, 01:13 PM
Thanks for the links, was fun to watch. When the game started out, it looked like really bad basketball, but as the game went on the zags gelled and the other team continued to look bad. Hart working way harder than everyone else on the court, and had an impact even though he only got the 2 garbage time points. Pargo and Downs looked good.

Zagdawg
07-10-2016, 01:13 PM
Trying to figure out where they need help---maybe a great big to help bang inside with some of the bigger teams.

Zagdawg
07-10-2016, 01:23 PM
Batista or Heytvelt for a big or Raivio (for an additional scoring guard) --Heytvelt was originally on the roster --not sure what came up.

Zagdawg
07-10-2016, 02:46 PM
Recap:

"Years of chemistry-building under Gonzaga coach Mark Few and a balanced offensive attack in which five players reached double figures in scoring keyed Few Good Men to a 98-54 win over 7outz on Sunday in Los Angeles. With the win, Few Good Men and its roster replete with Gonzaga Bulldogs alums, advances to the Sweet 16. Jeremy Pargo was one of three players with 14 points, and he dished out eight assists to boot. Evan Conti scored a team-high 14 points for 7outz, which only managed 18 in the first half."

ZagMan in Philly
07-10-2016, 03:07 PM
On to the Sweet 16!

Philly here they come. Awesome.

gonzagafan62
07-10-2016, 03:11 PM
When someone knows, please post time and day of game. Also what TV channel they will play on. Thanks,

62

Radbooks
07-10-2016, 03:12 PM
Here's a link to the tournament website and I imagine details about day and time will come out soon. :)

https://www.thetournament.com/

gonzagafan62
07-10-2016, 03:27 PM
I didn't know you could buy a t-shirt. Going to have to get me one.

http://the-basketball-tournament.myshopify.com

gonzagafan62
07-10-2016, 03:32 PM
Here's a link to the tournament website and I imagine details about day and time will come out soon. :)

https://www.thetournament.com/

Thanks rad

Radbooks
07-10-2016, 03:33 PM
I didn't know you could buy a t-shirt. Going to have to get me one.

http://the-basketball-tournament.myshopify.com

I got mine last week and it's great!!

Zagdawg
07-10-2016, 04:25 PM
Upset alert--it is looking like Team Utah (#7 seed) is going to take down the #2 seed (Launfd) in our West bracket --- Utah is up 65-44 with 11 mins left in the 2nd half.

exclusivelee
07-10-2016, 05:02 PM
Batista or Heytvelt for a big or Raivio (for an additional scoring guard) --Heytvelt was originally on the roster --not sure what came up.
Heard Heytvelt had an operation in early June

Zagdawg
07-10-2016, 05:02 PM
Zags vs Team Utah in Philly

TBT Super 16: The Gallagher Center at Philadelphia University
Philadelphia, PA • July 21-23, 2016
Live on ESPNU, ESPN2, and ESPN3
July 21: Round 3 (4 games), 2pm, 4pm, 7pm, 9pm ET
July 22: Round 3 (4 games), 2pm, 4pm, 7pm, 9pm ET
July 23: Round 4 (4 games). 12pm, 2pm, 6pm, 8pm ET

gonzagafan62
07-10-2016, 05:04 PM
Upset alert--it is looking like Team Utah (#7 seed) is going to take down the #2 seed (Launfd) in our West bracket --- Utah is up 65-44 with 11 mins left in the 2nd half.

Utah and Gonzaga again. Same story different date on calendar

sittingon50
07-10-2016, 05:35 PM
The losing coach was a piece of work. He told his guys ahead of time "what it was going to be like" with the officials? I'll bet if they had gotten a fair shake it would have been as close as 20.

gonzagafan62
07-11-2016, 08:16 AM
I'm stoked to see who this ringer will be. Wonder who it will be

gonzagafan62
07-11-2016, 08:17 AM
The losing coach was a piece of work. He told his guys ahead of time "what it was going to be like" with the officials? I'll bet if they had gotten a fair shake it would have been as close as 20.

I noticed that too 50. Said something like what you Said and then finished with "Let me deal with the officials, let me pull for you, I told you the offiiciating would be tough"

Coach Crazy
07-11-2016, 09:24 AM
I noticed that too 50. Said something like what you Sao and then finished with "Let me deal with the officials, let me pull for you, I told you the offiiciating would be tough"

Any dude that talks the way he talked, the day before, about playing Gonzaga is not a coach. He may be good at NBA 2k, or whatever it is the kids are playing these days...but he's not a coach. You don't lose that badly because the refs gave the game away.

gonzagafan62
07-11-2016, 10:14 AM
One win and we play in NYC. Wow. That would be pretty sweet

zagsfanforlife
07-11-2016, 10:45 AM
I'm stoked to see who this ringer will be. Wonder who it will be

My two guesses:

Steven Gray (Because Dickau mentioned on his podcast initially when talking about the team: "Steven might join us when we get into the sweet 16"
Derek Raivio: Still in the area, has the time, and a post that Dickau made about the ringer he hashtagged "shooter" and "Ball handling"

I would love for Ammo to be in it but dont see it happening. I cant imagine anyone in this tournament being able to guard him.

Section 116
07-11-2016, 10:46 AM
TBT ESPN schedule: https://www.thetournament.com/news/tbt-announces-espn-schedule

Zagdawg
07-11-2016, 11:03 AM
The boys posing for the pic in front of the sweet 16 bracket.

Not sure if Stepp is going to be able to make it to the next game......

The zoo called and they want those Pythons back ............. ;)


http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/FGMSunday.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/FGMSunday.jpg.html)

zagsfanforlife
07-11-2016, 11:05 AM
The boys posing for the pic in front of the sweet 16 bracket.

Not sure if Stepp is going to be able to make it to the next game......

The zoo called and they want those Pythons back ............. ;)



http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/FGMSunday.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/FGMSunday.jpg.html)

Blake can still shoot the rock!!

gonzagafan62
07-11-2016, 11:21 AM
I just got an email. Our boys will be playing July 22. I guess times Will be announced later.

gonzagafan62
07-11-2016, 11:25 AM
My two guesses:

Steven Gray (Because Dickau mentioned on his podcast initially when talking about the team: "Steven might join us when we get into the sweet 16"
Derek Raivio: Still in the area, has the time, and a post that Dickau made about the ringer he hashtagged "shooter" and "Ball handling"

I would love for Ammo to be in it but dont see it happening. I cant imagine anyone in this tournament being able to guard him.

Gray is my all time favorite zag, but Raivio might be a better fit .... Hmmm... Decisions... Can't really go wrong though.

gozagswoohoo
07-11-2016, 11:28 AM
Man...I feel like a giddy little pre-teen girl watching these games.

What is wrong with me? haha

gonzagafan62
07-11-2016, 11:28 AM
Gray is my all time favorite zag, but Raivio might be a better fit .... Hmmm... Decisions... Can't really go wrong though.

Ringer according to website states won't be revealed until just before tipoff of our game

gonzagafan62
07-11-2016, 11:31 AM
Man...I feel like a giddy little pre-teen girl watching these games.

What is wrong with me? haha

Ya'aint the only one. You hear of that new Pokemon Go game they have out. Well I caught em all when I was 10. Don't need that crap, but you can never get enough Calvary, Dickau, Stepp, Pargo, Downs etc. I feel like I'm one of those type people that is a kid at heart.

Zagdawg
07-11-2016, 11:52 AM
Short highlights

https://youtu.be/t_gsIQ1C_qI

https://youtu.be/YVZdBGHyFkk

jazzdelmar
07-11-2016, 12:19 PM
All I would need is KB to play and I too would be in reminiscence heaven.

Zags_Fanatic
07-11-2016, 12:49 PM
The rebound/dunk by Burrell while hanging on the rim was incredible. Obviously didn't count but what a highlight!

Bogozags
07-11-2016, 01:20 PM
Watching Pargo's high lights, tell me again why he isn't playing in the NBA...Is it that he would be paid too much as a bench player?

raise the zag
07-11-2016, 01:31 PM
Watching Pargo's high lights, tell me again why he isn't playing in the NBA...Is it he would be paid too much as a bench player?

Bingo.

He's 30, and spent some time playing and starting in the NBA -- he'd be owed at least $1.7 million (give or take) given his status/experience.

He scored with ease, even at the NBA level, yet never could develop an outside shot to be taken seriously at nearly 2 mill/yr.

Ekrub
07-11-2016, 08:51 PM
Bingo.

He's 30, and spent some time playing and starting in the NBA -- he'd be owed at least $1.7 million (give or take) given his status/experience.

He scored with ease, even at the NBA level, yet never could develop an outside shot to be taken seriously at nearly 2 mill/yr.

1.7 is chump change in today's nba

Once and Future Zag
07-12-2016, 12:23 PM
Rob Sacre would also be a great ringer - remember how great a defensive force he can be.

His mano a mano with Delly was some of the great basketball of recent GU history, IMO.

Zags_Fanatic
07-12-2016, 12:42 PM
Bingo.

He's 30, and spent some time playing and starting in the NBA -- he'd be owed at least $1.7 million (give or take) given his status/experience.

He scored with ease, even at the NBA level, yet never could develop an outside shot to be taken seriously at nearly 2 mill/yr.

Pargo is making that money overseas, I believe he signed for around 2mil in China. His Maccabi highlights are a thing of beauty if you haven't seen them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Rxu8Xre0l8

I might take some flack from this, but Pargo is the best GU pro not named Stockton. It looks like KO and Domas will pass him up but he has been playing at the highest level for years.

ZagNative
07-12-2016, 02:04 PM
Hard to argue with this.


I might take some flack from this, but Pargo is the best GU pro not named Stockton. It looks like KO and Domas will pass him up but he has been playing at the highest level for years.

NWGonzaga
07-12-2016, 06:49 PM
Looking through some rosters tonight and noticed that Matt Bouldin is playing for the Ants Alumni in the midwest region. Surprised and disappointed that Matt isnt playing for the GU alumni team.

ZagsObserver
07-12-2016, 06:57 PM
Looking through some rosters tonight and noticed that Matt Bouldin is playing for the Ants Alumni in the midwest region. Surprised and disappointed that Matt isnt playing for the GU alumni team.

That is very interesting...anyone know the backstory here? If they were all part of the same d-league, that might make sense.

ZagsObserver
07-12-2016, 07:00 PM
This might be the answer...did he play for the ants last year?

http://www.ridiculousupside.com/2015/3/27/8298659/why-matt-bouldin-is-one-of-the-nba-d-leagues-best-combo-guards

Zags_Fanatic
07-12-2016, 07:02 PM
Looking through some rosters tonight and noticed that Matt Bouldin is playing for the Ants Alumni in the midwest region. Surprised and disappointed that Matt isnt playing for the GU alumni team.

Interesting that his bio just says "Go Zags!" Honestly not sure where he would fit in between Pargo and Dickau and maybe he was locked into the team before the wheels started turning for Few Good Men.

AzZag
07-12-2016, 08:28 PM
Interesting that his bio just says "Go Zags!" Honestly not sure where he would fit in between Pargo and Dickau and maybe he was locked into the team before the wheels started turning for Few Good Men.

I'm sorry...but Bouldun is light years ahead of Dickau. At this age.

Zagdawg
07-12-2016, 08:32 PM
Raivio still has it also.

Zags_Fanatic
07-12-2016, 11:34 PM
I'm sorry...but Bouldun is light years ahead of Dickau. At this age.

Can't argue with that, but Dickau put this team together and is acting as a Player-Coach. Without Dickau none of this would be happening and I don't think anyone can argue with how great of a job he did putting together a tremendous team that should compete for the title. I won't pretend to know whether Bouldin was already committed or turned down the offer to play with Few Good Men, but the roster is fantastic as it is.

gozagswoohoo
07-13-2016, 09:16 AM
Can someone please explain the whole salary thing to me? I see Barham is $1...? What does that mean?

Zagdawg
07-13-2016, 09:18 AM
I think it was just a field that was required to be filled in.....there are a wide variety of amounts/numbers across the board for all of the players on all of the teams.

There is $1.8 million that is split up across the team if they win it.

SunDevilGolfZag
07-13-2016, 06:36 PM
It will be interesting to see who the "ringer" is. I would like to see Errol Knight for the defensive stopper role. He was at the alumni game during Hoopfest. Has not lost any athleticism although he looks perhaps 15 pounds lighter than in his playing days. I was quite impressed. He looks like he could still guard someone in the NBA.

gozagswoohoo
07-14-2016, 05:43 AM
Holy smokes...there are some stacked teams in this thing!!

I really want to watch Pedro's Posse.....Mike Bibby, Jason Williams (my all-time favorite), Austin Rivers.

raise the zag
07-14-2016, 06:12 AM
Holy smokes...there are some stacked teams in this thing!!

I really want to watch Pedro's Posse.....Mike Bibby, Jason Williams (my all-time favorite), Austin Rivers.

Jason Williams...as in "White Chocolate"? Or the ESPN analyst J-Will?

Austin Rivers plays for the Clippers? I thought there were rules of no current NBA'ers? Guess not.

Mike Bibby is awesome.

All on the same team?

Where can one find the roster(s)?

Zagdawg
07-14-2016, 06:15 AM
Select the team here and it will show you the roster. ***gozagswoohoo editing this post to add----If you want to see that TOP teams easily at a glance, click on 'Experience Level' to sort the best teams right up to the top"


https://www.thetournament.com/teams

007Zag
07-14-2016, 06:53 AM
Courtney Lee and Chandler Parsons are on that team as well. They would be a tough out if our guys met them in the final.

realtydog
07-14-2016, 07:13 AM
Austin Rivers plays for the Clippers? I thought there were rules of no current NBA'ers? Guess not.

.

some of those are "boosters"---not playing ....as in Rivers, Parsons, etc.

gozagswoohoo
07-14-2016, 07:31 AM
Jason Williams...as in "White Chocolate"? Or the ESPN analyst J-Will?

Austin Rivers plays for the Clippers? I thought there were rules of no current NBA'ers? Guess not.

Mike Bibby is awesome.

All on the same team?

Where can one find the roster(s)?



The one and only, WHITE CHOCOLATE! I bet he will have some FUN in a competition like this!

ZagNative
07-14-2016, 09:48 AM
ESPN Announces Commentator Teams for The Basketball Tournament (http://espnmediazone.com/us/press-releases/2016/07/espn-announces-commentator-teams-basketball-tournament-2/)

ESPN and The Basketball Tournament (TBT) presented by Jack Link’sŪ Protein Snacks have announced the broadcast teams for the quarterfinals, semifinals and final of the $2 million winner-take-all event, which began with opening rounds on July 9-10. Over 300 teams applied to play in TBT 2016, featuring more than 400 players with professional experience and 63 with NBA experience, including veterans Mike Bibby, Mike James, Cuttino Mobley and Jason Williams.

ESPN veteran college announcer Doug Sherman will handle play-by-play for all of the TBT action. Dan Dakich will serve as the analyst for the 7 p.m., and 9 p.m. games on July 21, as well as the 12 p.m. and 2 p.m. games on July 23 from Philadelphia University. Fran Fraschilla will serve as analyst for the 7 p.m. and 9 p.m. games on July 22, as well as the 6 p.m. and 8 p.m. games on July 23 from Philadelphia, and for the semifinals (July 30) and championship (August 2), both days from Fordham’s Rose Hill Gym in The Bronx, N.Y. Molly Sullivan will handle sideline reporting for all Philadelphia games (July 21-23), while Jeff Goodman will handle reporting for the semifinals and championship.

ESPN is carrying games from The Basketball Tournament for the third year. The expanded broadcast schedule for 2016 includes 15 games across ESPN platforms – three games on ESPN, six games on ESPN2, two games on ESPNU, and four games on ESPN3. Of the 11 games on TV, seven will be in primetime on either ESPN or ESPN2, including the $2 Million Winner Take All Championship. The schedule:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-H9oSmL1A7q4/V4fQHVVOD1I/AAAAAAACo7k/5ocUNz_GDJESQshB8WIWoGU2Grv0JxHHQCCo/s667/2016-07-14%2BSchedule%2BTBT.jpg

gonzagafan62
07-15-2016, 10:03 AM
Officially ordered my "Few Good Men" Tshirt

strikenowhere
07-15-2016, 10:44 AM
Officially ordered my "Few Good Men" Tshirt

Thanks for the reminder - just ordered mine too

gozagswoohoo
07-15-2016, 01:08 PM
Officially ordered my "Few Good Men" Tshirt

So......my birthday is in 4 months. Just thought I'd throw that out there...

sittingon50
07-15-2016, 02:53 PM
So......my birthday is in 4 months. Just thought I'd throw that out there...

4 months? In which time zone?

gonzagafan62
07-15-2016, 04:10 PM
So......my birthday is in 4 months. Just thought I'd throw that out there...

I'm just glad this month is a three paycheck month or I wouldn't have been able to afford it.

Zagdawg
07-15-2016, 04:47 PM
First weekend--- Top 10 BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT Plays Compilation | TBT 2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GwLmVcuHKg4

Zagdawg
07-15-2016, 04:54 PM
Hope everything is ok for Austin -- with his team and what is going on in Turkey currently.

Austin Darren Daye is an American professional basketball player for Galatasaray Odeabank of the Turkish Basketball Super League and the Euroleague

ZagMan in Philly
07-15-2016, 04:55 PM
So......my birthday is in 4 months. Just thought I'd throw that out there...

T-shirt is on me if you come to Philly next Friday, for the game Woohoo.

soccerdud
07-16-2016, 04:43 PM
welp, teams featuring matt bouldin (only played 2 mins) and grant gibbs got eliminated today. also, the #1 seed kentucky alumni team lost in the first round. we finally have a 16 over a 1. :)

Zagdawg
07-16-2016, 04:45 PM
Another #1 seed goes down---- the Bluegrass boys (Kentucky alumni) lose to 16 seed Jackson Tn Underdawgs 87-78

gozagswoohoo
07-18-2016, 07:29 AM
T-shirt is on me if you come to Philly next Friday, for the game Woohoo.

You're going?!?!?! Ohhhhh man, HAVE FUN! What a dream.

gozagswoohoo
07-18-2016, 07:31 AM
T-shirt is on me if you come to Philly next Friday, for the game Woohoo.

I mean...not that I'm surprised by that. lol. I totally mapquested Philly AND NYC to see if either were possible for me. haha


HAVE FUN!

PS- It's only going to be my birthday in Central Standard Time Zone. I think the other 3 time zones skip me this year.

gozagswoohoo
07-18-2016, 07:32 AM
welp, teams featuring matt bouldin (only played 2 mins) and grant gibbs got eliminated today. also, the #1 seed kentucky alumni team lost in the first round. we finally have a 16 over a 1. :)

I saw that (Bouldin). Bummer. Didn't realize Gibbs was playing. Too bad.



Also, did anyone else notice how big Mike Bibby is...?? Dude's been skipping Wheaties for breakfast and having a bowl of roids. LOL. But no really, he and White Chocolate looked good! It's incredible how good JWill is at age 40. So fun to watch.

Zagdawg
07-18-2016, 09:56 AM
Jeremy Pargo ‏@ImJustPargo 5m5 minutes ago
Jeremy Pargo Retweeted TBT
Ringer coming soon!


TBTVerified account
‏@thetournament
.@BoeheimsArmy and @AFGM_TBT have till midnight to add a RINGER!

A 12th player added to roster before Super 16!

Who should they add?

zagsfanforlife
07-18-2016, 10:14 AM
Jeremy Pargo ‏@ImJustPargo 5m5 minutes ago
Jeremy Pargo Retweeted TBT
Ringer coming soon!


TBTVerified account
‏@thetournament
.@BoeheimsArmy and @AFGM_TBT have till midnight to add a RINGER!

A 12th player added to roster before Super 16!

Who should they add?

My guess is Raivio, Turiaf or Gray.

My hope is Ammo.

ZagNative
07-18-2016, 10:29 AM
My vote is for Gray.

ZagsObserver
07-18-2016, 10:32 AM
What's Bell up to?

Zagdawg
07-18-2016, 10:39 AM
Raivio is in town (Spokane) and has been playing with the guys ---- he is looking really good -- still so quick-- shoots the three really well-- doesn't miss a free throw -- and is great at getting the other guys involved.

ZAG 4 LIFE
07-18-2016, 01:02 PM
Whoever they add, I hope they go with an under 30 yr. old guy... maybe Gray, because
the teams that will be left standing by the Elite 8 and beyond will likely be younger, more explosive.
Steven can play the backup 1 to help Pargo, as well as the 2 and the 3...
He is a very good Pro in Europe, shoots the 3 well, and is an excellent defender.
Of course adding another big wouldn't be so bad either... Ronny? Post-Honeymoon Sacre?

gozagswoohoo
07-18-2016, 01:26 PM
Of course adding another big wouldn't be so bad either... Ronny? Post-Honeymoon Sacre?

HOPEFULLY, for his sake, Sacre is way too exhausted to play basketball.

Zagdawg
07-18-2016, 07:46 PM
Dan Dickau ‏@dandickau21 6m6 minutes ago
thx to everyone who voted for @AFGM_TBT in @thetournament we've added a ringer and he fits the squad! Not gonna say who! #great fit

Dan Dickau ‏@dandickau21 4m4 minutes ago
@BBallplayaz thought we might keep under wraps until warmups! What do you think @thetournament

Aaron Pierce
‏@BBallplayaz
@dandickau21 That makes sense-- no point in releasing the information for other teams to game plan for. #GoZags

zagsfanforlife
07-18-2016, 08:23 PM
Dan Dickau ‏@dandickau21 6m6 minutes ago
thx to everyone who voted for @AFGM_TBT in @thetournament we've added a ringer and he fits the squad! Not gonna say who! #great fit

Dan Dickau ‏@dandickau21 4m4 minutes ago
@BBallplayaz thought we might keep under wraps until warmups! What do you think @thetournament

Aaron Pierce
‏@BBallplayaz
@dandickau21 That makes sense-- no point in releasing the information for other teams to game plan for. #GoZags

Dan already said its Raivio...

Zags_Fanatic
07-18-2016, 08:26 PM
What's Bell up to?

Bell is in Spokane. He has been at every scrimmage I have been to. One time he had his adorable little boy there as well.

zagsfanforlife
07-18-2016, 08:28 PM
ACtually it could be Raivio or Bell... ha.

He was asked if the guy was #5 and he said yes. Let the guessing begin.. both are said to be in Spokane playing with the team.

Zagdawg
07-18-2016, 08:52 PM
Both would be great additions ---- Bell a little more on the defensive side and Raivio on the offensive side.