PDA

View Full Version : Scholarship Table as of November 20, 2018



ZagNative
03-30-2016, 01:25 PM
Here's what I'm showing. Let me know if it needs any changes. At present, no room at the inn for more newcomers for the next couple of years, unless someone transfers or leaves early for the draft.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-CrBEDxJB6vc/VvxKF9ZwEiI/AAAAAAACopY/L2TNSRnt33oF6yuxHd-nNuzpWdUhfqb9QCCo/s1152-Ic42/2016-03-30%2Bscholie%2B%2Btable.jpg

Mr Vulture
03-30-2016, 01:42 PM
I would bet that Jones was on scholarship this past year and would get one this year if both Karno and Sabonis come back. Not that it affects anything on this chart..haha.

ZagaZags
03-30-2016, 02:02 PM
Here's what I'm showing. Let me know if it needs any changes. At present, no room at the inn for more newcomers for the next couple of years, unless someone transfers or leaves early for the draft.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-CrBEDxJB6vc/VvxKF9ZwEiI/AAAAAAACopY/L2TNSRnt33oF6yuxHd-nNuzpWdUhfqb9QCCo/s1152-Ic42/2016-03-30%2Bscholie%2B%2Btable.jpg

Looking at the chart, Gonzaga will have 1-3 scholarships available for 2016.

Rui Hachimura isn't coming in 2016.

Domas Sabonis might go to the NBA. ( Hope not.)

Przemek Karnowski, will he come back? (Hope so.)

ZagNative
03-30-2016, 02:07 PM
I would bet that Jones was on scholarship this past year and would get one this year if both Karno and Sabonis come back. Not that it affects anything on this chart..haha.
I don't think so. From Slipper Still Fits (http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2015/9/3/9256765/zags-add-jeremy-jones-as-walk-on):

Gonzaga fans have seen walk-ons turn into key contributors over the years, with a guy like Mike Hart really jumping out as an example. This season, a very intriguing option at walk-on has joined the program, with Jeremy Jones transferring in from Rice.

Jones is a unique story, as he was actually a two-sport athlete during his time at Rice. Not only did Jones come off the bench for the Rice basketball team, he also was recruited to play QB for the football team. This background obviously makes Jones a much more athletic option than most walk-ons. He is definitely undersized to play PF at this level, but he could be an intriguing name to keep an eye on for the next couple of years.

During his time at Rice, Jones actually started two games as freshman, and chipped in 2.2 points and 2.8 rebounds per game in limited action for the Owls.


Interesting to note, from Jeremy's player profile on GoZags.com (http://www.gozags.com/sports/m-baskbl/mtt/jeremy_jones_982242.html), that he's been a very good student, in NHS in high school and, at Rice, a Conference USA Commissioner's Honor Roll member.

ZagaZags
03-30-2016, 02:11 PM
Thanks ZN, for posting the chart.

ZagNative
03-30-2016, 02:21 PM
Zagazags, according to Slipper Still Fits yesterday (http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2016/3/29/11327020/weekly-zag-briefing),


Some news regarding incoming-recruit Rui Hachimura. There have been some questions regarding whether Hachimura would re-classify for 2017 or come in with the rest of the 2016 class. Definitely something to keep an eye on over the next few weeks. AST in the tweet below is for the Albert Schweitzer Tournament, an international world championship for U-18 teams. Hachimura is not on Japan's roster for the tournament.


David Hein
‏@heinnews

Questions still for Rui Hachimura if he'll pass tests to get into Gonzaga. Hopefully he's hitting books hard instead of coming to #AST2016I personally think there's little doubt Karnowski will be back but I think that it's likely Domas will leave for the draft if he's assured a lottery pick, so maybe one spot will be available. I'd be inclined to leave Rui on the chart until he's definitely reclassified to 2017. Moving him to 2027 would only open up one 2016 spot, so I doubt the staff would offer someone for one year only.

A to Zags
03-30-2016, 02:31 PM
I don't think so. From Slipper Still Fits (http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2015/9/3/9256765/zags-add-jeremy-jones-as-walk-on):


Interesting to note, from Jeremy's player profile on GoZags.com (http://www.gozags.com/sports/m-baskbl/mtt/jeremy_jones_982242.html), that he's been a very good student, in NHS in high school and, at Rice, a Conference USA Commissioner's Honor Roll member.

Makes me think about Connor Griffin. I was sorry to see him leave for football. I see he is listed on the Husky roster for 2016.

doctorzag
03-30-2016, 02:35 PM
I don't think so. From Slipper Still Fits (http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2015/9/3/9256765/zags-add-jeremy-jones-as-walk-on):


Interesting to note, from Jeremy's player profile on GoZags.com (http://www.gozags.com/sports/m-baskbl/mtt/jeremy_jones_982242.html), that he's been a very good student, in NHS in high school and, at Rice, a Conference USA Commissioner's Honor Roll member.

So who were the two unused scollies used on this past year??

Reborn
03-30-2016, 03:06 PM
Can this be pinned at the top of page 1 so we can refer to it over the next 3-4 months or longer? It would be helpful I think.

thanks

Zagdawg
03-30-2016, 03:45 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Darnay Tripp ‏@DarnayTripp 3m3 minutes ago
RE: #Zags '16 Class - of 3 overseas @franfraschilla liked Rui Hachimura. Called him a man child, bigger E. Harris, unlimited ath. potential.

gonzagafan62
03-30-2016, 04:13 PM
Ok, so quick question. How many players are you allowed on your team with walkons? Would be helpful! Thanks

ZagNative
03-30-2016, 04:18 PM
Ok, so quick question. How many players are you allowed on your team with walkons? Would be helpful! ThanksMy recollection is that there is no limit on the number of players on the team, in addition to the 13 scholarship players, but the team can only take 15 players on the travel squad. I could be wrong, so anyone with a different answer, feel free to post.

Reborn
03-30-2016, 04:34 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Darnay Tripp ‏@DarnayTripp 3m3 minutes ago
RE: #Zags '16 Class - of 3 overseas @franfraschilla liked Rui Hachimura. Called him a man child, bigger E. Harris, unlimited ath. potential.

This is a great post, as Ellias Harris was a stud.

gonzagafan62
03-30-2016, 04:56 PM
My recollection is that there is no limit on the number of players on the team, in addition to the 13 scholarship players, but the team can only take 15 players on the travel squad. I could be wrong, so anyone with a different answer, feel free to post.

Thanks. I just wonder who else would be on the travel squad!

ZagaZags
03-31-2016, 12:37 AM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Darnay Tripp ‏@DarnayTripp 3m3 minutes ago
RE: #Zags '16 Class - of 3 overseas @franfraschilla liked Rui Hachimura. Called him a man child, bigger E. Harris, unlimited ath. potential.

Evidently, Fran didn't get the memo. Rui Hachimura isn't coming in 2016.

ZagNative
03-31-2016, 12:45 AM
Evidently, Fran didn't get the memo. Rui Hachimura isn't coming in 2016.Did you see the Slipper Still Fits piece referred to abpve? Doesn't look to me like its settled as to whether he's coming in 2016 or 2017. Do you have a link to something defintive indicating it's been decided?

ZagaZags
03-31-2016, 12:58 AM
Did you see the Slipper Still Fits piece referred to abpve? Doesn't look to me like its settled as to whether he's coming in 2016 or 2017. Do you have a link to something defintive indicating it's been decided?

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_BYX14125JUQ/TBCIpxcbYhI/AAAAAAAALLc/JiTOo0GQDZ8/s400/Fiore_Trust_Me.jpg

Once and Future Zag
03-31-2016, 07:06 AM
Little thing - the chart has Jeremy Jpnes, not Jeremy Jones

Section 116
03-31-2016, 02:16 PM
Thanks ZN! As Reborn said it would be nice if this could be pinned to the top!

ZagNative
04-23-2016, 11:47 PM
Here's a Scholie Table with Domas' spot opened up:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-099QpR1EsBA/Vxx5elgjrjI/AAAAAAACopo/ip7m9vALGfYXpH1Jyu5e3o73Nq4MMJEiACCo/s1152/2016-04-24%2Bscholie%2Btable.jpg

Mr Vulture
04-25-2016, 11:06 AM
From the way Coach Few was talking in his post season radio show a couple weeks ago, I think we can expect that Jeremy Jones will be on scholarship this coming year. Particularly since Pryor decided on Georgetown. I know there's nothing definitive but it sounds to me like he's ahead of other players that we know are on scholarship for playing time next season...ie, Alberts.

Shouldn't Melson be same color code as JWIII and Goss?? ;)


Here's a Scholie Table with Domas' spot opened up:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-099QpR1EsBA/Vxx5elgjrjI/AAAAAAACopo/ip7m9vALGfYXpH1Jyu5e3o73Nq4MMJEiACCo/s1152/2016-04-24%2Bscholie%2Btable.jpg

ZagNative
04-25-2016, 02:12 PM
A couple of weeks ago, Eric Bossi of Rivals (https://basketballrecruiting.n.rivals.com/news/2016-rivals-basketball-team-rankings) ranked our incoming class at #14 in the nation:

14. GONZAGA

Commits: C Zach Collins (No. 32), SG Zach Norvell (No. 93), PF Killian Tillie (NR 4-star), PF Jacob Larsen (NR 4-star), Rui Hachimura (NR)

Overview: Mark Few continues to attract top talent to Spokane. Collins is a very skilled big man while Tillie is a French import with length and athleticism. Norvell is a good-sized wing scorer. The international flavor continues with Larsen (Denmark), who has skill and size, and Hachimura (Japan) is a bit of an unknown.

ZagNative
05-04-2016, 03:14 PM
New scholie table includes Corey Kispert.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-9yjrGnd2NKk/VyqBm0ALZRI/AAAAAAACork/MC3jlB1QBh4s579UUNRdK5hUZBdiOj4hwCCo/s1152/2016-05-04%2Bscholie%2Btable-1.jpg

willandi
05-04-2016, 05:38 PM
New scholie table includes Corey Kispert.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-9yjrGnd2NKk/VyqBm0ALZRI/AAAAAAACork/MC3jlB1QBh4s579UUNRdK5hUZBdiOj4hwCCo/s1152/2016-05-04%2Bscholie%2Btable-1.jpg

WOW!!! The cupboard looks full!

ZagNative
06-24-2016, 08:33 AM
Welcome, Mr. Mathews!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-xyJoYVCy0Dw/V21gRDweBsI/AAAAAAACo5Q/l4YJqG94NR0b4X40oVGOqKh_agMYyQpxACCo/s1152/2016-06-24%2BScholie%2BTable.jpg

Bogozags
06-24-2016, 10:55 AM
Welcome, Mr. Mathews!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-xyJoYVCy0Dw/V21gRDweBsI/AAAAAAACo5Q/l4YJqG94NR0b4X40oVGOqKh_agMYyQpxACCo/s1152/2016-06-24%2BScholie%2BTable.jpg

ZN any idea where we "put" Daejon Davis if he choses GU?

hooter73
04-06-2017, 10:25 AM
Nobody comes in unless somebody leaves...

23dpg
04-06-2017, 11:03 AM
Nobody comes in unless somebody leaves...

I'd be more than ok with that (unlikely) scenario.

NotoriousZ
04-06-2017, 11:04 AM
Probably won't matter because he's so amazing, but you can bump Norvell out another year.

Zagdawg
04-06-2017, 11:23 AM
Larsen medical redshirt should give him another year -- haven't heard about a final approval for it yet.

maynard g krebs
04-06-2017, 11:28 AM
Larsen medical redshirt should give him another year -- haven't heard about a final approval for it yet.

Didn't play, so medical doesn't apply unless, God forbid, he suffered another season ending injury and needed to apply for a 6th year. Has the next 4 regardless.

Zagdawg
04-06-2017, 12:16 PM
Chart doesn't reflect any redshirt regardless of type --will be eligible through 20-21.

ZagNative
04-06-2017, 02:00 PM
This chart has been updated to show red shirts but does not reflect the potential departure of NWG or Zach Collins ..

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Screenshot%20147.png_zpskr1sv2at.jpg

Is Rem the only walk-on due for departure?

GonzagasaurusFlex
04-06-2017, 03:05 PM
Nobody comes in unless somebody leaves...

Maybe someone leaves early and Jeremy Jones gets awarded their scholarship slot?

Zagineer
04-06-2017, 07:44 PM
This chart has been updated to show red shirts but does not reflect the potential departure of NWG or Zach Collins ..

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/GYvrSpBH8zqJO4m36FolhMwgbaSQFJplZdmk33PWPOaOEUS6Tu RRycuyJPmCuOjTsshz-qpxijHHkZtfvWlIXVcGpA3-sG1hf9gsp5mGi3l6bmzVVdlFOG0aH58s1kyHjcd-bZTs-sjO1ur72FKz9tBSVHYpo5sQ0U3A9LJU5NZqm1eSBkaJtwaMOq5 RWZlw6pCDy-umHjm5RJwyQZnz-brp4gTGdS2fGB-_9eUzTNax2ALUXAAGPNboWlI7rhyhuFvggOe5kca-6olbfq_jvL-a_RZOPIwqYXfKVvFffXXFwLwy_tQsPomxpzc6IrxMwAb67iOOu RRWrqzEPXfY-HO_xVLo5gBSzpiVq0718nWwY3w-V6-JUQVLDjM4QlXBC20Pg_F-iAcBwIUv_mJ-wZEuLRNCHSF4tQLTqmTVmxV6nETBiFpO6M4HHVRscliuE9PWcY WrxR4el54eQ1SFQ9ZlcF0Gdtyiw4W9lcgBB9pXmkDHaN_iMWhr zrm9QgSd4Qimyf6c9Euk8LFKxtTHYfwEuP7POL3iqnkkhsClrP _owZCq6VGwY5SMkJLZa-O0WdJwWmwqzBYC3JLZe14wmQGeXH0j6E25oPXVEhoGC8pRycGA Kjjpdg=w1324-h446-no

Is Rem the only walk-on due for departure?

Your Roster Chart isn't working for me, ZN. A mouse double-left-click does nothing. A mouse right-click opens a window wanting my gmail password. When I enter it, I get a blank window with a big minus sign in the middle of it. Did you stop using Photo Bucket?

ZagNative
04-06-2017, 08:33 PM
Your Roster Chart isn't working for me, ZN. A mouse double-left-click does nothing. A mouse right-click opens a window wanting my gmail password. When I enter it, I get a blank window with a big minus sign in the middle of it. Did you stop using Photo Bucket?Try it now. Google photos doesn't seem to be working for me, so I moved it into Photo Bucket and edited my post.

Dang. Life's hard ...

Zagineer
04-06-2017, 09:52 PM
Try it now. Google photos doesn't seem to be working for me, so I moved it into Photo Bucket and edited my phost.

Dang. Life's hard ...

Its working now. Thanks, ZN!!!

ZagNative
04-08-2017, 05:49 PM
SLOZag called to my attention I'd omitted the redshirt notation for Ryan Edwards, so I edited the chart to add it. Please comment if the chart doesn't display correctly.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Fullscreen%20capture%20482017%2063703%20PM.bmp_zps ywl4ea18.jpg

TerpZag
04-08-2017, 07:08 PM
ZN, I am not seeing your chart image...

Zagineer
04-08-2017, 09:43 PM
Nor am I, ZN. I'm seeing in your Post #38 the "big minus sign", as shown in my Post #35 above.


.

ZagNative
04-08-2017, 10:17 PM
Edited the post to show the image from Photo Bucket. Can you see it now?

Guess I have to give up on sharing images from Google photos. Drat.

TerpZag
04-09-2017, 05:19 AM
Edited the post to show the image from Photo Bucket. Can you see it now?

Guess I have to give up on sharing images from Google photos. Drat.


ZagNative, yes, I can...Thanks for all your hard work...

I believe Google Photos allows you to share with specific individuals but not with entire communities like the GUB. But I may be mistaken...

ZagNative
04-12-2017, 07:14 PM
we may see other departures, but for now, here's the update to reflect Collins' and Alberts' departures:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Screenshot%20153.png_zpsaqnrs73w.jpg

ZagNative
04-18-2017, 01:49 PM
With Nigel declaring for the draft, our previously packed roster now has three openings:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2017-04-18%20Scholie%20table_zpsq1abifdp.jpg

sittingon50
04-18-2017, 01:53 PM
Thanks Native.

(you can drop Rem off the bottom).

Oops; or I guess you could move the other 3 forward a year, to be more accurate. (I'm just here so I don't get fined).

MDABE80
04-18-2017, 01:58 PM
Good job ZN. ALWAYS the best!
This chart clarifies a few things. We need to have Nigel stay. Duh! Further though, Mathews is replace by whom? (objective case). I hope Corey bring his LD shooting with him.
We need to find a strong replaced for Collins. We depended on him staying.......but NBA drafts on upside which he has. We need a solid big. We'll have one. Corey will add immeasurable options for the tem. Wade need to get his PG chops back. He is doing that as I type.

Good looking year next year. Karno's irreplaceable. The team will look different next year. If we find a superior big and Nigel sticks, were FF material again. ...at least E 8.

ZagNative
04-18-2017, 02:09 PM
I'll move the walk-ons forward and drop Rem in the next edition. (I have a feeling we will be seeing more changes in the not-too-distant future.)

Thanks Native.

(you can drop Rem off the bottom).

Oops; or I guess you could move the other 3 forward a year, to be more accurate. (I'm just here so I don't get fined).

sittingon50
04-18-2017, 02:42 PM
I'll move the walk-ons forward and drop Rem in the next edition. (I have a feeling we will be seeing more changes in the not-too-distant future.)

Agreed. Thanks for your effort.

ZagNative
04-23-2017, 07:30 PM
Eek! With Ryan Edwards decision to graduate and not return for the coming season, there are now four scholies available. Gosh, whoda thunk it?

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2017-04-22%20sCHOLIE%20TABLE_zpst3sjdehr.jpg

sittingon50
04-24-2017, 01:47 PM
Maybe we could have a contest. Spin the wheel & see who's next!

ZagNative
04-27-2017, 09:01 AM
Adding Joel Ayahi ...

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2017-04-27%20Scholie%20Chart_zps5j1uvkhr.jpg

ZagNative
06-21-2017, 01:17 PM
Adding today's commit from Gonzaga Prep, Anton Watson:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Screenshot%2032.png_zpsm3iq25ed.jpg

ZagNative
06-24-2017, 12:12 AM
Today's commit from Brock Ravet:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Screenshot%2037.png_zpsq9tsw1o0.jpg

tyra
07-18-2017, 01:35 PM
Can someone plz help? For some reason the schollie table doesn't show anymore. In its place is that graphic that says go to Settings and allow 3rd party hosting. I have no such option in settings. Help, help please. Anyone.

GoZags
07-18-2017, 01:41 PM
Can someone plz help? For some reason the schollie table doesn't show anymore. In its place is that graphic that says go to Settings and allow 3rd party hosting. I have no such option in settings. Help, help please. Anyone.

I got the same thing with my Father Tony pic (on my old signature). Photobucket went from a free hosting service to asking for $499 a year. I've said "no" as it seems to me to be a ripoff. Too bad as I liked it (and appear to have lost everything that I "had" there.

ZagNative
07-18-2017, 02:24 PM
Yup. Photobucket gave the shaft to a lot of folks.

Let's see if this works. I posted it on imgur.com:



http://i.imgur.com/fdnV79i.jpg

Zagdawg
07-18-2017, 03:27 PM
Works-- thank you ZN!

Zagineer
07-20-2017, 01:41 PM
Yup. Photobucket gave the shaft to a lot of folks.
Let's see if this works. I posted it on imgur.com:
http://i.imgur.com/fdnV79i.jpg

Yup. A lot of us,..... myself included, along with Zagdawg, Willandi, Bogozags, and many others. Thankfully, ZagaZags uses a different 3rd party hosting service, so a lot of the pics in the "Zags photo thread." survived.

ZN - Check your PM regarding this subject.

.

willandi
07-20-2017, 06:16 PM
Yup. Photobucket gave the shaft to a lot of folks.

Let's see if this works. I posted it on imgur.com:



http://i.imgur.com/fdnV79i.jpg

Wasn't there a thread last week about Alberts staying?

Just went and looked and NO! He is not staying, so never mind!

ZagNative
08-30-2017, 07:58 PM
Scholie table updated to reflect the addition of Brandon Clarke. Please point out any errors you spot.

http://i.imgur.com/a7QxNBJ.jpg

Bogozags
09-20-2017, 07:36 AM
Scholie table updated to reflect the addition of Brandon Clarke. Please point out any errors you spot.

http://i.imgur.com/a7QxNBJ.jpg

Once again ZN, THANK YOU for all you do on this board!

ZagzKrak
09-23-2017, 10:53 PM
Don't forget Alex Martin...walk on??

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-01-2017, 02:49 PM
Did they give Jones a scholarship?

ZagNative
10-01-2017, 02:59 PM
Did they give Jones a scholarship?Maybe so. I didn't see it.

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-01-2017, 03:44 PM
Maybe so. I didn't see it.

I never saw an announcement of any kind. I kept expecting him to get one if the two remaining scholarships.

Zag_Dad
10-20-2017, 07:25 AM
I never saw an announcement of any kind. I kept expecting him to get one if the two remaining scholarships.

Looks like Tommy Lloyd announced at the Seattle kick-off event that Jones is now a scholarship player. (see post #20 from GoZags).

sittingon50
10-20-2017, 10:18 AM
Congratulations Jeremy!

ZagNative
10-20-2017, 10:42 AM
So how many years will Jeremy have on the team?

sittingon50
10-20-2017, 10:46 AM
So how many years will Jeremy have on the team?

He's a RS Jr.

This season & next, if I am not mistaken.

ZagNative
10-20-2017, 12:30 PM
Thanks, 50.

https://i.imgur.com/WueY3Tc.jpg

Oops, should have changed the date. Oh, well. Next time...

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-20-2017, 01:31 PM
Looks like Tommy Lloyd announced at the Seattle kick-off event that Jones is now a scholarship player. (see post #20 from GoZags).

Good for him. He looked liked he belonged out there in that Sweer Sixteen game against West Virginia.

ZagNative
10-22-2017, 10:22 AM
welcoming Filip Petrusev to the freshman class of 2018!

https://i.imgur.com/t5jIb7G.jpg

kitzbuel
10-22-2017, 02:39 PM
That 20-21 team is going to be one to watch. That could be a special team if they all stick around.

TexasZagFan
10-22-2017, 03:12 PM
That 20-21 team is going to be one to watch. That could be a special team if they all stick around.

2018-2019 will be fun to watch, with a real international flavor.

ZagNative
11-07-2017, 08:39 PM
Welcome Greg Foster!

https://i.imgur.com/ApSpW2x.jpg

DADoZAG
11-08-2017, 03:10 AM
Welcome Greg Foster!

https://i.imgur.com/ApSpW2x.jpg

Thanx, ZN.

Drop in a grad transfer big and 18-19 looks NC caliber, even with one early jump!

Go ZAGS!

MDABE80
11-09-2017, 12:41 PM
We're just ok this year. But the next year's lineup looks to be frightening.

kitzbuel
11-09-2017, 12:58 PM
We're just ok this year. But the next year's lineup looks to be frightening.

And we could get the same line up in 19-20!

ZagNative
11-09-2017, 02:54 PM
"Cleaned-up" Version of the Scholie Table, reformatted a bit ... Please let me know if you spot any errors.

https://i.imgur.com/CgOECDl.jpg

webspinnre
11-09-2017, 02:59 PM
Should be Hachimura next to Rui.

ZagNative
11-09-2017, 03:23 PM
Thanks, Webspinnre! I caught that while you were posting and have fixed it, along with correcting Jesse's name spelling (correcting from "Jessie).

zag67
11-09-2017, 04:06 PM
MDABE, I think that you are right about this team at the beginning of the year, but by year end I think that we are going to be a lot better than people think.
We have the core for bigs with Larsen, Tillie and JW3. Then we have more pieces to help in RUI, Kispert, and Jones to mix and match.
At the point we have Perkins, Wade, and Melson. (possibly Ayayi if he does not redshirt)
Shooting guard we have Melson, Norvell and Rui.
Small forward we have Rui, Kispert, and Jones.

And yes I am playing some of our players in many positions. I think that is going to be one of the major assets of this team. It will allow Few and company to do more coaching and attack the other team weaknesses
MDABE, I also agree that next year we will be even better.

Bulldoginseattle
12-11-2017, 09:52 PM
Shouldn’t Ayayi be tacked on for another year b/c of the redshirt or am I missing something?

sittingon50
12-11-2017, 10:33 PM
Shouldn’t Ayayi be tacked on for another year b/c of the redshirt or am I missing something?

Though it appears that he will redshirt (based on his own statements + the recent suiting up of a Zags manager) a key injury could upset those plans. Melson gave up his redshirt Freshman year when Perkins jaw was broken.

So until he actually makes the whole season without playing, it is still a "possibility."

ZagNative
01-28-2018, 04:15 PM
Welcome Dominick!

https://i.imgur.com/LTFGMY2.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
01-28-2018, 05:11 PM
Thanks for keeping this up to date, ZN. There are a lot of exciting prospects to look forward to for years to come.

LongIslandZagFan
01-28-2018, 07:51 PM
Wow... looking at that chart... they need to make some serious moves on bigs.

kdaleb
02-19-2018, 09:36 PM
Wow... looking at that chart... they need to make some serious moves on bigs.

I'd been thinking that kind of vaguely - but as you said, the chart really emphasizes that.

thespywhozaggedme
03-19-2018, 09:11 AM
Hi Native. You incorrectly have Ravet listed as an sg. He is 100% pg. Could you correct it please? Thanks

ZagNative
03-27-2018, 04:27 AM
Hi Native. You incorrectly have Ravet listed as an sg. He is 100% pg. Could you correct it please? ThanksI'll make that change next time I add someone to the table.

ZagNative
06-01-2018, 09:40 AM
Updated chart to reflect Jesse Wade transfer. Also added a couple of walk-ons.

Jesse Wade story in GoZags.com: http://www.gozags.com/sports/m-baskbl/spec-rel/060118aaa.html

Matthew Lang guboards thread: http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?63052-Welcome-New-Walkon-Matthew-Lang&highlight=matthew+lang

Paul Pennington guboards thread: http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?63072-Welcome-to-another-new-walk-on-Paul-Pennington

https://i.imgur.com/FEtr4bq.jpg

gozagswoohoo
06-08-2018, 08:29 AM
You're awesome ZN. As always, thank you.

gozagswoohoo
06-08-2018, 08:33 AM
Can someone tell me what the different colors mean though? I just scanned the thread and didn't see an explanation for that.

ZagNative
06-08-2018, 09:39 AM
Can someone tell me what the different colors mean though? I just scanned the thread and didn't see an explanation for that.The colors are intended to signify the projected graduating class of the player, which may end up being extended if the player redshirts. Table below shows the projected graduating class color on the left and the players for that year on the right with the player's first year in college. Clear? Well, I don't know ... it makes sense to me ... kinda ...

https://i.imgur.com/UBHAg2o.jpg

gozagswoohoo
06-08-2018, 12:25 PM
The colors are intended to signify the projected graduating class of the player, which may end up being extended if the player redshirts. Table below shows the projected graduating class color on the left and the players for that year on the right with the player's first year in college. Clear? Well, I don't know ... it makes sense to me ... kinda ...

https://i.imgur.com/UBHAg2o.jpg

Ah, yes. Makes sense now. Thanks again ZN!

sittingon50
06-08-2018, 01:11 PM
Hope Francis doesn't take this personally, but Native does a much better job of "coloring" & staying between the lines.

gozagswoohoo
06-11-2018, 11:01 AM
Hope Francis doesn't take this personally, but Native does a much better job of "coloring" & staying between the lines.

Francis has been in prison for like 4 months now. I have been pondering or not whether to post his bail.

ZagNative
07-06-2018, 06:00 AM
Chart updated to reflect addition of Geno Crandall:

https://i.imgur.com/XfloiUk.jpg

willandi
07-06-2018, 06:09 AM
Chart updated to reflect addition of Geno Crandall:

https://i.imgur.com/XfloiUk.jpg

And there is still one open slot for Gozags August surprise!

ZagNative
07-06-2018, 06:28 AM
Would one of the Mods please change the title of the thread to reflect the July 5 date of Geno's commitment?

TravelinZag
08-19-2018, 09:45 AM
Why leave a scholarship open? If no additional players are not added, why not give it to another player (or two, one each semester if that is allowed by the NCAA)?

willandi
09-16-2018, 05:08 PM
Why leave a scholarship open? If no additional players are not added, why not give it to another player (or two, one each semester if that is allowed by the NCAA)?

My thought would be so that if an unexpected player should decide at the last minute, or take back his verbal, there would be an opening to allow them to become a Zag.

There is no timetable as to when, during the course of the year, that could happen.

Gonzaga HAS given open schollies to deserving players after the time when they could expect such a player being ready to come and commit.

ZagNative
09-20-2018, 07:49 AM
Welcome Lithuanian star Martynas Arlauskas!

https://i.imgur.com/RImicBe.jpg

ZagNative
10-07-2018, 09:56 PM
Reflecting Jacob Larsen's departure from the team:

https://i.imgur.com/W6qOibc.jpg

spike_jr
10-07-2018, 10:12 PM
Hey ZN, I could be wrong (and it wouldn't be the first time), but I think that Larsen is still on his original athletic scholarship.

Reborn
10-08-2018, 06:53 AM
I read that also. At least for this year.

Thanks for doing this for us, and keeping it updated. God bless you.

ZagNative
10-08-2018, 09:29 AM
Hey ZN, I could be wrong (and it wouldn't be the first time), but I think that Larsen is still on his original athletic scholarship.That's a good point. I was assuming it's been converted to an academic scholarship, but maybe not ... Better restore his spot, eh?

https://i.imgur.com/RImicBe.jpg

ZagNative
11-14-2018, 10:43 AM
Welcome, Drew!

https://i.imgur.com/0lcVtmp.jpg

ZagNative
11-19-2018, 01:30 PM
Welcome, Pavel!

https://i.imgur.com/NVjFfSq.jpg

Zagceo
01-07-2019, 11:03 AM
Why no Larsen again?

thespywhozaggedme
01-07-2019, 02:55 PM
Why no Larsen again?

He retired from basketball.

Zagceo
01-07-2019, 04:31 PM
He retired from basketball.

still on basketball scholarship last I heard

RenoZag
01-07-2019, 07:12 PM
still on basketball scholarship last I heard

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?63573-Jacob-Larsen-No-Longer-On-Team

thespywhozaggedme
01-07-2019, 07:17 PM
http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?63573-Jacob-Larsen-No-Longer-On-Team

What was wrong with my post that it warranted deletion? It was respectful and truthful. What changes now that it's gone?

LongIslandZagFan
01-07-2019, 07:41 PM
still on basketball scholarship last I heard

Sounds noble but I doubt it. This season it is a BB scholarship. But since he is no longer going to be on the team, they can easily convert it to some other type of scholarship and it wouldn't impact the NCAA as he isn't a SA at that point.

RenoZag
01-07-2019, 07:46 PM
What was wrong with my post that it warranted deletion? It was respectful and truthful. What changes now that it's gone?

Your post speculated on a medical condition. The linked thread answers the question posed in Post #110 above.

ZagNative
01-09-2019, 03:26 PM
Much ado over nothing. Whatever ... Here's the scholie chart with Jacob's scholarship included:

https://i.imgur.com/tokDkpB.jpg

bullzag23
02-25-2019, 08:03 AM
Much ado over nothing. Whatever ... Here's the scholie chart with Jacob's scholarship included:

https://i.imgur.com/tokDkpB.jpg

How does this work out with the Ballo commit? I'm assuming we'll have an opening next year after a player(or two) leaves early.

webspinnre
02-25-2019, 08:07 AM
The general feeling is that Ballo takes Rui's spot, and we might end up with a grad transfer PG in Clarke's spot, I think.

thespywhozaggedme
02-25-2019, 08:07 AM
How does this work out with the Ballo commit? I'm assuming we'll have an opening next year after a player(or two) leaves early.

Tillie, Rui and Clarke are 99% gone

Zaglaw
02-25-2019, 09:16 AM
Much ado over nothing. Whatever ... Here's the scholie chart with Jacob's scholarship included:

https://i.imgur.com/tokDkpB.jpg

Isn't Norvell is a Junior this year?

former1dog
02-25-2019, 09:21 AM
Isn't Norvell is a Junior this year?

Redshirt Sophomore.

ZagNative
02-25-2019, 10:47 AM
Well, hell ... Waiting for a slot to open to fit in Oumar Ballo ...

ZagNative
02-25-2019, 10:50 AM
Well, hell ... waiting for a spot to open up for Oumar Ballo ...

https://i.imgur.com/tokDkpB.jpg

sittingon50
02-25-2019, 12:33 PM
Well, hell ... Waiting for a slot to open to fit in Oumar Ballo ...


Let's pretend he's a walk-on for the time being, Native!

;)

Bogozags
02-25-2019, 06:27 PM
Rui and BC are leaving...even with Ballo, there is still room for Tillie and I’m sure he would be welcome

former1dog
02-26-2019, 09:06 AM
Well, hell ... waiting for a spot to open up for Oumar Ballo ...

https://i.imgur.com/tokDkpB.jpg

:lmao: It's a heck of a good problem to have, I guess!