PDA

View Full Version : Few and the Zags will stay loaded



Section 116
03-29-2016, 08:50 PM
Recruiting hype from "Usports" (which I never heard of until I stumbled across this). Still it's fun reading for Zags and helps fill the void until the 2016/17 season arrives!

Link: http://www.todaysu.com/recruiting/cbb-recruiting/mark-few-and-gonzaga-will-stay-loaded/

Zagsker
03-29-2016, 09:31 PM
Where's my damn "click" remote when I need it!!!!!

gonzagafan62
03-29-2016, 09:32 PM
Brilliant article. Thanks so much 116

DixieZag
03-29-2016, 10:16 PM
He’s a taller, stronger version of Adam Morrison, with his shooting touch and full court vision.


Having a sub-seven footer who can run the floor like a small forward, pop off from any range like a shooting guard and pass like a point guard puts the Zags well ahead of the basketball curve.

No pressure, Zach. Just be better than our one co-Player of the Year All-American and everything will be fine. Oh, and be sure to do it using skills from all 5 positions.


Great article, thx - Section116 strikes again. I just hope that Zach doesn't see expectations like that as the bar between success or not. :)

hondo
03-29-2016, 10:43 PM
Nice job Scoop.

zagamatic
03-29-2016, 10:54 PM
Definitely an enthusiastic article hahaha

webspinnre
03-30-2016, 12:08 AM
Just a wee bit enthusiastic. ;)

But seriously, we've got a great class coming in next year, AND we've got NWG and JWIII. That's a pretty amazing group of new players, and would be amazing even if we didn't have Tillie, Larson, and possibly Hachimura, depending on what class he ends up in.

gonstu
03-30-2016, 09:44 AM
Can we just skip the off season and start the season now?

soccerdud
03-30-2016, 10:38 AM
if we must make a comparison, i kinda see ZC as a more polished, skilled, well-rounded, and slightly less athletic version of heytvelt from his RS freshman year. that isn't a knock, heytvelt was a freak at that time (see: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InqJS6ONXPE and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DIZbMWANmgs)-- and based on body types, i'd imagine that ZC keeps a lot more of his athleticism than josh did.

vandalzag
03-30-2016, 10:59 AM
if we must make a comparison, i kinda see ZC as a more polished, skilled, well-rounded, and slightly less athletic version of heytvelt from his RS freshman year. that isn't a knock, heytvelt was a freak at that time (see: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InqJS6ONXPE and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DIZbMWANmgs)-- and based on body types, i'd imagine that ZC keeps a lot more of his athleticism than josh did.

Not a bad comparison. Zach is way more comfortable in the post at this point then Josh ever was in his career but some similarities.

Reborn
03-30-2016, 11:06 AM
and nothing in this article even mentioned the 3 players who red-shirted this year.....It's crazy how talented Gonzaga will be next year.

Go Zags!!!

ZagDaddy
03-30-2016, 12:16 PM
RE: Few and the Zags will stay loaded...

I'm following the same strategy myself...:cheers:

LongIslandZagFan
03-30-2016, 12:21 PM
Zags will go way deeper into the bench next season compared to this year... with possibly it's shortest bench in a long long time.

Would not be shocked to see a RS or two mixed in there if PK and/or DS stay.

rawkmandale
03-30-2016, 05:59 PM
Great article - thanks!

hooter73
03-30-2016, 09:35 PM
RE: Few and the Zags will stay loaded...

I'm following the same strategy myself...:cheers:

Ha! That made me laugh. :)

ZagaZags
03-30-2016, 09:46 PM
RE: Few and the Zags will stay loaded...

I'm following the same strategy myself...:cheers:

http://img.izismile.com/img/img5/20120530/640/hilarious_drunk_and_wasted_people_part_4_640_02.jp g

Zagdawg
04-07-2016, 08:48 AM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 30m30 minutes ago
Corey Kispert plans official visit to #Gonzaga this month, + #NotreDame & #UVA this Spring http://notredame.scout.com/story/1658514-4-star-kispert-setting-up-visit …


http://www.hudl.com/athlete/2634941/highlights/250223387

thespywhozaggedme
04-07-2016, 10:25 AM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 30m30 minutes ago
Corey Kispert plans official visit to #Gonzaga this month, + #NotreDame & #UVA this Spring http://notredame.scout.com/story/1658514-4-star-kispert-setting-up-visit …


http://www.hudl.com/athlete/2634941/highlights/250223387

Joe Harris v 2.0. Sweet!

DixieZag
04-07-2016, 11:56 AM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 30m30 minutes ago
Corey Kispert plans official visit to #Gonzaga this month, + #NotreDame & #UVA this Spring http://notredame.scout.com/story/1658514-4-star-kispert-setting-up-visit …


http://www.hudl.com/athlete/2634941/highlights/250223387

Can we actually get this guy?

It's not like there aren't other great schools on his list. Anyone know his interest level?

Coach Crazy
04-07-2016, 02:04 PM
Can we actually get this guy?

It's not like there aren't other great schools on his list. Anyone know his interest level?

I would imagine we would be the front runner.

Zagdawg
04-08-2016, 01:28 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 24m24 minutes ago
Gonzaga was watching 2018 6'8 PF Kamaka Hepa at Silas Melson's former high school in Oregon. Transfer from Alaska

"247Sports four-star power forward Kamaka Hepa, the nation's No. 29 prospect in the class of 2018, has moved from Alaska and enrolled at Jefferson High School, according to coach Pat Strickland."
"The 6-foot-9, 210-pound sophomore is a two-time Gatorade Alaska Boys Basketball Player of the Year, averaging 19.2 points, 11.8 rebounds, 3.2 blocks and 2.8 assists per game."

http://highschoolsports.oregonlive.com/news/article/8209239219426296501/kamaka-hepa-national-top-30-hoops-prospect-enrolls-at-jefferson-high-school/

Coach Crazy
04-08-2016, 01:43 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 24m24 minutes ago
Gonzaga was watching 2018 6'8 PF Kamaka Hepa at Silas Melson's former high school in Oregon. Transfer from Alaska

"247Sports four-star power forward Kamaka Hepa, the nation's No. 29 prospect in the class of 2018, has moved from Alaska and enrolled at Jefferson High School, according to coach Pat Strickland."
"The 6-foot-9, 210-pound sophomore is a two-time Gatorade Alaska Boys Basketball Player of the Year, averaging 19.2 points, 11.8 rebounds, 3.2 blocks and 2.8 assists per game."

http://highschoolsports.oregonlive.com/news/article/8209239219426296501/kamaka-hepa-national-top-30-hoops-prospect-enrolls-at-jefferson-high-school/

At this rate, his scholarship list will change quite a bit. This kid has some promise.

exclusivelee
04-08-2016, 04:28 PM
https://youtu.be/xZpD4vRYbGo
👀 '99 born 6'9" SF Sandro Mamukelashvili from the country of Georgia

zagsfanforlife
04-08-2016, 04:53 PM
https://youtu.be/xZpD4vRYbGo
�� '99 born 6'9" SF Sandro Mamukelashvili from the country of Georgia

Are we looking at this kid? I mean who really knows on this stuff. We are making predictions on next years roster, now we have roster spots... its probably likely Tommy will surprise us with a stud from Europe or Few brings in 1 or 2 grad transfers, and we are talking about another Deep run in the tourney. Who knows. I trust the staff.

Idahozag10
04-09-2016, 08:34 PM
Have we heard anything about Jacob Larsen? Seems like he is the newcomer we know least about...
Would he be able to contribute right away? Redshirt probably?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DixieZag
04-09-2016, 09:16 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 24m24 minutes ago
Gonzaga was watching 2018 6'8 PF Kamaka Hepa at Silas Melson's former high school in Oregon. Transfer from Alaska

"247Sports four-star power forward Kamaka Hepa, the nation's No. 29 prospect in the class of 2018, has moved from Alaska and enrolled at Jefferson High School, according to coach Pat Strickland."
"The 6-foot-9, 210-pound sophomore is a two-time Gatorade Alaska Boys Basketball Player of the Year, averaging 19.2 points, 11.8 rebounds, 3.2 blocks and 2.8 assists per game."

http://highschoolsports.oregonlive.com/news/article/8209239219426296501/kamaka-hepa-national-top-30-hoops-prospect-enrolls-at-jefferson-high-school/

A SOPHMORE in HS 6'9 210 lb PF?

Coach Crazy
04-09-2016, 11:13 PM
A SOPHMORE in HS 6'9 210 lb PF?

And he isn't done physically developing. Will be interesting to see if he grows more, or just works into his body.

sheps001
04-10-2016, 08:09 AM
We've got to get Melson working on him the way we got Pargo working on Norvell

Zag Man
04-10-2016, 10:35 AM
Great article! Thanks for sharing!

My biggest concern for the upcoming year is where the leadership will come from on the upcoming team. Losing seniors that EMac, KW, and KD will be a big task. Those seniors really carried us beautifully through a very difficult season.

Zagger
04-10-2016, 07:45 PM
Great article! Thanks for sharing!

My biggest concern for the upcoming year is where the leadership will come from on the upcoming team. Losing seniors that EMac, KW, and KD will be a big task. Those seniors really carried us beautifully through a very difficult season.
Maybe Shemmick? I was wrong about DS sticking around. I'm seldom wrong twice - as I figure PK sticks around ;-) (knocking on wood this time). PK would make a great co-leader if not 'the leader'. I don't think after how well the gang pulled together this season that they'll have much of a problem syncing next season. I also feel the caliber of personalities coming in, as I've noticed on vids of them speaking of GU, is pretty darn high. This season was a REALLY GOOD season on the character end of things. I don't see that fading.

zagfan94
04-10-2016, 08:19 PM
http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1659686-high-majors-2018-pf-kamaka-hepa

No offer yet but he singled out Gonzaga as the team showing the most interest. Also said he'd like to visit Spokane.

Zagdawg
04-10-2016, 09:10 PM
Good to hear the staff is showing a lot of love early.

sittingon50
04-10-2016, 09:20 PM
HS Soph at this point; shows a lot of poise.

thespywhozaggedme
04-10-2016, 10:00 PM
http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1659686-high-majors-2018-pf-kamaka-hepa

No offer yet but he singled out Gonzaga as the team showing the most interest. Also said he'd like to visit Spokane.
I think this is the kid that fans of Philipino basketball are salivating over; that nation loves basketball but doesn't have much height and with him and UCLA commit, Kobe Paras, the future is bright for them.

MDABE80
04-11-2016, 12:04 AM
Looks like a kid with great future. Looking at his list of suitors, I suspect there will be the elites sniffing around soon. Oregon's top 10 in the early rankings that don't matter. We've ddone better than UO the last several years. Hope we get his interest.

Zagdawg
04-20-2016, 09:10 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
The NorCal Report ‏@coachrobhoops 7h7 hours ago
2018 7-footer Jack Wilson (@jackwilsonfc) of @PadreAthletics / @ArsenalAAU is receiving interest from Cal, Gonzaga, Wazzu, & Colorado.


"While some players who grow tall at a young age appear gangly and awkward, Jack Wilson does not. He’s solid at 265 pounds and doesn’t have that gawky look some very tall teenagers have."

http://www.hmbreview.com/sports/wilson-is-big-man-on-court/article_fccced46-88c4-11e5-afd2-3f18fc5b3663.html

Zagdawg
04-23-2016, 10:33 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 5h5 hours ago
Gonzaga Coach Mark Few is at @NikeEYB in Indy watching Alaskan sensation Kamaka Hepa & @NikePortlandBC, among others

Zagdawg
04-24-2016, 02:20 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 7m7 minutes ago
Gonzaga coach Mark Few is making sure Corey Kispert knows the Zags' need his talents. Kispert visits GU this week

cggonzaga
04-24-2016, 04:19 PM
/\ This is great news!

MDABE80
04-24-2016, 06:58 PM
/\ This is great news!

I'll say.. Both are up and comers with great developing skills. Kamaka looks sensational. Only a soph. Lots can happen.

jazzdelmar
04-24-2016, 08:27 PM
I'll say.. Both are up and comers with great developing skills. Kamaka looks sensational. Only a soph. Lots can happen.

Yadda, yadda. Let's see some results.

MDABE80
04-24-2016, 10:24 PM
Cal will be sniffin out the good ones. He always does. Kamaka may be one of those. I wish we had more video. Still 2 years to go. If he rockets in the ratings ( once more programs know about him) he'll likely be much more sought after. Krispert is a solid player. A lot llike we usually get.
Well, we've lost Domas and Wiltjer.
We've lost Dranginis and Emac.

We have lots of recruiting to do. I hope Staff finds some great ones. 4 of our 5 starters gone. Last we reviewed this, there was hope Domas would stay. Now, things look quite different. I expect kids with lots of talent (Collins, Goss, Williams III) but putting this beast together in 6 months and 1 week will be a chore.

vandalzag
04-25-2016, 07:36 AM
Yadda, yadda. Let's see some results.

Yeah how come Few has not signed these guys yet. What is he doing out there we need results!

Mantua
04-25-2016, 03:27 PM
Summer angst has arrived!

Zagdawg
04-27-2016, 10:36 AM
Hoops recruiting classes built to last


http://247sports.com/ContentGallery/Hoops-recruiting-classes-built-to-last-45036723

Zagdawg
05-01-2016, 08:27 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Andrew Slater ‏@ASlater247 4h4 hours ago United States
Jordan McCabe has Minny, WVU, DePaul, Mizzou, GB, UW-M offers & Xavier, Gonzaga, Ohio St, Stan., Tex, Marq. interest

doctorzag
05-01-2016, 08:57 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Andrew Slater ‏@ASlater247 4h4 hours ago United States
Jordan McCabe has Minny, WVU, DePaul, Mizzou, GB, UW-M offers & Xavier, Gonzaga, Ohio St, Stan., Tex, Marq. interest

The new White Chocolate!! Would be fun to watch if we could get this kid.

sittingon50
05-01-2016, 09:15 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Andrew Slater ‏@ASlater247 4h4 hours ago United States
Jordan McCabe has Minny, WVU, DePaul, Mizzou, GB, UW-M offers & Xavier, Gonzaga, Ohio St, Stan., Tex, Marq. interest

Article from Sept. 2015:

http://www.scout.com/college/wisconsin/story/1591359-jordan-mccabe-updates-recruitment

(is this blocked for anyone? Not sure if subscription.)

exclusivelee
05-01-2016, 11:01 PM
McCabe article from March 30... "I want to model my game after John Stockton or Steve Nash": http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/news_article/show/630884-wisconsin-product-leads-to-first-state-title-6-0-jordan-mccabe-kaukauna-hs-wi

Article from Jan. 31: http://www.wiplaygroundwarriors.org/news_article/show/602317?referrer_id=

He averaged 26 pts, 6 ast, & 2 stl as a sophomore this year, while leading his school to its first state title

Some recent videos:

http://www.courtsidefilms.com/news_article/show/624868
https://youtu.be/QQU-2cm5BPw
https://youtu.be/Ui1t1W-qMV0

sittingon50
05-02-2016, 11:33 AM
"I want to model my game after John Stockton or Steve Nash"

Didn't those guys play in the WCC? Crap league, no wonder they never amounted to anything.

doctorzag
06-13-2016, 12:30 AM
McCabe article from March 30... "I want to model my game after John Stockton or Steve Nash": http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/news_article/show/630884-wisconsin-product-leads-to-first-state-title-6-0-jordan-mccabe-kaukauna-hs-wi

Article from Jan. 31: http://www.wiplaygroundwarriors.org/news_article/show/602317?referrer_id=

He averaged 26 pts, 6 ast, & 2 stl as a sophomore this year, while leading his school to its first state title

Some recent videos:

http://www.courtsidefilms.com/news_article/show/624868
https://youtu.be/QQU-2cm5BPw
https://youtu.be/Ui1t1W-qMV0

He also shot 44% from 3pt range. Zag coaches will be going to watch him in July. Most exciting high school player in the country in my opinion. Deserves his own thread here so we can follow him and his recruiting as long as we are involved.

exclusivelee
06-13-2016, 08:29 AM
Jordan McCabe does mention that Gonzaga has still been showing strong interest and that the staff should be watching him in July. Also says he has been trying to prove to be more like a John Stockton or Steve Nash than just a Jason "White Chocolate" Williams. http://www.gopherhole.com/news_article/show/658162?referrer_id=388419

Zags should be looking to add a point guard for 2018 with Josh Perkins (senior) & Jesse Wade (soph.) as the only ones likely on roster at that time. Should have 4 available scholarships spots for 2018 if Zags don't land anyone else for 2017 or no one leaves early.

Zags coaching staff may be waiting until June 15 to hand out offers to the 2018 class. That's when they'll be able to call & test them

MDABE80
06-13-2016, 10:00 AM
I don't want to be a naysayer..........kid is spectacular. If he's got the grades, he'll likely do pretty well at Duke or some such:)

Mantua
06-13-2016, 12:00 PM
Jeff Goodman's ESPN Insider Article on Gonzaga's summer recruiting:

http://espn.go.com/blog/ncbrecruiting/on-the-trail/insider/post?id=15798

Nothing new in the article except the mention that GU is interested in 6'6" Swiss guard Anthony Polite.

http://www.pbgametime.com/news/sports/high-school/2016-all-area-small-schools-boys-basketball-st-and/nqsGz/

Coach Crazy
06-13-2016, 12:42 PM
I don't want to be a naysayer..........kid is spectacular. If he's got the grades, he'll likely do pretty well at Duke or some such:)

With guards that are that possession-of-the-ball oriented combined with that kind of dribbling style, you really have to make sure he can fit into the system here. So, I don't think it's wrong to make an observation along those lines. He still has some physical development to do, as well. Time will tell with this kid. I want to see how he plays defense.

Coach Crazy
06-13-2016, 12:55 PM
Jeff Goodman's ESPN Insider Article on Gonzaga's summer recruiting:

http://espn.go.com/blog/ncbrecruiting/on-the-trail/insider/post?id=15798

Nothing new in the article except the mention that GU is interested in 6'6" Swiss guard Anthony Polite.

http://www.pbgametime.com/news/sports/high-school/2016-all-area-small-schools-boys-basketball-st-and/nqsGz/

I am surprised this kid hasn't been scouted by some of the services. I could see some justifying a 3-star rating, but man, that kid has some potential.

Mantua
06-13-2016, 01:38 PM
I am surprised this kid hasn't been scouted by some of the services. I could see some justifying a 3-star rating, but man, that kid has some potential.

It's good that he showed up on GU's radar early, but Forida State was earlier. I hope our international successes will give us an edge.

thespywhozaggedme
06-13-2016, 01:51 PM
Jordan McCabe does mention that Gonzaga has still been showing strong interest and that the staff should be watching him in July. Also says he has been trying to prove to be more like a John Stockton or Steve Nash than just a Jason "White Chocolate" Williams. http://www.gopherhole.com/news_article/show/658162?referrer_id=388419

Zags should be looking to add a point guard for 2018 with Josh Perkins (senior) & Jesse Wade (soph.) as the only ones likely on roster at that time. Should have 4 available scholarships spots for 2018 if Zags don't land anyone else for 2017 or no one leaves early.

Zags coaching staff may be waiting until June 15 to hand out offers to the 2018 class. That's when they'll be able to call & test them

Where did he mention us? Am I missing it?

JJK: What schools have offered/showing interest and what schools are coming after you the hardest?

McCabe: I have offers from: West Virginia, Missouri, Green Bay, and DePaul. I have interest from Wisconsin, Minnesota, Purdue, Nebraska, and Marquette. Right now, West Virginia is recruiting me pretty hard… I actually went down there to visit a couple of times. Minnesota, Purdue, and DePaul are also coming into play.

thespywhozaggedme
06-13-2016, 01:53 PM
It's good that he showed up on GU's radar early, but Forida State was earlier. I hope our international successes will give us an edge.

He's been in Florida since he was 14 and his pop played at FSU. I wouldn't get our hopes up on this guy.

Coach Crazy
06-13-2016, 02:06 PM
It's good that he showed up on GU's radar early, but Forida State was earlier. I hope our international successes will give us an edge.

And being a vastly superior program. But yeah, the international thing. The kid needs some development, but he has some promise. One of those times where I wouldn't necessarily disagree on all fronts that the kid is 3-star, but by no means a signifier of his potential. This kid becomes your main pursuit if Daejon is known not to be an option.

cjm720
06-13-2016, 02:52 PM
It's good that he showed up on GU's radar early, but Forida State was earlier. I hope our international successes will give us an edge.

He's from the USA...but likely more rounded than the average kid. Hopefully he can appreciate what GU has done over the years...

exclusivelee
06-13-2016, 03:31 PM
Where did he mention us? Am I missing it?

You just quoted a part of an article from March. The link I shared is from June 9.

http://www.gopherhole.com/news_article/show/658162?referrer_id=388419

Gopher Hole: How many offers are you up to now?

Jordan McCabe: I have six offers right now.

Gopher Hole: I think that you have Minnesota,Green Bay, DePaul, Milwaukee, Missouri and West Virginia, right?

Jordan McCabe: Yes.

Gopher Hole: What other schools are you hearing from the most besides those six?

Jordan McCabe: Currently, Big Ten-wise, Iowa, Purdue, Michigan State. Ohio State has been a strong interest. Gonzaga as well as Butler have been strong interest in coming to watch me this July. I got a letter from Arizona a little while back, just in terms of starting some interest there. Wisconsin has been a strong interest. I sat down with Young. It still remains whatever comes of that, We'll kind of see in the next year, year and a half.

exclusivelee
06-13-2016, 04:35 PM
He's been in Florida since he was 14 and his pop played at FSU. I wouldn't get our hopes up on this guy.
Not every kid puts as much stock in playing at the same school as his father. Here's a couple recent ones:

Austin Daye (Darren Daye played at UCLA) chose GU

MJ Cage (Michael Cage played at SDSU) chose Oregon

Mantua
06-13-2016, 10:43 PM
He's from the USA...but likely more rounded than the average kid. Hopefully he can appreciate what GU has done over the years...

So his family moved back to US when he started high school?

MDABE80
06-15-2016, 09:24 PM
A great one to have. A wee bit flashy. Small. But I keep thinking of Brooks from Oregon. THAT type of kid.

exclusivelee
07-07-2016, 07:22 PM
Not that I think Zags need another incoming freshman for 2017, but:

Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 3h3 hours ago
Gonzaga watched Jordan Nwora (2017 6'8 4🌟 wing) @ Nike #PeachJam. Had huge performances in wins over E1T1 & Team CP3
http://i.imgur.com/qmvOMj7.jpg

If we do have an opening for 2017, not sure if I'd rather want the coaches to add a freshman or a transfer who would have to redshirt. NWG, JW3, Edwards, & Melson should all run out of eligibility after the 2017-18 season

https://youtu.be/BW6piizMVoI

Mantua
07-08-2016, 12:50 PM
Not that I think Zags need another incoming freshman for 2017, but:

Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 3h3 hours ago
Gonzaga watched Jordan Nwora (2017 6'8 4�� wing) @ Nike #PeachJam. Had huge performances in wins over E1T1 & Team CP3
http://i.imgur.com/qmvOMj7.jpg

If we do have an opening for 2017, not sure if I'd rather want the coaches to add a freshman or a transfer who would have to redshirt. NWG, JW3, Edwards, & Melson should all run out of eligibility after the 2017-18 season

https://youtu.be/BW6piizMVoI

I can't imagine this kid redshirting, but I'd love to see him at GU.

exclusivelee
08-03-2016, 08:03 AM
https://youtu.be/xZpD4vRYbGo
👀 '99 born 6'9" SF Sandro Mamukelashvili from the country of Georgia
Zags with high interest in Sandro Mamu, but his recruitment has opened up quite a bit after leaving Italy this summer and moving to Florida to play for high school basketball powerhouse Montverde. He's impressed scouts quite a bit at a number of AAU events since his arrival:

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1691640-european-prospect-emerges-at-nike-skills

http://i.imgur.com/PeehsqZ.jpg

Zag_Dad
08-03-2016, 08:12 AM
How many scholarships are available for the 17' class? I know We'll lose Karnowski. Anyone else?

Zagdawg
08-03-2016, 08:21 AM
We lose Big K and Mathews-- but gain Wade and Kispert-- so we are full --thats why coaches are looking at 2018 kids (4 openings).

https://zagsguru.wordpress.com/roster/2016-17-gonzaga-rosterscholarship-chart/

exclusivelee
08-03-2016, 08:29 AM
How many scholarships are available for the 17' class? I know We'll lose Karnowski. Anyone else?
As Zagdawg mentions, 0 scholarship open for 2017, so someone or 2 has to go if Gonzaga lands Daejon Davis and/or Sandro Mamu

Edwards & Alberts could both be grad transfers:


A few things to chew on when digesting the Mathews pick up

--Mathews basically fell into Fews lap. Coach Daniels and Mathews dad are very, very good friends and that is what got the ball rolling.

--Williams is the best block defender on the team and will get major minutes because of that ability

--Alberts is on pace to graduate at the end of next summer and will have 2 years eligibility remaining once he graduates

Zag_Dad
08-03-2016, 08:40 AM
Mad respect for Tommy Lloyd and the staff in charge of recruitment. I can't imagine how hard it must be to focus your energy and attention on enough recruits to fill the known vacancies as well as the potential vacancies. You have to have a plan "A", "B", "C" .... and contingencies for each plan.
How does Tommy get any sleep at all? As much as we all like to get excited about a new name that Gonzaga is pursuing, it is just a hobby for the fans. Tommy deserves a raise!