PDA

View Full Version : GU vs Seton Hall



ZagsObserver
03-13-2016, 02:35 PM
I like it. Has anybody watched many of their games this year that could provide insight?

Zagger14
03-13-2016, 02:39 PM
I hate it. Seton Hall is very very good. They are solid and peaking

Don't like it at all.

HenneZag
03-13-2016, 02:40 PM
Very good team. Beat Villanova yesterday to win their conf tourney. It will be a fun game, but a very tough matchup.

ZagNut08
03-13-2016, 02:41 PM
Last two games are wins against two #2 seeds Xavier and Villanova

VinnyZag
03-13-2016, 02:42 PM
That seems like a winnable game, especially in Denver. Long trip for the Hall.

Seton Hall is 26 in KenPom, Zags are 28. It's a coin flip game.

Zagdawg
03-13-2016, 02:42 PM
Seton Hall= guard oriented-----can our guards slow them down?

sittingon50
03-13-2016, 02:43 PM
http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/team/stats/_/id/2550/seton-hall-pirates

http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/team/roster/_/id/2550/seton-hall-pirates

Looks like they play 6 1/2 guys. Mostly Sophs. At altitude.

Plus, they didn't play in the Dance last year.

DixieZag
03-13-2016, 02:43 PM
I think we're ok. They peak in the Conference tourney?

jazzdelmar
03-13-2016, 02:44 PM
Isiah is a matchup horror. 6-4 athlete w NYC attitude.

Ezag
03-13-2016, 02:46 PM
I would say they are medium good. They do have some good wins --2 over Villanova, 2 over Xavier and Providence and lost to Villanova by one point in another game--All Ranked in Top 20 at the time of their wins

Zagdawg
03-13-2016, 02:49 PM
Took a glance at their website-- Their fans are similar to St Johns fans---- Zags dont have a chance ---I hope their team thinks the same way.


"You guys are too athletic for Gonzaga. "

"Game is in Denver. Utah Fresno winner awaits."

"Michigan state the 2 in your Region."

https://setonhall.forums.rivals.com/forums/pirate-hoops-chat.14/

CDC84
03-13-2016, 02:51 PM
Whoever wins this game will likely have to play Utah in high altitude.

ZagMan in Philly
03-13-2016, 02:51 PM
I like it. Has anybody watched many of their games this year that could provide insight?

Mr. Whitehead is quite good.

CDC84
03-13-2016, 02:51 PM
Isiah is a matchup horror. 6-4 athlete w NYC attitude.

Post his pic on McClellan's locker :)

Zagger14
03-13-2016, 02:52 PM
Seton Hall has the best pair of guards in the tourney and I actually told someone today they are going to be the surprise team to make a run. I actually prayed this wouldn't be our matchup, I really have a bad feeling.

I not only see them beating us, I think they could beat us pretty easily.

DixieZag
03-13-2016, 02:52 PM
Took a glance at their website-- Their fans are similar to St Johns fans---- Zags dont have a chance ---I hope their team thinks the same way.


"You guys are too athletic for Gonzaga. "

"Game is in Denver. Utah Fresno winner awaits."

"Michigan state the 2 in your Region."

https://setonhall.forums.rivals.com/forums/pirate-hoops-chat.14/

Nobody say anything . . . shhhhhhhh

Jazz - we expect a full report on the Jersey team in a day. cc' Few.

TacomaZAG
03-13-2016, 02:52 PM
I don't hate it.................Seton Hall will have a tough time with Domas and KW. If our guards can slow down their guards, we're OK. Assuming we get by the Hall, I love the matchup with the Utes.

Gonna be fun, for the 18th year in a row. SMC on the outside looking in. Syracuse.........are you kidding me?????

We were the last team announced, can you imagine if the selections worked out the same and we had lost to SMC in the finals???? I would have been going crazy..........

Go ZAGS

hooter73
03-13-2016, 02:52 PM
We're peaking too but Seton has been a step ahead since December. One and done...

ZagMan in Philly
03-13-2016, 02:53 PM
Isiah is a matchup horror. 6-4 athlete w NYC attitude.

Totally agree with you. He is so athletic and can create shots.

Zagdawg
03-13-2016, 02:55 PM
Monson already has his game notes in Fews email since Long Beach State played their earlier this year.

basketballzag
03-13-2016, 02:57 PM
Totally agree with you. He is so athletic and can create shots.

Denver is not a good location for quick and speedy teams from sea level.

ZagMan in Philly
03-13-2016, 02:59 PM
Denver is not a good location for quick and speedy teams from sea level.

I hope so..

MJ777
03-13-2016, 02:59 PM
Oklahoma States' guards were supposed to run the Zags out of the building a couple of years ago. I'll watch the game and see what happens.

Zagger14
03-13-2016, 03:00 PM
We're peaking too but Seton has been a step ahead since December. One and done...

Sadly there is a huge difference peaking beating Portland, BYU, and St Mary's compared to beating Nova and Xavier.

I think SH also beat Xavier in the regular season, and lost to Nova by 1.

CDC84
03-13-2016, 03:02 PM
Teams who are peaking during a conference tournament.....it doesn't guarantee NCAA tournament success.

Coach Crazy
03-13-2016, 03:03 PM
They have very young forwards. I like our matchup in the in the post and with Wiltjer on the wing. We'll need Perkins and EMac to be at tourney level, or it may end up being a long night.

vandalzag
03-13-2016, 03:04 PM
Isiah is a matchup horror. 6-4 athlete w NYC attitude.

NYC attitude so he knows where to buy a good soft pretzel?

ZagaZags
03-13-2016, 03:05 PM
Seton Hall has 4 players that score in double digits.

ZagMan in Philly
03-13-2016, 03:08 PM
Gottleid just picked Zags to beat S Hall, uh oh.

ZagsObserver
03-13-2016, 03:09 PM
Unfortunately, the region has some true goliaths in subsequent rounds...

vandalzag
03-13-2016, 03:12 PM
Unfortunately, the region has some true goliaths in subsequent rounds...

With this squad anything beyond a round 1 win is gravy.

Zagdawg
03-13-2016, 03:14 PM
Perkins family and friends buying out all the available tickets in Denver.

Going to be good Zag fan support there.

Ezag
03-13-2016, 03:14 PM
Barkley was preaching that guards win tournament games so going by this.....we will not go far, unless our guards step up and party like it's 1999!

kitzbuel
03-13-2016, 03:15 PM
I hate it. Seton Hall is very very good. They are solid and peaking

Don't like it at all.
Gonzaga is peaking as well. Guard play right now is more than adequate combined with the Sabonis / Wiltjer matchup nightmare.

Wiltjer is back, too.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

jazzdelmar
03-13-2016, 03:15 PM
NYC attitude so he knows where to buy a good soft pretzel?

Black and white cookies.

ProVeeZag
03-13-2016, 03:18 PM
Teams who are peaking during a conference tournament.....it doesn't guarantee NCAA tournament success.

So between Seton Hall and GU, you are referring to which one?

Goshzagit
03-13-2016, 03:18 PM
Since I've been following GU (1997), we've shell-shocked and/or surprised every single Big East team we've played (save #1 Cuse in 2nd Round).

Their muscled-up athletes dribble all over the place, and drive wildly, not to mention "street ball" is what we match-up GREAT against.

Every time Seton Hall has played a legit Center, they have struggled or lost.

Terrific sign.

I'm not sure Seton Hall can defend our high lo offense.

As long as Sabonis and Wiljter stay outta foul trouble, I like our chances. Although, our guards will struggle to match-up defensively vs their guards. So strong. Just feel we're more efficient team with the right mindset right now.

All is gravy this time around.

Kong-Kool-Aid
03-13-2016, 03:18 PM
They have the advantage at guard, we have the advantage inside... we definitely need Edwards back for depth.

We defend the 3 well, basically just need to keep them from slashing to the hoop.

vandalzag
03-13-2016, 03:20 PM
Black and white cookies.
:)
Nice

Section 116
03-13-2016, 03:22 PM
Seton Hall has 4 players that score in double digits.

FWIW so do the Zags: Wiltjer, Sabonis, McClellan, Perkins

Link:
http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/team/stats/_/id/2250/gonzaga-bulldogs

MickMick
03-13-2016, 03:24 PM
Turnovers will kill GU.

ZagaZags
03-13-2016, 03:26 PM
Turnovers will kill GU.

Turnovers will kill most teams.

zagamatic
03-13-2016, 03:28 PM
Particularly if Edwards is back for giving Sabonis and Wiltjer rest at altitude, I like our chances. Short turnaround and Wiltjer and Sabonis are arguably the hardest pair of bigs to prepare for in the country. Throw in the sense of urgency for seniors like Dranginis, McLellan and Wiltjer going against a younger team with no tournament experience along with what should be a pro Zags crowd. ........it's no cakewalk, but very very winnable.

Outraged
03-13-2016, 03:28 PM
Our guard and 3pt defense will rule.

Zagdawg
03-13-2016, 03:33 PM
I like that Seton Hall hasn't been to the dance since 2006 --was in the NIT in 2012.

Our dance experience will help.

zagfan1
03-13-2016, 03:35 PM
Seton hall can't make free throws. It will be a tough game. I think Mclellan plays great defense and we will have great ball movement against them. We will win by 3.

sittingon50
03-13-2016, 03:36 PM
Perkins says he's familiar with Whitehead from camps.

Kong-Kool-Aid
03-13-2016, 03:39 PM
Lets hope for the last game out west, have Seton Hall be nice and tired.

cggonzaga
03-13-2016, 03:40 PM
Surprised this hasn't been mentioned yet. Seton Hall is very small. As in 1 starter at 6'9" and everybody else under 6'5". They literally have 1 post player that is any good. Our guards must play well but we should destroy them offensively.

MJ777
03-13-2016, 03:41 PM
Surprised this hasn't been mentioned yet. Seton Hall is very small. As in 1 starter at 6'9" and everybody else under 6'5". They literally have 1 post player that is any good. Our guards must play well but we should destroy them offensively.

NDSU was very small last year and the Zags did not destroy them. If GU takes care of the ball and stays out of serious foul trouble they should be okay.

Zagdawg
03-13-2016, 03:43 PM
Their primary big can get into foul trouble pretty quick. From there they drop off in the big dept (or give up 3-4" to our bigs)

ZagaZags
03-13-2016, 03:44 PM
Gonzaga will be playing in the last game on Thursday. Tip will be around 7pm, on TruTV.

DixieZag
03-13-2016, 03:44 PM
Seton Hall message board: https://setonhall.forums.rivals.com/forums/pirate-hoops-chat.14/

Unfortunately, we have no hope. Just ask them.

gonzagafan62
03-13-2016, 03:45 PM
Seton Hall is not going to win this game. Mark Few is the Better game planner of the two cosches. I don't really think the Big East is really all that good at all if you wanna know the truth. Plus hall has no expirience. They can't match our size either

Kong-Kool-Aid
03-13-2016, 03:47 PM
Gonzaga will be playing in the last game on Thursday. Tip will be around 7pm, on TruTV.

Perfect, 10pm Eastern... right around the time those Seton Hall kids go to bed usually right?

CdAZagFan
03-13-2016, 03:47 PM
Gonzaga will be playing in the last game on Thursday. Tip will be around 7pm, on TruTV.

Please not on TruTV... the only channel I don't have.

gonzagafan62
03-13-2016, 03:48 PM
Gonzaga will be playing in the last game on Thursday. Tip will be around 7pm, on TruTV.

Yet another huge advantage for Gonzaga. That's past Seton Halls bed time

btzag
03-13-2016, 03:48 PM
Since I've been following GU (1997), we've shell-shocked and/or surprised every single Big East team we've played (save #1 Cuse in 2nd Round).

Their muscled-up athletes dribble all over the place, and drive wildly, not to mention "street ball" is what we match-up GREAT against.

Every time Seton Hall has played a legit Center, they have struggled or lost.

Terrific sign.

I'm not sure Seton Hall can defend our high lo offense.

As long as Sabonis and Wiljter stay outta foul trouble, I like our chances. Although, our guards will struggle to match-up defensively vs their guards. So strong. Just feel we're more efficient team with the right mindset right now.

All is gravy this time around.

Yeah I don't see anyone on Seton Hall who can stop Sabonis and if Wiltjer is on from outside watch out.... Going to be a big challenge for McClellan, Perk and Melson but I think our Zags have more favorable mis-matches than Seton Hall does.

ZagaZags
03-13-2016, 03:49 PM
Please not on TruTV... the only channel I don't have.

Sorry.

http://a.dilcdn.com/bl/wp-content/uploads/sites/8/2014/01/tumblr_lqjl89mv8Y1qfisgoo1_500.gif

DixieZag
03-13-2016, 03:51 PM
Here is my fav from the Seton Hall board:


The two bigs are really good. But they aren't bruisers. Angel can have his way on the glass and Ish should be able to lock at least one down. And they can't contain our guards or wings.

.

:)

Meet Domas. Domas? Come over here, I want you to meet a guy . . .

Zagger
03-13-2016, 03:52 PM
Denver is not a good location for quick and speedy teams from sea level.

It makes a big difference. Sea level to 5K is no joke. I used to live and work above 9000. We had some visitors who were in darn good shape from 5000 feet visit us for a day of hiking at 9000. By mid-day they were hurting. Yeah, Spokane is only 2K but ..... an advantage is an advantage. I do hope the Zags get to Denver ASAP. If SHU doesn't take the elevation change seriously they'll have a hard time thinking during half time.
My take on the SHU/Zags game is that SH will not take the Zags as seriously as they should. The Zags have kept getting better - even against teams that know them VERY WELL. I like our chances. Zags have good Dance experience - not so with SHU. Prediction: Zags 85, SHU 75.

gonzagafan62
03-13-2016, 03:53 PM
Here is my fav from the Seton Hall board:



:)

Meet Domas. Domas? Come over here, I want you to meet a guy . . .

Lol they are misinformed

CdAZagFan
03-13-2016, 03:54 PM
How do they shoot the 3? If their guards are quick and can get to the basket, perhaps we'll see a little more zone to shut down those drives (assuming they aren't a great 3-point shooting team.

btzag
03-13-2016, 03:55 PM
Here is my fav from the Seton Hall board:



.

:)

Meet Domas. Domas? Come over here, I want you to meet a guy . . .

Post early and often. With both bigs. Then bring in Edwards. Finally let Wiltjer, Perk, Drang and Melson rain down 3's.

Section 116
03-13-2016, 03:55 PM
Early odds: 747 Gonzaga
748 Seton Hall -1

Link: http://www.vegasinsider.com/college-basketball/odds/las-vegas/

caduceus
03-13-2016, 03:55 PM
Zags > Pepperdine > Long Beach > Seton Hall

;)

Zagpower
03-13-2016, 03:55 PM
We are an early 2.5 pt favorite....line bouncing around.

ZagaZags
03-13-2016, 03:56 PM
How do they shoot the 3? If their guards are quick and can get to the basket, perhaps we'll see a little more zone to shut down those drives (assuming they aren't a great 3-point shooting team.

As a team, Seton Hall shoots .353 from three.

gonzagafan62
03-13-2016, 03:57 PM
As a team, Seton Hall shoots .353 from three.

Perfect

btzag
03-13-2016, 03:57 PM
How do they shoot the 3? If their guards are quick and can get to the basket, perhaps we'll see a little more zone to shut down those drives (assuming they aren't a great 3-point shooting team.

Whitehead 38%, Carrington 33% and Rodriguez 38%.

Wiltjer 42%, Perk 40%, Drang 36% and Melson 33%.

MJ777
03-13-2016, 04:12 PM
The experts in the lounge with SVP on ESPN are picking the Zags. I would rather they pick SHU.

sittingon50
03-13-2016, 04:16 PM
Seton Hall message board: https://setonhall.forums.rivals.com/forums/pirate-hoops-chat.14/

Unfortunately, we have no hope. Just ask them.

Been over there earlier. Talk about a yawner.

Zagdawg
03-13-2016, 04:17 PM
Apparently we have never seen defense like Seton Hall brings-- per a hall fan below ----Seton Hall is ranked #25 in defensive efficiency ----and UConn is ranked #10 .....I hope we can handle what they are bringing to the table the way we handled UConn (SMU was #28).

"judging from some posts on their board.

hopefully their players underestimate SHU, as well. I respect their team, but apparently they (fans) haven't seen the Hall recently. Defense will be more intense than anything they've seen this year. "

Hoping their team believes the same thing. The have the same Big East attitude that the other Big East teams we have run into recently.

We are the underdog and we like being the underdog ---put a chip on out shoulder and lets see what happens.

sittingon50
03-13-2016, 04:27 PM
Their primary big can get into foul trouble pretty quick. From there they drop off in the big dept (or give up 3-4" to our bigs)

Hopefully a few of those pump fakes that Domas has in his arsenal will get that guy to the bench.

Zagger14
03-13-2016, 04:36 PM
Seton Hall is not going to win this game. Mark Few is the Better game planner of the two cosches. I don't really think the Big East is really all that good at all if you wanna know the truth. Plus hall has no expirience. They can't match our size either

Gonzaga prior March busts has me disagreeing with this..

Hall coach is very good. Some of you need to watch their games vs Nova and Xavier. Hall is extremely athletic and balanced. They have the best guard play in the tourney. I have seen many of their games, and all of Zags, this is NOT a good matchup.

Some of you are looking at prior Seton Hall years, this team is totally different.

MontanaCoyote
03-13-2016, 04:36 PM
It makes a big difference. Sea level to 5K is no joke. I used to live and work above 9000. We had some visitors who were in darn good shape from 5000 feet visit us for a day of hiking at 9000. By mid-day they were hurting. Yeah, Spokane is only 2K but ..... an advantage is an advantage. I do hope the Zags get to Denver ASAP. If SHU doesn't take the elevation change seriously they'll have a hard time thinking during half time.
My take on the SHU/Zags game is that SH will not take the Zags as seriously as they should. The Zags have kept getting better - even against teams that know them VERY WELL. I like our chances. Zags have good Dance experience - not so with SHU. Prediction: Zags 85, SHU 75.
Yes, get our boys to altitude ASAP, Montana Coyote says from a mile up. Altitude will effect you immediately and game long. Get the boys Rocky Mountain High pronto!

Virginia Zags Fan
03-13-2016, 04:41 PM
Seton Hall is a really good, hard nosed team. They too were tournament champs against top competition. Pretty much every team in this tournament who the Zags could have been paired with are very good teams.

It all comes down to this. You want to be the Champ? Then go out and beat the Champs. Hopefully the Zags can play like they did in Vegas. If they do, I think they have a fighting chance against this field.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

CdAZagFan
03-13-2016, 04:42 PM
Gonzaga prior March busts has me disagreeing with this..

Hall coach is very good. Some of you need to watch their games vs Nova and Xavier. Hall is extremely athletic and balanced. They have the best guard play in the tourney. I have seen many of their games, and all of Zags, this is NOT a good matchup.

Some of you are looking at prior Seton Hall years, this team is totally different.

This Gonzaga team has faced some pretty good opposition (Texas A&M, SMU, Arizona, UConn) and had leads in the 2nd half of every game this year. I haven't seen this team get manhandled by anyone. I'm hoping we can be competitive with anyone...

gonzagafan62
03-13-2016, 04:48 PM
Gonzaga prior March busts has me disagreeing with this..

Hall coach is very good. Some of you need to watch their games vs Nova and Xavier. Hall is extremely athletic and balanced. They have the best guard play in the tourney. I have seen many of their games, and all of Zags, this is NOT a good matchup.

Some of you are looking at prior Seton Hall years, this team is totally different.

What prior busts are you talking about besides 13, which we ended our own season with bells broken foot?)

11 seed beating St John's?
7 seed beating West Virginia in Pittsburgh?
8 seed beating Oklahoma State (hottest team in America?)

Hoopaholic
03-13-2016, 04:49 PM
Defense will win this game. Every loss they had they shot less than 50%

Going be good ball game and some good matchups

Zagdawg
03-13-2016, 04:55 PM
The defense the Seton Hall brings is going to take a bunch of energy to maintain at elevation. Plus they are young/never been to the tournament. The excitement and extra curriculars of the dance will be new to them. When the Seton boys are sitting up late the night before thinking about "wow --this is amazing--we are dancing" ---our boys who have been there done that for many years and will be in a good situation as far as rest goes--as we get the late game.

The Zags already have connections in Denver since that is where we used to play our closed door preseason games against Texas etc. --so they can get extra closed door practices in as needed.

I am liking our chances against them --don't know how much more of an advantage we can get in this type of a situation.

We are going to have a ton of fans there---plus we will be an underdog (seeding) for every game as we move forward ---and we know that unbiased fans from other teams like to cheer on the underdog.

Good opportunity for a team that has worked through lots of difficulties in the season.

Go Zags

Zagceo
03-13-2016, 04:56 PM
Yes, get our boys to altitude ASAP, Montana Coyote says from a mile up. Altitude will effect you immediately and game long. Get the boys Rocky Mountain High pronto!


Don't forget .we played at sea level on a thursday USD and followed that w/saturday game at 4551 and beat BYU.

bballbeachbum
03-13-2016, 04:57 PM
Our guard and 3pt defense will rule.

can't turn it over in crazy numbers of course, but your point will be the key I think to winning, along with KW and Domas not collecting the fouls that Willard will game plan to try and put on them big time. will be fun to see how Few and staff attack defensively, they've used multiple defenses and succeeded with them, may see the kitchen sink thrown at Seton Hall to find out what works and then adjust if/when any of it gets solved.

bballbeachbum
03-13-2016, 04:58 PM
Post his pic on McClellan's locker :)

yeah baby, Silas and KD too! I'd bet they all see time on him

zagzilla
03-13-2016, 05:01 PM
Final Kenpom rankings for our pod:

Seton Hall 26
Zags 28
Utah 29
Fresno 105

Should be very competitive between SH, GU and UT for the S16 berth against (likely) Michigan St.

The last 2 physical games vs BYU should be helpful in terms of preparing us for a tenacious D.

ZZ

ZagMan in Philly
03-13-2016, 05:02 PM
yeah baby, Silas and KD too! I'd bet they all see time on him
Good stuff...

ZagMan in Philly
03-13-2016, 05:04 PM
This game should have been 8 vs 9 seed.

TexasZagFan
03-13-2016, 05:39 PM
Looking at their schedule, this is by far their farthest road trip this season, and one of the shortest for the Zags. Might make a difference, as teams have to fly commercial during the tournament. I think the altitude will have a smaller effect on the Zags. Isn't Provo at 4K feet altitude?

Zagceo
03-13-2016, 05:40 PM
Don't forget …….we played at sea level on a thursday USD and followed that w/saturday game at 4551 and beat BYU.


Looking at their schedule, this is by far their farthest road trip this season, and one of the shortest for the Zags. Might make a difference, as teams have to fly commercial during the tournament. I think the altitude will have a smaller effect on the Zags. Isn't Provo at 4K feet altitude?

iii

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-13-2016, 05:52 PM
New Jersey press.

http://www.nj.com/setonhall/index.ssf/2016/03/ncaa_tournament_2016_seton_hall_will_play_xxx_as_a .html

I was surprised to learn that it had been so long since the Hall danced.

DixieZag
03-13-2016, 06:38 PM
Looking at their schedule, this is by far their farthest road trip this season, and one of the shortest for the Zags. Might make a difference, as teams have to fly commercial during the tournament. I think the altitude will have a smaller effect on the Zags. Isn't Provo at 4K feet altitude?

Really? I didn't know that. I don't think it makes that big a difference except for a team that really hasn't traveled at all - and that's possibly them, true.

I thought we took our rig down to Houston last year?

Hoopaholic
03-13-2016, 06:45 PM
Really? I didn't know that. I don't think it makes that big a difference except for a team that really hasn't traveled at all - and that's possibly them, true.

I thought we took our rig down to Houston last year?

huge difference in that at least one of their days is cut very very short for even walk throughs against their opponent playing Thursday.....they probably travel tomorrow with very little chance of even a walk through unless they do it in morning before they depart......leaving Tuesday and Wednesday for preparation...meanwhile our zags arrive in 2 hours.......

soccerdud
03-13-2016, 06:47 PM
This game should have been 8 vs 9 seed.

true... but i'm glad it's not. way rather play utah in the 2nd round than any of the 1-seeds ;)

VinnyZag
03-13-2016, 07:04 PM
KenPom gives GU a 49 percent chance to win. It's a coin flip game. Should be very competitive.

Section 116
03-13-2016, 07:15 PM
Seton Hall from the NY Post: And the game is closer to Gonzaga’s campus in Spokane, Wash., than South Orange, giving The Hall no home-court advantage.
Thanks, selection committee. Don’t expect a Christmas card with a South Orange return address.

Link: http://nypost.com/2016/03/13/seton-halls-ncaa-joy-turns-to-fears-of-bracket-hell/

SwainZag
03-13-2016, 07:16 PM
Gonzaga prior March busts has me disagreeing with this..

Hall coach is very good. Some of you need to watch their games vs Nova and Xavier. Hall is extremely athletic and balanced. They have the best guard play in the tourney. I have seen many of their games, and all of Zags, this is NOT a good matchup.

Some of you are looking at prior Seton Hall years, this team is totally different.

So previous Gonzaga years have you disagreeing but you don't think people should be looking at prior Seteon Hall years? Seems like a direct contradiction!

mgadfly
03-13-2016, 07:22 PM
What prior busts are you talking about besides 13, which we ended our own season with bells broken foot?)

11 seed beating St John's?
7 seed beating West Virginia in Pittsburgh?
8 seed beating Oklahoma State (hottest team in America?)

2008 when some puny little guy named Curry or something like that made 30 of 32 three pointers on his home court. At least that's the way I remember it.

No matter how many times people say it, GU has played to seed or better more often than they have "busted."

jim77
03-13-2016, 07:30 PM
huge difference in that at least one of their days is cut very very short for even walk throughs against their opponent playing Thursday.....they probably travel tomorrow with very little chance of even a walk through unless they do it in morning before they depart......leaving Tuesday and Wednesday for preparation...meanwhile our zags arrive in 2 hours.......

So the Zags have already left?

Hoopaholic
03-13-2016, 07:41 PM
poorly worded.....it was meant to say WHEN zags leave, the arrive in 2 hours

that I dont know if they left already but even if they leave Monday, they only travel 2 hours to get there, while only losing one hour meanwhile a 5 hour flight and loss of 3 hours makes for a different type of travel day

gonzagafan62
03-13-2016, 07:55 PM
2008 when some puny little guy named Curry or something like that made 30 of 32 three pointers on his home court. At least that's the way I remember it.

No matter how many times people say it, GU has played to seed or better more often than they have "busted."

Davidson, Wyoming and Indiana are the only teams we've lost to in first round during this run. Lol. It's almost shocking when we lose in first round.

I wouldn't be shocked if we lost this game. They are a good team, but I'm confident with the draw

strikenowhere
03-13-2016, 07:58 PM
Oh yay I get to listen to mike Francesca pretend like he knows anything about college basketball :fingergun:

jim77
03-13-2016, 07:59 PM
poorly worded.....it was meant to say WHEN zags leave, the arrive in 2 hours

that I dont know if they left already but even if they leave Monday, they only travel 2 hours to get there, while only losing one hour meanwhile a 5 hour flight and loss of 3 hours makes for a different type of travel day

Thanks Hoop.

I think the altitude could be a factor..especially since SH is such a physical team.....and we don't have many bodies to put in. There are ways to counter the altitude without being there for a long time. In fact, without being there at all. Wish I could suggest something to the team trainer.....oh well.

jim77
03-13-2016, 08:04 PM
Here's a few stats I dug up...Oxygen level at the Pirates home court....20.8% oxygen. Oxygen level at game site...17.2 % difference 18%

Oxygen level at the Zags home court......19.4 % oxygen. Oxygen level at game site..17.2% difference 8%

caduceus
03-13-2016, 08:11 PM
Here's a few stats I dug up...Oxygen level at the Pirates home court....20.8% oxygen. Oxygen level at game site...17.2 % difference 18%

Oxygen level at the Zags home court......19.4 % oxygen. Oxygen level at game site..17.2% difference 8%

http://i.imgur.com/36Qpu.gif

DixieZag
03-13-2016, 08:20 PM
Who was it that had the line "Altitude doesn't matter because they play the game indoors"?

I think it does matter, but it can really matter if your team only goes 6-7 deep, played a rugged tournament 5 days earlier, traveled all day 2 days before, have to try to rebound with Sabonis and the game starts at 10:45 p.m. in your hometown.

jim77
03-13-2016, 08:24 PM
Who was it that had the line "Altitude doesn't matter because they play the game indoors"?

I think it does matter, but it can really matter if your team only goes 6-7 deep, played a rugged tournament 5 days earlier, traveled all day 2 days before, have to try to rebound with Sabonis and the game starts at 10:45 p.m. in your hometown.

Good points Dixie

sittingon50
03-13-2016, 09:42 PM
Oh yay I get to listen to mike Francesca pretend like he knows anything about college basketball :fingergun:

Been awhile since I've heard him. Any updates if he's mastered English as a second language yet?

ProVeeZag
03-13-2016, 10:50 PM
Who was it that had the line "Altitude doesn't matter because they play the game indoors"?

I think it does matter, but it can really matter if your team only goes 6-7 deep, played a rugged tournament 5 days earlier, traveled all day 2 days before, have to try to rebound with Sabonis and the game starts at 10:45 p.m. in your hometown.

Had to be Yogi Berra! Great quote, regardless of who first said it.

ZagaZags
03-13-2016, 10:56 PM
Who was it that had the line "Altitude doesn't matter because they play the game indoors"?

I think it does matter, but it can really matter if your team only goes 6-7 deep, played a rugged tournament 5 days earlier, traveled all day 2 days before, have to try to rebound with Sabonis and the game starts at 10:45 p.m. in your hometown.

I think it was this guy...

http://static.fjcdn.com/gifs/Mile+high+club_dc5525_4931148.gif

Zags11
03-13-2016, 11:22 PM
I think it was this guy...

http://static.fjcdn.com/gifs/Mile+high+club_dc5525_4931148.gif

What did I see? Lol.

Zags11
03-13-2016, 11:22 PM
I think this is a coin flip game.

soccerdud
03-13-2016, 11:33 PM
I think this is a coin flip game.

kenpom would concur. you are in good company.

maynard g krebs
03-14-2016, 12:09 AM
meanwhile a 5 hour flight and loss of 3 hours makes for a different type of travel day

You gain 2 hours, not lose 3 flying from east to mtns. Leave NY at 8am eastern, fly 5 hrs, land in Denver 11 am mtn. Woohoo steal your login?:)

Zags11
03-14-2016, 12:43 AM
kenpom would concur. you are in good company.

Lol. I'm nervous. I believe in this squad.

strikenowhere
03-14-2016, 05:37 AM
Been awhile since I've heard him. Any updates if he's mastered English as a second language yet?

He's certainly mastered the art of falling asleep on the job:

http://stream1.gifsoup.com/view1/4093844/mike-francesa-falls-asleep-o.gif

SWZag
03-14-2016, 06:07 AM
Seton Hall underseeded? Seton Hall thinks so.

CBS's awful Selection Show, poor seeding couldn't ruin Seton Hall's moment (http://www.nj.com/setonhall/index.ssf/2016/03/cbss_awful_selection_show_poor_seeding_couldnt_rui .html)

23zagmd
03-14-2016, 06:57 AM
exactly. if our guards play like they did in the wcc tourney, I expect us to win a close game!

Seton Hall= guard oriented-----can our guards slow them down?

U Zig, I Zag
03-14-2016, 07:00 AM
I am not even sure we should bother even going to Denver. According to their forums GU isn't even 1/8th as athletic as SHU. Also, they are NY/NJ tough and they never quit.

LongIslandZagFan
03-14-2016, 07:06 AM
Oh yay I get to listen to mike Francesca pretend like he knows anything about college basketball :fingergun:

He is such a bleeping blowhard idiot. Just horrid and he has such a ridiculously high opinion of himself... ugh. He is the bane of NY sports radio.

strikenowhere
03-14-2016, 07:09 AM
He is such a bleeping blowhard idiot. Just horrid and he has such a ridiculously high opinion of himself... ugh. He is the bane of NY sports radio.

Luckily he'll be retiring in a year or two - wish that Steve Summers would get the spot or even Benigno & Roberts, but it will probably go to the other jackass Carton.

northsidezagfan
03-14-2016, 07:16 AM
I think we match up ok, we finally have some length/athleticism on the perimeter compared to previous years. Still might be a good game to go zone primarily.

rennis
03-14-2016, 07:25 AM
On paper and perhaps in reality this is a tough draw for GU. You cannot discount Seton Hall's run through that conference tournament. They just beat two of the 5 or 6 best teams on the east coast. They are on a legit streak right now.

Our depth at guard is what worries me most. If they get foul pressure on EMac, Melson HAS to play huge when he's on the floor. I seriously doubt SH can slow down Sabonis or Wiltjer. Those guys are going off in this game. If SH can keep those guys from combining for >40, I'll tip my hat to them.

I said this about SMC game in WCC tourney - first team to 75 wins.

BavarianZag
03-14-2016, 08:07 AM
This game reminds me of 2011 when we had the same seed vs. St. Johns. They too played in a "big boy conference" and were supposed to out-athlete the Zags. The Storm were guard dominated then too. I recall a double digit win for our Zags. We just need to play our game. We match up better than we ever have defensively against athletic guards. Just need our bigs to do what they do and to have our guard corp play solidly. I have a real good feeling about Thursday for our Zags.

And not to jump ahead.....UT is VG, but they don't have a Jimmer like we ran into in 2011.

LongIslandZagFan
03-14-2016, 08:15 AM
6-9... that is the biggest they go... and only one of those 6-9 guys plays real minutes. They get that guy in foul trouble it will be a field day for Witljer and Sabonis down low.

strikenowhere
03-14-2016, 08:18 AM
Assuming the Zags & Utes win, there will be a LOT of BYU fans rooting the Zags on

DixieZag
03-14-2016, 08:22 AM
6-9... that is the biggest they go... and only one of those 6-9 guys plays real minutes. They get that guy in foul trouble it will be a field day for Witljer and Sabonis down low.

Their fans believe that our bigs aren't "brusiers". I'll give them that KW isn't, no one would make that claim. But, I dearly hope their team has that in the back of their mind with their NY/NJ faith in themselves as warriors when they go up against Sabonis.

Reborn
03-14-2016, 08:33 AM
So we get Seton Hall. GOOD!!! This is a great seed,imo. The other 6 seeds are Arizona, Notre Dame, & Texas. I'm happy with Seton Hall. This is a great thread so far with lots of insight. Thank you all. I'll try to add some. Seton Hall is young. All five starters are Sophomores. They have one really good player. Gonzaga has two, imo. They have Whitehead and we have Sabonis and Wiltjer. Nove of them have played in the NCAA Tournament. As it has been said, GU has five. Our coach has coached in the NCAA Tournament 17 times now. I think we get the advantage there. Wiltjer has been to the NCAA three times, Dranginis 3 tmes. Sabonis played a lot last year also, and was a factor in our Elite 8 Finish and so was Wiltjer. Gonzaga has always faired well against Big East teams. They (Big East teams) have always been described as physical and tough, GU as weak. Yet we have had a lot of success against them. The high altitude favors us. Played OUT WEST favors us. The fans will be supporting us.

Team Stats: The shoot 45% from the field. Gonzaga shoots 50%. They shoot 53% from the field. Gonzaga shot 37.8%. They averaged 14 TO per game, They shot 66% from the free throw line; Gonzaga shoots shoots 75% They average 14 turnovers and Gonzaga averaged 11. Seton Hall averaged 40 rebounds a game and so did GU. Both teams also averaged 14 assists a game. They shot 573 threes and made 202. Zags shot 682 and made 258. i don't see anything to fear in these stats.

Individual stats: Whitehead= 18.4, Carrington= 14.3 (their two wings) Rodriguez= 12.5, Delgado= 10.0. Four guys in double figures. There five starter is a 6'7" guy named Sanogo who averages 5.0. He may be the point guard. I"M not sure. Their main sub is a Senior 6.3" inch guard. His name is Gordon. They mostly play six guys, so if our rotation is six or seven I believe we'll be okay.

Gonzaga also has four guys in double figures, from almost 21 ppg to 10.0. Melson and Dranginis each average about 6.5 per game. Both of these guys are better now then they did earlier in the year. I don't know if we'll win but I believe we will. My faith runs deep. I believe the Zags' faith does too. Zags are playing on another level right now. I can hardly wait for the game to begin. I will certainly be praying for them.

Go

DixieZag
03-14-2016, 08:39 AM
One other small element; This team isn't the most talented or deep we've had, but they now seem as mentally tough as we've ever had. They're already playing with house money versus expectations 3 weeks ago, and with all that tourney experience, I think it bodes well.

23dpg
03-14-2016, 08:42 AM
Last I checked, this game was the closest pickem on the board. Cbs ranked both teams in the 20s.
Like Calipari said, being under seeded doesn't hurt your team as much as it hurts the team your playing.
Gonzaga is playing great bball lately. I expect a nail biter.

SWZag
03-14-2016, 08:53 AM
I like that Seton Hall hasn't been to the dance since 2006 --was in the NIT in 2012.

Our dance experience will help.

This adds pressure that can't be dismissed. These seniors were in 7th grade the last time Seton Hall danced. That adds a wee-bit-o'-pressure.

gcarlson838664
03-14-2016, 09:01 AM
I think the altitude could be a factor..especially since SH is such a physical team.....and we don't have many bodies to put in. There are ways to counter the altitude without being there for a long time. In fact, without being there at all. Wish I could suggest something to the team trainer.....oh well.

Encourage them to go up Mt. Spokane and jog the ski runs each day. Of course they just finished some bruising at 2,000' in Vegas and 4,500' in Provo and that should help...

kitzbuel
03-14-2016, 09:01 AM
It almost seems to me that the Committee couldn't figure out how to seed or slot either one so they just threw them together to let the game figure it out.

mgadfly
03-14-2016, 09:02 AM
I'm not sure what to think of this match up. With Isaiah Whitehead they have a guy that can single-handedly win them some tourney games. I usually hate going against teams like that ever since Curry went off on us in the first round 8 or 9 years ago. I also don't like it that they seem to be playing their best basketball right now and have defeated some very good teams lately. Also, with the exception of Butler, they have proven capable of making adjustments and beating the teams (including Nova) that knocked them around some earlier this season.

So an athletic squad with a legit super star surrounded by some good players (even if they aren't deep) playing fantastic basketball the past few weeks. It feels a little like 2008 where we had Heytvelt, Daye, and Sacre inside and they weren't going to be able to match up with our size.

But on the other hand, Ochefu had 20 and 18 against them. James Farr had 24 and 15 in Xavier's win and 17 and 8 and then 18 and 10 in Xavier's second loss. Xavier appears to be the most interior oriented team they've faced and they did struggle against Farr.

Based on what Farr did I think Sabonis, if he can stay out of foul trouble, could have a huge game. But even with Farr tearing them up inside, they beat Xavier 2 out 3 times. So can Wiltjer get his shot off against athletic wing defenders? Can human-fouling machine Sanogo not put Wiltjer on the free throw line? Will the refs swallow their whistles (and would that be a bad thing)?

I wish we had Karnowski, there is no way their second biggest guy could guard Sabonis.

Reborn
03-14-2016, 09:22 AM
IMO there is no easy game in the NCAA Tournament. There is no advantage in playing any team. I have always felt that if there is an advantage at all it's where you play, and being seeded in the Denver pod does help Gonzaga, imo. All of the other six seeds are as good as Seton Hall or better in my opinion. The other three 6 seeds are Arizona, Notre Dame and Texas. Arizona lost to Oregon in overtime and had a chance to win the game at the foul line and didn't. This game coming up on Thursday, for me is like the SMU game. I think that Seton Hall will be a lot like them. Both teams have a great scoring guard. The Zags lost to SMU but certainly were at a huge disadvantage in that game for several reasons: played @ Portland just two days before, had 3 road games before going to SMU, played @ SMU and they have GREAT FANS. And actually SMU is ranked higher than Seton Hall. I'm glad that we played @ SMU now. I hated that game at first because it put the Zags in a funk I think, and it took them awhile to get out of it. SMU was a rugged team with tough post players who were also not real tall. Wiltjer did not have a good game, and I believe the loss put him in a funk. But now I can certainly see that that game will prepare us for Thursday's game. GU also played UCONN and Texas A&M which were also tough teams. I know that Seton Hall does not believe that the Zags are tough, and I'm glad that they have that attitude. Our OOC schedule has helped us in many, many ways, and when you compare it to Seton Hall's OOC games ours is ten times tougher. In fact Seton Hall only played one good team and that was Witchita State. Yes, they beat Villanova and Xavier but those two teams are in their conference and they knew both teams really well. It will be completely different than preparing for the Zags.

Go Zags!!!

jbslicer
03-14-2016, 09:56 AM
Len Elmore is not one of the announcers and that is a good thing.

Zagdawg
03-14-2016, 12:09 PM
Have we heard when the team is heading to Denver?

I guess Seton Hall is flying out today to get the team acclimated.

Bogozags
03-14-2016, 12:21 PM
Just some facts and figures on Seton Hall. They don’t have much depth, playing six with major minutes and one limited.

I have broken down their statistics over the last ten games:

Whitehead: 35mpg, averaged 23.5ppg on 15 shots (43%), averages 4 3’s per game on 8 shots (47%), 75% FTs, 4.4rpg, 5.3apg, 4.4tpg, 2.2bpg, and 3fpg.

Carrington: 32mpg, 15ppg on 12 shots (44%), 2.1 3’spg on 6 shots (34%), 85% FTs, 3.3rpg, 2.5apg, and 2tpg

Sonogo: 30mpg, 5.3ppg on 3.3 shots (50%), zero 3pg, 79% FTs, 6.4rpg, 1.3apg, 1.2tpg, and 3.3fpg.

Delgado: 30.4mpg, 9ppg on 7 shots (53%), zero 3pg on one shot (0%), 53%FTs, 7.8rpg, 1apg, 2tpg 1.1bpg and 3fpg.

Rodriguez: 28.3mpg, 14.9ppg on 10 shots (51%), one 3pt on two shots (41%), 76%FTs, 5.5rpg, 2apg, and 2tpg.

Gordon: 21mpg, 6.3ppg on 7 shots (42%), .5 3’spg on 1.5 shots (33%), 44%FTs, 2.4rpg, 1apg, and 1.6tpg.

Nzei: 9mpg, .7ppg on 1.4shots (50%), zero 3pg (0%), .25%FTs, 2.3rpg, 0apg, and 1tpg.

I believe this team will play similarly to the two times we played St. Johns. They are quick and athletic. They have two 3pt threats in Whitehead and Carrington. They averaged 76ppg their last ten games. They shot 42% from the field and 37% from behind the arc. They held their opponents to 38%FG and only 29% from behind the arc. They were out rebounded 34-33.7 per game. They forced 11.2 TOs while averaging 13.8. They lost two of their last ten games both to Butler. In those two games they were out shot and out rebounded. In their game against Xavier, they had 25 TOs and still won.

Another tidbit: Whitehead, Sonogo and Delgado do get themselves into foul trouble, which could well have an impact on the game.

To me the keys are containing Whitehead, who is a taller Nic Moore, limit our fouls, block out and take good shots. I think this games comes down to execution and adjustments at the half.

thebigeast
03-14-2016, 07:39 PM
Test

Zag_Dad
03-14-2016, 07:40 PM
Test

Welcome to the board BigEast... what can you tell us about Seton Hall?

Hoopaholic
03-14-2016, 07:42 PM
Test

we wont run you off....feel free to post and engage:cheers:

thebigeast
03-14-2016, 07:52 PM
Hey guys, I'm a Seton Hall fan and I've been reading your board a little and some of the things being said could be best described as inaccurate. I thought I might try to clarify a few things and give you a little overview of the Seton Hall team. A Gonzaga fan did the same thing on our board and it was very informative.

First of all Ismael Sanogo is not the point guard. That would be Isaiah Whitehead. Sanogo plays PF. As for his scoring average, don't let that fool you. He is not about scoring. His role is defense, rebounding, defense and more defense. He is listed at 6'8" and he is long, quick and extremely athletic. He gets in the passing lanes and creates havoc by causing numerous deflections. He is also a pretty decent shot blocker. Because of his quickness he can guard the 2, 3 or 4. And if needed, he can guard the 5 if our big men are in foul trouble. Not your typical PF. Besides Whitehead, he would be the next most important player on the floor for us.

Desi Rodriguez, at 6'6", is a SF/G. He is unbelievably athletic. One of your posters said that we have two 3-point shooters (Whitehead & Carrington), but that's not be accurate. Rodriguez is our third 3-point threat. But he is also our strongest driver to the basket. He is quick & explosive and will blow by slower defenders. On top of that, he can jump out of the building. He is know for his thunderous dunks, one of which won the ESPN top play of the day about a month ago. He also has a great touch from 8' to 10'. He'll drive and then pull up and hit a soft floater, especially along the baseline. Attitude has been a problem with him this year and coach Willard benched him on several occasions and even suspended him for one game. But if he is focused and in the zone he can be almost impossible to defend because he can beat you in so many ways.

Khadeen Carrington is our two-guard. He is great at driving, penetrating and either taking it to the hoop or hitting the pull up jumper. He is also quick and very athletic. He excels in transition and on the break. Although not a great outside shooter last year, he has made great strides this season as a 3-point threat. He can be streaky from 3 at times, but when on, can be a game changer. In the first two games of the Big East tournament, he scored 27 and 21 on 8-15 from the 3-point line. He was our best player those first two games. He and Whitehead provide a great 1-2 punch.

Angel Delgado is listed at 6'9" and he plays the 5, although he is really more of a 4. He is a ferocious rebounder. He led the Big East in rebounding as a Freshman and was second this year. He also led the Big East in offensive rebounds per game. He has good, but not great touch around the basket. He can score in bunches, but if he doesn't get involved in the offense early in the game, he tends to have sub 10-point games. He can disappear offensively at times. When he is involved in the offense, he can be dominant. He had a streak of 7 double-doubles in a row around the middle of the season and he had another streak of 4 in a row towards the end of the season. The last four were 15 pts.-17 reb., 13-12, 19-13 and 19-13. Those last two were against Marquette and Georgetown who both have pretty good big men. Angel is very emotional and sometimes that can get him into trouble. Last year, fouls were a big problem for him, but he has made a big improvement in that area this year. Not a great free throw shooter, he is shooting 55% compared to 41% last year.

Isaiah Whitehead is our 6'4" point guard. A McDonalds All-American shooting guard out of high school, he has been slow to adapt to the point guard position. As a matter of fact, he was not all that good at it for the first year and a half of his college career. He is extremely athletic and has uncanny court vision and is a great passer. However, he can sometimes force passes that turn into turnovers. He is good at driving to the basket and getting into the lane, but again can be a little out of control at times and wind up getting caught in the air with no place to go. He has active hands on defense and is a great shot blocker. He actually leads the nation in shot blocking for the guard position. Turnovers are still his biggest problem. For the first half of this year he shot about 34%, but as of the last month or so, all that has changed, especially over the last 10 games. In nine of those ten games he scored 20 points or more. In five of them 25 or more. If you remove the St. Johns game from the numbers, he has shot 47% from the field and 50% (36-72) from 3-point line. He has what has been called "Stefan Curry range" from 3-point land. Check out the 38-footer he hit against Xavier (youtube). He has been a dominant player over the past month+, hitting critical and clutch shots again and again. These are the same shots that he couldn't seem to make during the first year and a half of his career. But that seems to be behind him now. If you can't slow him down, it will be much more difficult to defeat Seton Hall.

Derrick Gordon is a 6'3" guard and the first man off the bench. He is the only senior on the team (5th year graduate transfer) and he was brought here to play defense and be a leader. He is regarded as one of the best on-ball defensive guards in the country. Typically assigned to the opposing teams best guard or small forward, he has shut down some of the Big East's best scorers. Most notably, two-time Big East Player of the Year and projected lottery pick, Providence's Kris Dunn. There have been several times this year when he literally turned games around with his relentless defense. Not a great outside shooter, he has been hitting his shots of late. He gets most of his points driving to the basket, so any points he scores from the outside are just like found money. He hit two big 3's in the Big East Championship game that were instrumental in the win.

Mike Nzei is a 6'7" PF and the second man off the bench. Again, he is another athletic player who can run the floor. He is very similar to Sanogo in the way he plays. The difference being that he is not the defensive player that Sanogo is, but he is a more polished offensive player. He is a better finisher around the rim and is a solid rebounder.

This probably will be a down to the wire game which could go either way. What I will say is that this Seton Hall team has not received much respect during this season from the press or the media. The team has kind of taken that to heart and has the attitude that they will just go out and prove everyone wrong. They just won the Big East tournament by beating the #5 and the #3 teams in the country in a span of 24 hours and for that their reward is they get sent 3/4 of the way across the country. On top of that they get to play you guys, and if they win, most likely Utah, in what will probably be a less than friendly environment. I know the Seton Hall fans aren't happy about this, but the team and the coaches, to their credit, have taken the high road. Good luck to you guys on Thursday. I'm sure it's going to be a great game.

Hoopaholic
03-14-2016, 07:59 PM
Hey guys, I'm a Seton Hall fan and I've been reading your board a little and some of the things being said could be best described as inaccurate. I thought I might try to clarify a few things and give you a little overview of the Seton Hall team. A Gonzaga fan did the same thing on our board and it was very informative.

First of all Ismael Sanogo is not the point guard. That would be Isaiah Whitehead. Sanogo plays PF. As for his scoring average, don't let that fool you. He is not about scoring. His role is defense, rebounding, defense and more defense. He is listed at 6'8" and he is long, quick and extremely athletic. He gets in the passing lanes and creates havoc by causing numerous deflections. He is also a pretty decent shot blocker. Because of his quickness he can guard the 2, 3 or 4. And if needed, he can guard the 5 if our big men are in foul trouble. Not your typical PF. Besides Whitehead, he would be the next most important player on the floor for us.

Desi Rodriguez, at 6'6", is a SF/G. He is unbelievably athletic. One of your posters said that we have two 3-point shooters (Whitehead & Carrington), but that's not be accurate. Rodriguez is our third 3-point threat. But he is also our strongest driver to the basket. He is quick & explosive and will blow by slower defenders. On top of that, he can jump out of the building. He is know for his thunderous dunks, one of which won the ESPN top play of the day about a month ago. He also has a great touch from 8' to 10'. He'll drive and then pull up and hit a soft floater, especially along the baseline. Attitude has been a problem with him this year and coach Willard benched him on several occasions and even suspended him for one game. But if he is focused and in the zone he can be almost impossible to defend because he can beat you in so many ways.

Khadeen Carrington is our two-guard. He is great at driving, penetrating and either taking it to the hoop or hitting the pull up jumper. He is also quick and very athletic. He excels in transition and on the break. Although not a great outside shooter last year, he has made great strides this season as a 3-point threat. He can be streaky from 3 at times, but when on, can be a game changer. In the first two games of the Big East tournament, he scored 27 and 21 on 8-15 from the 3-point line. He was our best player those first two games. He and Whitehead provide a great 1-2 punch.

Angel Delgado is listed at 6'9" and he plays the 5, although he is really more of a 4. He is a ferocious rebounder. He led the Big East in rebounding as a Freshman and was second this year. He also led the Big East in offensive rebounds per game. He has good, but not great touch around the basket. He can score in bunches, but if he doesn't get involved in the offense early in the game, he tends to have sub 10-point games. He can disappear offensively at times. When he is involved in the offense, he can be dominant. He had a streak of 7 double-doubles in a row around the middle of the season and he had another streak of 4 in a row towards the end of the season. The last four were 15 pts.-17 reb., 13-12, 19-13 and 19-13. Those last two were against Marquette and Georgetown who both have pretty good big men. Angel is very emotional and sometimes that can get him into trouble. Last year, fouls were a big problem for him, but he has made a big improvement in that area this year. Not a great free throw shooter, he is shooting 55% compared to 41% last year.

Isaiah Whitehead is our 6'4" point guard. A McDonalds All-American shooting guard out of high school, he has been slow to adapt to the point guard position. As a matter of fact, he was not all that good at it for the first year and a half of his college career. He is extremely athletic and has uncanny court vision and is a great passer. However, he can sometimes force passes that turn into turnovers. He is good at driving to the basket and getting into the lane, but again can be a little out of control at times and wind up getting caught in the air with no place to go. He has active hands on defense and is a great shot blocker. He actually leads the nation in shot blocking for the guard position. Turnovers are still his biggest problem. For the first half of this year he shot about 34%, but as of the last month or so, all that has changed, especially over the last 10 games. In nine of those ten games he scored 20 points or more. In five of them 25 or more. If you remove the St. Johns game from the numbers, he has shot 47% from the field and 50% (36-72) from 3-point line. He has what has been called "Stefan Curry range" from 3-point land. Check out the 38-footer he hit against Xavier (youtube). He has been a dominant player over the past month+, hitting critical and clutch shots again and again. These are the same shots that he couldn't seem to make during the first year and a half of his career. But that seems to be behind him now. If you can't slow him down, it will be much more difficult to defeat Seton Hall.

Derrick Gordon is a 6'3" guard and the first man off the bench. He is the only senior on the team (5th year graduate transfer) and he was brought here to play defense and be a leader. He is regarded as one of the best on-ball defensive guards in the country. Typically assigned to the opposing teams best guard or small forward, he has shut down some of the Big East's best scorers. Most notably, two-time Big East Player of the Year and projected lottery pick, Providence's Kris Dunn. There have been several times this year when he literally turned games around with his relentless defense. Not a great outside shooter, he has been hitting his shots of late. He gets most of his points driving to the basket, so any points he scores from the outside are just like found money. He hit two big 3's in the Big East Championship game that were instrumental in the win.

Mike Nzei is a 6'7" PF and the second man off the bench. Again, he is another athletic player who can run the floor. He is very similar to Sanogo in the way he plays. The difference being that he is not the defensive player that Sanogo is, but he is a more polished offensive player. He is a better finisher around the rim and is a solid rebounder.

This probably will be a down to the wire game which could go either way. What I will say is that this Seton Hall team has not received much respect during this season from the press or the media. The team has kind of taken that to heart and has the attitude that they will just go out and prove everyone wrong. They just won the Big East tournament by beating the #5 and the #3 teams in the country in a span of 24 hours and for that their reward is they get sent 3/4 of the way across the country. On top of that they get to play you guys, and if they win, most likely Utah, in what will probably be a less than friendly environment. I know the Seton Hall fans aren't happy about this, but the team and the coaches, to their credit, have taken the high road. Good luck to you guys on Thursday. I'm sure it's going to be a great game.

If I switched names around a little bit I might have confused yourwrite up for some of the zag players (minus the extreme athleticism you describe) and especially the lack of respect from press and media

sounds like it will boil down to your interior ability to stop our bigs and our ability to slow down your guards......shall be interesting and fun game

thanks for the recap

Zag_Dad
03-14-2016, 08:01 PM
Good post BigEast, thanks for sharing

Hoopaholic
03-14-2016, 08:02 PM
the bigeast

how does your 4 man defend out on the perimeter?

do you think the team will rely on single post defense or look to double down?

did you guys see much zone and if so how did you fare?

Once and Future Zag
03-14-2016, 08:08 PM
from twitter


ESPN Stats & InfoVerified account ‏@ESPNStatsInfo Mar 13
ESPN Stats & Info Retweeted ESPN Stats & Info
Most Likely Double-Digit Seeds to make Sweet 16 - Per BPI

Gonzaga - 33%
Pittsburgh - 17%
VCU/Wichita St. - 16%

thebigeast
03-14-2016, 08:19 PM
Sanogo is a unique player who has unusual quickness for a 6'8" guy. That quickness and his long arms allow him to defend on the perimeter when necessary. You've probably not seen to many players with his ability.

Against Villanova (a team who loves to shoot the 3) on Saturday, they pretty much defended the three point line. If you guys look to take the three first and then look inside, they will probably do the same. But if your first option is to pound it inside, I would guess that they would double down.

No, I would say there is not a whole lot of zone in the Big East. Xavier plays a 1-3-1 which initially gave us some problems, but they were able to adjust and figure it out. The other times we faced it, I would say we did okay. But no teams in the Big East play predominantly zone like Syracuse used to.

Hoopaholic
03-14-2016, 08:26 PM
Sanogo is a unique player who has unusual quickness for a 6'8" guy. That quickness and his long arms allow him to defend on the perimeter when necessary. You've probably not seen to many players with his ability.

Against Villanova (a team who loves to shoot the 3) on Saturday, they pretty much defended the three point line. If you guys look to take the three first and then look inside, they will probably do the same. But if your first option is to pound it inside, I would guess that they would double down.

No, I would say there is not a whole lot of zone in the Big East. Xavier plays a 1-3-1 which initially gave us some problems, but they were able to adjust and figure it out. The other times we faced it, I would say we did okay. But no teams in the Big East play predominantly zone like Syracuse used to.

shall be an interesting chess match......best of luck

demian
03-14-2016, 08:51 PM
Len Elmore is not one of the announcers and that is a good thing.

THIS IS MY FAVORITE POST ON THIS THREAD = CANT STAND LEN ELMORE

demian
03-14-2016, 08:54 PM
Thanks for the post thebigeast appreciate your info and you taking the time to drop by

demian
03-14-2016, 09:00 PM
I think this Gonzaga team has tough players. Perkins is a tough PG I think. Very Athletic in his own right. McClellan is really tough in my opinion. Sabonis is TOUGH. Dranginis is a tough player. Wiltjer isn't a bruiser but he is tough and will battle. This Gonzaga team has not suffered from toughness but more of a lack of skill on perimeter and depth in the post.

GeorgiaZagFan
03-14-2016, 11:05 PM
I like it. Has anybody watched many of their games this year that could provide insight?

I see Seton Hall as similar to SMU....they only play 7 players (6 soph and 1 senior), guard oriented team. Their big guys listed at 6-9, 6-7, and 6-7 are mainly rebounders while most of their scoring comes from their guards.

Even though the Zags lost at SMU, there were some circumstances that gives you hope. First of all it was a Saturday road game to Dallas after playing Thursday in Portland. Wiltjer was 2-17 for the game and while Ben Moore played some good defense, their were many good looks for Kyle that just wouldn't fall. McLellan, Perkins and Wiltjer combined to go 6 for 33 and still the Zags held a 4 point lead with about 9 minutes to go. Ended up losing by 9 but game was much closer until the end. That was also a game where the Zags shot 4-7 free throws and SMU was 13-18. I will tell you right now if Wiltjer goes 2-17 and Perkins/McClellan combine to go 4-16 and Seton Hall out scores us by 9 from the line, the Zags will not win...

I know the Seton Hall fans think the Zags play in a weak conference and that "The Hall" will win this game easily, just like the St. Johns fans, the West Virginia fans, Iowa fans, OK State fans, and Florida State fans before them ...all major conference teams that got knocked out by the "weak conference" Zags! Hope their players fall into that trap as well.

ZagaZags
03-14-2016, 11:58 PM
I think GU has a nice path to the Sweet 16. Gonzaga hasn't lost by much this season, biggest loss was to SMU (9pts) The Zags have continued to improve as the season moved on. If GU can stay out of foul trouble and avoid turnovers, they should still be playing next week in the Sweet 16.


#25 Texas A&M, 62-61.

#19 Arizona, 68-63.

UCLA, 71-66.

BYU, 69-68.

Saint Mary's, 70-67.

#16 SMU, 69-60.

Saint Mary's, 63-58.

Gonzaga 75
Seton Hall 69

Bogozags
03-15-2016, 07:29 AM
I think GU has a nice path to the Sweet 16. Gonzaga hasn't lost by much this season, biggest loss was to SMU (9pts) The Zags have continued to improve as the season moved on. If GU can stay out of foul trouble and avoid turnovers, they should still be playing next week in the Sweet 16.


#25 Texas A&M, 62-61.

#19 Arizona, 68-63.

UCLA, 71-66.

BYU, 69-68.

Saint Mary's, 70-67.

#16 SMU, 69-60.

Saint Mary's, 63-58.

Gonzaga 75
Seton Hall 69

ZZ, I'm sure you are aware that we have not lost a game this season, when we have scored at least 70pts. I hope this holds true for us! :)

thebigeast
03-15-2016, 09:29 AM
GeorgiaZagFan, I can assure you that no Seton Hall fan who has been a true follower of this team for the past 15+ years thinks that Seton Hall will win this game easily. We take nothing for granted and especially against a team as good as yours. If you come across any SHU fan who thinks this will be an easy win, they just don't know what they are talking about.

jim77
03-15-2016, 10:52 AM
Encourage them to go up Mt. Spokane and jog the ski runs each day. Of course they just finished some bruising at 2,000' in Vegas and 4,500' in Provo and that should help...

Nope, not enough time to get fully acclimatized.

Just drink beet root juice.....full of nitrates...it allows the body to do more work with less oxygen. Tried a few times on bike rides....it works. Just make sure you drink a day before to make sure you're stomach doesn't have any problems....and don't be too shocked if your pee looks a bit red. Drink it 3 hours before game time.



Should be a good game...Whitehead will play in the NBA....it will be interesting to see how it unfolds.

TexasZagFan
03-15-2016, 11:10 AM
Nope, not enough time to get fully acclimatized.

Just drink beet root juice.....full of nitrates...it allows the body to do more work with less oxygen. Tried a few times on bike rides....it works. Just make sure you drink a day before to make sure you're stomach doesn't have any problems....and don't be too shocked if your pee looks a bit red. Drink it 3 hours before game time.



Should be a good game...Whitehead will play in the NBA....it will be interesting to see how it unfolds.

First time I ate beets in quantity, it scared the you know what out of me. Very unnerving to see dark red urine when you're a typical hypochondriac teen. You're thinking internal bleeding and a painful, lingering death. :lmao:

seacatfan
03-15-2016, 11:25 AM
It's just anecdotal, but I go hiking all the time in the mountains in Washington and other nearby states. It seems to me even a couple days of being at elevation starts to make a difference. If I had anything to do with it, I'd get the team to Denver as soon as possible.

Bogozags
03-15-2016, 11:30 AM
First time I ate beets in quantity, it scared the you know what out of me. Very unnerving to see dark red urine when you're a typical hypochondriac teen. You're thinking internal bleeding and a painful, lingering death. :lmao:

I had to eat them every week while growing up (beets, onions with oil and vinegar) as my mother said they kept my blood red!

You can imagine how peeved I was when I brought that up in Biology...I became an instant hit with my classmates!

TexasZagFan
03-15-2016, 11:52 AM
I had to eat them every week while growing up (beets, onions with oil and vinegar) as my mother said they kept my blood red!

You can imagine how peeved I was when I brought that up in Biology...I became an instant hit with my classmates!

That's awful, and I can't stand pickled beets!

ZagsObserver
03-15-2016, 12:00 PM
Should be a great game bigeast. Physical, athletic guards have given the Zags problems in the past, so hoping our young guards don't get frazzled under the pressure.



GeorgiaZagFan, I can assure you that no Seton Hall fan who has been a true follower of this team for the past 15+ years thinks that Seton Hall will win this game easily. We take nothing for granted and especially against a team as good as yours. If you come across any SHU fan who thinks this will be an easy win, they just don't know what they are talking about.

siliconzag
03-15-2016, 02:26 PM
Just returned from the Big East Tournament. I am a Creighton fan and had hoped the Jays might steal a victory against Seton Hall. It was a terrific game. Whitehead is the real deal and I don't know how the Zags can stop him. Seton Hall is prone to careless fouls, but in the tournament this is generally not as big a problem. They also are vulnerable to pressure defense (especially full court). Creighton came from down double digits to take the lead, so there is hope. Seton Hall is hot at the right time. I know that this will not make me popular, but I do't see the Zags winning this. In order for the Zags to win, they absolutely must shoot lights out from 3. SH rebounds very well and they defend the paint better than anybody in the WCC. Anyway, good luck to the Zags, we are going to need it. SH 80 GU 71.

ZagsObserver
03-15-2016, 06:37 PM
Thanks for the perspective, siliconzag. It will be a tough game, agreed. The Zags simply need to play good perimeter defense, play to their strengths down low and control the tempo. Threes will be helpful but not imperative for victory.


Just returned from the Big East Tournament. I am a Creighton fan and had hoped the Jays might steal a victory against Seton Hall. It was a terrific game. Whitehead is the real deal and I don't know how the Zags can stop him. Seton Hall is prone to careless fouls, but in the tournament this is generally not as big a problem. They also are vulnerable to pressure defense (especially full court). Creighton came from down double digits to take the lead, so there is hope. Seton Hall is hot at the right time. I know that this will not make me popular, but I do't see the Zags winning this. In order for the Zags to win, they absolutely must shoot lights out from 3. SH rebounds very well and they defend the paint better than anybody in the WCC. Anyway, good luck to the Zags, we are going to need it. SH 80 GU 71.

Zagceo
03-15-2016, 06:57 PM
That's awful, and I can't stand pickled beets!

OK I love beets……….where can I find these beets you allude to that may not be pickled?

GeorgiaZagFan
03-15-2016, 08:31 PM
GeorgiaZagFan, I can assure you that no Seton Hall fan who has been a true follower of this team for the past 15+ years thinks that Seton Hall will win this game easily. We take nothing for granted and especially against a team as good as yours. If you come across any SHU fan who thinks this will be an easy win, they just don't know what they are talking about.

Thanks for the comment and I agree with you...no truly knowledgeable basketball fan would expect this game to be a blow out either way. With both teams primarily only playing 6 players I hope the refs let them play and don't call silly, ticky-tack fouls on either team. I know the Zags are missing their #1 big man (Karnowski) and now the primary backup big man (Edwards) is injured so if either Wiltjer or Sabonis get into foul trouble it could be a blow out for Seton Hall. Does Seton Hall only play 6-7 players because of injuries or by design?

jim77
03-15-2016, 11:44 PM
The Zags NEED to play zone D cause anybody we put in front of Whitehead will get smoked. Make SH beat us with the 3 ball. Pack it in....it will also help our rebounding and foul situation....don't play their game.

raise the zag
03-16-2016, 03:12 AM
Just returned from the Big East Tournament. I am a Creighton fan and had hoped the Jays might steal a victory against Seton Hall. It was a terrific game. Whitehead is the real deal and I don't know how the Zags can stop him. Seton Hall is prone to careless fouls, but in the tournament this is generally not as big a problem. They also are vulnerable to pressure defense (especially full court). Creighton came from down double digits to take the lead, so there is hope. Seton Hall is hot at the right time. I know that this will not make me popular, but I do't see the Zags winning this. In order for the Zags to win, they absolutely must shoot lights out from 3. SH rebounds very well and they defend the paint better than anybody in the WCC. Anyway, good luck to the Zags, we are going to need it. SH 80 GU 71.

Lost me here, as there hasn't been a NCAA Tournament where the Big East and/or Big Ten complain about how much tighter the games are called in the Tourney.

Those teams are able to play physical all conference long sans a whistle, then ultimately hurt by foul trouble come Tournament time. Complaints and grievances are made every season, and subsequent foul issues faced by BE and BT teams as a result.

This could help or hurt the Zags given our lack of depth this season, especially on the frontline.

FWIW, Coach Willard of Seton Hall compared the Zags to Marquette and Creighton. He said there are definitely similarities in that we like to spread teams out, pass the ball well, efficient offense, and utilize our bigs all over the court.

However, he went on to say Zags' bigs are on another level compared to those teams in terms of skill, craftiness, and offense. He even mentioned Marquette's bigs being drafted in 1st Round, but said Zags' bigs were the most impressive duo he's seen on film in a 'long, long time'. Mentioned Grozell(sp?) of Creighton and Enuffson(sp?) of Marquette, before stating, "Sabonis is just more skilled underneath".

Could be Coach speak, but seemed sincere and somewhat concerned.

He specifically praised Eric McClellan as well, saying he's vastly underrated, and that Perkins improved markedly from when he saw us in December.

That said, Coach Willard is forthright in his confidence, believing he has the best Guard tandem in the Tournament, and doesn't think anyone can guard Whitehead. He's probably right on in terms of talent and attributes.

Should be an interesting game.

Foul trouble could decimate either team. Imagine if Wiltjer or Sabonis get 2 early cheap fouls? We are done. Imagine if one of Seton Hall's only rebounding bigs get in foul trouble? They won't be able to contain our bigs for 40 mins.

Contrasting styles.

Elite guards vs Elite bigs.

Both teams have future lottery/Top-20 pics.

Our bigs are better, their guards are better. The good news is, I think our guards are capable of raising their games to collectively match their guards, but their bigs cannot raise their game to match our bigs, so IF clicking on all cylinders, well, we can win.

We've been the 11 seed, facing a Top-3 Big East team before…when NO ONE picked us, when NO ONE thought we could contain their guards, or even all-american big. We did.

Anything can happen.

GonzagasaurusFlex
03-16-2016, 03:25 AM
The Zags NEED to play zone D cause anybody we put in front of Whitehead will get smoked. Make SH beat us with the 3 ball. Pack it in....it will also help our rebounding and foul situation....don't play their game.

Playing zone will not help Zags rebounding. Biggest drawback to playing zone is that it is more difficult to find a man, box out and secure the defensive boards.

This will be a real interesting tactical decision by Coach Few. Playing zone should protect Sabonis and Wiltjer from picking up cheap fouls if our guards are getting beat off the dribble, and I read somewhere that Seton Hall has not faced a lot of zone defense this season. The key will be if Zags can rebound out of the zone effectively.

thebigeast
03-16-2016, 05:35 AM
Thanks for the comment and I agree with you...no truly knowledgeable basketball fan would expect this game to be a blow out either way. With both teams primarily only playing 6 players I hope the refs let them play and don't call silly, ticky-tack fouls on either team. I know the Zags are missing their #1 big man (Karnowski) and now the primary backup big man (Edwards) is injured so if either Wiltjer or Sabonis get into foul trouble it could be a blow out for Seton Hall. Does Seton Hall only play 6-7 players because of injuries or by design?

They play 7 players by design. There are no injuries. They used to play 8 with Veer Singh getting 8-10 minutes a game, but his playing time has virtually disappeared. He is a freshman and is a 3-point specialist, although he hasn't shot it particularly well. That's probably why he rarely sees any time on the court. He did hit 4 3's in a game earlier this year, so he is capable, but I don't think he'll get much of a chance unless guys are in foul trouble. We do play a 9th guy, backup center Rasheed Anthony. He usually will spell Delgado for several minutes in the first half and then only see time in the second half if Delgado is in major foul trouble.