PDA

View Full Version : Would like to hear from Fans in Attendance...



CdAZagFan
03-08-2016, 11:34 PM
What the crowd was like... On TV the GU crowd made a good showing, but curious how many Gael fans were in attendance. And were there more combined fans there for the BYU game, than the SMC game?

sylean
03-09-2016, 12:16 AM
not as many Gaels as Cougars.....the attendance for the Zags was terrific and especially tonite, everyone...EVERYONE....was standing, cheering, clapping....it was thunderous when Eric did the jam....just thunderous....and people stayed around for the ceremonies and the cutting down of the nets...and there were still people around when they exited...very happy young men making all the fans very happy as well.....in the casino, when the band came thru carrying their instruments, they even got clapped at.....

saw the Mr. Sabonis and who I think was his dtr.....very very big people.....did not know it was him until I saw him hugging his son down on the gym floor...

Birddog
03-09-2016, 03:31 AM
saw the Mr. Sabonis and who I think was his dtr.....very very big people.....did not know it was him until I saw him hugging his son down on the gym floor...
Some one should have arranged for an image of Arvydas, Ryan and Shem together.

Robzagnut
03-09-2016, 04:26 AM
saw the Mr. Sabonis and who I think was his dtr.....very very big people.....did not know it was him until I saw him hugging his son down on the gym floor...

So there were a lot of 7' 3" Hall of Famers at the game? ;)

Section 116
03-09-2016, 04:46 AM
According to the boxscores the attendance was just over 7400 for the championship game, just over 8300 for the BYU semifinal. Not surprising considering the traveling fan bases. I did see a smattering of BYU fans at the final, don't know who they were rooting for. But as others here have noted that fan base is the most obnoxious in the league by far, and probably in the country for that matter!

zagbeliever
03-09-2016, 05:14 AM
There were so MANY Zags. Very much a home game only everyone participated in cheering. I had my picture taken with Domas' dad. I look like a midget lol. I would post picture but on my phone and not sure how. So much fun. Electric atmosphere

Zagcity
03-09-2016, 06:14 AM
There were so MANY Zags. Very much a home game only everyone participated in cheering. I had my picture taken with Domas' dad. I look like a midget lol. I would post picture but on my phone and not sure how. So much fun. Electric atmosphere

Someone please give em the directions to post, would love to see :)

ProjectMKUltra5
03-09-2016, 06:34 AM
There were so MANY Zags. Very much a home game only everyone participated in cheering. I had my picture taken with Domas' dad. I look like a midget lol. I would post picture but on my phone and not sure how. So much fun. Electric atmosphere

If you download Tapatalk you can post the pictures straight from your phone. It's hella easy

3zagda
03-09-2016, 06:52 AM
Crowds were great, Refs not so much. Many more empty seats than Monday night. I did recognize a few BYU fans from the night before.
The Gael guy mascot should make a Geico commercial!
I would say we outnumbered the Gael fans 2 or 3 to 1.

sittingon50
03-09-2016, 07:21 AM
On TV it appeared that the seats in the one end zone (where I was sitting last year) were about 1/3 full.

For those of you that commented on another thread that the WCC needs to move into a bigger venue; please! :fingergun:

CDC84
03-09-2016, 08:55 AM
I think that whole thing is clearly the WCC commish trying to get the best deal possible. I would imagine that the Orleans folks will step up to the plate.

U Zig, I Zag
03-09-2016, 09:00 AM
Seems as if the WCC started this whole Vegas thing, right? How many other tourneys are there now?

hondo
03-09-2016, 09:24 AM
The WCC did start this whole tourney in Vegas trend and Vegas is making millions off of it. Truth is that the WCC would never have gone to Vegas if the Zags had not pushed in that direction.
So my modest proposal is that Vegas should comp all Zag fans for lodging and meals and some entertainment during the tourney.
After all, Vegas owes the Zags big time.

KOzag08
03-09-2016, 09:28 AM
Glad to hear the GU fans were passionate. I wish the Kennel had fans like that.

zagbeliever
03-09-2016, 09:52 AM
Thanks for the tip! http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160309/336ec26e30c09f5e722d1b4f812ed9f4.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160309/2088b9ef965e801d6636139d4ef66ce2.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160309/851d41205773832ca9cd89d1ba358e8c.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160309/9d13c3e2a1a937d3d60b37f4eea9292c.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

zagbeliever
03-09-2016, 09:53 AM
I am 5'4" but look like an elf next to Mr Sabonis [emoji1][emoji1][emoji1]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zagger
03-09-2016, 09:54 AM
Glad to hear the GU fans were passionate. I wish the Kennel had fans like that.

I saw a lot of the folks I see in the Kennel at the Oreans Arena. I think there were some distinct differences in fan passion due to 3 things: alcohol, people on vacation and the passionate play by the Zags. Fans, including students, we're ready to party. Plus, the team really got after it. The BYU & SMC games were spectacular. Most everything 'cheering based' flowed from GU's band who were courtside right in front of the majority of Zag fans. The band was seriously jazzed and dang near continually extolled the fans to join in on cheers, chants, etc. The band at times even turned around to face the fans to play. They were THE key to how well all the cheering went during any time it wasn't spontaneous due to the exciting Zag BB play that went on. The place REALLY rocked. If Tapatalk will do vids I'll uploaded some I took near the end of last night's game showing how many fans were on their feet. In my estimate Zag fans outnumbered Gael fans by AT LEAST 10/1 (if not 20/1). I'll bet even some of the wheelchair fans were on their feet! It was sublime! :)

ZagOD7540
03-09-2016, 09:56 AM
Anyone out there know where JWIII was? I didn't see him on the bench with Jeremy Jones and Williams-Goss

sittingon50
03-09-2016, 09:59 AM
Great photos, believer!!

MileHigh
03-09-2016, 10:05 AM
Anyone out there know where JWIII was? I didn't see him on the bench with Jeremy Jones and Williams-Goss

Transfers can not travel to away games unless they pay their own way. NGW is from Vegas so it was no issue for him. JJ's family ponied up so he could attend. JIII went home to Memphis since it was spring break

soccerdud
03-09-2016, 10:09 AM
Anyone out there know where JWIII was? I didn't see him on the bench with Jeremy Jones and Williams-Goss

visited with NWG out front after BYU. JWIII went home to memphis.

zagbeliever
03-09-2016, 10:14 AM
Glad to hear the GU fans were passionate. I wish the Kennel had fans like that.

Actually they really showed up for the St Mary's game whereas the left at half for BYU We were sitting next to them and they were loud and proud ( as were we). There was a first time to the game farmer from Moses Lake who decided to join the kennel kids lol. He was so fun. See attached picture. He's on the end http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160309/25ab41c0aa0b8f61d606cb9fa7daf9a6.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zagger
03-09-2016, 11:46 AM
Here are a couple vids from late in the SMC game .....
https://vimeo.com/158389678

This one includes the end of the SMC game.
Vids from my iPhone and first time using Tapatalk - hope they work! Go Zags!
https://vimeo.com/158389945


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TheGonzagaFactor
03-09-2016, 11:56 AM
Seems as if the WCC started this whole Vegas thing, right? How many other tourneys are there now?

Not correct. Mountain West was in Vegas before the WCC. MW started there in 2007, when the WCC Tournament was in Portland.

The Mountain West started the Vegas trend.

zagbeliever
03-09-2016, 12:57 PM
If you download Tapatalk you can post the pictures straight from your phone. It's hella easy

Thank you!!

U Zig, I Zag
03-09-2016, 01:04 PM
Not correct. Mountain West was in Vegas before the WCC. MW started there in 2007, when the WCC Tournament was in Portland.

The Mountain West started the Vegas trend.

Should clarify, started w/o having a Nevada/LV connection. UNLV being in the MWC and Las Vegas being a destination makes sense. I mean, with other conferences with no LV connection coming to town. It makes perfect sense, having a destination location host the tourney. Make a vacation out of it for the fans.

meadgrad02
03-09-2016, 01:31 PM
Could someone who was there fill us in on how the postgame handshake went between Few and Bennett? Bennett has been known to be a little salty after loses to GU. On TV they showed Few walking toward Bennett, but then cut away to the team celebrating. I was like, NOOO!!!

ezcure17
03-09-2016, 01:37 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160309/b6e7cfe9049a44a6ecb709c894db4f91.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ezcure17
03-09-2016, 01:37 PM
A very happy crew!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

soccerdud
03-09-2016, 02:00 PM
Could someone who was there fill us in on how the postgame handshake went between Few and Bennett? Bennett has been known to be a little salty after loses to GU. On TV they showed Few walking toward Bennett, but then cut away to the team celebrating. I was like, NOOO!!!

bennett was fine. took time congratulating the players, too. was visiting with our neighbors about it. nothing at all for us to complain about this time.

Zagceo
03-09-2016, 02:08 PM
Soccer did ya see Zach Collins after the game?

Great game for a recruit to see up close and personal

ZagOD7540
03-09-2016, 02:08 PM
Could someone who was there fill us in on how the postgame handshake went between Few and Bennett? Bennett has been known to be a little salty after loses to GU. On TV they showed Few walking toward Bennett, but then cut away to the team celebrating. I was like, NOOO!!!

Nice post-I was wondering the same thing. Bennett always seems a little "butt hurt" at the time of the handshakes in years past.

soccerdud
03-09-2016, 02:36 PM
Soccer did ya see Zach Collins after the game?

Great game for a recruit to see up close and personal

saw him in the foyer after both the portland and BYU games. did NOT specifically see him after this one. means little, there was a lot going on. however, to my knowledge he didn't join the team and families on the floor for the aftermath.

lots of touching moments during the celebration, but definitely caught domas ask for one more picture with his dad (and the trophy) after a bunch of group ones. you can tell this meant so much to him.

Zagceo
03-09-2016, 02:42 PM
Thanks soccer.

Guessing if Zags win a few in tourney and Domas plays like usual ….favorable press will pump his draft number and if team Sabonis likes the city/team/coach ….Zag fans could have seen the last of Domas in Vegas. or not

ZagOD7540
03-09-2016, 02:51 PM
Hard to even envision "life without Domas" The kid has only been here for 2 years and think of the impact he has on this GU program. Every WCC coach is hoping he leaves ASAP. Every Zag fan is rooting for another year! Come back to work on that right hand!

Mantua
03-09-2016, 02:55 PM
There were so MANY Zags. Very much a home game only everyone participated in cheering. I had my picture taken with Domas' dad. I look like a midget lol. I would post picture but on my phone and not sure how. So much fun. Electric atmosphere

Was ther a long line for pictures with Arvydas? :D

That's very cool.

Coach Crazy
03-09-2016, 02:56 PM
Before the tournament started, I found myself thinking it more likely that he be staying. But watching him play in this tournament...even without the really consistent mid-range jumper...I am on the fence. IF WCC Tourney and early-season-torrid-pace Domas show up, then I wouldn't be surprised to see him get drafted. I want see the kid get what he wants. He deserves it. He is one of the great Zags of all time, IMO. Anything from here on out just tells me where on that list.

IF he comes back? Well, goodness. I think you'll be seeing some big press for Gonzaga again. But this time, we have the guard development to prove it.

soccerdud
03-09-2016, 02:59 PM
i've heard repeatedly that he loves it there and his parents value the education he's getting. i'm pretty optimistic he'll return, particularly if karno (who he's close with) sticks around.

if so, our post depth next year will be ridiculous. 4 proven ncaa players at 6'9" or bigger, a 7' McD's freshman, 2 6'10" euros (who have had injury problems this year), and maybe rui hachimura (could reclassify).

wonder whether we'll start to see a trend of some of our imports redshirting their freshman season? we *may* have gotten past the point of: "they didn't come this far to take a developmental year off", tho it clearly depends on the kid. our track record with both foreign players and redshirt development couldn't hurt.

CdAZagFan
03-09-2016, 03:16 PM
Great photos... Thanks for sharing. Would have loved to have been there. I do have one question on the WCC Champion T-Shirts - what will they do with the ones they printed with St. Mary's name on them?

ZagOD7540
03-09-2016, 03:19 PM
i've heard repeatedly that he loves it there and his parents value the education he's getting. i'm pretty optimistic he'll return, particularly if karno (who he's close with) sticks around.

if so, our post depth next year will be ridiculous. 4 proven ncaa players at 6'9" or bigger, a 7' McD's freshman, 2 6'11" euros (who have had injury problems this year), and maybe rui hachimura (could reclassify).

wonder whether we'll start to see a trend of some of our imports redshirting their freshman season? we *may* have gotten past the point of: "they didn't come this far to take a developmental year off", tho it clearly depends on the kid. our track record with both foreign players and redshirt development couldn't hurt.

What's the word on Larsen and Tillie? I heard that Larsen hasn't been playing much due to an injury?

Zagceo
03-09-2016, 03:21 PM
Great photos... Thanks for sharing. Would have loved to have been there. I do have one question on the WCC Champion T-Shirts - what will they do with the ones they printed with St. Mary's name on them?

Donated to far away places……like all

soccerdud
03-09-2016, 03:39 PM
What's the word on Larsen and Tillie? I heard that Larsen hasn't been playing much due to an injury?

i haven't heard much either. just that neither have really played this year. that's why we're seeing occasional rui highlight vids and zip from our euros. nothing about exactly what the injuries are or how long they are likely to be out, unfortunately.

Zagceo
03-09-2016, 04:39 PM
On TV it appeared that the seats in the one end zone (where I was sitting last year) were about 1/3 full.

For those of you that commented on another thread that the WCC needs to move into a bigger venue; please! :fingergun:

I don't really care about empty seats (turn the lights down like MSG) I'm more interested in having 3 more games in big venues which have similar sight lines like real 18K NCAA tournament sites.

I'd let the players have a say…….play 3 games in Orleans or 3 games in 18K stadium.

sittingon50
03-10-2016, 10:46 AM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/mar/09/gonzagas-ryan-edwards-expects-to-play-in-ncaa-tour/

Per Meehan's article. MGM & T-Mobile can be reconfigured. I can live with that.

zagbeliever
03-10-2016, 10:47 AM
Was ther a long line for pictures with Arvydas? :D

That's very cool.

No it was after the game and he and his wife and daughter were at the kiosk buying Zag gear. I felt a little like a silly fan girl but I was able to tell them all how terrific I think their son is :) and they all three thanked me for that.

TexasZagFan
03-10-2016, 01:17 PM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2016/mar/09/gonzagas-ryan-edwards-expects-to-play-in-ncaa-tour/

Per Meehan's article. MGM & T-Mobile can be reconfigured. I can live with that.

Just so long as they aren't "reconfigured" with the same style of black curtains used at Reliant in Houston. That was awful.

Bogozags
03-10-2016, 02:00 PM
Before the tournament started, I found myself thinking it more likely that he be staying. But watching him play in this tournament...even without the really consistent mid-range jumper...I am on the fence. IF WCC Tourney and early-season-torrid-pace Domas show up, then I wouldn't be surprised to see him get drafted. I want see the kid get what he wants. He deserves it. He is one of the great Zags of all time, IMO. Anything from here on out just tells me where on that list.

IF he comes back? Well, goodness. I think you'll be seeing some big press for Gonzaga again. But this time, we have the guard development to prove it.

Coach - I don't think he will leave after this year...just too much going on for him this summer. He will be practicing with their Olympic team so he won't have time for Summer League...

Also, he loves the relationship he has with the players and that is something his father never had the chance to experience...

I will gladly take bets both Domantas and PK return next year...



One more tidbit, spoke briefly with Arvydas briefly about Domantas and he was just beaming about his performance. I told him he taught him well and another smile appeared.

He seems like a "gentle giant" but he was one tough player...

Dogtownkid
03-10-2016, 02:43 PM
I'm going to bookmark this page so that I can read it again next year, and it will inspire me to go to the tournament. It sounds like so much fun.

zagcheer78
03-10-2016, 04:12 PM
This was our first trip out for the tourney. The whole experience was awesome. The pre game socials were fun BUT we decided that next time we will wear name tags with "Class of '78" on them as we spent a lot of time trying to find someone we knew. Met great folks, it's like an extended family.
Our seats were in section 110, behind the home basket and it was rocking. The band would encourage us to yell and we did not disappoint. It was so loud, especially during the BYU game that my ears were ringing.
My thoughts on why the crowd was so fired up because we (GU nation) had a tough year and we would not give up! So proud of our GU family and thankful to be part of it.