PDA

View Full Version : Which Seed Will Gonzaga Get.



ZagaZags
03-08-2016, 10:40 PM
With Selection Sunday coming March 13th, which seed will GU be awarded?

CdAZagFan
03-08-2016, 11:30 PM
Just so happy they're in that to me it doesn't matter. That being said, I'd prefer to see anything but an 8/9 seed...

maynard g krebs
03-08-2016, 11:52 PM
10 seed is where it all started; Minnesota, Stanford, Florida.

Zags11
03-09-2016, 12:18 AM
7 is my hope.

ZagaZags
03-09-2016, 12:20 AM
7 is my hope.

Wanna Bet?

Zags11
03-09-2016, 12:26 AM
I said I hope. Hope. Probably a 8-11 in all reality.

What is your gut?

gonstu
03-09-2016, 02:30 AM
9, denver.

Such a more pleasant thread than will we get in. Ahhhhhhh, relief!

Zags11
03-09-2016, 03:13 AM
9, denver.

Such a more pleasant thread than will we get in. Ahhhhhhh, relief!

110%

jazzdelmar
03-09-2016, 03:52 AM
8-9 vs a BCS mid pack team.....Vandy wd be fine and Nova in the next rd is salivating....love to play against Jay32.....:p

bigblahla
03-09-2016, 04:16 AM
8-9 vs a BCS mid pack team.....Vandy wd be fine and Nova in the next rd is salivating....love to play against Jay32.....:p

With you on this one Jazzmeister...my preference also...whew! We're In! :clap::cheers::000tens:

Go!! Zags!!!

jazzdelmar
03-09-2016, 04:24 AM
Thing is, Zags can beat anyone.....or lose to anyone. From a top seed like Nova to NW South Aggie St. Agatha of the Poor of North Carolina.

gu03alum
03-09-2016, 05:09 AM
There is no option for a 3 seed

I just hope they don't have to play that 12 seed play in game

jazzdelmar
03-09-2016, 05:31 AM
Right now Joey Chuckles has:

6 Texas
11 GONZAGA

3 INDIANA
14 UAB

SMC in a playin game....

zagfan24
03-09-2016, 05:39 AM
I'm hoping for a 10, I think it's the best draw from 8 on down. Gives a very realistic shot at a sweet 16 based on the matchups.

strikenowhere
03-09-2016, 06:02 AM
There is no option for a 3 seed

I just hope they don't have to play that 12 seed play in game

No chance at the play-in game; those are only for bubble at-large teams and 16-seeds

gonzagafan62
03-09-2016, 06:37 AM
There is no option for a 3 seed

I just hope they don't have to play that 12 seed play in game

Auto bids don't have to play the play in Games unless they are 16s, so that's impossible

zagzilla
03-09-2016, 06:40 AM
Despite the history/mojo of GU 10th seeded teams, I Would be thrilled with an 11 seed. You play a 6 and, if you win, most likely the 3

6's are generally beatable BCS teams. Texas for instance who we scrimmaged already
Would much rather have a 3 between us and an S16 berth than a 2.

I remember a couple of years ago thinking SMC had an easier draw from the 11 than we did from a higher seed.

That said, any team, any place, any time. These guys are dangerous right now.

ZZ

gu03alum
03-09-2016, 06:53 AM
Auto bids don't have to play the play in Games unless they are 16s, so that's impossible


No chance at the play-in game; those are only for bubble at-large teams and 16-seeds

Thanks! You guys must have slept at a Holiday Inn last night.

Goshzagit
03-09-2016, 06:55 AM
while RPI is no longer used as a metric for selecting teams, it is utilized for seeding purposes. RPI is only referenced based on wins and losses ratings i.e. "they have 3 Top-50 RPI wins".

Although Joey RPI and the other Bracketeers act as if its the one and only. Its embarrassing really. Really illustrates their lack of 'up-to-date' knowledge and what is occurring in the current Committee meetings.

RPI is so 2012. In 2016, BPI reigns supreme, along with Pomeroy, even Sagarin for helping decided the top-34 at-large bids.

Our RPI will be in the low 60's when it is all said in done, while our BPI remains in the mid-20's.

The Committee is human as well, hearing some rhetoric, while also reviewing the #'s. Zags have a solid resume, outside the lack of so-called quality wins.

We have 0 quality losses, meaning losses outside the Top-100 and/or 150. Only a handful of teams in all of NCAA can claim this statistic.

Not to mention our road/neutral record of 12-2. That is astounding.

We won our conference and conference Tournament.

We played people, even if UCLA, UConn, Zona, Tennessee, didn't have world-beating seasons, we showed we'd play them. Home or away. Not to mention SMU & Pitt games didn't really 'count' in the grand scheme of things.

Jon Rothstein predicts us as a 13 seed.

I say higher.

I think this boils down to a 10-seed, which is a solid seed. Given our match-ups and style, I'd rather have a Jon Rothstein seed. We could upset the first team, then play a lower seed in 2nd Rd, etc.

I voted 10 seed.

Committee thinks higher of us than Joey RPI or any other talking head that can only mention RPI. Silly!

Our lack of wins and RPI dictates a 12, yet given our BPI, road record, playing people OOC, they "reward" us with a higher seed, so a 10 it will be.

Bogozags
03-09-2016, 07:19 AM
I firmly believe the Zags will be a 10 seed and play in Spokane...there, I said it

Alum08
03-09-2016, 07:21 AM
I firmly believe the Zags will be a 10 seed and play in Spokane...there, I said it

If the NCAA wants a full house in Spokane then they should make the financially sound decision.

ZagnetitForce
03-09-2016, 07:23 AM
10 Seed with S16 appearance

Coach Crazy
03-09-2016, 07:25 AM
A 10 seed in Spokane would be quite poetic.

strikenowhere
03-09-2016, 07:26 AM
while RPI is no longer used as a metric for selecting teams, it is utilized for seeding purposes. RPI is only referenced based on wins and losses ratings i.e. "they have 3 Top-50 RPI wins".

Although Joey RPI and the other Bracketeers act as if its the one and only. Its embarrassing really. Really illustrates their lack of 'up-to-date' knowledge and what is occurring in the current Committee meetings.

RPI is so 2012. In 2016, BPI reigns supreme, along with Pomeroy, even Sagarin for helping decided the top-34 at-large bids.

Our RPI will be in the low 60's when it is all said in done, while our BPI remains in the mid-20's.

The Committee is human as well, hearing some rhetoric, while also reviewing the #'s. Zags have a solid resume, outside the lack of so-called quality wins.

We have 0 quality losses, meaning losses outside the Top-100 and/or 150. Only a handful of teams in all of NCAA can claim this statistic.

Not to mention our road/neutral record of 12-2. That is astounding.

We won our conference and conference Tournament.

We played people, even if UCLA, UConn, Zona, Tennessee, didn't have world-beating seasons, we showed we'd play them. Home or away. Not to mention SMU & Pitt games didn't really 'count' in the grand scheme of things.

Jon Rothstein predicts us as a 13 seed.

I say higher.

I think this boils down to a 10-seed, which is a solid seed. Given our match-ups and style, I'd rather have a Jon Rothstein seed. We could upset the first team, then play a lower seed in 2nd Rd, etc.

I voted 10 seed.

Committee thinks higher of us than Joey RPI or any other talking head that can only mention RPI. Silly!

Our lack of wins and RPI dictates a 12, yet given our BPI, road record, playing people OOC, they "reward" us with a higher seed, so a 10 it will be.

I'd like them to take the average and get an 11 seed and feast on some mid-level ACC team, although my dream would be a first-round matchup against Duke for revenge purposes...they're even more depleted than the Zags are!

GoZag
03-09-2016, 07:29 AM
9, denver.

Such a more pleasant thread than will we get in. Ahhhhhhh, relief!

any place but Denver. The high elevation would really exploit our lack of depth

sittingon50
03-09-2016, 07:29 AM
I firmly believe the Zags will be a 10 seed and play in Spokane...there, I said it

Could you even imagine the pissing & moaning from the other clubs sent to that pod?

LongIslandZagFan
03-09-2016, 07:34 AM
If they get sent to Providence... I might have to make a trip.

Zagceo
03-09-2016, 07:38 AM
Could you even imagine the pissing & moaning from the other clubs sent to that pod?

Would love every sec of it. Let them put Wichita,Davidson,UCONN in it with us.

Zag_Dad
03-09-2016, 07:49 AM
I remember a few years into the NCAA run when Mark Few noted how odd it was that Gonzaga was heading into the tournament with both home and away jerseys. They usually entered the tourney as a low seed and wouldn't need home jersey at all. We won a lot of those games!

It's an awesome feeling to be invited to the dance again, and to feel like the team is really starting to play to their potential. No one wants to see us in their bracket.

WE ARE G U!

Mr Vulture
03-09-2016, 08:26 AM
I'm thinking 7 is the best they could hope for although I think they are realistically in that 8-10 seed range. I don't see an 11 seed as those will likely be the playin games.

MontanaCoyote
03-09-2016, 08:53 AM
A 10 seed in Spokane would be quite poetic.

Help, please. What are the seed numbers and chances that Zags play in Spokane........and, given their great road record,
would playing in Spokane be the best place for them to start dancing?

Reborn
03-09-2016, 09:42 AM
I voted 11 seed. 13 would be ok with me. I prefer the 11 seed to the 10.

Go Zags!!!

Zags_Fanatic
03-09-2016, 09:47 AM
Hopefully USA Today is right, they have GU projected as a 10...in Spokane. http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2016/03/09/ncaa-tournament-bracketology-march-madness-gonzaga-saint-marys-bubble/81521756/

IdahoTJR
03-09-2016, 10:18 AM
It will be a 10 or 11 seed in Raleigh playing South Carolina with a potential matchup with Duke if they win that game. In other words GU gets hosed.

DixieZag
03-09-2016, 10:24 AM
It will be a 10 or 11 seed in Raleigh playing South Carolina with a potential matchup with Duke if they win that game. In other words GU gets hosed.

Yeah, that sounds about right if we're going for hosing.

I love the idea of us at 11 and getting a middle of the road BCS team to start out - the 6 seed, and then a upper but not top BCS third seed in Denver.

I voted for 11, CBS had us at 11. Given we were not in (I doubt we were) I think the lowest we go is 10, and that's just fine for me. I think the only thing that might get us at 9 or lower (8 seems extreme) would be if committee members watched that game and realized that both teams are awfully good and then placed a lot of weight on that.

Mr Vulture
03-09-2016, 10:36 AM
I'd rather be a 10/11 seed than a 8/9 seed for sure....

ProjectMKUltra5
03-09-2016, 11:21 AM
Honestly given how weird this season was as far as teams losing, it wouldn't suprise me if the seeding is all screwy. This year is as hard a year for the committee as I can remember with so many teams so closely bunched together.

willandi
03-09-2016, 11:26 AM
9 seed or higher and the Zags can't be upset by another team!

Coach Crazy
03-09-2016, 11:27 AM
I concur with the 10/11 or 12 crowds. No 8/9 game. Please.

75Zag
03-09-2016, 11:46 AM
I could do with a 10 seed.
Good luck to players, staff and fans.

Go Bulldogs!

LongIslandZagFan
03-09-2016, 12:10 PM
Give Zags a seed on the bottom side of a bracket... not top.... that is all I ask.

TravelinZag
03-09-2016, 01:52 PM
Think location could be as important as seed. Would prefer a lower seed that avoids Raleigh, Brooklyn or Providence (travel time and distance) and Denver (altitude). If anywhere but those locations #10,11, or 12 would be fine with me, and highly preferable to an 8-9 seed. Seven or lower seems beyond hope.

GO ZAGS!

Birddog
03-09-2016, 04:53 PM
The Zags will be in OKC, you can book it. You see, for the first time in several years I won't be home (OKC burbs) for the opening 2 days of the NCAA's and since one of the sites is OKC, the Zags are sure to be placed there. I'm already working on how I can cut my out of town commitment 1 day short and drive all night to get back. If indeed they land in OKC and win the 1st game, I'm at least a safe bet for Sunday's game.

gonzagafan62
03-09-2016, 04:57 PM
If we somehow get a 9 seed SMC better get in. That would be hosing. Even a 10 seems like they should get in.

Zags11
03-09-2016, 05:39 PM
This team doesn't care. Let's be honest here and for the 1st time IDC either. This team is road warrior mentality. I! Ready for whatever but would like the 7 seed in Spokane. :)

Ekrub
03-09-2016, 05:47 PM
I'd take a 13 seed in a second. Would love to see thag 4 seed shutting their pants that whole week leading to the game.

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-09-2016, 07:23 PM
We have an RPI in the 40s, which means we are likely to be seeded between 10-12. Some BCS coach (whose team is seeded 5, 6, or 7) is going to say a bad word when he sees that his team has to play us.

ProVeeZag
03-09-2016, 08:14 PM
Think location could be as important as seed. Would prefer a lower seed that avoids Raleigh, Brooklyn or Providence (travel time and distance) and Denver (altitude). If anywhere but those locations #10,11, or 12 would be fine with me, and highly preferable to an 8-9 seed. Seven or lower seems beyond hope.

GO ZAGS!

For the 1st 2 rounds of the tournament, there are really only 2 location sites that could geographically be considered to be in the Western US: Spokane and Denver. Several Midwestern locations (Des Moines, St Louis, and OKC). Nothing whatsoever in the Southwest until the Regionals when Anaheim is a host. Seems oddly unbalanced geographically speaking. It's always interesting to me to see how the Committee determines who has to fly 2000 miles and cover 3 time zones and who gets to take 45-minute bus ride. (More fodder for the conspiracy crowd!)

RenoZag
03-09-2016, 09:41 PM
Glad to know that when the bracket is announced on Sunday I will be able to turn to that bastion of student-athlete purity, the NCAA, for advice on how to fill out said bracket.

http://www.ncaa.com/march-madness-bracket-tips

For amusement purposes only, I'm sure.

The NCAA would never condone gambling. . .

amaronizag
03-09-2016, 09:57 PM
Things can change a lot in the next few days, but as of 3/9 I don't see any way around a 12 seed.

U Zig, I Zag
03-09-2016, 10:00 PM
Things can change a lot in the next few days, but as of 3/9 I don't see any way around a 12 seed.

I'd take a 12.

UberZagFan
03-09-2016, 10:47 PM
No way a 12. When was the last time a WCC regular season & tourney champ got a 12? When was the last time a WCC auto-bid got a 12? Likely a 10, but could be thrown in that 8-9 game which is horrible. An 11 would be acceptable and what is warranted based on this team's play over the course of the whole season. But I'm guessing the committee says 10 over an 11 and I'm hoping they say 10 over 8-9.

kitzbuel
03-10-2016, 03:46 AM
10 seems to be a likely seed.

jazzdelmar
03-10-2016, 04:10 AM
Seeding is a straight ranking for the most part so if you say GU is a 10 that means they are in the top 40. After the WCC I would think they moved up to maybe top 30, so a 7 or 8 makes sense to me.

willandi
03-10-2016, 05:37 AM
It is interesting that in todays Bracketology, Joe Blowhardi has the Zags as an 11 and SMC as a play-in 10!

kitzbuel
03-10-2016, 07:41 AM
No way a 12. When was the last time a WCC regular season & tourney champ got a 12? When was the last time a WCC auto-bid got a 12? Likely a 10, but could be thrown in that 8-9 game which is horrible. An 11 would be acceptable and what is warranted based on this team's play over the course of the whole season. But I'm guessing the committee says 10 over an 11 and I'm hoping they say 10 over 8-9.

I caught you.

Zags11
03-10-2016, 08:35 AM
It is interesting that in todays Bracketology, Joe Blowhardi has the Zags as an 11 and SMC as a play-in 10!

Been a jack hole all year.

Zags11
03-10-2016, 08:37 AM
I hope we actually get love for having our back against the wall and fighting through it. I'm hoping the committee awards gonzaga and gives us a Davidson spot.

U Zig, I Zag
03-10-2016, 08:39 AM
It is interesting that in todays Bracketology, Joe Blowhardi has the Zags as an 11 and SMC as a play-in 10!

the extra game is a punishment

jazzdelmar
03-10-2016, 09:20 AM
It is interesting that in todays Bracketology, Joe Blowhardi has the Zags as an 11 and SMC as a play-in 10!

and his precious SJU Hawks as out....gotta hoit....

gonstu
03-10-2016, 11:01 AM
Haven't seen this posted anywhere from the bubble watch:

"There are rules to this college basketball thing. Commandments, if you like. Bill Self is the Big 12's lord, and the Big 12 shall have no other gods beside him. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor by pretending thou has any idea what will happen with thou's bracket. Let's add another: Thou shall not doubt Gonzaga's participation in the NCAA tournament."

http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/bubblewatch

Love it!

Coach Crazy
03-10-2016, 11:06 AM
Haven't seen this posted anywhere from the bubble watch:

"There are rules to this college basketball thing. Commandments, if you like. Bill Self is the Big 12's lord, and the Big 12 shall have no other gods beside him. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor by pretending thou has any idea what will happen with thou's bracket. Let's add another: Thou shall not doubt Gonzaga's participation in the NCAA tournament."

http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/bubblewatch

Love it!

That's awesome. Good find.

RenoZag
03-11-2016, 08:43 PM
The Bracket Project's Bracket Matrix ( http://www.bracketmatrix.com/)currently shows the Zags average seed from 97 brackets as 10.15, landing them as the lowest # 10 seed.

SMC shows up in 67 (out of 97) brackets with an average seed of 10.20, landing them in the Matrix' highest rated #11 slot.

Zags11
03-11-2016, 10:32 PM
The Bracket Project's Bracket Matrix ( http://www.bracketmatrix.com/)currently shows the Zags average seed from 97 brackets as 10.15, landing them as the lowest # 10 seed.

SMC shows up in 67 (out of 97) brackets with an average seed of 10.20, landing them in the Matrix' highest rated #11 slot.

Spokane :)

ProVeeZag
03-11-2016, 10:32 PM
I hope we actually get love for having our back against the wall and fighting through it. I'm hoping the committee awards gonzaga and gives us a Davidson spot.

Davidson is still alive for an auto-bid after upsetting St Bonaventure tonight. I'd like to see us somehow end up playing Davidson ... here in Spokane!! Make them fly 3000 miles while our guys walk across the campus.

Zags11
03-11-2016, 10:35 PM
Davidson is still alive for an auto-bid after upsetting St Bonaventure tonight. I'd like to see us somehow end up playing Davidson ... here in Spokane!! Make them fly 3000 miles while our guys walk across the campus.

And Perkins goes for 40. Lol

gonzagafan62
03-11-2016, 11:01 PM
No way a 12. When was the last time a WCC regular season & tourney champ got a 12? When was the last time a WCC auto-bid got a 12? Likely a 10, but could be thrown in that 8-9 game which is horrible. An 11 would be acceptable and what is warranted based on this team's play over the course of the whole season. But I'm guessing the committee says 10 over an 11 and I'm hoping they say 10 over 8-9.

Uh, BYU actually got a 14 seed in 2012. Beat Iona and got slammed by Jae Crowder and Marquette. Any seed is possible

ZagaZags
03-11-2016, 11:23 PM
Uh, BYU actually got a 14 seed in 2012. Beat Iona and got slammed by Jae Crowder and Marquette. Any seed is possible

BYU was the 3rd WCC to make the tournament that year.

#14 BYU At-large.

#7 Gonzaga At-large.

#7 Saint Mary's Tournament Winner.

Gonzaga isn't going to get a 14 seed.

RenoZag
03-12-2016, 06:01 AM
Selection Sunday can't get here soon enough. . .crossing my fingers for a #7, expecting a #10. . .

Spike94
03-12-2016, 07:03 AM
I really don't care about the seed as I really think this year the tourney is up in the air in terms of top teams. Location is in terms of travel. I would love to see them in Spokane as I have tickets. But, and I can't believe I'm saying this, that would be a grave injustice to (gag gag) Oregon. I think the Ducks will get that as a protected seed. Where do you think we will go? Denver?

HenneZag
03-12-2016, 08:09 AM
Saw the latest us as an 11 seed taking on Baylor. I will honest I don't like that matchup. I watched Baylor take on Kansas last night and they are a team that scares me. We are good enough to beat them for sure, but points won't come easy.

MontanaCoyote
03-12-2016, 11:55 AM
I really don't care about the seed as I really think this year the tourney is up in the air in terms of top teams. Location is in terms of travel. I would love to see them in Spokane as I have tickets. But, and I can't believe I'm saying this, that would be a grave injustice to (gag gag) Oregon. I think the Ducks will get that as a protected seed. Where do you think we will go? Denver?
Every site I've checked today (CBS, ESPN and others) all have us playing in different places. Eleven seed mostly. No one really knows.

HenneZag
03-12-2016, 05:48 PM
Oh Lordy... The last Bracketology I just checked has us as a 10 seed in Spokane vs Wisconsin. Please let that be true.

Section 116
03-12-2016, 07:06 PM
How much do those NCAA tickets go for if GU did end up in Spokane, oh my!!!!

DixieZag
03-12-2016, 07:27 PM
I really don't care about the seed as I really think this year the tourney is up in the air in terms of top teams. Location is in terms of travel. I would love to see them in Spokane as I have tickets. But, and I can't believe I'm saying this, that would be a grave injustice to (gag gag) Oregon. I think the Ducks will get that as a protected seed. Where do you think we will go? Denver?

I don't know who it would be or whether we'd be a 10 or 7 or whatever, but if we got Spokane, wouldn't that violate the rule that 1-4 seeds are protected from playing right near someone's campus?

As much as I think it would be cool for the Zags, I'd still be outraged b/c a 2 seed (or 3 or whatever) does not deserve to have to come into Spokane and play an away game to a 10/7 or whatever. Honestly, I'd be angry. Because we have so much talent coming that in the next few years we'll likely be one of those top seeds and it would be outrageous for us to earn a 2, 3, 4, and have to play in the opponent's city.

GeorgiaZagFan
03-12-2016, 08:19 PM
I don't know who it would be or whether we'd be a 10 or 7 or whatever, but if we got Spokane, wouldn't that violate the rule that 1-4 seeds are protected from playing right near someone's campus?

As much as I think it would be cool for the Zags, I'd still be outraged b/c a 2 seed (or 3 or whatever) does not deserve to have to come into Spokane and play an away game to a 10/7 or whatever. Honestly, I'd be angry. Because we have so much talent coming that in the next few years we'll likely be one of those top seeds and it would be outrageous for us to earn a 2, 3, 4, and have to play in the opponent's city.

...but when Curry and Davidson beat the Zags they were a 10 seed playing just miles away in Raleigh

ZagaZags
03-12-2016, 11:22 PM
Joe Lunardi has #10 seed Gonzaga playing #7 seed Wisconsin in Spokane. Winner of that game would play the winner of #2 seed Oregon vs #15 seed Weber State.

I think Oregon could get a #1 seed tomorrow. I love the idea of Gonzaga playing in Spokane.

http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/bracketology

Zags11
03-13-2016, 12:04 AM
Joe Lunardi has #10 seed Gonzaga playing #7 seed Wisconsin in Spokane. Winner of that game would play the winner of #2 seed Oregon vs #15 seed Weber State.

I think Oregon could get a #1 seed tomorrow. I love the idea of Gonzaga playing in Spokane.

http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/bracketology

Wanna bet? Lol. :)

ZagaZags
03-13-2016, 12:27 AM
CBS has #10 seed Gonzaga playing #7 seed Colorado. Winner would play #2 Oklahoma. (Spangler vs Sabonis)

Games played in Oklahoma City.

10 seed seems to be the popular seed for GU.

Zags11
03-13-2016, 12:58 AM
CBS has #10 seed Gonzaga playing #7 seed Colorado. Winner would play #2 Oklahoma. (Spangler vs Sabonis)

Games played in Oklahoma City.

10 seed seems to be the popular seed for GU.

That'd be nice. I think sabonis is better then Spangler.

TrueLiz
03-13-2016, 03:33 AM
11 seed seems most likely, possibly a 10. Definitely don't want Wisconsin though. Like Gonzaga, they are playing their best basketball now. If it was only based on the last 2 months (which it obviously isn't) I'd seed the Badgers as a 3, maybe 4. Either a 10 or 11 sounds good to me though. Anything but 8/9.

kitzbuel
03-13-2016, 03:43 AM
11 seed seems most likely, possibly a 10. Definitely don't want Wisconsin though. Like Gonzaga, they are playing their best basketball now. If it was only based on the last 2 months (which it obviously isn't) I'd seed the Badgers as a 3, maybe 4. Either a 10 or 11 sounds good to me though. Anything but 8/9.

UCONN is helping us out right now.

Zagger
03-13-2016, 06:38 AM
How nice for the Daylight Savings time change to bring the Bracket announcing all that much closer :)
I'm sticking with my #10 vote but ...... been more than once we've gotten a lower seed than we expected. This time I have a hunch we may get a higher than expected seeding (our loses weren't by much + road wins). I'd be quite surprised if we got an 8 or higher though.

GonzagasaurusFlex
03-13-2016, 06:48 AM
I am hoping Oregon gets the #1 seed out West, which they deserve after Villanova and UVA lost, and Zags are the #9 seed out West setting up a Zags vs Ducks matchup in round 2. Ducks may be too athletic for Zags, but can they deal with Sabonis?

DixieZag
03-13-2016, 06:52 AM
...but when Curry and Davidson beat the Zags they were a 10 seed playing just miles away in Raleigh

Yeah, I know, and we do deserve payback for that.

My concern regarding the top 4 protected seeds was wrong. I thought the top 4 seeds were "protected" from playing a lower team right near their home in the first two games. If we're the 10 and win the first game, we'd be playing a 2 in Spokane.

However, I just looked it up - http://www.pennlive.com/sports/index.ssf/2016/03/bracketology_ncaa_college_bask.html - and at least according to this, it's nothing more than trying to keep the top 4 seeds closer to home. Given that there's probably not a 2 seed deserving team in all the west, I guess that means it's likely that a two or a one is going to be shipped to Spokane anyway.

Someone will know more.

Rangerzag
03-13-2016, 06:56 AM
.......................Someone will know more.

Eight hours and we will all know more ;^)

Spike94
03-13-2016, 06:58 AM
I would love what is up right now on ESPN. Not only is GU in Spokane, but so is Duke. That would make one awesome basketball watching weekend.

DixieZag
03-13-2016, 07:01 AM
Eight hours and we will all know more ;^)

Yes, good point. :)

I am just so happy to be in. And, now, I demand that we not be an 8 or 9 :)

Hoopaholic
03-13-2016, 08:07 AM
CBS has #10 seed Gonzaga playing #7 seed Colorado. Winner would play #2 Oklahoma. (Spangler vs Sabonis)

Games played in Oklahoma City.

10 seed seems to be the popular seed for GU.

could see the committee setting this story line up.....

DixieZag
03-13-2016, 08:18 AM
Playing Oklahoma in OK City? Pass. Want no part of Heild and no part of an arena 20 miles from campus. But, could see how it could happen.

Hoopaholic
03-13-2016, 08:29 AM
Playing Oklahoma in OK City? Pass. Want no part of Heild and no part of an arena 20 miles from campus. But, could see how it could happen.

I actually believe this particular group of young men play much better, focused and aggressive when on the road and playing in front of an opposing crowd has not fazed them

they are up to the challenge

gu03alum
03-13-2016, 08:54 AM
CBS has #10 seed Gonzaga playing #7 seed Colorado. Winner would play #2 Oklahoma. (Spangler vs Sabonis)

Games played in Oklahoma City.

10 seed seems to be the popular seed for GU.

I would love to see Sabonis own Spangler

Zags11
03-13-2016, 09:49 AM
I would love to see Sabonis own Spangler

He is better. Spangler a lot of hype. Misses chippies a lot. Spangler is a great rebounder.

jim77
03-13-2016, 10:34 AM
I actually believe this particular group of young men play much better, focused and aggressive when on the road and playing in front of an opposing crowd has not fazed them

they are up to the challenge

Agreed

Mantua
03-13-2016, 11:13 AM
Just so happy they're in that to me it doesn't matter. That being said, I'd prefer to see anything but an 8/9 seed...

This.

B Wayne
03-13-2016, 11:39 AM
In December I posted that a highly regarded basketball analyst told me the Zags were a top 20 team before Karno's injury, a top 40 team after.

I posted this same statement again in February.

Many thought this was statement was inaccurate.

After many months and hundreds of philosophizing and hand wringing posts by board members, it's Selection Sunday.

Do the math. We are right around a ten seed. The analyst was right.

Keep it simple.:clap:

MJ777
03-13-2016, 12:52 PM
10 Seed vs. 7 Iowa State in St. Louis. SMC gets the play in game as an 11.

uZiGiZaG
03-13-2016, 01:28 PM
I think we 100% deserve to be a 5 or 6 seed


I don't understand how we are projected to be a 10 or 11 seed, that blows my mind

MJ777
03-13-2016, 01:31 PM
I think we 100% deserve to be a 5 or 6 seed


I don't understand how we are projected to be a 10 or 11 seed, that blows my mind

That would be awesome unless we have to play some hot Mid Major 12 seed. I think I would prefer the Zags be the 10 or 11 this year.

Bogozags
03-13-2016, 01:42 PM
If we are a 10 seed, then I believe they will put us in Spokane with Oregon at the two seed.

A little drama here...I don't recall us ever playing Oregon and that is where Coach Few received his bachelor's degree.

Why would they move us, as a ten seed to another bracket, which would also cost them more money...

Bogozags
03-13-2016, 01:44 PM
If we are a 10 seed, then I believe they will put us in Spokane with Oregon at the two seed.

A little drama here...I don't recall us ever playing Oregon and that is where Coach Few received his bachelor's degree.

Why would they move us, as a ten seed to another bracket, which would also cost them more money...



Well, Spokane is out as that is where they will place Oregon

23dpg
03-13-2016, 01:44 PM
Oregon is a 1. Does that make us a 9?

ZagaZags
03-13-2016, 01:48 PM
Oregon is a 1. Does that make us a 9?

Hope not. I would like to see Gonzaga playing in Denver, Oklahoma or Spokane. Avoid the East Coast.

Even St. Louis would be okay.

DixieZag
03-13-2016, 01:55 PM
Oh, no, Vandy-WSU!!!

Look out SMC

I think Vandy just took SMC's spot.