PDA

View Full Version : OT: Ineligible team question



Bouldin4Prez
03-03-2016, 07:03 PM
Stetson is playing in the semi-final for their conference tournament tomorrow and is ineligible for the NCAA tournament this year. If they go on to win their conference tournament, does their conference send 0 teams to the tournament or does the second place team go. Could have implications for the Zags.

DixieZag
03-03-2016, 07:19 PM
I think the conference itself sets the rules on those questions. With regard to Stetson, if they win the tournament, the regular season champ will go;http://www.sbnation.com/college-basketball/2016/3/1/11135226/2016-atlantic-sun-basketball-tournament-bracket-schedule-scores


That sets up a unique situation for Sunday's championship game. If the Eagles win, it's pretty straightforward -- they head to the big dance, no questions asked. However, if the Hatters continue their Cinderella run and actually win this game, the conference's auto bid goes to the regular season champions, in this case North Florida. That's kind of a raw deal for Dunk City, which just smashed the Ospreys in the tournament, but they can make this all moot by taking care of Stetson on Sunday.

It doesn't sound like it will impact us bc I hear we are going to win the WCC and our conference sends the tourney winner. :)