PDA

View Full Version : Domantas Sabonis - Unstoppable Monster



ZagNative
02-15-2016, 01:37 PM
This is a fun video featuring our Lithuanian! Man, this guy is exciting to watch!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSuT7vqMV44

sittingon50
02-15-2016, 01:49 PM
Thanks Native. Very nice.

ZagMan in Philly
02-15-2016, 02:29 PM
Our MVP.
Such a joy to watch him play.

DixieZag
02-15-2016, 02:50 PM
All time Zag team starting 5*

*At least in the modern era. I would like to hear the old timers compare to Burgess and the other ballers/rebounders.

This board could use some quality posts to offset some worthless stuff. I think the board is at its absolute best when we hear about Zags that rode buses for 12 hours and stayed in motels, not private jets and high end business hotels.

Zags11
02-15-2016, 03:12 PM
What is his post defense rank?

ZagNative
02-15-2016, 03:17 PM
I had in mind this thread being solely devoted to Domas, not bringing in history of Zags past, degenerating into inevitable quarrels about the best of all time, etc. I love your posts, Dixie, but I'm not excited about the prospect of comparisons to Zags of history. Domas is just a treasure on his own.
All time Zag team starting 5*

*At least in the modern era. I would like to hear the old timers compare to Burgess and the other ballers/rebounders.

This board could use some quality posts to offset some worthless stuff. I think the board is at its absolute best when we hear about Zags that rode buses for 12 hours and stayed in motels, not private jets and high end business hotels.

ZagNative
02-15-2016, 03:50 PM
Domantas current NCAA individual stat rankings:

#14 - Field goal percentage (http://www.ncaa.com/stats/basketball-men/d1/current/individual/141) (61.8%)
# 5 - Defensive Rebounds per Game (http://www.ncaa.com/stats/basketball-men/d1/current/individual/858) (8.73)
# 9 - Double Doubles (http://www.ncaa.com/stats/basketball-men/d1/current/individual/556) (16)
# 7 - Rebounds per game (http://www.ncaa.com/stats/basketball-men/d1/current/individual/137) (11.7)
# 5 - Total Rebounds (http://www.ncaa.com/stats/basketball-men/d1/current/individual/601) (303)

DixieZag
02-15-2016, 04:02 PM
I had in mind this thread being solely devoted to Domas, not bringing in history of Zags past, degenerating into inevitable quarrels about the best of all time, etc. I love your posts, Dixie, but I'm not excited about the prospect of comparisons to Zags of history. Domas is just a treasure on his own.

You are so right. He deserves his own thread dedicated to the season he is having. I appreciate you pulling it back. Thx!

I actually pulled a "Heister" - couldn't get into the subject at hand and started demanding that the people around me talk about where he fits on some list.

Now I'm going down a Heister thread, damn it!

Domas has a unique shot where he takes that one handed jump hook, and instead of laying it softly off the backboard, he flips it hard with the wrist. I love it b/c I think it gives him a little more control of the ball with the firm driven bank over the gentle bounce. It might have some tiny bit of psychological impact, too - like he's going even stronger into/over a guy.

I haven't seen many (if at all) guys do that. I think it might take big time basketball instincts, maybe the coaching of some other big who might have played some ball. :)

Vanzagger
02-15-2016, 05:02 PM
Domantas is so cool he even allowed KO to have a cameo

TheGonzagaFactor
02-16-2016, 06:58 AM
All time Zag team starting 5*

*At least in the modern era. I would like to hear the old timers compare to Burgess and the other ballers/rebounders.

This board could use some quality posts to offset some worthless stuff. I think the board is at its absolute best when we hear about Zags that rode buses for 12 hours and stayed in motels, not private jets and high end business hotels.

Sabonis would eat Burgess alive.

TheGonzagaFactor
02-16-2016, 06:59 AM
I had in mind this thread being solely devoted to Domas, not bringing in history of Zags past, degenerating into inevitable quarrels about the best of all time, etc. I love your posts, Dixie, but I'm not excited about the prospect of comparisons to Zags of history. Domas is just a treasure on his own.

If I'm around, you know quarrels are imminent.

bigblahla
02-16-2016, 07:16 AM
I had in mind this thread being solely devoted to Domas, not bringing in history of Zags past, degenerating into inevitable quarrels about the best of all time, etc. I love your posts, Dixie, but I'm not excited about the prospect of comparisons to Zags of history. Domas is just a treasure on his own.

Absolutely....the Lithuanian Lion has earned every accolade....What Heart!! One more Year!! :clap::cheers::clap:

Go!! Zags!!!

Reborn
02-16-2016, 07:59 AM
Thanks, ZN. A really good video. I'd love to see a video of how he played against SMU. SMU's bigs were (and are) really tough guys, and Sabonis handled them way better than I felt he would. Sabonis, to me, should be first team All-American. He is not only so strong and beast like, but he is as quick as a cat. There has never been a rebounder like him. The game now needs to go through him, imo. And if I were to know more about his work ethic, I imagine that it is beyond fantastic.

Go Zags!!!

Jstock12
02-16-2016, 08:42 AM
"Unstoppable Monster" - seems like a rather uncreative title, but it probably describes him best, haha. Did anyone notice Kelly Olynyk at 1:05? What? :D

Zagger
02-18-2016, 07:58 AM
Dang, even Olynyk snuck into the video @ 1:06 :)
Dontmiss is a Zag treasure for sure - right up there with KellyO IHMO. If DS sticks around another year ..... the sky's the limit :)

75Zag
02-18-2016, 10:50 AM
Sabonis looks like a solid lottery pick in 2016. Hope he plays us a couple of weeks into the Tournament first.

Go Bulldogs!

cjm720
02-18-2016, 11:18 AM
Strange that he's not a Wooden Award candidate. Reminds me of the Ms when they had Griffey and Arod