PDA

View Full Version : UW is Kentucky Lite



Therunner
11-22-2015, 06:19 AM
The entire Top-8 of their rotation were Top-50 recruits (all 4* players).

Amazing (Fab 8).

A plethora of 6'4", even 6'5" guards who can shoot (and dunk).

A collection of 6'8" athletic forwards, they start 3, who run the floor, shoot, and slash to the hoop (a Zag killer).

A couple sharp-shooting 4* guards off the bench who spread the floor and actually defend.

This is the best-looking, multi-dimensional, versatile, hard nosed, and athletic team I've EVER seen at UW. Maybe their best overall team since Brockman years.

Its almost as if they finally got a Brandon Roy, Nate Rob, Chris Wilcox, Terrence Williams, etc to join at same time.

We don't only have our hands-full, but their collective strength(s) are our weaknesses i.e. guards who can get to the rim with ease, athletic & strong combo forwards, length at every position. Shot blockers, rebounders, defenders.

UW is a Top-15 team, maybe better.

They were more athletic than Texas and more talented. They have collected at least 50 rebounds in their first 3 games. Highlight reel dunks on every other possessions, also shooting a very respectable % from both FG & 3pt. Out performing us in most major statistical categories. +25 on rebs.

UW is utilizing their individual talents to their advantage. Thybulle a defensive specialist, Crisp a shooter, Chriss a high flying rebounding dunking machine, Andrews their scorer, Dickerson their muscle, Dime a shot blocker, etc etc.

I bet they lose 3 of their starting five to the NBA this season.

How do we match up?

Sabonis, Sabonis, and more Sabonis is the answer. He might be the only player who can match their intensity and polish. They've also shown to be susceptible to fouls in the paint and defense. Karnowski needs to play mean (wake up big guy!) b/c his lack of quickness on D & O & transition will most certainly be exposed. Wiltjer needs to find his stroke again…and position. The big 3 experiment may have stunted him a bit. Our guards have to break the press and trap. And make open 3's, b/c UW showing to be an elite perimeter defense team. Can our guards deal with hard-nosed defense and their length? UW has been able to drive at will vs athletes and non athletes alike. How does Perk, EasyMac, Dranginis defend them? Possibly more Alberts who can shoot, defend, and play pretty smart.

Above all, can our bigs defend their athletic PF's? A bunch of Stacy Davis types with more length and athleticism? How?

These guards need to come a long way on both sides of the court. Our defense vs uber athletic PF's must improve (some zone perhaps?).

At this point in the season, I feel we are overmatched from a perimeter standpoint, not to mention a tough time at defending slashers, and UW is chalk full of them…at every position.

Andrew Andrews, the lone Senior, actually lone upperclassman stated himself, "this is far and away the most balanced and talented team I've been a part of."

I couldn't agree more.

How do the Zags match 'Kentucky Lite' next Wednesday?

gonstu
11-22-2015, 06:27 AM
DOOMED!

ZagsGoZags
11-22-2015, 07:04 AM
this same comment came out for Pitt, and they might have beat us
our board, IMO, underestimated Pitt, and so far, has shown hubris when talking about the UW game (at least last Spring) coming up -
Romar and some husky fans and coaching staff will have an intensity of emotion about this game that I am not sure we will have
the players on both sides were children when the bad blood developed, and it is not their personal fight,
but players on both sides are going the feel the extra competitive mood brewing in this intra-state rivalry
if UW loses, because of rankings, most of the world will say, sigh so what
if they win it is big upset and blood revenge
I hope our coaches can get our players in a 'fight to the death' mode as they play this eventful game

Therunner
11-22-2015, 07:09 AM
feels like the biggest regular season game in years…but maybe that's the Alumnus in me talking…

the players keep saying, "just another game on the schedule…"

as a fan, I want to beat UW more than any other team on our schedule…

i'm just not certain we're seasoned enough to do it vs their impressive array of talent...

Mr Vulture
11-22-2015, 08:05 AM
I like our odds. UW tends to play poorly on the road to start with. Also, I'm not sure where you are coming up with great shooters when they are like 26% from 3pt land so far. They will have their hands full with our bigs. I bet GU wins by 10+ in this game.

Bogozags
11-22-2015, 08:26 AM
I like our odds. UW tends to play poorly on the road to start with. Also, I'm not sure where you are coming up with great shooters when they are like 26% from 3pt land so far. They will have their hands full with our bigs. I bet GU wins by 10+ in this game.

I watched them play against UT and it was a sloppy game and those were not Shaka Smart's players...all but one "Mack" BUT UW does run and they are athletic and don't for get they are a team of underclassmen except for Andrews, the lone senior. I would think our talented front court and experience madden team (except for Alberts and Perkins to an extent) should remain cool, calm ad collected...four GU seniors start with an abundance of skilled players coming off the bench should give us the edge BUT if we don't come to play and KW & company are not shooting well from behind the arc then it could be very difficult...it will come down to coaching and free throws imo...

gonstu
11-22-2015, 08:41 AM
it will come down to coaching and free throws imo...

If it comes down to coaching , like our chances even more now! 😎

GonzagasaurusFlex
11-22-2015, 08:57 AM
This game vs UW is prove yourselves time for our backcourt. I have no idea what to expect: it could be a turnover fest ugly affair and 20pt loss for Zags or a growth spurt game when PK and KW match Sabonis' intensity/focus/effectiveness and Zags win by 15+ points and make a 'we are a team to reckon with' statement. Neither scenario would surprise me...hoping for the latter of course!

Martin Centre Mad Man
11-22-2015, 09:19 AM
This game vs UW is prove yourselves time for our backcourt. I have no idea what to expect: it could be a turnover fest ugly affair and 20pt loss for Zags or a growth spurt game when PK and KW match Sabonis' intensity/focus/effectiveness and Zags win by 15+ points and make a 'we are a team to reckon with' statement. Neither scenario would surprise me...hoping for the latter of course!

Yup.

Worthington
11-22-2015, 09:23 AM
I agree that this Washington team is very talented and should give us a tough game. I do think you're overrating them a little bit though. I don't think there's any chance that they lose three players to the NBA after this season. Murray for all his talent is skin and bones as of right now and not ready to make that leap. Andrew Andrews has started off the season really well, but he doesn't really seem to be on the NBA radar. Chriss will get those looks, but even he would probably be better served to stay another year at UW.

This game is going to come down to whether our back court is ready to step up and hold their own against elite competition. UW definitely poses somewhat of a mismatch for our bigs, but I've got to believe that we'll give it to them worse down low then they will to us.

If our guards play as sloppy as they did in the first half versus MSM then we're going to be in a lot of trouble. We need them to be poised, take care of the ball, feed the bigs, and knock down shots. Talent wise, I don't think our guards should be very outmatched, but that talent absolutely needs to be translated to production on the court against Washington. If they're decidedly outplayed then UW will take this one from us. Time to step up to the big leagues JP, E-Mac and Silas

Reborn
11-22-2015, 09:53 AM
I can hardly wait until the game. I'm really excited to hear what all these U-Dub lovers have to say after the game. The most laughable thing I've ever heard on these boards is that the U-Dub will beat Gonzaga by 20 points. Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Right! A very good analysis. I haven't seen UW play yet, but I trust the Zags playing against them. I'm not overconfident. I just believe in our team. I'll take a team with experienced seniors who made it to the Elite 8 last year over a team who starts 4 freshmen.

Actually I'm excited that the UW has a really good team this year. I'm always a big UW fan. But NOT against Gonzaga ever. And now that the Pac 10 has it's own TV station we never get to see them play now. I believe Gonzaga WILL be ready to play them Wednesday.

cggonzaga
11-22-2015, 10:20 AM
I'll keep saying it. People are underestimating our guards. UW does not scare me. They have 0 answers for our bigs. Few and company will dominate the coaching aspect and I suspect a 10+point win.

seacatfan
11-22-2015, 01:03 PM
I think it has swung from underestimating UW to overestimating them in 0 seconds flat. Yes they've gotten off to a very nice start and a bunch of the young guys are promising. Has everyone forgotten they started 11-0 last year and looked quite good before imploding? It's gonna take a lot more than 3 games (2 against nobodies and one against a Texas team that played terrible) for me to believe this group of Huskies is anywhere remotely close to as good as the teams with a veteran group of Roy, Robinson, Conroy, Simmons, Jones etc.

ZaggyDog
11-22-2015, 01:32 PM
...Out performing us in most major statistical categories. +25 on rebs....

Just looking at ESPN, but the Zags appear to have the better of the stats battle, even when you compare using the common opponent, MSM.

The ESPN stats look like this:


Team
GP
PPG
RPG
APG
SPG
BPG
TPG
FG%
FT%
3P%


GU
2
96
51
21
9
2
16
0.56
0.676
0.378


UW
3
94
57
14
8
8
16
0.456
0.663
0.286



Granted, only from one location, but this shows the Zags coming out better in the paper battle in assists and field goal percentage and the dogs in blocks and rebounds. I think, played on paper, the Zags win this game 8 out of 10 times.

Things I am nervous/excited about, Shem and guard play. I want to see the young guards play within themselves and I want to see Shem play outside of himself. He is huge and I really want him to impose himself on his competition. Less so this last game, but it always seems like he plays smaller than he really is.

Too bad the game is at 9am and I have to work!! :mecry: But... I look forward to reading some good posts after.

Chicken Ball
11-22-2015, 01:54 PM
Huskies can't shoot. From the field, from 3, from the line. They win if they turn us over and compete well on the boards. We win if we keep turnovers down-ish and out rebound them.

MDABE80
11-22-2015, 02:17 PM
It begins with Andrews. We need a lock down defense. I think Emac on Andrews ( he's 6 ft 2 in) should slow them down. Surely Dranginis is a large and long defender/disruptor. Clog the key so their slashers are stopped. We can do that easily. Thay pushed UW outside and they don't shoot wel from distance.
They'll try to run so we stop that with good defense and rebounding. We set the pace and we play defense and crush those frosh. UW is very athletic but we have size. They do not. No turnovers (which scares me) and we win by 10.
Play defense and control the tempo. I don't know if Josh can play good defense but that's key.


'In the past, UW's had better athletes (the purple wall) but we always beat them for one big reason: We play as a team and they don't. Key reminder. Roll out the ball ROmar is always limited in his coaching and fails in key situations. Great recruiter but not so much a good coach.
We're the opposite.

Zag365
11-22-2015, 02:19 PM
I've repeatedly said that I'm fine without playing UW on a regular basis. Too much focus and emotion riding on one game out of 30+ on the schedule. An annual game is too easily converted into a barometer locally as to where our program stands. An occasional game like Wednesday's on a neutral floor is enough.

Despite the 8 out of 9 current stretch, no UW game is no gimme. This year is a great example. We're ranked but they have some scary talent. We win, it helps but isn't a needed accomplishment in terms of where our program, fans, recruits, and press are at; we lose and folks in PNW will spend all year unfavorably comparing our record in WCC to UW's in Pac-12.

jazzdelmar
11-22-2015, 04:54 PM
Zags will have the best player in the game.

maynard g krebs
11-22-2015, 05:44 PM
UW certainly has an athletic team with a lot of talent and is dangerous. But Kenpom has them 95th after the 37 pt win over Penn, right behind Pepp, Cal Poly, and Kansas State.

Andrews was nowhere close to a top 50 recruit, btw.

They are athletic but a poor shooting team so far. .456 fg, .663 ft, .286 on 3 pointers after 3 games, 2 against sub-200 teams. Key to this game is to keep UW to a reasonable number of offensive rebounds; somebody made a spot-on analogy to Dayton in Hawaii a cpl yrs ago in another thread. Keep UW to say 15 ORebs or less and keep the game from becoming helter-skelter and the odds of a win are 80% imo.

Defensively KP has them in the 90's despite holding Texas to somewhere around 30%. By later in the year they'll probably be very good defensively, but so far the numbers say they're making a lot of mistakes, and I think GU exploits that. They'll get the ball inside consistently. I look for a lot of high low action, and predict GU's bigs will make a combined 65% or better on their 2 pt tries. UW will need to double the posts and hope GU is cold from 3.

For all the worry about GU's outside shooting, they are 8 pct points better than UW so far, for reference. An upset can always happen, but I'm not real worried about this game, unless the refs allow a lot of rough play, which they seem intent on eliminating so far this year.

I do think Chriss will be in the NBA soon, with Murray not far behind. Not sure who the third NBA guy is.

katman50
11-22-2015, 05:54 PM
It's going to be tough. Am most worried about our guard play. The Dawgs are young enough and fearless enough; the game could go either way. If UW plays with abandon and limits their mistakes and turnover, they win. Zags have to minimize turnovers. And feed the big guys. Get them in foul trouble. It's going to be a heck of a game. The best high tempo team Romar has had in years. Go Zags! Am hyped. Would love to see Sabonis have another big time breakout game. Love the guy!

U Zig, I Zag
11-22-2015, 07:05 PM
Just need to break a press a few times for easy points to deter it being used all the time. Certainly we looked shaky handling the ball at times. The no-looks and riskier passes are fun if they work, but that's not Few's way, so those will go away as the year goes on.

Need a solid press break. Even if that's just Perkins taking it on the run and dribbling through it.

Zagdawg
11-22-2015, 07:24 PM
I really like the maturity of our top players compared to the lack of experience that UW has on the roster.

The excitement of the Bahamas may cause some focus related challenges for a younger team.

Karnowski and Dranginis were both in Maui two years ago-- and they have a good handle on the excitement that can come with the vacation destinations--they should be able to help keep the guys focused.

Zagricultural
11-22-2015, 10:29 PM
Honestly the angst over this gave is simply because we all want to pound the hated dawgs. Zags are the better team, and that should show

titopoet
11-23-2015, 05:03 AM
The entire Top-8 of their rotation were Top-50 recruits (all 4* players).

Amazing (Fab 8).

A plethora of 6'4", even 6'5" guards who can shoot (and dunk).

A collection of 6'8" athletic forwards, they start 3, who run the floor, shoot, and slash to the hoop (a Zag killer).

A couple sharp-shooting 4* guards off the bench who spread the floor and actually defend.

This is the best-looking, multi-dimensional, versatile, hard nosed, and athletic team I've EVER seen at UW. Maybe their best overall team since Brockman years.

Its almost as if they finally got a Brandon Roy, Nate Rob, Chris Wilcox, Terrence Williams, etc to join at same time.

We don't only have our hands-full, but their collective strength(s) are our weaknesses i.e. guards who can get to the rim with ease, athletic & strong combo forwards, length at every position. Shot blockers, rebounders, defenders.

UW is a Top-15 team, maybe better.

They were more athletic than Texas and more talented. They have collected at least 50 rebounds in their first 3 games. Highlight reel dunks on every other possessions, also shooting a very respectable % from both FG & 3pt. Out performing us in most major statistical categories. +25 on rebs.

UW is utilizing their individual talents to their advantage. Thybulle a defensive specialist, Crisp a shooter, Chriss a high flying rebounding dunking machine, Andrews their scorer, Dickerson their muscle, Dime a shot blocker, etc etc.

I bet they lose 3 of their starting five to the NBA this season.

How do we match up?

Sabonis, Sabonis, and more Sabonis is the answer. He might be the only player who can match their intensity and polish. They've also shown to be susceptible to fouls in the paint and defense. Karnowski needs to play mean (wake up big guy!) b/c his lack of quickness on D & O & transition will most certainly be exposed. Wiltjer needs to find his stroke again…and position. The big 3 experiment may have stunted him a bit. Our guards have to break the press and trap. And make open 3's, b/c UW showing to be an elite perimeter defense team. Can our guards deal with hard-nosed defense and their length? UW has been able to drive at will vs athletes and non athletes alike. How does Perk, EasyMac, Dranginis defend them? Possibly more Alberts who can shoot, defend, and play pretty smart.

Above all, can our bigs defend their athletic PF's? A bunch of Stacy Davis types with more length and athleticism? How?

These guards need to come a long way on both sides of the court. Our defense vs uber athletic PF's must improve (some zone perhaps?).

At this point in the season, I feel we are overmatched from a perimeter standpoint, not to mention a tough time at defending slashers, and UW is chalk full of them…at every position.

Andrew Andrews, the lone Senior, actually lone upperclassman stated himself, "this is far and away the most balanced and talented team I've been a part of."

I couldn't agree more.

How do the Zags match 'Kentucky Lite' next Wednesday?

Yeah... 'bout that more like Kentucky watered down. The Huskies will have a great season if they break into the top 7 ... in the PAC12 and make the NIT. They got a lot of talent and getting more next season, but really... three one and dones? Does the NBA scouts know this, 'cause they are sort of silent right now. Marquise Chriss is a good piece but Ben Simmons he is not. They got a good win against a Texas team learning the Smart way and GU better come to play Wednesday morning, but the Zags got the Huskies in experience, talent and skill. Huskies will be better next year when the rivalry renews and the Udub is more seasoned and GU will working with a new front court (hopefully with Sabonis being the leader), but this year if the Zags come to play, the young pups will get a lesson.

TacomaZAG
11-23-2015, 07:55 AM
With all the bluster about how talented the Fuskies are this year, and the comparisons to Fusky teams past, I have a couple of simple questions for this year's version of the Romar mess.........

Who is the "glue" guy??? Who is this years Bobby Jones, Wil Conroy, or Jon Brockman??? Who is the lockdown defender???

Answer.........the Fuskies don't have that guys(s). What they have is the same thing they've had for the past 4 or 5 years........a bunch of talented individuals who were the "go to" guys on their HS and AAU teams, but guys who have never had to share the ball and/or the spotlight. This years version of Romar's bunch reminds me of the team with Wroten and one other guy whose name escapes me, both NBA first round picks who finished in the bottom half of the Pac-12 and sat at home for the NCAA tourney.

It's all about TEAM, college basketball is a team sport, the Fuskies aren't a team, and Romar can't make them into one this year any more than in years past.

Go ZAGS

Zagnificent
11-23-2015, 08:37 AM
If the huskies had a half-decent coach, I'd be a little more concerned. Even if they have "Kentucky-lite" players, they don't have a J. Calipari. Instead, they have a good recruiter that consistently under-performs based on the talent he acquires, loses top players to more stable programs (e.g. NWG), and drops games to generally inferior teams with much lower ceilings.

mgadfly
11-23-2015, 08:42 AM
The Huskies have a lot of talent but are very young. They will have games where they look fantastic and everything is working, and they have games where they will look like freshmen. GU's staff and talent will probably be able to exploit the youth but this is the type of team (forget that they are the Huskies for a second) that is tough to play because they will probably be inconsistent with so much youth. 7 game series we win in four or five games. One game, who knows?

LongIslandZagFan
11-23-2015, 08:48 AM
UW has talent... but come on... Kentucky lite? Really?

ProjectMKUltra5
11-23-2015, 09:04 AM
Corch:

A particularly inept coach, especially one who manages to evade firing by having talented players on his or her roster. As a coach becomes more and more useless, the "a" slowly morphs into an "r."

Alternately, "Corch" may be used as a verb, as in, to "Corch" a kid up.

ESPN Analyst #1: How did USC go from pre-season #1 to a middle-of-the Pac football team?
ESPN Analyst #2: Lane Kiffin is one helluva Corch.

Drunk College Student #1: Another top recruiting class for our SEMINOLES!
Drunk College Student #2: Don't worry- I'm sure Jimbo will Corch 'em up.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Corch

http://uschoops.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/Lorenzo-Romar.jpg

seacatfan
11-23-2015, 09:44 AM
This years version of Romar's bunch reminds me of the team with Wroten and one other guy whose name escapes me, both NBA first round picks who finished in the bottom half of the Pac-12 and sat at home for the NCAA tourney.


Terrence Ross was the other guy. And actually the Dawgs won the Pac 12 regular season that year, which made it all the worse they were left out of the Tourney. It was UNPRECEDENTED, no regular season winner of BCS/Power 5/whatever conference had ever missed The Dance before.

Zagdawg
11-23-2015, 10:10 AM
The conf really $ucked that year.

TacomaZAG
11-23-2015, 10:21 AM
Terrence Ross was the other guy. And actually the Dawgs won the Pac 12 regular season that year, which made it all the worse they were left out of the Tourney. It was UNPRECEDENTED, no regular season winner of BCS/Power 5/whatever conference had ever missed The Dance before.

Seacatfan, thanks for the reminder, I don't know what I was thinking........

Go ZAGS

seacatfan
11-23-2015, 10:26 AM
The conf really $ucked that year.

It did. It was still a slap in the face. I'm sure Dawg fans are still fairly bitter about that. UW beat nobody of consequence in OOC, had a couple opportunities but lost to Duke and Marquette I think. IIRC Colorado won the conference tourney and regular season 2nd place team Cal also got in the NCAA Tourney.

mgadfly
11-23-2015, 10:50 AM
It did. It was still a slap in the face. I'm sure Dawg fans are still fairly bitter about that. UW beat nobody of consequence in OOC, had a couple opportunities but lost to Duke and Marquette I think. IIRC Colorado won the conference tourney and regular season 2nd place team Cal also got in the NCAA Tourney.

It is kind of interesting looking at ken pomeroy's end of season conference strength ranking for the Pac-10/12:

2002: 3
2003: 6
2004: 10
2005: 6
2006: 5
2007: 3
2008: 2
2009: 1
2010: 6
2011: 5
2012: 8
2013: 3
2014: 4
2015: 6
2016: 4

The WCC was ranked between 10th and 14th each season until 2014 and 2015 when they were ranked #9 both times.

For the Pac, 2012 and 2004 were really down years.

Zagdawg
11-23-2015, 10:53 AM
I can understand why the committee did not give the huskies an at large bid.
They lost in first round of conference tourney--
Record (21-10) RPI: 60. Top50 record: 1-7. Top100 record: 4-8. NcSOS: 55

willandi
11-23-2015, 10:58 AM
If UW is Kentucky Lite, aren't the Zags the San Antonio Spurs Lite?

ZAGGED OUT
11-23-2015, 11:27 AM
This thread and OP is comical.

"Kentucky Lite" lolololololololol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

NEC26
11-23-2015, 11:46 AM
I'm a little concerned because our weakness ,sloppy ball control and handling, plays into the Huskies strength. Which is fast break points and emphasizing athleticism and play ground ball rather than half court sets. We really need to control the ball in this game. We do that I think we win. If not it'll be real close.

raise the zag
11-23-2015, 12:04 PM
Have you guys seen them play this season?

I've viewed two games.

I came away impressed. WAY better than I gave them credit for -- all due to their talent.

Chriss is a player. He will be a handful. So is Murray. And their other forward. They rebound with tenacity and length -- dangerous combo.

I have a feeling many will be surprised.

It will take our A-Game and ball control to win this game. UW capable of winning the Bahamas, that's for certain.

But...so are we.

GonzagasaurusFlex
11-23-2015, 12:26 PM
Have you guys seen them play this season?

I've viewed two games.

I came away impressed. WAY better than I gave them credit for -- all due to their talent.

Chriss is a player. He will be a handful. So is Murray. And their other forward. They rebound with tenacity and length -- dangerous combo.

I have a feeling many will be surprised.

It will take our A-Game and ball control to win this game. UW capable of winning the Bahamas, that's for certain.

But...so are we.

I'm with you....I watched UW beat Texas and was also imrpessed. Lots of athleticism and what seemed like good ball movement to me on the offensive end. One thing Zags are not this year is particularly athletic..especially with PK and KW on the court at the same time.

Lot of posters here are very anti UW and anti-Romar, and I'm wondering if they are not being objective enough to realize these Huskies can not only beat the Zags but flat out embarrass them. Zags guards need to value each possession, get back on D and keep UW honest by knocking down 3-pointers. KW and PK need to dominate and play better then I've seen yet this year.

willandi
11-23-2015, 12:37 PM
I watched them beat Texas and I wasn't really impressed. They have some very good talent, but I think the Zags are better. Can they beat the Zags? Of course. Should the Zags take them seriously? You betcha. Did the Zags take MSM and NAU seriously? Yes, I am sure they did. Are many posters here anti UW/Romar and not objective enough? Could be, but UW hasn't given the Zags ANY reason to not feel that way.

You others are welcome to believe what you want, to say what you want, to think what you want. I am a Zag fan and will believe in the Zags, right or wrong, until somebody shows me differently.

mgadfly
11-24-2015, 08:43 AM
I watched them beat Texas and I wasn't really impressed. They have some very good talent, but I think the Zags are better. Can they beat the Zags? Of course. Should the Zags take them seriously? You betcha. Did the Zags take MSM and NAU seriously? Yes, I am sure they did. Are many posters here anti UW/Romar and not objective enough? Could be, but UW hasn't given the Zags ANY reason to not feel that way.

You others are welcome to believe what you want, to say what you want, to think what you want. I am a Zag fan and will believe in the Zags, right or wrong, until somebody shows me differently.

I'm not sure how anyone could have watched the Texas vs UW game and not come away impressed with the Huskies. I'm not saying so impressed that you went and wagered your pay check on the Huskies knocking off a top 10 team like Gonzaga, but impressed nonetheless considering the roster turnover this offseason for them.

I've seen the Huskies play and I've seen Pepperdine play, and right now the Huskies are the better team (with a better record and a better quality win). And I'm still impressed with Pepperdine and think they have a legit shot to finish above Saint Mary's or BYU in the WCC. I also think Pepperdine has enough talent to beat the Zags in the right scenario with the ball bouncing wrong for GU a time or two. And the UW is better than the Waves.

Most likely GU exploits the UW's youth and wins fairly comfortably. GU is top ten after all. But if we are up five with two minutes to go sweating bullets at 10:45 tomorrow morning, I wouldn't be shocked.

BULLDOG#1
11-24-2015, 09:25 AM
If UW is Kentucky Lite, aren't the Zags the San Antonio Spurs Lite?

love it

seacatfan
11-24-2015, 11:00 AM
I'm not sure how anyone could have watched the Texas vs UW game and not come away impressed with the Huskies. I'm not saying so impressed that you went and wagered your pay check on the Huskies knocking off a top 10 team like Gonzaga, but impressed nonetheless considering the roster turnover this offseason for them.

I've seen the Huskies play and I've seen Pepperdine play, and right now the Huskies are the better team (with a better record and a better quality win). And I'm still impressed with Pepperdine and think they have a legit shot to finish above Saint Mary's or BYU in the WCC. I also think Pepperdine has enough talent to beat the Zags in the right scenario with the ball bouncing wrong for GU a time or two. And the UW is better than the Waves.

Most likely GU exploits the UW's youth and wins fairly comfortably. GU is top ten after all. But if we are up five with two minutes to go sweating bullets at 10:45 tomorrow morning, I wouldn't be shocked.

Pepperdine hasn't done anything so far in OOC. Lost to Fresno St., lost by double figures to UCLA (who lost to Monmouth and barely beat Cal Poly), beat San Diego Christian (never even heard of that school, probably D2), so their only legit win so far is Duquesne. Not a very high standard to be comparing UW to. A lot of people on this forum are high on Pepperdine, but I'm not one of them. Getting thumped by Seattle U. in one of the third rate post season tournaments last year was not an impressive feat either. The way they are starting off OOC so far this year still isn't showing me anything.

MDABE80
11-24-2015, 11:04 AM
I'm a little concerned because our weakness ,sloppy ball control and handling, plays into the Huskies strength. Which is fast break points and emphasizing athleticism and play ground ball rather than half court sets. We really need to control the ball in this game. We do that I think we win. If not it'll be real close.

THIS!

titopoet
11-24-2015, 11:14 AM
If UW is Kentucky Lite, aren't the Zags the San Antonio Spurs Lite?

Or better UW is Kentucky lite and GU is Zags heavy (especially with Sabonis, Wiltjer and Karno). It is no accident that so many teams want to be the next Kentucky, Duke of Gonzaga or look to be the Kentucky-lite, Duke-est or the Next-Gonzaga, while great programs want to be themselves.

ZagLawGrad
11-24-2015, 11:42 AM
Only thing I know for sure is that I like Lite beer.

Kiddwell
11-24-2015, 11:54 AM
Washington is Kentucky Fried Chicken crispy. Probably, extra crispy.




:]

Mantua
11-24-2015, 12:23 PM
Or better UW is Kentucky lite and GU is Zags heavy (especially with Sabonis, Wiltjer and Karno). It is no accident that so many teams want to be the next Kentucky, Duke of Gonzaga or look to be the Kentucky-lite, Duke-est or the Next-Gonzaga, while great programs want to be themselves.

Are other fans of last year's Elite Eight teams terrified of a group of freshmen from an untested team? Zag fans are always so skittish...including me.

Are we still America's Team? We know UW is Seattle's Team no matter how beleaguered.

I guess it all comes down to the worrying about our guards.

On a side note: I'm grateful to have tv, heat and light after a week of being a power outage refugee.

ZAGGED OUT
11-24-2015, 01:57 PM
I'm not sure how anyone could have watched the Texas vs UW game and not come away impressed with the Huskies. I'm not saying so impressed that you went and wagered your pay check on the Huskies knocking off a top 10 team like Gonzaga, but impressed nonetheless considering the roster turnover this offseason for them.

Because their offense looked horrid? Both those teams played a hideous game. They both shot sub 35% from the field overall, sub 20% from deep, and sub 70% from the line. UW's leading scorer was 4-16 from the field......I'm not saying we're going to annihilate them, but I do believe we should firmly control this game. I honestly can't understand how anybody came away impressed with them from the Texas game....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

titopoet
11-24-2015, 02:13 PM
Are other fans of last year's Elite Eight teams terrified of a group of freshmen from an untested team? Zag fans are always so skittish...including me.

Are we still America's Team? We know UW is Seattle's Team no matter how beleaguered.

I guess it all comes down to the worrying about our guards.

On a side note: I'm grateful to have tv, heat and light after a week of being a power outage refugee.

You know this week and the wind has again proved to me that love is the most important. I so happy you and the rest of neighbors have or will have power again. We hosted friends without.

On the game, I am going out on a limp here, but I have a feeling Josh will be the best guard on the floor tomorrow. The kid has the tools and the ability. It looks as if he is letting the pressure get to him of taking over for Kevin. He got to chippy with the Mount of St Mary guard let him get under his skin. I have a feeling Few is going to claim him down and the Bahamas will be remembered as his breakout tourney. Perkins is very good, he just needs to remember it and let the game come to him. Find the bigs and let the legend begin.

mattydog73
11-24-2015, 02:50 PM
A couple thoughts:

First, statsheet.com has been taken away so for the number bots: http://stats.ncaa.org/rankings/change_sport_year_div

Second, how in the world could anyone watch the UW/TX game and come away impressed or thinking UW is "polished" wow, just wow. That was an out of control, run up and down, throw up a shot at any given moment, foul fest of a "game" Athletic kids playing UGLY.

Lastly, the kids on that UW team are talented without a doubt. But that is not what wins basketball games. Effort and Execution on both sides of the ball wins games.

mgadfly
11-24-2015, 02:52 PM
Because their offense looked horrid? Both those teams played a hideous game. They both shot sub 35% from the field overall, sub 20% from deep, and sub 70% from the line. UW's leading scorer was 4-16 from the field......I'm not saying we're going to annihilate them, but I do believe we should firmly control this game. I honestly can't understand how anybody came away impressed with them from the Texas game....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

They had 10 steals, 8 blocks, and 25 offensive rebounds. They played with energy, got to the free-throw line, and won the game. They held the other team to .87 ppp. They couldn't make their shots from deep or from the free throw line and their best player (imo) had four fouls in the first half. Witljer couldn't make his shots the other night. He still competed, grabbed 9 boards, and did a lot of things right (and there will be games where he makes his shots and there will be games where the UW will shoot better than 60% from the free-throw line). What I saw was a pretty impressive effort by UW. We should handle them, I agree. Maybe we shouldn't even play the game we are so much better than them.

willandi
11-24-2015, 03:28 PM
Because their offense looked horrid? Both those teams played a hideous game. They both shot sub 35% from the field overall, sub 20% from deep, and sub 70% from the line. UW's leading scorer was 4-16 from the field......I'm not saying we're going to annihilate them, but I do believe we should firmly control this game. I honestly can't understand how anybody came away impressed with them from the Texas game....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

this

ZAGGED OUT
11-24-2015, 04:07 PM
They had 10 steals, 8 blocks, and 25 offensive rebounds. They played with energy, got to the free-throw line, and won the game. They held the other team to .87 ppp. They couldn't make their shots from deep or from the free throw line and their best player (imo) had four fouls in the first half. Witljer couldn't make his shots the other night. He still competed, grabbed 9 boards, and did a lot of things right (and there will be games where he makes his shots and there will be games where the UW will shoot better than 60% from the free-throw line). What I saw was a pretty impressive effort by UW. We should handle them, I agree. Maybe we shouldn't even play the game we are so much better than them.

lol 25 offensive boards.....BECAUSE THEY SHOT UNDER 35%!

Texas held themselves to .87ppp, did you watch the pathetic excuse of an offense they tried to run? UW is long and athletic, sure, but they didn't force Texas into that ridiculous up and down, out of control gameplay.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

seacatfan
11-24-2015, 05:16 PM
Yeah, I thought Texas looked absolutely awful in that game, yet UW didn't really put them away. 6 point win. It was more "UW sucked less than Texas" rather than how great UW played. Funny that a handful of us watched the same game, and we have about a 50/50 split with completely different opinions about the game.