PDA

View Full Version : Hachimura signs with the Zags



basketballzag
11-12-2015, 10:27 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CToK-h6UwAER6rb.jpg

Does this mean he has signed?https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CToK-h6UwAER6rb.jpg

Worthington
11-12-2015, 10:53 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCQPNTinlss

Kawhi Leonard-like. If he signs, Gonzaga's 2016 class would be top 5 or better in my opinion.

former1dog
11-12-2015, 10:56 AM
How big a kid is Rui?

strikenowhere
11-12-2015, 10:58 AM
How big a kid is Rui?

I think the word on the street is he's 6'6" but very long

basketballzag
11-12-2015, 10:59 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCQPNTinlss

Kawhi Leonard-like. If he signs, Gonzaga's 2016 class would be top 5 or better in my opinion.

Decieving video because at 6'6 he looks like he is 7'5 on that court next to the 5'1 PG and the 5'4 SG.

hooter73
11-12-2015, 11:02 AM
I think the word on the street is he's 6'6" but very long

Hes a WCC big :jk:

exclusivelee
11-12-2015, 11:23 AM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/12/ad67bd70b2309c758b82523b560d6974.jpg
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/12/0ad8820cdad5ff761a0d37e7bd0425fd.jpg

TokyoZag
11-12-2015, 11:31 AM
Already my favorite player!

Zagceo
11-12-2015, 11:36 AM
http://youtu.be/E-b0JL9KCzE

sittingon50
11-12-2015, 11:39 AM
Already my favorite player!

Man, talk about a homer, Tokyo!!:lmao:

Zagnificent
11-12-2015, 12:20 PM
The dude has Zag hair.

zagsfanforlife
11-12-2015, 12:21 PM
The dude has Zag hair.

Haha pretty sure the frizzy haired reallly asian looking kid isnt Rui.....

Mantua
11-12-2015, 12:27 PM
http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1538504-jordan-brand-international-standouts

http://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2015/10/04/general/biracial-athletes-making-strides-changing-japanese-society/#.VkUD93o76rW

Who else is recruiting Rui? Or Rui "Louis"?

CDC84
11-12-2015, 12:37 PM
Mom is Japanese, Dad is from Benin.

http://jto.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/p11-kaz-a-20150105-870x626.jpg

exclusivelee
11-12-2015, 01:30 PM
http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1538504-jordan-brand-international-standouts

http://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2015/10/04/general/biracial-athletes-making-strides-changing-japanese-society/#.VkUD93o76rW

Who else is recruiting Rui? Or Rui "Louis"?
I was told Gonzaga and Arizona were the main ones. St. John's was in the mix but may have dropped out

Back on January 31, it was Gonzaga, Arizona and Vanderbilt

CarolinaZagFan
11-12-2015, 02:03 PM
http://youtu.be/E-b0JL9KCzE

Geez, show some class America.

Kiddwell
11-12-2015, 02:05 PM
He's signed, or we're still waiting for him to sign, or he's not definitely decided for GU yet. :bishop_smiley:



:]

Reignbird
11-18-2015, 11:30 AM
Has anyone heard anything lately. Pretty excited about his kid. In fact, if he signs I may be more excited about next year's team than this year's team and I'm thinking we have a final four team this year.

seacatfan
11-18-2015, 12:04 PM
In the other thread it was mentioned he played C for his team and needed to work on perimeter skills. In the 2 highlight reels I sure see a lot of long jumpers from him, and also perfectly adept at putting the ball on the floor and driving. Looks like he scored all but 1 of Japan's points in the first half against the US.

TexasZagFan
11-18-2015, 12:26 PM
He's signed, or we're still waiting for him to sign, or he's not definitely decided for GU yet. :bishop_smiley:



:]

That was helpful...thanks, Kidd.

stretch
11-18-2015, 02:29 PM
http://youtu.be/E-b0JL9KCzE

Rui's plus minus in that game is a concern to me.

raise the zag
11-18-2015, 02:43 PM
He'd most likely RS, yet flashes a TON of potential.

High ceiling kid tho...

Mr Vulture
11-18-2015, 02:50 PM
I don't know about being the gem of the class, if he were to sign, but looked like his outside game was pretty good to me. I wouldn't say he looked like the most athletic guy out there but seems pretty similar in style to Byron Wesley.

Reignbird
11-18-2015, 03:59 PM
He looks like a better shooter than Wesley to me. Also, everyone should keep in mind that he was having to carry his entire team. When the entire US team was trying to stop him, he provided the only offense. Lastly, it looks like he can create his own shot, which is huge. Not used to having a few people who can. If he signs, Gonzaga should have several people who can create and two good point guards. I'm really excited and hope he signs with the Zags.

cggonzaga
11-18-2015, 04:32 PM
I don't think some people realize how good Rui is. I've read an article from earlier this year that said he'd be a top 10 recruit in the country if he played in the states. Him and Collins would be the gems of the class but it's not like the others are far behind.

Reignbird
11-18-2015, 07:59 PM
Can you link the article, it would be nice reading for the rest of us.

basketballzag
11-19-2015, 08:50 PM
"Chilean 1998 born Nicolas Aguirre selected the U.S. school system. Japan’s star 1998-born prospect Rui Hachimura appears set on going stateside as well despite Japan’s national team director Torsten Loibl urging him to go to Europe. Hachimura has already visited among other schools Gonzaga University - a college known for an influx of international players.

While Europe doesn’t have the school-basketball combination of the United States, European basketball provides players more practice time than teams in the United States. And many would argue that players can get better in Europe than in the United States, where colleges have strict regulations about the amount of practice time - not to mention pesky exams and other homework assignments."

http://www.fiba.com/news/khalaf-signing-with-manresa-a-bet-on-future-for-both-sides

ProjectMKUltra5
11-19-2015, 09:02 PM
Haha those pesky exams, always screwing **** up

thegloriousgoateeofKP
11-20-2015, 11:14 AM
Let's gooooooooooo!

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1613659-gonzaga-lands-japanese-star

ZagNative
11-20-2015, 11:15 AM
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-dgaW8Zpf_O0/Vk9-IxG34_I/AAAAAAACm0s/lK7zHs7rp3k/s634-Ic42/2015-11-20%252520Rui%252520Hachumura%252520committed.jpg

Zagnificent
11-20-2015, 11:17 AM
Awesome news. Looks like the SF position is locked up. The future is bright! Now the discussion begins....is this the best recruiting class in Zag history?

Worthington
11-20-2015, 11:19 AM
WOWOWOOWOW!!! BEYOND EXCITED ABOUT THIS ONE!!!

MickMick
11-20-2015, 11:27 AM
Championship!

ProjectMKUltra5
11-20-2015, 11:28 AM
Still not sure what to make of him but I'm certainly glad we got him. Easily the most intriguing prospect in our class imo

NotoriousZ
11-20-2015, 11:33 AM
Welcome Rui!

Zagdawg
11-20-2015, 11:46 AM
Wow!! Great news!

Kiddwell
11-20-2015, 11:47 AM
Kiddwell needs to sit down. This's too overwhelming. How good, for Petey's sakes, is this class anyway*??? :000tens:



:]





<*"Best ever, easily!" that's how good!>

CDC84
11-20-2015, 11:57 AM
The scout.com folks forgot to include Jacob Larsen. He's a part of the 2016 class as well.

jchocolate99
11-20-2015, 11:59 AM
Fox sports saying he could potentially reclassify to the 2017 class which is fine but I'd almost rather have him on campus and just redshirt... That would benefit him more IMO

raise the zag
11-20-2015, 12:01 PM
Nice.

Be patient, as he may not be joining until 2017. Not to mention his inexperience in organized basketball -- been playing for 4 years, and with no offensive sets to speak of.

That said, very solid signing.

Huge ceiling -- height, athleticism, length, multi-positional, innate ability.

Bogozags
11-20-2015, 12:37 PM
Help me understand, this young, inexperienced but highly gifted 6'7" SF has "signed" or just committed. I just need to know as this will certainly influence just how high I am going to jump! Ok, it's only a matter of inches but still...

Jakester425
11-20-2015, 12:48 PM
I can hear the chants now..."Rui! Rui! Rui!".

sittingon50
11-20-2015, 12:56 PM
:clap:

Coach Crazy
11-20-2015, 12:59 PM
The way this kid moves (especially in how he creates his shot at multiple phases of the sequence), his athleticism, his versatility, his skill, his size...all of it points to a kid that can become something special.

Him getting him away from being a primary post player, will also contribute to a lot of progress at SF.

ZagNative
11-20-2015, 01:14 PM
The inn is full, or darned near ... No room for an incredible unexpected incoming transfer next year.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-qFoI5fDWtbI/Vk-aGywnKRI/AAAAAAACm1A/iI5SG15lxI8/s938-Ic42/2015-11-20%252520Scholie%252520Chart.jpg

MickMick
11-20-2015, 01:31 PM
2017-2018 is one loaded roster and a little seasoned as well. Reading the BYU Cougar boards, that is the season they think they can overtake GU.

All I can say is they better pack a lunch. It may take awhile.

GoZags
11-20-2015, 01:35 PM
The way this kid moves (especially in how he creates his shot at multiple phases of the sequence), his athleticism, his versatility, his skill, his size...all of it points to a kid that can become something special.

Him getting him away from being a primary post player, will also contribute to a lot of progress at SF.

This is one kid that literally could have gone to any school in the country. Any school. Welcome to Gonzaga, Rui.

sittingon50
11-20-2015, 01:39 PM
The inn is full, or darned near ... No room for an incredible unexpected incoming transfer next year.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-qFoI5fDWtbI/Vk-aGywnKRI/AAAAAAACm1A/iI5SG15lxI8/s938-Ic42/2015-11-20%252520Scholie%252520Chart.jpg

Native, I was under the impression that Jeremy Jones was a scholarship player. Do you (or anyone else) have info to the contrary?

Bouldin4Prez
11-20-2015, 01:46 PM
1. Love this pick up by the staff. Welcome to the zag family Rui!!!!

2. I guess I didn't realize we only had 9 scholarship guys for this year. Really hoping we don't see a major injury.

3. I know we always talk about "our best roster ever" but 2017-2018 if everyone stays that is on that scholarship chart is insanely talented. Blue blood level talent.

ZagNative
11-20-2015, 01:52 PM
Native, I was under the impression that Jeremy Jones was a scholarship player. Do you (or anyone else) have info to the contrary?SSF described him as a walk-on. With his modest stats at Rice. I'd be surprised if he received a scholarship to play at GU.

CDC84
11-20-2015, 01:54 PM
The 2016/17 roster is insanely talented as well. Perkins (with one year of experience) and NWG and going to be some kind of duo.

GoZags
11-20-2015, 02:02 PM
Pretty cool that Rui slipped in and out of Spokane twice in the last month or so (including this past week) ... Zags did a GREAT job of keeping this quiet. As I mentioned, this kid could have basically picked his school ... yet Gonzaga played their cards brilliantly. Again ... welcome Rui.

gonstu
11-20-2015, 02:03 PM
who else was recruiting or had offered Rui?

ZagaZags
11-20-2015, 02:11 PM
Pretty cool that Rui slipped in and out of Spokane twice in the last month or so (including this past week) ... Zags did a GREAT job of keeping this quiet. As I mentioned, this kid could have basically picked his school ... yet Gonzaga played their cards brilliantly. Again ... welcome Rui.

Those underground tunnels in Spokane come in handy.

ZagsObserver
11-20-2015, 02:15 PM
who else was recruiting or had offered Rui?

I was wondering the same thing. Awesome signing. The coaches knocked it out of the park. The only question is the lack of experience, which could be magnified by the number of different styles within international play, will impact resilts in the near term. That aside, the ceiling is high.

Billfish'80
11-20-2015, 02:16 PM
I'll bet he came in on a Navy sub (straight from Okinawa) through the underground river to Lk Pend Oreille. Few met them there on a fishing trip.

seacatfan
11-20-2015, 02:38 PM
There were some disappointments earlier in the recruiting cycle (Narain, Bailey...), but the last several months it seems like the Zags are getting every recruit they've targeted, especially the international guys.

GoZags
11-20-2015, 02:38 PM
who else was recruiting or had offered Rui?

I am aware of 2 "Blue Bloods", one out West and one in NC that felt he was a top 10-20 guy. His "recruitment " was very much UTR.

surfmonkey89
11-20-2015, 02:45 PM
Pay Tommy Lloyd whatever he wants.

Whatever. he. wants.

rennis
11-20-2015, 02:56 PM
Pay Tommy Lloyd whatever he wants.

Whatever. he. wants.

^5

hooter73
11-20-2015, 03:15 PM
Holy crap.

And by that I mean WELCOME RUI!

But really, holy crap. If he comes in next year (2016) we will be somewhat inexperienced but so loaded. The coaches will be pulling their hair out getting the guys up to speed with GU style ball but we could be looking at a platoon subbing situation with no drop off between the two. Wow.

zag39
11-20-2015, 03:34 PM
Wow!!
GO RUI! GO ZAGS!

basketballzag
11-20-2015, 03:34 PM
I am aware of 2 "Blue Bloods", one out West and one in NC that felt he was a top 10-20 guy. His "recruitment " was very much UTR.

Arizona, Duke, and Kansas

basketballzag
11-20-2015, 03:44 PM
Arizona, Duke, and Kansas


And he is officially committed to the Zags and the Zags last 2016 recruit. He has the ability to be a first round NBA player per my contacts in 2018-19. He is the best of the international class. Huge signing.

GoZags
11-20-2015, 03:48 PM
And he is officially committed to the Zags and the Zags last 2016 recruit. He has the ability to be a first round NBA player per my contacts in 2018-19. He is the best of the international class. Huge signing.

Unbelievable coup for Mark, Tommy and the guys.....

basketballzag
11-20-2015, 03:55 PM
Unbelievable coup for Mark, Tommy and the guys.....

The biggest coup since Sabonis. Wait until the recruiting services and fans see this kid play. He had to have been Gonzaga's #1 prospect since last year at this position.

hooter73
11-20-2015, 03:59 PM
Dont make any mistake, he is raw and has only every played out of position against smaller competition. It will take time to be that first rounder...

ProjectMKUltra5
11-20-2015, 04:00 PM
The biggest coup since Sabonis. Wait until the recruiting services and fans see this kid play. He had to have been Gonzaga's #1 prospect since last year at this position.

Dude your getting me all hot and bothered. Is Rui really this good?

GoZags
11-20-2015, 04:03 PM
has only every played out of position against smaller competition. ...

Except when he was the leading scorer in the Fiba U17 World championships, or played extremely well at the Jordan Brand International Classic

raise the zag
11-20-2015, 04:15 PM
The biggest coup since Sabonis. Wait until the recruiting services and fans see this kid play. He had to have been Gonzaga's #1 prospect since last year at this position.

Terrific prospect, yet there are varying opinions on Rui as a potential D1 or NBA talent.

His hype has been somewhat overblown, so say many, due to his unique stature/position for his nationality, & international performances for Japan.

He has taken over 30 shots in many games.

Everyone sees the potential; however, scouts believe he has a long way to go.

He's long, athletic, has a nice feel, a jump shot to 18 feet, and a power move to the hoop. So do a lot of Top-100 kids too.

There are numerous kids who would stand out as much as he has playing for Japan at the same level.

My direct source says he's a highly coveted athlete with great attributes, yet borderline Top-100 prospect. He's extremely reliant on his build, has shown little to no ball handling ability, especially as a projected FORWARD. He currently plays Center and some PF for his team.

His perimeter skills, ball skills, and post moves are almost non-existent, nor have been asked of him.

He started playing basketball at around age 12 or 13. He has a great feel, power move to the hoop, and a solid shot, with a great frame.

I've heard some would consider him a Top-10 type talent, yet he's never truly shown this ability. Many of his games he's been 12 of 32 FG, etc. He's shown flashes of athleticism and moves around the hoop. His offense is power layups, put backs, and some mid-range jumpers. That's all we've seen.

His ceiling his high, his potential is there, yet let's not P-MAC this kid quite yet.

His intrigue and mystery is based on his Lebron-looking play for Japan.

He's faired OK vs better competition, putting up points, yet also taking every shot.

Many like this kid, sees him as a red-shirt candidate for Gonzaga, but also a Kelly Olynyk type development. Build his body, trust his attributes, and learn the game of basketball.

He has a long way to go and NBA talk is premature.

All that said, huge ceiling and great signing!

jazzdelmar
11-20-2015, 04:16 PM
Such hype. Such comparisons. Echoes of the Heister.

All these kids, from Perks and Melson back to the class of '16. So far, only Sabonis has delivered. In spades. Is there a Grayson Allen, just one, among all these highly touted players?

ZagNative
11-20-2015, 04:24 PM
raise the zag, great post, as always. Appreciate your cool-headed insights...

jazzdelmar
11-20-2015, 04:30 PM
raise the zag, great post, as always. Appreciate your cool-headed insights...

Indeed. It's getting kinda crazy in here. Again, give me just one Grayson Allen and one Sabonis. That too much to ask. Love the PMAC reference as well. The archetype of Zag hype in the bad old days.

Zagdawg
11-20-2015, 04:43 PM
I am optimistic that he will be able to embrace his role with Zags--- He goes from a team where he was expected to carry the entire load ---to a key part with a a great Zag team.

He has an opportunity to further develop his skill set with a great group of guys-- and will have no pressure/expectation to carry the team --he will be able to ease into his role with the team.

He has the drive ---will be a nice piece of the puzzle.

seacatfan
11-20-2015, 04:45 PM
Indeed. It's getting kinda crazy in here. Again, give me just one Grayson Allen and one Sabonis. That too much to ask. Love the PMAC reference as well. The archetype of Zag hype in the bad old days.

Bol Kong is up there for all time over hyped flops.

jazzdelmar
11-20-2015, 04:50 PM
Bol Kong is up there for all time over hyped flops.

Bol, um, had some other issues that hampered whatever talent he had, which wasn't much. But a worthy nominee.

Martin Centre Mad Man
11-20-2015, 06:05 PM
The inn is full, or darned near ... No room for an incredible unexpected incoming transfer next year.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-qFoI5fDWtbI/Vk-aGywnKRI/AAAAAAACm1A/iI5SG15lxI8/s938-Ic42/2015-11-20%252520Scholie%252520Chart.jpg

So...barring a transfer or someone leaving early for the pros, Gonzaga is pretty much done recruiting until the 2018 class?

zag buddy
11-20-2015, 06:14 PM
nice post rtf. tx. I saw on one article that he may not play until 2017.

GoZags
11-20-2015, 06:16 PM
So...barring a transfer or someone leaving early for the pros, Gonzaga is pretty much done recruiting until the 2018 class?

Corey Kispert is a priority. Big time.

Idahomie
11-20-2015, 06:33 PM
That one half of basketball in Okinawa sure feels an awful lot like a W now!

basketballzag
11-20-2015, 06:51 PM
Terrific prospect, yet there are varying opinions on Rui as a potential D1 or NBA talent.

His hype has been somewhat overblown, so say many, due to his unique stature/position for his nationality, & international performances for Japan.

He has taken over 30 shots in many games.

Everyone sees the potential; however, scouts believe he has a long way to go.

He's long, athletic, has a nice feel, a jump shot to 18 feet, and a power move to the hoop. So do a lot of Top-100 kids too.

There are numerous kids who would stand out as much as he has playing for Japan at the same level.

My direct source says he's a highly coveted athlete with great attributes, yet borderline Top-100 prospect. He's extremely reliant on his build, has shown little to no ball handling ability, especially as a projected FORWARD. He currently plays Center and some PF for his team.

His perimeter skills, ball skills, and post moves are almost non-existent, nor have been asked of him.

He started playing basketball at around age 12 or 13. He has a great feel, power move to the hoop, and a solid shot, with a great frame.

I've heard some would consider him a Top-10 type talent, yet he's never truly shown this ability. Many of his games he's been 12 of 32 FG, etc. He's shown flashes of athleticism and moves around the hoop. His offense is power layups, put backs, and some mid-range jumpers. That's all we've seen.

His ceiling his high, his potential is there, yet let's not P-MAC this kid quite yet.

His intrigue and mystery is based on his Lebron-looking play for Japan.

He's faired OK vs better competition, putting up points, yet also taking every shot.

Many like this kid, sees him as a red-shirt candidate for Gonzaga, but also a Kelly Olynyk type development. Build his body, trust his attributes, and learn the game of basketball.

He has a long way to go and NBA talk is premature.

All that said, huge ceiling and great signing!

I spoke with some scouts who watched him play and all said he is a high major Div 1 prospect with the potential to be drafted in 2018. Obviously he has to meet those expectations on the court. He was also routinely doubled and tripled on offense and he still found ways to break himself free.

He turned down a rather substantial amount of Euro & Chinese $$$ to sign with Gonzaga. Not quite Sabonis money but substantial enough that the euro league is very aware of his skill level. It will be a bit of an adjustment for him changing positions but if he was in Europe and not Japan he would be one of the top 4 prospects in 2016 according to my guys. My guys all specifically mentioned the 2018 draft as a very real possibility with him so they clearly don't think that talk is premature.

Duke, Arizona, and Kansas attention should speak volumes

basketballzag
11-20-2015, 07:03 PM
Bol, um, had some other issues that hampered whatever talent he had, which wasn't much. But a worthy nominee.

Bol Kong was drafted 4th in the NBLD this year. He did have loads of talent on a very inexperienced frame & was a inexperienced on the X&Os when he came to GU. Kong today is about where Jones is today. Still he was ridiculously overhyped by those Canadians who wanted a player win in the ncaa

Another Blame Canada post. 🙄

cggonzaga
11-20-2015, 07:35 PM
As has been mentioned by some on the board, Rui has HUGE potential. This is easily Gonzaga's best class ever and that's saying something. I would be shocked if any of these guys flopped. I wouldn't be shocked if we saw some transfers in the coming years however as the talent is overwhelming.

23dpg
11-20-2015, 07:36 PM
Bol Kong was drafted 4th in the NBLD this year. He did have loads of talent on a very inexperienced frame & was a inexperienced on the X&Os when he came to GU. Kong today is about where Jones is today. Still he was ridiculously overhyped by those Canadians who wanted a player win in the ncaa

Another Blame Canada post. ��

A clarification. Bol Kong was picked 4th overall in the Canadian NBL in 2013. Also, he was asked/told/forced to leave Gonzaga due to non basketball related issues as mentioned by Jazz. It seems enough time has elapsed to say what is was but I will leave that to others.
He might have been a good player. We'll never know.

Back on topic. A few weeks ago I had never heard of Rui. Now I'm as excited as most of you. Why? Because he's a Zag!

LouisianaZag
11-20-2015, 07:57 PM
Rui Hachimura has signed with Gonzaga according to information I received from the school on my Facebook What great news!

MickMick
11-20-2015, 08:28 PM
Kong had all the upside and physical gifts you could want in a player. This staff doesn't bring in players "Willy Nilly". What Kong didn't have, upon arriving at GU, was the "want to."

Who knows if Rui has the "want to"? You never truly know until they arrive.

I suspect he has more than Kong, like 99% of the other players that GU brings in.

sittingon50
11-20-2015, 08:40 PM
Anyone know what Rui's or Killian's English language skills are like?

I recall Karno stated that he was quite limited when he 1st arrived & it was initially quite tough for him.

Radbooks
11-20-2015, 08:47 PM
Anyone know what Rui's or Killian's English language skills are like?

I recall Karno stated that he was quite limited when he 1st arrived & it was initially quite tough for him.

From Jim Meehan's article (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2015/nov/20/zags-sign-japanese-forward-rui-hachimura/) at the Spokesman:


The threesome joins a 2016 class that includes Las Vegas forward/center Zach Collins and French forward Killian Tillie. Hachimura, whose mom is from Japan and dad is from Benin, is becoming more proficient with the English language. He still has to meet Gonzaga and NCAA entrance standards, leaving open the possibility of reclassifying to the 2017 class.

More at the link...

Mantua
11-21-2015, 01:40 PM
Kong had all the upside and physical gifts you could want in a player. This staff doesn't bring in players "Willy Nilly". What Kong didn't have, upon arriving at GU, was the "want to."

Who knows if Rui has the "want to"? You never truly know until they arrive.

I suspect he has more than Kong, like 99% of the other players that GU brings in.

My guess is that Rui is more motivated considering the background culture and the telling fact that he turned down a lucrative contract. I like your take on the question during the board's rush to guessing time in the wake of his acceptance.

I'm pretty sure we'll get more solid information as the year rolls on. I'm optimistic about him and our younger current players because I'm a fan and I choose to avoid being overly skeptical on paper. It's not fair to players to write off their potential before they have had a chance to get comfortable.

CDC84
11-21-2015, 01:48 PM
The thing that you can never predict with some of these kids with significant upside is what's between their ears. The players that some board members have accused other board members of overhyping NEVER lacked physical talent, innate ability and true upside. They lacked things such as a passion for the game. Or they played scared. Or they lacked personal discipline. These things will kill the ability of almost any basketball player.

Zagceo
11-21-2015, 01:55 PM
The thing that you can never predict with some of these kids with significant upside is what's between their ears. The players that some board members have accused other board members of overhyping NEVER lacked physical talent, innate ability and true upside. They lacked things such as a passion for the game. Or they played scared. Or they lacked personal discipline. These things will kill the ability of almost any basketball player.

So true.

some even lesser talent but more passion, drive and work ethic……………John Stockton

MDABE80
11-21-2015, 01:57 PM
Or they lacked personal discipline. <------------------this. RUi's from the culture that demands studying and excellence. He'll be fine that way. RUI's been largely playing with midgets comparatively. He's got plenty of work to do.
When people talk about "NBA written all of him" I get worried. Yes we do see that type of kid but it's so rare! Domas is about the only one but he's needing more time in college. Will he get there? I dunno but he'll get Euro dollars. Great money . I hope we get him for another year.

TexasZagFan
11-21-2015, 02:24 PM
I'll bet he came in on a Navy sub (straight from Okinawa) through the underground river to Lk Pend Oreille. Few met them there on a fishing trip.

...and they ate sushi for lunch, right?

TexasZagFan
11-21-2015, 02:28 PM
And he is officially committed to the Zags and the Zags last 2016 recruit. He has the ability to be a first round NBA player per my contacts in 2018-19. He is the best of the international class. Huge signing.

If past is prologue, Rui will go from a 4/5 star to a mid-3 before the end of the year.

TexasZagFan
11-21-2015, 02:31 PM
Bol Kong is up there for all time over hyped flops.



That was long ago, in a galaxy far away...

Coach Crazy
11-21-2015, 04:49 PM
That was long ago, in a galaxy far away...


And that production was done by George Lucas, whereas our more recent iterations are more J.J. Abrams.

Ekrub
11-21-2015, 06:04 PM
And he is officially committed to the Zags and the Zags last 2016 recruit. He has the ability to be a first round NBA player per my contacts in 2018-19. He is the best of the international class. Huge signing.

You reading this BigParb ?

SteelZag
11-21-2015, 09:35 PM
...and they ate sushi for lunch, right?

This is starting to remind me of a Clive Cussler novel.

bigblahla
11-22-2015, 11:05 PM
Kong had all the upside and physical gifts you could want in a player. This staff doesn't bring in players "Willy Nilly". What Kong didn't have, upon arriving at GU, was the "want to."

Who knows if Rui has the "want to"? You never truly know until they arrive.

I suspect he has more than Kong, like 99% of the other players that GU brings in.

Had Kong had Pangos drive to succeed he could have been special...too many people in his ear telling him how great he was so he quit developing...thought he was already a star...sad story...but not unfamiliar...damn it's nice to have power again...

Go!! Zags!!!

TexasZagFan
11-23-2015, 07:37 AM
This is starting to remind me of a Clive Cussler novel.

Never read any of Clive's works, looks like I'll have to check him out.

Heister will have a field day, throwing in adjectives like "ninja" when describing the young man's abilities. I can hardly wait...

gonstu
11-23-2015, 08:00 AM
Never read any of Clive's works, looks like I'll have to check him out.

Heister will have a field day, throwing in adjectives like "ninja" when describing the young man's abilities. I can hardly wait...

L.O.L.

Zagnificent
11-23-2015, 08:25 AM
Never read any of Clive's works, looks like I'll have to check him out.

Heister will have a field day, throwing in adjectives like "ninja" when describing the young man's abilities. I can hardly wait...

Seriously. And given modern sensitivities, I can see this ending very poorly and very quickly. "And Hachimura drops a bomb on the Gaels right there. He's basically piloting the Enola Gay tonight!"

mgadfly
11-23-2015, 08:32 AM
So...barring a transfer or someone leaving early for the pros, Gonzaga is pretty much done recruiting until the 2018 class?

Is it possible to take a graduate transfer next year for one season in the spot Wade will take in 2017-18?

TexasZagFan
11-23-2015, 09:02 AM
Seriously. And given modern sensitivities, I can see this ending very poorly and very quickly. "And Hachimura drops a bomb on the Gaels right there. He's basically piloting the Enola Gay tonight!"

:lmao: I'm afraid we've given Heister way too much to work with already. Do they have a 7 second delay for TV?

sage
11-23-2015, 09:38 AM
I have a full time delay.... it's called the mute button.

seacatfan
11-23-2015, 09:46 AM
Never read any of Clive's works, looks like I'll have to check him out.


His Dirk Pitt character is kind of like an American James Bond. Good brain candy. Not much substance but plenty entertaining.

webspinnre
11-23-2015, 12:27 PM
His Dirk Pitt character is kind of like an American James Bond. Good brain candy. Not much substance but plenty entertaining.

Indeed, they're alot of fun.

ZagaZags
11-23-2015, 02:41 PM
Is it possible to take a graduate transfer next year for one season in the spot Wade will take in 2017-18?

If one came available, they absolutely could sign him for the 2016-2017 season.

SteelZag
11-23-2015, 05:44 PM
His Dirk Pitt character is kind of like an American James Bond. Good brain candy. Not much substance but plenty entertaining.


Indeed, they're alot of fun.

I worked in a job that originally was designed to be "unmanned." An interview question was actually "do you like to read?" Cussler had a few books made into movies, one of which was "Sahara."

RRZagFan
11-24-2015, 11:37 PM
Another little read

http://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2015/11/25/basketball/hachimura-signs-with-powerhouse-college-program-gonzaga/

Zagger
11-25-2015, 12:33 AM
Another little read
http://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2015/11/25/basketball/hachimura-signs-with-powerhouse-college-program-gonzaga/


Hachimura signs with powerhouse college program Gonzaga
Zags earning quite a reputation. Been an interesting decade thus far and certainly is not gathering any moss.

Zagdawg
11-25-2015, 07:56 AM
"Hachimura, a dominant inside force in Japanese prep ball, mostly played near the basket in his first year at Meisei, but with his transfer to the United States in sight, he’s started to polish his outside skills, including jump shots and penetration."

I like it--

Malastein
11-25-2015, 09:10 AM
Jay Bilas said he is 6'8 with a 7' wingspan on the broadcast of the GU-UW game, which certainly makes him sound like he's got the physical tools to go next level. Any documentation from the net on this statement?

cjm720
11-25-2015, 09:15 AM
Questions I have: Where's he going to play in the states? Will he reclassify to 2017?

zagsfanforlife
11-25-2015, 09:15 AM
They also said "will be joining the zags in the next couple years"... mistake or meaning that he would reclassify?

sittingon50
11-25-2015, 11:30 AM
May reclassify. Has to get thru GU Admissions, as I understand it.

Coach Crazy
11-25-2015, 12:11 PM
Zags earning quite a reputation. Been an interesting decade thus far and certainly is not gathering any moss.

Unless "moss" ends up being the last name of a highly-talented recruit. In which case, I would be in favor of them gathering that...

hondo
11-25-2015, 12:21 PM
The Zags gathered Moss in the mid 1970s with Honey Bee Willie Moss.

NorthoftheBorder
12-07-2015, 06:19 AM
Interesting article in the Japan Times with quotes from Josh Heytvelt and Ira Brown, two former Zags playing in Japan:


http://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2015/12/07/basketball/gonzaga-alumni-sure-hachimura-making-right-choice/#.VmWjNDZdEdV




Hachimura will enjoy playing in Spokane, Washington, according to a pair of ex-Zags who currently play in Japan’s National Basketball League.

“I’m glad he chose a great school and I hope he does extremely well over there,” said Ira Brown, a Hitachi Sunrockers forward who played for Gonzaga between 2007 and 2009.

Josh Heytvelt, another Sunrocker and Brown’s teammate at Gonzaga, said Hachimura would be “blown away by the support that Spokane shows.”

VinnyZag
12-07-2015, 08:01 AM
Interesting article in the Japan Times with quotes from Josh Heytvelt and Ira Brown, two former Zags playing in Japan:


http://www.japantimes.co.jp/sports/2015/12/07/basketball/gonzaga-alumni-sure-hachimura-making-right-choice/#.VmWjNDZdEdV

Notably, that article says academics may yet be a hold-up with Hachimura. I can't imagine the headaches involved in making sure a kid from a completely different academic system meets NCAA standards. If he reclassifies to 2016, that may be a reason, if I read this article correctly.

GrizZAG
12-07-2015, 08:59 AM
My son's good buddy all through high school at Mead was a Japanese foreign exchange student. He became part of our family and assimilated very quickly in American culture. He loved it here so much he never went home and is still here in Spokane 20 years later. He loves our culture. On a funny note, I asked him early on what was his most difficult adjustment here. "Toilets" ;)

TexasZagFan
12-07-2015, 09:04 AM
My son's good buddy all through high school at Mead was a Japanese foreign exchange student. He became part of our family and assimilated very quickly in American culture. He loved it here so much he never went home and is still here in Spokane 20 years later. He loves our culture. On a funny note, I asked him early on what was his most difficult adjustment here. "Toilets" ;)

Did he overstay his visa?

vandalzag
12-07-2015, 09:29 AM
Is this kid crazy, does he not understand what kind of a mess he walking into. The program is such bad shape we will be lucky to have matching uniforms next year.

Zagger
12-07-2015, 10:52 AM
My son's good buddy all through high school at Mead was a Japanese foreign exchange student. He became part of our family and assimilated very quickly in American culture. He loved it here so much he never went home and is still here in Spokane 20 years later. He loves our culture. On a funny note, I asked him early on what was his most difficult adjustment here. "Toilets" ;)

We had a Japanese girl stay with us here for her Senior year of high school. She was able to transfer enough credits here to get a Riverside (N of Spokane) High School degree, transfer her credits she earned here back to Japan and with some additional course work in Japan she also got her HS degree there. The systems are relatively comparable (biggest differences being History requirements related). If Hachimura is on track to get a HS diploma in Japan there should not be any issues with getting into GU. Language + being in a BB program will be the toughest parts of doing OK while at GU (I'd guess anyway). But, GU is quite experienced with foreign players ..... Hachimura made a great choice in GU :)

Zaga
12-07-2015, 11:19 AM
The program is such bad shape we will be lucky to have matching uniforms next year.

Good one Vandal

zag buddy
12-07-2015, 01:19 PM
" coach Few, he’ll degrade you to test your will as a person". This is not something I have heard before. It must be like "we do not hang out our dirty laundry in public. More insight would be appreciated.

soccerdud
12-07-2015, 01:30 PM
" coach Few, he’ll degrade you to test your will as a person". This is not something I have heard before. It must be like "we do not hang out our dirty laundry in public. More insight would be appreciated.

my strong guess would be that this was translated twice, and something was lost (added?) in translation. the term "degrade" has some very negative connotations to us, and i have a hard time believing few would do that, or that a former player would attribute such to him.

so i just read it as "sharply (constructively) criticize."

75Zag
12-07-2015, 01:48 PM
I do not have access to a Japanese high school basketball recruiting site. I do not wish to re-create the past 6 pages of this, but is there a link to understand how this young man ranks against the best US players in his class? Is there a chance that he could be a McDonald's All American (or all Japanese)?

Go Bulldogs!

MDABE80
12-07-2015, 01:51 PM
Military phrase..........break em down and rebuild em as you want.

webspinnre
12-07-2015, 02:42 PM
Notably, that article says academics may yet be a hold-up with Hachimura. I can't imagine the headaches involved in making sure a kid from a completely different academic system meets NCAA standards. If he reclassifies to 2016, that may be a reason, if I read this article correctly.

Sounded like main issue was just getting the qualifying SAT/ACT score for the NCAA.

Zagdawg
12-25-2015, 04:36 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Asia Hopes ‏@Asia_Hopes 6h6 hours ago
In his first game at Japan Winter Cup Rui Hachimura ('98) impressed with 30pts+14reb+4ast in opener win for Meisei HS against Maebashi Ikuei

zag39
12-25-2015, 07:55 PM
White #8 is Rui

Todays live now
http://www.oh-en.com/web/view.html?source=rtmp://ams01.oh-en2.com/livepkgr/livestream5004&type=live&id=2377

ZagaZags
12-25-2015, 08:00 PM
White #8 is Rui

Todays live now
http://www.oh-en.com/web/view.html?source=rtmp://ams01.oh-en2.com/livepkgr/livestream5004&type=live&id=2377

His passing skills are off the chart. Fantastic passer.

ProVeeZag
12-25-2015, 08:05 PM
Thanks for the vid. I couldn't help but notice the 2 dudes sweepin' the floor the next court over ... talk about dedication to the task at hand! Sure could have used them last month in Okinawa!

zag39
12-25-2015, 08:09 PM
#14 Alen who is Rui's youger brother.

Zagdawg
12-27-2015, 08:08 PM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Asia Hopes ‏@Asia_Hopes 21h21 hours ago
Rui Hachimura ('98) and Meisei HS reaches semifinals at Japan Winter Cup. 24 points 15 rebounds and 6 assists for Gonzaga bound.

zag39
12-29-2015, 02:07 PM
Meisei won the tournament and Rui made 34pts 19reb 2ast 3blk.

http://wintercup2015.japanbasketball.jp/pbp_team?schedulekey=1339&period=18&site=1

http://wintercup2015.japanbasketball.jp/?attachment_id=4490

sittingon50
12-29-2015, 06:46 PM
Not a bad line. Thanks, 39.

btzag
12-29-2015, 07:22 PM
Can't wait to see this kid at the 3. Kind of the forgotten position for the Zags...weird considering it's such a high scoring system, lots of opportunities just waiting for someone to come in and take them. Hope Rui is the one.

WallaWallaZag
12-29-2015, 09:25 PM
Can't wait to see this kid at the 3. Kind of the forgotten position for the Zags...weird considering it's such a high scoring system, lots of opportunities just waiting for someone to come in and take them. Hope Rui is the one.

after what we've seen so far this year from the guard corps, hope everyone realizes that a lot of patience will be needed with hachimura...he's got a lot of catching up to do and he's not the explosive athlete some have made him out to be.

hooter73
12-29-2015, 09:38 PM
Can't wait to see this kid at the 3. Kind of the forgotten position for the Zags...weird considering it's such a high scoring system, lots of opportunities just waiting for someone to come in and take them. Hope Rui is the one.

Oh I dont know, I think most everyone knows we havent had a wing besides Wesley for way too many years. Rui will have some big time BBall learning to do to get up to D1 but hes got a better shot than anyone else I can remember in recent years at giving a heck of a presence there.

Zagdawg
12-29-2015, 09:48 PM
Agree that he will need time --but hopeful that being surrounded by solid talent will help his game develop to D1 quality.

Fun to watch the 25 pts he put up against the USA team at the U17 Fiba worlds (where he led all scorers for the tournament).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-b0JL9KCzE&noredirect=1

GonzagasaurusFlex
12-30-2015, 05:04 AM
after what we've seen so far this year from the guard corps, hope everyone realizes that a lot of patience will be needed with hachimura...he's got a lot of catching up to do and he's not the explosive athlete some have made him out to be.

I'll second that. Watched the highlights of under 17's vs U.S.A. and on the one hand it shows he can shoot and has the physical tools to be a D-1 wing player, but he is definitely the guy who gets all the shots for his National team and, fair to assume, his high school team too. It will take him time to learn how to play in a system with other great players around him and not force your own offense....just make the right basketball play and trust your shots will come.

vandalzag
12-30-2015, 06:18 AM
I'll second that. Watched the highlights of under 17's vs U.S.A. and on the one hand it shows he can shoot and has the physical tools to be a D-1 wing player, but he is definitely the guy who gets all the shots for his National team and, fair to assume, his high school team too. It will take him time to learn how to play in a system with other great players around him and not force your own offense....just make the right basketball play and trust your shots will come.

Yeah just like Adam Morrision who took all the shots for Mead while in High School. It took him forever to acclimate to playing with better players.

soccerdud
12-30-2015, 08:12 AM
Yeah just like Adam Morrision who took all the shots for Mead while in High School. It took him forever to acclimate to playing with better players.

yeah, because it's moderately reasonable to use a generational talent as the counter-example to a perfectly valid concern. comparing other recruits to ammo and expecting them to, in any meaningful way, follow his career arc has proven fruitful and illustrative thus far.

i have no clue if flex is right. but your post is WAY more ridiculous.

GonzagasaurusFlex
12-30-2015, 10:49 AM
Yeah just like Adam Morrision who took all the shots for Mead while in High School. It took him forever to acclimate to playing with better players.

And a belated Merry Christmas to you too wisea**.

vandalzag
12-30-2015, 10:51 AM
yeah, because it's moderately reasonable to use a generational talent as the counter-example to a perfectly valid concern. comparing other recruits to ammo and expecting them to, in any meaningful way, follow his career arc has proven fruitful and illustrative thus far.

i have no clue if flex is right. but your post is WAY more ridiculous.

Actually my post said nothing about him following the career of Adam. Rather the post was directed at the issue of a player who is the focus of the offense at a lower level being able to adjust their game when the move to the next level and are surrounded by better talent. So no that is not a valid concern, as with the majority(as in not all but most) of players that have come through this and other college programs they are the alpha on their team and have to adjust their game in order to fit the program. Why would this kid be any different than any other player that has gone through the program? And please do tell me where I was saying the post was ridiculous?

vandalzag
12-30-2015, 11:24 AM
And a belated Merry Christmas to you too wisea**.

Speaking of classy posts this is good one.

ZagaZags
12-30-2015, 11:32 AM
Speaking of classy posts this is good one.

If the shoe fits....

http://media-cache-ec0.pinimg.com/originals/67/c6/d1/67c6d1500e9126b129f43a454edacb96.jpg

ZagaZags
12-30-2015, 01:05 PM
Rui Hachimura makes 5,4,3,2 & 1.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ZeQHPA-Jqw&feature=youtu.be

cggonzaga
12-30-2015, 02:39 PM
Rui reminds me a lot of Elias Harris, at least athletically.

btzag
12-30-2015, 03:24 PM
Oh I dont know, I think most everyone knows we havent had a wing besides Wesley for way too many years. Rui will have some big time BBall learning to do to get up to D1 but hes got a better shot than anyone else I can remember in recent years at giving a heck of a presence there.

No by forgotten I mean from the recruits' standpoint. We get these highly sought after players at the 1, 2, 4 and 5 but for some reason we haven't been able to land a high level 3. By my count only Morrison and Frahm were non-transfer impact 3's in this era. Dranginis has been a nice player also but am I missing anybody? Just kind of bizarre considering all the star level guys at the other positions!

And WallaWallaZag I have to respectfully disagree about the explosive athlete comment. On the video on this thread check out high he gets on the #4 play for the block! Get him some training from the Zag staff and a couple years and watch out, super excited about his potential.

btzag
12-30-2015, 03:26 PM
Rui reminds me a lot of Elias Harris, at least athletically.

Yes. Those baseline back-door lobs will be in play again.

vandalzag
12-30-2015, 04:00 PM
If the shoe fits....

http://media-cache-ec0.pinimg.com/originals/67/c6/d1/67c6d1500e9126b129f43a454edacb96.jpg

You should stick to posting rumors as you your method of attention seeking.

Reborn
12-30-2015, 08:36 PM
As he has been called, like Elias Harris, he does not remind me of a three at all. Sorry. Maybe I need to see more video.

hooter73
12-30-2015, 10:30 PM
Fights through traffic, can elevate and time and likes to dunk. Kid has passion about it too.

MDABE80
12-30-2015, 11:02 PM
He's got some of the basics down, ie sealing his man and blocking shots with decent elevation. He is playing playing the "shorter league" and the competition is iffy. I suspect he's recruited because staff thinks he can do so much better in all categories. It'll take serious work to get him to D1 speed. I do think he's got a good chance to be a very good player. Shooting, passing and dribbling at a high level will have to be developed. Seems to be a hard worker and very teachable. He'll progress if he does the work.

WallaWallaZag
12-31-2015, 02:05 AM
And WallaWallaZag I have to respectfully disagree about the explosive athlete comment. On the video on this thread check out high he gets on the #4 play for the block! Get him some training from the Zag staff and a couple years and watch out, super excited about his potential.

you've been watching the zags too much...need to get out more...it was a nice play but nothing special for someone 6'7 with long arms. doesn't really matter though, semantics... my point was more that he's not coming in as an ready to go athletic wing like a damion lee and people need to be patient with him as he's got a lot of adjustments to make. his athleticism isn't elite enough to play on its own.

basketballzag
12-31-2015, 07:16 AM
you've been watching the zags too much...need to get out more...it was a nice play but nothing special for someone 6'7 with long arms. doesn't really matter though, semantics... my point was more that he's not coming in as an ready to go athletic wing like a damion lee and people need to be patient with him as he's got a lot of adjustments to make. his athleticism isn't elite enough to play on its own.

He looks like a great 2017 player whose ability is masked due to the 5'2 competition he is up against. He will need to take a redshirt to develop himself both physically and culturally so I don't see him making an impact until the 2018 season but I could be wrong.

raise the zag
12-31-2015, 08:53 AM
I see "it" with Norvell, Tillie, Larsen, and especially Collins, yet don't see it with Hachimura.

Has upside, yet a serious project and a 'tweener' at best. Has some natural tools with length and frame, yet I'd say below average at most fundamental aspects.

Mostly hype given his domination of 5'5" kids who he's more athletic, taller, stronger, etc.

Yes, I watched the FIBA tape vs USA (twice actually) and USA was up by 35 pts when they gave up wide-open looks to Hachimura, who made some buckets -- BECAUSE HE WAS THE ONLY PLAYER ON JAPAN SHOOTING THEM. (he had nearly 30 attempts).

I still didn't see a kid who can contribute much at the D1 level. I've seen DII/NAIA kids with better athleticism with the same height/size, about on par with skill.

I grew up in a small-town and it looked exactly like when one guy in HS was 6'5", he forced to play Center and dominated us 5'10" guys.

Hachimura plays very slowly and lazily and still dominates. Says a lot.

I think he has a nice mid-range touch, but tough to tell because I haven't seen a single contested shot. I can make wide open shots too. Pretty good at HORSE they say...he's playing HORSE every game in Japan.

Sounds like I'm being hard on him, rather, its a compliment to our other recruits. Watched film at each one and they have aspects to them which they will contribute and grow into fantastic players.

Hachimura is hopefully still growing. His balls skills, or lack thereof, won't allow him to play SF. Haven't seen him dribble outside power moves to the hoop. Probably doesn't have/need to.

I see a RS year, followed by 2 more instructional seasons, then some spot minutes if he sticks around. If the staff isn't patient or he isn't, this could be a tough time at this level for Rui.

I will give him the benefit of the doubt, along with our Coaching, to mold this prospect into a solid role player.

vandalzag
12-31-2015, 09:02 AM
He looks like a great 2017 player whose ability is masked due to the 5'2 competition he is up against. He will need to take a redshirt to develop himself both physically and culturally so I don't see him making an impact until the 2018 season but I could be wrong.

Reminds me of Pendo playing against the B level schools while at Brewster. I agree he may take time, but one bright note to that is fact that he has shown in international play against much better competition that he can produce. As far as the culture adjustment why would his be different than the players from France, Netherlands, Germany, Poland, Canada, or even Idaho?

vandalzag
12-31-2015, 09:10 AM
I see "it" with Norvell, Tillie, Larsen, and especially Collins, yet don't see it with Hachimura.

Has upside, yet a serious project and a 'tweener' at best. Has some natural tools with length and frame, yet I'd say below average at most fundamental aspects.

Mostly hype given his domination of 5'5" kids who he's more athletic, taller, stronger, etc.

Yes, I watched the FIBA tape vs USA (twice actually) and USA was up by 35 pts when they gave up wide-open looks to Hachimura, who made some buckets -- BECAUSE HE WAS THE ONLY PLAYER ON JAPAN SHOOTING THEM. (he had nearly 30 attempts).

I still didn't see a kid who can contribute much at the D1 level. I've seen DII/NAIA kids with better athleticism with the same height/size, about on par with skill.

I grew up in a small-town and it looked exactly like when one guy in HS was 6'5", he forced to play Center and dominated us 5'10" guys.

Hachimura plays very slowly and lazily and still dominates. Says a lot.

I think he has a nice mid-range touch, but tough to tell because I haven't seen a single contested shot. I can make wide open shots too. Pretty good at HORSE they say...he's playing HORSE every game in Japan.

Sounds like I'm being hard on him, rather, its a compliment to our other recruits. Watched film at each one and they have aspects to them which they will contribute and grow into fantastic players.

Hachimura is hopefully still growing. His balls skills, or lack thereof, won't allow him to play SF. Haven't seen him dribble outside power moves to the hoop. Probably doesn't have/need to.

I see a RS year, followed by 2 more instructional seasons, then some spot minutes if he sticks around. If the staff isn't patient or he isn't, this could be a tough time at this level for Rui.

I will give him the benefit of the doubt, along with our Coaching, to mold this prospect into a solid role player.

Wow you can see all that off of 1 or 2 videos? I liked the slow and lazy analysis I am sure that is exactly what the staff was looking for, but they probably did not even watch the videos that you did. Let me guess were you part of the group that was running down the signing of Edwards and then calling for him to start over Karno the next year? Hows about you actually wait and see him play in person and then you can declare that he is not a D1 player.

titopoet
12-31-2015, 09:26 AM
Wow you can see all that off of 1 or 2 videos? I liked the slow and lazy analysis I am sure that is exactly what the staff was looking for, but they probably did not even watch the videos that you did. Let me guess were you part of the group that was running down the signing of Edwards and then calling for him to start over Karno the next year? Hows about you actually wait and see him play in person and then you can declare that he is not a D1 player.

What is funny is that Rui has practiced with GU during the trip to Japan and the staff knows more about why they are recruiting him. Few has a history of recruiting well. Will Rui be more like E Harris or Bol Kong only time will tell, but either way we will not know until the history plays itself out and since Few has forgotten more today about bb than I will ever know and since he has seen the kid live,...well trust the staff. After all, they stole Edwards after he came and practice with the team. And when all said and done, their scouting report of a Big kid with great hands and footwork that can be a force in D1 BB proved right. I would also add Karno to players with board doubters as many on the board thought Few wasted a scholarship on a Polish kid with no chance of being D1 (too slow and not much skill).

Coach Crazy
12-31-2015, 09:45 AM
What is funny is that Rui has practiced with GU during the trip to Japan and the staff knows more about why they are recruiting him. Few has a history of recruiting well. Will Rui be more like E Harris or Bol Kong only time will tell, but either way we will not know until the history plays itself out and since Few has forgotten more today about bb than I will ever know and since he has seen the kid live,...well trust the staff. After all, they stole Edwards after he came and practice with the team. And when all said and done, their scouting report of a Big kid with great hands and footwork that can be a force in D1 BB proved right. I would also add Karno to players with board doubters as many on the board thought Few wasted a scholarship on a Polish kid with no chance of being D1 (too slow and not much skill).

Rui isn't getting credit for some things. He is a big wing that drop his shoulder and drive, but have enough body control to stop, step back and set up for a shot. That kind of body control and use of size is something that is needed for a wing that needs to be able to create his own shot.

When Rui raises up to shoot, it is very smooth, and his body seems to hang long enough to complete the shot. He can also shoot free throws. I am starting to see more guards that can't shoot from the line, and I personally believe it has something to do with the mid-range game disappearing.

The fact that he has played in the post has also allowed him to use the post move, even in a high post situation to command a control point on the floor. He's a methodical, smooth player. I guess some call that lazy and slow. As well, he can also pass the ball and use his skills to create looks for others, to go along with his own shot.

Even though he has been playing against shorter Japanese players, the fact that he has played the position he does, has given him a spacial and positional awareness and understanding that some might not have.

Definitely has room to grow, but he is further along that some are giving him credit for.

Mantua
12-31-2015, 10:33 AM
Rui isn't getting credit for some things. He is a big wing that drop his shoulder and drive, but have enough body control to stop, step back and set up for a shot. That kind of body control and use of size is something that is needed for a wing that needs to be able to create his own shot.

When Rui raises up to shoot, it is very smooth, and his body seems to hang long enough to complete the shot. He can also shoot free throws. I am starting to see more guards that can't shoot from the line, and I personally believe it has something to do with the mid-range game disappearing.

The fact that he has played in the post has also allowed him to use the post move, even in a high post situation to command a control point on the floor. He's a methodical, smooth player. I guess some call that lazy and slow. As well, he can also pass the ball and use his skills to create looks for others, to go along with his own shot.

Even though he has been playing against shorter Japanese players, the fact that he has played the position he does, has given him a spacial and positional awareness and understanding that some might not have.

Definitely has room to grow, but he is further along that some are giving him credit for.

Thanks for your keen observations. Smooth players are deceptive. They appear to be slower than they actually are. They also tend to be consistent.

Coach Crazy
01-01-2016, 08:16 AM
Thanks for your keen observations. Smooth players are deceptive. They appear to be slower than they actually are. They also tend to be consistent.

Actually, going back and reading that post (mine) made me cringe. It sounds as though I have a poor command of the English language, or something. Wish there was a long-term edit button. Oh well, such is life.

When someone suggested that he could move to a potential 4 with more growth in a few years, at first I thought, "naw, no way". But if the kid can get to 6'9"-ish, that wouldn't be out of the realm of possibility. I also want to see what he becomes with Travis Knight's program. He's already got some physical maturity, and a more developed physique he could be a beast of a mismatch for those that have to come out and play D on the wing.

What I find a little contradictory from the detractors is when they slight Rui, but then are high on Tillie. Who, in my opinion, is going to have to go through as much development, as he is going to be expected to play some 4 at some point, and he has never really had the body to play the 4 in the post up sense you see here, against post defense you have here. So, there needs to be the same standard of criticism for both.

I am excited about both. The fastest, most athletic guys aren't always inherently better to have. Smooth is fast, fast is smooth. I don't know how to translate "Big Fundamental" to Japanese but we need to call this kid "Biggu Kihon" (Big Fundamental translates to Basic Big) or something.

Zagdawg
01-01-2016, 09:08 AM
Gonzaga Guru Retweeted
Asia Hopes ‏@Asia_Hopes 8h8 hours ago
Rui Hachimura ('98) 40 pts (20/30 FG) 13 reb vs National Institute of Fitness & Sports in Kanoya for 1st round of All-Japan Emperor's Cup