PDA

View Full Version : Did you like the new uniforms?



Reborn
11-18-2015, 09:07 PM
I really did. It was the same shade of blue that we wore back in the late sixties to 1970. If not the same, very close. I think the team wants a new identity. I think they want to be a different kind of team than Gonzaga teams in the past. It's a good idea to me. We have never been THIS talented in the posts, that's for sure.

HenneZag
11-18-2015, 09:31 PM
I really did. It was the same shade of blue that we wore back in the late sixties to 1970. If not the same, very close. I think the team wants a new identity. I think they want to be a different kind of team than Gonzaga teams in the past. It's a good idea to me. We have never been THIS talented in the posts, that's for sure.

Reborn,
The unis worn tonight were a one time deal I believe in support of Native Americans. I personally wasn't crazy about them but that's jmo. I do agree though that the team wants to form a new identity.

Zagsker
11-18-2015, 09:58 PM
Loved em...I would really like to see a red uni with "BULLDOGS" across the front

Jstock12
11-18-2015, 11:05 PM
I really did. It was the same shade of blue that we wore back in the late sixties to 1970. If not the same, very close. I think the team wants a new identity. I think they want to be a different kind of team than Gonzaga teams in the past. It's a good idea to me. We have never been THIS talented in the posts, that's for sure.

I really liked the uniforms.

doctorzag
11-18-2015, 11:34 PM
Thought they looked horrible.

Birddog
11-19-2015, 03:56 AM
They were OK, and as Reborn said, the color looked very similar to the old "Columbia Blue" unis of the 60's. If the guys had been wearing "nutters", I'd have thought i was in a way back machine.

TheGonzagaFactor
11-19-2015, 05:56 AM
I really did. It was the same shade of blue that we wore back in the late sixties to 1970. If not the same, very close. I think the team wants a new identity. I think they want to be a different kind of team than Gonzaga teams in the past. It's a good idea to me. We have never been THIS talented in the posts, that's for sure.

:explode:

I'm guessing you had no audio, social media, or access to this site for the last 2 weeks or so?

Reborn
11-19-2015, 06:13 AM
That was a good guess, Mr Factor. How did you get your facts? I actually do not pay a lot of attention to the announcers, and especially when those three guys are the announcers. I mostly focus on watching the game, and try to see what is going on, on the court. And actually because I just moved I really have not been able to use social media very much. First I ordered Direct TV. It took them 5 days to get to my house and then they couldn't get a signal. So I had to go with Charter. I only had to wait 4 days for Charter. My main focus has been on moving from my old place into my new one, and when it came to athletics my main focus has been on my grandson's and my son's high school football team. I even chose to go to my their state playoff game over watching Gonzaga play Pitt. Shame on me, right? I do love Gonzaga, but I will tell you, I don't love them as much as I love my family.

Pallet
11-19-2015, 06:32 AM
Loved em...I would really like to see a red uni with "BULLDOGS" across the front

+100

Thought the blue was great and would love to see a nice red. I thought the ladies red jersey's from last year or the year before were really sharp.

Gonzdb8
11-19-2015, 07:07 AM
surely there is a way to show our support for the local native american communities without ever wearing these uniforms again. this was like the vancouver grizzlies circa 1997 without the obnoxious trim. someone please put them in a lead box and bury them where we can never be tempted to use them again. i'd recommend sub seabed disposal.

thespywhozaggedme
11-19-2015, 07:38 AM
Loved 'em, but from what I understand we won't see them again; shame.

229SintoZag
11-19-2015, 09:11 AM
Loved 'em, but from what I understand we won't see them again; shame.

The uniforms were an aesthetic abomination and an assault on the eye. And while I am 100% in favor of supporting Native Americans, my guess is that the number of Native American kids who watched this game and are going to now decide to start playing basketball because Gonzaga wore turquoise uniforms is actually quite small, if not non-existent. If I were a Native American kid, I'd be put off by the suggestion that I could be motivated to do athletics because the Zags wore a goofy colored jersey for one game. I know many Native Americans and I give them more credit than that.

From the Nike N7 program web site describing their program:


N7 began with a vision. In 2000, Sam McCracken had the idea to sell Nike products directly to Native American tribes to support health promotion and disease prevention programs. Seven years after Nike’s Native American division began, the Nike design team collaborated with various community experts and tribal leaders to create footwear specifically for the Native American community, called Nike Air Native N7. All proceeds from the Air Native N7, which is sold through Native American community centers and tribes, are given back to youth sport and physical activity programs in Native communities across North America through the N7 Fund. Beginning in 2009, Nike expanded N7 product to include a N7 collection available for purchase by anyone inspired by Native athletes and the N7 Fund.

http://n7fund.com/about/

So the idea is to sell shoes to Native Americans. And the deal for years was to donate the proceeds of sales from Native Americans back to Native Americans. Wow. How magnanimous of Nike.

Something tells me this has more to do with Nike doing a feel-good PR stunt whereby they can claim Nike is "doing something" to support Native American youth, than it has to do with supporting Native American youth. The whole deal was more about Nike than Native Americans from what I can decipher here.

But that's just my opinion.

In any event it is not that big of a deal and it is over now. Gonzaga should respectfully opt out of future Nike PR stunts like this if there is a way to do so without violating the contract. We have a deal with Nike to wear their uniforms. That is enough. We don't need to be a pawn in their PR campaigns. We should respectfully opt out. If Nike wants to raise money for Native American causes it should do so directly and without the gimmicks.

TexasZagFan
11-19-2015, 09:25 AM
That was a good guess, Mr Factor. How did you get your facts? I actually do not pay a lot of attention to the announcers, and especially when those three guys are the announcers. I mostly focus on watching the game, and try to see what is going on, on the court. And actually because I just moved I really have not been able to use social media very much. First I ordered Direct TV. It took them 5 days to get to my house and then they couldn't get a signal. So I had to go with Charter. I only had to wait 4 days for Charter. My main focus has been on moving from my old place into my new one, and when it came to athletics my main focus has been on my grandson's and my son's high school football team. I even chose to go to my their state playoff game over watching Gonzaga play Pitt. Shame on me, right? I do love Gonzaga, but I will tell you, I don't love them as much as I love my family.

You, too? My life pretty much revolves around my 13YO son and 5YO grandson. This week was a bit busier, but not by much: band, hoops tryouts, scouts, and religious ed. That encompasses our activities for the week up through last night. Grandson's got his last two flag fb games today and Saturday. For the past month, I've been working with my son at the gym to get him ready for basketball tryouts. His mom's been driving us both crazy, pestering us for stats on the % of shots he was hitting, particularly FT's. You'd think she'd been analyzing Gonzaga game tape from the questions she was asking us. lol

Let's face it Reborn. Geezers like you and I experienced the years prior to 1999, when we caught lightning. IMHO, we don't display the sense of entitlement that we occasionally see on display. I remember the moments after GoZags and I had a nice conversation in the stands prior to the Tulsa game. After he departed, I was approached by several fans with no affiliation to the school. They had never met anyone who had gone to school there, and they drove from Arkansas just to see a team they had grown to love.

Expectations are off the charts this year, and it's understandable...I'm ready for another trip to Houston, and we'll be there when they play SMU in February.

For the last few years, we made it to most games that were within a day's drive of Dallas: Tulsa, Stillwater, Wichita, Memphis, Houston, etc. It's tough to go that far and see the Zags lose, but it's still worth the trip, because of the time I get to spend with my family. Memphis was a heart breaker, but visiting Sun Studio the next day took away some of the pain. Due to the construction on I-40, we took an alternate route back, which included stretches of roads travelled during the Civil War. It's never about that one game, it's the journey.

thespywhozaggedme
11-19-2015, 09:27 AM
The uniforms were an aesthetic abomination and an assault on the eye. And while I am 100% in favor of supporting Native Americans, my guess is that the number of Native American kids who watched this game and are going to now decide to start playing basketball because Gonzaga wore turquoise uniforms is actually quite small, if not non-existent. If I were a Native American kid, I'd be put off by the suggestion that I could be motivated to do athletics because the Zags wore a goofy colored jersey for one game. I know many Native Americans and I give them more credit than that.

From the Nike N7 program web site describing their program:



http://n7fund.com/about/

So the idea is to sell shoes to Native Americans. And the deal for years was to donate the proceeds of sales from Native Americans back to Native Americans. Wow. How magnanimous of Nike.

Something tells me this has more to do with Nike doing a feel-good PR stunt whereby they can claim Nike is "doing something" to support Native American youth, than it has to do with supporting Native American youth. The whole deal was more about Nike than Native Americans from what I can decipher here.

But that's just my opinion.

In any event it is not that big of a deal and it is over now. Gonzaga should respectfully opt out of future Nike PR stunts like this if there is a way to do so without violating the contract. We have a deal with Nike to wear their uniforms. That is enough. We don't need to be a pawn in their PR campaigns. We should respectfully opt out. If Nike wants to raise money for Native American causes it should do so directly and without the gimmicks.

In your opinion. Mine differs from yours and their both equally as valid, you're just much more obnoxious about yours. :D

23dpg
11-19-2015, 09:37 AM
I liked them. I didn't think I would but I did.

TexasZagFan
11-19-2015, 10:00 AM
The uniforms were an aesthetic abomination and an assault on the eye. And while I am 100% in favor of supporting Native Americans, my guess is that the number of Native American kids who watched this game and are going to now decide to start playing basketball because Gonzaga wore turquoise uniforms is actually quite small, if not non-existent. If I were a Native American kid, I'd be put off by the suggestion that I could be motivated to do athletics because the Zags wore a goofy colored jersey for one game. I know many Native Americans and I give them more credit than that.

From the Nike N7 program web site describing their program:



http://n7fund.com/about/

So the idea is to sell shoes to Native Americans. And the deal for years was to donate the proceeds of sales from Native Americans back to Native Americans. Wow. How magnanimous of Nike.

Something tells me this has more to do with Nike doing a feel-good PR stunt whereby they can claim Nike is "doing something" to support Native American youth, than it has to do with supporting Native American youth. The whole deal was more about Nike than Native Americans from what I can decipher here.

But that's just my opinion.

In any event it is not that big of a deal and it is over now. Gonzaga should respectfully opt out of future Nike PR stunts like this if there is a way to do so without violating the contract. We have a deal with Nike to wear their uniforms. That is enough. We don't need to be a pawn in their PR campaigns. We should respectfully opt out. If Nike wants to raise money for Native American causes it should do so directly and without the gimmicks.

Sinto, this may not be a surprise to you, but the shoe companies are now invading high school athletics.


The Dallas Morning News obtained contracts from four of the area's most successful programs: Nike teams Allen and DeSoto, and Under Armour schools Cedar Hill and Southlake Carroll (Cedar Hill and Carroll play Friday, in one of the state's most-anticipated bi-district matchups).

The contracts provide anywhere from $15,000 to $35,000 in products for the football teams per season, as well as free "uniform sets" (jerseys and pants) and other assorted items.

Currently riding the second-longest winning streak in state football history, Allen has the most lucrative arrangement of the four, annually getting $30,000 in football products, 100 uniform sets, 100 pairs of coaching shoes and other considerations through the life of its agreement with Nike (which runs through the 2019-20 school year).

http://www.sportsdaydfw.com/high-school/high-schools/2015/11/12/incentives-beyond-trophies-lucrative-apparel-deals-changing-d-fw-high-school-football

A brief synopsis of some of the schools mentioned, all five are usually found near the top of national rankings:

Allen: yes, that's the school with the $60 million stadium. Current enrollment is over 5,000.
Southlake Carroll: I despise that program as much as I do BYU. It is standard practice that their athletes are held back a year during elementary school. The net result is that our 13/14 YO's play against their 14/15 YOs. Their record speaks for itself, though. IIRC, they have 8 HS championships.
Cedar Hill and Desoto: these two suburbs simply have incredible athletes. Usually 8-10 from each school receive Division I schollies.

Our school, Coppell, is competitive with these programs, and we're getting ready to kick down the door. How have we fared against the monster programs?

We're the last team to have defeated Allen.
We lost to Desoto last week, 35-31.
We lost to Cedar Hill earlier this year, 36-21.
We lost to Southlake the past two years, in overtime.

Southlake Carroll and Euless Trinity share the same district with us. Trinity was in a Gatorade commercial featuring a cameo with Bill Parcells about 7-8 years ago.

We went 6-5 this year...our other loss was to Broken Arrow, OK, one of the top 10 teams in Oklahoma this year. Trinity just smoked us, on a night where lightning delayed the game five times. They have one of the best running games in Texas, perfect for inclement weather. Coppell relies on the spread offense, so it was a long night.

Next year, as in the past several years, there will be two freshman teams and two JV teams. There may be three freshman teams, as our three middle schools each fielded two teams.

My oldest children participated in band and drill team during HS. My appreciation for HS football has grown, as it drives the train for the other extracurricular activities. The band booster club runs the concessions year round, usually raising a half million that goes to support a 350+ strong marching band. This year, their travels take them to London. The drill team's main fundraiser is a spaghetti dinner and silent auction before the first home game. They usually raise $40K from that, which funds their annual trips to national meets.

My son is bound and determined to make the varsity team. I'm trying to nudge him to basketball. He's currently 5'7" and 110 lbs. He'll survive freshman football, but I've told him we'll revisit his participation if he's under 150-160 when he starts his sophomore year. A likelier path for him is band and athletics. He made the All-City band this year, and the last thing I want is for him to get his trumpet-playing fingers broken playing football.

I'll admit it, though. Friday nights in Dallas/Fort Worth during football season is an incredible spectacle.

Zagdawg
11-19-2015, 10:40 AM
One of the sponsors for Gonzaga basketball is the "Coeur D Alene" tribe--- not a bad thing for the Zags to do in tribute to native Americans.
Native Americans also like basketball- so it seems like a good fit.

JoeZag
11-19-2015, 11:04 AM
I loved them and my wife (who happens to be Native American and a GU Law grad) loved them as well. Basketball is very popular on the reservation where my wife's family is from and our kids all play and love basketball (especially Gonzaga basketball). They were thrilled to see Gonzaga chosen as an N7 school. I wish they would auction off the uniforms and donate the proceeds to the tribes in the area; I would be a willing bidder!

229SintoZag
11-19-2015, 11:10 AM
In your opinion. Mine differs from yours and their both equally as valid, you're just much more obnoxious about yours. :D

Look, sorry to derail this thread but this stuff bothers me. I think Nike wields way too much power. I also don't care for that shade of blue. You are right that your opinion is just as valid is mine. Perhaps more so--for all I know there are thousands of kids about to benefit in a huge way from this. Whatever.

I am just a bit cynical with Nike and their competitors lately. With the "whiteouts" and "blackouts" and alternative road uniforms in college football in recent years, it is clear to me that these athletic companies will do anything to make a buck. Call it the "Oregon-ization" of college athletics. I cannot stand it. It rubs me the wrong way to see Nebraska Cornjuskers or Ohio State Buckeyes in black uniforms. Or the Washington Huskies for that matter. I guess I am just a traditionalist.

But the more uniforms and jerseys Nike and Under Armour can sell the better for their bottom lines, so I cannot blame them. I just wish more universities were like Penn State and Notre Dame and the few other holdouts who appear to have not yet sold out their school colors to the highest bidder.

Obviously the N7 deal is a bit different with the Native American tie-in so I am not as opposed to that. But again--I remain skeptical about how much of this is about the Native Americans, and how much is about Nike.

LongIslandZagFan
11-19-2015, 11:32 AM
In regards to the unis... meh.

Better than red.

TexasZagFan
11-19-2015, 11:33 AM
In regards to the unis... meh.

Better than red.

We have had very poor luck wearing red uniforms.

Salsageek
11-19-2015, 11:36 AM
:vomit-smiley-007:

MDABE80
11-19-2015, 11:38 AM
They were OK, and as Reborn said, the color looked very similar to the old "Columbia Blue" unis of the 60's. If the guys had been wearing "nutters", I'd have thought i was in a way back machine.

BIRDMEISTER: i REMEMBER WHITE AND NAVY AND ooops.....and vice versa. I just don't remember aqua/turquoise and believe me, I was in the Kennedy a lot. Always cme in for games with our usual batch of guys. Is Jay still on this site? He'd know.

stevet75
11-19-2015, 11:54 AM
I liked the uniforms.

mgadfly
11-19-2015, 01:18 PM
I thought I was going to really dislike them when I saw the examples posted here last week. But seeing them on TV ... I caved and thought they looked pretty cool.

I also like the black uniforms, but I'd prefer if we did something a little different than everyone else. Bring back the uniforms from our first Elite 8 run (or at least the colors from that season).

Ebay
11-19-2015, 02:22 PM
I feel bad for NAU. Central Valley took it to them last night.

sage
11-19-2015, 02:49 PM
Couldn't care less, I'm watching basketball, not a Joan Rivers fashion show.

bartruff1
11-19-2015, 03:16 PM
It must have worked, Nike announced a $12 billion buyback, raised the dividend and a 2 for one share split.....

Birddog
11-19-2015, 04:08 PM
I feel bad for NAU. Central Valley took it to them last night.

Excellent post, i like the subtlety. Not everyone would catch that, but then how many know of Ray Thacker?

Birddog
11-19-2015, 04:28 PM
BIRDMEISTER: i REMEMBER WHITE AND NAVY AND ooops.....and vice versa. I just don't remember aqua/turquoise and believe me, I was in the Kennedy a lot. Always cme in for games with our usual batch of guys. Is Jay still on this site? He'd know.

Abe, the official colors when we were matriculating were Columbia Blue and White. There was also a red trim on most unis. When we were grade schoolers, the colors were Navy Blue and White, just like G Prep. I think Hank Anderson was responsible for the change to the lighter blue and I'm not sure why. I'm also not sure when they changed back to the darker blue. The shade seems to vary from a Royal to a darker Blue in different years. I went to a Zag game at the Air Force Academy back in about '84 and I'm thinking they were still Columbia Blue, but not positive.

Jay Hoop hasn't posted on here in like forever and you're right, he'd probably know the years they changed.

MTZag03
11-19-2015, 05:15 PM
I work for a tribe. Many many kids and parents wear Gonzaga gear.