PDA

View Full Version : 2016 Class Excellent for the Zags! Are They Done, Turning to the Season & '17 OR. .



TravelinZag
11-02-2015, 08:49 AM
. . . .is there really something behind the persistent hints of another '16 import?

Mike83814
11-02-2015, 09:01 AM
. . . .is there really something behind the persistent hints of another '16 import?

I would think so. It looks like there are still three open spots after the Norvell commit per VC:

HS 2016
Commits: 3
Spots Left: 3
Open Offers: 1
- See more at: http://www.verbalcommits.com/schools/gonzaga#sthash.nYDykoIb.dpuf

MickMick
11-02-2015, 09:45 AM
Is the Denmark center still in the picture?

hooter73
11-02-2015, 09:47 AM
Theres got to be. There arent enough stateside non-transfer bigs out there to replenish what may be a revolving door to the league for us in the next two years :)

ZagNative
11-02-2015, 09:57 AM
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-15AyMH1B35U/Vjexf-V5lcI/AAAAAAAClxM/2-8TGv_e76M/s1152-Ic42/2015-11-02%252520scholie%252520chart.jpg

hooter73
11-02-2015, 10:09 AM
Wow 17-18 is going to be stacked!

Edit: IF Collins and Sabonis are still here of course :)

BobZag
11-02-2015, 10:27 AM
Look overseas.

jazzdelmar
11-02-2015, 10:27 AM
Four McD AA - level players joining roster next year.

GoZags
11-02-2015, 10:49 AM
Look overseas.

I'm keeping my head on a swivel as I'm "peering" out over the Pacific AND the Atlantic RobertoZag .....

dnj116
11-02-2015, 11:03 AM
I'm keeping my head on a swivel as I'm "peering" out over the Pacific AND the Atlantic RobertoZag .....

Interesting that you say that. It was previously mentioned (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?54909-Seattle-event-10-28-15) that Rui Hachimura from Japan could be that potential player from over the Pacific. Couldn't find anything reliable online about that, but I did find a post from a message board (http://www.basketballforum.com/12678465-post355368.html) which provides the following quote from what appears to be a Japanese basketball magazine:


Rui Hachimura | Japan

Hachimura has put up gaudy numbers at several international competitions, and one scout said he would be a McDonald’s-level player. “He’s long, athletic, can shoot,” the scout said. The 6-foot-6 Hachimura averaged 22.6 points and 6.6 rebounds at the 2014 FIBA U17 World Championship after putting up 22.8 points and 12.6 rebounds at the 2013 Asia U16 Championship. He also played well at the Albert Schweitzer tournament in Germany. Hachimura has heard from Arizona, Gonzaga and Vanderbilt.

Speculation based on information which isn't totally solid or reliable, but if true, Hachimura would be an excellent pick up!

GoZags
11-02-2015, 11:11 AM
Interesting that you say that. It was previously mentioned (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?54909-Seattle-event-10-28-15) that Rui Hachimura from Japan could be that potential player from over the Pacific. Couldn't find anything reliable online about that, but I did find a post from a message board (http://www.basketballforum.com/12678465-post355368.html) which provides the following quote from what appears to be a Japanese basketball magazine:



Speculation based on information which isn't totally solid or reliable, but if true, Hachimura would be an excellent pick up!

Outstanding avatar, dnj !!! I'm hoping that if ANYONE can get to the bottom of this ... it'll be the guy in that pic.

cggonzaga
11-02-2015, 11:45 AM
Four McD AA - level players joining roster next year.

I'm still saying 5 jazz. Tillie is going to surprise people here. He's easily the best athlete of the group coming in next year.

GonzagasaurusFlex
11-02-2015, 11:59 AM
Look overseas.


http://d.ibtimes.co.uk/en/full/1432906/star-wars-7-trailer.jpg

exclusivelee
11-02-2015, 12:18 PM
Interesting that you say that. It was previously mentioned (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?54909-Seattle-event-10-28-15) that Rui Hachimura from Japan could be that potential player from over the Pacific. Couldn't find anything reliable online about that, but I did find a post from a message board (http://www.basketballforum.com/12678465-post355368.html) which provides the following quote from what appears to be a Japanese basketball magazine:



Speculation based on information which isn't totally solid or reliable, but if true, Hachimura would be an excellent pick up!
I think that part on Rui Hachimura was from Jan 31 in an ESPN article and I don't think his recruitment has been discussed much within the last 8 months.

I don't have an ESPN insider subscription any longer. Anyone wanna check?:

http://insider.espn.go.com/blog/ncbrecruiting/on-the-trail/insider/post?id=12808

basketballzag
11-02-2015, 12:32 PM
This recruiting class isn't finished either

GonzagasaurusFlex
11-02-2015, 01:08 PM
There will be news...........BBzAG is correct.

Anyone else getting major Star Wars, "there is another," force is strong here today kind of vibes? :-))

Worthington
11-02-2015, 02:37 PM
There will be news...........BBzAG is correct.

Can we expect anything soon?

Mike83814
11-02-2015, 02:49 PM
Whatever happened w Bibby Jr. - is he still under consideration? I feel like he kinda dropped off the radar...

ZagsObserver
11-02-2015, 03:35 PM
There will be news...........BBzAG is correct.

Will it be a name that most of us would recognize?

exclusivelee
11-02-2015, 03:41 PM
Perhaps Jacob Glarbjerg Larsen. Haven't heard much on him since he visited Gonzaga and Maryland last month

GoZags
11-02-2015, 03:56 PM
Can we expect anything soon?

2nd to last line ... Tommy "seemed" to think folks would be "pleased" with the results of the November signing period.
http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?54909-Seattle-event-10-28-15&p=1141139#post1141139

willandi
11-02-2015, 04:13 PM
Somebody from the Northwest Territory? He did say over "C"'s!

23zagmd
11-02-2015, 04:23 PM
Can we please stop with the "defections to the League talk".....every year we seem to hear about HOW many players we are losing to the NBA.....I love this squad and I love the Zags, but we have ONE potential NBA draft player on this entire roster! I hope KW makes it but he is a long shot with no true NBA position. I know everyone thinks that DS is a sure fire lock but I just question his explosiveness. If you ask me, at the end of the day, I think PK is going to be the guy that sticks due to his size and his ability to clog the lane and defend.

Mr Vulture
11-02-2015, 04:52 PM
I assume you mean we have one guy on the current roster that could leave early for the NBA. If not, I think you are way off base. I think both Perkins and NWG have NBA potential before they graduate.

seacatfan
11-02-2015, 05:12 PM
It could be interesting if the Zags raise their recruiting profile enough to be worried about a steady flow of players declaring for the draft early. GU has been ALMOST immune to that thus far (by my count lost Morrison and Olynk after Jr year and Daye after soph year, that's it, right?). It's just a fact of life for most upper echelon bball programs.

zag67
11-02-2015, 05:38 PM
And I will combine both of yours. Maybe not this year, but Wiltjer, Karnowski, Sabonis, Perkins and NWG all have the potential of being NBA material. And then we have others that can play in other leagues. This is going to be a fun set of years for GU and the whole program. Will we win it all? Russian roulette. But we will be there and competitive.

Kiddwell
11-02-2015, 06:10 PM
Perhaps Jacob Glarbjerg Larsen. Haven't heard much on him since he visited Gonzaga and Maryland last month

Don't know this name. Can you give a bit more info, Lee?



:]

willandi
11-02-2015, 06:35 PM
Don't know this name. Can you give a bit more info, Lee?



:]
http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?54758-Jacob-Larsen-2016-Denmark-6-10-center-visiting-for-Kraziness-in-the-Kennl

SLOZag
11-02-2015, 06:36 PM
"Jacob Larsen" Don't know this name. Can you give a bit more info ...?


http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/search.php?searchid=177597

http://sporten.tv2.dk/basketball/2015-02-15-dansk-supertalent-naermer-sig-nba

exclusivelee
11-02-2015, 07:55 PM
Jerry Meyer & 247Sports now says GU has a top 15 composite team recruiting class right now: http://247sports.com/Bolt/Gonzaga-has-a-top-15-class-40764315

Killian finally receives a profile and enters at #63

Collins is laughably ranked #105, yet still a 4-star (industry low)

Norvell is #129 and a 3-star (industry low)

247's own team rankings has the Zags at #21: http://247sports.com/Season/2016-Basketball/TeamRankings

GU had the #40 composite recruiting class in 2014, but 247 had us at #14 in their own team rankings thanks to giving Sabonis a 5-star rating

TravelinZag
11-03-2015, 03:19 AM
Jerry Meyer & 247Sports now says GU has a top 15 composite team recruiting class right now: http://247sports.com/Bolt/Gonzaga-has-a-top-15-class-40764315

Killian finally receives a profile and enters at #63

247's own team rankings has the Zags at #21: http://247sports.com/Season/2016-Basketball/TeamRankings

GU had the #40 composite recruiting class in 2014, but 247 had us at #14 in their own team rankings thanks to giving Sabonis a 5-star rating



Have often thought that to maintain top-25 status, sooner or later you must be a top 25 recruiter. After a consistent climb, Zags have now achieved both. Lots of crap tossed at the coaches on this thread (occasionally deserved). How about some richly deserved applause!! Great results, great recruiting (and selection), same high chemistry, play as a team approach! Bravo!

Go Zags! FF or more!!


:allhail:

jazzdelmar
11-03-2015, 04:03 AM
Jerry Meyer & 247Sports now says GU has a top 15 composite team recruiting class right now: http://247sports.com/Bolt/Gonzaga-has-a-top-15-class-40764315

Killian finally receives a profile and enters at #63

Collins is laughably ranked #105, yet still a 4-star (industry low)

Norvell is #129 and a 3-star (industry low)

247's own team rankings has the Zags at #21: http://247sports.com/Season/2016-Basketball/TeamRankings

GU had the #40 composite recruiting class in 2014, but 247 had us at #14 in their own team rankings thanks to giving Sabonis a 5-star rating

How did both Zachs drop so precipitously out of the top 100? And, how can ASU, The Ville and Nova rate ahead of the Zags with fewer stars and players? Seems like 247 needs to get out the abacus. They have Tilllie as a 3 in one place and a 4 in another. That's all these sites do, you would think they can do it well.

TexasZagFan
11-03-2015, 04:36 AM
How did both Zachs drop so precipitously out of the top 100? And, how can ASU, The Ville and Nova rate ahead of the Zags with fewer stars and players? Seems like 247 needs to get out the abacus. They have Tilllie as a 3 in one place and a 4 in another. That's all these sites do, you would think they can do it well.

If I'm a fan of teams 10-40 in ESPN's recruiting rankings, I'm asking questions about my team's ability to develop players.

jazzdelmar
11-03-2015, 04:39 AM
If I'm a fan of teams 10-40 in ESPN's recruiting rankings, I'm asking questions about my team's ability to develop players.

That's true, and of course the Zags shine there. But I am wondering about the machinations of this whole rating process. Does one 5-star outweigh three 4-stars, for example. Seems arbitrary. Big surprise, huh.

hooter73
11-03-2015, 07:08 AM
How did both Zachs drop so precipitously out of the top 100?

Because they committed to GU...

Surprised that KT comes in that low. Didnt know he was considered a top 100.

exclusivelee
11-03-2015, 07:12 AM
Who would have thought 17 years ago that Gonzaga would start to consistently out-recruit Georgetown?

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/03/8c561e3a35589c34c98ab5c3cfd0f640.jpg

DixieZag
11-03-2015, 07:53 AM
That's true, and of course the Zags shine there. But I am wondering about the machinations of this whole rating process. Does one 5-star outweigh three 4-stars, for example. Seems arbitrary. Big surprise, huh.

Given that I can't believe that these sites have a ton of traffic during much of the year, would it not make sense that the guys who commit - except for those going to the very top schools - drop some as they try to make it look like the guys that are left are "elite," thus keeping up day to day interest in their site.

DixieZag
11-03-2015, 07:54 AM
Who would have thought 17 years ago that Gonzaga would start to consistently out-recruit Georgetown?

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/03/8c561e3a35589c34c98ab5c3cfd0f640.jpg

I am beginning to wonder if they are not closing the gap academically as well.

TexasZagFan
11-03-2015, 09:15 AM
It's an overwhelming group of kids being assembled. For the next 2-3 years we will be a top 10 team to begin the season. This shift upward is ineveitable considering the talent being acquired.
It's been quite a journey and the coaches are not finished yet. The more we win and the further we go in the NCAA tournament, it only stands to reason the whole team gets better due to recruits.
What's surprised me is Tommy's excellence at traveling around collecting best players.
Few himself is now in the hunt....in a very personal way (this surprises me)...and is finding kids who will listen to his words on the program's history and future. About 5 more years and a Title will put the school and the program in the company of the factory schools without being one of them. It's a great future built on a great past. Who could ask for more?? Go Zags!!

I'm surprised Tommy hasn't been lured away be mega bucks at a factory school.

There's a young man here in Irving that's got the potential to be the Zags' point guard in 2021-2023. His game has improved by leaps and bounds over the past year, and he's grown from 5'2" to 5'7" in the past several months. Saw him play in a pickup game with adult men this past weekend, and he held his own, scoring six buckets from several different locations on the court. Deadly stroke from the wing, old school...uses the backboard to near perfection. HS Athletic Director (his son is the starting QB) saw this kid in football practice a few weeks back and remarked, "tough as nails."

He's definitely Zag material...it's in his genes... ;)

Up until seeing the Zags play in Stillwater, his goal was to matriculate at UT-Austin. Meeting the players after the OSU game had a huge impact on him (the pics are in my profile), and he's set his sights on becoming a Zag. He learned a lot by watching Mike Hart (he had a perfect view of Mike's devastating screen that freed Gary Bell for the game winner). That's how he made the team last year, scrapping for loose balls, setting screens, getting physical against taller opponents, etc.

During one of his camps this summer, he struck up a friendship with a kid (6'2") from Fort Smith, AR. So as not to get anyone in trouble, I won't say his name. His shooting stroke was the best I've ever seen in an 8th grader, and he made it look effortless. I happened to be wearing one of my Zag shirts, and he broke into a big grin when he saw it. His parents asked a lot of questions about Gonzaga, they're planning ahead. During the scrimmages, they looked like they'd played together before.

ZagsGoZags
11-03-2015, 09:24 AM
Because they committed to GU...

Surprised that KT comes in that low. Didnt know he was considered a top 100.

I find Zach Collins ranked #32 in nation here, I think it is up to date

https://rivals.yahoo.com/basketballrecruiting/basketball/recruiting/rankings/rank-3375/2016

Coach Crazy
11-03-2015, 10:40 AM
I find Zach Collins ranked #32 in nation here, I think it is up to date

https://rivals.yahoo.com/basketballrecruiting/basketball/recruiting/rankings/rank-3375/2016

This is also all pre-senior season. If he stays the same or drops in ranking, then we know exactly what it is. If he has a season anywhere near his senior teammates of last year...then he'll be at least a 5*. Which I think he is now, already. But none of that matters.

Also, I can see how some might give Tillie a high 3*, but I think you can make the argument for as high as a low 4.

OZZY
11-03-2015, 12:53 PM
I'm surprised Tommy hasn't been lured away be mega bucks at a factory school.

There's a young man here in Irving that's got the potential to be the Zags' point guard in 2021-2023. His game has improved by leaps and bounds over the past year, and he's grown from 5'2" to 5'7" in the past several months. Saw him play in a pickup game with adult men this past weekend, and he held his own, scoring six buckets from several different locations on the court. Deadly stroke from the wing, old school...uses the backboard to near perfection. HS Athletic Director (his son is the starting QB) saw this kid in football practice a few weeks back and remarked, "tough as nails."

He's definitely Zag material...it's in his genes... ;)

Up until seeing the Zags play in Stillwater, his goal was to matriculate at UT-Austin. Meeting the players after the OSU game had a huge impact on him (the pics are in my profile), and he's set his sights on becoming a Zag. He learned a lot by watching Mike Hart (he had a perfect view of Mike's devastating screen that freed Gary Bell for the game winner). That's how he made the team last year, scrapping for loose balls, setting screens, getting physical against taller opponents, etc.

During one of his camps this summer, he struck up a friendship with a kid (6'2") from Fort Smith, AR. So as not to get anyone in trouble, I won't say his name. His shooting stroke was the best I've ever seen in an 8th grader, and he made it look effortless. I happened to be wearing one of my Zag shirts, and he broke into a big grin when he saw it. His parents asked a lot of questions about Gonzaga, they're planning ahead. During the scrimmages, they looked like they'd played together before.

Sounds very promising, something we should follow with regular updates...

:)

Angelo Roncalli
11-03-2015, 02:01 PM
I am beginning to wonder if they are not closing the gap academically as well.

Yes.

See, e.g., http://college.usatoday.com/2015/10/16/top-10-business-schools/

And, our student athletes do MUCH better academically than Georgetown's. Gonzaga's MBB current APR is 984; Georgetown's is 950.

23zagmd
11-03-2015, 03:43 PM
Really? Yes, I say one of our big 3 is on an NBA roster, not starting and considered a role guy ..... I think it is way to early to say anything about Perkins.....he's played 5 games...ton of potential and maybe a draft pick some day. NWG, transferred for a reason, didn't leave to the nba last year for a reason, and has all kinds of holes in his game from me an dozens of way more qualified guys watching him and evaluating his nba talent level and hardly a sniff! Ok? I'll take that bet any day....he's blake step without the offense and Blake didn't come close to the NBA .....
I assume you mean we have one guy on the current roster that could leave early for the NBA. If not, I think you are way off base. I think both Perkins and NWG have NBA potential before they graduate.

seacatfan
11-03-2015, 04:40 PM
Wow. Opinions vary. NWG nearly declared for the NBA draft after his Fr. year at UW. Someone somewhere in the NBA must have been at least somewhat enamored with his game. I don't think he's anything like Stepp, odd comparison to make. One thing NWG DOESN'T have is totally busted up knees like Stepp did. So there that...

Anyone here think that Arizona's starting PG from the last 2 years would make an NBA roster? Well, he did. Backup PG for the 76ers. Last night he had 6 points on 3-4 shooting, 7 rebounds, 12 assists with 0 turnovers in 23 minutes against the Cavs. That's filling up a stat sheet. And he took Delly to school from what I heard. Anyway, anyone that claims they know who will and won't end up in the NBA, I really take that with a grain of salt since there are all kinds of guys that seemed like a gimme that wash out, and guys that seem like there was no way they'd make it that stick.

maynard g krebs
11-03-2015, 05:24 PM
I don't think he's anything like Stepp, odd comparison to make.

Agree. I've thought from the beginning that we see him and Perkins together for one year; one or the other, if not both, will declare in 2017.

ProjectMKUltra5
11-03-2015, 05:37 PM
Really? Yes, I say one of our big 3 is on an NBA roster, not starting and considered a role guy ..... I think it is way to early to say anything about Perkins.....he's played 5 games...ton of potential and maybe a draft pick some day. NWG, transferred for a reason, didn't leave to the nba last year for a reason, and has all kinds of holes in his game from me an dozens of way more qualified guys watching him and evaluating his nba talent level and hardly a sniff! Ok? I'll take that bet any day....he's blake step without the offense and Blake didn't come close to the NBA .....

Huh that's odd, I count three Zags being drafted per NBADraft.Net, including Sabonis going #8 and Nigel "hardly a sniff" Williams-Goss going in 2017.

http://www.nbadraft.net/2016mock_draft

http://www.nbadraft.net/2017mock_draft

And Perkins will be a first rounder too. Our own freaking fans are clueless to just how good he is, let alone anybody outside of Washington. Once he starts playing scouts will drool

DixieZag
11-03-2015, 06:58 PM
Yes.

See, e.g., http://college.usatoday.com/2015/10/16/top-10-business-schools/

And, our student athletes do MUCH better academically than Georgetown's. Gonzaga's MBB current APR is 984; Georgetown's is 950.

Yes, I have had a sense that our degrees become more valuable by the year, even if some of us wouldn't have gotten admitted under today's standards. :) That's why I made the comment, thx for the link.

Big picture, I'm even more proud of how the school has churned its "popularity" into an academic powerhouse, which is what it is seriously becoming. Perhaps if one isn't in town much (I know you are, often) it is hard to get feel for just how far it has come. Of course they're linked, it's not coincidental, but I think there's as much pride over there about the academics as there is about basketball - as it should be.

VinnyZag
11-03-2015, 07:08 PM
Anyone here think that Arizona's starting PG from the last 2 years would make an NBA roster? Well, he did. Backup PG for the 76ers.

I'm not sure we can say that the 76ers qualify as an NBA roster ...

WallaWallaZag
11-03-2015, 09:52 PM
Anyone here think that Arizona's starting PG from the last 2 years would make an NBA roster? Well, he did. Backup PG for the 76ers. Last night he had 6 points on 3-4 shooting, 7 rebounds, 12 assists with 0 turnovers in 23 minutes against the Cavs. That's filling up a stat sheet. And he took Delly to school from what I heard. Anyway, anyone that claims they know who will and won't end up in the NBA, I really take that with a grain of salt since there are all kinds of guys that seemed like a gimme that wash out, and guys that seem like there was no way they'd make it that stick.

personally not that surprised...was heart & soul of zona's team and outplayed pangos head to head...pangos a better shooter but tj probably better in most all other aspects.

WallaWallaZag
11-03-2015, 09:57 PM
How did both Zachs drop so precipitously out of the top 100? And, how can ASU, The Ville and Nova rate ahead of the Zags with fewer stars and playersr? Seems like 247 needs to get out the abacus. They have Tilllie as a 3 in one place and a 4 in another. That's all these sites do, you would think they can do it well.

not sure they did drop...the #105 and #129 rankings listed are jerry meyer/247 rankings. you always see two numbers from 247 because they provide a composite ranking which is the average from the 4 major pubs and then their own 247 ranking. 247 is usually much better with regard to how good the international guys are.

VaBeachZAG
11-04-2015, 05:03 AM
personally not that surprised...was heart & soul of zona's team and outplayed pangos head to head...pangos a better shooter but tj probably better in most all other aspects.

I'm not necessarily disagreeing with your opinion, but, it isn't fair to fully compare Pangos and TJ "head to head" in the Arizona game. On defense Arizona had 3-4 of its best players guarding (harassing) Pangos over the course of the entire game. Also, TJ could be subbed out for a blow now and then, while Pangos was on the floor almost the entire game. I think if Perkins had been available to sub occasionally for Pangos, he would have easily matched, or surpassed TJ's performance. Not taking anything away from TJ, I love to see dark horses prove the all-knowing pundits wrong. TJ found a good fit for him in the NBA, Pangos didn't, that's just the way it goes.

jazzdelmar
11-04-2015, 05:22 AM
not sure they did drop...the #105 and #129 rankings listed are jerry meyer/247 rankings. you always see two numbers from 247 because they provide a composite ranking which is the average from the 4 major pubs and then their own 247 ranking. 247 is usually much better with regard to how good the international guys are.

WW, my memory may be weak but I recall Collins a well under #100 player when he signed. I know kids can drop for all sorts of reasons, but nothing happened w him except he signed w GU. I was hoping he would get a 5th star and be the first home grown McD.

WallaWallaZag
11-05-2015, 06:57 AM
WW, my memory may be weak but I recall Collins a well under #100 player when he signed. I know kids can drop for all sorts of reasons, but nothing happened w him except he signed w GU. I was hoping he would get a 5th star and be the first home grown McD.

collins is holding at #32 in the latest rivals ranking...and average is still a decent #64 which includes the 247 #105 ranking dragging him down...meyers has never had collins very high i believe, hence my statement that he hasn't necessarily dropped. on the other hand, he just put killie in at #63 overall which is probably way higher than anyone else.

exclusivelee
11-05-2015, 08:45 AM
collins is holding at #32 in the latest rivals ranking...and average is still a decent #64 which includes the 247 #105 ranking dragging him down...meyers has never had collins very high i believe, hence my statement that he hasn't necessarily dropped. on the other hand, he just put killie in at #63 overall which is probably way higher than anyone else.
Jerry Meyer and 247Sports had Collins at #68 before the NBPA camp in early June. Collins was the best center in the camp on day 1 and held his own offensively and defensively against Thon Maker and Bam Bam. Jerry dropped him to #78 after the camp. Then after the AAU period concluded in late July, Jerry dropped Collins to #114. Jerry hasn't upgraded him since then, he's only downgraded 9 other kids

Scout had Collins up at #47 at one point and then had a personal vendetta against him and began downgrading him to #68 then #87 then #93. They vendetta may have subsided a bit and Scout has put him back up to #71

As for Tillie, much like other international recruits who don't play many games in the states, ESPN, Rivals, and Scout do not rank him. Rivals did rate Tillie a 4-star though. Jerry does rank international kids and he initially slotted Sabonis at #19 and a 5-star for 2014

CDC84
11-05-2015, 08:56 AM
Meyer is an idiot for ranking Collins that low. If a kid is 6-11 and has anywhere near his mobility and skill level, he should be a top 75 player, minimum. The high school ranks have so few big men who are like him. #114 is for a 7 footer who is a stiff.

Regarding NWG.....expect a big jump in his game due to his redshirt year.

raise the zag
11-05-2015, 09:06 AM
Regarding NWG.....expect a big jump in his game due to his redshirt year.

Agreed, yet NWG hasn't been practicing with the team as he's dealing with a chronic ankle issue the entire pre-season.

He was held out of early scrimmages as well.

Hope he can get healthy and begin to work on his game, with our coaches, and most importantly, our team.

Chicken Ball
11-05-2015, 09:59 AM
Regarding NWG.....expect a big jump in his game due to his redshirt year.

That'd be terrific. Could NWG be our perimeter Olynyk?

hooter73
11-05-2015, 10:48 AM
That'd be terrific. Could NWG be our perimeter Olynyk?

I dont think so. NWG comes in with amazing college stats. KO couldnt really put together a proper stat line in his first two years, thats why the impact was so intense. Goss just needs a winning program and winning players around him to showcase his talents. If he makes a jump, its going to be to the league with a very similar stat line as what he came in with... and thats a-ok by me lol.

seacatfan
11-05-2015, 10:53 AM
Yeah, NWG was already a successful/productive player at the Pac 12 level. He could stand to improve his 3 point shooting, but it's not like he arrived with a bunch of gaping holes in his game.

seacatfan
11-05-2015, 10:54 AM
I'm not sure we can say that the 76ers qualify as an NBA roster ...

Ouch. You may be right. TJ did it again last night, 7 points on 3-4 FG, 12 assists and 9 rebounds! In a losing effort however.

cjm720
11-05-2015, 11:02 AM
Yeah, NWG was already a successful/productive player at the Pac 12 level. He could stand to improve his 3 point shooting, but it's not like he arrived with a bunch of gaping holes in his game.

He's a very good outside shooter, but was asked to do much on a crappy team which effected his percentage.

If he and Perks can gel, it will be the most thrilling combo since Stepp and Dickau.

seacatfan
11-05-2015, 11:07 AM
If he and Perks can gel, it will be the most thrilling combo since Stepp and Dickau.

That sounds good to me!

TexasZagFan
11-05-2015, 11:46 AM
He's a very good outside shooter, but was asked to do much on a crappy team which effected his percentage.

If he and Perks can gel, it will be the most thrilling combo since Stepp and Dickau.

When they were both healthy, Pangos and Bell were better than Stepp and Dickau...not by much, though. JMO

maynard g krebs
11-05-2015, 01:13 PM
He's a very good outside shooter, but was asked to do much on a crappy team which effected his percentage.



Yes. Poor quality of shot attempts in that offense. And that probably affects confidence.

Zagger
11-05-2015, 03:01 PM
He's a very good outside shooter, but was asked to do much on a crappy team which effected his percentage.

If he and Perks can gel, it will be the most thrilling combo since Stepp and Dickau.

I'm hoping Perks and Melson can gel and turn heads 720 - make 'em spin. I'm sure we haven't seen Melson at his best yet. Few's a good coach. At present the Zags may be a bit rough due to leadership by Pangos/Bell being down the road. It'll likely take awhile (couple months) but I'm banking on Melson/Drano/EMC2 all making a solid contribution to how the Zags improve over the season. If Perks is that good he ought to be able to bring every one else along with him. I don't feel we can get to FF with Sabonis/Wiltjer/MtK not having an excellent supporting cast. Chemistry is going to be needed. I have faith in the group pulling it off - just not that well until Jan/Feb.

basketballzag
11-08-2015, 11:57 AM
Any recruits going to make their way to the Pitt game?

OZZY
11-08-2015, 12:37 PM
こんにちはZAGS!

hondo
11-08-2015, 02:13 PM
Hello Ozzy !

Snagglezag
11-09-2015, 01:22 PM
Any recruits going to make their way to the Pitt game?

Hopefully, Rui (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENGX4J_HZDk) makes an appearance...

jazzdelmar
11-09-2015, 01:42 PM
When they were both healthy, Pangos and Bell were better than Stepp and Dickau...not by much, though. JMO

WHAT.??? Surely you jest.

OZZY
11-09-2015, 02:02 PM
WHAT.??? Surely you jest.

No, I tend to think that there can be differing opinions on a discussion board....

I concur with TZF.

sittingon50
11-09-2015, 02:37 PM
Think I'll go with Jazz on that one but as TZF says, not by much.

ZagsObserver
11-09-2015, 02:43 PM
Think I'll go with Jazz on that one but as TZF says, not by much.

Ditto

cggonzaga
11-09-2015, 02:56 PM
I'll go with Jazz as well but I don't think it's close. Pangos is one of my all time favorites but him and Bell were not on Dickau and Stepp's level.

bartruff1
11-09-2015, 04:10 PM
I'll go with Tex and Kevin and Garry....all round

Zagceo
11-09-2015, 04:45 PM
Dickau was 1st team AA.......gotta go with jazz

btzag
11-09-2015, 05:19 PM
I'll go with Jazz as well but I don't think it's close. Pangos is one of my all time favorites but him and Bell were not on Dickau and Stepp's level.

This exactly. Pangos is in the conversation with Stepp but Dickau was an AA and while Bell was a warrior he just was not on the same level as the other three even when healthy. That is an elite AA level we are talking about by the way so no knock on Bell at all, one of my favorites.

exclusivelee
11-10-2015, 08:10 AM
#23 in ESPN's 2016 recruiting rankings: http://m.espn.go.com/ncb/recruiting/classRankings?src=desktop


Zags would be a bit higher if ESPN ranked international recruits like Killian Tillie

strikenowhere
11-10-2015, 08:18 AM
#23 in ESPN's 2016 recruiting rankings: http://m.espn.go.com/ncb/recruiting/classRankings?src=desktop


Zags would be a bit higher if ESPN ranked international recruits like Tillian Tillir

Is there anywhere where someone can look up how a class' recruiting rank performed over the course of one or more seasons? I'm genuinely curious because when I see teams like Penn St., Auburn, Alabama, Mississippi St, etc have these highly ranked classes, yet consistently stink, I call into question the entire recruit rating system. I'm sure a lot of it also has to do with the coaching staff developing the players, external issues, etc as well

exclusivelee
11-10-2015, 12:14 PM
Interesting that you say that. It was previously mentioned (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?54909-Seattle-event-10-28-15) that Rui Hachimura from Japan could be that potential player from over the Pacific. Couldn't find anything reliable online about that, but I did find a post from a message board (http://www.basketballforum.com/12678465-post355368.html) which provides the following quote from what appears to be a Japanese basketball magazine:

Speculation based on information which isn't totally solid or reliable, but if true, Hachimura would be an excellent pick up!

If only we had photographic evidence that a certain young Japanese superstar visited Gonzaga in early October...

basketballzag
11-10-2015, 04:27 PM
If only we had photographic evidence that a certain young Japanese superstar visited Gonzaga in early October...

Would be a huge pick up for Gonzaga if they landed him as he is highly coveted.

Worthington
11-10-2015, 04:49 PM
I would be ecstatic if we could add Hachimura to the 2016 class. Always love adding another to the international contingent of the team. Very unique talent as well, reminds me somewhat of Giannis "The Greek Freak" Antetokounmpo who plays for the Milwaukee Bucks. Don't often see those athletic wing types coming from overseas, and we often miss out on them stateside so this could be a great opportunity to land one.

ProjectMKUltra5
11-10-2015, 05:36 PM
I would be ecstatic if we could add Hachimura to the 2016 class. Always love adding another to the international contingent of the team. Very unique talent as well, reminds me somewhat of Giannis "The Greek Freak" Antetokounmpo who plays for the Milwaukee Bucks. Don't often see those athletic wing types coming from overseas, and we often miss out on them stateside so this could be a great opportunity to land one.

+1 he looks like a mini Greek freak. Khawi Leonard is another name that comes to mind when I see him

GoZags
11-10-2015, 05:59 PM
If only we had photographic evidence that a certain young Japanese superstar visited Gonzaga in early October...

None needed from my perspective.

Zagdawg
11-10-2015, 09:01 PM
Tomorrow is the start of the early signing period.

Sport (s) Initial Signing Date Final Signing Date
Basketball (Early Period) November 11, 2015 November 18, 2015

btzag
11-11-2015, 06:22 AM
Would be a huge pick up for Gonzaga if they landed him as he is highly coveted.

Where would he be on a top 100 list? Is he on any overseas ranking lists? I've seen some nice write ups but that's about it.

Worthington
11-11-2015, 11:13 PM
+1 he looks like a mini Greek freak. Khawi Leonard is another name that comes to mind when I see him

Love the Kawhi comparison!

Some recent highlights of Hachimura https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCQPNTinlss

He's gotten noticeably bigger and quicker. For as much as this kid seems to be WAY under the radar and as good as the 2016 class already is, if we added him I think he has the potential to be the best out of the bunch. And I mean that as very high praise because I think all 3 of Collins, Tillie and Norvell are studs.

jchocolate99
11-12-2015, 12:21 AM
Love the Kawhi comparison!

Some recent highlights of Hachimura https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCQPNTinlss

He's gotten noticeably bigger and quicker. For as much as this kid seems to be WAY under the radar and as good as the 2016 class already is, if we added him I think he has the potential to be the best out of the bunch. And I mean that as very high praise because I think all 3 of Collins, Tillie and Norvell are studs.

I really want this kid in a Zags uniform...Anyone know how the tea leaves might me reading in regards to his interest in GU?

Zagdawg
11-23-2015, 10:01 AM
Ranking the top 30 Washington State recruits (per dawgman)

http://www.scout.com/college/washington/story/1615258-dawgman-s-top-30-college-prospects-part-1

"23) Devin Culp. 6'5 SF 2017 Gonzaga Prep. Culp is a powerfully built, physically mature wing from Spokane. Despite his bulk, he's bouncy and a powerful finisher, with decent lateral quickness and he plays with energy, both defensively and on the glass where he's an excellent rebounder. He has interest from high major programs across the Notrthwest including WSU, Oregon State and Gonzaga."