PDA

View Full Version : Jacob Larsen - 2016 Denmark 6'10 center visiting for Kraziness in the Kennl



exclusivelee
10-10-2015, 02:37 PM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/10/10/aaabd79efedcbfbc3f6ddca7ec294ff4.jpg

Gonzaga could have a strong shot of luring Jacob Larsen in over Maryland and Marquette

exclusivelee
10-10-2015, 02:39 PM
Article from Adam Zagoria's blog from Feb 15, 2015:

http://zagsblog.com/articles/recruiting-rundown-nba-scouts-turn-out-to-watch-talent-at-basketball-borders/


JACOB LARSEN, DENMARK

A skilled 6-10, 240-pound center from Holte, Denmark, Larsen is only 17 and would go to college in 2016.

He says he’s enjoyed the camp so far.

“It’s a great experience to meet players from all around the world and coming together and play good basketball,” Larsen told SNY.tv.

Larsen said he’s considering coming to the U.S. for college and is being recruited by Duke, Maryland and George Washington, among others.

“Yeah, I’m considering the college way,” he said. “I like it here in America and just like any first-division basketball college would be great.”

He added: “Duke, Maryland, George Washington, all kinds of schools.”

Larsen says he hopes to decide his future plans soon.

“Pretty soon I think because if I want to go to the European way, it’s a decision I have to make real soon,” he said.

Wherever he goes, Larsen plans to be a “hard-working player both defensively and offensively. And doing my part whatever the coach wants.”

exclusivelee
10-10-2015, 02:46 PM
Larsen turned 18 on Cinco De Mayo, 19th best international born player born in 1997 via DraftExpress

http://www.draftexpress.com/article/2015-Basketball-Without-Borders-Camp-Roster-Analysis-4811/


2015 Basketball Without Borders Camp Roster Analysis
by: Jonathan Givony - President, Matt Kamalsky - Director of Operations
February 5, 2015

-One of the most interesting players included on the roster for a number of reasons is Jacob Larsen of Denmark. More of a traditional post player than his brother Rasmus Larsen, the younger Larsen is currently on the NCAA track. A near 7-footer with a nice skill level, Larsen posted one of the highest PERs in FIBA history at the 2013 U16 Division B European Championship averaging 20 points and 12.1 rebounds per-game. He didn't appear in FIBA competition last summer and has flown below the radar playing for some time now playing in the Danish 2nd Division for the Virum Vipers. This could be a chance for him to prove that his production at the junior level is more than just a byproduct of the level of competition he faced and solidify his place among the top European prospects in the 1997 age group. College coaches will want to get a feel for how he's developing, as he's considered one of the top international prospects available in the 2016 high school class. He could probably enroll in college already in 2015, but is rumored to be leaning towards staying in Denmark for the time being.

23dpg
10-10-2015, 03:28 PM
I was just wondering if he was a younger brother of Rasmus. Obviously I wish him good fortune wherever he ends up.

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/danish-basketball-player-rasmus-larsen-found-dead-20-article-1.2221981

Zags_Fanatic
10-10-2015, 07:32 PM
I was just wondering if he was a younger brother of Rasmus. Obviously I wish him good fortune wherever he ends up.

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/danish-basketball-player-rasmus-larsen-found-dead-20-article-1.2221981

Yes, he is his brother. Looks a lot like Rasmus with a wiry frame. Seemed like Tommy was giving him the VIP treatment at Kraziness today.

basketballzag
10-12-2015, 08:11 AM
He would be a huge pick-up for Gonzaga. I know that Duke has also been recruiting him hard as well.

exclusivelee
10-13-2015, 10:56 AM
Injury and his brother's passing likely kept Jacob out of U18 FIBA competition the last 2 years. He recently signed with a new team in Denmark, but sounds like he may miss this entire season due to injury (http://www.spilxperten.com/oddset-og-odds/SISU-Stevnsgade-SuperMen-87615.aspx) More:


Biggest talent in Denmark joins SISU - Sep 23, 2015

SISU Copenhagen (Ligaen) added 18-year old domestic power forward Jacob Larsen (208-97) to their roster.

He has recently played the last seasons at Virum Vipers (1st Division) but will now take a step up in his career and play in the best league in Denmark.

Despite young age Larsen has already had an impressive career in Denmark and with the national youth program.

Larsen attended the Belgrade Adidas Next Generation Tournament in 2015. Playing 3 games he averaged 16.7 ppg, 6.7 rpg and 2.3 apg.

Larsen's team, Virum, won the Danish 1st Division Regular Season in 2014 and the team made it to the Semifinals.

Playing for the Dansh U16 National team Larsen has put up some remarkable numbers and in 2013 he was voted U16 Division B Best Player and Best Center by Eurobasket.com.

Winning gold at the U16 Division B tournament his stats read: 8 games: Score-1 (20.0ppg), Reb-2 (12.1rpg), 1.5apg, 1.6spg, Blocks-1 (4.0bpg), FGP: 68.1%, FT: 52.9%

http://www.eurobasket.com/Denmark/news/422226/Biggest-talent-in-Denmark-joins-SISU


Many new players in SISU

For brand new players in SISU will we get to see guarden ° Alassan Touray (former Aalborg Vikings and Stevnsgade) guarden Karolis Vaskys (formerly Køge), Forward Luciano de Souza (former Team FOG Næstved) and the young, talented center Jacob Glarbjerg ( former Virum) currently struggling with an injury.

Finally, there has been attached two new Americans to the team: Guard Devin Cherry and Power Forward Jay Canty.

More at the link: http://www.sisu.dk/mange-nye-spillere-for-sisus-herrer/

exclusivelee
10-13-2015, 11:09 AM
Jacob Glarbjerg Pressure is motivation

Sept 28, 2015

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/10/13/7b999e947e40af5758f19153f5e6a8ba.jpg

He is considered to be one of Denmark's great basketball talent, he has been hailed as the man who can potentially become Denmark's first NBA player and he has been over and try it on one of the larger camps. Yet Jacob Glarbjerg until now played in Virum from first division, but up to this season changed Virum out with SISU from Basketball league.

Jacob, you are switched from Virum in 1st div. to SISU in the league - what do you expect from your stay in SISU?

"I expect to be harmless, and then play a good season in the best Danish league in preparation for overseas."

Jacob has a bit of a jumper, an inflammation in the knee, and is therefore little careful to start too quickly.

"I do not know when I can play again. It's about that I do not want to rush anything, so I hopefully do not get injured again. "

There has been considerable focus on Jacob as he has both his height, but also has a good shot and a good understanding. Therefore, one can wonder that he takes small steps at a time. But it is there for a reason.

"It's about playing in the best league in Denmark before I go abroad, to level the change is not too large. I chose SISU due. I know many young players from the national team and their new coach Alain was also national team coach last year. He knew why my injury and is fully sympathetic to the time it can take for me to get ready. "

"It also feels that it is the right time in terms of age and possible playing time. Are you too young will always have limited playing time in spite of talent. "

How does it feel that the spotlight is on one - to have a positive pressure on themselves?
"It gives as motivation to retrain as well and quickly as possible, but you feel when the pressure on one."

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/10/13/84d4be038bb399116af3895e00504bae.jpg
Jacob Glarbjerg in the middle of this year's team photo in SISU. Photo: James Hjertholm

In the spring of Jacob in the United States on Global Camp, where he impressed. At various media was high praise for the young Dane, and it was also a special treat in due protagonist himself.

"It was very professional training with massaging feedback after every time you're doing something, but of course it was also an experience in itself, as the basketball training, not stuffed it all, and we were allowed to experience all the arrangements in During the All-Star weekend. "

Jacobs focus lies in SISU, but what the plan for the future is, is he ready in speechless about.

"College is definitely a goal after the summer 2016, and it will be an exciting experience! Which college I know not yet, but I expect it will be the first division. "

We wish Jacob luck with the goal of moving to the United States.

http://www.fullcourt.dk/jacob-glarbjerg-pres-er-motivation/


Predicted starter at center for SISU before injury: http://www.fullcourt.dk/offseason-review-sisu/

scrooner
10-13-2015, 12:41 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fCq157xpM8Y

MDABE80
10-13-2015, 12:50 PM
Tommy go!! Quite the show this young guy witnessed on Saturday. If Duke wants him, I think it'll be tough to get him here. Anyone sure Duke is hot on his trail??

cggonzaga
10-13-2015, 01:13 PM
From 3 years ago. Wow!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3aOxkPpQsTo

scrooner
10-13-2015, 01:17 PM
From 3 years ago. Wow!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3aOxkPpQsTo

That is the brother.

GonzagasaurusFlex
10-13-2015, 02:02 PM
I'm getting confused by the two different names being used in this thread and linked articles, but I think it's the same person: Is it Jacob Larsen or Jacob Glarbjerg? Anyone know what the deal is with why he is referred to by two different last names?

cggonzaga
10-13-2015, 02:22 PM
That is the brother.

That makes sense. I was wondering how a freshman could look like that and not be going pro instead of playing in college.

Mantua
10-13-2015, 02:26 PM
I'm getting confused by the two different names being used in this thread and linked articles, but I think it's the same person: Is it Jacob Larsen or Jacob Glarbjerg? Anyone know what the deal is with why he is referred to by two different last names?

I found an image of Rasmus labeled an interview with Rasmus Glarbjerg Larsen, but the link to the page didn't work so I don't have a link for you.

scrooner
10-13-2015, 10:08 PM
This article calls him Jacob Glarbjerg Larsen:

http://politiken.dk/sport/aaretsfund/ECE2490941/nomineret-til-aarets-fund-17-aarige-jacob-vil-til-nba/

GonzagasaurusFlex
10-14-2015, 05:26 AM
This article calls him Jacob Glarbjerg Larsen:

http://politiken.dk/sport/aaretsfund/ECE2490941/nomineret-til-aarets-fund-17-aarige-jacob-vil-til-nba/

Thanks scrooner. Good to begin the day with greater clarity!

exclusivelee
10-15-2015, 08:47 AM
Appears that Jacob will visit Maryland soon:

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/10/15/ec6410f30ce554e929e303d0e64ad576.jpg


Maryland also should have 2016 4-star PF Mario Kegler and 2018 5-star PF Jalen Smith at their Midnight Madness event:

http://www.baltimoresun.com/sports/terps/tracking-the-terps/bal-top-forward-prospects-mario-kegler-jacob-larsen-expected-to-visit-maryland-for-madness-on-saturday-20151015-story.html

hooter73
10-15-2015, 11:13 AM
2018 5-star PF Jalen Smith

2018? Im getting old. Didnt know they even did star rankings for - what does that make him, a high school sophomore? - players that young.

ProjectMKUltra5
10-15-2015, 12:33 PM
2018? Im getting old. Didnt know they even did star rankings for - what does that make him, a high school sophomore? - players that young.

You can find rankings for kids in middle school but they generally start once you're a freshman in high school. 2019 guard PJ Fuller out of Garfield has already got some interest from GU, for example.

Zagger
10-16-2015, 05:08 AM
Hope Larsen chooses GU. He sure visited at a good pre-season time to give a kid an eyeful of what playing @ GU would be like. If Duke is really on him it would be sweet to beat out Duke. We certainly have a fighting chance nowadays thanks to the continued increase in GU BB currency. Go Zags!

GonzagasaurusFlex
10-16-2015, 05:49 AM
Hope Larsen chooses GU. He sure visited at a good pre-season time to give a kid an eyeful of what playing @ GU would be like. If Duke is really on him it would be sweet to beat out Duke. We certainly have a fighting chance nowadays thanks to the continued increase in GU BB currency. Go Zags!

I like Zags chances....proven track record with foreign players. I don't know of any foreign players off the top of my head who became key players for Coach K....or any on their roster for that matter. Another major bonus for Zags is they have 2 starting bigs graduating this year and possibly another, Sabonis, leaving after next year at the latest....not that I want that to happen. If Larsen chooses Duke, there's a very good chance the next great 5 Star big man enrolls as a freshman and becomes 'the man' a la Okafor. Zags seem not to recruit over guys who they know are going to be studs imho.

Coach Crazy
10-16-2015, 09:39 AM
Hope Larsen chooses GU. He sure visited at a good pre-season time to give a kid an eyeful of what playing @ GU would be like. If Duke is really on him it would be sweet to beat out Duke. We certainly have a fighting chance nowadays thanks to the continued increase in GU BB currency. Go Zags!

We beat out Duke (though this is not necessarily a similar situation, as there is a lot about this recruitment that we don't know) for Shem. And the I believe that PK had talked to another foreign/polish player that had played for Duke? I would like to know, someday, if that was a factor in Shem making his decision.

Coach Crazy
10-16-2015, 09:43 AM
I like Zags chances....proven track record with foreign players. I don't know of any foreign players off the top of my head who became key players for Coach K....or any on their roster for that matter. Another major bonus for Zags is they have 2 starting bigs graduating this year and possibly another, Sabonis, leaving after next year at the latest....not that I want that to happen. If Larsen chooses Duke, there's a very good chance the next great 5 Star big man enrolls as a freshman and becomes 'the man' a la Okafor. Zags seem not to recruit over guys who they know are going to be studs imho.

At this point, with what little I have been able to see of Jacob Larsen, he seems like a very role-oriented player. Again, so little to go off of, but he has good spacial awareness, and that is something that PK also showed early on. As well, Larsen is already further ahead on the fitness curve than Shem was, but obviously giving up some size.

I like the find, and hope the kid decides to come and play here. While every kid dreams of getting to the league, and some even realistically play for that chance, the fact that this kid wants a shot at actually playing in the league and has the the tools to get there, is a great fit for not only our strength and conditioning system but also our newer culture that is developing.

thespywhozaggedme
10-16-2015, 12:28 PM
We beat out Duke (though this is not necessarily a similar situation, as there is a lot about this recruitment that we don't know) for Shem. And the I believe that PK had talked to another foreign/polish player that had played for Duke? I would like to know, someday, if that was a factor in Shem making his decision.

Yup, the kid that transferred to Nevada.

exclusivelee
10-16-2015, 06:48 PM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/10/16/821fa4f1f6664ebbb3796f657ac732e7.jpg

willandi
10-16-2015, 08:16 PM
Why would you go to a Duke football game?

sittingon50
10-16-2015, 09:00 PM
Why would you go to a Duke football game?

'Cause they're not dogmeat anymore.

exclusivelee
11-08-2015, 08:40 AM
Just found these:

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/08/69d00a9a1e842b761225cda2660558a6.jpg

https://m.reddit.com/r/CollegeBasketball/comments/3odryz/im_espn_college_basketball_analyst_fran/
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/08/8f6cd2a332800d23553e96f528cf3a56.jpg

http://www.scout.com/college/maryland/a.z?s=174&p=3&blipid=19417
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/08/241246f95be202760efeab0b4a13f7b9.jpg

And Marquette fans have been talking about Jacob on their Scout Insider forum for anyone who could shed some light on what they've been saying:
http://www.scout.com/college/marquette/forums/search?type=forum-messages&query=Jacob%20larsen&sortBy=Best&site=MarquetteHoops.com
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/08/561b93dd1a243d09a75b3ab06f5e4fb8.jpg

exclusivelee
11-08-2015, 08:58 AM
Could Gonzaga's frontcourt be too crowded to add Jacob Larsen? He may be detracted to choose thee Zags due to the additions of Collins and JW3. He apparently did visit Marquette last month:

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1606160-hardwood-notes-new-targets-larsen-movement

Hardwood Notes: New Targets, Larsen Movement?

Nov 3, 2015

Larsen? Bueller? Bueller?

It’s been eerily quiet since Danish power forward Jacob Larsen trekked through Maryland Oct. 17, his third official during his stay in the States. We figured Larsen would follow the script of many recent foreign visitors, taking in a couple schools and then committing shortly thereafter. But Larsen, who was accompanied by his father, hasn’t given any indication what he’s thinking after seeing Gonzaga, Marquette and finally UMD.

We were previously told Zaga may have the inside track given the Bulldogs’ proficiency in producing foreign bigs, but just recently another source informed otherwise. Since Gonzaga already has a touted 2016 frontcourt commit (Zach Collins), in addition to a power forward transfer (Johnathan Williams), the Bulldogs may not be as keen on Larsen as he is on them. If that's truly the case (and that is the buzz from our guys out in Seattle), perhaps the Denmark native will fall into Turgeon's lap.

But take it with a grain of salt for now. Until Larsen personally lets on his feelings, it’s anyone’s guess which direction he’s leaning. Maybe he will opt for Maryland after checking the Terps out for Maryland Madness, or maybe he'll select Gonzaga as some expect. Or, maybe Larsen will return to the U.S. for two more official visits before signing in April.

We’ll continue monitoring the situation, but if Larsen does not wind up in College Park, look for Turgeon to identify another power forward/center target. Perhaps the Terps will unearth another overseas big, as we know Dustin Clark was recruiting in Europe earlier in October.

More at the link: http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1606160-hardwood-notes-new-targets-larsen-movement


http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/08/8591ac3e666aa27862ff6bf708866c26.jpg

exclusivelee
11-11-2015, 11:03 AM
Trending to Gonzaga

http://247sports.com/Player/Jacob-Larsen-87368
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/11/9b65ec6605e175b9f03fdb995ddfd97b.jpg

DixieZag
11-11-2015, 11:31 AM
Wow. Kid has a lot of muscle on him for a high school player. Could be a very big boy 2 or 3 years in.

Well, it's not like Few doesn't know how to rotate a lot of big bodies in.

strikenowhere
11-11-2015, 11:39 AM
Would Larsen be a candidate for redshirting? All of a sudden the front court seems awfully crowded, with Collins, Tillie, Williams, Edwards, and now potentially Larsen?

kitzbuel
11-11-2015, 12:08 PM
Would Larsen be a candidate for redshirting? All of a sudden the front court seems awfully crowded, with Collins, Tillie, Williams, Edwards, and now potentially Larsen?
Well, maybe if playing three bigs together is good, playing five is better. [emoji1]

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

GonzagasaurusFlex
11-11-2015, 12:31 PM
Would Larsen be a candidate for redshirting? All of a sudden the front court seems awfully crowded, with Collins, Tillie, Williams, Edwards, and now potentially Larsen?

Not to mention Sabonis.....but even though he's like 6'10" or so, I think Tillie is athletic enough to earn minutes at the 3. Saw some highlights of him in 3v3 this summer and he just seems more athletic than Wiltjer.

ProjectMKUltra5
11-11-2015, 12:32 PM
Would Larsen be a candidate for redshirting? All of a sudden the front court seems awfully crowded, with Collins, Tillie, Williams, Edwards, and now potentially Larsen?

Just looking at them I would think Tillie would redshirt and Larsen would not. Larsen is a grown *** man lol

exclusivelee
11-11-2015, 12:44 PM
Hope injuries don't force them to redshirt. Killian has been held out of quite a few games this year due to multiple injuries. Jacob could also miss this whole year due to injury, as well

MTZag03
11-11-2015, 12:47 PM
Hmmmm. I hope we get him. It's all about guards from here on out if we do. Love what the staff has been doing.

strikenowhere
11-11-2015, 12:47 PM
Not to mention Sabonis.....but even though he's like 6'10" or so, I think Tillie is athletic enough to earn minutes at the 3. Saw some highlights of him in 3v3 this summer and he just seems more athletic than Wiltjer.

Hah I completely forgot about him...I guess I already assumed he was going pro after this year, although it seems that its not a given.

Coach Crazy
11-11-2015, 01:25 PM
While I am largely against redshirting, unless absolutely necessary...both Tillie and Larsen would be players that make a lot of sense for this. Because of depth *and* skill development/strength development. Larsen could stand to get some agility and Tillie needs to eat a sandwich, or something. Both have some promising upside, but I don't quite see either contributing a great deal as freshman.

Bogozags
11-11-2015, 01:46 PM
I must have missed something...did Larsen commit? If he did WOW! That is one heck of a get...great job Staff!

Coach Crazy
11-11-2015, 02:00 PM
I must have missed something...did Larsen commit? If he did WOW! That is one heck of a get...great job Staff!

Collins, Norvell, Tillie, NWG, and J3 can make you think its a foregone conclusion...

jchocolate99
11-11-2015, 02:19 PM
Everyone's conjecturing about who's going to redshirt but when's the last time GU redshirted a Euro player?

hooter73
11-11-2015, 02:45 PM
Everyone's conjecturing about who's going to redshirt but when's the last time GU redshirted a Euro player?

Exactly.

exclusivelee
11-11-2015, 02:58 PM
Jacob Larsen checks in as a 4-star and #106 overall in 247Sports' 2016 rankings, immediately behind Zach Collins. #23 power forward: http://247sports.com/Player/Jacob-Larsen-87368


Everyone's conjecturing about who's going to redshirt but when's the last time GU redshirted a Euro player?

Good point

Well, if we were to include any international player (not just Euro) then the answer would be the original Biggs McGee.... Theo Davis in 2006 (due to shoulder surgery) and then Calum MacLeod in 2004 (enrolled for the Spring semester)

Coach Crazy
11-11-2015, 03:54 PM
Everyone's conjecturing about who's going to redshirt but when's the last time GU redshirted a Euro player?

When was the last time we were this deep and brought in players with these specific areas of improvement needed? Even 3 years ago is almost apples-to-oranges, at this point. Now, if both were as physically and skill ready as Domas was, then I wouldn't be so ready to talk about potential redshirt for potential player. Either way, I am glad we are having this discussion. It means that we are debating over whether or not we want more icing on the icing cake.

seacatfan
11-11-2015, 04:06 PM
Last foreign player to RS was Olynk, yes?

Depth is great, as mentioned Sabonis may or may not be here next year. Seems a bit premature to start speculating on whether a player will RS or not when he hasn't even committed.

basketballzag
11-11-2015, 04:33 PM
Last foreign player to RS was Olynk, yes?

Depth is great, as mentioned Sabonis may or may not be here next year. Seems a bit premature to start speculating on whether a player will RS or not when he hasn't even committed.

Gonzaga would have one of the largest front courts in the country in 2017.

exclusivelee
11-11-2015, 04:36 PM
Gonzaga would have one of the largest front courts in the country in 2017.

Potential bigs for 2016-17:

7'1" Ryan Edwards (center)
6'11" Domantas Sabonis (PF/SF)
6'9" Johnathan Williams (PF/SF)
7'0" Zach Collins (C/PF)
6'10" Killian Tillie (SF/PF)
6'10" Jacob Glarbjerg Larsen (PF/C)
6'7" Rui Hachimura (SF/PF)

basketballzag
11-11-2015, 04:42 PM
Potential bigs for 2016-17:

7'1" Ryan Edwards (center)
6'11" Domantas Sabonis (PF/SF)
6'9" Johnathan Williams (PF/SF)
7'0" Zach Collins (C/PF)
6'10" Killian Tillie (SF/PF)
6'10" Jacob Glarbjerg Larsen (PF/C)
6'7" Rui Hachimura (SF/PF)

That would be an NBA sized roster. One thing that has been very positive has been the deep bench because of the rotation system it has allowed players to display their skills over the course of a season yet not physically wear them down. If I was a player looking for the next level this is a really good attribute to have because it does limit the potential for injury. If Larsen and Hachimura both sign Gonzaga would probably have the top 2 or 3 class in the country. And I would anticipate that at least one of them would redshirt next year.

seacatfan
11-11-2015, 04:47 PM
It kinda seems like Gonzaga is becoming a destination school for foreign born bigs doesn't it? I guess it goes all the way back to Ronny but more recently Sacre, Harris, Olynk and currently Karnowski and Sabonis with Tillie in the pipeline and maybe more coming. It makes sense that these guys don't grow up watching Duke and UNC and Kentucky and Kansas on TV, so it doesn't have the same allure for them as it does for domestic recruits (maybe Canadian kids are a bit different as they are closer and probably have some US sports available to them on TV). At this point Gonzaga might have as much cachet in Europe as any US college bball program.

Zagdawg
11-11-2015, 04:50 PM
Little farther back---Paul Rogers and Axel Dench (Wookie --Star Wars) were earlier big men who came from overseas.

NumberCruncher
11-11-2015, 04:57 PM
Little farther back---Paul Rogers and Axel Dench (Wookie --Star Wars) were earlier big men who came from overseas.

And JP Batista.

jazzdelmar
11-11-2015, 04:57 PM
Numbers are great but quality trumps. I would trade all the projected big men for Sabonis 2.0. Just saying.

Coach Crazy
11-11-2015, 05:14 PM
Numbers are great but quality trumps. I would trade all the projected big men for Sabonis 2.0. Just saying.

Agreed, but Domas's don't grow on trees overseas. I trust Travis Knight and the staff to be able to transform a projected/project center. Plus, any more Sabonis-types are going to have a little more competition in for their signature thanks to us.

seacatfan
11-11-2015, 05:49 PM
I'm unfamiliar with Rogers, I do remember Dench. I don't think you can really cite either of those guys as playing a role in developing a pipeline of foreign players though.

Turiaf was already an established star for the Zags before Batista showed up. Plus he played at a juco in the States, that's totally different in my mind. Once they've been here they aren't really foreign recruits anymore. A number of the best young Canadian players have been going to the all star prep academies in the States for a number of years now (Anthony Bennett, Tristan Thompson, Cory Joseph, Andrew Wiggins, etc). They get selected to the McD's AA game and choose the blue blood factory programs for their college destination. Hard to think of them as really being foreigner recruits at that point.

Martin Centre Mad Man
11-11-2015, 05:58 PM
Little farther back---Paul Rogers and Axel Dench (Wookie --Star Wars) were earlier big men who came from overseas.

Those guys were from a Land Down Under. They'd probably be really good players for St. Mary's if they were playing, today.

Martin Centre Mad Man
11-11-2015, 06:04 PM
I'm unfamiliar with Rogers, I do remember Dench. I don't think you can really cite either of those guys as playing a role in developing a pipeline of foreign players though. Rogers was an athletic 7' 0" center who was a key player for the 1995 group that was Gonzaga's first NCAA team. He was drafted by the Lakers, but played most of his professional career in his native Australia. He was a 20-10 machine against WCC centers. He was really fun to watch.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Rogers_(basketball)

jchocolate99
11-11-2015, 06:38 PM
Last foreign player to RS was Olynk, yes?

Depth is great, as mentioned Sabonis may or may not be here next year. Seems a bit premature to start speculating on whether a player will RS or not when he hasn't even committed.

I'm talking about European Recruits not the Canadian ones... I thought I heard years ago that they try not to redshirt the Euros just because of how far they had to come to attend our school unless they specifically want to... I could totally be wrong but I can't remember the last Euro that we "made/requested" redshirt

cggonzaga
11-11-2015, 07:04 PM
I consider Tillie and Rui 3s. Both are good enough to play next year and quite frankly we need 3s next season.

zag67
11-11-2015, 07:46 PM
What about Williams? Is he not going to be a 3. If we get both of them, we will be solid at the 3/4/5 for years to come.

seacatfan
11-11-2015, 07:53 PM
I'm talking about European Recruits not the Canadian ones... I thought I heard years ago that they try not to redshirt the Euros just because of how far they had to come to attend our school unless they specifically want to... I could totally be wrong but I can't remember the last Euro that we "made/requested" redshirt

I did see you were talking about Euros specifically. Someone else mentioned Theo Davis and Calum Macleod as the last foreigner born players to RS, I was just pointing out Olynk was more recent.

seacatfan
11-11-2015, 07:55 PM
Rogers was an athletic 7' 0" center who was a key player for the 1995 group that was Gonzaga's first NCAA team. He was drafted by the Lakers, but played most of his professional career in his native Australia. He was a 20-10 machine against WCC centers. He was really fun to watch.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Rogers_(basketball)

I missed the '95 team entirely. Zags weren't exactly making appearances on TV regularly just yet. Don't remember seeing any of their Tourney game that year either. I think they were dispatched rather handily by Joe Smith and co. from Maryland if my memory serves me correctly.

DixieZag
11-11-2015, 08:38 PM
I missed the '95 team entirely. Zags weren't exactly making appearances on TV regularly just yet. Don't remember seeing any of their Tourney game that year either. I think they were dispatched rather handily by Joe Smith and co. from Maryland if my memory serves me correctly.

I was even at that game, Univ of Utah, 14 seed versus the Maryland 3 seed. Zags were never really in it, down 10-20 all game, near as I recall. There was one point in the second half when John Rillie heated up and hit some deep 3s, I think there was a point they may have brought it within 8 or so. I will never forget, there were some fans from another school sitting behind me and one said "Is there any reason that anyone on that team should shoot except the bald guy?" "No" - was the answer from the whole section.

Oh, and X-Ray Hipp. No one can watch a game against a player with that name and not remember it. I can't recall the name of the Michigan State player that scored 83 pts at McCarthy, or the Illinois guy that went 43 for 49, but I remember X-Ray Hipp.

Name your kids something asinine. You'll cringe every time you hear it, but they'll live forever in the minds of people everywhere. :)

cggonzaga
11-11-2015, 08:46 PM
I consider JWill a 4 and a terrific one at that. Much like Harris but more willing to bang.

MDABE80
11-11-2015, 08:52 PM
Larsen is a gifted big man already. We only recruit the good ones from foreign lands. We're NBA sized now. If we have all those hosses on board next year, AND with the backcourt guys we have now, we'd be frightening. All those kids on the list above are hugely talented. Rui, to me, is a must get. He's a tweener at 6 ft 6 in but he's a killer shooter, a very good thlete and hits the boards.
Someday, the other schools will complain about the foreign born kids flocking to GU. I've heard it already. I always ask if they would turn them down considering the talent in these bigger bodies. Quiets the conversation.
We're having the very bright future we talked about 10-15 years ago. The growth is spectacular. Now, we need the heart the Santangelo team had.

Zagdawg
11-11-2015, 09:20 PM
http://www.fibaeurope.com/compID_YUjW-7-FJ,kK9s431Lyr41.season_2013.roundID_9442.coid_0CgZ Di7yIH2JX,k16MRfD3.articleMode_on.html

ZagsGoZags
11-11-2015, 11:00 PM
I consider JWill a 4 and a terrific one at that. Much like Harris but more willing to bang.

During Kennel madness it was my impression that Johnnie Williams moved like a 3, and did not have the meat on his bones that power forwards usually have.
It is hard for me to imagine anyone more willing to bang than Elias Harris (except Charles Barkley and Dennis Rodman - just kidding, but Harris never shied away from contact IMO.

cggonzaga
11-11-2015, 11:49 PM
Moved kinda like Harris who also played the 4 here? JWill, at kraziness anyway, seemed way more willing to bang on the defensive end than Harris ever did. But yes offensively he seems to have that hybrid 3/4 game Harris had. Also, I don't think he looked thin. Looked muscular and strong to me.

WallaWallaZag
11-12-2015, 04:15 AM
During Kennel madness it was my impression that Johnnie Williams moved like a 3, and did not have the meat on his bones that power forwards usually have.
It is hard for me to imagine anyone more willing to bang than Elias Harris (except Charles Barkley and Dennis Rodman - just kidding, but Harris never shied away from contact IMO.

williams moves better than harris and athletically could certainly play the 3, but so far he hasn't shown the ball-handling or shooting ability to play on the perimeter, though maybe the redshirt year changes that, but i kinda doubt it as he just doesn't seem natural out there...a harris-type role would certainly be more applicable.

exclusivelee
11-12-2015, 07:54 AM
Jacob Glarbjerg Larsen is a Zag!

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/12/b2add57bceafc320313161e938d07f84.jpg
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/12/48ecdcacd5edc161d2f67e212d1c6a83.jpg

exclusivelee
11-12-2015, 08:20 AM
#13 in 247Sports' composite recruiting rankings (averages the rankings from ESPN, Scout, Rivals, & 247). Collins, Tillie, Norvell, & Larsen each average out to 4-stars:
http://247sports.com/Bolt/Gonzaga-up-to-No-13-41011198

#20 in 247's own rankings. All but Norvell is a 4-star: http://247sports.com/Season/2016-Basketball/TeamRankings

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/12/5d3c52c31aa2a17455e59e0fa86baea9.jpg
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/12/97817fab8f7506a6acc2d842b8fbb584.jpg

ProjectMKUltra5
11-12-2015, 08:25 AM
247 composite is the only ranking that matters imo

exclusivelee
11-12-2015, 08:38 AM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/12/7639de5b2bcacd32e69f532d359087e0.jpg

basketballzag
11-12-2015, 08:39 AM
Do any of the rating services have Rui Hachimura rated? He would probably be the highest rated player of the bunch.

GoZags
11-12-2015, 08:51 AM
Do any of the rating services have Rui Hachimura rated? He would probably be the highest rated player of the bunch.

That's an interesting question ... and the answer is no.

Despite being the leading scorer in the 2014 FIBA U17 World Championships ... and despite excelling at the Jordan Brand Classic International event, Rui is still "under the radar".

And there ARE mixed feelings ... some feel he is Top 10 ... Top 20 ish "Sabonis" good. Others feel he'll redshirt his Freshman year. We'll have to wait and see (with fingers crossed).

zag67
11-12-2015, 08:55 AM
How old is Rui? THX.

basketballzag
11-12-2015, 08:59 AM
http://www.nbadraft.net/players/rui-hachimura

GoZags
11-12-2015, 09:01 AM
"Nice" 3 game stretch v France, Team USA and Italy ....

http://www.fiba.com/world/u17/2014/Rui-HACHIMURA

Coach Crazy
11-12-2015, 09:17 AM
Do any of the rating services have Rui Hachimura rated? He would probably be the highest rated player of the bunch.

Imagine a Kobe-type skill set in Jamal Crawford's body. And yes, he's Top 10 or Top 20. If he played here in the states he'd be going to one of the Factories.

raise the zag
11-12-2015, 09:42 AM
Imagine a Kobe-type skill set in Jamal Crawford's body. And yes, he's Top 10 or Top 20. If he played here in the states he'd be going to one of the Factories.

no where near the perimeter skills compared to those two -- at the same age.

he has some intriguing natural talent, considering he was a life-long baseball player until age 14, yet many question his projected position and overall ability.

he's 6'6", 6'7" in shoes. around 215 lbs. He listed at Center for Japan, plays mostly PF.

In this day and age, 6'6" isn't going to cut it at PF, at the Top-25 level, thus he'd be asked to play SF.

He isn't a very good shooter past 15 feet, nor is his ball-handling very good. He has a nice spin around move, but not much else besides power moves and athleticism.

I highly doubt he'd be Top-20 in US. Maybe Top-100-ish. Borderline 3 or 4 star kid.

Too many question marks surrounding his perimeter skills, ball-handling to be Blue-Chip, Top-20. Those kids are 5-tool players, Rui is not there…yet.

I think his stats have been somewhat inflated due to the position he's in for Japan.

that said, the kid has skills. He is tremendous at using his body to get to the rim. power-layups is his forte, along with put-backs. seems to have a knack for the ball, could become a terrific offensive rebounder. has shown some mid-range flare, jump-shot ability out to 18 feet.

A very good D1 prospect, yet very much a tweener at this level. Must develop a perimeter shot with his height/weight at D1. also, hasn't shown much in ball-handling thus far. relies on put-backs, turn-arounds, natural skills, and power moves to the hoop.

A high ceiling with the right coaching (and growth).

his goal is NBA and has the potential, would be a nice prospect to add to the roster. Given our size in front court, would be asked to play hybrid forward/wing, which he has yet to really do.

exclusivelee
11-12-2015, 10:01 AM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/11/12/aa9f9e35cc869087dc04454f60e1aabb.jpg

hooter73
11-12-2015, 10:18 AM
Hachimura needs his own thread.

Way to go on landing Larsen. A lot of healing and building can happen in the next year, we'll see who comes in and needs some extra time and who wont. I know a lot of people dont like "wasting" a red shirt on a building year right off the bat in case an injury happens but I equate it to College football where its a rarity for a true freshman to actually play his first year; usually they red shirt for a lot of other reasons besides log jambs or upperclassmen at their positions.





And holy crap do I hope we have a chance with Hachimura :)

hooter73
11-12-2015, 10:25 AM
no where near the perimeter skills compared to those two -- at the same age.

he has some intriguing natural talent, considering he was a life-long baseball player until age 14, yet many question his projected position and overall ability.

he's 6'6", 6'7" in shoes. around 215 lbs. He listed at Center for Japan, plays mostly PF.

In this day and age, 6'6" isn't going to cut it at PF, at the Top-25 level, thus he'd be asked to play SF.

He isn't a very good shooter past 15 feet, nor is his ball-handling very good. He has a nice spin around move, but not much else besides power moves and athleticism.

I highly doubt he'd be Top-20 in US. Maybe Top-100-ish. Borderline 3 or 4 star kid.

Too many question marks surrounding his perimeter skills, ball-handling to be Blue-Chip, Top-20. Those kids are 5-tool players, Rui is not there…yet.

I think his stats have been somewhat inflated due to the position he's in for Japan.

that said, the kid has skills. He is tremendous at using his body to get to the rim. power-layups is his forte, along with put-backs. seems to have a knack for the ball, could become a terrific offensive rebounder. has shown some mid-range flare, jump-shot ability out to 18 feet.

A very good D1 prospect, yet very much a tweener at this level. Must develop a perimeter shot with his height/weight at D1. also, hasn't shown much in ball-handling thus far. relies on put-backs, turn-arounds, natural skills, and power moves to the hoop.

A high ceiling with the right coaching (and growth).

his goal is NBA and has the potential, would be a nice prospect to add to the roster. Given our size in front court, would be asked to play hybrid forward/wing, which he has yet to really do.

Worked for Pargo ;)

ProjectMKUltra5
11-12-2015, 10:39 AM
The idea of "posistions" in any sport is archaic. If you try to fit Hachimura into a box he becomes much less impressive but if you just take him for what he is, an uber athletic but somewhat small post (he's hella long) then you see all the potential for him. The kid looks like he can legitimately guard all 5 posistions at the college level, and as long as he's got the motor he'll be just fine on the offensive end. Scary to think this kid just started playing ball a few years ago, really hope we lock him up.

seacatfan
11-12-2015, 10:43 AM
IF Sabonis returns next year, there will be 2 RS Jr. and a non RS Jr. returning to man the 4/5 spots, plus 3 freshmen bigs. Depth will not be an issue. I think at least 1 of the freshmen can RS, probably wouldn't see a lot of PT anyway. I'm making an assumption but I figure Collins will be the most ready to contribute right away. Barring injury hard to imagine going much deeper than 4 guys in the rotation for the 4 & 5 spot. I guess if a couple of the guys are combo forwards and can see some minutes at the 3 that changes things.

WallaWallaZag
11-12-2015, 10:53 AM
The idea of "posistions" in any sport is archaic. If you try to fit Hachimura into a box he becomes much less impressive but if you just take him for what he is, an uber athletic but somewhat small post (he's hella long) then you see all the potential for him. The kid looks like he can legitimately guard all 5 posistions at the college level, and as long as he's got the motor he'll be just fine on the offensive end. Scary to think this kid just started playing ball a few years ago, really hope we lock him up.

i think there's a little bit of a misconception...i've seen him live numerous times and hachimura is not "uber athletic" or an elite athlete...good but not great...he is very long though...and i'm pretty confident his perimeter skills will play once he gets a chance to work on them, but there is a lot of development required with him.

soccerdud
11-12-2015, 11:14 AM
The idea of "posistions" in any sport is archaic. If you try to fit Hachimura into a box he becomes much less impressive but if you just take him for what he is, an uber athletic but somewhat small post (he's hella long) then you see all the potential for him. The kid looks like he can legitimately guard all 5 posistions at the college level, and as long as he's got the motor he'll be just fine on the offensive end. Scary to think this kid just started playing ball a few years ago, really hope we lock him up.

kind of agree, kind of disagree.

few's offense (and most offenses) requires at least two (and preferably three) capable ballhandlers on the court at all times [aside: this is my greatest concern with our 3-big lineup this season, along with spacing.]. it's important that at least 1 of those is a legitimate threat from 3, and significantly better if all are. while forcing players into certain positional boxes IS problematic, it is valid to consider which specific traits we need to have on the floor at any one time, and to make judgments about which of those boxes an individual player checks and the effects that those traits have on the requirements for the _rest_ of the lineup.

if rui is not a truly capable ball handler / jump shooter at this point, he can effectively be treated as a four (as E was). this is because the lineup built around him will need others to handle the ball up top and, in most cases, a larger, more physical presence on the block. basically, rui needs to play with people who can be more classic "1-3"s, and a "5". therefore, he is effectively a "4".

please do not take this as me trying to downplay him. i very much hope we get him, and i think that one of our more interesting possible lineups would include him and tillie together as combo-forwards, assuming tillie's ballhandling and 3-pt shooting develop like they should (and maybe collins manning the middle).

while positions may be "archaic", the fact that you only have 5 players on the floor and certain traits or combinations are required in order to be successful means that you DO have to consider how an individual player fits in with those you can put around them. and for those purposes, it's entirely valid to consider rui an undersized "4" at this time-- and hope that he can develop the skillset required to be a true combo forward, something E was never quite able to do. it was mentioned that rui's goal is to play in the NBA, and therefore developing that skillset has to be his top individual priority, and would greatly improve his versatility and value to whatever team he plays on. hopefully that team is gonzaga.

maynard g krebs
11-12-2015, 11:54 AM
Without having seen him-

The story reminds me of Olajuwan, who was a soccer goalie until age 15. He was incredibly raw as a fr at Houston; added new skills every year until he was NBA mvp in the early 90's. Or Calvary, totally raw as a GU fr and got better by leaps and bounds every year.

Sounds like a kid with huge untapped potential, and who's highly likely to improve on whatever weaknesses he has after playing for what, 3-4 years. The hand-eye coordination and reflexes from baseball should translate like Olajuwan's did from playing goalie.

hooter73
11-12-2015, 11:58 AM
Larsen, Hachimura, Tille, Collins... unlike KO, they are no longer in a vacuum where they are the best player on the court for GU - yes I know KO only averaged like 25 mpg and all that but you know what I mean. The staff is still working to figure out how to manage all that by having this problem already this year with KW, DS and PK all needing to be on the court. Its a new look having bigs that can step out and shoot like Collins and Wings that can post up - Tille and if we get Hachimura - all while still having another more traditional bruiser of a center. Staff does and will continue to have their hands full.

maynard g krebs
11-12-2015, 12:05 PM
As to Larsen, again w/o having seen him, just his picture, combined with the numbers from the Euro B Championship, makes me think of Ryan Spangler. Double digit boards every game and 67% fg% is impressive regardless of the competition level, as is the high # of blocked shots.

Sounds like a gamer too. 24 and 16 in the champ game.

GoZags
11-12-2015, 12:36 PM
IF Sabonis returns next year, there will be 2 RS Jr. and a non RS Jr. returning to man the 4/5 spots, plus 3 freshmen bigs. Depth will not be an issue. I think at least 1 of the freshmen can RS, probably wouldn't see a lot of PT anyway. I'm making an assumption but I figure Collins will be the most ready to contribute right away. Barring injury hard to imagine going much deeper than 4 guys in the rotation for the 4 & 5 spot. I guess if a couple of the guys are combo forwards and can see some minutes at the 3 that changes things.

There is zero question vis a vis Sabonis returning. Right now he is living not only his dream, but the dreams of his 3 older brothers (and his dad). And he's having the time of his life.

sittingon50
11-12-2015, 12:41 PM
I've said it a # of times before GZ. Sabonis vs a returning to BYU next year Eric Mika = EPIC!!

Kiddwell
11-12-2015, 01:05 PM
I've said it a # of times before GZ. Sabonis vs a returning to BYU next year Eric Mika = EPIC!!

This!


:]

seacatfan
11-12-2015, 01:13 PM
I hope Sabonis returns. I have zero insider perspective. I think half of this board was convinced he was gone after his freshman year. We won't know for sure until we know. I'll enjoy this year in the meantime.

CDC84
11-12-2015, 01:31 PM
It is worth reminding people that Sabonis doesn't have the financial need to bail early. The family is set. It makes him a unique case. He's only going to go when he feels he's best equipped to make an immediate impact in the league. I don't see that happening until he gets one year at GU where he is the go to guy in the paint. That won't happen until the 2016/17 season.

Coach Crazy
11-12-2015, 02:04 PM
It is worth reminding people that Sabonis doesn't have the financial need to bail early. The family is set. It makes him a unique case. He's only going to go when he feels he's best equipped to make an immediate impact in the league. I don't see that happening until he gets one year at GU where he is the go to guy in the paint. That won't happen until the 2016/17 season.

The league is changing what it looks for and how it looks for it...to some degree. That was no more evident than with the recent drafting of all the Coach Cal boys. Sabonis opened a lot of eyes with his ability to produce the way he did in the minutes and role he had, but it wouldn't take him being the man in the paint for him to be a lotto pick, or a Top Ten. If he finishes the year, and gets a projected lottery pick "opinion" from the league...he's gone.

If he doesn't, after meeting that criteria, then I'll happily eat crow.

229SintoZag
11-12-2015, 02:53 PM
There is zero question vis a vis Sabonis returning. Right now he is living not only his dream, but the dreams of his 3 older brothers (and his dad). And he's having the time of his life.

This is actually the best news I've had from the board today--and given the other news from today and recently, that is saying something.

CDC84
11-12-2015, 03:09 PM
The league is changing what it looks for and how it looks for it...to some degree. That was no more evident than with the recent drafting of all the Coach Cal boys. Sabonis opened a lot of eyes with his ability to produce the way he did in the minutes and role he had, but it wouldn't take him being the man in the paint for him to be a lotto pick, or a Top Ten. If he finishes the year, and gets a projected lottery pick "opinion" from the league...he's gone.

I would normally agree with you, but again, the difference is that Cal's big guys and most players within college basketball don't have the financial resources of the Sabonis family. If he bails after this season, it will only be because he feels he can make an immediate impact. He is a totally unique case. His decision will be based on different criteria than other guys.

That all being said, it's good to know that if he does bail, the cupboard won't be bare at GU.

Coach Crazy
11-12-2015, 03:26 PM
I would normally agree with you, but again, the difference is that Cal's big guys and most players within college basketball don't have the financial resources of the Sabonis family. If he bails after this season, it will only be because he feels he can make an immediate impact. He is a totally unique case. His decision will be based on different criteria than other guys.

That all being said, it's good to know that if he does bail, the cupboard won't be bare at GU.

I think everyone is putting too much stock into how much financial stability plays into staying at GU. It's the NBA draft and being a lottery pick or a top ten pick is huge. One injury and the dream can be over. There is something about being wanted at that level that makes most kids take the next step. We're also assuming that it will take 4 years to fulfill the emotional return he is looking for at GU.

Cal's big three went because the iron was potentially the hottest it would be. If they had all been wealthy or come from wealth, I have a hard time believing that Towns and Co. would have stayed another year. As well, some of the lower picks probably knew, or were talked into leaving because of the incoming freshman that would be competing for star space. I think we are all going to remain on our respective sides with this discussion.

But Sabonis doesn't need to be the primary big man to garner a high pick. Just needs to be able to maintain that efficiency. He's going to do that. We'll see if I eat crow, or not. And seriously, if he stays, someone can mail me a berry flavored pie that is colored black, and I'll take a picture of me eating crow.

seacatfan
11-12-2015, 03:44 PM
I doubt financial considerations played any role in Austin Rivers being a one-and-doner from Duke a few years ago. His pops is former NBA player and current NBA coach Doc Rivers. I'm sure there other examples of players going as early as possible even though their family is financially stable (never mind ex-pro athletes, just white collar jobs that provide comfortable livings).

I sometimes get the feeling that some of the kids that declare early really WANT to stay in college longer, but the heart gets overruled by the head, hard to pass up the opportunity when it's sitting there right in front of you.

Zagdawg
11-12-2015, 03:56 PM
One of documented primary Ncaa drivers has been the brothers of Sabonis that have helped Domas to understand the importance of enjoying his younger life (in college). They chose to go pro early and both regretted it. Both his Euro coach and father have reinforced how much he still needs to work on before taking the next step. Maybe he develops sufficiently this year and feels that he has gotten all he wanted our of "college life" and he decides to go pro- or maybe he waits one more year so that he can be the big guy (i.e. not one on the "Big 3" Zags). Time will tell.

GoZags
11-12-2015, 04:05 PM
I doubt financial considerations played any role in Austin Rivers being a one-and-doner from Duke a few years ago. His pops is former NBA player and current NBA coach Doc Rivers. I'm sure there other examples of players going as early as possible even though their family is financially stable (never mind ex-pro athletes, just white collar jobs that provide comfortable livings).

I sometimes get the feeling that some of the kids that declare early really WANT to stay in college longer, but the heart gets overruled by the head, hard to pass up the opportunity when it's sitting there right in front of you.

We already know that Sabonis turned down $2,000,000 (over 3 years) to come to Gonzaga in the first place. Sure "things" can change ... but the last Zag who's dad was a member of the Pro Basketball HOF left GU with his degree (albeit after 5 years). Domas arrived with the feeling that he'll leave Spokane with his GU degree. As I understand it ...the only question is ... can he do it (i.e. graduate) in 3 years? Of course that's including his summer school workload.

ProjectMKUltra5
11-12-2015, 04:14 PM
For all the talk about Sabo staying because his family, I've always wondered if pops getting to the NBA past his prime would play a factor. I bet he wishes could tested himself against the best before injuries got to him.

CDC84
11-12-2015, 04:38 PM
But Sabonis doesn't need to be the primary big man to garner a high pick.

I don't think he has to either. But it would make him a more prepared player going into the league. His Dad knows it and he knows it.

And as GZ has also implied, the kid loves the college experience. Not sure if Austin Rivers really enjoyed the college experience all that much. He wanted to get out as quickly as possible. It was pretty well known when he committed to Duke.


I sometimes get the feeling that some of the kids that declare early really WANT to stay in college longer, but the heart gets overruled by the head, hard to pass up the opportunity when it's sitting there right in front of you.

A great example of this was Kevin Durant. As one college basketball writer put it, "the decision was made for him." He LOVED college basketball and being in college. I believe he earned his degree from Texas, while playing in the NBA, through a combination of summer school classes and distance learning.

Zagger
11-13-2015, 04:52 AM
There are simply going to have to be more direct flights out of GEG!

GonzagasaurusFlex
11-13-2015, 05:26 AM
For all the talk about Sabo staying because his family, I've always wondered if pops getting to the NBA past his prime would play a factor. I bet he wishes could tested himself against the best before injuries got to him.

Domantas is on the front end of his prime by at least 2 years. If he decides to remain in college next year, I think it would be a great growth spurt for his game to have a season as THE go-to player for his college team. Oh yeah, and having playmakers like Perkins/Williams-Goss running the offense won't hurt his development either :-)))

DixieZag
11-13-2015, 07:23 AM
There are simply going to have to be more direct flights out of GEG!

Including dailies to Amsterdam or Frankfurt or some other Euro-Hub, if things continue this direction.

DixieZag
11-13-2015, 07:28 AM
It is worth reminding people that Sabonis doesn't have the financial need to bail early. The family is set. It makes him a unique case. He's only going to go when he feels he's best equipped to make an immediate impact in the league. I don't see that happening until he gets one year at GU where he is the go to guy in the paint. That won't happen until the 2016/17 season.

I think that makes a lot of sense. GU has such a good history of development that near every team is one in which it has "the guy" for that year (or two). Kevin/Gary for two years, Shem/Wiltjer this year, Sabonis/NWG? next - - - it's something that it looks like the players almost feel in their bones. I can see him tempted, again, then say "no, next year is my team."

hooter73
11-13-2015, 08:54 AM
I dont think he has enough of a full game to be a go to star more than he is right now. His current attributes are what will get him signed, not if he develops an outside shot and averages 16 and 11 per game as the first option on offense. If a guy wants to hit the league, they want to hit it early enough to be there for a while. Financials dont play into it a lot of times, whether a family is financially set or not. If you get a chance to full fill your dream, you take the opportunity.