PDA

View Full Version : This may be why we don't get some of our recruits -



SageOfZagville
10-02-2015, 03:10 PM
This is probably happening at other institutions

From ESPN

The University of Louisville and the NCAA are looking into allegations in a soon-to-be-published book that a former director of basketball operations paid an escort service to provide sex for Cardinals recruits.

The NCAA talked to LSU freshman and ex-Louisville commit Antonio Blakeney earlier this week about his experiences on a recruiting visit, a source told ESPN.

"We're still trying to uncover the facts," Louisville athletic director Tom Jurich said during a news conference Friday. "We want to get to the bottom of it as much as anybody does ... and we will."

The book, titled "Breaking Cardinal Rules: Basketball and the Escort Queen," contends that a woman named Katina Powell was hired repeatedly by former Louisville player, graduate assistant and director of basketball operations Andre McGee to provide strippers and prostitutes during recruits' campus visits.

In the book, the 43-year-old Powell says she provided entertainment for 22 parties from 2010 to 2014 at Billy Minardi Hall, which houses Cardinals basketball players on campus. Powell said she and three of her daughters, along with other women, participated in the sex acts. Powell reveals in the book that she received more than $10,000 for supplying women for the parties.

"To say I'm disheartened, disappointed would be the biggest understatement I've made as a coach," coach Rick Pitino said of the allegations during a Friday news conference.

Pitino said he has spoken with McGee once since learning about the book's contents. Pitino said McGee did not admit to any wrongdoing.

The Louisville coach added that he had spoken with 15 people about the allegations and that none of them had any knowledge of what the book details.

Louisville released a statement Friday that it first learned of the allegations when the Indianapolis Business Journal contacted the school in late August. The school said it retained Chuck Smrt of the Compliance Group, which assists schools in NCAA cases, to conduct an investigation.

"In coordination with the University's legal counsel and faculty athletics representative, Mr. Smrt's review was quickly launched to assess the validity of the information and the potential for any NCAA rules violations," the school said in its statement. "The University, on its own initiative, notified the NCAA Enforcement Staff regarding this matter and has been in regular communication with them.

"The University of Louisville will continue its review in full cooperation and coordination with the NCAA and if warranted, take any appropriate action. The allegations have been taken very seriously. In no way would anyone at this institution condone the alleged activities."

The book is scheduled to be released by IBJ Book Publishing LLC -- a sister company of the Indianapolis Business Journal -- as soon as this weekend. According to the IBJ, players will be named in the book, which also has several photos of Powell and other escorts with recruits and Louisville players.

Powell told the IBJ that part of the reason she is doing the book is to make money. She will receive 10 percent of the book's sales.

She also felt her story needed to be told.

"I decided to write the book to tell my story and to let people know what goes on inside of college basketball ... and how they get their new recruits," Powell told the IBJ. "It's important for people to know ... how young kids are persuaded to do certain things by sex, drugs and alcohol."

Jurich said he has been in contact with Pitino about the allegations.

"We talk all the time. He's my basketball coach," Jurich said. "He wouldn't condone this either. He has a perfect track record."

Yahoo! Sports first reported that the book would be published.

McGee is an assistant coach at UMKC after leaving Louisville in 2014. UMKC announced Friday night that McGee had been placed on administrative leave with pay while the school conducted a review.

ESPN's attempts to contact McGee were not immediately returned.

"Andre's a young man, and I'm not going to turn my back on him," Jurich said. "I would be very shocked if he were involved in this."

vandalzag
10-02-2015, 03:56 PM
I do not know if it has a direct bearing on GU....but based on this article I have moved Louisville into my top 3 schools when and if I decide to open up my recruiting.

doctorzag
10-02-2015, 05:53 PM
TJ Leaf is on a recruiting visit at Louisville right now.

exclusivelee
10-02-2015, 06:08 PM
TJ Leaf is on a recruiting visit at Louisville right now.
TJ Leaf also cut his list to 6 the other day and Gonzaga was left out. No big deal... Burger Boy with Blue Blood aspirations

GonzagasaurusFlex
10-02-2015, 07:30 PM
I do not know if it has a direct bearing on GU....but based on this article I have moved Louisville into my top 3 schools when and if I decide to open up my recruiting.

:p

Coach Crazy
10-02-2015, 10:15 PM
I just can't buy into the fact that he (Pitino) didn't know this was going on...

DixieZag
10-03-2015, 06:06 AM
I just can't buy into the fact that he (Pitino) didn't know this was going on...

Exactly.

SteelZag
10-03-2015, 08:17 AM
I just can't buy into the fact that he (Pitino) didn't know this was going on...

Plausible Deniability.

Coach Crazy
10-03-2015, 10:59 AM
Plausible Deniability.

I have no doubt that will be used, as an excuse...but I still don't buy he doesn't know. I can't prove it, I don't know for sure...I just don't buy it.

ZAGGED OUT
10-03-2015, 11:23 AM
Don't really agree with OP. We rarely recruit the same players as UL. Furthermore, to assume other universities are doing this is uncalled for and sounds like sour grapes to me. Sure, lots of schools commit violations of some kind, but to assume THIS is a widespread issue with out any factual basis is unfair.

SageOfZagville
10-03-2015, 12:52 PM
Peyton Siva, Zylan Cheatham and Josh Smith come to mind. I know the staff liked Siva a lot. The point is, if Louisville, a former National Champion, a successful program with a big name coach feels they need to do it to get recruits, it is most likely being done elsewhere. Where there is smoke, there is fire.

http://deadspin.com/5422547/a-brief-history-of-campus-recruiting-hostesses

ZAGGED OUT
10-03-2015, 01:02 PM
Interesting read, I would have included that link in your OP


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Malastein
10-03-2015, 01:55 PM
Regardless of whether this is true or not, people have told me stories about every program including Gonzaga. I think no matter what any coach does that there is an element to society which will make nefarious things occur. The best a coach can do is set a good example and actively try to stomp things out before they occur. I think most programs are one wrong person getting caught from having major violations, and a lot of time the coach probably doesn't know the details until it is too late. And yes, there are some coaches that frequently just look the other way. College sports and the idea of amateurism is pretty broken with the scale of business that it has achieved.

seacatfan
10-03-2015, 02:05 PM
Regardless of whether this is true or not, people have told me stories about every program including Gonzaga. I think no matter what any coach does that there is an element to society which will make nefarious things occur. The best a coach can do is set a good example and actively try to stomp things out before they occur. I think most programs are one wrong person getting caught from having major violations, and a lot of time the coach probably doesn't know the details until it is too late. And yes, there are some coaches that frequently just look the other way. College sports and the idea of amateurism is pretty broken with the scale of business that it has achieved.

Good post. "$100 handshakes" probably date back to at least the '50s or '60s, with inflation who knows how much the denomination is up to currently. Pretty hard to keep overly enthusiastic fans/boosters/alums away from student athletes 100% of the time. I assume it is worse with football than basketball, but I don't doubt all kinds of shenanigans happen with college athletic programs all over the country. The whole concept of amateurism has been debatable for a long time.

Zagdawg
10-03-2015, 02:06 PM
"Every program".......regardless of whether that is true or not......that is quite a few stories.

Brings to mind a statement i was told to make me feel better after I dumped a girlfriend that I caught cheating on me when I was just out of high school. My friend told me "everyone cheats"--- I responded "not me" --so I knew his statement was incorrect.

Blanket statements are not true 99% of the time.

and......87% of the statistics you see on the internet are incorrect.

;)

Bogozags
10-03-2015, 07:10 PM
I just can't buy into the fact that he (Pitino) didn't know this was going on...

I agree and the wife and I were talking over breakfast that someone on the staff had to have known! If not then who was in charge of the team...

This is another "Blue Blood" program and nothing will happen to the Coach or AD..but IF I were the Chancellor I sure as heck would want to know why those two didn't know! Who was watching the players?

DixieZag
10-03-2015, 08:02 PM
Wait a minute, how did Pitino make such a quick choice when he came out from the NBA?

ZagaZags
10-06-2015, 08:21 PM
Okay, who didn't wear a condom?
http://www.thecardinalconnect.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/Louisville-Practice.jpg

http://www.sharegif.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/5-Caddyshack-quotes.gif

http://collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2015/10/05/louisville-escort-katina-powell-says-she-contacted-the-ncaa-in-march/

CDC84
10-06-2015, 09:01 PM
More on this latest scandal and how it could impact L'Ville recruiting:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/story/2015-10-06/louisville-scandal-escorts-prostitutes-recruits-rick-pitino

ZagaZags
10-06-2015, 09:08 PM
More on this latest scandal and how it could impact L'Ville recruiting:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/story/2015-10-06/louisville-scandal-escorts-prostitutes-recruits-rick-pitino

I think Louisville is screwed.

Birddog
10-07-2015, 03:41 AM
I wonder if the author tried to extort Pitino. That didn't work out so well for the tart that Ricky was sampling at his favorite restaurant a few years back.

GonzagasaurusFlex
10-07-2015, 04:59 AM
More on this latest scandal and how it could impact L'Ville recruiting:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/story/2015-10-06/louisville-scandal-escorts-prostitutes-recruits-rick-pitino

Thanks for the link. I had not realized Louisville has two graduate transfers - Damion Lee and Trey Lewis - who chose extend their collegiate careers presumably for the primary purpose of a deep NCAA run with a legendary coach/program only to now be stuck there in no man's land with no opportunity to play in the postseason this year. If Louisville and NCAA had any class, these two would be immediately released and eligible to play elsewhere this season....but of course it's much too late for that anyway, as scholarships are locked up and classes well underway this semester. I really feel bad for these two kids...

Coach Crazy
10-07-2015, 04:27 PM
Thanks for the link. I had not realized Louisville has two graduate transfers - Damion Lee and Trey Lewis - who chose extend their collegiate careers presumably for the primary purpose of a deep NCAA run with a legendary coach/program only to now be stuck there in no man's land with no opportunity to play in the postseason this year. If Louisville and NCAA had any class, these two would be immediately released and eligible to play elsewhere this season....but of course it's much too late for that anyway, as scholarships are locked up and classes well underway this semester. I really feel bad for these two kids...

Unless the inappropriate recruiting tactics were part of the deal, or they had knowledge that they were going on...