PDA

View Full Version : NBC says we're good. WCC preview. Perimeter players are a question mark.



MDABE80
10-01-2015, 12:19 PM
http://collegebasketball.nbcsports.com/2015/10/01/west-coast-conference-preview/

Mantua
10-01-2015, 12:47 PM
Yes the perimeter players are a mystery, but they are taller this year. I will be watching them for heady play and quickness.

hooter73
10-01-2015, 12:47 PM
"The bad news: their three best players (Kyle Wiltjer, Domas Sabonis and Przemek Karnowski) likely cannot be on the floor at the same time."


:lmao: :agreed:

CDC84
10-01-2015, 01:22 PM
Pepperdine is the second best team in the WCC this year. At least to start the year. Not BYU. I mean, Pepperdine caused all sorts of problems for Gonzaga, and they beat BYU twice during the regular season. They will be even better this year. I can't see BYU being better than they were last season.

Zagdawg
10-01-2015, 01:38 PM
We lost to "Byu" last year and we beat Pepperdine twice- looking at "byu" they seem to have the higher upside- pep has maxed out what they bring to the table.

"BYU" has some great players back from mission (they will actually have some solid big guys to battle our bigs.

hooter73
10-01-2015, 01:41 PM
Im really excited for Pep to be stepping up. I really hope they have some staying power in the top three or four for longer than the others ever seemed to last (three to five years) before a big drop/turn around. BYU will just plain out talent some teams but Pep deserves to be in the top 3.

Zagdawg
10-01-2015, 01:47 PM
Pep is ranked #3 in the article.

ZagsGoZags
10-01-2015, 02:37 PM
I hope Pepperdine, Pilots, SMC and BYU will have good oco records coming into conference play in 2016, it will be good for them and us, and will raise their RPI's which is really good for us.

seacatfan
10-01-2015, 02:39 PM
Picking Pepperdine as #2 in the WCC is fairly trendy around here. They may end up there and may continue to trend upward. Both LMU and USF have had surprising finishes in the top 3 or 4 of the WCC in recent years and then completely dropped off the following year. With anyone other than Gonzaga, SMC and BYU I'll believe it when I see it as far as any kind of consistency in the WCC. Unless you count consistent mediocrity or worse. And I'm glad to see the article suggest that Kerry Keating's seat should be a little bit warm. What has he actually done there? Not much as far as I can tell.

Zagdawg
10-01-2015, 02:52 PM
Looking like BYU will help out the conference.....the rest will help some also.

BYU OOC ---Long Beach State, Belmont, Utah, Utah State, Harvard, Colorado
http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/team/_/id/252/byu-cougars

St Marys --playing Stanford and Cal
http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/team/_/id/2608/saint-mary's-gaels

Pepperdine--UCLA and Long Beach State
http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/team/_/id/2492/pepperdine-waves

Portland---Colorado, Boise State
http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/team/_/id/2501/portland-pilots

San Francisco--Eastern
http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/team/_/id/2539/san-francisco-dons

hooter73
10-01-2015, 02:59 PM
I dont know if you can pick Pep over UCLA but they may be able to give them all they want in an OOC game.

CDC84
10-01-2015, 05:30 PM
Pepperdine will be playing in the Gulf Coast Showcase tournament. They start off with Duquense and will play the winner of Milwaukee/Murray State in the 2nd round. Other possible opponents: Western Kentucky, Drake, Central Michigan and Weber State.

Pepperdine needs to step up to the plate during its non-league sked....no losses to teams like CSU-Northridge.

Kiddwell
10-01-2015, 07:04 PM
...that this fan can't name, off the top of his head, one of SMC's players. Not good. Gaels in decline. :mecry:


:[

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-01-2015, 07:30 PM
Pepperdine will be playing in the Gulf Coast Showcase tournament. They start off with Duquense and will play the winner of Milwaukee/Murray State in the 2nd round. Other possible opponents: Western Kentucky, Drake, Central Michigan and Weber State.

Pepperdine needs to step up to the plate during its non-league sked....no losses to teams like CSU-Northridge.

I expect Pepperdine to have a much better record in the coming season. Their top nine players return from a team that had enough raw talent to challenge Gonzaga and beat BYU a year ago. They seemed to play up to the level of their best competition and down against weaker opponents. They should now be a more mature team that knows how to avoid those bad losses. If they can just do that, they should win twenty-five or more games and fight for a second place finish in the WCC.

Zagdawg
10-01-2015, 09:09 PM
Hoping that Pepperdine steps up this year-- we beat them by 18 in the WCC tourney ---but the other two games were closer.

They went on to lose to Seattle in the CBI by 17 (62-45) a team that only won 18 games (16 losses)

They have 8 upperclassmen --that should help.

Hoping they can bounce back and live up to their potential--they can help out the RPI.

kitzbuel
10-02-2015, 02:33 AM
ON SELECTION SUNDAY WE’LL BE SAYING … : Does Gonzaga have the guard play needed to make a run deep into March?

My belief is that this "question mark" ends up being a strength.

hooter73
10-02-2015, 07:56 AM
I honestly dont know. There is lots of confidence in a our four main backcourt guys. But in the scheme of things, half, and probably the most important half (Perkins and Melson) they have tons of potential, but are really pretty unproven. I just dont know if they are the type of young guys that can, as freshman/sophomores, pull off what the one and dones can at blue blood schools. The thing is, I think they have a better chance of being those guys than any other young ones weve ever had, and that is saying quite a bit.

MDABE80
10-02-2015, 09:26 AM
Insert Eric and Dranginis with Perkins. We be fine:)

Zagdawg
10-02-2015, 11:13 AM
"1. Can Gonzaga's three frontcourt stars play together?"


http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/ncaab-the-dagger/ten-key-questions-facing-top-programs-as-practice-opens-135548621.html

Nevada Don
10-02-2015, 02:59 PM
...that this fan can't name, off the top of his head, one of SMC's players. Not good. Gaels in decline. :mecry:


:[

I don't think I've ever seen this much enthusiasm on GIAG as they have for these 12 players as a whole and the two commits they have for next season. It'll be interesting.

hooter73
10-02-2015, 03:45 PM
interesting. Cause right now they are not even a factor in anyones conversations but their own.

SteelZag
10-02-2015, 05:26 PM
My belief is that this "question mark" ends up being a strength.

As good as Pangos and Bell were, the cupboard is not bare. It is not like any of the guards will be in their 1st year of Few's program. With Dranginis and McClellan being seniors and the rest of the guards having a year in the program, the Zags will provide a very formidable back court and I can't wait for the season to start.

:000tens: