PDA

View Full Version : Sabonis and Karnowski at Eurobasket 2015 starting Saturday, September 5



ZagNative
09-04-2015, 06:27 PM
This should be fun!

Saturday's games:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-50AfZ560DM8/VepPsOBQPlI/AAAAAAACkg0/PJyFRLGgdUw/s773-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520942015%25252070540% 252520PM.bmp.jpg

Both games will be on ESPN3! (http://espn.go.com/watchespn/index#type/upcoming/startDate/20150905/)

Live Stats will be here. (http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/)

Lithuania's first round pod includes:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-oE2InWJEo6w/VepUoudrOnI/AAAAAAACkhU/WfKmckkjd1I/s236-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520942015%25252073213% 252520PM.bmp.jpg

Poland's pod includes:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-mBDWgWxF9XE/VepPrd5MntI/AAAAAAACkgo/8Lkno42Q27E/s245-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520942015%25252065618% 252520PM.bmp.jpg

Jstock12
09-04-2015, 09:13 PM
There are 5 players representing NCAA in this EuroBasket. 2 of them play for Gonzaga.

Mantua
09-05-2015, 09:38 AM
Schedule here:

http://espn.go.com/nba/story/_/id/13511849/2015-eurobasket-schedule


Clear snapshot here:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/EuroBasket_2015

Eurobasket official site here:

http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/cid_,30VuSnIIVgWn6tWyHM-S1.compID_qMRZdYCZI6EoANOrUf9le2.html

jazzdelmar
09-05-2015, 09:42 AM
There are 5 players representing NCAA in this EuroBasket. 2 of them play for Gonzaga.

Really? No one from San Diego State? They're every freaking where we are.

DixieZag
09-05-2015, 09:49 AM
There are 5 players representing NCAA in this EuroBasket. 2 of them play for Gonzaga.

:clap:

I hope that the tutors are working overtime with them. Very hard to miss the beginning weeks of a class and catch up. But, the tutoring program is very good, and will never matter more than this semester - Euro, Japan, Bahamas, . . .

ZagNative
09-05-2015, 09:51 AM
Wonder what was up with Karnowski... Poland beat Bosnia Herzegovina 68-64. (http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/gameID_9323-A-2-1.html)

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-xMVctz5nXUw/Vesp53hbjLI/AAAAAAACkho/kIbPrtY3raY/s800-Ic42/2015-09-05%252520Karnowski%252520box%252520score.jpg

ZagNative
09-05-2015, 10:30 AM
Lithuania - Ukraine about to tip off. The crowd on ESPN3 looks crazy.

krii
09-05-2015, 11:41 AM
Shem looked ... just solid, nothing amazing and nothing bad. That was weird game, Gortat was off while Ponitka blossomed (btw. I don't understand how he was undrafted, such a skilled guy).

Karno had very important block in the 4th Q which is probably the most important insight after this game. Nothing to worry about - he is playing his role :-)

amaronizag
09-05-2015, 12:23 PM
Shem had 2 blocks in limited relief minutes. One was a real hustle play coming out from the paint to block a shot from the perimeter. DS also had very limited minutes in relief. As stated above, not to worry, they are playing their roles, just not getting many minutes as these were very close games. I think it's great they're getting more experience with the 24 second clock and hope it will really help them adjust to the NCAA 30 second clock this year.

ZagNative
09-05-2015, 12:36 PM
Tomorrow's games:

Poland vs. Russia at 5:50 AM
Lithuania vs. Latvia at 8:20 AM

KStyles
09-05-2015, 01:42 PM
:clap:

I hope that the tutors are working overtime with them. Very hard to miss the beginning weeks of a class and catch up. But, the tutoring program is very good, and will never matter more than this semester - Euro, Japan, Bahamas, . . .

Yeah, if they make it to the 20th, that's quite a bit of class they've missed. Tutors are definitely earning their checks this semester.

Jstock12
09-05-2015, 01:49 PM
Lithuania - Ukraine about to tip off. The crowd on ESPN3 looks crazy.

I'll take that as a compliment! Thanks! :-)

ZagNative
09-05-2015, 02:02 PM
I'll take that as a compliment! Thanks! :-)I'd like to know more about the Lithuanian bb fans. They really looked hyped for this game!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-X1dPzcIDBc8/Vetlz2xrD4I/AAAAAAACkiQ/P0CGxCUkX4A/s800-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520952015%252520112654 %252520AM.jpg

Jstock12
09-05-2015, 02:11 PM
I'd like to know more about the Lithuanian bb fans. They really looked hyped for this game!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-X1dPzcIDBc8/Vetlz2xrD4I/AAAAAAACkiQ/P0CGxCUkX4A/s800-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520952015%252520112654 %252520AM.jpg

They are! It's second religion for us :-) Most famous Lithuanian fans are Sekla (http://www.tv3.lt/12/01/wiki_sekla.jpg) and Latvian brothers named Maciai who it seems will be rooting for Lithuania tomorrow in a match against their own country. They also managed to get Lithuanian citizenships/passports. They have tattooed their whole bodies with Lithuanian basketball based tattoos (http://www.15min.lt/images/photos/616246/big/marskineliu-pristatymo-akimirka-500ea3547c6c6.jpg).

GoZags
09-05-2015, 05:54 PM
Shem looked ... just solid, nothing amazing and nothing bad. That was weird game, Gortat was off while Ponitka blossomed (btw. I don't understand how he was undrafted, such a skilled guy).

Karno had very important block in the 4th Q which is probably the most important insight after this game. Nothing to worry about - he is playing his role :-)This Pontika?

http://hamburg2010.fiba.com/pages/eng/fe/10/fu17wc/men/news/p/eid/4718/nid/41446/sid/4718/article.html

http://i925.photobucket.com/albums/ad93/tbkd1/allstar-1.jpg (http://s925.photobucket.com/user/tbkd1/media/allstar-1.jpg.html)

Radbooks
09-05-2015, 08:43 PM
This is a really nice interview with Shem. It's in Polish but subtitled for us English speakers! :)

https://youtu.be/0m3M9nKsRNk

krii
09-06-2015, 02:08 AM
This Pontika?

http://hamburg2010.fiba.com/pages/eng/fe/10/fu17wc/men/news/p/eid/4718/nid/41446/sid/4718/article.html

http://i925.photobucket.com/albums/ad93/tbkd1/allstar-1.jpg (http://s925.photobucket.com/user/tbkd1/media/allstar-1.jpg.html)

Indeed. Sadly he chose to play professionally in Europe rather than join NCAA few years ago and because of that he was undrafted this season (IMO if he would have been in any NCAA team for the last two-three years he could be high-second round pick this last draft). He just left Belgian club Telenet Oostende and joined Polish league from where he will attack European courts and - probably - NBA scout's notebooks.

BTW what an team that would be - Ponitka, Karnowski, Pangos, McAdoo (NBA&D-League champion this year;-) ) and Beal. Wow!

ZagNative
09-06-2015, 07:57 AM
Poland beats Russia today 82-79 (http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/compID_qMRZdYCZI6EoANOrUf9le2.season_2015.roundID_ 9322.gameID_9323-A-4-2.html).

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-2W8by3gzviI/Vexfh6VSFyI/AAAAAAACki0/-8lKs3XwyjM/s912-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520962015%25252084143% 252520AM.bmp.jpg

Shem from yesterday's game:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-TMgA5z1ZtSw/VexgbMywvXI/AAAAAAACkjA/2oiIkWDod74/s512-Ic42/2015-09-05%252520karnowski%252520russia.jpg

Reborn
09-06-2015, 08:01 AM
PK gets 8 points in 10 minutes. Pretty darn good. this must have been a very good victory for Poland.

Zagdawg
09-06-2015, 08:06 AM
Very nice-- keep up the great work Big K!

krii
09-06-2015, 08:07 AM
Yeah, that is big. We are playing with France tomorrow and it will be veeeery hard game but those two victories gave us some advantages for next games.

Karno played pretty solid game, in the 1st Q he was limited but in 2nd he became one of the best players off-the-bench.

ps. Ponitka still killing it.

ZagNative
09-06-2015, 08:09 AM
Latvia-Lithuania is on. Lithuania leads 27-26 (http://live.fibaeurope.com/www/Game.aspx?acc=1&gameID=69773&lng=en) with 58 seconds left until half time. Follow the online video on ESPN3.

DixieZag
09-06-2015, 08:43 AM
Karno's weight is waaayyyyy down, again.

I would just have to think that it is easier for him to play at a lighter weight. I hope that keeping it off becomes a bigger priority this season, let him go out with the best year possible.

ZagNative
09-06-2015, 09:24 AM
Lithuania wins it by 20 points. Sabonis does not play.

Monday's games:

Lithuania vs. Belgium, 5:30 AM
Poland vs. France, 11:50 AM

SageOfZagville
09-06-2015, 09:09 PM
Apologies if this is already posted, but it is a great article about Shem

http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/compID_qMRZdYCZI6EoANOrUf9le2.season_2015.roundID_ 9322.coid_RG4OdJIuGQkgG3NYetajL0.articleMode_on.ht ml

krii
09-07-2015, 12:42 AM
If Gortat said that he need to loose some weight that means that Karno will do it :-)

ps. somebody know why Sabo didn't play yesterday? just rotation?

Jstock12
09-07-2015, 01:50 AM
If Gortat said that he need to loose some weight that means that Karno will do it :-)

ps. somebody know why Sabo didn't play yesterday? just rotation?

Coach Kazlauskas is trying some things out, I think the exhibition games weren't enough to polish that FLEX system they were implementing. Kavaliauskas/Gailius didn't play in the first game even though they're very competent players who fit the system. But they played yesterday against Latvia. So... My guess it's just a matchup thing. If Kazlauskas feels that a certain matchup is favorable for Sabonis OR Lithuania needs that extra help at rebounding, he will probably give him minutes. Coach was very very fond of Sabonis before the EuroBasket and gave him some compliments which is a very rare thing from Kazlauskas. So I don't think it's anything personal, just a matchup thing and probably Domas being inexperienced as well.

krii
09-07-2015, 02:28 AM
Good to hear, I was worried that he might be injured or something. Hopefully he will play some minutes today, I am about to watch at least one game;-)

Jstock12
09-07-2015, 02:42 AM
Good to hear, I was worried that he might be injured or something. Hopefully he will play some minutes today, I am about to watch at least one game;-)

Good luck against France! Hopefully you'll create an upset there. Every team is beatable this year.

Jstock12
09-07-2015, 05:00 AM
Domas with quick 7 points.

krii
09-07-2015, 05:27 AM
nice game. Valunciunas is so good!

Jstock12
09-07-2015, 05:40 AM
nice game. Valunciunas is so good!

He can sometimes be a bit of a black hole. I wish he had Shem's court-vision and the ability to assist his teammates.

Jstock12
09-07-2015, 05:48 AM
Domas is having a great individual game. 10pts, 4rebs and 1blk so far in 16 minutes of play. 4th quarter is about to begin.

kitzbuel
09-07-2015, 06:03 AM
How did Fellaini get on the court? :)

ZagNative
09-07-2015, 09:32 AM
Belgium wins it at the last minute, 76-74 (http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/gameID_9323-D-8-3.html). Dang!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Sh5UXSqHfr4/Ve4A-IZDtnI/AAAAAAACkmw/VdfFkpFyXZ0/s800-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520972015%25252022052% 252520PM.bmp.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-iF8g74oFLSI/Ve3JRZYoYMI/AAAAAAACklU/-T4Tmt0fNyw/s912-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520972015%252520102543 %252520AM.bmp.jpg

ZagNative
09-07-2015, 11:12 AM
Poland vs. France on now. Live Stats. (http://live.fibaeurope.com/www/Game.aspx?acc=1&gameID=69801&lng=en)I'm watching on ESPN3.

SageOfZagville
09-07-2015, 12:25 PM
Shem is playing solid minutes. He had a nice backdown of Golbert the Jazz center. A nice up fake and layin. Solid defense as well. They made a run with him in there. When they took him out France lengthened their lead.

ZagNative
09-07-2015, 12:48 PM
Wow. Poland impressive in their 66-69 loss to France. Shem looked very good.

http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/files/%7B825160EE-442D-48C9-A7E6-E8FC78A91763%7Dflexible.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-DkbbYNhaTA0/Ve33VUt7kKI/AAAAAAACkmU/O4GBheRY8TM/s800-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520972015%25252014134% 252520PM.bmp.jpg

krii
09-07-2015, 01:04 PM
Ok seriously - don't look at the boxscore. PK looked amazing, he is seriously too good for this. He had a couple of plays against Rudy Gobert that were insane.

One very important observation after this game - Karnowski needs someone, who will teach him how to focus against average-to-good players. All of the best games he played lately were against the most physically talented and very skillful players. Today he was playing not like NCAA prospect vs. one of the best NBA centers, but like same-level guys.

Okay he missed some shots but hey! He is just 21, he have time to loose some weight and learn how to shoot even better.

I am proud of him.

ps. shame that Domantas& team lost. I wish you all the best Jstock!
ps2. I don't get all of those "Poland vs. Lithuania" talks - I am so happy when you are doing well. What it is all about?! ;-)

ZagNative
09-07-2015, 01:45 PM
I liked these two tweets...

Marcin Gortat ‏@MGortat

Im so proud of this young group of players. We fought from first to the last minute with France. We need to win last two games! #dawajPolska33

Marcin Gortat ‏@MGortat

Damn it..... Felt good... Seriously :(

Jstock12
09-07-2015, 06:56 PM
Thanks krii. Yeah that was a pretty brutal loss. At first I was very disappointed, but when I stumbled upon a photo that shows that the guy didn't make the shot in time and the refs still counted it... It was maddening even though we didn't play too well today. We still need to win the last two games to take the first place in the group.

p.s. started watching Poland-France from the 2nd quarter. I was really rooting for you guys. And you played great. France just looks like the best team of the tournament though. A bunch of athletic NBA stars with high basketball IQ playing team basketball. It's a tough team to beat.

krii
09-09-2015, 02:52 AM
Thanks krii. Yeah that was a pretty brutal loss. At first I was very disappointed, but when I stumbled upon a photo that shows that the guy didn't make the shot in time and the refs still counted it... It was maddening even though we didn't play too well today. We still need to win the last two games to take the first place in the group.

p.s. started watching Poland-France from the 2nd quarter. I was really rooting for you guys. And you played great. France just looks like the best team of the tournament though. A bunch of athletic NBA stars with high basketball IQ playing team basketball. It's a tough team to beat.

I think you can make it without much problems. Lithuania is stacked with good players, maybe not stars but veeery solid. You will not have this kind of situation again, it's just impossible ;-)

yeah. I am proud of them, that was a great game. Today will be veeery important with Israel though:-)

Jstock12
09-09-2015, 06:00 AM
Valanciunas won't be playing against Estonia today because he's feeling ill. Domas might get some extra minutes.

ZagNative
09-09-2015, 08:40 AM
I just tuned in to Poland vs. Israel on ESPN3. Israel leads 51-50, at the end of the third. (http://live.fibaeurope.com/www/Game.aspx?acc=1&gameID=69879&lng=en)

krii
09-09-2015, 09:16 AM
awful game. 23 TO ...it's just too much to win.

both Gortat and Karnowski played average game (too many TO's, Gortat missed really easy baskets). Tomorrow we are facing Finland, our last chance.

ZagNative
09-09-2015, 10:38 AM
Lithuania - Estonia on now. I'm watching on ESPN3. Live Stats here. (http://live.fibaeurope.com/www/Game.aspx?acc=1&gameID=69886&lng=en)

Zagceo
09-09-2015, 12:28 PM
http://i914.photobucket.com/albums/ac342/ceo_500/Screen%20Shot%202015-09-09%20at%201.25.51%20PM_zpsg68tppk6.png

ZagNative
09-10-2015, 10:16 AM
Poland beats Finland 78-65 (http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/gameID_9323-A-15-5.html)and earns a spot in the Round of 16.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=106&v=-3qvs9INPn4

Game story (http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/gameID_9323-A-15-5.html)


Bottom Line: Poland (3-2) finish second in Group A and take momentum into the Round of 16. Finland (2-3) will meet Serbia on Sunday - they will surely need to play better than they have in the opening round to advance.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Mm1WXl9D3LQ/VfHGM-Q0oCI/AAAAAAACknw/rGcrDVA5Pmc/s912-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%2525209102015%25252011014 1%252520AM.bmp.jpg

Jstock12
09-10-2015, 10:20 AM
Poland beats Finland and earns a spot in the Round of 16.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=106&v=-3qvs9INPn4

Game story (http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/gameID_9323-A-15-5.html)



https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Mm1WXl9D3LQ/VfHGM-Q0oCI/AAAAAAACknw/rGcrDVA5Pmc/s912-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%2525209102015%25252011014 1%252520AM.bmp.jpg

Only one guy with a negative +/-... Probably some random guy from a local Polish league.

IowaSERE
09-10-2015, 10:24 AM
Nice stat line for PK. Gotta love the 4/6 from the line!

ZagNative
09-10-2015, 10:31 AM
Lithuania vs. Czech Republic starting now. I'm watching on ESPN3. Live Stats here. (http://live.fibaeurope.com/www/Game.aspx?acc=1&gameID=69923&lng=en)

I love the Lithuanian game crowd. Terrific fans!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-cJN_-GfrSSI/VfHMYzaBX2I/AAAAAAACkoA/p9jrLskaBck/s800-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%2525209102015%25252011231 9%252520AM.jpg

ZagNative
09-10-2015, 12:38 PM
Lithuania wins an amazing game vs. Czech Republic in overtime 85-81. Domantas did not play. It was an extremely tight game.

ZagNative
09-10-2015, 02:02 PM
Poland will play Spain on Saturday in their first Round of 16 game

Lithuania takes on Georgia Sunday.

kosi55
09-11-2015, 08:52 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X7DVuNO7Duw

ZagNative
09-11-2015, 08:57 AM
Very nice! Thanks Kosi55!

Sarenyon
09-11-2015, 09:19 AM
Shem sure is looking solid out there. I think his vertical is much better and he is still just a mountain of a man down low.

krii
09-11-2015, 09:26 AM
Most of Polish journalist described his performance as good-to-very-good. They said he is playing better each game (excluding Israel, entire Poland played weak game), he is developing some mental toughness. It looks like he is playing to the expectations - some of the fans were actually against his name in the final roster, as they thought he could be our weakest point. It is actually lovely way to answer all these critics.

Great tournament so far by PK. Once again he is showing his best with the biggest games. IMO it means that with some mental development (mental coach that could help him develop the same motivation to each and every game?) he can be a real power not only in the NCAA but NBA itself.

Still a lot to do but I just love his performance.

kosi55
09-12-2015, 03:15 AM
Full game Poland vs. Finland to watch online for free - http://streamcloud.eu/uhnff4zwda88/2015.09.10_EuroBasket_2015_Polska_-_Finlandia_720p.mp4.html

ZagNative
09-12-2015, 09:10 AM
Poland vs Spain on now. I'm watching on ESPN3. Live Stats here. (http://live.fibaeurope.com/www/Game.aspx?acc=1&gameID=70496&lng=en) Spain leads 41-39 at the half. Shem with 6 points in 7 minutes of play.

krii
09-12-2015, 09:12 AM
Shem in his few minutes dominated Pau Gasol.

Yes he did. Despite the fact that Pau is just sick player and he can make all his shots without too much concerns PK looks like a man out there!

Jstock12
09-12-2015, 09:59 AM
Pau Gasol is going bananas... Like, Dirk Nowitzki bananas...

krii
09-12-2015, 10:09 AM
Well. To the end of 3rd quarter we've been even. And than PGasol remind himself that he is a future HOF-er and he just killed the ball. Wow. The guy is just sick.

However, PK had an amazing assist in this quarter. Siiiick play!

ZagNative
09-12-2015, 10:16 AM
Spain wins it 80-66.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-NhTlFGT970g/VfRrQz2YVSI/AAAAAAACkqo/V7f2zrp_Vfs/s640-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%2525209122015%25252011102 5%252520AM.bmp.jpg

DixieZag
09-12-2015, 06:43 PM
Nothing to be ashamed of. I didn't follow the game but it sounds like a high level NBA player like Gasol going off as he did makes the team unbeatable by all except a very few in the world. The experience for Shem will just be wonderful coming into the year. I hope he can keep the same playing shape that he appears to be in now.

Krii, it is so cool to have someone from Poland here to keep track of all he's done and how the teams have looked, even willing to translate articles into great English. Thank you very much.

zag buddy
09-12-2015, 10:16 PM
Tx Krii ditto

kosi55
09-13-2015, 01:45 AM
Poland - Spain full game online - http://streamcloud.eu/h06ocweo2snh/2015.09.12_Eurobasket_2015_Hiszpania_-_Polska.mp4.html
I recommend you all to watch especially the first half.

ZagNative
09-13-2015, 10:57 AM
Lithuania vs. Georgia ready to start on ESPN3. Live stats here. (http://live.fibaeurope.com/www/Game.aspx?acc=1&gameID=70495&lng=en)

I love Lithuania's national anthem....

ZagNative
09-13-2015, 01:05 PM
Lithuania wins 85-81 in a cliffhanger. Sabonis did not play. I think they play Italy in the Round of Eight on Wednesday.

Jstock12
09-13-2015, 01:06 PM
Lithuania vs. Georgia ready to start on ESPN3. Live stats here. (http://live.fibaeurope.com/www/Game.aspx?acc=1&gameID=70495&lng=en)

I love Lithuania's national anthem....

:clap:

That might have been one of the greatest individual performances in Lithuanian basketball history... Maciulis with 34 points (8/9 2P FG, 3/4 3P FG, 9/9 FT), 6 rebounds, 3 assists, 4 steals, 2 blocks.

Zag 77
09-13-2015, 07:55 PM
No offense to the fine folks in Poland and Lithuania who care about this competition, but I secretly wish Poland and Lithuania get eliminated asap so PK and Domas can get back to GU. I always worry about some injury and it would probably be nice for these guys to rest their bodies and minds before a long college basketball season starts up.

Oh , and I can imagine they have a crapload of homework to do in order to catch up with their classes.

Like I say, it is a secret wish, so don't tell anybody.:o

Jstock12
09-14-2015, 02:45 AM
No offense to the fine folks in Poland and Lithuania who care about this competition, but I secretly wish Poland and Lithuania get eliminated asap so PK and Domas can get back to GU. I always worry about some injury and it would probably be nice for these guys to rest their bodies and minds before a long college basketball season starts up.

Oh , and I can imagine they have a crapload of homework to do in order to catch up with their classes.

Like I say, it is a secret wish, so don't tell anybody.:o

No worries, I think we're used to this already. Each of our main guys NBA clubs and their fans don't like the idea of them representing their country because it's they who are paying them and don't want their season go to waste if an injury does occur on the court.

krii
09-14-2015, 05:32 AM
Shem sure is looking solid out there. I think his vertical is much better and he is still just a mountain of a man down low.
A few times during this Eurobasket he looked like a proper NBA player, not just NCAA prospect. To be honest I was quite shocked how his physical play looked like. He proved to be ready to deal with stronger and more skilled players - remember that Eurobasket isn't the kind of tournament he used to. It is a proper championship tour for many of the best players in Europe. Gonzaga will have a massive boost from both Sabonis and Karnowski after this September. They both will have a proper vision how professional game looks like (despite the fact that they both played before Zags in good clubs - the level of Eurobasket is just too high to not mention it).


Nothing to be ashamed of. I didn't follow the game but it sounds like a high level NBA player like Gasol going off as he did makes the team unbeatable by all except a very few in the world. The experience for Shem will just be wonderful coming into the year. I hope he can keep the same playing shape that he appears to be in now.

Krii, it is so cool to have someone from Poland here to keep track of all he's done and how the teams have looked, even willing to translate articles into great English. Thank you very much.
Absolutely. Pau Gasol is probably one of the best European players last 20/30 years. When he reminds himself that he can actually play, he could easily move mountains and dominate much better teams than Poland. I mean this is a guy who averaged 18/9/3 in his 14 seasons with LA&Bulls, won 2 champs, 2x NBA Second and 2x NBA Third Team together with 5 All-Stars & Rookie of the Year awards. One of the 30 best blockers and probably one of the 50 best rebounders NBA have ever seen (IMO). And than randomly he had a game when he was 7/8 with his 3pts shooting against my national team.
So there is nothing to be ashamed of. Some criticize Gortat for his performance but once again - it's solid center with ceiling about top 10 centers in the league vs. one of the best bigs in the last 15 years. Seriously, you cannot say it was his or Poland's fault that Gasol went out of the sky.

HOWEVER, Karno came to this game like the owner of the under-basket area. He shoot 3 or 4 shots in a row and stole a Gasol ball. Even if later in game he played only average-to-good game he was still VERY impressive in those few minutes.

Thank you DixieZag, for me it's just a pleasure. I cannot translate everything and write all the time but I feel it may be good for both of us - I can share my opinion from Europe and you from NCAA.
And when I will visit Washington (probably next March?;-) ) I could pop in for a game to see how NCAA is dealing with basketball ;-)


:clap:

That might have been one of the greatest individual performances in Lithuanian basketball history... Maciulis with 34 points (8/9 2P FG, 3/4 3P FG, 9/9 FT), 6 rebounds, 3 assists, 4 steals, 2 blocks.
Wow, impressive statline!


No offense to the fine folks in Poland and Lithuania who care about this competition, but I secretly wish Poland and Lithuania get eliminated asap so PK and Domas can get back to GU. I always worry about some injury and it would probably be nice for these guys to rest their bodies and minds before a long college basketball season starts up.

Oh , and I can imagine they have a crapload of homework to do in order to catch up with their classes.

Like I say, it is a secret wish, so don't tell anybody.:o
Haha, no worries brother. It's quite natural. I'm a huge football (soccer) fan and whenever players of my favourite teams are playing with their national teams I'm like "oh c'mon, just go back!";-)
I am proud of this team - they proved that in a couple of years their ceiling is about a few best teams in Europe. Karno will be needed in two years, in the meantime it would be great to see Final Four or (keeping my fingers crossed) even NCAA champs!

As far as I know PK is quite intelligent so this homeworks would not be a problem ;-)

Mantua
09-14-2015, 02:29 PM
No offense to the fine folks in Poland and Lithuania who care about this competition, but I secretly wish Poland and Lithuania get eliminated asap so PK and Domas can get back to GU. I always worry about some injury and it would probably be nice for these guys to rest their bodies and minds before a long college basketball season starts up.

Oh , and I can imagine they have a crapload of homework to do in order to catch up with their classes.

Like I say, it is a secret wish, so don't tell anybody.:o

+1

If Sabonis isn't going to be allowed to play, I just don't see the point of missing that much school.

ZagNative
09-16-2015, 11:00 AM
Lithuania vs. Italy on now on ESPN3. Live Stats here. (http://live.fibaeurope.com/www/Game.aspx?acc=1&gameID=70578&lng=en)

Mantua
09-16-2015, 12:05 PM
Sabonis hasn't played so far.

ZagNative
09-16-2015, 12:56 PM
Lithuania wins it 85-75, will face Serbia in the semi-finals on Friday at noon. I have a hunch we won't see Domantas on the floor again, as the competition is too great at this level ...

Zagdawg
09-16-2015, 12:59 PM
Sabonis doesn't get to play again-- but at least Lithuania gets the win 95-85

Zagdawg
09-17-2015, 04:11 PM
Przemek Karnowski ‏@PKarnowski 7m7 minutes ago
Denver layover.... Thank God I survived my flight between Frankfurt and Denver! Only 2.5 more hours to go! ✈️

Zagdawg
09-17-2015, 08:21 PM
Przemek Karnowski ‏@PKarnowski 38m38 minutes ago
Spokane! ����

sittingon50
09-18-2015, 10:27 AM
Welcome back, Shem.

ZagNative
09-18-2015, 10:48 AM
lithuania vs. Serbia in the semi-finals coming up next at 11:50. I'll be watching on ESPN3. Live Stats here. (http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/)

Mantua
09-18-2015, 11:10 AM
lithuania vs. Serbia in the semi-finals coming up next at 11:50. I'll be watching on ESPN3. Live Stats here. (http://www.eurobasket2015.org/en/)

The game is on ch 630 Comcast NBA TV right now.

ZagNative
09-18-2015, 01:04 PM
Wow! What a game. Lithuania wins it and earns its Olympic berth, 67-64.

Domantas didn't play but hopefully will get to play in the Olympics next year.

Mantua
09-18-2015, 01:12 PM
Wow! What a game. Lithuania wins it and earns its Olympic berth, 67-64.

Domantas didn't play but hopefully will get to play in the Olympics next year.

I hope so too. That would be such a great experience for him. Good game. The Serbians are good!

Lithuanians tough!

ZagNative
09-18-2015, 01:22 PM
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-0TZnjS-mfFc/VfyAZGnhewI/AAAAAAACktE/7OKHzJdl23g/s811-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%2525209182015%25252021956 %252520PM.bmp.jpg

SageOfZagville
09-18-2015, 01:25 PM
Lithuania beats Serbia, gets Olympic bid

Raptors big man Jonas Valanciunas finished with 15 rebounds and 4 blocks to lead Lithuania to a win over Serbia at EuroBasket 2015.
Lithuania advances to face Spain in the finals, and with today's win qualifies them for the 2016 Olympics.

Good Luck to Lithuania against Spain - (Domantas, get back to Spokane Safely)

ZagNative
09-18-2015, 01:40 PM
Finals game vs. Spain is Sunday morning, Sept. 20, at 10:00 AM.

These guys will be there!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Kq6Vv5id9B8/VfyCu8qShRI/AAAAAAACktQ/nJDBuulh0gs/s720-Ic42/2015-09-18%252520Lithuania%252520Fans.jpg

DixieZag
09-18-2015, 03:13 PM
Finals game vs. Spain is Sunday morning, Sept. 20, at 10:00 AM.

These guys will be there!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Kq6Vv5id9B8/VfyCu8qShRI/AAAAAAACktQ/nJDBuulh0gs/s720-Ic42/2015-09-18%252520Lithuania%252520Fans.jpg

The Kennel Club needs to put that middle guy on scholarship. Looks to have All-American student section talent.

krii
09-20-2015, 10:25 AM
it seems like the end of the game. It is shocking how one player can dominate entire tournament. Pau just destroyed every single team he had to play against.

Congrats guys, such a great effort and still - silver medal!

ps. hopefully Domas will play some time in the 4th Q.

Zagdawg
09-20-2015, 12:02 PM
Sabonis with 1 min in final game --Lithuania loses to Spain 80-63

Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 1h1 hour ago
Gonzaga assistant coach Tommy Lloyd & Arvydas Sabonis watch @Dsabonis11 play in #EuroBasket2015 Final for Lithuania

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Sabonis_1.png (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Sabonis_1.png.html)

Bogozags
09-20-2015, 12:03 PM
I wonder who Tommy was there to watch?

sittingon50
09-20-2015, 12:55 PM
I wonder who Tommy was there to watch?

I wonder who Tommy is escorting back to campus?

Zagceo
09-20-2015, 02:01 PM
I wonder who Tommy was there to watch?


Arvydas's Omega by that picture :0

sittingon50
09-20-2015, 03:17 PM
Arvydas's Omega by that picture :0

:clap:

Zagdawg
09-24-2015, 08:46 PM
Kyle Wiltjer ‏@kwiltj 2h2 hours ago
ATTN Zag fans,
@Dsabonis11 has officially arrived and sources say he is currently walking the streets of Spokane.

Zagdawg
09-27-2015, 06:15 PM
Gonzaga Guru retweeted
Pete Newmann ‏@petenewmann Sep 22
Most efficient returning post-up players in NCAA (min 100 plays):
David Collette of @AggieHoops & Domantas Sabonis of @ZagMBB