PDA

View Full Version : Sacre and Olynyk FIBA Americas September 1 in Mexico City



ZagNative
08-30-2015, 11:55 AM
Game schedule (http://www.fibaamericas.com/mex2015/en/equipos2.asp?t=&team=257&n=Canada&c=CAN)

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-y7_Dnek6b0o/VeNcf-SxuuI/AAAAAAACkd4/Jg6WFPr3boE/s860-Ic42/2015-08-30%252520Kelly%252520Olynyl%252520Schedule.jpg

Canada Roster Announced (http://www.fibaamericas.com/en/noticiasread4.asp?r=AA330B62F5104AE08AFD7C4A442176 A1)

MEXICO (FIBA Americas Championship) – Canada Basketball announced the 12-player roster for the 2015 FIBA Americas Championship, taking place in Mexico City, from August 31 – September 12.

“I’m pleased with the team’s progress. We showed toughness and willingness to win,” said Head Coach Jay Triano after the team went 4-0, to capture the title of the 2015 Jenaro “Tuto” Marchand Continental Cup in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

“We still have things to work on and continue to prepare for the real test in Mexico – qualifying for the Olympics,” added the Coach.

Canada will be in Group B of the FIBA Americas Championship, and will start their participation in Mexico, against the National Team of Argentina, on September 1st.

Jay Triano’s team will continue First Phase play when they face Cuba, Venezuela and Puerto Rico.

Canada will be aiming to clinch a spot to the Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games or claim a place in one of the three FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments to be staged next year.

CANADA’S FIBA AMERICAS CHAMPIONSHIP ROSTER:

Anthony Bennett, Aaron Doornekamp, Melvin Ejim, Brady Heslip, Cory Joseph, Andrew Nicholson, Kelly Olynyk, Dwight Powell, Robert Sacre, Phil Scrubb, Nik Stauskas and Andrew Wiggins.

From the Toronto Sun (http://m.torontosun.com/2015/08/30/canadians-have-targets-on-their-backs):

Asked how much tougher he expects the competition to be in Mexico, Olynyk had a quick response.

“Tenfold. I mean, I don’t know if we played one team that played their whole lineup in that tournament,” he said. “So you expect to see guns a blazing, they’re going to be throwing everything they have at you.”

The good news for the Canucks is that they firmly believe they can be quite a bit more lethal as well.

“I thought we moved the ball pretty well (in Puerto Rico), (but) I think we still have a long ways to go,” Olynyk said. “I think we showed great glimpses of where we can be real tough on the defensive end and we showed glimpses where we can be real potent on the offensive end. So we just have to put it together.”

OLYNYK JOINS IN ON PRACTICE

MEXICO CITY — Kelly Olynyk isn’t committing to playing in Tuesday’s opener here against Argentina, but he’s moving in the right direction.

Canada’s starting centre injured his left knee in a collision against a player from Argentina a week ago and sat out the next three days.

On Saturday, he was finally back at practice.

“He went through I would say 85% of practice today,” said head coach Jay Triano.

“I thought he looked good and I think he’s still a little bit tender a little bit sore. We’ll monitor it over the next couple of days and hopefully he’s ready to go, but he’s made great progress thanks to our support team.”

Olynyk said it was “unfortunate” he couldn’t help out on the court, but doesn’t believe it will be hard to reintegrate with the squad.

“We had eight days of training camp in Toronto. I played the first game. I mean I missed three games, that’s not really a huge deal,” Olynyk said. “I definitely think II’ll be able to get back out there. It’s not like I forgot how to play basketball.”

That’s good, because Canada could really use the offence the Boston Celtics big man can provide with his versatile game.

Hopefully his return comes sooner, rather than later.

“We’ll see what happens. If Im ready, I’m ready. But I don’t wanna be detrimental, I want to help the team,” Olynyk said. “So when I’m ready I’ll be back out there.”

ZagNative
08-30-2015, 01:06 PM
Games will be available for viewing online at ESPN3 (http://espn.go.com/watchespn/index#type/upcoming/startDate/20150901/). I know they're also available on TSN in Canada.

DixieZag
08-30-2015, 02:07 PM
Is it just me or is that a pretty difficult division - granted, they miss the U.S. - but Argentina up first, followed by P.R. and Cuba? I know Argentina is good, aren't the other 2?

OZZY
08-30-2015, 02:53 PM
Is it just me or is that a pretty difficult division - granted, they miss the U.S. - but Argentina up first, followed by P.R. and Cuba? I know Argentina is good, aren't the other 2?

Three of the four could by tough matchups.. Canada has lost in the past to Argentina, PR, and Venezuela

Cuba is the only one that is historically at a lower level.

IMHO, this is the most talented team that Canada has ever put together, albeit missing a couple of players that would make it even more competitive (Thompson, Ennis).

Hanlon ended up missing out in the 12, I believe they see Wiggins as a 2/3 and wanted to have an extra post just in case as it is a gruelling tournament. Phil Scrubb makes it 3 BC boys in the 12...:) He is a big occasion player.

I friend of mine linked me into a blog of someone who knows the team very well, giving his team predictions and observations that may of interest to Zag and Canada Basketball fans.

http://canhoops.blog.com/2015/08/29/expect-hanlan-to-be-odd-man-out-a-detailed-breakdown-of-canadas-12/

GO Canada!

GO Zags!

DixieZag
08-30-2015, 05:07 PM
Three of the four could by tough matchups.. Canada has lost in the past to Argentina, PR, and Venezuela

Cuba is the only one that is historically at a lower level.

IMHO, this is the most talented team that Canada has ever put together, albeit missing a couple of players that would make it even more competitive (Thompson, Ennis).

Hanlon ended up missing out in the 12, I believe they see Wiggins as a 2/3 and wanted to have an extra post just in case as it is a gruelling tournament. Phil Scrubb makes it 3 BC boys in the 12...:) He is a big occasion player.

I friend of mine linked me into a blog of someone who knows the team very well, giving his team predictions and observations that may of interest to Zag and Canada Basketball fans.

http://canhoops.blog.com/2015/08/29/expect-hanlan-to-be-odd-man-out-a-detailed-breakdown-of-canadas-12/

GO Canada!

GO Zags!

What a great answer, thx Ozzy.

True North Strong and Free, my favourite international team.

ZagNative
08-30-2015, 07:58 PM
Nice piece about Sacre from the Toronto Sun (http://m.torontosun.com/2015/08/30/canadas-robert-sacre-playing-vital-role):

Robert Sacre might not get called on very often, but he is seen as a vital part of Team Canada.

Sacre, the 26-year-old Los Angeles Lakers centre, is regarded as a model teammate, an entertainer who keeps everyone loose, but still takes care of business on the court and makes sure everyone retains their focus.

“He’s one of the best defenders of the pick-and-roll. He knows how to guard it, he’s got a big body that protects the paint, protects the rim,” said head coach Jay Triano.

“But the best thing that he does is he’s vocal and he’s vocal whether it’s on the bus, whether it’s at lunch, or whether it’s on the floor. We keep talking that communication can be intimidating for people and Robert uses it to the fullest advantage. He’s always communicating, let’s his teammates know where he is, that they have support behind them.

“He’s just been good that way. He’s a leader on this team, who has accepted his role, which may not be playing many minutes at times.”

Sacre, who was born in Baton Rouge, La., but was raised in North Vancouver by his Canadian mother, was a provincial champion in 2005, the same year he first suited up for Canada for the junior national team.

He went on to start for quality teams at Gonzaga, before being drafted by the Lakers in 2012. He has been the team’s backup centre ever since and was singled out in Steve Nash’s retirement piece as one of the best teammates Nash had in a career that started in 1996.

“You need guys to pick guys off when they’re tired, fatigued or not playing well and his energy has always been real positive for us,” Triano said.

It comes naturally for Sacre.

“Just stay positive, that’s the key, just make sure that everyone brings their energy every day and just have fun,” Sacre said of his role.

Sacre also has great knowledge of schemes and positioning and tries to help steer his younger teammates to the right places and keep them zoned in on what they need to do.

At this tournament, that means taking advantage of their strengths.

“We’ve just got to limit our turnovers, make sure we take care of the ball and just move,” Sacre said. “We’re an athletic team, we can get up and down with any team so I’m really not worried about any competition. We’re just worried about doing what we need to do to take care of what we need to take care of.”

OZZY
08-31-2015, 04:15 AM
Thanks ZN, as usual you find some awesome stuff!

Mark "Junkie" Wacyk's blog on the competition Canada will face..

http://canhoops.blog.com/2015/08/30/team-by-team-preview-fiba-americas-2015-in-mexico/

thorough as usual.

:)

Mojo13
08-31-2015, 09:14 AM
Thanks ZN, as usual you find some awesome stuff!

Mark "Junkie" Wacyk's blog on the competition Canada will face..

http://canhoops.blog.com/2015/08/30/team-by-team-preview-fiba-americas-2015-in-mexico/

thorough as usual.

:)


Ya that is a great blog. I believe he is an ex-assistant coach with one of the CIS teams (not sure which one) and is pretty close with the national team.

Hopefully KOs knee is ok as he will be very important for Canada. Arguably KO, Wiggins and Cory Joseph are the three key cogs on this team. But it feels great that we actually have depth as a strength for once. I feel any one of 7-8 guys can go off for a monster game at any time.

I am really glad Sacre made the team and the article on him really shows why. This is what message board goons (non-Zags fans - most Laker fans and some Team Canada fans) don't understand about Sacre and why he is now the second longest tenured Laker after Kobe. That 10-12th man can be a huge added value to a team if he is the right guy. Sacre brings a tonne of intangibles to any team he is on.

Argentina is no where near where it once was, but is still a very good and dangerous team. Likely Top 2-4. They still have Scola (FIBA-Beast) and Nocioni anchoring them. But their depth is not what it once was.
PR - is also still good but missing many of their best players. JJ Barrera is their best player. He still is pretty darn good with FIBA rules. Top 4 threat.
Venezuela - not much of threat without two or three of their best players (Grevais Vasquez has historically been their leader and is not playing).
Cuba - is a bit of an unknown. Havnt been too active over the last few years and not many recognizable names.

I think there is a clear top 5 with Canada, Argentina, Mexico, DR and PR. With Brazil not having anything to play for and having a "B" team there.
Canada seems to have the best "talent" - but the least experience with FIBA rules and playing together.

ZagNative
08-31-2015, 12:46 PM
fJP Batista's Brazil team is now playing Uraguay, with Brazil trailing at the half 24-27. Live Stats (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/16/24/80/40FICW8XsQzl6/)

Schedule for Brazil's games (http://www.americas2015.com/en/equipos2.asp?t=&team=250&n=Brazil&c=BRA)

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-xaeC9rhB8oE/VeS7KlwbamI/AAAAAAACkeY/QVsv3F1Gv5I/s702-Ic42/2014-08-31%252520Brazil%252520FIBA%252520schedule.jpg

Link to Live Stats for all games (http://www.americas2015.com/en/)

From the FIBA site, here's a preview of Canada's pod. (http://www.americas2015.com/en/not2.asp?r=C05AAEC39E704CDA9A54ECE39BB7038F)

Mojo13
09-01-2015, 10:50 AM
Reminder: Canada vs Argentina at 12:30pm PT on ESPN3

Sounds like KO should be playing - not sure if he starts or not (should be when fully healthy).

ZagNative
09-01-2015, 11:32 AM
Kelly starting.

Kong-Kool-Aid
09-01-2015, 01:00 PM
Scola is picking Canada apart.

Argentina dominating on the boards.

Sacre is in right now.

Also there doesn't seem to be a lot of collegiality between Canadian players.

Mojo13
09-02-2015, 10:57 AM
Scola is picking Canada apart.

Argentina dominating on the boards.

Sacre is in right now.

Also there doesn't seem to be a lot of collegiality between Canadian players.

Very bad game for Canada. Didnt help that Scola when all FIBA BEAST MODE once again.

No bounce, no cohesion, no urgency for Canada. Far worse than they played in the warm up games. They domo'd ARG on the boards last week. Whelp at least it may rattle the cage an shake them out of it. We can play much better.

Hopefully Cuba is a nice opportunity to bounce back and get into their flow.

ZagNative
09-02-2015, 11:35 AM
Game with Cuba is on. Live Stats. (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/16/25/55/44YoYbrKaazBY/)

ZagNative
09-03-2015, 03:14 PM
Canada vs. Venezuela on now. Live Stats here. (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/16/26/42/31NyppEJeBjs/) Live video on ESPN3 (http://espn.go.com/watchespn/index/_/type/upcoming/#type/livenow/).

ZagNative
09-03-2015, 05:47 PM
Good game for KO today, as Canada takes Venezuela 82-62 (82-62)!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-gOwJNBMljoE/Vej0gylcjBI/AAAAAAACkfo/q9bIxefAUA0/s912-Ic42/2015-09-03%252520Kelly%252520Olynyk%252520Box%252520Score% 252520venezuela.jpg

OZZY
09-03-2015, 05:49 PM
Kelly with his best game of the tournament so far.

14 points and 8 rebounds and showing real touch with 6 assists. A bit concerned about the 5 turnovers though ..

Sound like Powell was injured which is a concern going forward.

ZagNative
09-04-2015, 03:01 PM
Canada - Puerto Rico coming up. Live Stats. (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/16/26/46/18IuVMGwtDNq/) Live video on ESPN3. (http://espn.go.com/watchespn/player/_/id/2637233/size/condensed/)

ZagNative
09-04-2015, 05:09 PM
Canada waxes Puerto Rico, 112-92. (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/16/26/46/18IuVMGwtDNq/) Kelly has a heck of a stat line, this time with zero turnovers.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/COGdMAqXAAAAeop.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-XA3OnRG3X-s/Veo-BaoUGWI/AAAAAAACkgI/wgY-5dLFZpk/s912-Ic42/2015-09-04%252520Kelly%252520Olynyk%252520Puerto%252520Ric o.jpg

ZagNative
09-04-2015, 05:37 PM
The second round runs September 6 to 9. The schedule will be set after tonight's game between Mexico and Uruguay. Check here on Sunday. (http://www.americas2015.com/en/calendario.asp?xtab=2&rid=2)

GonzagasaurusFlex
09-04-2015, 06:02 PM
Canada waxes Puerto Rico, 112-92. (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/16/26/46/18IuVMGwtDNq/) Kelly has a heck of a stat line, this time with zero turnovers.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/COGdMAqXAAAAeop.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-XA3OnRG3X-s/Veo-BaoUGWI/AAAAAAACkgI/wgY-5dLFZpk/s912-Ic42/2015-09-04%252520Kelly%252520Olynyk%252520Puerto%252520Ric o.jpg

KO gettin up!!!!

Mantua
09-05-2015, 09:57 AM
Thanks ZN!
This is fun.

ZagNative
09-06-2015, 09:35 AM
Today's game vs. Panama will be at 4:00. Look for live stats here (http://www.americas2015.com/en/) and live video on ESPN3 (http://espn.go.com/watchespn/index#type/livenow/).

ZagNative
09-06-2015, 10:04 AM
Nice Toronto Sun story (http://www.torontosun.com/2015/09/05/olynyk-showing-he-was-well-worth-the-risk) about Kelly:

Olynyk showing he was well worth the risk

http://storage.torontosun.com/v1/dynamic_resize/sws_path/suns-prod-images/1297745118948_ORIGINAL.jpg?quality=80&size=420x

MEXICO CITY — One of Canada’s best players here so far was the team’s biggest question mark heading into this FIBA Americas competition.

Starting centre Kelly Olynyk missed three straight games after hurting his knee in Puerto Rico and until he took the floor for Canada’s opener against Argentina, it was unknown if he’d be able to play regular minutes during this Olympic qualifying tournament.

Olynyk, a member of the Boston Celtics, who grew up in Toronto and Kamloops, B.C., didn’t look sharp against Argentina, but gradually has emerged as one of the team’s top all-around players.

He has averaged 11.5 points (third on the team), 1.8 blocks (first) and 7.5 rebounds (first) per game.


Against Puerto Rico, Olynyk was one of the only Canadian players not to struggle early, draining a three, throwing down a big one-handed put-back jam and handing out some nice assists.

“The thing that I like is how he’s gotten better every game and it’s happened more at the defensive end than anything,” head coach Jay Triano said on Saturday.

“That just makes our offence flow better. He’s engaged, he’s in his stance when a guy’s coming off a screen and roll, he’s intimidating, he’s a 7-footer and he’s down in his stance. Coming off screen and rolls they’re not going to want to try to get into the lane.”

Olynyk ranks No. 2 at this tournament in blocks per game and is sixth in rebounding. As Triano indicated, Olynyk has looked sharper each time out.

nonzagzag
09-06-2015, 11:21 AM
Canada vs Uruguay will be on NBATV Monday at 3:50 PM PST

ZagNative
09-06-2015, 04:04 PM
At the beginning of the second half, Canada leads Panama 42-23 (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/16/29/40/899LksV65YXiE/).

ZagNative
09-06-2015, 04:55 PM
Canada wins big, 103-66. Got to love Kelly's rebounding!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-yKGGoxj07Jc/VezelmkKG0I/AAAAAAACklA/H3fFEPKglYw/s912-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520962015%25252054250% 252520PM.bmp.jpg

ZagNative
09-06-2015, 05:16 PM
Next game: Uruguay Monday at 4:00. Watch it on NBA TB Comcast 416 or 630 HD in Spokane. Live stats will be here. (http://www.americas2015.com/en/)

ZagNative
09-08-2015, 05:24 PM
Canada vs. Mexico coming up in a few minutes. I'll be watching on ESPN3. Live Stats will be here. (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/16/29/71/61PZc0BI3QPI/)

ZagNative
09-08-2015, 07:06 PM
Canada wins it 94-73.
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-ddI2KCCmyJ8/Ve-hlu1SUtI/AAAAAAACknc/zsR8qKfsP6c/s912-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%252520982015%25252080129% 252520PM.bmp.jpg

Mojo13
09-09-2015, 09:50 AM
Canada has played quite well since that wake-up call in the first game with ARG. It is obvious no one has the horses and depth to run with Canada. The bench is not much of a drop off from the starters. I hope they keep up the strong play and things go right in the semis - anything can happen in a single game elimination.

KO has been great so far - he is such a key piece for this team and his skill set is such a luxury to have in FIBA ball. He may be one of the best passing bigmen in the NBA and it shows here. His outside shot is very good and it really opens up the floor as he draws his defender out to the 3pt line. It gives him great opportunity to drive and look for the pass (or finish). He has had numerous highlight reel passes - a few quick ally-oops to Anthony Bennett have made their rounds. KO's rebounding and defense have been fairly decent here as well.

Sacre is getting spot minutes and is a little needed role player this tournament. There are only a few times he is needed on the floor as there are only a few good traditional post players that our other bigs can't defend. Sacre's offense is horrible, especially when he forces a post-up or mid range shot (he and Doornekamp are leading in the most cringe-worthy shots), but Sacre plays good, solid D, rebounds well and fills a role. Plus his attitude and intangibles are becoming legendary. He may be needed if we qualify for the Olympics, but certainly is the 12th man on this roster.

Marcus
09-09-2015, 10:13 AM
Great recap of the Zags playing for Canada Mojo. And thanks a bunch ZagNative for posting all the box scores and links, much appreciated.

One thing I've noticed is that Kelly seems to have increased his vertical since last year. He is getting up in the air quicker too which is helping him block shots. He's never been a really good shot blocker but has definitely improved in that area. At least it's showing in this tournament, hopefully he can carry it over to the NBA.

ZagNative
09-09-2015, 11:27 AM
Canada vs. Dominican Republic on now. Live Stats here. (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/16/29/73/66JNBYcoZm1U/) I'm following the live video stream on ESPN3.

sittingon50
09-09-2015, 01:11 PM
Lotta' defen(c)e in that one!

Bogozags
09-09-2015, 01:29 PM
Who do they play next...

They have been on fire since Argentina...wonder if they have jelled enough to make a difference against Argentina?

hooter73
09-09-2015, 02:57 PM
Wow, Heslip's numbers are, um... not so great.

raise the zag
09-09-2015, 05:49 PM
Wow, Heslip's numbers are, um... not so great.

yet he continues to log the 3rd most minutes on the team…crazy.

I realize Triano is family friends with Heslip but c'mon, he's not THAT GOOD and not making his 3pt shots.

Pangos is better than Brady, imho.

kitzbuel
09-09-2015, 06:34 PM
Wow, Heslip's numbers are, um... not so great.

9 shots in 15 minutes. He puts Matt 'The Chucker' Carlino to shame.

OZZY
09-09-2015, 08:40 PM
yet he continues to log the 3rd most minutes on the team…crazy.

I realize Triano is family friends with Heslip but c'mon, he's not THAT GOOD and not making his 3pt shots.

Pangos is better than Brady, imho.


From memory I believe that Jay Triano is Brady's uncle..........

OZZY
09-09-2015, 08:42 PM
Canada now plays Venezuela for a chance to go directly to the Olympic games...

One win and the goal is realised.

Two wins to get rid of some demons...

Mojo13
09-10-2015, 08:50 AM
yet he continues to log the 3rd most minutes on the team…crazy.

I realize Triano is family friends with Heslip but c'mon, he's not THAT GOOD and not making his 3pt shots.

Pangos is better than Brady, imho.

Brady actually is "that good" of a three point shooter. He has been on fire for most of the tournament until this game.
The guys have nicked named him "The Flame Thrower". When he is on he can blow a game wide open, and is a treat to watch. He is averaged about 3 three pointers a game on 45% 3pt shooting (that's with the last game bringing him down). Basically he was an over 50% 3pt shooter going into that game. He does go hot an cold though.

Triano is playing a deep bench to keep his guys fresh. He would ride Stauskas in a tight game (unless Brady was showing he was on fire).

Brady's issues are height, defense and ball handling/play making. He is definitely a two guard and not a good back up PG. However, Brady is likely one of the best five shooters in the world. And is very valuable to this team (I am a reformed Heslip hater by the way).

He is a better shooter than Pangos, but no where near the PG as Pangos. It would be an interesting trade off of the two and I could easy advocate for KP replacing Brady. A little downgrade in shooting in exchange for a huge upgrade in ballhandling, passing etc.

I am always nervous that we are only carry two PGs. We need a 3rd or a capable combo guard for insurance.

TheGonzagaFactor
09-10-2015, 09:35 AM
Brady actually is "that good" of a three point shooter. He has been on fire for most of the tournament until this game.
The guys have nicked named him "The Flame Thrower". When he is on he can blow a game wide open, and is a treat to watch. He is averaged about 3 three pointers a game on 45% 3pt shooting (that's with the last game bringing him down). Basically he was an over 50% 3pt shooter going into that game. He does go hot an cold though.

Triano is playing a deep bench to keep his guys fresh. He would ride Stauskas in a tight game (unless Brady was showing he was on fire).

Brady's issues are height, defense and ball handling/play making. He is definitely a two guard and not a good back up PG. However, Brady is likely one of the best five shooters in the world. And is very valuable to this team (I am a reformed Heslip hater by the way).

He is a better shooter than Pangos, but no where near the PG as Pangos. It would be an interesting trade off of the two and I could easy advocate for KP replacing Brady. A little downgrade in shooting in exchange for a huge upgrade in ballhandling, passing etc.

I am always nervous that we are only carry two PGs. We need a 3rd or a capable combo guard for insurance.

I consider it a luxury, there are a lot of good programs with zero PGs (Kansas the last few years comes to mind).

Worthington
09-10-2015, 09:48 AM
Heslip is tied for the most threes made and is still shooting 45% after a couple 'off' nights. He's had a good tournament so far and I guarantee Coach Triano isn't telling him to shoot less. Great three point shooters are very important in the international game and Heslip is one of the best in the world IMO, I'd take him over Pangos for this team.

The odds of Pangos making Team Canada are very, very slim with the emergence of Phil Scrubb, and Tyler Ennis and Jamal Murray likely joining the mix for upcoming tournaments.

Mojo13
09-10-2015, 10:13 AM
Heslip is tied for the most threes made and is still shooting 45% after a couple 'off' nights. He's had a good tournament so far and I guarantee Coach Triano isn't telling him to shoot less. Great three point shooters are very important in the international game and Heslip is one of the best in the world IMO, I'd take him over Pangos for this team.

The odds of Pangos making Team Canada are very, very slim with the emergence of Phil Scrubb, and Tyler Ennis and Jamal Murray likely joining the mix for upcoming tournaments.

Agreed about Heslip.

Pangos likely won't make the Olympic team (if we qualify), but after that the whole qualification process is revamped for the WCs and Olympics going forward. It will crush the participation of NBA players during the qualification process and countries are going to need to rely on non-NBA guys. Pangos will be a key piece for Canada from 2017 and on.

Mojo13
09-11-2015, 08:21 AM
CAN v VEN today at 4pm PT for a ticket to Rio. ESPN 3.

CAN won by 20 early in pool play and have gotten better every game since. Canada is a heavy favorite here, but as we all know anything can happen in a single game elimination.


MEX v ARG is on at 6:30pm and should be a fun game to watch for those who love bball. It should be a barn burner of a rematch from the other night when MEX rallied from 15 down in the 4th quarter in front of the home crowd to upset ARG. The crowd was crazy! This game could go either way - both teams have to dig deep down for every last drop as they are both wearing down. this will be the 9th game in 11 nights.

ZagNative
09-11-2015, 02:54 PM
Getting set to watch on ESPN3. Live Stats here. (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/16/33/50/94wMw7r5sybw/)

Go Canada!

ZagNative
09-11-2015, 03:22 PM
At the end of the 1st quarter, Venezuela leads 20-19. KO with 11 of Canada's 19 points.

ZagNative
09-11-2015, 03:36 PM
Kelly is determined to win this game! He has 18 points with 2 minutes left until half time.

ZagNative
09-11-2015, 03:49 PM
At the half ...

Canada Basketball ‏@CanBball

At half, Canada is down 38-37 to Venezuela. @KellyOlynyk has 18 points in the half. A ticket to Rio is one half away. #WeAreTeamCanada

ZagNative
09-11-2015, 04:59 PM
Well, that makes me heartsick. Kelly seemed to be the only guy who had his game on tonight, as Venezuela takes it 79-78.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-lsj7nWQDd1k/VfN4CKaAnSI/AAAAAAACkp0/7RgmkoPF1AM/s912-Ic42/Fullscreen%252520capture%2525209112015%25252055318 %252520PM.jpg

sittingon50
09-11-2015, 05:07 PM
Wow, monster game from Kelly!

23dpg
09-11-2015, 06:09 PM
Shocking loss. Does that mean Canada is out of the Olympics?

VinnyZag
09-11-2015, 06:10 PM
Shocking loss. Does that mean Canada is out of the Olympics?

No, they have a final chance to qualify next summer. Three spots up for grabs from among, I think, 18 teams.

hooter73
09-11-2015, 08:43 PM
85% from 2, 75% from 3! Dang KO!

ZagaZags
09-11-2015, 09:27 PM
No, they have a final chance to qualify next summer. Three spots up for grabs from among, I think, 18 teams.

New Olympic Qualifying Tournament format to feature 18 teams playing across three tournaments.

http://www.fiba.com/images.fiba.com/Graphic/6/B/7/6/hnHUG3utWkeHY6BmeBobAw.jpg?v=20150611153629700


MIES (Rio 2016) - FIBA's Central Board on Sunday approved a new format for the Olympic Qualifying Tournament (OQT) that will provide more men's teams the chance to chase their Olympic dream and offer more countries the opportunity to host leading FIBA events.

In 2016, three Olympic Qualifying Tournaments (OQTs) - each consisting of six participating teams - will take place, with the winning team from each event earning a berth for the Olympic Basketball Tournament at the Rio Games.

This replaces the previous system of holding one 12-team Olympic Qualifying Tournament, from which the top three teams qualified.

The 18 teams that will compete in 2016 are to consist of 15 which have qualified - through their respective 2015 continental championships - for the OQTs and three that are OQT hosts.

Here is a breakdown of where the teams will come from:
Africa: 3
Americas: 3
Asia: 3
Europe: 5
Oceania: 1
OQT hosts: 3


All teams competing in the 2015 FIBA Continental Championships are therefore eligible to host one of the three 2016 FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments.

The hosts of the OQTs will in principle be selected from teams already qualified, or from the best non-qualified teams. If a team already qualified is approved as host of an OQT, then the next best non-qualified team(s) from the respective continent will be invited to participate.

The bidding process to determine the hosts of the three Olympic Qualifying Tournaments takes place from 17 August until the end of November, when FIBA's Executive Committee will award the three events.

http://www.fiba.com/images.fiba.com/Graphic/C/43/Uf_0DfLZAUKyvxHC9HcYRg.jpg?v=20150826181753651

Read the rest at link. http://www.fiba.com/news/new-olympic-qualifying-tournament-format-to-feature-18-teams-playing-across-three-tournaments

VinnyZag
09-11-2015, 09:30 PM
No, they have a final chance to qualify next summer. Three spots up for grabs from among, I think, 18 teams.

Apparently it's actually three tournaments of six teams each, with each champion making the Olympics. Canada will probably have to face at least one top European team in the qualifying tournament, so ...

Ezag
09-12-2015, 08:58 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=208&v=4bTFE_wrn4I

Mojo13
09-14-2015, 09:51 AM
85% from 2, 75% from 3! Dang KO!


It is tough to be too impressed with KO that game. Yes he carried the team offensively as everyone else decided to not show up. However for all his brilliance those 6 TOs were among the most awful, inopportune TOs I had every seen. Unforced TOs at the worst possible moments. Key crucial TOs at deciding points in the game. I mean we had a 7 point lead near the end of the first half, seemingly on a roll and then KO has 3 or 4 unforced TOs in a row and VEN ends up 1 at the half. Inexcusable. Horrible to watch... KO was clearly trying to do too much. But I guess he had too.

Them the breaks. Stauskas hospitalized with food poisoning, Bennett sick too. Cory Joseph and Andrew Wiggins playing their worst games of the summer. Heslip not able to get open, Triano getting massively outcoached. It all came together in one of the most painful games I have ever watched. You just knew we were going to get screwed on a call at the end. It was just the script....destiny...you can always trust Latin corruption, the only thing you can do is not give it a chance to decide the game. Unfortunately we did.

Oh well...the joy and pain of sport...

Bogozags
09-14-2015, 11:39 AM
ZagaZags: "The bidding process to determine the hosts of the three Olympic Qualifying Tournaments takes place from 17 August until the end of November, when FIBA's Executive Committee will award the three events."

I wonder if it would be advantageous for Canada to host. What would be an opening bid? Would it be in the tens of thousands or well above that...FIBA has to make money don't they!

Mojo13
09-14-2015, 12:35 PM
ZagaZags: "The bidding process to determine the hosts of the three Olympic Qualifying Tournaments takes place from 17 August until the end of November, when FIBA's Executive Committee will award the three events."

I wonder if it would be advantageous for Canada to host. What would be an opening bid? Would it be in the tens of thousands or well above that...FIBA has to make money don't they!

Canada Basketball already publicly declared an interest in hosting a tournament and that they are in the "investigation stage". The article stated the costs of holding an event would be around $5M, including FIBA's fees. But no mention of the cost of those fees - I'd guess ~$1M.
Canada Basketball has an operating budget of $1.7M so the money is going to have to come from elsewhere. With BBall being so popular at the recent PanAm Games (the signature event) it is quite possible the money will be raised from a mix of gov't and business sources.

It would have to be in Toronto if they want to have a glimmer of hope of covering those costs in tickets sales / media buys.

Nash and Triano (and the players) should kick some personal money in due to their failure to show up for the semi-final. :)

Yes it would be advantageous to host. Obviously there would be a home town advantage for players and fan support. Also you would potentially help avoid the corruption of officials you may find in more dubious countries. Speaking of places like Russia and Turkey it may prevent them from the tournaments lessening the overall strength of the competition. As of right now Russia, Turkey, Slovenia and Croatia are out of the qualifiers unless they host a tournament.

If someone like Canada hosts I believe the 6th place FIBA America team slides into a tournament somewhere (Dominican Republic)

Bogozags
09-17-2015, 01:02 PM
Canada Basketball already publicly declared an interest in hosting a tournament and that they are in the "investigation stage". The article stated the costs of holding an event would be around $5M, including FIBA's fees. But no mention of the cost of those fees - I'd guess ~$1M.
Canada Basketball has an operating budget of $1.7M so the money is going to have to come from elsewhere. With BBall being so popular at the recent PanAm Games (the signature event) it is quite possible the money will be raised from a mix of gov't and business sources.

It would have to be in Toronto if they want to have a glimmer of hope of covering those costs in tickets sales / media buys.

Nash and Triano (and the players) should kick some personal money in due to their failure to show up for the semi-final. :)

Yes it would be advantageous to host. Obviously there would be a home town advantage for players and fan support. Also you would potentially help avoid the corruption of officials you may find in more dubious countries. Speaking of places like Russia and Turkey it may prevent them from the tournaments lessening the overall strength of the competition. As of right now Russia, Turkey, Slovenia and Croatia are out of the qualifiers unless they host a tournament.

If someone like Canada hosts I believe the 6th place FIBA America team slides into a tournament somewhere (Dominican Republic)

Thank you for the break down...just seems like a lot of money, especially with Canada having such a low budget.

I like FIBA less and less each day...

VinnyZag
09-17-2015, 07:00 PM
Does anyone know how they will pick which teams participate in which tournaments? Is there a seeding process, whereby Canada might avoid being in the same qualifying tournament with Greece and France?

Mojo13
09-18-2015, 09:53 AM
Does anyone know how they will pick which teams participate in which tournaments? Is there a seeding process, whereby Canada might avoid being in the same qualifying tournament with Greece and France?

Nope - nothing has been released detailing this. And I have been looking.

No idea if they stack pools with Asia/America/Oceania/Africa teams in one and Euro teams concentrated in another or if they will spread out the placements of teams by geography or ranking.

Going by rankings is not necessarily a good method as it is so far historically looking. Good teams like Canada and Italy are ranked way, way below their current strength.

As a Canadian fan it would be nice to avoid Greece and France first off and then secondarily teams like Italy and Lithuania (I think Serbia will win handily).

In a perfect world it would be hosted in Toronto and only the Asia/America/Oceania teams are in our pool. I doubt it works out that way.


Right now the 18 teams include the following:

Greece
Italy
Czech Rep
Serbia or Lithuania
France

Canada
PR
Mexico

NZ

Angola
Tunisia
Senegal

Teams 2 FIBA Asia
Team 3 FIBA Asia
Team 4 FIBA Asia

Plus three hosts of the tounaments.


Obviously it is the Euro teams are the threats and you never know what you are going to get with Italy - so it could come down to just hoping to avoid France, Greece or Serbia/Lithuania. The other wild card is there could be some solid teams from the hosting nations (ie Turkey, Russia etc). However they say priority will be given to the qualifier teams to host (which would then drag the next highest finshing team from their zone in - for example, if PR hosts, then DR gets in.)

VinnyZag
09-18-2015, 01:02 PM
Thanks for the info. A logical way to handle it would be to make Canada, Eurobaket no. 3 and Asia no. 2 top seeds and hosts, then seed the remaining teams into the three tournaments. But I suspect little logic will be employed.

Mojo13
09-18-2015, 01:13 PM
Thanks for the info. A logical way to handle it would be to make Canada, Eurobaket no. 3 and Asia no. 2 top seeds and hosts, then seed the remaining teams into the three tournaments. But I suspect little logic will be employed.


Oh poop. Serbia just lost to Lithuania - I didn't expect that. But one should never underestimate the Lithuanian basketball spirit and they always seem to step up when they don;t have their best teams talent wise.

That makes it a little tougher on Canada. Still Lithuania was missing a few key players and could be much better. Serbia I think had most of their top talent.