PDA

View Full Version : Killian Tillie verbally commits to Gonzaga



ZagNative
08-29-2015, 10:10 AM
From Twitter:

Jim Meehan ‏@SRJimm

French forward Killian Tillie verbally commits to Gonzaga. Big get for 2016 class when GU replaces Wiltjer, Karnowski and possibly Sabonis

jchocolate99
08-29-2015, 10:16 AM
That's freaking awesome... Way to go coach Lloyd nice pick up for our Zags

NotoriousZ
08-29-2015, 10:23 AM
YES!!!

Welcome!

kitzbuel
08-29-2015, 10:28 AM
From Twitter:
Outstanding! Welcome to the Paris of the Northwest![emoji5]

hooter73
08-29-2015, 10:39 AM
Oh Rock On!

MDABE80
08-29-2015, 10:46 AM
After suffering through some minor abuse some other posters, Abe had this 1 week ago. Abe called it. Well done recruiters. This boy will be a critical player for us.

GonzagasaurusFlex
08-29-2015, 10:56 AM
After suffering through some abuse some other posters, Abe had this 1 week ago. Abe called it. Well done recruiters. This boy will be a critical player for us.

Welcome Monsieur Tillie! You have made an excellent choice. I'm very glad you will be joining the Zags in 2016.

Abe, I'm also happy you are happy with Abe :-)

cggonzaga
08-29-2015, 10:58 AM
Great get! I have high hopes for Mr. Tillie!

ZagNative
08-29-2015, 10:58 AM
This may have been posted elsewhere, but I liked it: 2015 FIBA 3x3 U18 World Championships


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_l8svTafXr4

MDABE80
08-29-2015, 10:58 AM
At least I got 3rd person singulardown:) Really good kid. We'll be happy with this one! In person he's long, moves like an athlete. Very happy over this.

LongIslandZagFan
08-29-2015, 11:01 AM
Nice get... I know I've seen only mixes, but I really like what I have seen in those.

GonzagasaurusFlex
08-29-2015, 11:01 AM
At least I got 3rd person singulardown:) Really good kid. We'll be happy with this one! In person he's long, moves like an athlete. Very happy over this.

Yeah, the Euro pipeline continues in a big way with Killian Tillie....ZagNation will be happy indeed.
After re-watching the 3 v 3 highlights, another aspect of his game I like is his passing (to go with his athleticism, length and shooting). Kid seems like a 5-tool player, so to speak.

ZagNative
08-29-2015, 11:20 AM
Scholie table updated:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Lw8CtUD890o/VeIFHOAwZzI/AAAAAAACkdI/Ug7EFifbWNw/s1152-Ic42/2015-08-29%252520scholies.jpg

ZagaZags
08-29-2015, 11:34 AM
This is a great addition for the 2016 recruiting class. Nice call Abe.

sittingon50
08-29-2015, 11:37 AM
Sweet!

ZagNative
08-29-2015, 11:49 AM
Nice DraftExpress video interview here.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jn2KZQKUYxo

scott257
08-29-2015, 11:53 AM
I think Edwards played a season before his redshirt year so the table may be off by one year for him. At least that is what I seem to remember, and that is subject to error more frequently than I would like sometimes.

willandi
08-29-2015, 11:59 AM
I think Edwards played a season before his redshirt year so the table may be off by one year for him. At least that is what I seem to remember, and that is subject to error more frequently than I would like sometimes.

He did, but the chart looks right. It has a RS and 3 more years.

Welcome Mssr Tillie!

MDABE80
08-29-2015, 12:14 PM
Thanks fo the update ZN! We're headed for a title if we can keep all these hosses down on the farm!

Chicken Ball
08-29-2015, 12:19 PM
Here's a link to all the draftexpress evals. Interesting to compare from eval to eval. Looks like we got a good one.

http://www.draftexpress.com/article/FIBA-Europe-U18-Championship-Scouting-Reports-Power-Forwards-5202/

whatazag
08-29-2015, 12:20 PM
Woohoo! Think this kid is going to do big things for the Zags.

jazzdelmar
08-29-2015, 12:20 PM
17-18 looks stupendous, if everyone stays.

DixieZag
08-29-2015, 12:23 PM
Is he a stretch 4? Or 5?

Some of us still don't know a ton about him.

Does he play immediately, or build up that body?

exclusivelee
08-29-2015, 12:38 PM
The staff want Killian Tillie to play both small forward and power forward but perhaps more at PF

Tillie is now 2.06m (6'9") WITHOUT shoes

Might as well merge the 2 threads

MickMick
08-29-2015, 12:40 PM
He breaks to the hoop quickly. With or without the ball. So decisive and so quick.

A real gem.

I look forward to watching him in the transition game. Edwards needs to start working on that outlet pass....immediately if not sooner.

'17 up-tempo is open for business. run run run

ZagNative
08-29-2015, 12:42 PM
From Draft Express:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-aEDxQx782xQ/VeINiVsHYfI/AAAAAAACkdY/IZRBoRGMELc/s353-Ic42/2015-08-29%252520Killian%252520Tillie%252520stats.jpg

webspinnre
08-29-2015, 12:43 PM
Is he a stretch 4? Or 5?

Some of us still don't know a ton about him.

Does he play immediately, or build up that body?

From what I can tell, Stretch-4.

ZagNative
08-29-2015, 12:52 PM
NBC Sports story (http://collegebasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/2015/08/29/french-power-forward-killian-tillie-commits-to-gonzaga/)

The 6-foot-8 Tillie, whose older brother Kim played at Utah, is a native of France who plays for INSEP Academy in Paris. Last summer Tillie represented France at the FIBA U16 European Championships, averaging 14.3 points and 9.6 rebounds per game in helping lead the team to the title. Tillie, who led the event in field goal percentage (63.4 percent), was named tournament MVP.

Tillie also represented France in this summer’s FIBA U18 3-on-3 World Championships, an event in which the French finished third. France defeated the United States team, which included Tillie’s future teammate Collins, in the quarterfinals.

Tillie and Collins are key additions for Gonzaga moving forward, as they’ll lose seniors Kyle Wiltjer and Przemek Karnowski at the end of the 2015-16 campaign. Both Tillie and Collins have the skill to be immediate contributors for the Bulldogs when they arrive on campus, and given the departures they’ll need to be.

jchocolate99
08-29-2015, 01:03 PM
well this makes up for missing out on Nolan Narains recruitment for me. It's definitely going to be a blessing have JW3 to team up with Edwards when Collins and Tillian come in. They will both be contributors but with JW3 and Edwards it's not as "urgent" for them to produce right away... Yes, I know Sabonis will still have eligibility but I'm just lowering my expectation that he'll jump after this season

sittingon50
08-29-2015, 01:04 PM
From the BYU board:

http://www.cougarboard.com/board/message.html?id=14476740

ZagNative
08-29-2015, 01:06 PM
Another tweet:
Fran Fraschilla ‏@franfraschilla

Gonzaga strikes again in Europe as Frenchman Killian Tillie commits. When Ronny Turiaf became a Zag, who could have predicted all this

zag67
08-29-2015, 01:16 PM
Yes, I agree with many people that think Sabonis is potentially going after this year. But I think that if he and his dad decide that another year would better prepare his mid range shots, then I think he might come back for one more year. If he does, then he and Edwards would be great role models for are two newcomers. That way Tillie and Collins would not be expected to immediately be super productive. Either way, I think this team will be great for the next few years.

Birddog
08-29-2015, 01:34 PM
I believed ! Abe

ZagNative
08-29-2015, 01:43 PM
Interesting eval from Draft Express:

FIBA Europe U18 Championship Scouting Reports: Power Forwards
August 6, 2015
Jonathan Givony

Strengths:
-Good athlete. Runs floor well. Good leaper off two feet. Bouncy

-Good frame that should fill out nicely in time

-Has the potential to develop into a capable outside threat. Can make a catch and shoot jumper. Solid mechanics. Elevates a bit. Has a quick release.

-Very good offensive rebounder. Quick to the ball. Good instincts pursuing loose balls. Always puts himself in the mix. Often able to get to it first due to the quickness in which he gets off the ground
-Shows potential on defense. Fairly competitive. Moves feet. Mobile enough to step out onto the perimeter with long hedges

-Year younger than the competition as a 1998-born prospect

Weaknesses:

-Not exceptionally long

-Does not appear to possess a very high skill-level or a great feel for the game at this stage

-Mostly a garbage man offensively. Lives off cuts, offensive rebounds, transition finishes and the occasional spot-up jumper

-Needs to continue to improve his post game, footwork, ball-handling skills and become a more consistent outside shooter

-Gets posted up inside due to his lack of lower body strength. Struggles to hold ground inside the paint.

-Does not posses great awareness on defense at this stage. Looks very upright in his stance. Struggles to bend his knees

-Not a shot-blocker at all (due to lack of length and awareness?)

-Had an injury plagued season. Missed 73% of team's regular season games, then got hurt in third game of U18s. Something to be concerned about long term?

Outlook: Son of volleyball pros (father from France, mother from Netherlands). Older brothers are also professional athletes. Kim plays basketball for Laboral Vitoria in Spain, and Kevin volleyball in Poland. MVP of the U16 European Championship last summer. Had a difficult 2014-2015 season due to injuries (broken thumb, stress fracture in foot, ankle). Will play one more year at INSEP and then move to the States to play college basketball (brothers played at Utah and U.C. Irvine). Likely will chose from Utah and Gonzaga. Cal and Miami are also in the mix.

From DraftExpress.com http://www.draftexpress.com/#ixzz3kF6NHMX8
http://www.draftexpress.com

Zag_Dad
08-29-2015, 01:48 PM
:000tens::000tens::000tens::000tens:

Ooh la la! C'est magnifique

ZagNative
08-29-2015, 02:18 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=23&v=jVMND84hvXg

hooter73
08-29-2015, 03:12 PM
Draft says not a shot blocker yet the highlights from his 3 on 3 time shows great length and timing.

jazzdelmar
08-29-2015, 03:22 PM
How many stars would he rate as a U.S. Prep?

Reborn
08-29-2015, 04:07 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=23&v=jVMND84hvXg

He doesn't look like a garbage man to me. He has a great pull-up, mid-range jumper, and I was impressed with his defense. I saw lots of jump shots going down. I'm seeing more of a 3 than a 4. He handles the ball like a 3. I think his defense is fine.

Martin Centre Mad Man
08-29-2015, 04:23 PM
https://starwarsanon.files.wordpress.com/2013/12/dancing-ewok-gif1.gif

Martin Centre Mad Man
08-29-2015, 04:30 PM
He doesn't look like a garbage man to me. He has a great pull-up, mid-range jumper, and I was impressed with his defense. I saw lots of jump shots going down. I'm seeing more of a 3 than a 4. He handles the ball like a 3. I think his defense is fine.

He had a nice baby hook, too. He's also a great ball handler for a 6'8" wing. This kid is very well developed offensively for a kid his age. I can't wait to see him in a Gonzaga uniform.

Ekrub
08-29-2015, 05:19 PM
After suffering through some minor abuse some other posters, Abe had this 1 week ago. Abe called it. Well done recruiters. This boy will be a critical player for us.

You know what they say about broken clocks?

willandi
08-29-2015, 06:02 PM
You know what they say about broken clocks?

Play nice.

GonzagasaurusFlex
08-29-2015, 07:28 PM
How many stars would he rate as a U.S. Prep?

Pre-verbal commit to Zags: 4 Star
Now: 3 Star

gonzagafan62
08-29-2015, 08:00 PM
From the BYU board:

http://www.cougarboard.com/board/message.html?id=14476740

Bitter!

gonzagafan62
08-29-2015, 08:01 PM
Pre-verbal commit to Zags: 4 Star
Now: 3 Star

Ha! About right. 4 for sure though

cggonzaga
08-29-2015, 08:27 PM
Agreed Reborn. Looks like a 3 to me unless he really fills out

maynard g krebs
08-29-2015, 09:10 PM
Bitter!

They're just jealous of his big loaf of bread.

ZagsObserver
08-29-2015, 09:45 PM
3 star. Great addition but don't count on him to be a starter initially.

hooter73
08-29-2015, 10:17 PM
Pre-verbal commit to Zags: 4 Star
Now: 3 Star

lol aint that the truth

Zagger
08-30-2015, 08:08 AM
Doux!

GonzaGAW
08-30-2015, 08:09 AM
-of course I don't know much about this young man, but staff likes him and that is big positive.
- I note in one of his interviews he says playing professionally is his goal, but first would like to play in the ncaa for "3" years or so. sounds like he really is focused on elevating his game.
- I sure hope sabonis stays for a 3 or 4th year, I so much want to see him on the court with Collins and Tillie.

- young man welcome to Gonzaga! you have a second home and a new extended family.

TheZagster
08-30-2015, 12:04 PM
I think it's awesome to get such a great player like this! Maybe Jesse Wade can meet up with him sometime in the next year and a half in France and they can become great friends. Can't hurt to have a teammate that speaks fluent French to talk to in your native language. With the talent coming in, the future looks amazing!

zag buddy
08-30-2015, 03:10 PM
Welcome aboard Mr. Tillie

Zagdawg
08-30-2015, 06:15 PM
Ronny Turiaf ‏@Ronny_Turiaf 47m47 minutes ago View translation
Welcome to the #Zags Family @KillianTillie! #FutureIsBright

Bienvenue dans la famille! Tu as bien choisis! #Zags J'ai hate de voir ca!

Translation:
Welcome to the #Zags Family @KillianTillie! #FutureIsBright Welcome to the family! You have chosen well! #Zags I hate to see it!

ZaggyDog
08-30-2015, 07:57 PM
#Zags I hate to see it! :explode:

I think it should be more like, "I'm looking forward to watching you!". :D

bigblahla
08-31-2015, 07:31 PM
Excellent get..another building block...welcome aboard....

Go!! Zags!!!

Zagdawg
10-01-2015, 03:18 PM
Not sure if these are new---

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUBwvnC5bLs


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jVMND84hvXg

Zagricultural
10-01-2015, 09:01 PM
Good fit. Excited!

hooter73
10-01-2015, 09:32 PM
The kids obviously got talent but the sooner he gets state side and working with some coaches, the better.

Coach Crazy
10-02-2015, 10:16 PM
If he can shore up that long range, he could definitely be a productive 3.

Zagdawg
03-24-2016, 11:45 AM
Google Translated-- Is this a relative of Killian?

Sylvain Bourdois Chupin - 24/03/2016

Tillie and Vitoria surprise Barca
Kim Tillie
Kim Tillie proved valuable against Barcelona

Sylvain Bourdois Chupin - 24/03/2016
On the occasion of the 12th day of the Top 16 Euroleague , Vitoria surprised Barca , winning 75-71 . In the absence of Fabien Talker ( back injury ) , the Basque club could count on a very good Kim Tillie .
French interior holder Vitoria, Kim Tillie has again demonstrated a very effective last night against Barcelona . The French Interior , who finished the game with 10 points and 6 rebounds , was shown especially by giving the advantage to Vitoria marking a very important basket 1'45 '' buzzer .

The Basques , victors in Barcelona ( 75-71 ) for the third time in three games this season , are now second in Group F. A victory CSKA (Thursday in Bamberg ) or Real ( Friday Olympiakos ) qualify for Vitoria the quarterfinals of the Euroleague .

http://www.ffbb.com/tillie-et-vitoria-surprennent-le-barca

soccerdud
03-24-2016, 11:47 AM
Google Translated

Sylvain Bourdois Chupin - 24/03/2016

Tillie and Vitoria surprise Barca
Kim Tillie
Kim Tillie proved valuable against Barcelona

Sylvain Bourdois Chupin - 24/03/2016
On the occasion of the 12th day of the Top 16 Euroleague , Vitoria surprised Barca , winning 75-71 . In the absence of Fabien Talker ( back injury ) , the Basque club could count on a very good Kim Tillie .
French interior holder Vitoria, Kim Tillie has again demonstrated a very effective last night against Barcelona . The French Interior , who finished the game with 10 points and 6 rebounds , was shown especially by giving the advantage to Vitoria marking a very important basket 1'45 '' buzzer .

The Basques , victors in Barcelona ( 75-71 ) for the third time in three games this season , are now second in Group F. A victory CSKA (Thursday in Bamberg ) or Real ( Friday Olympiakos ) qualify for Vitoria the quarterfinals of the Euroleague .

http://www.ffbb.com/tillie-et-vitoria-surprennent-le-barca

kim tillie is killian's brother. played at utah. not our guy.

Zagdawg
03-24-2016, 11:53 AM
That is right--thank you

Has anyone heard anything about Killian recently?

soccerdud
03-24-2016, 12:20 PM
That is right--thank you

Has anyone heard anything about Killian recently?

just that he (along with jacob larsen) has not played much this season due to injuries. i spent a little while looking, and was unable to find any details on the injury, when it occurred, or when he'll play again.

mtnZag
03-24-2016, 04:51 PM
From Twitter:

Tillie will be an All America at Gonzaga!

titopoet
03-24-2016, 05:05 PM
Tillie will be an All America at Gonzaga!

Saw him play Zack Collins in last years 3 on 3 international (online). Quick leaper (E Harris quick). Needs work on footwork and polish of his game, but would a 4 star recruit that can develop into one special player. Next years class rivals Pangos/Bell/Spangler/KD class.

Zagceo
03-24-2016, 05:52 PM
Looks like he's been lifting

http://i914.photobucket.com/albums/ac342/ceo_500/image_zpsqnseksn5.png

WallaWallaZag
03-25-2016, 12:45 AM
heard that he's added an inch or two and doesn't appear to be done yet...probably growing out of the sf position and into a stretch 4.

cggonzaga
03-25-2016, 07:09 AM
For what it is worth, Few has called him a 4 since he signed.

Coach Crazy
03-25-2016, 07:42 AM
heard that he's added an inch or two and doesn't appear to be done yet...probably growing out of the sf position and into a stretch 4.

Very well could. But based on his frame and length, he could still add height, weight, and still be able to play the 3 very well. The upcoming Zag teams are going to be very, very long.

Zagdawg
06-07-2016, 12:31 PM
The French Forward Discusses Why Gonzaga Was The Best Fit For Him

“The success of Gonzaga with International bigs like Sabonis and Karnowski played a major role in my choice,” he admitted. “It was very important for me that the coaches had a lot of experience with International players. They have even had success with French players like Ronny Turiaf!!”

“I am a more versatile player that can play the 3 and the 4,” the Frenchman explained. “I can shoot the three and also drive to the basket, which I think is very important for the modern 4-man. I always put energy in my game, especially on the offensive boards and on defense.”

http://www.scout.com/college/gonzaga/story/1676430-killian-tillie-talks-gonzaga-decision

ZagaZags
06-07-2016, 12:50 PM
Looks like he's been lifting

http://i914.photobucket.com/albums/ac342/ceo_500/image_zpsqnseksn5.png

Damn!!! Did he begin the Olynyk Clinic early?

http://www.gifmania.co.uk/Animated-Cartoons-Animated-Gifs/Animated-Hanna-Barbera/Popeye-Sailor/Popeye-Eating-Spinach-87170.gif

El Zag
06-07-2016, 01:02 PM
http://www.fiba.com/news/tillie-takes-big-step-back-from-injury-setbacks

zag buddy
06-07-2016, 01:13 PM
He definitely will help the team. With his schedule I guess the first time we will get to see him live will be at midnight madness.

johno
06-07-2016, 01:16 PM
Anyone know if those outdoor courts put more stress on the body than an average indoor court?

Mantua
06-07-2016, 02:27 PM
Anyone know if those outdoor courts put more stress on the body than an average indoor court?

I did know a high school coach who would not allow his players to play on asphalt or ski. I think it's fairly obvious that the outdoor courts' hard surfaces are not good for bodies just as running on hard surfaces. Neither are kind to joints.

Zags_Fanatic
06-07-2016, 03:11 PM
Anyone know if those outdoor courts put more stress on the body than an average indoor court?

This article is from last year. That was the same tourney that Zach Collins played in.

kitzbuel
06-08-2016, 03:56 AM
http://www.fiba.com/news/tillie-takes-big-step-back-from-injury-setbacks

Great news. Very excited to see him in a Zag uni.

Mantua
06-08-2016, 02:23 PM
When do Tilley and Larson touch down on campus?

Zagdawg
07-07-2016, 10:30 AM
http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/13561710_293966104287402_1919549761_n.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/13561710_293966104287402_1919549761_n.jpg.html)

exclusivelee
07-07-2016, 10:50 AM
When do Tilley and Larson touch down on campus?
Likely at the end of August, in time for orientation & Fall courses to begin

Looks like Jacob Glarbjerg Larsen just graduated from high school late last month (the hat he is referring to is a student cap (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Student_cap#Denmark)):

http://i.imgur.com/AS4S4w6.jpg

thespywhozaggedme
07-07-2016, 11:35 AM
Likely at the end of August, in time for orientation & Fall courses to begin

Looks like Jacob Glarbjerg Larsen just graduated from high school late last month (the hat he is referring to is a student cap (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Student_cap#Denmark)):

http://i.imgur.com/AS4S4w6.jpg

Man, he bears an uncanny resemblance to that giant amazon chick from 3rd rock from the sun.

strikenowhere
07-07-2016, 11:58 AM
Likely at the end of August, in time for orientation & Fall courses to begin

Looks like Jacob Glarbjerg Larsen just graduated from high school late last month (the hat he is referring to is a student cap (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Student_cap#Denmark)):

http://i.imgur.com/AS4S4w6.jpg

Uh oh - he's in a picture holding a bottle of (presumably) alcohol. When will the NCAA declare him ineligible for a undetermined number of games while they "investigate"?

Zagdawg
07-07-2016, 12:15 PM
He's in Denmark -- legal age 16-18 to buy alcohol........nothing to see here ......move along.......

Zagdawg
07-26-2016, 10:10 AM
Gonzaga Basketball ‏@ZagMBB 2m2 minutes ago
The French forward @KillianTillie will rock #33 next season! Welcome to the fam Killian! ����

exclusivelee
07-26-2016, 05:51 PM
Gonzaga Basketball ‏@ZagMBB 2m2 minutes ago
The French forward @KillianTillie will rock #33 next season! Welcome to the fam Killian! 🔵🔴
http://i.imgur.com/E5AfGg4.jpg

Zagdawg
07-26-2016, 06:13 PM
"It progresses quickly to Killian Tillie (Basketball - University of GONZAGA - USA)." Tillie working with a coach (Christophe Keller) in France --posted today (he needs a Zag shirt).

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Tillie%201.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Tillie%201.jpg.html)

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Tillie%202.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Tillie%202.jpg.html)

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Tillie%203.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Tillie%203.jpg.html)

strikenowhere
07-26-2016, 06:59 PM
"It progresses quickly to Killian Tillie (Basketball - University of GONZAGA - USA)." Tillie working with a coach (Christophe Keller) in France --posted today (he needs a Zag shirt).

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Tillie%201.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Tillie%201.jpg.html)

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Tillie%202.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Tillie%202.jpg.html)

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Tillie%203.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Tillie%203.jpg.html)

Hah nice shirt :)

hooter73
07-26-2016, 07:40 PM
That shirt is half of my workout philosophy. The other half is "many times, as fast as possible."

I like him.

madness
07-26-2016, 09:17 PM
Haha, I need that shirt as well! Fast fan favorite for Killian!

Baseline
07-27-2016, 06:58 AM
I watched Tille play 3x3 against Collins and others last year, he looked, very good, but looked very skinny.The pictures of him working out show he has put on a lot of muscle compared to then. If he ups his game with the added muscle he could be a real surprise.
Does GU redshirt foreign players.

exclusivelee
07-27-2016, 07:09 AM
Does GU redshirt foreign players.

I can only notice 2 international recruits on scholarship redshirting at Gonzaga as freshmen since the 1990s:

2003-04: Calum MacLeod (enrolled midseason)
2006-07: Theo Davis (injury)

zagamatic
07-27-2016, 09:31 AM
I thought that Theo Davis was from Minnesota or something like that?

webspinnre
07-27-2016, 09:57 AM
I thought that Theo Davis was from Minnesota or something like that?

Canadian, though may have played prep school in US.

willandi
07-27-2016, 07:02 PM
I thought that Theo Davis was from Minnesota or something like that?

Minnesota is still part of the US!

Bogozags
07-28-2016, 04:44 AM
Minnesota is still part of the US!

That's good news, so when we visit M-SP, we don't need to bring our pass-a-ports :-)

scrooner
07-28-2016, 06:32 AM
Too much good talent. Maybe we can try to play 8 on 8?

SageOfZagville
07-28-2016, 07:48 PM
Tillie in 2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jVMND84hvXg

Goshzagit
07-28-2016, 08:03 PM
I see so many similarities to Iowa's former star player, Jarrod Uthoff.

Long, lanky, underrated leaper, finishes well, nice touch, uses length, offensive put backs, scores in spurts.

Very similar styles at the same stage.

Tillie has a high ceiling, if he stays healthy. Slower progression, but given his tumultuous yr in hoops i just hope he sticks with it.

I think he may get overshadowed a bit this season due to lack of strength, experience, nagging injuries, but could see an Olynyk type rise if he stays with us. Maybe a RS in the works?

Sometimes i wonder if we are bringing in too many international players/talent at one time. Everyone seeking their development & opportunity...at the same time.

Our success with international talent has lead to an embarrassment of riches...yet will be extremely tough to please all newcomers. It will take time, patience, & hard work by coaches as well as new guys.

ZagaZags
07-28-2016, 09:52 PM
I see so many similarities to Iowa's former star player, Jarrod Uthoff.

Long, lanky, underrated leaper, finishes well, nice touch, uses length, offensive put backs, scores in spurts.

Very similar styles at the same stage.

Tillie has a high ceiling, if he stays healthy. Slower progression, but given his tumultuous yr in hoops i just hope he sticks with it.

I think he may get overshadowed a bit this season due to lack of strength, experience, nagging injuries, but could see an Olynyk type rise if he stays with us. Maybe a RS in the works?

Sometimes i wonder if we are bringing in too many international players/talent at one time. Everyone seeking their development & opportunity...at the same time.

Our success with international talent has lead to an embarrassment of riches...yet will be extremely tough to please all newcomers. It will take time, patience, & hard work by coaches as well as new guys.

Nice comparison. I like it. :cheers:

hooter73
07-28-2016, 09:53 PM
http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/Tillie%201.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/Tillie%201.jpg.html)


Tried this at the gym today. Couldnt even get down to get the kettle bell without my legs shaking apart. Stinking college high level athletes... lol.

Coach Crazy
07-29-2016, 06:12 AM
We'll have to see him play, at this point. I hear Coach Few leaning more toward stretch 4, and I hear Killian saying that he's a fan of KD's game.

To be honest, his frame and his style of play seem to fit more of the latter. I just don't see a post player at this point. And if he were to hit 225-ish on the scale, I think you fee good about that and play him primarily on the wing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

exclusivelee
07-30-2016, 01:06 PM
I'd have to think Killian Tillie's knee has been recovering pretty well:

Video: https://www.instagram.com/p/BIIGOL2jfgZ/
Video: https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1140787929316451&id=337262413002344

http://i.imgur.com/UpQTsh0.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/4KHfrvM.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/KE78iWz.png
http://i.imgur.com/vw3K6Qq.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/PHp4qhf.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/gqhRVAR.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/COTK3e9.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/q0gRyA4.jpg

Zagdawg
08-03-2016, 12:33 PM
kill_till_14Working hard for next season ! #summergoals

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/13741036_640036452818621_1346677759_n.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/13741036_640036452818621_1346677759_n.jpg.html)

Coach Crazy
08-03-2016, 12:43 PM
kill_till_14Working hard for next season ! #summergoals

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/13741036_640036452818621_1346677759_n.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/13741036_640036452818621_1346677759_n.jpg.html)

Can't go wrong with an ab wheel. Those and bridges are awesome.

Goshzagit
08-03-2016, 01:11 PM
Can't go wrong with an ab wheel. Those and bridges are awesome.

Our Coaches & Travis are giving Tillie his workout plan. These are typical offseason exercises for the players - Tillie is doing exactlt what all our guys are doing in Spokane. Same plan. Good to see because he has a long way to go to physically compete. He can gain quickly if he puts the work in.

exclusivelee
08-03-2016, 02:03 PM
Hearing that Killian Tillie plans to play as a true freshman since his knee has recovered well now and he's getting closer to his preferred playing situation. 6'10" and around 200 lbs now, but with nutrionist, personal chef, unlimited meals at Gonzaga, as well as training with strength and conditioning coach Travis Knight, we may see Tillie fill out after some time

zagsfanforlife
08-03-2016, 02:20 PM
Hearing that Killian Tillie plans to play as a true freshman since his knee has recovered well now and he's getting closer to his preferred playing situation. 6'10" and around 200 lbs now, but with nutrionist, personal chef, unlimited meals at Gonzaga, as well as training with strength and conditioning coach Travis Knight, we may see Tillie fill out after some time

Is there a spot for him? I see a 9 man rotation already without.

Coach Crazy
08-03-2016, 02:37 PM
Is there a spot for him? I see a 9 man rotation already without.

Yeah, it would seem like a waste of a year to play almost no minutes. Mt. K, J3, Mathews, JP, and NWG with ZC, ZN, Rui, and Silas would make 9. Seems like he would be better off taking a red shirt campaign. But who knows? Maybe Mark and Co. will master the 10-man rotation...

BULLDOG#1
08-04-2016, 09:49 AM
Yeah, it would seem like a waste of a year to play almost no minutes. Mt. K, J3, Mathews, JP, and NWG with ZC, ZN, Rui, and Silas would make 9. Seems like he would be better off taking a red shirt campaign. But who knows? Maybe Mark and Co. will master the 10-man rotation...

I wouldn't be surprised if he cracked the rotation. He's not quite the question mark that Rui is, and like Rui, he's got a very high ceiling.

Bogozags
08-04-2016, 12:09 PM
Yeah, it would seem like a waste of a year to play almost no minutes. Mt. K, J3, Mathews, JP, and NWG with ZC, ZN, Rui, and Silas would make 9. Seems like he would be better off taking a red shirt campaign. But who knows? Maybe Mark and Co. will master the 10-man rotation...

Coach I think these nine and Tille could play pre-conference to see how they fit into the flow BUT when conference play begins, the PT could well be reduced for one, two or three of these players...

Depending on how practice and OCC play goes for Edwards, he could earn some minutes as well...

If we hit on all eight cylinders and we stay healthy, then we could be a strong force to be reckoned...

cggonzaga
08-04-2016, 12:14 PM
I don't think a 10-11 (Jones) rotation is a bad thing. It doesn't mean all 11 guys play 20mpg. I'd rather have a larger rotation and keep guys fresh throughout the year. In close games you obviously go with the 7-8 man rotation.

Coach Crazy
08-04-2016, 12:36 PM
Coach I think these nine and Tille could play pre-conference to see how they fit into the flow BUT when conference play begins, the PT could well be reduced for one, two or three of these players...

Depending on how practice and OCC play goes for Edwards, he could earn some minutes as well...

If we hit on all eight cylinders and we stay healthy, then we could be a strong force to be reckoned...

It's definitely not impossible. I just have a really hard time with him getting any significant amounts of time with us having not only a strong 3-man rotation at the Big's (Mt. K, J3, and ZC) but honestly the deepest guard depth I think we have ever had (provided they don't pee the bed).

Coach Crazy
08-04-2016, 01:17 PM
I don't think a 10-11 (Jones) rotation is a bad thing. It doesn't mean all 11 guys play 20mpg. I'd rather have a larger rotation and keep guys fresh throughout the year. In close games you obviously go with the 7-8 man rotation.

I don't think it is a bad thing, either. And as someone that would prefer a suffocating style of defensive play, and and an offense centered around efficiency, I would love to see a 10-man rotation. Having said that, it just usually ends up being 7 or 8 players that work best, for one reason or another.

If Coach Few can figure out how to get that size of a rotation going, then he would just have to figure out how to maximize their "next level" potential within that system. If he were to get to that point, it would be yet another step. But who know's if they are even thinking that way...

I can't really complain about the roster philosophy, or the recruiting, though. We're seeing more than just about anyone could have realistically expected 3 or 4 years ago.

btzag
08-04-2016, 06:17 PM
It's definitely not impossible. I just have a really hard time with him getting any significant amounts of time with us having not only a strong 3-man rotation at the Big's (Mt. K, J3, and ZC) but honestly the deepest guard depth I think we have ever had (provided they don't pee the bed).

I think Tillie will be fighting for that backup PF position and would not be surprised if that is where he ends up. We already know Karno is coming back from a major injury so will be coming along slowly and I just cannot see Collins playing the 4. Collins playing the 4 for me is like the idea of the big 3 last year, just doesn't work out. MY thought is it will be Karno/ZC at the 5, JW/Tillie at the 4 and Edwards is the odd man out. Really want to see Larsen RS....

raise the zag
08-04-2016, 07:09 PM
I think Tillie will be fighting for that backup PF position and would not be surprised if that is where he ends up. We already know Karno is coming back from a major injury so will be coming along slowly and I just cannot see Collins playing the 4. Collins playing the 4 for me is like the idea of the big 3 last year, just doesn't work out. MY thought is it will be Karno/ZC at the 5, JW/Tillie at the 4 and Edwards is the odd man out. Really want to see Larsen RS....

Tillie is no 4, not yet. Maybe in WCC play or when we are forced to play small.

Not a regular rotation 4. And not yet the shooter or shot blocker to play an Austin Daye type PF in our system.

His game is penetration, length, passing, & touch.

He is 190lbs. He will be a wing or hybrid forward until he matures. He's simply unable to be a regular rotation 4 in OOC play or NCAA. He would be decimated on defense, rebounding, even in the low block or banging bodies.

Tillie requires slashing & space & finesse to make his moves and utiilize his attributes.

He is oft injured due to his frame in Under 18 Euro play due to physicality. D1 physical play will be a jump.

Id argue he would RS before Larsen, although we are deeper at Larsens postion. Larsen is naturally strong, and well built.

Every yr it becomes more difficult to physically compete and many underestimate this fact. Even Sabonis admitted this was a shock and he was more than strong enough at the '4" position.

I think Tillie will play. He wants to...and its up to him. I envision him playing...and defending wings this season. If he develops and willing to return (i think we will see transfers or non returnees after this season), he will develop into a prototypical "stretch 4".

Jarrod Uthoff was much the same for Iowa. Took awhile to physically develop, find a postion, and he was Mr. IOWA. Perfect comparison.

maynard g krebs
08-04-2016, 09:55 PM
I think Tillie will be fighting for that backup PF position and would not be surprised if that is where he ends up. We already know Karno is coming back from a major injury so will be coming along slowly and I just cannot see Collins playing the 4. Collins playing the 4 for me is like the idea of the big 3 last year, just doesn't work out. MY thought is it will be Karno/ZC at the 5, JW/Tillie at the 4 and Edwards is the odd man out. Really want to see Larsen RS....

Disagree. Collins is perfectly capable of playing the 4. Can shoot and stretch the floor, plenty mobile and skilled. PF is probably his position in the pros anyway.

Coach Crazy
08-05-2016, 06:26 AM
I think Tillie will be fighting for that backup PF position and would not be surprised if that is where he ends up. We already know Karno is coming back from a major injury so will be coming along slowly and I just cannot see Collins playing the 4. Collins playing the 4 for me is like the idea of the big 3 last year, just doesn't work out. MY thought is it will be Karno/ZC at the 5, JW/Tillie at the 4 and Edwards is the odd man out. Really want to see Larsen RS....

Why do you feel this way? I have a hard time telling a kid who is closer to a 4 in weight, has handles, has mobility, post moves, and can shoot, that he can't play the 4.

Zagdawg
08-05-2016, 06:52 AM
Agree-- he is the prototypical 4 man-- banging against big centers will not help him in the long term-- thank goodness for Big K being here to help him ease his way into the mix.

BULLDOG#1
08-05-2016, 07:06 AM
There isn't a whole lot of Killie tape to review. Many of the videos are older when he looked lanky and super thin.

The 3-3 tournament, though, was eye opening. He showed the ability to thrive against some of the best in America. Granted, it was 3-3 and not a structured 5-5 fullcourt game... But he definitely showed he had the athleticism and skill set to hang with the big boys.

Looking at that video, he almost certainly looks like a long 3, not a 4. His height alone could put him at he 4, but he doesn't look like a back to the bucket guy - seems that could give up too much of his skill set.

Hard to tell from what's available though. Still, I see him as a wing player, not a post.

BTW: if Witljer could play the stretch 4 (quite effectively) with Karno in the paint, then Collins certainly can. Collins can't shoot like KW (not many do), but his athleticism looks better. I expect to see a lot of sets with Karno and Collins playing together. They would be a nightmare for teams both on offense and defense.

Coach Crazy
08-05-2016, 07:13 AM
There isn't a whole lot of Killie tape to review. Many of the videos are older when he looked lanky and super thin.

The 3-3 tournament, though, was eye opening. He showed the ability to thrive against some of the best in America. Granted, it was 3-3 and not a structured 5-5 fullcourt game... But he definitely showed he had the athleticism and skill set to hang with the big boys.

Looking at that video, he almost certainly looks like a long 3, not a 4. His height alone could put him at he 4, but he doesn't look like a back to the bucket guy - seems that could give up too much of his skill set.

Hard to tell from what's available though. Still, I see him as a wing player, not a post.

BTW: if Witljer could play the stretch 4 (quite effectively) with Karno in the paint, then Collins certainly can. Collins can't shoot like KW (not many do), but his athleticism looks better. I expect to see a lot of sets with Karno and Collins playing together. They would be a nightmare for teams both on offense and defense.

And he wants to have a game like Kevin Durant's. Not that he will ever be that good, but it seems his frame would allow for that style of play. No need to try and bulk him up and make him a 4. Get him to a healthy playing weight, let him be that kind of Durant-style player, and in match ups where he can be a stretch 4, so be it.

Bogozags
08-05-2016, 07:16 AM
It's definitely not impossible. I just have a really hard time with him getting any significant amounts of time with us having not only a strong 3-man rotation at the Big's (Mt. K, J3, and ZC) but honestly the deepest guard depth I think we have ever had (provided they don't pee the bed).

Coach I agree with you on almost all your posts BUT I remember the big improvements Rob made at the beginning of his junior year. I just think that he will be a big piece to the puzzle next year and Coach Few will, if Edwards works at improving his foot work on defence, then he could get minutes...again, we won't know until the season begins but I believe it is possible.

Coach Crazy
08-05-2016, 07:26 AM
Coach I agree with you on almost all your posts BUT I remember the big improvements Rob made at the beginning of his junior year. I just think that he will be a big piece to the puzzle next year and Coach Few will, if Edwards works at improving his foot work on defence, then he could get minutes...again, we won't know until the season begins but I believe it is possible.

That's fair, Bogo. I was hoping he was going to be an impact center coming out of his year in "The Clynyc". It works out for us, if he does show the improvement necessary. I was not encouraged by the clips that have been posted. But being wrong about him would mean we, once again, have one of the deepest front line's in college basketball (Although, perhaps having 3 also puts us there, potentially? And maybe having 4 makes us the deepest?).

Zagdawg
08-05-2016, 08:02 AM
One of the biggest advantages we have is who our guys go against in practice every day. We have seen this for a number of years recently -- where the guys they practice against on a daily basis are better than the competitors they see during the weekly games--- and they love being able to cut loose against the opposing teams during games.

How would you like to be Collins against JW3 every day -- or Perkins against NWG every day (last year) the guard trying to keep Norvell from shooting the three -- the guy trying to keep Rui off the glass -- the improvements our guys can make between the beginning of the year and the end in that kind of environment is impressive.

The depth will pay dividends.

Go Zags

Goshzagit
08-05-2016, 08:54 AM
A huge part of Collins game is his 15 foot jumpshot, even perimeter shot is solid -- better than Sabonis from deep. Has excellent handles as well.

Collins isnt some lumbering 6'11 banger.

He will be a "stretch" forward & post player for us.

If you listen to or read any of his interviews, he chose Gonzaga initially because they allow their post guys to shoot. He said Wiltjer was a GINORMOUS reason his is a Zag.

From his RS development to his freedom to mix it up.

Collins prides himself on his shooting prowess.

Sure, he will log time at 5 but he is here because he wants to shoot.

Yes, he can block shots & score in the paint - and will - but i suggesy you get used to the idea of him playing on perimeter, mid range, & the post. Its why he was an AA as well.

VaBeachZAG
08-05-2016, 09:15 AM
A huge part of Collins game is his 15 foot jumpshot, even perimeter shot is solid -- better than Sabonis from deep. Has excellent handles as well.

Collins isnt some lumbering 6'11 banger.

He will be a "stretch" forward & post player for us.

If you listen to or read any of his interviews, he chose Gonzaga initially because they allow their post guys to shoot. He said Wiltjer was a GINORMOUS reason his is a Zag.

From his RS development to his freedom to mix it up.

Collins prides himself on his shooting prowess.

Sure, he will log time at 5 but he is here because he wants to shoot.

Yes, he can block shots & score in the paint - and will - but i suggesy you get used to the idea of him playing on perimeter, mid range, & the post. Its why he was an AA as well.

I see nothing here to disagree with. I don't think Collins sees himself as a full time post player, nor do I think he is interested in becoming one now or in the future (remind anyone of a 6-11 shooter some years back?). So my question is, why are we not going hard after a solid post player for the future? Assuming PK works out this year, the post playing cupboard seems dry for the following years. As much as I would love to see Edwards develop into a starter-quality post player, I just don't see it happening.

seacatfan
08-05-2016, 09:38 AM
I see nothing here to disagree with. I don't think Collins sees himself as a full time post player, nor do I think he is interested in becoming one now or in the future (remind anyone of a 6-11 shooter some years back?). So my question is, why are we not going hard after a solid post player for the future? Assuming PK works out this year, the post playing cupboard seems dry for the following years. As much as I would love to see Edwards develop into a starter-quality post player, I just don't see it happening.

If you are thinking of Heytvelt, that definitely crossed my mind as well.

As far as future post player, what about Larsen? I know we haven't seen him play yet, but down the road a few years he might be really solid. I just don't have any expectations for Edwards at this point. Last year was his third year in the program, if he hasn't taken big steps forward by that point...

All that being said, true low post players are kind of a dying breed. The Zags have had the luxury of having some lately, but if you look across most of the college bball landscape, many teams make due without. I think guard play is the most important factor for deep runs in the Tourney.

Reborn
08-05-2016, 10:35 AM
Collins will play the same type of game that Kyle Wiltjer did.

btzag
08-05-2016, 11:11 AM
Well from the opinions on this board it sounds like if Karno is not ready to go then Edwards is our starting 5!��

But seriously, I do understand the skill set of these newcomers but we have countless examples in gu history of different types of players at the 3, 4 and 5. There is no mold for the exact type of player few is looking for at each position and i guarantee he could care less about what position he thinks the player will be at in the nba! I mean even last year we played wiltjer and sabonis at both the 4 and 5 and they couldn't be more different as players. I'm still sticking to my opinion which is Tillie as a stretch 4 and Collins as a mobile 5.

Baseline
08-05-2016, 11:16 AM
I expect Collins to play the elbow, much like Olynix did. A high-low game with Collins high will be a nightmare for the opponents.

Collins will rotate between spelling Karno and JW3.

I think Tillie will challenge for the 3. He and Rui will be in an epic battle for time.

btzag
08-05-2016, 11:17 AM
Collins will play the same type of game that Kyle Wiltjer did.

It seems like there is more and more talk about this but his hs clips were exactly the opposite. My favorite thing I saw was how he liked to protect the rim and then on offense dunk on people. Hard. I know he can hit a 3 but from what I saw he is really missing the boat if he goes down that road like wiltjer or heytvelt.

Coach Crazy
08-05-2016, 12:22 PM
It seems like there is more and more talk about this but his hs clips were exactly the opposite. My favorite thing I saw was how he liked to protect the rim and then on offense dunk on people. Hard. I know he can hit a 3 but from what I saw he is really missing the boat if he goes down that road like wiltjer or heytvelt.

Putting him in either mold is going to cut out part of his game. He can handle the ball, move, shoot from just about anywhere, post, block shots, rebound, and pass. He's a 4 who may very well see some time at the 5. He's not Wilt. He's not Heyt. He's a version of big we have never had. He's a complete forward.

Goshzagit
08-05-2016, 01:31 PM
It seems like there is more and more talk about this but his hs clips were exactly the opposite. My favorite thing I saw was how he liked to protect the rim and then on offense dunk on people. Hard. I know he can hit a 3 but from what I saw he is really missing the boat if he goes down that road like wiltjer or heytvelt.

In his HS highlight reels, sure. And vs smaller players.

He does have incredible timing in blocking shots, in Heytvelts mold that way. He swats Melson & Perkins layups left & right, not many swat NWG as his instinct in placing shots in the right spot is unmatched.

Better handles than Josh yet not quite the vertical he had.

In todays NBA, they like 7 footers who stretch the floor.

Im basing off how i saw he was used in AAU tournies & MCAA game.

Also, here is ESPN's scouting report:

"He has a good looking frame with long arms, broad shoulders, and he's becoming more mobile. He is much more fluid runner in transition and he can finish plays in transition. The strength of his game is his ability to knock in jump shots out to 21-feet and he's a very underrated passer. His jump shot is smooth and his release is impeccable. In the paint area he can finish plays with either hand and his interior passing is high-level."

This kid is going to be a combo b/w Wiltjer & Sabonis in mamy ways.

btzag
08-05-2016, 01:56 PM
In his HS highlight reels, sure. And vs smaller players.

He does have incredible timing in blocking shots, in Heytvelts mold that way. He swats Melson & Perkins layups left & right, not many swat NWG as his instinct in placing shots in the right spot is unmatched.

Better handles than Josh yet not quite the vertical he had.

In todays NBA, they like 7 footers who stretch the floor.

Im basing off how i saw he was used in AAU tournies & MCAA game.

Also, here is ESPN's scouting report:

"He has a good looking frame with long arms, broad shoulders, and he's becoming more mobile. He is much more fluid runner in transition and he can finish plays in transition. The strength of his game is his ability to knock in jump shots out to 21-feet and he's a very underrated passer. His jump shot is smooth and his release is impeccable. In the paint area he can finish plays with either hand and his interior passing is high-level."

This kid is going to be a combo b/w Wiltjer & Sabonis in mamy ways.

Yeah agreed. I'm just saying if Karno is not able to start the season I want ZC starting at the 5. Or if Karno gets subbed out I want him at the 5. Most top-level ncaa teams and even many nba teams do not have a lumbering traditional 5 nowadays and with our length and up and down the court offense I think it would actually fit pretty well.

maynard g krebs
08-05-2016, 06:39 PM
Yeah agreed. I'm just saying if Karno is not able to start the season I want ZC starting at the 5. Or if Karno gets subbed out I want him at the 5. Most top-level ncaa teams and even many nba teams do not have a lumbering traditional 5 nowadays and with our length and up and down the court offense I think it would actually fit pretty well.

Agree w/ this part, i.e. that he can and will play both the 4 and 5, depending if he's paired with Karno or Williams. Disagreed w/ your earlier post saying he'd just back up Karno and that Tillie would back up Williams.

Mantua
08-14-2016, 03:36 PM
Do we know when Killian will arrive in Spokane? I imagine that he could be a spectator in Rio. His brother Kim Tillie is playing for the French basketball team and his brother Kévin Tillie is playing on the French volleyball team.

23dpg
08-15-2016, 12:01 PM
Do we know when Killian will arrive in Spokane? I imagine that he could be a spectator in Rio. His brother Kim Tillie is playing for the French basketball team and his brother Kévin Tillie is playing on the French volleyball team.

I saw part of the French game and assumed that Kim was his brother. What an athletic family.

sittingon50
08-15-2016, 05:49 PM
I apologize if the answer is buried somewhere in this thread, but was just watching the start of Brazil/France volleyball & they said that the head VB Coach from France is the Tillie player's father. Is that Killian's Dad?

exclusivelee
08-15-2016, 06:35 PM
I apologize if the answer is buried somewhere in this thread, but was just watching the start of Brazil/France volleyball & they said that the head VB Coach from France is the Tillie player's father. Is that Killian's Dad?
True

Zagdawg
08-15-2016, 06:56 PM
"He is the son of Laurent Tillie, a former professional volleyball player and coach of the French national team, and Caroline Keulen-Tillie, a former professional volleyball player from the Netherlands. Killian’s brothers are also professional athletes: Kim Tillie plays basketball, Kevin Tillie plays volleyball."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Killian_Tillie

sittingon50
08-15-2016, 07:05 PM
Thanks. Pretty impressive.

nish_mode
08-22-2016, 08:35 AM
Per Killian's instagram, his last day in France before he heads to the States is today.

Zags_Fanatic
08-22-2016, 08:56 AM
Need to recruit his girlfriend, Alexia Chartereau, for the Lady Zags! I assume they are a couple from his vacation pics. Looks like she is a star for their U-18 and U-20 teams and will turn 18 in September so she could be a good pick up for 2017.

Zagdawg
09-15-2016, 07:28 AM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 1h1 hour ago
French �� Killian Tillie has overcome injury & is ready to display his versatility at Gonzaga #ZagUp
@KillianTillie
http://www.bebasket.fr/championnat-a-l-etranger/killian-tillie-a-la-decouverte-de-la-ncaa.html …

Translation below:
There are two years, Killian Tillie (2.07 m, 18) out of a fantastic EuroBasket U16. MVP of a competition dominated head and shoulders by France, the little brother of Kim Tillie joined the Pôle France INSEP after training near his home in Antibes. But since he did not make the expected damage in National 1. The fault with many physical problems, especially last season. Suffered a knee injury during the EuroBasket U18 in Greece in the summer of 2015, he released a white season. And eight games NM1 only two seasons (8 points and 2.9 rebounds in 9.1 evaluation in 20 minutes).
That did not stop to go to the next level. Like his brothers, the youngest of Tillie opted for the American university system rather than turn professional at 18. "Several universities have approached me as Utah (where played Kim Tillie, Ed), Georgia Tech - which i visited - or Miami and Califonia But I really preferred Gonzaga especially for basketball side.." Gonzaga, a known French university basketball since three French have evolved there: Ronny Turiaf, Mathis Keita and Edy Guy Landry. "They have a lot of experience with the Europeans and the great, the coaching staff really attracted me and the players are really there to win. I like that mentality. This university life for basketball and it's huge d be basketball here! "
His knee injury, "it's over"
Arrived on August 23 in Spokane, the city where the small campus of Gonzaga, the Azuréen slowly discovers his new environment, where he could stay if he was four years after his studies. "For now, all is well. I am in an apartment with two other players, a Japanese and a Dane, who are also freshmen (first year). It especially trains individually and only twice per week in team because NCAA rules. It also makes the musculaton daily. " Not to mention the work of team cohesion. Earlier this week, Killian and Tillie returned from an outing camping team in the dense forest of Washington.
As for his injury, the young inside assures: they are behind him. "It's going much better. I worked all summer with Christian Corderas, the coach hopes of Antibes, on the basketball court, and Christopher Keller, physically. It really helped me overcome my injury knee."
In the footsteps of Sabonis and his brothers
Now measured 2.07 m, Killian Tillie has all the modern 4-position is for the top level. Quick, athletic, toned, it is very strong against the circle and presents real advantages for a team with a high basketball IQ. For success in Gonzaga in the footsteps of Domantas Sabonis, who shone with the Bulldogs last two seasons before being drafter in eleventh position by Orlando in June and Kyle Wiltjer ext 4 shooting guard also huge American-Canadian with Gonzaga between 2014 and 2016 (20.4 points 49.4% field goal and 6.3 rebounds in 34 minutes).
If Juanais one day the impact of the latter, he will be entitled to a great career. Like his father Laurent Tillie, record holder of the number of selections (406) in the France team volleyball - which he is the coach - and his brothers Kim (Vitoria, Spain) and Kevin (volleyball player of the Polish team Kędzierzyn -Koźle). Three Tillie we recently saw the Rio Olympics with teams from France basketball and volleyball. "It was really great to see all three there and it really made me want to be there to enjoy them. But I was especially proud of them!" And three of them have shown the way forward.

Reborn
09-15-2016, 08:35 AM
I have to say one thing, "I would love to coach this team."

DixieZag
09-15-2016, 08:47 AM
Amazing athletic family.

I suspect he'll do well.

Reborn
09-15-2016, 09:48 AM
Amazing athletic family.

I suspect he'll do well.

I remember watching the French Volleyball team in the Olympics. I thought they were really good. The Tillie family is an elite athletic family. I can remember how excited we all were when Killian signed with Gonzaga.The original excitement was them tempered when we learned about the injury. But now it sounds like the injury has healed quite well, and that he's in real good shape. I know the Tillie family sees Killian as an elite athlete and they have high expectations for him. Therefore, I think it's ok if we too have high expectations for him.

The one thing that I reflect on when analyzing the upcoming season is that there are going to be a fair number of freshmen on this team. Yes. We believe they are very talented, but we must remember that they are freshmen, and most freshmen and Gonzaga have not been big scorers. The exceptions are Pangos and Bell, and yes Adam Morrison came on strong after the beginning of his freshmen year. If my memory is working ok, I believe that post players have developed more slowly than the guards. Austin Daye is one post player who started as a freshmen. He was a highschool All-American and was 6' 11" tall I believe. However, he was not a big scorer that year. He WAS a good rebounder and shot blocker.

When looking at wing players who started as a freshman, I first think of Adam Morrison. He averaged 11.9 as a freshman. That's pretty darn good. Adam was 6' 8" tall. I know there is a lot of talk about Mathews at the 3, and I'm sure he is going to be the main small forward this year, but is there a 6' 8" player who could be someone who contributes a scoring punch off the bench? Many of you are promoting a 4 guard offense, but I believe that Few will play small ball about as much as he has in the past, which is just occasionally. Gonzaga has two very skilled players who are 6' 8" and 6' 10" tall (Hachimura and Tillie). I believe they both have the skills to play the 3. This makes me wonder if we're going to see a zone defense more this year?

Bogozags
09-15-2016, 02:07 PM
I remember watching the French Volleyball team in the Olympics. I thought they were really good. The Tillie family is an elite athletic family. I can remember how excited we all were when Killian signed with Gonzaga.The original excitement was them tempered when we learned about the injury. But now it sounds like the injury has healed quite well, and that he's in real good shape. I know the Tillie family sees Killian as an elite athlete and they have high expectations for him. Therefore, I think it's ok if we too have high expectations for him.

The one thing that I reflect on when analyzing the upcoming season is that there are going to be a fair number of freshmen on this team. Yes. We believe they are very talented, but we must remember that they are freshmen, and most freshmen and Gonzaga have not been big scorers. The exceptions are Pangos and Bell, and yes Adam Morrison came on strong after the beginning of his freshmen year. If my memory is working ok, I believe that post players have developed more slowly than the guards. Austin Daye is one post player who started as a freshmen. He was a highschool All-American and was 6' 11" tall I believe. However, he was not a big scorer that year. He WAS a good rebounder and shot blocker.

When looking at wing players who started as a freshman, I first think of Adam Morrison. He averaged 11.9 as a freshman. That's pretty darn good. Adam was 6' 8" tall. I know there is a lot of talk about Mathews at the 3, and I'm sure he is going to be the main small forward this year, but is there a 6' 8" player who could be someone who contributes a scoring punch off the bench? Many of you are promoting a 4 guard offense, but I believe that Few will play small ball about as much as he has in the past, which is just occasionally. Gonzaga has two very skilled players who are 6' 8" and 6' 10" tall (Hachimura and Tillie). I believe they both have the skills to play the 3. This makes me wonder if we're going to see a zone defense more this year?


Great Post!

Question: What makes you think that if we start a true SF over a guard at the "3" that Coach Few would play a zone defence?

BULLDOG#1
09-15-2016, 03:24 PM
Great Post!

Question: What makes you think that if we start a true SF over a guard at the "3" that Coach Few would play a zone defence?

With the horses Few has in the stable, it would be a huge mistake to play zone. I'd love to see them pressure everything out of the man to man and run other teams down. Overplay on the wing has been a problem in the past, but now that JWII, Rui, Tillie, will be coming over from the weakside -- things have changed.

Reborn
09-15-2016, 03:41 PM
I am sure what the size of a "true" small forward, but when you have a 3 that's 6'8"and can really rebound and defend, or 6' 10" that Few has played (in the very least) some zone defense. He has always liked zones, I think.

Bogozags
09-15-2016, 03:53 PM
I am sure what the size of a "true" small forward, but when you have a 3 that's 6'8"and can really rebound and defend, or 6' 10" that Few has played (in the very least) some zone defense. He has always liked zones, I think.

With what has been shared about Rui, one would think that he can play M-M defence...watched Tille in the 3-on-3 and he also looked capable of playing M-M. It will be interesting to see how Coach Few utilizes all this talent he has at his disposal! I would guess that this team might well be the most talented overall from top to bottom that he has had at GU...whether they can achieve at a higher level is the question.

Reborn
09-15-2016, 07:14 PM
With what has been shared about Rui, one would think that he can play M-M defence...watched Tille in the 3-on-3 and he also looked capable of playing M-M. It will be interesting to see how Coach Few utilizes all this talent he has at his disposal! I would guess that this team might well be the most talented overall from top to bottom that he has had at GU...whether they can achieve at a higher level is the question.

Yes. You are right. Talent is one thing, and winning games with talent (team chemistry) is a whole different thing. But I believe wholeheartedly that Few and his staff are able to do it. WWWatch out for the Zags this year.

Zagdawg
09-16-2016, 07:37 PM
Set?

https://www.instagram.com/p/BKcSLX-hfOE/

Bogozags
09-17-2016, 04:02 AM
Set?

https://www.instagram.com/p/BKcSLX-hfOE/

Regardless of how many attempts he had, that is still incredible!

Using his thumb, index and middle fingers to push a basketball that far...wow!

Maybe GU should start a Men's Volleyball program...

bigblahla
09-17-2016, 04:54 AM
Since the first time I viewed a video of KT I saw a bigger Micah Downs....recruiting is off the charts....the talent to win the "Dance" is in house....over his time at GU KT could become another Gordon Hayward if used correctly or be on a chain like MD....all that talent and Micah never was part of the offense....lot's of options on that TEAM but I will never understand why Coach never turned him loose....virtually little to no plays ran for Downs....yet he was WCC tournament MVP....Tillie at the 3 is what I want to see...hope it happens...

Go!! Zags!!!

Martin Centre Mad Man
09-17-2016, 09:30 AM
Since the first time I viewed a video of KT I saw a bigger Micah Downs....recruiting is off the charts....the talent to win the "Dance" is in house....over his time at GU KT could become another Gordon Hayward if used correctly or be on a chain like MD....all that talent and Micah never was part of the offense....lot's of options on that TEAM but I will never understand why Coach never turned him loose....virtually little to no plays ran for Downs....yet he was WCC tournament MVP....Tillie at the 3 is what I want to see...hope it happens...

Go!! Zags!!!

I agree with the comparison to Downs. That was my first impression of him.

I think this kid will need a year or two in the weight room before he starts to hit that potential. He has suffered injuries that have limited his ability to train over the past two years. If he can stay healthy and build strength, this kid could be an All-American before he leaves campus.

MontanaCoyote
09-17-2016, 11:36 AM
Yes. You are right. Talent is one thing, and winning games with talent (team chemistry) is a whole different thing. But I believe wholeheartedly that Few and his staff are able to do it. WWWatch out for the Zags this year.
Yes, I think Few and staff can do it, that's THEIR part of it. And the talent is there. I think the key is these kids maximizing their talent by playing with the emotion and fire that can match what some of those street kid scrapers from back east always seem to bring with their game. Killer instinct.......fire in the belly, heart and mind. With all this talent, if they play like there's no tomorrow the sky's the limit.
to

seacatfan
09-17-2016, 11:52 AM
Since the first time I viewed a video of KT I saw a bigger Micah Downs....recruiting is off the charts....the talent to win the "Dance" is in house....over his time at GU KT could become another Gordon Hayward if used correctly or be on a chain like MD....all that talent and Micah never was part of the offense....lot's of options on that TEAM but I will never understand why Coach never turned him loose....virtually little to no plays ran for Downs....yet he was WCC tournament MVP....Tillie at the 3 is what I want to see...hope it happens...

Go!! Zags!!!

I thought Downs had a bit of a breakout for half a season after Heytvelt got suspended. But yeah, other than that he was just kind of a jack of all trades that seemed like he was capable of doing more than what he did at GU.

seacatfan
09-17-2016, 11:56 AM
Many of you are promoting a 4 guard offense

Who is promoting a 4 guard offense? Or did you mean 3 guards? I think pretty much everybody is assuming there will be a 3 player rotation of Karnowksi, JWIII and Collins, with 2 of them on the floor at all times. Plus Edwards or maybe one of the other freshmen for some junk minutes.

Bogozags
09-17-2016, 02:51 PM
Who is promoting a 4 guard offense? Or did you mean 3 guards? I think pretty much everybody is assuming there will be a 3 player rotation of Karnowksi, JWIII and Collins, with 2 of them on the floor at all times. Plus Edwards or maybe one of the other freshmen for some junk minutes.

With the talent Coach Few has at his disposal, he might be able to run a "Scramble Egg" team (with an extra Egg) as well...it will be interesting to see how all this works out...

NumberCruncher
09-17-2016, 03:12 PM
I remember watching the French Volleyball team in the Olympics. I thought they were really good. The Tillie family is an elite athletic family. I can remember how excited we all were when Killian signed with Gonzaga.The original excitement was them tempered when we learned about the injury. But now it sounds like the injury has healed quite well, and that he's in real good shape. I know the Tillie family sees Killian as an elite athlete and they have high expectations for him. Therefore, I think it's ok if we too have high expectations for him.

The one thing that I reflect on when analyzing the upcoming season is that there are going to be a fair number of freshmen on this team. Yes. We believe they are very talented, but we must remember that they are freshmen, and most freshmen and Gonzaga have not been big scorers. The exceptions are Pangos and Bell, and yes Adam Morrison came on strong after the beginning of his freshmen year. If my memory is working ok, I believe that post players have developed more slowly than the guards. Austin Daye is one post player who started as a freshmen. He was a highschool All-American and was 6' 11" tall I believe. However, he was not a big scorer that year. He WAS a good rebounder and shot blocker.

When looking at wing players who started as a freshman, I first think of Adam Morrison. He averaged 11.9 as a freshman. That's pretty darn good. Adam was 6' 8" tall. I know there is a lot of talk about Mathews at the 3, and I'm sure he is going to be the main small forward this year, but is there a 6' 8" player who could be someone who contributes a scoring punch off the bench? Many of you are promoting a 4 guard offense, but I believe that Few will play small ball about as much as he has in the past, which is just occasionally. Gonzaga has two very skilled players who are 6' 8" and 6' 10" tall (Hachimura and Tillie). I believe they both have the skills to play the 3. This makes me wonder if we're going to see a zone defense more this year?

Nice post, Reborn. I know you're working from memory, so I thought you might like to see a list of Freshmen ordered by their scoring totals.

http://i.imgur.com/3Aw6haZ.jpg

MDABE80
09-17-2016, 05:32 PM
THAT is a very revealing post Number. Nice job.

seacatfan
09-17-2016, 06:37 PM
The total points scored by various freshmen is interesting, but I think you also have to look at ppg. There is a fairly significant variation in number of games played for all of those seasons. For example Morrison averaged almost 2 ppg more than Sabonis, but played in 7 less games, so Sabonis scored more total points.

Reborn
09-17-2016, 11:00 PM
Nice post, Reborn. I know you're working from memory, so I thought you might like to see a list of Freshmen ordered by their scoring totals.

http://i.imgur.com/3Aw6haZ.jpg

Thanks for your awesome work numbercruncher....Brings back memories of how great Elias Harris was as a Freshman. He had that Euro step and no one could guard him that year. I think he introduced that move to the USA, cause now everyone uses it. Harris' freshman year may have been his best offensively. And none of us knew him very well. He was really an unknown player from Europe. We've had a steady stream of them coming to play at Gonzaga now thanks to him and Ronny Turiaf.

Reborn
09-17-2016, 11:05 PM
Who is promoting a 4 guard offense? Or did you mean 3 guards? I think pretty much everybody is assuming there will be a 3 player rotation of Karnowksi, JWIII and Collins, with 2 of them on the floor at all times. Plus Edwards or maybe one of the other freshmen for some junk minutes.

Sorry for my mistake...I would not say that a 3 guard offense would be small ball. When I hear of that term I think it's 4 guards. This would include guys like Dranginis at 6' 5". I always considered Adam a guard even at 6' 8". I would not expect Mark Few to go with 3 small guards very much. How tall is Mathews? I would think he's 6' 4" and I guess you could still call him a small guard.

jazzdelmar
09-18-2016, 04:20 AM
Since the first time I viewed a video of KT I saw a bigger Micah Downs....recruiting is off the charts....the talent to win the "Dance" is in house....over his time at GU KT could become another Gordon Hayward if used correctly or be on a chain like MD....all that talent and Micah never was part of the offense....lot's of options on that TEAM but I will never understand why Coach never turned him loose....virtually little to no plays ran for Downs....yet he was WCC tournament MVP....Tillie at the 3 is what I want to see...hope it happens...

Go!! Zags!!!

Blah, don't get me started on Micah. A blunder not featuring him more, even with all the talent.

GonzagasaurusFlex
09-18-2016, 06:12 AM
Sorry for my mistake...I would not say that a 3 guard offense would be small ball. When I hear of that term I think it's 4 guards. This would include guys like Dranginis at 6' 5". I always considered Adam a guard even at 6' 8". I would not expect Mark Few to go with 3 small guards very much. How tall is Mathews? I would think he's 6' 4" and I guess you could still call him a small guard.

If Zags start NWG, Perkins & Matthews that's a 3 guard lineup with no big guard 6'5" or taller.

After rewatching last season's HBO 'March to Madness' I find myself rooting for this starting lineup:
NWG; Perkins; Rui; Williams; Collins This lineup would allow Zags to attack the game from the defensive side too. Force turnovers and transition offense.

Matthews, Karnowski and Melson first off bench, always enter game together and this "2nd Unit" lands major body blows: Perkins, Matthews, Melson, Collins, Karnowski.
** Really eager to see PK and Collins on court together. They complement one another perfectly and Karnowski will get the youngster some easy buckets!

willandi
09-18-2016, 06:44 AM
If Zags start NWG, Perkins & Matthews that's a 3 guard lineup with no big guard 6'5" or taller.

After rewatching last season's HBO 'March to Madness' I find myself rooting for this starting lineup:
NWG; Perkins; Rui; Williams; Collins This lineup would allow Zags to attack the game from the defensive side too. Force turnovers and transition offense.

Matthews, Karnowski and Melson first off bench, always enter game together and this "2nd Unit" lands major body blows: Perkins, Matthews, Melson, Collins, Karnowski.
** Really eager to see PK and Collins on court together. They complement one another perfectly and Karnowski will get the youngster some easy buckets!

I don't think Matthews transferred here to come off the bench, but I could be wrong...and If PK can play, even in short spurts, anywhere close to pre-injury, he is going to start.

That said, it really is who finishes the game, not who starts.

DixieZag
09-18-2016, 08:01 AM
If Zags start NWG, Perkins & Matthews that's a 3 guard lineup with no big guard 6'5" or taller.

After rewatching last season's HBO 'March to Madness' I find myself rooting for this starting lineup:
NWG; Perkins; Rui; Williams; Collins This lineup would allow Zags to attack the game from the defensive side too. Force turnovers and transition offense.

Matthews, Karnowski and Melson first off bench, always enter game together and this "2nd Unit" lands major body blows: Perkins, Matthews, Melson, Collins, Karnowski.
** Really eager to see PK and Collins on court together. They complement one another perfectly and Karnowski will get the youngster some easy buckets!

We'd never get a top Sr like Wesley or Mathews again.

Goshzagit
09-18-2016, 08:09 AM
sounds crazy, yet if you think about all the possible combinations, it makes sense:

"Nigel Williams-Goss is the only sure-fire starter heading into next season…"

Mathews vs Perks vs Norvell vs Silas at SG
Mathews vs Rui vs Tillie vs Norvell vs Alberts at SF
Williams III vs Larsen vs Tillie vs Collins at PF
Karnowski vs Collins vs Edwards at C

GonzagasaurusFlex
09-18-2016, 08:34 AM
We'd never get a top Sr like Wesley or Mathews again.

That's why it would be a great story to an epic season! :-)

Karnowski (redshirt senior and incumbent starter), Matthews (graduate transfer), and Melson (junior) all embracing their roles as a unit coming off the bench together would be great for team chemistry "team first" example. I also think it could be just really really good for the team because even knowing it's coming, opponents cannot easily adust to this Karnow-centric shift in style!

jazzdelmar
09-18-2016, 11:36 AM
If Zags start NWG, Perkins & Matthews that's a 3 guard lineup with no big guard 6'5" or taller.

After rewatching last season's HBO 'March to Madness' I find myself rooting for this starting lineup:
NWG; Perkins; Rui; Williams; Collins This lineup would allow Zags to attack the game from the defensive side too. Force turnovers and transition offense.

Matthews, Karnowski and Melson first off bench, always enter game together and this "2nd Unit" lands major body blows: Perkins, Matthews, Melson, Collins, Karnowski.
** Really eager to see PK and Collins on court together. They complement one another perfectly and Karnowski will get the youngster some easy buckets!

Switch Matthews for Perkins. No Big Fella? Heresy.

jazzdelmar
09-18-2016, 11:37 AM
That's why it would be a great story to an epic season! :-)

Karnowski (redshirt senior and incumbent starter), Matthews (graduate transfer), and Melson (junior) all embracing their roles as a unit coming off the bench together would be great for team chemistry "team first" example. I also think it could be just really really good for the team because even knowing it's coming, opponents cannot easily adust to this Karnow-centric shift in style!

Story? Try a sitcom, Flex.

Zagdawg
09-18-2016, 01:35 PM
So jazz--it looks like you have your two players identified to target this year.........Karnowski and Perkins ----give em a chance to get on the floor before you write them off.

Goshzagit
09-18-2016, 02:10 PM
So jazz--it looks like you have your two players identified to target this year.........Karnowski and Perkins ----give em a chance to get on the floor before you write them off.

Ive said all off season, Perkins is WAAYYYY better of a player than given credit for...he's been working on his ball handling too.

Much better 3pt shooter off the catch than expected.

Runs the offense pretty well, defends the 3pt at a high level, breaks a press decently, can penetrate off the dribble, & finds the open man more often than not.

He's just a Sophomore.

No, he isn't NWG, yet few are...we are tremendously lucky to have Perkins over UCLA, Cal, USC, Baylor, Colorado, Creighton, among others...

Just coming into his own.

jazzdelmar
09-18-2016, 04:02 PM
So jazz--it looks like you have your two players identified to target this year.........Karnowski and Perkins ----give em a chance to get on the floor before you write them off.

Glass half empty attitude. Half full, Collins and NWG are better.

Bogozags
09-18-2016, 04:50 PM
Glass half empty attitude. Half full, Collins and NWG are better.

Collins is better? He has not played a single minute of D1...I will say that if Collins remains healthy AND he plays for four years, he could break most of the records on the book, except for rebounding...I'm not sure Wilt could get that record...

bigblahla
09-18-2016, 05:36 PM
Glass half empty attitude. Half full, Collins and NWG are better.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder....Karno is the essence of intimidation in the paint....his passing is superb....I appreciate your recognition of the difference in their skill sets but you have to appreciate the experience of the big man in the middle..... seriously doubt Coach shares your opinion and for good reasons....what Collins isn't is intimidating not yet at least and regardless of his skill set, as stated above, he has yet to play a single minute of D1 ball....I think Collins is the future and will contribute now but he is not going to displace a healthy Mt. Karno on any that team Mark Few coaches and I'd bet the farm on that....if I had one that is. ;)

Just my opinion...

Go!! Zags!!!

BULLDOG#1
09-18-2016, 05:47 PM
Glass half empty attitude. Half full, Collins and NWG are better.

Karno has way more value to this team than you credit him. Collins has a higher ceiling and it's quite possible is more talented than Karno today - saying so with certainty is just foolish. He's a freshman and we don't really know how he'll adjust to the system. Karno is a rock and he has the system mastered.

If he's healthy, Karno will start. Book it.

roxdoc
09-18-2016, 09:38 PM
Jazz it will be a case of, plagerizing from the old song: "Karno, Karno show them we are no fool - come and walk across our swimming pool"

soccerdud
09-18-2016, 11:42 PM
Jazz it will be a case of, plagerizing from the old song: "Karno, Karno show them we are no fool - come and walk across our swimming pool"

ah, "P.K., Superstar".

do you think you're who we say you are?

jazzdelmar
09-19-2016, 07:52 AM
Collins is better? He has not played a single minute of D1...I will say that if Collins remains healthy AND he plays for four years, he could break most of the records on the book, except for rebounding...I'm not sure Wilt could get that record...

Specious point. So, is Collins better than Edwards?

sittingon50
09-19-2016, 08:50 AM
Killian Tillie verbally commits to Gonzaga.

Zag_Dad
09-19-2016, 11:10 AM
Killian Tillie verbally commits to Gonzaga.

LOL ... you lost me for a second on this post. But I get it.

NotoriousZ
09-19-2016, 11:37 AM
Killian Tillie verbally commits to Gonzaga.

Yes, well played 50

sittingon50
09-19-2016, 12:16 PM
Had to open up your post ceo as you're on my ignore list. Thank goodness I did!

Because you're such a sweetheart of a guy, I will follow your suggestion. It honestly had not occurred to me.

Hope your day get's better.

MontanaCoyote
09-19-2016, 12:29 PM
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder....Karno is the essence of intimidation in the paint....his passing is superb....I appreciate your recognition of the difference in their skill sets but you have to appreciate the experience of the big man in the middle..... seriously doubt Coach shares your opinion and for good reasons....what Collins isn't is intimidating not yet at least and regardless of his skill set, as stated above, he has yet to play a single minute of D1 ball....I think Collins is the future and will contribute now but he is not going to displace a healthy Mt. Karno on any that team Mark Few coaches and I'd bet the farm on that....if I had one that is. ;)

Just my opinion...

Go!! Zags!!!

Karno's the Key. No player in D-1 more valuable to his team in so many different ways. And I swear the Mountain is "worth" at least 10 points a game just standing in the paint on defense. And IMHO it's not just what he does (performs) for the team, it's also what he means to the team. Count the ways.

zagbeliever
09-19-2016, 01:00 PM
It would be nice if many of these posts were archived and we had fresh starts that actually stuck to the title topic......and the CURRENT year. IE Zags photo thread started in 2014. I love my Zags but let's get current.

bigblahla
09-19-2016, 02:08 PM
Karno's the Key. No player in D-1 move valuable to his team in so many different ways. And I swear the Mountain is "worth" at least 10 points a game just standing in the paint on defense. And IMHO it's not just what he does (performs) for the team, it's also what he means to the team. Count the ways.

We are of like mind on this MC....happy belated birthday...

Go!! Zags!!!

MontanaCoyote
09-19-2016, 04:38 PM
We are of like mind on this MC....happy belated birthday...

Go!! Zags!!!

Thank You! I'm down to 20 seconds forgetting where I left my coffee cup, so I'll be forever figuring out how you know about my birthday. Feeling good and feeling great about the ZAG's. Man, is it great to have something so promising to look forward to or what!

zag67
09-19-2016, 04:59 PM
I am also looking forward to a great season and also believe that Karno will control them middle. Collins is going to be super and I hope that he has a solid year this year. I am really looking forward to seeing them play. Also happy birthday.

ZagNative
10-16-2016, 12:22 PM
Need to recruit his girlfriend, Alexia Chartereau, for the Lady Zags! I assume they are a couple from his vacation pics. Looks like she is a star for their U-18 and U-20 teams and will turn 18 in September so she could be a good pick up for 2017.Looks like Zags_Fanatic is getting his/her wish. Alexia just bought her ticket to Spokane for Christmas: https://twitter.com/Alexia_seven/status/787712380033703936

From twitter:

Alexia Chartereau ‏@Alexia_seven

Billets d'avion ✈✔ --> Noël à Gonzaga avec Kiki ❤❤
Is this Killian in the header for Alexia's twitter account?

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/soSr9MSxf7RSw3jXDfBA1DFpr7LwF1IFfsC_jD22NnnXJ5oAo8 Aq_jfGgzd3BNkV3E41Owy6d1BmA6RUVe4cawQkpYcZQ-xgMbBUbucLmvoN3gCrDKa1R0Wj2Fsuva_NBcL_hErhdAZ7__5_ v5yYXzlkrD8PMYer_53ulPX17lNCk-_J8I39jc6TawHDYUJeodQafNeweiV6xIeZ6TFI6DyDN3k25F_3 3SdwFRx7_xTcqDkj9qmD5pgfu7hfmXzmaZwiBH8UAnGi1BykEi viMRux21GDu3UIFfOlr-uTO8YYhJ9f3CPZacXek9lU0tKn8pbLJVQzy59eYwbrISpdmH2L tVTewTO_ut0cFYarYL13oFBVhfuuQzmLeXdLX0J7KgKiXhWTWK R5GPGBvUDgZ4x4xma6TwNJUCrHpSVTi9FLN95ft3XGRfFBZdb-JghZ5bhrhtCtp5TsWtI-_Wq4MqzTNF83Miq-UeTamTMvxLiHytJyYyG12IcdxC0fYcIevbCPDBIjIX7CFs3AS6 qswrzg32a9QBUr3swcidN3kTr9X60-GLG_1U1U1NTQXc7aj6xivoRh1sxZnaKVi8wbLuuCdNru9logl1 pnsnC28qkl3_Y7iQ=w1500-h500-no

Zags_Fanatic
10-16-2016, 05:51 PM
Looks like Zags_Fanatic is getting his/her wish. Alexia just bought her ticket to Spokane for Christmas: https://twitter.com/Alexia_seven/status/787712380033703936

From twitter:
Is this Killian in the header for Alexia's twitter account?

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/soSr9MSxf7RSw3jXDfBA1DFpr7LwF1IFfsC_jD22NnnXJ5oAo8 Aq_jfGgzd3BNkV3E41Owy6d1BmA6RUVe4cawQkpYcZQ-xgMbBUbucLmvoN3gCrDKa1R0Wj2Fsuva_NBcL_hErhdAZ7__5_ v5yYXzlkrD8PMYer_53ulPX17lNCk-_J8I39jc6TawHDYUJeodQafNeweiV6xIeZ6TFI6DyDN3k25F_3 3SdwFRx7_xTcqDkj9qmD5pgfu7hfmXzmaZwiBH8UAnGi1BykEi viMRux21GDu3UIFfOlr-uTO8YYhJ9f3CPZacXek9lU0tKn8pbLJVQzy59eYwbrISpdmH2L tVTewTO_ut0cFYarYL13oFBVhfuuQzmLeXdLX0J7KgKiXhWTWK R5GPGBvUDgZ4x4xma6TwNJUCrHpSVTi9FLN95ft3XGRfFBZdb-JghZ5bhrhtCtp5TsWtI-_Wq4MqzTNF83Miq-UeTamTMvxLiHytJyYyG12IcdxC0fYcIevbCPDBIjIX7CFs3AS6 qswrzg32a9QBUr3swcidN3kTr9X60-GLG_1U1U1NTQXc7aj6xivoRh1sxZnaKVi8wbLuuCdNru9logl1 pnsnC28qkl3_Y7iQ=w1500-h500-no

Nice! Would be great if she came to play next season.

ZagNative
10-16-2016, 08:14 PM
From Killian's Instagram:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/SXhV7NIpYdsMxK9f9JZAN_1T3wTal5tnguE5wfd3OK-5O5EqW2EhmczFpEg0ZzOkS3R-RK8S3KGclObOJTpy6WgfWXlFI8Bwvvc5m1gPyRKv3Zv69PqNuo xLFPVvR0iM4qpl5-3KhfiTF9Kkko-ulTQN9mPlbTZAl8k6g0vy2sFznJz6TyYcG_rW2iNS8eqCD-uOY3Ed1Oei2EBkq3chdX2PcbebQNIg3Ocg5PTW4HC0dTgFiSND d0SKHNBse4aaM38IV_Ym3479KlAhSRmjc0_KCIdVXTzhs8yloC vrduTan-N1dA_zLR1agI6MrDDiTQtGSIUV22BrnflU1gOdpC_gbYC5f-FEGBIlbIFCRiaz18b37yPKfJwO0qsjT2yLY8Nc_CXwOXLXKo-SoGbNbJ2UnHDgXcNW1HfwBtTYR_lNOnqbJLLtXUSap2Q7-rQ5HrlbwERdHn5Gs-y0KSY8-MP5DCFMNlbeM06YWDvuU0cTD1ggzwimfd-t87I19C3f8bC-9WiAphicRWBmW8Yef7IlbPDxLwRQzX4DPnrqH1ugsCvcA6FEGS mTLDOBk2cU-uZbW7kECFabVfRkkYaGllZ4llZbCSpv6IYHRpFmSHQsVshEmQ= s877-no

Goshzagit
10-17-2016, 02:45 AM
Tillie vs Collins in this vid.

The two make a few cameos together throughout, mostly Tillie dunking over or around Collins & his teammates.

France beat Team USA.

France took Bronze. USA didnt medal.


https://youtu.be/_l8svTafXr4