PDA

View Full Version : JaQuori McLaughlin - 2016 6'3" combo guard - Peninsula HS (WA)



exclusivelee
06-29-2015, 11:50 AM
Gonzaga is back in his top 5. Was just told that he is a high priority recruit for Gonzaga now

He decommit from UDub last month

We talked about him in this thread (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?50198-2016-Zagcruits-Thread&highlight=jaquori). He's a top 100 level talent

Jon Manley ‏@gateway_jon
Per @PeninsulaHoops coach Jake Jackson, JaQuori McLaughlin ('16) down to five: Washington, Wisconsin, Arizona, Stanford and Gonzaga.
12:35 PM - 29 Jun 2015

Jon Manley ‏@gateway_jon
McLaughlin will take visits -- patient approach. Decision not likely to come soon. Maybe before the start of basketball season.
12:39 PM - 29 Jun 2015


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Oyo17ESsDU

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CIsVUOTUwAEoUEc.jpg

DADoZAG
06-29-2015, 11:58 AM
Gonzaga is back in his top 5. Was just told that he is a high priority recruit for Gonzaga now

He decommit from UDub last month

Jon Manley ‏@gateway_jon
Per @PeninsulaHoops coach Jake Jackson, JaQuori McLaughlin ('16) down to five: Washington, Wisconsin, Arizona, Stanford and Gonzaga.
12:35 PM - 29 Jun 2015

Jon Manley ‏@gateway_jon
McLaughlin will take visits -- patient approach. Decision not likely to come soon. Maybe before the start of basketball season.
12:39 PM - 29 Jun 2015

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CIsVUOTUwAEoUEc.jpg

Were you told why the change in priority?

Go ZAGS!

cjm720
06-29-2015, 12:11 PM
I'm guessing Wisky's out with Bo's announcement today. Would be a great addition no doubt...

DADoZAG
06-29-2015, 12:23 PM
I'm guessing Wisky's out with Bo's announcement today. Would be a great addition no doubt...

Perhaps...

With his de-commit from the Dub, the list could be seen as down to three.

Still, it's like there's something going on we haven't been told yet. Why would there be nearly 4500 visitors on the site at 3:00 am? (see other thread)

At first I thought the visitors might be here because of the thread on Bo, but that thread wasn't started until 10:00.

Of course, I am a product of the 70's, and see conspiracy everywhere....

Wait, Mussini....that's the blitz at 5:00 to 6:00 AM East coast....

Sorry, these are not the droids you're looking for....

Go ZAGS!

exclusivelee
07-10-2015, 04:32 PM
As I mentioned before, JaQuori is now a high priority for Gonzaga.

He wants to take official visits to Gonzaga & Arizona + those are the 2 schools recruiting him the hardest

Eric Bossi mentioned on twitter that he'd rank JaQuori the #2 PG on the west coast in 2016 (behind Lonzo Ball)

https://rivalshoops.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=1782001&PT=4&PR=2



Since opening things back up, a small group of very good programs have been making a push.

"I've heard the most from Gonzaga and Arizona," said McLaughlin. "Wisconsin is talking to me a lot and I've heard from Stanford and Washington."

The only non West Coast program on McLaughlin's list, Wisconsin is a school that he has come to appreciate. However, the Badgers pick to replace Bo Ryan will be pretty important in his recruitment.

"I've watched them a lot," McLaughlin said. "I thought that they were a much slower team but they actually play with some speed.

"Assistant coach Greg Gard, if he's the coach there I'm still interested in them."

So far, McLaughlin says that he'll definitely take official visits to Arizona and Gonzaga and that Wisconsin would get added to that list if Gard is named as Ryan's replacement. He doesn't have a timeline to make his decision.

"I want to take as long as possible and make the right decision," McLaughlin said. "I could go into the spring right now, I can't really tell."

- See more at: https://rivalshoops.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=1782001&PT=4&PR=2#sthash.AChSLJvD.dpuf

exclusivelee
07-15-2015, 04:58 PM
Great to hear what JaQuori feels about Gonzaga & the possibility of going Perkins, NWG, & Melson:

Jon Manley @gateway_jon
Peninsula guard JaQuori McLaughlin, on what he likes best about the five schools considered favorites to land him:
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/15/168d793111f1b74d05c464a1fe5557e2.jpg

Jon Manley @gateway_jon
McLaughlin on potentially playing w/ Perkins, Melson, NWG at GU: "That would be really fun. ... We'd all be interchangeable."

Jon Manley @gateway_jon
McLaughlin said a school being close to home isn't a huge factor. "It's cool but it won't really give a school an edge."

Jon Manley @gateway_jon
McLaughlin says a decision not likely to come for quite a while, maybe in April. "I just want to be patient."

Jon Manley @gateway_jon
McLaughlin on new offers from Utah and Cal: "I'm definitely interested in those schools." Hasn't set up visits yet.

Jon Manley @gateway_jon
McLaughlin will visit Arizona in August. Still hasn't visited Wisconsin or Stanford.

Jon Manley @gateway_jon
McLaughlin on Wisconsin: "If they hire Greg Gard, I'd still be comfortable going there. He's recruited me the most."

Jon Manley @gateway_jon
McLaughlin said the coaching change at Wisconsin won't deter him from considering playing there if they hire longtime assistant Greg Gard.

exclusivelee
07-16-2015, 08:04 PM
Hope that Gonzaga offers JaQuori soon and he sets up a date for his official visit. He'll be visiting Arizona next month & that's where his high school coach went to college. GU watched JaQuori face off against Cal Supreme & Jonah Mathews last night

Jon Manley @gateway_jon
McLaughlin said Arizona, Gonzaga and Wisconsin have been recruiting him the hardest.

Jon Manley @gateway_jon
Asked JaQuori McLaughlin why he doesn't dunk more w/ 39" vert: "My teammates say I'm hiding my bounce so I might bring it out more."

Matt Moreno @MattGOAZCATS
JaQuori McLaughlin told me he will visit Arizona in August. The 4-star guard likes a lot about the ‘Cats right now
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/16/e4d7445fa4f1c86698b3847d0446be38.jpg

Matt Moreno @MattGOAZCATS
Checking out 2016 four-star guard JaQuori McLaughlin now here in Anaheim
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/16/11733a3af898396608bce70408a82de6.jpg

DixieZag
07-16-2015, 08:22 PM
Another PG???

I'm all for bringing in the best. And, I'm sure the coaches have some sort of plan for what they want. But, it's well over my ability to understand.

hooter73
07-17-2015, 08:10 AM
Meh, combo guard. Bell was "point guard" in high school. All it means is guards and wings who wont turn it over and can actually look to pass once in a while.

exclusivelee
07-17-2015, 07:17 PM
More on JaQuori. He's not afraid to play behind Nigel & learn from him for a year

http://www.thenewstribune.com/news/local/community/gateway/g-sports/article27530863.html


While McLaughlin has previously been committed to Oregon State and Washington, two schools in the Pacific Northwest, he said staying close to home isn’t a huge factor in his decision.

“It’s cool but it won’t really give a school an edge,” McLaughlin said. “I just want the best fit for me that would help me succeed the most, help me become a good player and a good person off the court.”

If McLaughlin lands in Spokane, he’d join a talented Gonzaga backcourt with Josh Perkins, Silas Melson and University of Washington transfer Nigel Williams-Goss, who will be eligible in the 2016-17 season, which would be McLaughlin’s freshman season.

“That would be really fun,” McLaughlin said. “They play three guards at a time up there a lot; we’d all be interchangeable. Nigel would be running the show. That’d be fun to learn from him my first year and be able to take over after that.”

McLaughlin has visited Washington and Gonzaga previously, but has yet to visit Arizona, Wisconsin and Stanford. He’ll likely take several visits in August and September. McLaughlin had committed to Washington before his junior season at Peninsula began. This time around, he said he doesn’t feel the need to necessarily commit to a school before the season starts.

“I think I’m going to be patient and maybe wait till April,” he said. “I just want to be patient. If something feels right, then maybe I will, but I just want to be patient.”

Read more here: http://www.thenewstribune.com/news/local/community/gateway/g-sports/article27530863.html#storylink=cpy

MDABE80
07-18-2015, 12:09 AM
Williams Goss might be a big factor in this. He was ALL Pac 12 and led UW in scoring. If I was this kid, Id be a bit awed with an opportunity to play with or in back of oss. WHo knows, maybe Goss can shed some light on why he chose us.
It's just a thought.....But we do have lots of budding talent out front.
I think he'd fit in very well. Not sure if he might have that bias against E Wa but he'd do well with us. I beleive that.
AZ's a big draw and they've picked it up quite a bit in the past few years. I do think we'll know more when we face em this year. A win might go far. Stanford's a good place but when it comes to bball...we're on the rise again. Not too soon either.

PHSBBall
07-18-2015, 06:53 AM
Meh, combo guard. Bell was "point guard" in high school. All it means is guards and wings who wont turn it over and can actually look to pass once in a while.

Nothing like bell at all, JaQuori has been raised to be a point guard who will look to make the right play for his team above his personal stats which dings him on the aau circuit where coaches want to see ball dominate scoring point guards like Payton pritchard. Last week at the under armour all American camp in Charlotte his performance against some of he top players in he nation had Eric bossi of rivals proclaim him he top point guard on the west coast not named Alonzo ball.

kclubfounder
07-18-2015, 05:35 PM
I'm biased because my kids are in the same school district. But I've coached his younger brother and gotten to know his Dad a bit. I also know what his classmates and fellow basketball teammates have to say about him.

This is a player we want. I promise you.

exclusivelee
07-20-2015, 09:33 AM
More on JaQuori & his willingness to learn from Nigel Williams-Goss in his freshman year. He still says that he'll definitely take an official visits to Gonzaga & Arizona. Tommy Lloyd watched him at the Double Pump Best of Summer Tournament in Anaheim this week. PGU has a new update on him. As with prior reports, JaQuori wants to play point guard in college: http://pointguardu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=81770&p=664724#post664724

Here's a video of JaQuori from this week: https://rivals.yahoo.com/video/recruiting-basketball/double-pump-best-of-summer-jaquori-mclaughlin-1135522

JaQuori's stock is continuing to climb. Rivals said that JaQuori won the matchup over 2017 5-star consensus top 15 PG Jalek Felton at the Under Armour All-America Camp. (Jalek played alongside Zach Collins for Team USA's 3x3 squad): https://basketballrecruiting.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=1783028

From Scouts' Josh Gershon: http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1565064-double-pump-jaquori-mclaughlin


Playing at Gig Harbor (Wash.) Peninsula while off the shoe company AAU circuit with Team ACCESS, JaQuori McLaughlin definitely hasn’t received the same amount of views as many prospects ranked in Scout’s Top 100.

But over the first two weeks of the July Evaluation Period, McLaughlin has lived up to his stock heading into the summer.

While Scout has McLaughlin currently slotted at shooting guard, he’s become much more of a point guard over the last year and will be positioned as such the next time we update rankings.

McLaughlin’s size at 6-foot-3 and 175 pounds to go along with his ability to pass and shoot has helped make him a highly coveted recruit on the west.

The two most recent offers for McLaughlin are California and Utah.

“I’m really interested in those two schools and looking forward to building a relationship with their coaching staffs,” McLaughlin said.
“I know that Cal has a good class coming in in 2015 and that their coaching staff is hungry to win. I’ve watched Utah a lot and know that they’ve got a great environment. They’ve got guys coming in who are solid.”

The rising senior listed Arizona, Gonzaga, Wisconsin, Washington and Stanford as the other schools he’s hearing from the most, with two of those programs set to receive official visits.

“I’m going to take visits to Arizona and Gonzaga,” McLaughlin said. “Arizona gets a lot of guys to the league. I love the players they have and they’re already in the tournament.

“Gonzaga is always in the tournament, they develop their players once they get there and it’s close to home. I could come in and learn from Nigel Williams-Goss as a freshman and play after that.”

With more schools getting added to McLaughlin’s recruitment, the former Washington and Oregon State decommit says he’s as open as he’s ever been.

“It’s more open now,” he said. “I’m going to be patient, take all my visits and make sure I make the right decision. I’ll make a decision whenever it feels right.”

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/20/cf674e2ae509e695b922700d436e09a1.jpg

BobZag
07-20-2015, 09:51 AM
I thought he dropped der Zags.

strikenowhere
07-20-2015, 09:58 AM
I thought he dropped der Zags.

Maybe you are thinking Payton Pritchard?

BobZag
07-20-2015, 10:01 AM
Maybe you are thinking Payton Pritchard?

Oh yeah.

Carry on.

exclusivelee
07-27-2015, 11:56 AM
We'll have to see how the JaQuori situation develops over the next couple months. I don't think GU is looking as good compared to the week prior.

With Mark Few in Toronto for the Pan Am Games during every evaluation period in July and Tommy Lloyd in Greece for the U18 Euro Championships this week, Gonzaga didn't have much presence in Vegas and no one reported Gonzaga watching JaQuori this week but they did say that Wisconsin, Arizona, Washington, Oregon State, Cal, Utah, Oregon, Washington State, Stanford, & Seattle U were among the teams watching him. 247Sports lists that GU had offered (http://247sports.com/Player/JaQuori-McLaughlin-36073), but no one else who has written about him lately has said the same, including Evan Flood, who writes for 247Sports, as well as NY2LA.

Wisconsin has made strong strides in JaQuori's recruitment, despite Bo Ryan's retirement after the 2015-16 season. JaQuori reportedly wants to take an official visit to Wisconsin in September (https://twitter.com/Evan_Flood/status/624572660568035329).

These 2 (http://tucson.com/sports/basketball/college/wildcats/arizona-basketball-free-from-commitment-prospects-considering-ua/article_4e5a8a3e-6357-57ef-8b78-c772c76be20a.html) articles (http://allsportstucson.com/2015/07/27/arizona-wildcats-recruiting-spotlight-class-of-2016-point-guard-jaquori-mclaughlin/) mention that JaQuori had been considering and recruited hard by Gonzaga, but...

From Evan Flood on NY2LA (notice that Gonzaga wasn't mentioned among those recruiting JaQuori the hardest):


2015 LAS VEGAS TOURNAMENTS DAY 1 RECAP - PART 1 (http://ny2lasports.com/article_one.aspx?articleid=3028)

July 23, 2015

TOP PERFORMERS
JaQuori McLaughlin – 2016 – PG – Team Access
The type of point guard that will lull you to sleep and strike when you’ve let your guard down, McLaughlin scored most of his 13 points in a flurry to put the game away in the second half for Team Access. A pass-first point guard, McLaughlin does a good job of facilitating to his athletic wings. Offensively, he makes the game look effortless, with a sweet stroke from beyond the arc and the ability to hang and finish at the rim.

JaQuori McLaughlin has offers from Arizona, Stanford, Washington, Wisconsin, California, Utah, and Oregon State. He said Wisconsin, Utah, and California were recruiting him hardest.

2015 LAS VEGAS TOURNAMENTS DAY 3 RECAP - PART 1 (http://ny2lasports.com/article_one.aspx?articleid=3032)

July 25, 2015

TOP PERFORMERS
JaQuori McLaughlin – 2016 – PG – Team Access
For the majority of his games, McLaughlin is content with simply dictating the pace and playing good defense. But when it’s time to be clutch, he’s always there. Leading Team Access to a come from behind win, McLaughlin scored seven points, dished out two assists, and blocked two shots in the final few minutes to steal a victory. McLaughlin is a deceptively quick and athletic point guard, who hangs and finishes well against contact. Also a knock down shooter from beyond the arc, McLaughlin has a short, smooth stroke that’s difficult to contest.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uscuwm_2AuA

exclusivelee
07-31-2015, 10:30 AM
Gonzaga may be 1 of JaQuori's top 5 but I don't like that he's using 3 official visits first and then "most likely visit" GU later. Talks about Mark Few and BMike a little. And Scout now lists an offer from GU (http://www.scout.com/player/183150-jaquori-mclaughlin). His recruitment shifted quickly huh? Cal and Arizona not listed anymore all of a sudden after recruiting him so hard and watching a lot of his games this week.


McLaughlin down to five, set three visits (http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1568857-mclaughlin-down-to-five-sets-three-visits)

July 31, 2015

The 6-foot-3, 170-pound 2016 point guard from Gig Harbor (Wash.) Peninsula is down to Oregon State, Utah, Wisconsin, Gonzaga and Washington, with three of those schools set up for official visits.

McLaughlin's visit to Oregon State will be on Sept. 4.

"Coach (Wayne) Tinkle has a Top 10 class coming in 2015 and sees JaQuori as the missing piece that will be able to be a leader on the floor from the point guard spot," said JaQuori's father, Jason McLaughlin.

The next trip will be to Utah, which will fall on Sept. 11.

"Coach K (Larry Krystkowiak) at Utah has amazing experience as both a player and a coach in the NBA and knows what it takes to prepare kids for the next level," said Jason.

"He compared JaQuori to Delon Wright because of his versatility, unselfishness and commitment as a leader to make his teammates better."

Scout's 46th ranked prospect in 2016 will trip again the following weekend, this time seeing Wisconsin on Sept. 19.

"It's a first class program in Wisconsin that does things the right way with 14 straight NCAA tourneys and back to back Final Fours," said the elder McLaughlin.

Gonzaga and Washington are still being considered for visits, according to Jason McLaughlin.

"Mark Few called and we will most likely visit them also but JaQuori doesn't want to use his visits early," Jason said. "He's still considering Washington depending on how the recruitment with (Markelle) Fultz recruitment shakes out.

"Coach (Lorenzo) Romar has been great. He continues to keep up with JaQuori and our family but is very patient and understanding or the process JaQuori feels he needs to work through.

"Coach (Brian) Michaelson and coach Few of Gonzaga have kept good communication with JaQuori in regards to their interest in him as well."

Jason is pleased with the summer his son had and the opportunities in front of him.

"His summer has worked out exactly the way I hoped it would," he said. "He's (hearing from) programs that fit his personality perfectly that will allow for his development to reach its fullest potential and appreciate him for who he is."

exclusivelee
09-17-2015, 05:36 PM
Kyle Goon @KyleGoon
Top 100 guard JaQuori McLaughlin has Runnin' Utes in his top 3 with Oregon State and Wisconsin. How his visit went: http://www.sltrib.com/blogs/uofusports/2963476-155/utah-basketball-2016-g-jaquori-mclaughlin
5:42pm - 17 Sep 15

Oh well

Zagdawg
09-17-2015, 05:40 PM
Not a big surprise here.

GonzaGAW
09-17-2015, 08:12 PM
always a bit disappointed when a top 100 recruit who has shown some interest in Gonzaga, passes on us and goes elsewhere.
but in this case we have a seattle area kid who also just took a pass on Washington, well that makes me smile and practically erases any disappointment I had.

MDABE80
09-17-2015, 08:57 PM
No offense but we are absolutel loaded out front. I suppose theres always room for another but this kid, with all his talents, might be disappoited here. Never like to an unhappy kid. And let's face it, ROmar and the Seattle bball scen says all kids of of untoward things about GU and Spokane. Best thing always happen.

DixieZag
09-17-2015, 10:03 PM
Must be very high character, academic and talented. The list of coaches recruiting him were/are some I respect the most, Dawkins at Stanford, Coach K at Utah, Tinkle at OSU, Bo at Wisconsin, Few - - these are coaches that know exactly what a high character, high talent kid looks like.

GoZags
09-18-2015, 05:34 AM
Must be very high character, academic and talented. The list of coaches recruiting him were/are some I respect the most, Dawkins at Stanford, Coach K at Utah, Tinkle at OSU, Bo at Wisconsin, Few - - these are coaches that know exactly what a high character, high talent kid looks like.

Bingo

webspinnre
09-18-2015, 06:54 AM
Must be very high character, academic and talented. The list of coaches recruiting him were/are some I respect the most, Dawkins at Stanford, Coach K at Utah, Tinkle at OSU, Bo at Wisconsin, Few - - these are coaches that know exactly what a high character, high talent kid looks like.

+1

seacatfan
09-18-2015, 03:38 PM
It would be interesting if he ended up at Oregon St., where he originally verbally committed quite a while ago.

wiszag
09-20-2015, 04:26 AM
JaQuori was in Madison for the football game yesterday and attended an event at the Edgewater Hotel where the basketball team received their final four rings. I've been to Corvallis and if he was impressed by their game day activities, he'd be blown away by what happens in Madison.

basketballzag
09-23-2015, 05:11 AM
JaQuori was in Madison for the football game yesterday and attended an event at the Edgewater Hotel where the basketball team received their final four rings. I've been to Corvallis and if he was impressed by their game day activities, he'd be blown away by what happens in Madison.

He narrowed his choices to Utah, Oregon State, and Wisconsin. Wisconsin is the front runner.

VinnyZag
09-25-2015, 05:45 PM
Oregon State it is (http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2015/09/25/jaquori-mclaughlin-oregon-state-verbal-commitment-recruiting), according to SI. Seems like a big get for the Beavers.

exclusivelee
09-25-2015, 06:48 PM
Oregon State it is (http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2015/09/25/jaquori-mclaughlin-oregon-state-verbal-commitment-recruiting), according to SI. Seems like a big get for the Beavers.

gonna laugh if he decommits again and uses his final 2 official visits in the Spring

Good for OSU. Wish we could have picked him up, but it appears JaQuori wasn't as much of a priority compared to Jonah Mathews and Zach Norvell

GoZags
12-03-2017, 07:04 AM
Must be very high character, academic and talented. The list of coaches recruiting him were/are some I respect the most, Dawkins at Stanford, Coach K at Utah, Tinkle at OSU, Bo at Wisconsin, Few - - these are coaches that know exactly what a high character, high talent kid looks like.

Granted his release from Oregon State .... Top 15 in the Pac 12 as a true freshman last year in 3 categories ... assists, assist/turnover ratio and minutes played. It's my clear understanding that he fervently desires to be a part of a winning culture.


Averaged 10.5 points, 2.2 rebounds, 3.3 assists, 0.8 steals and 0.3 blocked shots in 33.8 minutes per game … Finished 14th in the Pac-12 in assists (3.3), 15th in assist/turnover ratio (1.5) and 10th in minutes played (33.8) … His 58 3-pointers are the most by a freshman in Oregon State history and the seventh most in Oregon State single-season history … His 336 points are the seventh most by a freshman in Oregon State history … His 104 assists are the fifth most by a freshman in Oregon State history … His 1,083 minutes played are the second most by a freshman in Oregon State history … Scored in double figures in 18 games …
http://www.osubeavers.com/roster.aspx?rp_id=3588

Murphy outgo lifer
12-03-2017, 07:28 AM
Seems to be something else going on:

From him,

"Being a student-athlete is a lot of work and there are some challenges that I've been faced with that have impacted me and kept me from being able to compete to the best of my ability in a way that would help my team win games," McLaughlin said in a statement OSU released Friday.

"... This was an important decision that I did not take lightly and I apologize to the fans that have been supportive and treated me so well, even through tough times. It is my hope that even without specific details you can still try to understand that this was about so much more than basketball."

From his coach,

"Like all of the programs at Oregon State, we hold our student-athletes to a high level of expectations on the court, off the court and in the classroom," Wayne Tinkle said in the OSU release. "Unfortunately sometimes that can be too much to ask for. JaQuori is a great kid with a tremendous heart and we wish him nothing but the best in his future endeavors."

About his sophomore season so far,

"But he struggled mightily six games through his sophomore season, averaging 2.7 points, 3.7 assists and 2.3 rebounds. He shot 23.8 percent from the field and missed all 10 of his three-pointers. He lost his starting role last week in the Beavers' Advocare Invitational finale against Marist and picked up four fouls in seven minutes off the bench.

http://www.oregonlive.com/beavers/index.ssf/2017/12/jaquori_mclaughlin_granted_rel.html

thespywhozaggedme
12-03-2017, 07:29 AM
Granted his release from Oregon State .... Top 15 in the Pac 12 as a true freshman last year in 3 categories ... assists, assist/turnover ratio and minutes played. It's my clear understanding that he fervently desires to be a part of a winning culture.


http://www.osubeavers.com/roster.aspx?rp_id=3588

The fact that you bumped this two year old thread is very telling. Is it too early to welcome the young man? LOL

thespywhozaggedme
12-03-2017, 07:30 AM
Seems to be something else going on:

From him,

"Being a student-athlete is a lot of work and there are some challenges that I've been faced with that have impacted me and kept me from being able to compete to the best of my ability in a way that would help my team win games," McLaughlin said in a statement OSU released Friday.

"... This was an important decision that I did not take lightly and I apologize to the fans that have been supportive and treated me so well, even through tough times. It is my hope that even without specific details you can still try to understand that this was about so much more than basketball."

From his coach,

"Like all of the programs at Oregon State, we hold our student-athletes to a high level of expectations on the court, off the court and in the classroom," Wayne Tinkle said in the OSU release. "Unfortunately sometimes that can be too much to ask for. JaQuori is a great kid with a tremendous heart and we wish him nothing but the best in his future endeavors."

About his sophomore season so far,

"But he struggled mightily six games through his sophomore season, averaging 2.7 points, 3.7 assists and 2.3 rebounds. He shot 23.8 percent from the field and missed all 10 of his three-pointers. He lost his starting role last week in the Beavers' Advocare Invitational finale against Marist and picked up four fouls in seven minutes off the bench.

http://www.oregonlive.com/beavers/index.ssf/2017/12/jaquori_mclaughlin_granted_rel.html

You posted yours literally seconds before I posted mine. Quotes are very telling and it's rare to see a coach throw a player under the bus like that. Sounds like there was some major animosity between the two.

23dpg
12-03-2017, 07:31 AM
Wish the young man all the best. Pass.

Kong-Kool-Aid
12-03-2017, 07:36 AM
Wish the young man all the best. Pass.

Haha! You know we have a pretty good track record of taking kids that need another chance right?
Could use another PG, why not take a look?

GoZags
12-03-2017, 07:50 AM
Wish the young man all the best. Pass.

Of course we're all entitled to our opinions. Out of curiosity, would you have also passed on Eric McCLellan? Or How about Micah Downs? Dan Dickau? Kyle Wiltjer? Errol Knight? How about Richard Fox? Or the host of others that found themselves very unhappy at their initial P5 school?

Will be interesting to see what happens with Jaquori's "recruitment" ... as 2nd semester is just around the corner (and there IS an open scholarship ... and ... after years of summer camps, the GU staff "knows" the kid ... who happened to be the State of Washington's "Mr. Basketball").

23dpg
12-03-2017, 07:54 AM
Haha! You know we have a pretty good track record of taking kids that need another chance right?
Could use another PG, why not take a look?

I vaguely recall his recruiting process as being all over the place. Add to that the comments by Tinkle and McLaughlin himself. It seems as though he truly needs time away.

23dpg
12-03-2017, 08:01 AM
Of course we're all entitled to our opinions. Out of curiosity, would you have also passed on Eric McCLellan? Or How about Micah Downs? Dan Dickau? Kyle Wiltjer? Errol Knight? How about Richard Fox? Or the host of others that found themselves very unhappy at their initial P5 school?

Will be interesting to see what happens with Jaquori's "recruitment" ... as 2nd semester is just around the corner (and there IS an open scholarship ... and ... after years of summer camps, the GU staff "knows" the kid).

I do trust the staff and feel that they have almost always made the right choice. Of the examples you gave, Downs and McClellan were the two players who seemed the diciest. Both shined in the second chance and rewarded the coaches with their faith in them. Eric especially became a favorite of mine. If he does become a Zag, he will get my support. But just going with my what I know, I’d pass. My wish for the young man was sincere.

GoZags
12-03-2017, 08:06 AM
I vaguely recall his recruiting process as being all over the place. Add to that the comments by Tinkle and McLaughlin himself. It seems as though he truly needs time away.

Yes. He initially committed verbally to Washington and decided that Romar's program wasn't for him. He reopened his recruitment and ended up choosing Oregon State. Who knows how this will end up ... and like you, I'll trust the staff to do their vetting and due diligence and make their decision.

Worthington
12-03-2017, 08:41 AM
The student athlete stuff behind his transfer is curious. He had the starting spot at the beginning of the year and judging by the box-scores seems to have lost it due to his poor play. He has the physical profile/length that we have been looking for with our increased focus on the defensive end, but do we really need to be going after players who couldn't make it at Oregon State?

I'd probably lean towards keeping this scholarship open for an 'elite' transfer at the end of the year, but if the staff wants him that's good enough for me. I will say that I liked McLaughlin a lot when we were recruiting him out of high school.

jazzdelmar
12-03-2017, 09:43 AM
Tinkle needs more sons of coaches, preferably some who can actually produce...How long before he's gone too from the Oregon State Sons?

willandi
12-03-2017, 09:43 AM
https://i.imgur.com/CgOECDl.jpg

According to the schollie chart, we have 4 point guards next year. It seems that power forwards are represented and wings...another center seems to be a need. I, personally, would prefer to fill the one empty schollie with a C/PF.

jazzdelmar
12-03-2017, 09:44 AM
Yes. He initially committed verbally to Washington and decided that Romar's program wasn't for him. He reopened his recruitment and ended up choosing Oregon State. Who knows how this will end up ... and like you, I'll trust the staff to do their vetting and due diligence and make their decision.

Open arms for him.

seacatfan
12-03-2017, 10:10 AM
Yes. He initially committed verbally to Washington and decided that Romar's program wasn't for him. He reopened his recruitment and ended up choosing Oregon State. Who knows how this will end up ... and like you, I'll trust the staff to do their vetting and due diligence and make their decision.

Nope. Originally committed to OSU and Craig Robinson. Robinson was let go, he decommitted and switched to Romar and the Huskies. Then changed back to OSU after Tinkle was named as the coach. It was a roller coaster ride of a recruitment.

Kiddwell
12-03-2017, 11:58 AM
ESPN 3-star.


http://www.espn.com/colleges/basketball/recruiting/school/_/id/204/class/2016


:]

GoZags
12-03-2017, 01:52 PM
ESPN 3-star.


http://www.espn.com/colleges/basketball/recruiting/school/_/id/204/class/2016


:]

Yes. Some research CAN find his lowest ranking out of high school. ESPN’s 3 Star. Of course one could have also posted Scout.com (4 Star) or Rivals.com (4 Star) or the concensus RSCI national ratings (#86 in the nation). But you are correct. The kid was 3 Star according to ESPN.
https://sites.google.com/site/rscihoops/home/2016-final

Martin Centre Mad Man
12-03-2017, 02:15 PM
https://i.imgur.com/CgOECDl.jpg

According to the schollie chart, we have 4 point guards next year. It seems that power forwards are represented and wings...another center seems to be a need. I, personally, would prefer to fill the one empty schollie with a C/PF.

We only show one scholarship vacancy between now and 2020. Unless a current player leaves ahead of schedule, that last scholarship should be saved for someone really special. If the staff offers one to this young man, we should trust that he is going to be a strong contributor. They won’t waste it.

CDC84
12-03-2017, 08:54 PM
That vacancy is likely being held open for Jordan Brown or an elite transfer of some type.

thebigsmoove
12-04-2017, 05:25 AM
We only show one scholarship vacancy between now and 2020. Unless a current player leaves ahead of schedule, that last scholarship should be saved for someone really special. If the staff offers one to this young man, we should trust that he is going to be a strong contributor. They won’t waste it.

Tillie and Rui very well could (and probably should) be gone after this season based on current draft projections.