PDA

View Full Version : Zach Collins to play in NBPA Top 100 Camp



Zagdawg
06-15-2015, 06:21 PM
Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 2h2 hours ago
Zach Collins (@zcollins_33) will play in @TheNBPA @Top100Camp. Busy Summer for the #futureZag

"Zach Collins is one of the skilled basketball players who have been invited to the prestigious NBPA Top 100 Camp, which will be held June 16-20 on the campus of the University of Virginia. The NBPA Top 100 Camp is an event hosted by the NBPA (National Basketball Players Association), where current and former NBA players coach and guide prospective basketball stars. Another 2016 prospect, 6'8" wing Brendan Bailey, has also been invited to the camp."


http://www.zagaholic.com/2015/06/zach-collins-to-play-in-nbpa-top-100.html

cjm720
06-16-2015, 08:14 AM
Nice work, Zach!!

Only if there was someway we could land Frank Jackson or Brendan Bailey...

Zippyzaggy
06-16-2015, 05:05 PM
Almost afraid someone will try to steal Collins away before he signs. That being said...signing day can't come soon enough! He might become the highest rated recruit Gonzaga has ever landed.

OZZY
06-16-2015, 07:40 PM
Perhaps Zach could put a few good words in for Gonzaga to Brendan in particular........

Zagdawg
06-16-2015, 07:49 PM
Zach Collins retweeted

9h: @zcollins_33 Congrats on the opportunity! Zagnation pulling for you. Talk to @brendanbailey35 about teaming up at Gonzaga.

OZZY
06-16-2015, 10:21 PM
:cheers:
Zach Collins retweeted

9h: @zcollins_33 Congrats on the opportunity! Zagnation pulling for you. Talk to @brendanbailey35 about teaming up at Gonzaga.

Zagdawg
06-17-2015, 05:20 PM
http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1556146

"Collins had one of the best performances of any post in camp on Wednesday. He’s always been a mobile center with good size, length and athleticism but showed an improved skill level in the afternoon.
The 2016 prospect finished well around the basket, made some nice passes from the paint and high post, played hard, protected the rim and rebounded on both ends of the court.
Collins made an early commitment to Gonzaga. "



Zach Collins retweeted

Courtside Films ‏@CourtsideFilms 11m11 minutes ago
Zach Collins (@zcollins_33) has been scoring at will all day. His low post presence is phenomenal. Great moves on the block.

CDC84
06-17-2015, 06:29 PM
Wow, scout.com has discovered that Collins might not be a prospect who should be ranked in the 90's :)

jazzdelmar
06-17-2015, 06:30 PM
If this kid is not the first out of the box Mickey D for GU it will be an injustice.

MDABE80
06-17-2015, 06:39 PM
Staff got a dandy. Looks spectacular.

Zagdawg
06-18-2015, 09:45 AM
Zach Collins retweeted


Vegas Fundamentals ‏@LVFundamentals 2h2 hours ago
#Vegas news #ZachCollins the 4-Star recruit had one of the best performances Day 1 @ #NBPA Top 100


Zach Collins retweeted


Clint Jackson ‏@clintjackson1 1h1 hour ago
Zach Collins -- Forgot to mention yesterday, but he is looking good again today. Tough, pretty skilled. Effective around basket. #NBATop100


Gonzaga Guru retweeted


Rob Harrington ‏@Rob_Harrington 59m59 minutes ago
Zach Collins is having a nice camp. Just managed to score between Mohamed Bamba and Mamadi Diakite -- no small feat.


Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 3h3 hours ago
.@zcollins_33 was a dominant force on the glass yesterday at #NBPATop100 http://ny2lasports.com/article_one.aspx?articleid=2980 … (@ny2lasports) #ZagUp


Gonzaga Guru ‏@ZagsGuru 20m20 minutes ago
2016 6'8 wing Brendan Bailey is receiving rave reviews at the #Top100Camp today. Raining 3's! #GonzagaRecruit

"Zach Collins – 2016 – C – Las Vegas, Nevada
Activity and effort were his calling cards Wednesday as Collins brought both to the table the results were a couple of solid performances. He showed solid finishing ability around the basket, ran the floor well, dropped in a couple of post moves and made things happen on both ends while serving as a dominant force on the glass. Wrapped day 1 averaging 10 ppg and close to 8 rebounds while going 9-15 from the field and blocking a couple of shots.
See more at: http://ny2lasports.com/article_one.aspx?articleid=2980#sthash.GkJ7bMNj.dp uf

Zagdawg
06-18-2015, 07:14 PM
Dinos Trigonis ‏@trigonis30 3h3 hours ago
Collins is definitely not afraid to mix it up inside either. Just got tangled up & held his ground vs 6-9 man-child Edrice Adebayo

Brandon Clay ‏@BrandonClayPSB 1h1 hour ago
#NBPATop100 (VA) Day Two Stars:
Brendan Bailey
Troy Baxter
Joey Brunk
Zach Collins
Ty Jerome
Omari Spellman


Dinos Trigonis ‏@trigonis30 3h3 hours ago
Gonzaga-bound 6-11 2016 Zack Collins (Bishop Gorman/Las Vegas NV) is having a very solid #NBPATop100 camp on both ends of the floor

Zagdawg
06-19-2015, 03:54 PM
Rodger Bohn ‏@rodgerbohn 5m5 minutes ago
6'10 Zach Collins from Vegas has been dominating glass.Totally controlling area on both ends + good positional D. #nbpatop100

webspinnre
06-19-2015, 07:02 PM
Boy, I love all these comments about dominating the glass.

Zagdawg
06-19-2015, 11:19 PM
Coach John Lucas ‏@CoachJohnLucas1 7h7 hours ago
Zach Collins has shown lots of toughness and willingness to guard the best offensive player and also score. #NBPATop100

CDC84
06-20-2015, 11:25 AM
USA today article:

http://usatodayhss.com/2015/after-biding-his-time-gonzaga-commit-zach-collins-ready-to-break-out#sthash.IgEN2fJH.uxfs&st_refDomain=twitter.com&st_refQuery=/zcollins_33

Zagdawg
06-20-2015, 12:27 PM
Dinos Trigonis ‏@trigonis30 6h6 hours ago
#nbpaTop100 Top Rebs (to date): Adebayo 8.0 rpg; DeLaurier-Montgomery 7.0; Zach Collins 6.8; Thon Maker 6.7; @nolimitbill 6.5; Huell 6.5

MDABE80
06-20-2015, 01:08 PM
I hope he doesn't get his head turned in anther direction. You can bet somebody's going to try to whisper in his ear.

HillBillyZag
06-20-2015, 02:08 PM
Damn, this Kid is for Real. He's athletic for his size and runs the floor, has a variety of shots, great hands, is a skilled passer, and seems unafraid of contact. He could be our most complete Five since JP Batista? And he seems to have that kind of Heart?, if so? he will be a MONSTER.:clap:

jazzdelmar
06-20-2015, 02:11 PM
Are we talking one and done here?

HillBillyZag
06-20-2015, 02:24 PM
I don't think so. Most Coaches Kids seem to value an Education, and when he steps onto McCarthey it won't be the finished Product. I do think the " Jesse & Zach " Show will be some FUN To watch!

jazzdelmar
06-20-2015, 02:30 PM
So on paper he would be a freshman when the Bonus is a junior and Eddie is a junior as well? He's not a redshirt candidate I wouldn't think.

HillBillyZag
06-20-2015, 03:01 PM
Boy, I wish I knew?, Jazz. For the last couple of seasons we've moved into uncharted waters concerning depth? IMHO we have actually begun to approach a surplus of talent. Who'd have thunk it? lol. Can Few continue to keep everyone happy?, down the line from what I'm seeing, Jesse & Zach will be hard to keep off the floor?, more so after their Frosh Season. I'm not complaining for the Big Banner WILL hang in the Kennel one Day soon. :cheers:

Zagdawg
06-20-2015, 06:00 PM
zagbball ‏@zagbball 7h7 hours ago
America is discovering what #ZagNation has known for a while, @zcollins_33 is one of the best bigs around http://usatodayhss.com/2015/after-biding-his-time-gonzaga-commit-zach-collins-ready-to-break-out …

DixieZag
06-20-2015, 08:50 PM
I wonder how many D-1 teams Bishop Gorman could have beaten last year. More than a few, I would think.

DukeSilver
06-23-2015, 11:51 AM
Great interview.

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1557743-nbpa-top-100-zach-collins

ZagNative
06-23-2015, 12:02 PM
Great interview.

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1557743-nbpa-top-100-zach-collins
Wow! What a great interview!

jazzdelmar
06-23-2015, 12:15 PM
Are they going to put him in their top 25? They say now there are 23 better prep centers in his class. Helloooo.

Zagdawg
06-23-2015, 01:24 PM
About recruiting Brendan Bailey to Gonzaga ---"I think I got him" -- that would be great. Did not realize that they had played AAU ball together.

sittingon50
06-23-2015, 02:00 PM
About recruiting Brendan Bailey to Gonzaga ---"I think I got him" -- that would be great. Did not realize that they had played AAU ball together.

Ditto. Hopefully that & Thurl Bailey's relationship with John Stockton gets him to Spokane (John followed Thurl to the Jazz by one year & I think they were there 7 yrs. together).

cjm720
06-23-2015, 02:47 PM
Great interview.

http://www.scout.com/college/basketball/recruiting/story/1557743-nbpa-top-100-zach-collins

Wow did we get a gem...exciting on many levels. I just might hold my breath on Bailey!

hooter73
06-23-2015, 07:35 PM
Well at least Zach can pronounce the name right. Pick up the que there reporter lady!

23dpg
06-23-2015, 08:09 PM
My favorite part of the interview was how Zach enunciated Gonzaga correctly over and over after the interviewer kept mispronouncing it. Very discreet yet polite.

Zagdawg
06-23-2015, 08:50 PM
Agree

GonzagasaurusFlex
06-24-2015, 02:04 PM
My favorite part of the interview was how Zach enunciated Gonzaga correctly over and over after the interviewer kept mispronouncing it. Very discreet yet polite.

Sharp kid. My favorite part of interview was when he said his recruiting pitch to Bailey is to the point: ""They [Gonzaga] play basketball the right way and they don't recruit selfish players...and they win. Everybody wins there."

Coach Crazy
06-24-2015, 03:02 PM
Wow did we get a gem...exciting on many levels. I just might hold my breath on Bailey!

With the way things are going, might as well. I mean, worst case scenario we go with the 2016 roster that is in place. Zach Collins and Brendan Bailey, in addition to what we will have, makes this team a legitimate NC pick, at some point during their tenure. And not the "I like Gonzaga as a trendy pick" kind of way. To me, adding him would probably be the step before the next big advancement to that next level as a program.

And we still have yet to see either play a whole senior season. Whether or not Zach gets a 5* McD's rating...he's already playing like one.

DixieZag
06-24-2015, 07:21 PM
Already looks like a senior physically.

Already speaks like a senior mentally.

He's making a run at being my favorite "incoming" player of all time. I actually got the same feeling hearing that as when I heard B-Wes first interviewed. "Guy's a Zag".

madness
06-25-2015, 01:10 PM
Already looks like a senior physically.

Already speaks like a senior mentally.

He's making a run at being my favorite "incoming" player of all time. I actually got the same feeling hearing that as when I heard B-Wes first interviewed. "Guy's a Zag".

Agree on all accounts, Zach's polish is astounding as a rising High School senior.

Zagdawg
06-27-2015, 11:37 AM
Player List

http://i1251.photobucket.com/albums/hh559/zagdawg/CIh-f4lUAAAsiH4.jpg (http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/zagdawg/media/CIh-f4lUAAAsiH4.jpg.html)

Wrong thread--thanks Native for correcting.

Zagdawg
07-01-2015, 01:35 PM
http://www.courtsidefilms.com/news_article/show/530307-gonzaga-commit-zach-collins-2016-mixtape-nba-top-100-camp

sittingon50
07-01-2015, 02:20 PM
Nice tape. Thanks dawg.

HillBillyZag
07-01-2015, 03:10 PM
As the Baseball Scout said in " A League of Their Own?" this Kid has the Goods !

MDABE80
07-01-2015, 03:22 PM
Very well spoken. Clever too. Superior player. Few struck gold. We did too. Give this kid a mic!

Bogozags
07-01-2015, 04:08 PM
Thanks for the tape!

Question: Has GU ever had a Big that has such a developed game as this rising senior? I didn't see Calvary play as a freshman, so he might have been just as good. I remember Ronnie and Josh. Josh had really good foot work but injuries held him back BUT IMO, Zach is going to be much better at the start of his career then any of the bigs I've seen.

I look forward to reading your thoughts... your thoughts...

MDABE80
07-01-2015, 04:17 PM
I think you're right Bogo. Collins is a ver special recruit. I surely don't remember a kid this far along prior to college. Williams and Collins will be fun to watch. Josh could have been but along the way, other things were going on. Whatta a talent though. MVP of the Japan leagues this year.

Baseline
07-01-2015, 04:41 PM
Great hops and aggressive around the rim, but what surprised me is how well he shoots for a big man. I can't wait for the Collins era to begin!

BobZag
07-01-2015, 06:16 PM
Man he looks good.

zagamatic
07-01-2015, 10:33 PM
The kid has skills for sure. There aren't many college juniors that have his skills set at his size. Seriously? To fake a 3, step in 2 feet and still drain a jumper smoothly? Willing to take contact, rim protection, passing. ......I'd like to see more of his defensive skills (haven't watched much video on him as of yet), but count me as impressed.

ZagaZags
07-01-2015, 11:33 PM
Zach has been hitting the weights and it shows in that video. I'll be curious to see if they will name a Gonzaga recruit as a burger boy in 2016. Zach's play next season will probably make it impossible to leave him off the Mickey D's 2016 roster.

CDC84
07-02-2015, 07:34 AM
Unless he makes an unbelievable splash this month on the AAU circuit, I don't feel he's going to make the Burger Boy team. Even if he averages 35 PPG at Bishop Gorman. By then it will be too late.

My gut feeling is that he won't make the Burger Boy team because he really hasn't had the chance to showcase his ability until recently. You usually need to be a big time prospect for 2-3 years prior to the roster announcement.

As always, I hope I am wrong.

hooter73
07-02-2015, 10:07 AM
This is a case that sure shows what it means to be practicing with/against high level guys like he was behind for the last few years. After banging against two top forwards/centers, he's now tougher, knows what he has to do to defend, and knows what he has to do to get buckets.

Here's hoping the same rings true for Ryan Edwards.

MDABE80
07-02-2015, 11:50 AM
With all his talents, click you heels and cross your fingers. Somebody will be after him. Weasel coaches will try to whisper in his ear. It's a given.

Zagdawg
07-02-2015, 11:58 AM
When can he officially sign?

sittingon50
07-02-2015, 12:23 PM
November.

cggonzaga
07-02-2015, 12:24 PM
He's not going anywhere no matter who comes on late. Fully sold on GU.

ProjectMKUltra5
07-02-2015, 12:48 PM
With all his talents, click you heels and cross your fingers. Somebody will be after him. Weasel coaches will try to whisper in his ear. It's a given.

Those weasel coaches have been going in and out of Gorman for years, if they were gunna be a problem he wouldn't have come to GU in the first place.

Plus it's not like he was a unknown and is just bursting on the scene. He's been playing great but he's been a known commodity for a little while.

Not often am I 100% on a commit actually sticking but Zach isn't going anywhere imo.

MDABE80
07-02-2015, 04:40 PM
He's a Kentucky caliber player. I have no doubt somebody will try to get himin the fold. Best if he's really SOLD! on GU. I am. Pitino, Cal, etc have done it before. I don't see why not now. Our KID is spectacular. Ask ROmar........they steal no matter the signature.

exclusivelee
07-17-2015, 10:29 AM
Reports on Zach Collins from the Adidas Uprising All-American Camp, where he also played in the all-star game at Rucker Park:

From ESPN's Adam Finklestein: http://insider.espn.go.com/college-sports/recruiting/basketball/mens/insider/story/_/id/13272563/josh-jackson-9-schools-list


July 17, 2015

The Gauntlet circuit was known for guard play this spring, with the likes of Dennis Smith Jr., Kobi Simmons, Frank Jackson, Alkins and Heron, among others, and in a camp environment you would expect it to be just more of the same. As it happened though, it was the big men who stepped up to make their presence felt this week. While Adebayo certainly topped the list, he definitely wasn't alone. Zach Collins continued to show why he is a great early pickup for Gonzaga, rebounding diligently, showing an inside-out skill set and the big shoulders that are sure to allow him to continue to develop his frame.

From Rivals' Eric Bossi: https://rivalshoops.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=1783649&PT=4&PR=2


July 17, 2015

Adidas Uprising: Top performers

BROOKVILLE, NY -- After two days of high-quality basketball at the adidas Uprising All-America camp, here are the top performers

Zach Collins -- An early commitment to Gonzaga who ranks No. 34 in the class of 2016, Collins didn't score in droves, but he didn't get many touches, either. When he did, he showed soft touch, great footwork and a nice inside/out game. Collins was most impressive as a rebounder and a much more physical and effective low post defender than he's ever shown.

Another from Eric Bossi: https://rivalshoops.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=1783349&PT=4&PR=2


July 16, 2015

adidas Uprising: Opening night top performers

BROOKVILLE, N.Y. - Here is a look at some of the top performers from opening night of the adidas Uprising All-American Camp.

He wasn't always rewarded with the ball for his efforts, but Gonzaga commitment Zach Collins competed on the glass and defensively. The No. 34 player in 2016, Collins outplayed higher-ranked big man De'Ron Davis in a head to head matchup.

And some recognition on Twitter:


Josh Stirn @Josh_Stirn
Some early standouts from Adidas AA camp: Zach Collins, Alex Barcello, Wenyen Gabriel, Braxton Blackwell, Gorjok Gak and Gavin Baxter.

Eric Bossi @ebosshoops
#gonzaga commit Zach Collins and Bam Adebayo have been standout bigs to me so far at #adidasuprising

Eric Bossi @ebosshoops
#gonzaga commit Zach Collins has been solid in both games tonight. Boarding, picking up offense where he can, defending #adidasuprising

AllMetroHoops @ehoopsshowcase
2016 PF Romello White showing good interior passing ability, has connected twice with Zach Collins for layups #adidasuprising

Stats & photos from the camp:

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/17/b95251aa35588192382e7c201e180373.jpg

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/17/a202974cd9dda20a17c361cd6867ab3c.jpg

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/17/a6b63bfe79c40e42d219ed101408ac1e.jpg

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/07/17/1993a2774ec1e23d82e7419e9218f43b.jpg