PDA

View Full Version : Gary Bell Working out for the Suns Today



ZagNative
06-02-2015, 10:25 AM
From Gary's agent on Twitter:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/--p7SzLnMNlw/VW31tZrQz7I/AAAAAAACfao/Dof_IUn08YQ/s851/2015-06-02%252520Gary%252520Bell%252520Suns%252520Workout. jpg

ZagNative
06-02-2015, 10:35 AM
Good luck, Gary!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-8y6aWFMwELs/VW34jynFPdI/AAAAAAACfa0/Mbr4XTJJNXI/s816/2015-06-02%252520Gary%252520Bell%252520Suns%252520Workout-1.jpg

Angelo Roncalli
06-02-2015, 11:03 AM
and Byron Wesley is working out with the Lakers...

https://twitter.com/Lakers/status/605803848817467392?lang=en

ZagNative
06-02-2015, 11:06 AM
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-A9A3aykLPas/VW3_XvgwXuI/AAAAAAACfew/wSZeeZYXlrg/s720/2015-06-02%252520Byron%252520Wesley%252520Lakers%252520Wor kout.jpg

MDABE80
06-02-2015, 11:06 AM
Wonderful that all three guards get this chance. How far have we come!

sittingon50
06-02-2015, 11:07 AM
Hope Gary can find a "team" that fits. The kid has earned it.

And good luck to Byron as well.

BULLDOG#1
06-02-2015, 11:14 AM
I would not be shocked if BWes found a home in the Lakers organization. So much emphasis in the NBA has been put on scoring... and that's one thing he can do, no matter what level.

ZagNative
06-02-2015, 11:32 AM
Kevin's on his way to a workout with the Sixers. Here's a good interview he had with Tiki and Tierney today. (http://tikiandtierney.radio.cbssports.com/2015/06/02/kevin-pangos-nothings-guaranteed-in-this/)

hooter73
06-02-2015, 12:03 PM
Oh now there is the info weve all been waiting to hear! Good deal. You dont start for four years or lead multiple teams for years without at least getting a shot to show what you can do.

ZagMan in Philly
06-02-2015, 12:32 PM
Kevin's on his way to a workout with the Sixers. Here's a good interview he had with Tiki and Tierney today. (http://tikiandtierney.radio.cbssports.com/2015/06/02/kevin-pangos-nothings-guaranteed-in-this/)

Hope he will have a good workout in Philly!!

ZagNative
06-02-2015, 01:00 PM
Here's a really good post-workout video interview with B-Wes. (http://www.nba.com/lakers/lakers-draft-workouts-byron-wesley) He mentions in it that he had a workout with the Clippers while Pangos was working out for the lakers.

I sure like B-Wes and hope for the best for him....

DixieZag
06-02-2015, 01:16 PM
Here's a really good post-workout video interview with B-Wes. (http://www.nba.com/lakers/lakers-draft-workouts-byron-wesley) He mentions in it that he had a workout with the Clippers while Pangos was working out for the lakers.

I sure like B-Wes and hope for the best for him....

BWes is a ZAG!

At this point, he'd have a hard time remembering how to spell U.S.C.

Proud of him.

webspinnre
06-02-2015, 01:38 PM
Here's a really good post-workout video interview with B-Wes. (http://www.nba.com/lakers/lakers-draft-workouts-byron-wesley) He mentions in it that he had a workout with the Clippers while Pangos was working out for the lakers.

I sure like B-Wes and hope for the best for him....

Not quite sure about the guarding the 4 comment, but good on him for being ambitious and setting goals to work towards. Love that he and Pangos are sharing info on workouts.

JPtheBeasta
06-02-2015, 01:44 PM
Keep following those dreams. Pretty cool experience for these guys, I'm sure. As a GUG living in AZ, GBJ and/or Pangos would mean a few extra butts in the seats and even more beers at the concession stand. It would be a lot of fun to have a Zag here. With Pangos, the press would go pretty crazy with allusions to Nash 2.0, I'm sure.

ZagNative
06-02-2015, 02:17 PM
From Twitter:

Utah Jazz ‏@utahjazz

We'll have six more prospects in for #JazzDraft workouts tomorrow

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-99A6FUkQNTg/VW4srjV_ALI/AAAAAAACffU/7SwfuSGw7PI/s512/2015-06-02%252520Gary%252520Bell%252520Jazz.jpg

basketballzag
06-02-2015, 04:53 PM
From Twitter:

Lot of chatter about Kevin Pangos right now in the league and his draft stock rising much higher than what is projected online by the various websites. If he isn't "drafted" in the 2nd round he is still going to be signed to an NBA roster in 2016. There is going to be a lot of jockeying by Coaches and GMs to either draft him in the late 2nd round or make him a priority FA signing.

Nets coach Lionel Hollins could be seen having a long talk with Gonzaga guard Kevin Pangos, who also participated in the workout.
http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/nets/nets-buy-picks-nba-draft-team-exec-article-1.2243059

seacatfan
06-02-2015, 05:35 PM
It's all about finding a fit, but some good previous GU players didn't find a niche in the NBA. For my money Bouldin and Gray were both better, more complete players than Wesley.

spike_jr
06-02-2015, 05:43 PM
It's all about finding a fit, but some good previous GU players didn't find a niche in the NBA. For my money Bouldin and Gray were both better, more complete players than Wesley.

Amen! I thought that Downs may have been the most NBA ready player to come through GU in the Few era and he could not find the right fit either. Unless you are a high lottery pick, it is all about filling a specific need on a specific team.

ZagsGoZags
06-02-2015, 06:19 PM
Kevin's on his way to a workout with the Sixers. Here's a good interview he had with Tiki and Tierney today. (http://tikiandtierney.radio.cbssports.com/2015/06/02/kevin-pangos-nothings-guaranteed-in-this/)

Zag Native, you find so many good ones
contribute so much to this board ...
thanks a bunch, glad you are here:)

ZagNative
06-02-2015, 06:28 PM
Zag Native, you find so many good ones
contribute so much to this board ...
thanks a bunch, glad you are here:)What a nice thing to say! Thanks!

JPtheBeasta
06-02-2015, 09:32 PM
Zag Native, you find so many good ones
contribute so much to this board ...
thanks a bunch, glad you are here:)

+1. Thanks.

ZAG 4 LIFE
06-02-2015, 11:08 PM
I can tell you that I attended the Santa Barbara Court of Champions banquet Sunday night where I ran into a long time
family friend, and one of my basketball mentors growing up, Bill Bertka.
Mr. Bertka is still working for the Lakers at 87 years of age! He is a veritable encyclopedia of basketball knowledge.
I asked him if he was around for KP's Laker workout, and he said he was. He told me that Kevin played very well, and
he mentioned that they loved his leadership abilities and his "intangibles." I jumped on that theme and reminded
Coach Bertka that Kevin was the starting point guard for 4 years for the Zags, and he helped produce 122 wins in
those 4 years. The kid is a winner. I hope he gets a chance.

On another note from the same banquet... just about the first person I ran into at this Basketball banquet
was none other than Lady Zag great Keani Albanez. Keani is a native Santa Barbaran like yours truly.
What a neat young lady! Keani said she has signed with an agent and is planning to play professionally in Europe.
I told her she is a great Zag, that we are all proud of her and that we wish her well in her future endeavors.
Terrific young woman.

ZagaZags
06-02-2015, 11:16 PM
Lot of chatter about Kevin Pangos right now in the league and his draft stock rising much higher than what is projected online by the various websites. If he isn't "drafted" in the 2nd round he is still going to be signed to an NBA roster in 2016. There is going to be a lot of jockeying by Coaches and GMs to either draft him in the late 2nd round or make him a priority FA signing.

Nets coach Lionel Hollins could be seen having a long talk with Gonzaga guard Kevin Pangos, who also participated in the workout.
http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/nets/nets-buy-picks-nba-draft-team-exec-article-1.2243059

I know I will be watching the draft. I remember watching the 2012 draft from a hotel room in Palm Springs. I was hoping Robert Sacre would get drafted, I had pretty much given up when it was 3 picks from being over. That made my night when he got drafted with the final pick in 2012.

ZagaZags
06-02-2015, 11:17 PM
Zag Native, you find so many good ones
contribute so much to this board ...
thanks a bunch, glad you are here:)

+2
Thanks ZN. :cheers:

OZZY
06-03-2015, 03:04 AM
Zag Native, you find so many good ones
contribute so much to this board ...
thanks a bunch, glad you are here:)

+3!

You know how I feel about you ZN!

Your constant research and sleuth work is most appreciated by those of us far away!

:)

DixieZag
06-03-2015, 06:09 AM
I can tell you that I attended the Santa Barbara Court of Champions banquet Sunday night where I ran into a long time
family friend, and one of my basketball mentors growing up, Bill Bertka.
Mr. Bertka is still working for the Lakers at 87 years of age! He is a veritable encyclopedia of basketball knowledge.
I asked him if he was around for KP's Laker workout, and he said he was. He told me that Kevin played very well, and
he mentioned that they loved his leadership abilities and his "intangibles." I jumped on that theme and reminded
Coach Bertka that Kevin was the starting point guard for 4 years for the Zags, and he helped produce 122 wins in
those 4 years. The kid is a winner. I hope he gets a chance.

On another note from the same banquet... just about the first person I ran into at this Basketball banquet
was none other than Lady Zag great Keani Albanez. Keani is a native Santa Barbaran like yours truly.
What a neat young lady! Keani said she has signed with an agent and is planning to play professionally in Europe.
I told her she is a great Zag, that we are all proud of her and that we wish her well in her future endeavors.
Terrific young woman.

What a great post. Thank you.

basketballzag
06-03-2015, 08:13 AM
I know I will be watching the draft. I remember watching the 2012 draft from a hotel room in Palm Springs. I was hoping Robert Sacre would get drafted, I had pretty much given up when it was 3 picks from being over. That made my night when he got drafted with the final pick in 2012.

I told you he was going to get drafted that night too. The Pelicans (then the Hornets) had him as their #1A choice until Darius Miller fell through the cracks but then again they landed Anthony Davis and his connection & playing time with Davis was a stronger piece at the time. I also strongly suspect that Kevin Pangos will also get drafted in the late 2nd round. He is having in what has been a recent trend with Gonzaga players an outstanding pre-draft camp workout reputation right now.

Gone are the days of having former GU players who didn't have particularly good pre-draft work-outs. These work-outs determine the players future.

ZagNative
06-03-2015, 12:27 PM
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-W1unGCWKPdw/VW9ijlrIOVI/AAAAAAACfhk/DgJfiMobIDg/s720/2015-06-03%252520Gary%252520Bell%252520Jazz.jpg

cjm720
06-03-2015, 01:24 PM
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-W1unGCWKPdw/VW9ijlrIOVI/AAAAAAACfhk/DgJfiMobIDg/s720/2015-06-03%252520Gary%252520Bell%252520Jazz.jpg

Who is that w/ GB?

ZagNative
06-03-2015, 05:17 PM
Who is that w/ GB?I think it's Shaquielle McKissic, a Kentridge HS alum and buddy of Gary's and an Arizona State alum. Interesting back story about the young man here. (http://www.scout.com/college/arizona-state/story/1339580-tumultuous-journey-brought-mckissic-to-tempe?s=43) Best of luck to him!

Zag Man
06-03-2015, 05:31 PM
Here's a really good post-workout video interview with B-Wes. (http://www.nba.com/lakers/lakers-draft-workouts-byron-wesley) He mentions in it that he had a workout with the Clippers while Pangos was working out for the lakers.

I sure like B-Wes and hope for the best for him....

Thank you for sharing this video! This is the major reason I peruse this site as we get so much cool information on the team and the players that we would not normally find.

I am so impressed with Byron as a person. He is so articulate and smart. After his playing days are over, I'm sure we'll see him as a coach or in the management team of some professional basketball team. Good luck, Byron!

U Zig, I Zag
06-03-2015, 05:33 PM
Re the McKissic kid: good on you.

ZagNative
06-03-2015, 09:28 PM
Sam Dower getting ready for Sumer League possibilities:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-G-w6xQ16Abk/VW_icWALqII/AAAAAAACfiQ/7RDbNHN-1tc/s912/2015-06-04%252520Sam%252520Dower%252520Summer%252520League .jpg

ZagNative
06-09-2015, 04:50 PM
From twitter:

Gonzaga Guru retweeted
Mike Persinger ‏@mikepersinger

Hornets workouts Wednesday should be fun:
Devin Booker, Sam Dekker, Keon Moore, Kevin Pangos, Travis Trice, Julian Washburn.

bballbeachbum
06-10-2015, 10:44 AM
Zag Native, you find so many good ones
contribute so much to this board ...
thanks a bunch, glad you are here:)

+4 Thank you always!

ZagNative
06-11-2015, 10:40 AM
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-n8ZF57eizx8/VXnW4H6PLgI/AAAAAAACfmQ/MAJ4RRKbTuo/s800/2015-06-11%252520Kevin%252520Pangos%252520Charlotte.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-AyB5ERVd2Lc/VXnbkaJtk8I/AAAAAAACfmk/TWYGlVGAiG4/s720/2015-06-11%252520Kevin%252520Pangos%252520Charlotte-2.jpg

Kevin Pangos smiles as he responds to a reporter's question following a pre-draft workout for the Charlotte Hornets on Wednesday, June 10, 2015. Pangos played for Gonzaga in college. Jeff Siner jsiner@charlotteobserver.com


Highlight video: http://www.chatsports.com/charlotte-hornets/a/Booker-Dekker-Highlight-Hornets-Workout-1-11502643

ZagNative
06-12-2015, 02:40 PM
More today:

Kevin Pangos ‏@KPangos

Great workout with the @dallasmavs today! First class organization, thank you for the opportunity

ZagNative
06-15-2015, 02:34 PM
Back to the Jazz...

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Fu6jG4qf91s/VX9TzwpUL-I/AAAAAAACg9Q/NmvaTzFW8NI/s772/2015-06-15%252520Kevin%252520Pangos%252520Jazz.jpg