PDA

View Full Version : Gonzaga in March Madness. ( 17 great season.)



ZagaZags
04-22-2015, 07:22 PM
http://www.lasvegaslq.com/images/cmsimg_1357331247.jpg

2015
#2 seed Gonzaga beat #15 seed North Dakota State 86-76
#2 seed Gonzaga beat #7 seed Iowa 87-68
#2 seed Gonzaga beat #11 seed UCLA 74-62
#2 seed Gonzaga lost #1 seed Duke 66-52

2014
#8 seed Gonzaga beat #9 seed Oklahoma State 85–77
#8 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Arizona 84–61

2013
#1 seed Gonzaga beat #16 seed Southern 64–58
#1 seed Gonzaga lost to #9 Wichita State 76–70

2012
#7 seed Gonzaga beat #10 seed West Virginia 77–54
#7 seed Gonzaga lost to #2 seed Ohio State 73–66

2011
#11 seed Gonzaga beat #6 seed St. John's 86–71
#11 seed Gonzaga lost to #3 seed BYU 89–67

2010
#8 seed Gonzaga beat #9 seed Florida State 67–60
#8 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Syracuse 87–65

2009
#4 seed Gonzaga beat #13 seed Akron 77–64
#4 seed Gonzaga beat #12 seed Western Kentucky 83–81
#4 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed North Carolina 98–77

2008
#7 seed Gonzaga lost to #10 seed Davidson 82–76

2007
#10 seed Gonzaga lost to #7 seed Indiana 70–57

2006
#3 seed Gonzaga beat #14 seed Xavier 79–75
#3 seed Gonzaga beat #6 seed Indiana 90–80
#3 seed Gonzaga lost to #2 seed UCLA 73–71

2005
#3 seed Gonzaga beat #14 seed Winthrop 74–64
#3 seed Gonzaga lost to #6 seed Texas Tech 71–69

2004
#2 seed Gonzaga beat #15 seed Valparaiso 76–49
#2 seed Gonzaga lost to #10 seed Nevada 91–72

2003
#9 seed Gonzaga beat #8 seed Cincinnati 74–69
#9 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Arizona 96–95 2 OT

2002
#6 seed Gonzaga lost to #11 seed Wyoming 73–66

2001
#12 seed Gonzaga beat #5 seed Virginia 86–85
#12 seed Gonzaga beat #13 seed Indiana State 85–68
#12 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Michigan State 77–62

2000
#10 seed Gonzaga beat #7 seed Louisville 77–66
#10 seed Gonzaga beat #2 seed St. John's 82–76
#10 seed Gonzaga lost to #6 seed Purdue 75–66

1999
#10 seed Gonzaga beat #7 seed Minnesota 75–63
#10 seed Gonzaga beat #2 seed Stanford 82–74
#10 seed Gonzaga beat #6 seed Florida 73–72
#10 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Connecticut 67–62

Gonzaga is 8-12 when playing a higher seed.
Gonzaga is 14-5 when playing a lower seed.

22-17

229SintoZag
04-22-2015, 09:20 PM
http://www.lasvegaslq.com/images/cmsimg_1357331247.jpg

2015
#2 seed Gonzaga beat #15 seed North Dakota State 86-76
#2 seed Gonzaga beat #7 seed Iowa 87-68
#2 seed Gonzaga beat #11 seed UCLA 74-62
#2 seed Gonzaga lost #1 seed Duke 66-52

2014
#8 seed Gonzaga beat #9 seed Oklahoma State 8577
#8 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Arizona 8461

2013
#1 seed Gonzaga beat #16 seed Southern 6458
#1 seed Gonzaga lost to #9 Wichita State 7670

2012
#7 seed Gonzaga beat #10 seed West Virginia 7754
#7 seed Gonzaga lost to #2 seed Ohio State 7366

2011
#11 seed Gonzaga beat #6 seed St. John's 8671
#11 seed Gonzaga lost to #3 seed BYU 8967

2010
#8 seed Gonzaga beat #9 seed Florida State 6760
#8 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Syracuse 8765

2009
#4 seed Gonzaga beat #13 seed Akron 7764
#4 seed Gonzaga beat #12 seed Western Kentucky 8381
#4 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed North Carolina 9877

2008
#7 seed Gonzaga lost to #10 seed Davidson 8276

2007
#7 seed Gonzaga lost to #7 seed Indiana 7057

2006
#3 seed Gonzaga beat #14 seed Xavier 7975
#3 seed Gonzaga beat #6 seed Indiana 9080
#3 seed Gonzaga lost to #2 seed UCLA 7371

2005
#3 seed Gonzaga beat #14 seed Winthrop 7464
#3 seed Gonzaga lost to #6 seed Texas Tech 7169

2004
#3 seed Gonzaga beat #15 seed Valparaiso 7649
#3 seed Gonzaga lost to #10 seed Nevada 9172

2003
#9 seed Gonzaga beat #8 seed Cincinnati 7469
#9 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Arizona 9695 2 OT

2002
#6 seed Gonzaga lost to #11 seed Wyoming 7366

2001
#12 seed Gonzaga beat #5 seed Virginia 8685
#12 seed Gonzaga beat #13 seed Indiana State 8568
#12 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Michigan State 7762

2000
#10 seed Gonzaga beat #7 seed Louisville 7766
#10 seed Gonzaga beat #2 seed St. John's 8276
#10 seed Gonzaga lost to #6 seed Purdue 7566

1999
#10 seed Gonzaga beat #7 seed Minnesota 7563
#10 seed Gonzaga beat #2 seed Stanford 8274
#10 seed Gonzaga beat #6 seed Florida 7372
#10 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Connecticut 6762

Gonzaga is 8-12 when playing a higher seed.
Gonzaga is 16-5 when playing a lower seed.

And just think: the very best is still yet to come....

MDABE80
04-22-2015, 09:28 PM
I beleieve that Sinto. Seems like the program took a major step in reclaiming an E 8 birth. Until the last 4 minutes or so, we were in the game with Duke... We competed effectively. In the past 6 years or so, I was got the sense that we followers were nervous to get out of the first weekend.......things just seem different now.
We have great recuits. We have a better future. The media knows it too..

GrizZAG
04-22-2015, 09:53 PM
Thank you for assembling this ZZ. Very nice!

ZagaZags
04-22-2015, 10:22 PM
Thank you for assembling this ZZ. Very nice!

I started this during March Madness to combat the trolls saying GU chokes in March. I forgot to post it last month, so I finished it today. I found a few mistakes but it should be correct now. That's a pretty impressive 17 years.

:cheers:

sittingon50
04-22-2015, 10:47 PM
'95?

ZagaZags
04-22-2015, 10:47 PM
#1) 0-7
#2) 2-2
#3) 0-1
#5) 1-0
#6) 3-2
#7) 3-1
#8) 1-0
#9) 2-1
#10) 1-2
#11) 1-1
#12) 1-0
#13) 2-0
#14) 2-0
#15) 2-0
#16) 1-0

Amazing, GU has played a #1 seed 7 times in 17 seasons.

ZagaZags
04-22-2015, 10:50 PM
'95?
Yeah I left out 1995. I was focusing on the 17 year run. If you add 1995, GU is 0-2 VS a #3 seed. With a 22-18 March Madness record.

gozagswoohoo
04-23-2015, 06:16 AM
Very cool list and info here in this thread. I'm going to save this. Good stuff.


I would be really interested to see how other teams compare with that 22-17 record. I may have to look that up/compile that, just to satisfy my own curiousity. I bet there's not TOO many teams who have played more games than us (39) over this span.

GoZags
04-23-2015, 06:33 AM
And just think: the very best is still yet to come....

"Likes"

TheGonzagaFactor
04-23-2015, 06:42 AM
Very cool list and info here in this thread. I'm going to save this. Good stuff.


I would be really interested to see how other teams compare with that 22-17 record. I may have to look that up/compile that, just to satisfy my own curiousity. I bet there's not TOO many teams who have played more games than us (39) over this span.

The blue bloods all have many more wins than we have games played. Really puts in perspective how young we are as a relevant program.

TheGonzagaFactor
04-23-2015, 06:43 AM
The thing I find most impressive, other than the 17 consecutive NCAA berths, is that we've only lost in the Round of 64 THREE TIMES!

But "Gonzaga always loses in the first round"..................

GoZags
04-23-2015, 07:25 AM
The thing I find most impressive, other than the 17 consecutive NCAA berths, is that we've only lost in the Round of 64 THREE TIMES!

But "Gonzaga always loses in the first round"..................

To be honest the narrative had been changed to "Gonzaga always loses in the first weekend" .... as if actually winning a game in the dance is meaningless (but it's all "they" had). BTW only Gonzaga and Kansas have won at least one game in the last 7 dances (out of 351 D1 schools).

Once and Future Zag
04-23-2015, 08:42 AM
2015
#2 seed Gonzaga lost #1 seed Duke 66-52

2013
#1 seed Gonzaga lost to #9 Wichita State 76–70

2012
#7 seed Gonzaga lost to #2 seed Ohio State 73–66

2009
#4 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed North Carolina 98–77

2006
#3 seed Gonzaga lost to #2 seed UCLA 73–71

2001
#12 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Michigan State 77–62

1999
#10 seed Gonzaga lost to #1 seed Connecticut 67–62

7 of those years we lost to a FF team, 3 of which were the eventual champs.

Zagquette
04-23-2015, 09:17 AM
2006
#3 seed Gonzaga beat #14 seed Xavier 7975
#3 seed Gonzaga beat #6 seed Indiana 9080
#3 seed Gonzaga lost to #2 seed UCLA 7371

2005
#3 seed Gonzaga beat #14 seed Winthrop 7464
#3 seed Gonzaga lost to #6 seed Texas Tech 7169

2004
#2 seed Gonzaga beat #15 seed Valparaiso 7649
#2 seed Gonzaga lost to #10 seed Nevada 9172


This was the roughest stretch. With the recent announcement of Bud's retirement, I have been collecting some of this best articles. Just reliving that run from 2004-2006. So much promise...So much disapointment...

DixieZag
04-23-2015, 10:41 AM
The thing I find most impressive, other than the 17 consecutive NCAA berths, is that we've only lost in the Round of 64 THREE TIMES!

But "Gonzaga always loses in the first round"..................

I find there are two aspects that are simply unreal - 17 straight, nearly impossible, and the record in the first round.

I honestly would take an upset loss in the 2nd round over either losing in the first round to a higher seed or especially not making the tournament. Think about how wonderful it is to always be involved in selection Sunday and hardly ever being "out" on a Thursday afternoon, essentially gone before most teams play.

The one and only reason we are sometimes cast as the team that "can't win" is that we started out as the team that upset high seeds regularly, THAT is the one thing it has been a long time since it happened. We have not had a significant upset win since St. Johns 11-6 (and some didn't consider that a real upset, just poorly seeded) throw in Nevada, UCLA and Wichita - and there is your perception. All those 10-7 victories, or 9-8 victories get lost in the shuffle.

There was a very real monkey on our back about the S16 - hopefully now that's gone.

GoZags
04-23-2015, 05:14 PM
This was the roughest stretch. With the recent announcement of Bud's retirement, I have been collecting some of this best articles. Just reliving that run from 2004-2006. So much promise...So much disapointment...

Yes. 12 dances ago Gonzaga lost the 2/10 game (similar in stature to the '13 2nd round loss to Wichita State.

Losing the 3/6 game by 2, while underperforming wasn't hideous, in my opinion. Bobby Knight was a pretty good coach, and GU couldn't hit a free throw.

Don't see how losing the 3/2 Sweet 16 was part of a "roughest stretch" ever scenario. After all, as disappointing as the loss was, the Zags did play to seed.

At least that's my opinion.

Bouldin4Prez
04-23-2015, 05:28 PM
Yes. 12 dances ago Gonzaga lost the 2/10 game (similar in stature to the '13 2nd round loss to Wichita State.

Losing the 3/6 game by 2, while underperforming wasn't hideous, in my opinion. Bobby Knight was a pretty good coach, and GU couldn't hit a free throw.

Don't see how losing the 3/2 Sweet 16 was part of a "roughest stretch" ever scenario. After all, as disappointing as the loss was, the Zags did play to seed.

At least that's my opinion.

I think it has less to do with "playing to seed" and more so with just how good those teams were and it was just a tough way to go out. Don't need to say much about the '06 UCLA game, that loss to Nevada was almost just as bad for me. The Zags losing to Wichita State really doesn't haunt me as much as I thought it would at the time. I think it has to do with how good that team turned out to be.

ZagsGoZags
04-24-2015, 08:14 AM
this is not the record of GU teams choking in the Dance ...
its a bad rep, that is now behind us

ZagaZags
04-25-2015, 01:15 AM
this is not the record of GU teams choking in the Dance ...
its a bad rep, that is now behind us

I never said this was about GU teams choking in the Dance. GU had a few mishaps, but they have done well. This thread was intended to show the fact, GU lost to a team that was the favorite. ( Most of the time.)

GU will beat a #1 seed soon.