PDA

View Full Version : Pangos' Indy 3 Pt Contest Thread. . .



Radbooks
03-31-2015, 09:23 AM
From twitter:


CollegeSlam ‏@CollegeSLAM 18m18 minutes ago

ROSTER ANNOUNCEMENT: @ZagMBB sharpshooter @KPangos is bringing his 3-point prowess to #CollegeSLAM! pic.twitter.com/2YAPiTrGuS


Watch the top dunkers and shooters in college hoops compete from Indianapolis April 2 at 7 pm ET on ESPN.

It'll be fun to see him one more time.

jazzdelmar
03-31-2015, 09:29 AM
Um, isn't that a dome? :(.....JK, good lk KP

gonzagafan62
03-31-2015, 09:34 AM
Holy cow!!!! It's not over yet!!!!! Go zags!!!!

jazzdelmar
03-31-2015, 09:44 AM
Holy cow!!!! It's not over yet!!!!! Go zags!!!!

62, buddy, it's over.

Radbooks
03-31-2015, 09:53 AM
Um, isn't that a dome? :(.....JK, good lk KP

It's actually at Butler so he'll be fine! :) They do the 3 point shot and slam dunk contest every year - Pargo and Downs were in the slam dunk contest one year.

gonzagafan62
03-31-2015, 09:56 AM
62, buddy, it's over.

I know. Im talking about Kevin. I want to see him one more time. I didn't think this would happen. Truly a blessing.

rennis
03-31-2015, 11:12 AM
Has any Zag been invited to that since Frahm won it in 2001?

ZagaZags
03-31-2015, 08:19 PM
Kevin Pangos will participate in the College Slam Dunk & 3-Pt. Championships on Thursday, April 2 at 4 p.m.

http://collegeslam.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Logo.png https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CBcOZRcU0AA1471.jpg

There are eight 3-Point contestants.

Alex Barlow Butler
Matt Carlino Marquette
Corey Hawkins UC Davis
Ryan Boatright UConn
Darrun Hillard Villanova
Jordan Sibert Dayton
Patrick Connaughton Notre Dame
Kevin Pangos Gonzaga

rennis
03-31-2015, 09:10 PM
Carlino!?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

CdAZagFan
03-31-2015, 11:14 PM
I'm guessing he's going to finish last in the slam dunk portion, but should have a great shot at the 3-point shooting!

Radbooks
03-31-2015, 11:20 PM
There was a thread posted about this earlier...

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?53731-Kevin-going-to-Indy!-for-3-point-shooting-contest-%29

ZagaZags
03-31-2015, 11:34 PM
There was a thread posted about this earlier...

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?53731-Kevin-going-to-Indy!-for-3-point-shooting-contest-%29
OPPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! , sorry about that. I didn't read page 2.

Mods can you merge the 2 threads?

ZagNative
04-02-2015, 12:01 PM
Got my DVR set to watch Kevin on ESPN at 4:00 pm today.

gonzagafan62
04-02-2015, 12:54 PM
Got my DVR set to watch Kevin on ESPN at 4:00 pm today.

Me too. I'll be out tonight. I'll be watching when I get back though.

Section 116
04-02-2015, 03:14 PM
Currently has the highest score in the three point shooting contest at the Final Four, live on ESPN, leading the semifinalists

U Zig, I Zag
04-02-2015, 03:15 PM
Winning after first round.

ZagNative
04-02-2015, 03:17 PM
Kevin is your leader right now, with 23 3-pointers! (Carlino has 13, for comparison.

jayray
04-02-2015, 03:17 PM
Killing it, except for his first shot.

U Zig, I Zag
04-02-2015, 03:27 PM
Won 2nd round. On to finals. Against the kid from butler. At hinkle.

Zagdawg
04-02-2015, 03:32 PM
Nice! Please keep us updated.

U Zig, I Zag
04-02-2015, 03:35 PM
And he won!

Section 116
04-02-2015, 03:36 PM
Pangos wins, beating Alex Barlow, local Butler favorite!

Zagdawg
04-02-2015, 03:36 PM
Outstanding!!

FuManShoes
04-02-2015, 03:37 PM
Saw that. Awesome. What a great shooter

(And yes, this is where I can't help but wonder what would have happened if a couple of those had gone down in THE MOTHER####ING NRG DOME)

ZagNative
04-02-2015, 03:41 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CBn8ggKUkAAxevm.jpg

MickMick
04-02-2015, 03:57 PM
I am begging of some internet savvy fan.....

When/if a video of this becomes available, please post the link.

U Zig, I Zag
04-02-2015, 04:03 PM
And a gal from Portland (UP) won the girls - she had two days notice to show up.

Now, pangos has to beat her head to head.

She's a Canadian as well.

U Zig, I Zag
04-02-2015, 04:04 PM
WCC representing!

U Zig, I Zag
04-02-2015, 04:12 PM
And he lost! But the UP gal hit 9 in a row so even I was rooting for her. Looks like a ton of fun. Hinkle is packed.

cjm720
04-02-2015, 04:15 PM
Pangos wins, beating Alex Barlow, local Butler favorite!

Awesome!!!

kitzbuel
04-02-2015, 04:30 PM
Waldow's not in the dunk contest?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1neXJ0baFyw

Zagsker
04-02-2015, 04:35 PM
Waldow's not in the dunk contest?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1neXJ0baFyw

Lol...that is just sad

Zagsker
04-02-2015, 04:40 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CBn8ggKUkAAxevm.jpg

Should have worn the blues vs Duke...because we all KNOW uniform colors make a difference!

CdAZagFan
04-02-2015, 04:49 PM
Totally forgot about the contest today... Hopefully someone will post a link to watch it.

ZagsGoZags
04-02-2015, 04:59 PM
And he lost! But the UP gal hit 9 in a row so even I was rooting for her. Looks like a ton of fun. Hinkle is packed.

does anyone know if she used the smaller 'girls ball' size basketball
or
did they use the same size basketball ?

ZagaZags
04-02-2015, 05:02 PM
Totally forgot about the contest today... Hopefully someone will post a link to watch it.

You can watch the replay on ESPNU at 8pm PST.

RenoZag
04-02-2015, 05:07 PM
Saw that. Awesome. What a great shooter

(And yes, this is where I can't help but wonder what would have happened if a couple of those had gone down in THE MOTHER####ING NRG DOME)

We feel your pain, Fu. . .

Radbooks
04-02-2015, 05:11 PM
does anyone know if she used the smaller 'girls ball' size basketball
or
did they use the same size basketball ?

I don't know, but I imagine she used whatever the regular ball she uses during the year which is the smaller sized ball. It only makes sense!

RenoZag
04-02-2015, 05:17 PM
Congratulations, Mr. Pangos, on adding another feather to your cap.

Zags11
04-02-2015, 05:49 PM
Hell yea

hooter73
04-02-2015, 06:27 PM
Waldow's not in the dunk contest?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1neXJ0baFyw

LMAO!!! nice :)

MDABE80
04-02-2015, 07:08 PM
Cruel on the Waldow "dunk"..........lolol...He was so much better his last year.

GrizZAG
04-02-2015, 07:17 PM
Thank you! Wife and I are on the road and missed the earlier one. We are watching it right now. Found it at the hotel...perfect.


You can watch the replay on ESPNU at 8pm PST.

ZagaZags
04-02-2015, 07:22 PM
Thank you! Wife and I are on the road and missed the earlier one. We are watching it right now. Found it at the hotel...perfect.

:cheers:

TheZagPhish
04-02-2015, 11:09 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CBn8ZoBUMAAyXtI.png:large

Zaga
04-03-2015, 05:42 AM
Kevin "Money Ball" Pangos!

Zippyzaggy
04-03-2015, 09:56 AM
Amazing. Pangos was horrible in the Tourney. Nice time to get "hot" now, eh? Freakin Dookies couldn't miss!

Well, back to the Prozac...

Bushman
04-03-2015, 10:14 AM
Does anyone have a link to this event to watch? Us Canadians don't get ESPN. It would be nice to see Kevin go out in a positive way, just as I remember him.

MDABE80
04-03-2015, 11:47 AM
He should have done that 1 week ago. rats!! Love Kevin..a throwback type ...he is a ZAG forever.. Congrats to him.

seacatfan
04-03-2015, 12:22 PM
Amazing. Pangos was horrible in the Tourney. Nice time to get "hot" now, eh? Freakin Dookies couldn't miss!

Well, back to the Prozac...

That's a stretch. He shot the ball well in Seattle. Everybody from GU struggled shooting in that stupid dome in Houston.

PilotNut
04-03-2015, 02:36 PM
Greetings... It was awesome to have 2 Pacific NW WCC student athletes win the men's & women's titles!

I know that this photo is not of Pangos, but rather Cassandra Brown, the Portland player that won the Battle of the Champions (Brown vs. Pangos), but it is too good not to share. To those of you who did not watch the contest, in the final, Pangos shot first, and earned a very respectable 20 points... then it was Cassandra Brown's turn... she hit her first 9 shots in a row to really get Hinkle Fieldhouse fired up en route to 21 points. A photographer took this photo of Cassandra shooting the last ball in route to winning the Battle; the looks on the faces of the male players & contestants is too priceless:

http://i19.servimg.com/u/f19/17/05/80/69/passth10.jpg

PoMoZAG
04-03-2015, 03:10 PM
Pangos winning: http://www.tsn.ca/video/must-see-pangos-wins-ncaa-3-point-competition-in-dramatic-fashion-1.246773


Pangos vs Brown: http://www.tsn.ca/video/must-see-brown-beats-pangos-in-all-canadian-3-point-showdown-1.247117

OZZY
04-03-2015, 07:05 PM
Pangos winning: http://www.tsn.ca/video/must-see-pangos-wins-ncaa-3-point-competition-in-dramatic-fashion-1.246773


Pangos vs Brown: http://www.tsn.ca/video/must-see-brown-beats-pangos-in-all-canadian-3-point-showdown-1.247117

Thanks for the link.

Unfortunately I'm not in the correct Geo Zone...:(

Although they still showed me an ad for a car I can't buy anyways...

TheZagPhish
04-03-2015, 10:00 PM
Thanks for the link.

Unfortunately I'm not in the correct Geo Zone...:(

Apparently neither am I. We've never been closer, Ozzy.

http://reactiongifs.me/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/ice_cube_wtf.gif

jazzdelmar
04-04-2015, 04:07 AM
Great pic. Expressions on faces of Waldaw and Butler And UCDavis kids are priceless.