PDA

View Full Version : Gonzaga/Duke game was enormous boost to CBS Ratings and to Gonzaga's brand



basketballzag
03-31-2015, 05:43 AM
The Duke/Gonzaga matchup on CBS was the highest rated Sunday NCAA Tournament regional final in 10 years. A 9.9/20 tied a 2005 game. This is huge for Gonzaga's brand & identity nationally and will result in even more nationally televised games on all the networks in my opinion. This coupled with the number of Gonzaga fans who traveled with the team to Houston & Seattle really has elevated the stature of the program.

The NCAA Menís Basketball Tournament has been scoring with double-digit gains this year for its best ratings numbers in more than two decades, and Sundayís pair of matchups on CBS that determined the Final Four kept up the pace. The second game, Dukeís pull-away 66-52 win over Gonzaga, bled into primetime in the East and averaged a 9.9/20, tying 2010 as the highest rating in the game window in 10 years and up 10% over last year. The first game, which featured Michigan State crashing the Final Four as the only non-No. 1 seed with a 76-70 victory over Louisville, averaged a 7.6/17 to deliver the highest rating in the game window in 22 years and grow 17% from last year.

Duke-Gonzaga drew an excellent 9.9 overnight, tying 2010 as the highest overnight in the timeslot in a decade.
http://awfulannouncing.com/2015/this-years-ncaa-tournament-is-still-smashing-records.html

strikenowhere
03-31-2015, 05:54 AM
The Duke/Gonzaga matchup on CBS was the highest rated Sunday NCAA Tournament regional final in 10 years. A 9.9/20 tied a 2005 game. This is huge for Gonzaga's brand & identity nationally and will result in even more nationally televised games on all the networks in my opinion. This coupled with the number of Gonzaga fans who traveled with the team to Houston & Seattle really has elevated the stature of the program.

The NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament has been scoring with double-digit gains this year for its best ratings numbers in more than two decades, and Sunday’s pair of matchups on CBS that determined the Final Four kept up the pace. The second game, Duke’s pull-away 66-52 win over Gonzaga, bled into primetime in the East and averaged a 9.9/20, tying 2010 as the highest rating in the game window in 10 years and up 10% over last year. The first game, which featured Michigan State crashing the Final Four as the only non-No. 1 seed with a 76-70 victory over Louisville, averaged a 7.6/17 to deliver the highest rating in the game window in 22 years and grow 17% from last year.

Duke-Gonzaga drew an excellent 9.9 overnight, tying 2010 as the highest overnight in the timeslot in a decade.
http://awfulannouncing.com/2015/this-years-ncaa-tournament-is-still-smashing-records.html

I have to disagree. If the Zags had won the game against a highly-ranked & established blue-blood, instead of losing yet again to Dook on national television, THAT would have helped their national brand. I'm curious as to what the Zags identity is portrayed as here?

Birddog
03-31-2015, 05:55 AM
Here is an article from our local paper talking about the popularity of the Tournament while the regular season attendance is in decline.
http://newsok.com/ncaa-tournament-makes-us-forget-that-college-basketball-is-a-sport-in-trouble/article/5405947

RenoZag
03-31-2015, 06:41 AM
Amazing how the ratings for the tourney continue to climb while the overall quality of the college game continues to slide.

scott257
03-31-2015, 07:58 AM
One thing I know for certain, people who were not Duke fans on day one of the season, were routing for Gonzaga because they would rather see anyone win other than Duke. I drove down from Dallas to watch both games. My wife and I made the trip on Friday, watched the game and spent the night. We got up at 5:30 a.m. and drove back to Dallas so that she could be with a client that was settling an estate issue. After that we drove back down to Houston and spent the night. We returned on Sunday after the game. I was exhausted after what seemed like an entire weekend on the road. I was able to meet with Mark Few's parents while we were down there. They were pretty impressed with the police escort that was given to the bus between the hotel and the stadium. I couldn't help but think that the investment on family at Gonzaga is probably one of the schools biggest selling points. I suspect that (sadly), Mark's parents are not going to be able to make too many more trips in the future due to age related mobility issues. Anyway, to my point, I think that it would be interesting if the team had someone put together a video focused on the family centered nature of Gonzaga as something that could be given to potential recruits families. Seeing not only Mark's family (parents, spouse, children), assistant coaches families, players families, and the families that follow Gonzaga is pretty impressive when you are on the road as far away as Houston and I seriously doubt that there are too many elite programs that make the effort that Gonzaga does.