PDA

View Full Version : GU vs. UCLA Pre-Game Media Megathread



rennis
03-24-2015, 02:33 PM
I'm probably doing this wrong, but mods can do what they wish if I am.

Good interview with Few and the Mike's on ESPN: http://espn.go.com/espnradio/play?id=12549684&ex_cid=espnapi_public

TheZagPhish
03-24-2015, 02:41 PM
Pretty sure you nailed it, rennis. Thanks for getting it started!

ZagNative
03-24-2015, 02:54 PM
Nice interview. Thanks for posting.

Section 116
03-24-2015, 03:36 PM
Brennan: UCLA is obviously a much better team than the one that lost to Gonzaga by 13 at Pauley Pavilion back on Dec. 13. But the Bruins' major advantages over UAB (or even SMU) won't exist against a big, tough Zags front line -- and I don't know how UCLA stops Kyle Wiltjer.

http://espn.go.com/ncb/notebook/_/page/dailyword150324/daily-word

DixieZag
03-24-2015, 03:38 PM
Many here have seen it, but I recall Vitale say that the match between UCLA and GU in December was "a mismatch" and that even though UCLA is vastly improved, he believes Gonzaga still edges them out.

Zagceo
03-24-2015, 04:08 PM
Why no Gonzaga on NCAA website selling sweet 16 shirts? LINK (http://www.shopncaasports.com/NCAA_Championship_Merchandise/pg/1/ps/64/so/newest_items)

I even see a Gonzaga shirt on the front page LINK (http://www.shopncaasports.com)

Angelo Roncalli
03-24-2015, 04:11 PM
Why no Gonzaga on NCAA website selling sweet 16 shirts? LINK (http://www.shopncaasports.com/NCAA_Championship_Merchandise/pg/1/ps/64/so/newest_items)

I even see a Gonzaga shirt on the front page LINK (http://www.shopncaasports.com)

Try this place

http://www.bkstr.com/gonzagazagshopstore/home/en?cm_mmc=Redirect-_-VanityURL-_-zagshop.bkstr.com-_-270905

Zagger
03-24-2015, 04:41 PM
Good interview with Few and the Mike's on ESPN: http://espn.go.com/espnradio/play?id=12549684&ex_cid=espnapi_public
Really liked that interview - mostly due to how upbeat and relaxed Few sounded. Pretty sure that stems from confidence in the team and what the coaches are asking of the team. Few does good interviews but this one just seemed to flow well, had a decent helping of laughter and ..... flowed well. Few has a healthy respect for UCLA. I expect the team does too. Having played them this year helps - and knowing they are beatable can't hurt. Coaches will have the Zags ready for the game. Heck, at this stage I'm pretty sure they guys will be pretty good at getting themselves ready. They know what effort and attitude it's going to take. How they go about doing it will be interesting to see (as was the Iowa game). Go Zags!

Zagceo
03-24-2015, 05:33 PM
Try this place

http://www.bkstr.com/gonzagazagshopstore/home/en?cm_mmc=Redirect-_-VanityURL-_-zagshop.bkstr.com-_-270905

Thanks but really looking for the back story on the reason.

U Zig, I Zag
03-24-2015, 07:11 PM
Thanks but really looking for the back story on the reason.

??
http://www.shopncaasports.com/NCAA_Championship_Merchandise/search/gonzaga

Radbooks
03-24-2015, 07:18 PM
Nice tweet from the Seahawks for the Zags!


Seattle Seahawks ‏@Seahawks 2h2 hours ago

@ZagMBB Hard work is often mistaken for luck. Do you need a Sweet ride for Houston? #GoZags #MarchMadness

ZagsGoZags
03-24-2015, 07:27 PM
I think if Mike and Mike asked Pete Carroll would you rather have the media presenting you as the underdog, or the favorite, going into a big game, his answer would not have been the same that Few gave.
IMO Carroll would say it doesn't matter, we are going to play our game to take the most advantage of this opportunity, and we ignore the media as much as possible.
Few's answer seemed realistic, IMO, because when the underdog wins, its a bigger deal to the sports world, upsets are news. When the underdog loses almost everybody wants to say, 'what else is new?'

If I was a coach, I think I would take Pete Carroll's line.

Radbooks
03-24-2015, 09:10 PM
And the Zags respond to the Seahawks!


Gonzaga Basketball ‏@ZagMBB 33m33 minutes ago

@Seahawks Thanks for the support! No ride needed but any tips on winning in the @HoustonTexans Stadium?! #MarchMadness #WAlove

It's been fun following the Seahawks on twitter the past few months as other teams (Mariners, Sounders, various college teams) support them and they go back and forth making comments to each other. Love seeing them now reach out to the Zags!

ZagaZags
03-24-2015, 09:39 PM
Nice tweet from the Seahawks for the Zags!

How cool would it be if GU rolled into Houston with this.

http://global.fncstatic.com/static/managed/img/U.S./seahawks_plane2.jpg

ZagNative
03-24-2015, 09:45 PM
Bud Withers, "Zags’ Karnowski a study in power and finesse" (http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/zags-karnowski-a-study-in-power-and-finesse/)

caduceus
03-24-2015, 10:28 PM
http://i.imgur.com/J1CUFNm.png


source: tableau.com (https://public.tableau.com/profile/marek2091#!/vizhome/2015NCAATournamentAdjOAdjD/2015NCAATournamentAdjOAdjD) . Axes are in points per 100 possessions.

TheZagPhish
03-24-2015, 10:45 PM
That is a bada$s chart.

TheZagPhish
03-24-2015, 10:57 PM
SI / Will Green & Brendan Prunty: South region preview: Why each team will and won't make the Final Four (http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2015/03/22/south-regional-ncaa-tournament-duke-blue-devils-utah-utes-ucla-bruins-gonzaga-bulldogs)


Why they will make the Final Four:


Of their remaining roadblocks, neither Duke nor UCLA specialize in defense, and Gonzaga’s pace is faster than any of the teams standing between it and Indianapolis.



Why they won’t make the Final Four:


Overall, the Bulldogs are 0-8 in their last eight tournament games against top-four seeds, and it would likely have to beat one in Duke to reach Indianapolis.

TheZagPhish
03-24-2015, 11:05 PM
AP / Nick Geranious: Mark Few: Handstand was his way to keep Gonzaga loose (http://www.seattlepi.com/sports/article/Mark-Few-Handstand-was-his-way-to-keep-Gonzaga-6156597.php)


"What we do in the locker room, we had to re-explain to Kyle, stays in the locker room," Few said Tuesday as second-seeded Gonzaga prepared to play 11th seed UCLA in the Sweet 16 on Friday.

But the handstand, so uncharacteristic of the reserved and dignified Few, also served a serious purpose: To help the Zags loosen up a bit.

Expectations have been high for this team, and Few wanted to make sure the Zags aren't crushed by them.

"The theme of this team is to celebrate wins," Few said. "There are so many expectations that they are supposed to do this that it was becoming like a job."

"We want to take time to celebrate wins," Few said.


"We are going to try to win that game and help (Morrison) get over that loss," Karnowski said.

Zagger
03-25-2015, 02:15 AM
SI / Will Green & Brendan Prunty: South region preview: Why each team will and won't make the Final Four (http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2015/03/22/south-regional-ncaa-tournament-duke-blue-devils-utah-utes-ucla-bruins-gonzaga-bulldogs)
Go Zogs!

montanazag88
03-25-2015, 02:27 AM
AP / Nick Geranious: Mark Few: Handstand was his way to keep Gonzaga loose (http://www.seattlepi.com/sports/article/Mark-Few-Handstand-was-his-way-to-keep-Gonzaga-6156597.php)

Karno gets it. Use that game to motivate, to ignore the hype about who's favored, about who's dominant in the paint and about who's not capable of stopping KW. Zags had an incredible shooting performance, which is almost always followed by a less than equal performance. Alford/Powell could easily make their best Steph Curry impression and the supporting staff could easily be as unconscious knowing what they're up against. I like the idea of the Zags erasing one for Adam. It's great for their mindset....it's great for Adam. Be prepared for a very tough game in Houston. This is the team to do it, but it's going to be a hard fought game for sure.

jazzdelmar
03-25-2015, 04:15 AM
Cautionary note from The New York Times report on the Iowa game:

"In the second half, Gonzaga’s offense slowed down. Iowa switched to a zone defense and played more physically and aggressively; early in the second half, Iowa forward Aaron White picked off two ordinary perimeter passes, taking one all the way back and getting fouled for good measure. Gonzaga at times looked uninspired and, his team playing in his half of the court, Few appeared to call more set plays."

The first half was magical, as reports The Tines:

"Kevin Pangos, a wavy-haired Canadian point guard who is often compared to Steve Nash, ran that offense during the first half in an approximation of the “seven seconds or less” style that Nash, who announced his retirement Saturday."

Zags need to keep pushing. No way UCLA can stick with the offensive juggernaut. Please......don't slow it down.

gu03alum
03-25-2015, 05:44 AM
Cautionary note from The New York Times report on the Iowa game:

"In the second half, Gonzaga’s offense slowed down. Iowa switched to a zone defense and played more physically and aggressively; early in the second half, Iowa forward Aaron White picked off two ordinary perimeter passes, taking one all the way back and getting fouled for good measure. Gonzaga at times looked uninspired and, his team playing in his half of the court, Few appeared to call more set plays."

The first half was magical, as reports The Tines:

"Kevin Pangos, a wavy-haired Canadian point guard who is often compared to Steve Nash, ran that offense during the first half in an approximation of the “seven seconds or less” style that Nash, who announced his retirement Saturday."

Zags need to keep pushing. No way UCLA can stick with the offensive juggernaut. Please......don't slow it down.

Gonzaga shot 62% in the first half and finished the game at 61.5%

Hoopaholic
03-25-2015, 05:48 AM
sure wish the media would report the facts........scoring 41 instead of 46 is not exactly "slowed down" offense

only Witchita State and Wisconsin had as much scoring in a half in all of the round of 32 games.....and they only matched us in a single half not for both halves......

Birddog
03-25-2015, 05:58 AM
Perception problem
https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS0jGtE12sT3PpnYHyPmxE7WkipjZ242 tHwd89xI0rB1BNH2UMV

Zag4Hire
03-25-2015, 06:19 AM
Bruins Nation: What Strategy Can UCLA Basketball Employ to Beat Gonzaga?

http://www.bruinsnation.com/ucla_basketball/2015/3/24/8282173/can-ucla-beat-gonzaga-using-an-indirect-strategy


Examples of the indirect approach would be the German advance through terrain in the Ardennes forest supposably impassable to tanks in WWII to beat France, Stonewall Jackson's march around the Union Army to hit them unexpectedly in the flank at Chancellorsville, or the landing at Normandy instead of the closer Calais on D-Day. Examples of the direct approach would be WWI trench warfare and Pickett's charge at Gettysburg.

A brief aside but Zags' teams are usually built to get out and run but if there was ever a year the Zags' offense could be comparable to the use of a blitzkrieg operational spearhead doctrine rather than a plodding defense-oriented engagement strategy, it would be this year. UCLA is so the WWII France this year too lol.


And I think part of our strategy against UAB was an example of an indirect approach. UAB was clearly concerned about Bryce's shooting and was jumping out to prevent it. But we anticipated that and instead of trying to have Bryce shoot anyway after an incredible shooting performance, we had him dribble-drive around UAB defenders who were over-committed to stopping the three. Isaac Hamilton also had bigger lanes to drive through as well; Isaac Hamilton driving in a clogged lane is a turnover waiting to happen; Isaac Hamilton dribbling against one defender in a lane clear of other defenders is likely going to end in a good result.


You can run Bryce through screens but expect that Gonzaga is going to be very aggressive in fighting through those screens or playing too tightly on defense and have Bryce get into the lane. And again I like stretching the defense with Bryce and having Hamilton get into lane if there is space there. I also think having Parker post up early may not be such a great idea. Parker and Hamilton are similar in one respect - when they start off a game hot they have a good game and when they start off cold they generally do not recover. So put them in positions to succeed early that will give them confidence so that they will have a good game. Bryce driving and kicking out to Hamilton for an open three is probably a good way to get his confidence going (that worked extremely well in the SC game, whereas early drives into a clogged lane in the SMU game led to a bad game offensively). Getting back to Parker, don't post him early against Gonzaga's bigs, they have decent size. He is going to feel too much pressure early in the game. Let him get fed from dribble penetration or get a put-back on a drive. After that, THEN you can post him up. And getting back to an indirect approach, it might be better if he is anticipating a double team because of his 28-point performance so when he does touch it down low he is ready to pass or maybe he can screen for Looney to get him open because they will be more worried about Parker.

Gonzaga's bigs have 'decent size'. That's like saying my mother-in-law is 'kinda fun' to hangout with one-on-one.


Defensively, Gonzaga is tough because they are well-balanced with five players averaging in double figures (well four with Sabonis averaging 9.7 points). But in my mind it was Kyle Wiltjer that killed us last time , schooling Kevon Looney in the low- post and then hitting threes as well. I would think we would concentrate on stopping him and not allowing Kevin Pangos to take threes (he is 80 for 178 shooting threes or 45%) and of course not allow lay-ups or dunks to the other players.

I love how the writer casually rolls out several Herculean tasks as if it goes a long way because he identified the Zags' offensive vectors to defend. Easier said than done and Gonzaga is so disciplined on the offensive side, you can't stop them all effectively and Few & Co. are consistent with going to the well if its working (usually down low especially). It also is funny because the writer had to come up with what might trick Few & Co. on the offensive end for UCLA while Gonzaga's are so obvious yet it wouldn't seem effectively countered. Continues...


Maybe they will anticipate this and use their own indirect approach to take advantage of us trying to stop Wiltjer and Pangos, but I would risk that happening. Stop Wiltjer and Pangos - let someone else beat us.

This sounds like when coupled with the above defensive strategy "When you are everywhere, you are nowhere." UCLA only has a shot if they have a guy that is so glue on Wiltjer that they don't allow him to touch the rock. That is the only way it will work and if it's a big guy that can't keep up, look for KW to draw him outside and pickup some layups on those inside cuts. White seemed like a better matchup defensively than anyone on UCLA and that didn't turn out too well for the Hawks.

In all if I was a UCLA fan, I wouldn't put much stock in what the Bruins do offensively but what do the Bruins employ to stop the Zags. Well we heard all as much leading into the matchup with the Hawkeyes how some pundits were jumping off the bandwagon because Iowa just shredded Davidson. Well the Zags defense and personnel is vastly different than Davidson and it shows. UCLA's opponents have been good offensively but SMU and UAB don't compare to Gonzaga on the offensive spectrum. You will get your points against the Zags but the key is you have to keep tempo and limit their o-boards. The writer, using his military history analogy, is akin to France's military staff worried about how many armored divisions will be used to invade the Rhineland when in actuality it should be "Holy S***, we only have the Maginot Line defenses against the Zags?! Sacre Bleu!". Unless the Bruins body up on KW and force other players to beat them, it's going to be "Benihana Time" for the Zags.

TravelinZag
03-25-2015, 06:50 AM
Cautionary note from The New York Times report on the Iowa game:

"In the second half, Gonzaga’s offense slowed down. Iowa switched to a zone defense and played more physically and aggressively; early in the second half, Iowa forward Aaron White picked off two ordinary perimeter passes, taking one all the way back and getting fouled for good measure. Gonzaga at times looked uninspired and, his team playing in his half of the court, Few appeared to call more set plays."

The first half was magical, as reports The Tines:

"Kevin Pangos, a wavy-haired Canadian point guard who is often compared to Steve Nash, ran that offense during the first half in an approximation of the “seven seconds or less” style that Nash, who announced his retirement Saturday."


The NY Times is one of a handful of newspapers that does extensive original reporting on the world. Perhaps they should stick to news. The slow-down isn't supported by the data. The inference that Nash's retirement announcement had anything to do with Kevin's brilliant play is, to be kind, specious.

zagzilla
03-25-2015, 06:54 AM
Seattle Times coverage of GU Hoops has been pretty good for the past week. Bud Withers is always good to the Zags. Recall he wrote "Bravehearts" documenting the initial rise of GU hoops. A must-read for all Zags fans.

Today there's a piece on Karnowski:

http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/

Yesterday a refelction on the 2006 S16 vs UCLA:

http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/ncaa-tournament/against-ucla-zags-get-a-chance-to-revisit-one-of-their-darkest-ncaa-moments/

Monday a recap of the weekend's takeaways from Key Arena

http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/five-gonzaga-takeaways-from-the-keyarena-weekend/

And last week, a little piece about Josh Perkins:

http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/ncaa-tournament/gonzaga-guard-josh-perkins-stays-positive-despite-lost-season/

Even Jerry Brewer who usually covers UW and Seattle U chipped in:

A nice article on Saturday:
http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/ncaa-tournament/balanced-gonzaga-seems-primed-for-run-at-history/

Profile of Gary Bell:
http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/ncaa-tournament/gary-bell-jr-a-defensive-stalwart-for-gonzaga/

Nice for Seattle to get some local press about the Bulldogs.

Go Zags!

ZZ

rennis
03-25-2015, 06:59 AM
Older BR piece on KW, but the first time I've seen it and wanted to share - it explains more about that buzzer dunk he had at USF too: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2378674-gonzagas-kyle-wiltjer-discovers-inner-superstar-after-transfer-from-kentucky

RenoZag
03-25-2015, 07:08 AM
Thanks for posting those links, zagzilla

And thanks to all who find these stories and post them for others to enjoy.

Beat the Bruins !

rennis
03-25-2015, 07:41 AM
Bahama connections! nice mention of Q Hall here, when talking about Heild and others: http://www.tribune242.com/news/2015/mar/24/who-had-greatest-ncaa-tourney-runs-bahamian-basket/

- Quentin Hall - Guard, Gonzaga Bulldogs

#1999 Tournament Finish - Elite Eight

This was the tournament that really solidified me as a college basketball fan for life. It had been a few years since I saw Hall lead Hawksbill High to consecutive Hugh Campbell titles, but like any small town, it was customary to see guys peak at that level and disappear from national consciousness.

#Not Hall.

#After spending two years in relative obscurity at North Idaho Junior College, Hall transferred to Gonzaga and was the catalyst behind the Bulldogs rise to NCAA notoriety. He was only 5’8” and 160 pounds, but was the same lightning quick, fiery, charismatic floor general that he was in high school.

#At 14 years old, I had seen great point guards make runs at the national title every year, but I’d never seen one do it that looked like me and was from where I’m from.

#For his senior season (1998-1999), he averaged 11.5 points and four assists per game while starting every game at the point.

#We’re used to Gonzaga being an NCAA Tournament staple nowadays, but it wasn’t always that way.

#Hall, along with Matt Santangelo and Richie Frahm, formed a three guard lineup that plucked the Bulldogs from relative obscurity as a No.10 seed all the way to the Regional Final.

#Everyone loves the underdog story, imagine being an underdog with a small point guard from an even smaller country.

#He was a student of the game and always tried to get his teammates involved. Perhaps most importantly, Hall had a good sense of his own limitations and strengths, which included sharp reflexes, great elevation and an explosive first step.

#The Zags beat seventh-seeded Minnesota 75–63 in the first round and Hall finished with 10 points and four rebounds. They followed with an 82–74 win over second-seeded Stanford when Hall added 14 points and eight rebounds.

#In the Sweet 16, Hall finished with seven points and four assists when the Zags would go on to beat Florida 73–72 to advance to the Elite Eight.

#In the Elite Eight, they trailed eventual national champion UConn by one point with a minute remaining before losing 67–62. Hall finished with 18 points and eight rebounds.

#Before retiring from basketball in 2008 and returning to the Bahamas, Hall spent close to a decade travelling Europe in the Dutch, Hungarian, Belgium and German leagues.

#During the regular season Gonzaga finished with a 28–7 record and the conference tournament championship.

#This Cinderella run would be the coming out party for the Bulldogs, and a Bahamian was at the focal point of it all.

#Gonzaga has made the NCAA Tournament each year since, including being ranked as a No.2 seed in this year’s bracket

RenoZag
03-25-2015, 08:01 AM
. . .with Adam Morrison

http://www.spokesman.com/zags/stories/2015/mar/25/gonzagas-sweet-16-loss-to-ucla-in-2006-back-in/

From Today's S - R


“I guess it is what it is,” Morrison said. “I’ll live in infamy, but it’s not like I’m the first guy on the court to show emotion and I won’t be the last.”

Morrison has received numerous media requests this week. He knows the 2006 game will be one of the storylines. He said he might do a few interviews but he’ll stop immediately if it becomes a distraction to the current team.

“These players have earned the shine at this time,” he said.


At some point, Morrison said, you simply have to move on.

“I’ll hear it once in a while or some keyboard warrior will want to make light of it,” he said. “I’ve put all that stuff to rest. If this is my most embarrassing moment, I’m fine with that. There are a lot of other athletes that have done a lot worse things.”

Psychozag
03-25-2015, 08:53 AM
http://espn.go.com/blog/collegebasketballnation/post/_/id/105883/10-bold-predictions-for-the-sweet-16-utah-upsets-duke

I like this bold prediction.

ZagNative
03-25-2015, 09:27 AM
Luke Winn, Sweet 16 Power Rankings: Which team is most likely to win the title? (http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2015/03/25/ncaa-tournament-sweet-16-rankings-kentucky-duke-arizona). Hint: Zags are #5.

PeninsulaDog
03-25-2015, 09:51 AM
From today's LA Times: UCLA Must Be On Guard . . . http://www.latimes.com/sports/ucla/la-sp-ucla-basketball-20150325-story.html

kitzbuel
03-25-2015, 09:52 AM
Defensively, Gonzaga is tough because they are well-balanced with five players averaging in double figures (well four with Sabonis averaging 9.7 points). But in my mind it was Kyle Wiltjer that killed us last time , schooling Kevon Looney in the low- post and then hitting threes as well. I would think we would concentrate on stopping him and not allowing Kevin Pangos to take threes (he is 80 for 178 shooting threes or 45%) and of course not allow lay-ups or dunks to the other players.

So basically their plan is:
- Stop Wiltjer from shooting inside and outside
- Stop GU guards from shooting threes
- Stop GU wings' dribble penetration
- Don't let Shem and Domas dominate inside

That about covers it. Pretty simple. Wonder why no one else thought of that.

DixieZag
03-25-2015, 09:54 AM
Luke Winn, Sweet 16 Power Rankings: Which team is most likely to win the title? (http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2015/03/25/ncaa-tournament-sweet-16-rankings-kentucky-duke-arizona). Hint: Zags are #5.

I so love that hover feature. I wish others had that tech and used it more.

I suppose 5 is fair. I don't like that he has Duke at 2. I appreciate how tough Okafor is, I still don't think his lateral movement is quite as good as lauded about, and Winn managed to find one highlight when he actually didn't run over the guy, which was nice.

gu03alum
03-25-2015, 10:03 AM
. . .with Adam Morrison

http://www.spokesman.com/zags/stories/2015/mar/25/gonzagas-sweet-16-loss-to-ucla-in-2006-back-in/

From Today's S - R

I will never understand why people make fun of him for that. I wish all players had the passion of Adam Morrison.

ZagsGoZags
03-25-2015, 11:31 AM
I have seen many athletes cry after losses without getting the notoriety.
Several Seahawks cried after their loss this year.
I don't know why this has the legs that it does

LongIslandZagFan
03-25-2015, 11:38 AM
. . .with Adam Morrison

http://www.spokesman.com/zags/stories/2015/mar/25/gonzagas-sweet-16-loss-to-ucla-in-2006-back-in/

From Today's S - R

Love the keyboard warrior quote.

TheZagPhish
03-25-2015, 12:00 PM
I have seen many athletes cry after losses without getting the notoriety.
Several Seahawks cried after their loss this year.
I don't know why this has the legs that it does

I suspect at least part of it is because of the type of player that Morrison was -- fiery, chippy, unstoppable -- combined with the national hype that placed him everywhere that season. It was at the time an extreme juxtaposition, one that was largely unexpected, and its echo held.

rennis
03-25-2015, 12:09 PM
1. Adam was an All-American and co-player of the year with JJ. The dude was a rockstar at a small school. There really hasn't been another college athlete like him.
2. He looked like a porn star
3. EVERYONE watched that game. If you weren't watching it the whole time, you definitely were when UCLA made it's comeback and every channel flashed over to the broadcast
4. Adam was polarizing. You either loved him or hated him. And for those that hated him, watching him cry was highly enjoyable, and memorable.

It would be like Tom Brady crying after a Superbowl loss that happened in spectacular fashion. But imagine his career was only 3 years long and you got to see him cry on the day of his retirement. (And he also looked like a porn star)

It's easy for me to see why the notoriety has "stuck." It's just incredibly memorable!

TheZagPhish
03-25-2015, 01:34 PM
Born to ball.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8h1UdUIR3k

OZZY
03-25-2015, 02:23 PM
Born to ball.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8h1UdUIR3k

Now that brought a tear to my eye....and a smile to my face.

adoptedzag
03-25-2015, 02:28 PM
I have seen many athletes cry after losses without getting the notoriety.
Several Seahawks cried after their loss this year.
I don't know why this has the legs that it does

The key word in that statement was "after". Adam broke down _during_ the game with time left in a close game. I understand it was frustrating and I understand that it was emotional, but there was time on the clock. For me, that's why it sticks out in my mind.

Zagger
03-25-2015, 02:33 PM
Defensively, Gonzaga is tough because they are well-balanced with five players averaging in double figures (well four with Sabonis averaging 9.7 points). But in my mind it was Kyle Wiltjer that killed us last time , schooling Kevon Looney in the low- post and then hitting threes as well. I would think we would concentrate on stopping him and not allowing Kevin Pangos to take threes (he is 80 for 178 shooting threes or 45%) and of course not allow lay-ups or dunks to the other players. We'll be putting 7 guys on the court and hope the stripey guys can't count!

http://www.fowlplaces.com/zags/bulldogwink.png

Marcus
03-25-2015, 02:45 PM
Born to ball.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8h1UdUIR3k

That is so good, I love it.

zagzilla
03-25-2015, 05:36 PM
Art Theil at www.Sportspressnw.com has been writing about GU as well including this earlier today.....

http://sportspressnw.com/2200705/2015/not-that-long-ago-zags-were-a-nowhere-team

Head coach Mark Few arrived at Gonzaga as a graduate assistant coach just in time to watch the Bulldogs finish 8-20 and come in last in the West Coast Conference in 1989-90. Four years later, Gonzaga won the WCC and played in the NIT for the first time. The following year, in 1995, the Bulldogs went to the NCAA tournament and were officially big-time.

Or so they thought. When the Bulldogs arrived in Salt Lake City for their historic tournament debut (an 87-63 loss to Maryland), they were properly underwhelmed by the lodging arranged for them by the NCAA. The Zags sagged when they saw the worn “Ma and Pa” motel where they were booked.

“It was the kind where you drive up right to the rooms and the headlights shine in,” Few recalled with a smile.

ZagHouse
03-25-2015, 06:00 PM
What's funny about the first UCLA game, even though we won, I didn't feel we played that well. I remember the pace of the game felt odd, and while I never felt like we were ever in jeopardy, the offense didn't feel very fluid. I know KW got his, but the amount of whistles seemed to disrupt any flow.

RenoZag
03-25-2015, 06:11 PM
zagzilla, the article you linked ( thank you!) was penned by Howie Stalwick, not Art Thiel

DixieZag
03-25-2015, 06:45 PM
What's funny about the first UCLA game, even though we won, I didn't feel we played that well. I remember the pace of the game felt odd, and while I never felt like we were ever in jeopardy, the offense didn't feel very fluid. I know KW got his, but the amount of whistles seemed to disrupt any flow.

I felt the exact same way. It felt like the NDSU game. We never really thought we'd lose, but I never thought we'd really lit the fuse. We just sort of got out to a 10-15 lead and then grudgingly held it.

SunDevilGolfZag
03-25-2015, 07:06 PM
The key word in that statement was "after". Adam broke down _during_ the game with time left in a close game. I understand it was frustrating and I understand that it was emotional, but there was time on the clock. For me, that's why it sticks out in my mind.

The game was unwinnable at the moment he cried. I have great respect for him for the way he reacted. Ultimate competitor. I hope there comes a day when people (especially on this board) will give this a rest, unless it is to revere Adam--our greatest player ever.

TerpZag
03-25-2015, 07:17 PM
Seattle Times' Bud Withers: Eric McClellan gives Gonzaga a spark, after Gonzaga gave him a lift (http://www.seattletimes.com/sports/gonzaga-bulldogs/eric-mcclellan-gives-gonzaga-a-spark-after-gonzaga-gave-him-a-lift/)


Gonzaga rescued Eric McClellan, not without considerable deliberation, and though McClellan’s saga seems far from complete, the circle closes a bit this week. The Zags are in Houston for a Sweet 16 game with UCLA, bringing McClellan within a 2 ½-hour drive of where he grew up...

...In the round-of-32 victory Sunday over Iowa, Hawkeyes guard Mike Gesell was troubling Pangos in the second half with penetration when McClellan was summoned.

“(Gesell) made about three thrusts and he just gave up,” said Jerry Krause, Gonzaga’s co-director of basketball operations. “He moved his feet so well. His on-ball defense was tremendous.”

Even as the contribution is relatively minor, McClellan can only be grateful. Awhile back, he looked around the Gonzaga locker room and marveled, “This group is crazy. I’m blessed to be a part of this team.”...

Zagger
03-25-2015, 08:12 PM
Great read! A 1/2 week so far of great reads! This story now and the story on Sabonis are my favs. So much good has happened this season it wouldn't bother me one bit if all the teams in the Tourney up and said - Hey, we've had a great year - let's all go fishing! But, the games are destined to go on. Spirits will be raised and hearts broken - then we get to do it all again next season! Ain't life a beach! Go Zags!

Robzagnut
03-25-2015, 08:23 PM
I will never understand why people make fun of him for that. I wish all players had the passion of Adam Morrison.

Watch the ESPN 30-for-30 show I Hate Christian Laettner. It will help you understand. When you're that good other people want to watch you fail. When you do they will be relentless and never let you forget.

ZagaZags
03-25-2015, 11:37 PM
https://usatftw.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/gty_467303730_71824479-e1427112126252.jpg?w=1000

Gonzaga routed No. 7 Iowa on its way to a a long-elusive Sweet Sixteen date. Kyle Wiltjer had 24 of the Zags’ 87 points, and added seven rebounds. Simply put, Wiltjer was utterly unstoppable, and after the game, he gave away the key to his success in his press conference.

“And for me, I mean, tonight we were extra motivated because we were going to dinner last night and we passed one of my favorite restaurants, Benihana, and we were going to a burger joint. So I was like, coach, we should go to Benihana. And one of our assistants said, ‘Hey, if you get the win tonight, we’ll go to Benihana in Houston.’ So I was extra motivated because now we get to go to Benihana. So I’m hyped.”

Read the rest a link.

http://ftw.usatoday.com/2015/03/gonzaga-has-benihana-to-thank-for-its-trip-to-the-sweet-sixteen

RenoZag
03-26-2015, 06:54 AM
In today's column, Titus fields questions from his "mailbag":


Which possible Sweet Sixteen outcome do you dread the most? Notre Dame beating Wichita State would be a tragedy. We need to see the WSU-Kentucky rematch. I still haven’t gotten over how ridiculous it was that Kentucky was an 8-seed last year and the committee went out of their way to make Wichita State’s road next to impossible. It almost ruined the tourney for me when Kentucky barely beat them and Twitter exploded with, “Wichita State is so overrated!” while Kentucky fans chimed in with, “No one gave us a chance!” We need the rematch just for the possibility to right a lot of wrongs.
—Matt

I get your point, but the worst possible Sweet 16 outcome is clearly UCLA over Gonzaga. UCLA shouldn’t have even made the tournament, then it won its first game on a bogus goaltending call, and it reached the Sweet 16 by beating a 14-seed. It’s fair to say that the Bruins don’t really belong here.

Now think about what will happen if UCLA beats Gonzaga. Mark Few’s reputation would be nuked so badly that he could win 40 straight national titles and people would still say he chokes in the tournament. Gonzaga would never be taken seriously again — it would probably get a 5-seed if it entered next year’s tournament 34-0. The movement to expand the tournament to 168 teams would gain steam because its proponents would argue, “If UCLA can make a miracle run, then maybe those NIT teams could’ve, too!” And most importantly, Adam Morrison is on Gonzaga’s staff. If UCLA knocks him out of the Sweet 16 after what it put him through in 2006, then everyone who has ever set foot in Westwood should be charged with treason for torturing a national treasure.

More at the LINK (http://grantland.com/the-triangle/titus-ncaa-tournament-sweet-sixteen-mailbag-duke-justise-winslow-wisconsin-frank-kaminsky-kentucky-john-calipari-wichita-state-shockers-notre-dame-jerian-grant/)

TheZagPhish
03-26-2015, 08:39 AM
Spokesman-Review / Jacob Thorpe: Bulldogs should again be able to handle improved Bruins (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2015/mar/26/bulldogs-should-again-be-able-to-handle-improved/)


Bruins coach Steve Alford doesn’t seem to think letting opponents shoot deep shots is a bad thing, even though they shoot such a high percentage against the Bruins that it would be difficult to score as efficiently shooting twos.

Last year he told reporters, “If we could make teams shoot more threes, take away more of the inside, I’d be much more in favor of that just because the percentages are going to be in our favor. If I had my way, I’d just as soon teams shoot 30, 35 threes against us.”

GU coach Mark Few would probably be just fine with that.

rennis
03-26-2015, 08:43 AM
Sid Titus is amazing. As is the Brad guy at the end. The Money In The Bank idea is sheer hilarity.

RenoZag
03-26-2015, 09:16 AM
Jim Meehan on Celebrating the Wins

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2015/mar/26/gu-notes-mark-fews-handstand-big-hit-on-cus/


Few is more than cool with his players taking the time to celebrate team accomplishments. Somewhere in the Zags’ 34-win season the victories kept stacking up but not the corresponding joy.

“So many expectations have been put upon them where they’re supposed to do this,” Few said. “I didn’t feel, the staff didn’t feel they were celebrating wins. It was becoming like a job.”

billyberu
03-26-2015, 10:51 AM
http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/ncaab-the-dagger/the-crying-game--looking-back-at-the-ucla-gonzaga-sweet-16-classic-012050246.html

Why rewatch that painful game when you can just read about here. Great commentary from the former players, coaches and media.

RenoZag
03-26-2015, 11:52 AM
Nice video profile of Don'tmiss. . .

http://www.ncaa.com/video/basketball-men/2015-03-21/mbk-championship-countdown-gonzaga-domantas-sabonis

Lewey
03-26-2015, 12:05 PM
http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/ncaab-the-dagger/the-crying-game--looking-back-at-the-ucla-gonzaga-sweet-16-classic-012050246.html

Why rewatch that painful game when you can just read about here. Great commentary from the former players, coaches and media.

Thanks for posting the link, great article. We'd all like to avoid the memories, but this provides a lot of good background in what the coaches and players were thinking then and now.

RenoZag
03-26-2015, 12:36 PM
http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/ncaab-the-dagger/the-crying-game--looking-back-at-the-ucla-gonzaga-sweet-16-classic-012050246.html

Why rewatch that painful game when you can just read about here. Great commentary from the former players, coaches and media.

That's a very well done and fair accounting of the game that altered the path of Howland and Few's careers. I like our guy's chances to write a better ending to the story on Friday night, billy, thanks for posting the link.

ZagNative
03-26-2015, 04:14 PM
Spokesman-Review picture gallery from practice today. (http://www.spokesman.com/picture-stories/gu-men-ncaa-practice-houston/)

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-b_4GglHcbiE/VRSghFN6UOI/AAAAAAACXM8/ERRs8w7r8Ok/s720/Fullscreen%2520capture%25203262015%252051009%2520P M.bmp.jpg

DixieZag
03-26-2015, 09:49 PM
Blanchette on Alford's coaching history and with a Spokane connection: http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2015/mar/26/john-blanchette-steve-alfords-long-route-success/


He also managed to fuse competitiveness with camaraderie in coaching his teams. At Manchester, Robinson recalled, a notoriously poor foul-shooter got cocky after making 29 in a row at practice and challenged the coach. Alford accepted – and made 242 straight before quitting, trash talking the entire time. It’s much the same at UCLA.

“With him,” said leading scorer Norman Powell, “we get the best of both worlds.”

It hasn’t all been a charmed coaching life. Iowa fans soured on what they felt were underachieving teams. At New Mexico, he agreed to a 10-year contract extension – and took the UCLA job 10 days later. Criticism of his mishandling of Pierre Pierce’s sexual assault cases at Iowa eventually induced him to apologize.

hushpuppy
03-27-2015, 06:54 AM
From our friends at LMU: http://www.laloyolan.com/sports/why-you-should-be-rooting-for-gonzaga/article_e86153da-e331-51c0-8eb2-d493895de7af.html

"But the most villainous player on the Bulldogs is without a doubt senior guard Kevin Pangos and his flowing, frustratingly majestic hair. Pangos’ fundamentals and savvy playing style are beyond infuriating and his hair looks like it’s been bathing in Moroccan argan oil for months."

Thanks for your support.

Zagceo
03-27-2015, 08:32 AM
Myron Medcalf on Gary LINK (http://espn.go.com/blog/collegebasketballnation/post/_/id/106067/gonzagas-gary-bell-brings-the-defense-for-the-zags)

RenoZag
03-27-2015, 08:58 AM
Myron Medcalf on Gary LINK (http://espn.go.com/blog/collegebasketballnation/post/_/id/106067/gonzagas-gary-bell-brings-the-defense-for-the-zags)

Thanks for the link, Zagceo


“It's been the utmost importance,” Few said. “He's our identity down there at that end. These guys will tell you that. We're more than comfortable in some situations switching ball screens or switching things out of bounds. If he ends up on a big, he's set on top, you know he's going to give you a fight, and that fight that he exudes is contagious. I think it carries over to these other guys when they see him locking down good players.”

beaverzag
03-27-2015, 09:29 AM
http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/ncaab-the-dagger/the-crying-game--looking-back-at-the-ucla-gonzaga-sweet-16-classic-012050246.html

Why rewatch that painful game when you can just read about here. Great commentary from the former players, coaches and media.

As a lifelong Beaver fan, and a serious Zag fan since 2007 ( first daughter enetered Gonzaga), I watched that game as a PAC-10 fan. I thought Morrison's emotional display was extreme at the time, but felt bad for him. i've come to truly appreciate Gonzaga as a university and as an emerging basketball power. Few is truly a treasure. Now it's time to exorcise the fUCLA demon and advance.

zagzilla
03-27-2015, 10:05 AM
SportpressNW articlefrom today...

http://sportspressnw.com/2200792/2015/gonzaga-ucla-in-denial-about-early-blowout
As good as Wiltjer has been, the Player of the Year in the West Coast Conference was Gonzaga senior Kevin Pangos, whom Alford said “is about as good as it gets at the point guard position.” Alford also offered high praise for Gary Bell Jr. and USC transfer Byron Wesley, the two other seniors who complete Gonzaga’s starting backcourt.

“I think those three really are what this team is about,” Alford said.

Mind you, Gonzaga’s three primary big men – Wiltjer, Karnowski and super sub Domantas Sabonis – combine to shoot nearly 60 percent from the floor. The Bulldogs lead the nation in field-goal shooting percentage at 52.6, rank third in 3-point shooting at 41.0 percent and stand sixth in scoring at 79.5.

“Defending them is one thing,” Alford said. “Trying to score enough points to stay up with them is another thing. We have to be really good at both ends of the floor.”

Gonzaga holds the edge over UCLA in most team statistics, but the Bruins played a tougher schedule in the Pac-12 Conference than the Zags faced in the WCC. The Bulldogs have more experience, size and depth than the Bruins, but all of UCLA’s starters average 10.6 points or more.

“You can put that starting five against anybody’s in the country,” Few said.

UCLA mixes zone and man-to-man defenses and will trap and press at times. The Bruins have certainly improved on defense since that forgettable December contest, when they were badly outplayed much of the way in their only home loss of the season.

“Offensively, we were pretty bad,” freshman forward Kevon Looney said. “Defense – we played none.”

Shooting guard Norman Powell, UCLA’s lone senior starter, leads the Bruins in scoring at 16.4. Sophomore point guard Bryce Alford, the coach’s son, averages 15.6.

Alford drained nine 3-pointers for all 27 of his points in a 60-59 win over SMU last Thursday. Alford’s final shot, the game-winner, came on a goaltending call. Most observers believe the ball would not have gone through the hoop, but the official’s call was the correct one.

The 6-9, 220-pound Looney, a projected lottery pick in June’s NBA draft, averages 11.6 points and 9.2 rebounds. Looney’s arms are longer than an I-5 traffic jam. Junior Tony Parker, a 6-9, 260-pound center and forward, takes up space down low and contributes 11.4 points and 6.6 rebounds.


Go Zags!

jim77
03-27-2015, 10:10 AM
I think its funny how folks think we need to "avenge" the 2006 UCLA loss. Do our players really need to use it as motivation to be successful? Do current UCLA coaches or players really have anything to do with it? We did beat them earlier this year...does that count? Our guys will be motivated to win...and what they do on the court will decide just that....and the 2006 game is not relevant. The Zags don't need to 'avenge" anything...they just need to play their best. Heck, I hope their real motivation is to go further than any Zag team ever has.....regardless of who they play. The fellas are having a TERRIFIC season that I'd like to see continue....and it doesn't matter much too me who is standing in front of them. GO ZAGS!

zagzilla
03-27-2015, 10:21 AM
Jim Meehan on Celebrating the Wins

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2015/mar/26/gu-notes-mark-fews-handstand-big-hit-on-cus/

Sounds like the BYU loss turned out to be a good thing....

Throughout the season we had those long stretches that we kept winning games and winning games,” junior center Przemek Karnowski said. “I feel we kind of started thinking we were going to win every game. Then we played BYU at home and kind of hit the wall.

“That was a wake-up call. We started playing better and harder in Las Vegas and then even better in Seattle. We started building on that and started having more fun.”

ZZ