PDA

View Full Version : Gonzaga vs Pacific...predictions and other thoughts



Reborn
01-23-2015, 04:39 PM
The Zags and their fans will all be happy to hit the floor again. The student body will still be revved up after last night victory over St. Mary's. They will bring the heat, and the Zags, ever thankful to the Kennel Club and other crazy friends who attend these home games, will feed off their energy, and it will get hot, very hot inside K2. Expect to see an offensive explosion that feeds off their defense.

We may get to see a little more of McClelland. That would be nice. And more of Melson too. I 'd like that. I'm going to predict that we get over 12 threes. REMEMBER The game is at 5 pm.

Gonzaga 91
Pacific 49

Go Zags!!!

DixieZag
01-23-2015, 04:47 PM
Zags get off to fast start, up by 15 6 minutes in.

Lay off the pace but end the half about 15 up.

Rev right through them in the second half.

Zags 91
Not Zags 54

Martin Centre Mad Man
01-23-2015, 04:51 PM
I predict that Rem will play.

gonzagafan62
01-23-2015, 05:01 PM
Gonzaga 88 pacific 41 guards stick to playin tough d

maynard g krebs
01-23-2015, 05:51 PM
84-55.

RenoZag
01-23-2015, 05:56 PM
Pacific will try to make it a plodding ugly low possession game the way they did vs. SMC at the Spanos Center. It might work for a bit but it won't keep them from being another bug splat on the Zags' windshield.

GU 84
UOP 58

zag67
01-23-2015, 07:05 PM
I agree with Reno. I will also say:
GU 88
UOP 55

LongIslandZagFan
01-23-2015, 07:38 PM
Cute little kittens 148
Mean old bulldoggies 40

See.... aren't they the cutest:

http://www.angelfire.com/extreme5/halo24/funny/thumbnails/400x300/killer_kitten.jpghttp://www.political-humor.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/sniper-kitten.jpg

Don't these guys look mean:

http://barkpost.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/bulldog-puppies-in-their-basket-big.jpg

Zags11
01-23-2015, 09:48 PM
Zags 84
Pacific 68

Pangos 17

zagamatic
01-23-2015, 11:50 PM
While it kinda sucks that basketball has come to this, the Zags kinda need to pummel a team like Pacific for their "national perception", especially on the defensive end. With that in mind, I'd like to see 20 plus turnovers for them and a final score of around 87-41

OZZY
01-24-2015, 12:29 AM
GU continue showing a tough defensive presence. The guards will shut down Wallace and Robinson and Pacific's bigs will be unable to make inroads against GU's front court. When the Zags bench gets some burn they are a bit easier to score against...

Pacific: 55 points

On the other hand, the Zags play inside out and smash Pacific to the tune of 40 first half points with KP getting his 288th 3 right near the halftime buzzer... with a 25 point lead the Zags let out the bench and cruise to a 20 point victory...

Zags: 75 points

Go Zags!

Zagger
01-24-2015, 03:04 AM
Bulldogs 88 - Tigers 44
Expecting a decent spread between these two team's scores as the Zags set up great shots and bust their butts on D. Connor with a dunk and Pangos breaks the 3!
Go Zags!
Http://www.fowlplaces.com/zags/beatpacific.png

jazzdelmar
01-24-2015, 03:54 AM
why is this dreck in the WCC again?

gueastcoast
01-24-2015, 04:25 AM
why is this dreck in the WCC again?

Indeed.

To Zagmatic's point, the east coast media bias means we have to destroy teams like this, since they assume that the entire WCC (not just the bottom dwellers) stink. The boys rise to the occasion.

Zags 92
Not Atlantic 59

Reborn
01-24-2015, 07:35 AM
It's game day already. I like Saturday games, and especially those played at 5 pm Pacific Time. There's really no day like game day. I'll be watching at 5 for sure. I want to watch all the fun....Should be a very entertaining day for us Zag fans.

Go Zags!!!
One game at a time!

DixieZag
01-24-2015, 07:57 AM
why is this dreck in the WCC again?

Very frustrating.

I just looked up their RPI - somewhere around 220, but, it is above LMU. Terrible.

And, I'm a little frustrated hearing the "Zags only play in WCC" b/c just checking the Pac12, there are literally 4 teams below Texas Southern at 109.

23dpg
01-24-2015, 08:07 AM
I'd be surprised if the Zags hit 80. Pacific will milk the clock and try to slow down the game. It could be an ugly game to watch, especially early.

ZAGS 72
Pacific 56

A to Zags
01-24-2015, 08:24 AM
why is this dreck in the WCC again?

I find this highly offensive to a fine University. Perhaps a review of the mission of Gonzaga University is in order.

RenoZag
01-24-2015, 08:50 AM
why is this dreck in the WCC again?

Cannon fodder ?

Game Notes from the GU SID HERE (http://www.gozags.com/fls/26400/MEN'S%20BASKETBALL/14-15notes/20150124%20game%20notes%20vs%20pac.pdf?&&&&&&&SPSID=627537&SPID=90846&DB_OEM_ID=26400)

zagsfanforlife
01-24-2015, 09:08 AM
why is this dreck in the WCC again?

I wonder if the 89-90 LMU fan base was asking the same about Gonzaga when they were 26-6 and #10 in the nation having to play the terrible 4-20 Gonzaga Bulldogs with an RPI of 275.

Kiddwell
01-24-2015, 09:32 AM
Maybe Next Year, a haiku
<ahem>
Pacific rebuilds,
Number Three Team a challenge,
Say, "futility."

-------
Sixteen Straight NCAA Tournaments - 88
4th Winningest D1 B-ball Team in Recent Cal History - 62



:]

rennis
01-24-2015, 10:06 AM
Predict bulldogs start fast, pacific makes a run when Pangos gets a rest in the first half, Shem and Dontmiss have first half could trouble, Gary Bell fouls/tackles a three point shooter, Zags start 2nd half with a 10-0 run, and GU wins by 37.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

jazzdelmar
01-24-2015, 10:25 AM
Very frustrating.

I just looked up their RPI - somewhere around 220, but, it is above LMU. Terrible.

And, I'm a little frustrated hearing the "Zags only play in WCC" b/c just checking the Pac12, there are literally 4 teams below Texas Southern at 109.


Again with the Texas Southern? You're obsessed with them. :)

jazzdelmar
01-24-2015, 10:27 AM
I wonder if the 89-90 LMU fan base was asking the same about Gonzaga when they were 26-6 and #10 in the nation having to play the terrible 4-20 Gonzaga Bulldogs with an RPI of 275.

What does that have to do with the price of asparagus?

LongIslandZagFan
01-24-2015, 10:28 AM
What does that have to do with the price of asparagus?

Same thing your comment does.

gonzagafan62
01-24-2015, 10:33 AM
why is this dreck in the WCC again?

How quickly you forget. They just came off 4 straight 20 win seasons and played good basketball to get into 2 NCAA tournaments if I recall correctly. They are a fine university, and they graduated all their players when they came to the WCC last season. This is not a very good response Jazz. They have a very good history of competing. I guess you don' know much about them?

gonzagafan62
01-24-2015, 10:37 AM
Again with the Texas Southern? You're obsessed with them. :)

Hahaha. He loves the pesky teams. Teams that seem to show what early Zags teams do. I respect it. But yeah, 4 Pac 12 teams below Texas Southern, which equates to 1/4 of the league. Maybe we should start saying they only play in the "Pac-12"

jazzdelmar
01-24-2015, 10:42 AM
How quickly you forget. They just came off 4 straight 20 win seasons and played good basketball to get into 2 NCAA tournaments if I recall correctly. They are a fine university, and they graduated all their players when they came to the WCC last season. This is not a very good response Jazz. They have a very good history of competing. I guess you don' know much about them?

Back east I knew them as COP, the College of the Pacific, and they had a great running back named Dick Bass who played for the LA Rams. Thanks for the history lesson, however.

jazzdelmar
01-24-2015, 10:46 AM
Same thing your comment does.

You really enjoy being the Sir Galahad of the board.

gonzagafan62
01-24-2015, 10:58 AM
Back east I knew them as COP, the College of the Pacific, and they had a great running back named Dick Bass who played for the LA Rams. Thanks for the history lesson, however.

Ha. Nice!

:D

NumberCruncher
01-24-2015, 12:43 PM
Hahaha. He loves the pesky teams. Teams that seem to show what early Zags teams do. I respect it. But yeah, 4 Pac 12 teams below Texas Southern, which equates to 1/4 of the league. Maybe we should start saying they only play in the "Pac-12"

Who taught you math, Francis the goat? :)

basketballzag
01-24-2015, 12:47 PM
Lot of Nunez/Melson/Nunez/Connor/ and Draino time tonight. Nunez or Draino hits the high mark in at least two good statistical categories.

gonzagafan62
01-24-2015, 12:48 PM
Who taught you math, Francis the goat? :)

:) Nice catch, thanks.

Reborn
01-24-2015, 06:46 PM
I did get Gonzaga's score correct. Zags eased up on defense at the end again. Darn them.

Go Zags!!!

Reborn
01-24-2015, 06:57 PM
Guestcoast has got to be the winner of this one. He missed the exact score by just two points. He was one point off for both GU and Pacific. Great job. There were 3 others I believe who came within 6-9 points Reno, , and the Dixie Zag missed by 6 and also had GU's score correct. I also had GU's score correct. I screwed up on giving Pacific like 49. Reno and Zag67 came within 8.

gueastcoast
01-25-2015, 05:58 AM
Thanks Reborn! What's the prize...maybe a coupon for Dick's or a free pitcher at Jack and Dan's? ;)

DixieZag
01-25-2015, 07:50 AM
Again with the Texas Southern? You're obsessed with them. :)

Yes. I am.

I say that with pride. I watched the last few minutes of Michigan State game live. They played one home game in OOC.

I think they wee abused and responded by playing well. I love them.

bartruff1
01-25-2015, 07:55 AM
How quickly you forget. They just came off 4 straight 20 win seasons and played good basketball to get into 2 NCAA tournaments if I recall correctly. They are a fine university, and they graduated all their players when they came to the WCC last season. This is not a very good response Jazz. They have a very good history of competing. I guess you don' know much about them?

Love them and Fat City.