PDA

View Full Version : Pepperdine Pre-game press



kitzbuel
01-14-2015, 08:40 PM
Itís taken nearly a decade to turn things around, not to mention a gargantuan effort by fourth-year coach and Pepperdine alum Marty Wilson, who somehow managed to sell a talented group of players on the history of Pepperdine when the program was at its lowest.

But the Waves, without a senior on the roster, are finally beginning to roll again.

http://www.dailynews.com/sports/20150114/pepperdine-basketball-rolling-again-with-alum-marty-wilson-at-the-helm

ZagNative
01-14-2015, 08:50 PM
Thanks for posting that. Great article! Adds to my anticipation of tomorrow's game.

TheZagPhish
01-14-2015, 10:07 PM
ESPN Preview (http://scores.espn.go.com/ncb/preview?gameId=400587303)


"The key is not taking it for granted, because (upsets are) happening to teams all over the country," reserve guard Kyle Dranginis said. "They can overlook teams, they get caught and then lose.
"We just have to approach every single game the same way and execute."

ZagaZags
01-14-2015, 10:13 PM
Marty Wilson & Eric Reveno are A+ in my book. The WCC is lucky to have them.

DixieZag
01-14-2015, 10:41 PM
I just got even more anxious.

What a coach. And, a team that sees itself as family. Sounds familiar.

We'll have to play well - they play themselves right into tourney consideration with a win over us.

Zagger
01-15-2015, 03:56 AM
Good for Pepperdine. More than anything I like seeing great basketball games. Looks like the ingredients are ripe for one tonight. Bet we see some great play out of Pepperdine and even greater play out of the Zags. Nothing could be better than the WCC ending up with 2, 3, 4 teams eventually in the NCAA Tourney. Yeah, maybe I've been sticking bigger straws in my Koolaid but it is nice to dream - might as well dream big. Go Zags!

SWZag
01-15-2015, 06:32 AM
Itís taken nearly a decade to turn things around, not to mention a gargantuan effort by fourth-year coach and Pepperdine alum Marty Wilson, who somehow managed to sell a talented group of players on the history of Pepperdine when the program was at its lowest.

But the Waves, without a senior on the roster, are finally beginning to roll again.

http://www.dailynews.com/sports/20150114/pepperdine-basketball-rolling-again-with-alum-marty-wilson-at-the-helm
Great article, thanks for posting.

Slipper Still Fits: Gonzaga vs. Pepperdine game preview: Zags face sudden test against Waves (http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2015/1/15/7549029/gonzaga-vs-pepperdine-game-preview-schedule-time)

Campus Insiders: M. Basketball. What We Think - Forecasting Week Four of WCC Play (http://campusinsiders.com/news/m_basketball_what_we_think_forecasting_week_four_o f_wcc_play_42ad1d52e10f683cd96046924dcd4ae9)

Thursday's game is one of the biggest in the history of Firestone Fieldhouse, there on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. In its history Firestone has hosted a No. 1 team once when SAN FRANCISCO came calling in 1976 and a No. 3 on three occasions: UNLV in 1976, DePaul in 1984 and UConn in 2005. The Waves won that '76 game vs. Jerry Tarkanian's Runnin' Rebels.


The younger Sabonis is leading the WCC in field goal percentage at .705. As a 17-year-old in 1982, Arvydas played in Firestone Fieldhouse as a member of the Soviet national team in an exhibition against Pepperdine won by the USSR 116-111; he had 24 points.

Now Domantas makes an appearance in Firestone in what really is the WCC's Game of the Week. At least we think so.

SWZag
01-15-2015, 06:42 AM
GoZags: No. 3/3 Zags Trek to Malibu to Take on Pepperdine (http://www.gozags.com/ViewArticle.dbml?SPID=90846&DB_OEM_ID=26400&ATCLID=209848999)


A win against Pepperdine would give Mark Few his 200th career WCC win (199-24, .892).

kitzbuel
01-15-2015, 07:15 AM
Zags are currently 12.5 point favorites.

http://www.vegasinsider.com/college-basketball/odds/las-vegas/line-movement/gonzaga-@-pepperdine.cfm/date/1-15-15/time/2230#AA

I think they are banking on GU hitting late free throws to expand the lead.

rennis
01-15-2015, 07:43 AM
One thing for sure: No matter how they finish this season, they are going to be very good in the WCC in 2016.

gonzagafan62
01-15-2015, 08:14 AM
One thing for sure: No matter how they finish this season, they are going to be very good in the WCC in 2016.

Yup I agree.

Frontcourt: Shem, Wiltjer, Sabonis, Edwards (assuming K-Wilt and Shem stay)
Backcourt: Perkins, Melson, Draino, McClellan, Alberts Griffin, Backamus

And any recruits.... (Might be missing a walkon too, and if so I apologize) I am liking it. I hope both stay so they can balance out the young talent in our backcourt. Would be really nice to see Perkins return this season as well, and get some high pressure experience as well.

Go Bulldogs!

CDC84
01-15-2015, 09:06 AM
I didn't realize that Pepperdine leads the country in 3 point field goal defense. 23.7% is very stingy

WallaWallaZag
01-15-2015, 09:12 AM
I didn't realize that Pepperdine leads the country in 3 point field goal defense. 23.7% is very stingy

if they hope to keep that up (or maybe it should be down?) against the zags, karnowski's gonna have a lot of fun...

Reborn
01-15-2015, 09:23 AM
I wasn't kidding when I said that Pepperdine is for real. This is a great article and tells the great story about a very good coach. The only disadvantage that Pepperdine has against the Zags is that the Zags are the same kind of team, a band of brothers, but they are older, more experienced, and probably more talented. Pepperdine is at least a year away, but I do expect a very close and very good game tonight. I'm really looking forward to it.

Goshzagit
01-15-2015, 09:35 AM
I didn't realize that Pepperdine leads the country in 3 point field goal defense. 23.7% is very stingy

I've noticed several posters have commented on their vaulted perimeter defense, which was just confirmed by CDC and these stats.

They also feature one of the better team defenses in the country as opponents are averaging less than 61 ppg vs Waves. Again, that's very 'stingy'.

Not to mention we rarely shoot well in their gym. WEIRD sight lines behind both baskets -- wall on one side, tunnel on the other.

DixieZag
01-15-2015, 10:04 AM
Thursday's game is one of the biggest in the history of Firestone Fieldhouse, there on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

Huge honor. Huge.

However, it is very difficult to read sentences like this 3 times a year, on average.

Another real testament to Few, b/c I sure do read that type of thing a lot.

CDC84
01-15-2015, 10:27 AM
Not to mention we rarely shoot well in their gym. WEIRD sight lines behind both baskets -- wall on one side, tunnel on the other.

I remember last season's game at Firestone. GU shot a dreadful 5/18 from three. In 2011 GU only shot 38.6% for the game and 23.5% from three.

TheZagPhish
01-15-2015, 10:34 AM
I remember last season's game at Firestone. GU shot a dreadful 5/18 from three. In 2011 GU only shot 38.6% for the game and 23.5% from three.

All the more reason our bigs should be having a solid night in the paint tonight.

SWZag
01-15-2015, 11:16 AM
I've noticed several posters have commented on their vaulted perimeter defense, which was just confirmed by CDC and these stats.

They also feature one of the better team defenses in the country as opponents are averaging less than 61 ppg vs Waves. Again, that's very 'stingy'.

Not to mention we rarely shoot well in their gym. WEIRD sight lines behind both baskets -- wall on one side, tunnel on the other.

Can't wait until they get the funding and get this thing built.

Envisioning the University Events Center: Home of the Waves (http://www.pepperdine.edu/campaign/goals/events-athletics.htm)