PDA

View Full Version : Other Games 1-14-15



Bouldin4Prez
01-14-2015, 04:26 PM
This NC State vs North Carolina is a good one. Both teams have some big guys that can really play.

Side Note: The officiating in this game is superb. Calling fouls when they need to but letting some physicality go by both ways because they realize that 7 footers banging down low is going to happen whether they like it or not. Wish more games were like this. Not turning into a Big10 slug fest where they let everything slide. Games like this really let the players get into the flow of the game.

caduceus
01-14-2015, 04:46 PM
St. John's 56
Providence 50
7:30 2nd | TV: FS1

Fordham 42
Saint Joseph's 47
5:49 2nd

Southern Methodist 45
Temple 59
5:38 2nd | TV: CBS Sports Network

Georgia at Vanderbilt
6:00 PM | TV: SECN

UCLA at Southern California
6:00 PM | TV: ESPN2

jazzdelmar
01-14-2015, 05:02 PM
SMUs press break pretty well coached Huh! Great win for Coach Brown.

caduceus
01-14-2015, 05:13 PM
NCST missed the tip-in with 1 second left to lose by 2 to UNC.

St. John's, St. Joe's, SMU all win.

Georgia up 7 early vs. Vandy.

UCLA/USC just underway and tied.

A to Zags
01-14-2015, 05:46 PM
St. John's 56
Providence 50
7:30 2nd | TV: FS1

Fordham 42
Saint Joseph's 47
5:49 2nd

Southern Methodist 45
Temple 59
5:38 2nd | TV: CBS Sports Network

Georgia at Vanderbilt
6:00 PM | TV: SECN

UCLA at Southern California
6:00 PM | TV: ESPN2

No team scares me more than Iowa State except Kentucky. The game with Baylor is a great one so far. I really like how the Cyclones play and are coached. I would not like to see them until late in the dance.

ZagaZags
01-14-2015, 05:51 PM
What channel is the Villanova game on? I'm at a bar and the bartender can't figure it out.

jazzdelmar
01-14-2015, 06:07 PM
What channel is the Villanova game on? I'm at a bar and the bartender can't figure it out.

FOx Sports 1

sittingon50
01-14-2015, 06:08 PM
So SMU was down 13 @ Temple (where Kansas got smoked by 25 ) & came back & won by 5? I like it.

sittingon50
01-14-2015, 06:23 PM
Bruins rolling to open 2nd half.

ZagaZags
01-14-2015, 06:33 PM
FOx Sports 1
Thanks.

DixieZag
01-14-2015, 06:36 PM
NCST missed the tip-in with 1 second left to lose by 2 to UNC.

St. John's, St. Joe's, SMU all win.

Georgia up 7 early vs. Vandy.

UCLA/USC just underway and tied.

Nice RPI night.

ETA: Speaking of which: RPI Rank: 6 SOS Rank: 40 Record: 15-1 (5-0)

Not sure if that is "real time" as in already incorporating tonight, but that's where it stands as of when I checked it just now.

sittingon50
01-14-2015, 06:42 PM
I've said it before on this forum; I love Walton.

(UCLA starting to Coug)

caduceus
01-14-2015, 06:47 PM
UCLA is up 15 with 5 to play.

Georgia is up 6 with 2 to play.

Could hit the RPI/SOS jackpot today if both win (after the other three GU opponents won as well).

ETA: Georgia flailing, 2 point game with :28 left.
ETA2: Georgia wins in Nashville, 70-67. UCLA wins 83-66.

RPI jackpot for the day. All opponents won.

RenoZag
01-14-2015, 07:13 PM
Caduceus, thanks for the updates and the wrap ups.

ZagaZags
01-14-2015, 07:18 PM
Caduceus, thanks for the updates and the wrap ups.

+1

I hope Stanford stomps Cal tonight.

ZagaZags
01-14-2015, 08:23 PM
Stanford 37 Cal 37 with 15:53 to go.

ZagaZags
01-14-2015, 08:28 PM
SDSU 44 #25 Wyoming 34 with 11:53 to go. Pope & Kell have made a few nice plays.

ZagaZags
01-14-2015, 09:12 PM
SDSU beats #25 Wyoming 60-52

ZagaZags
01-14-2015, 09:14 PM
Cal gets dumped by Stanford 69-59. ( Cal 1-4 in Pac-12 )

caduceus
01-14-2015, 10:45 PM
And without having played a single game this week so far, the Zags have moved from #5 to #4 in offensive efficiency, and from #25 to #17 in defensive efficiency (obviously due to others falling).

The overall KenPom rating gap between the #3 Zags and #2 Kentucky is the biggest in the field -- almost as big as the difference between the Zags and #7 North Carolina.

sittingon50
01-14-2015, 11:06 PM
And without having played a single game this week so far, the Zags have moved from #5 to #4 in offensive efficiency, and from #25 to #17 in defensive efficiency (obviously due to others falling).

The overall KenPom rating gap between the #3 Zags and #2 Kentucky is the biggest in the field -- almost as big as the difference between the Zags and #7 North Carolina.

Just clicked on those #'s myself, cad. NCSOS inproved from 53 to 42 which is considerably better than every team in KenPom's top 12 other than UNC.

NumberCruncher
01-15-2015, 09:27 AM
And without having played a single game this week so far, the Zags have moved from #5 to #4 in offensive efficiency, and from #25 to #17 in defensive efficiency (obviously due to others falling).

The overall KenPom rating gap between the #3 Zags and #2 Kentucky is the biggest in the field -- almost as big as the difference between the Zags and #7 North Carolina.

It's also due to teams the Zags have played doing well. I grabbed the data Sunday morning so I could update my adjusted efficiencies. Since then, both offense and defense numbers have improved.
Offense: 117.9 to 118.4
Defense: 91.0 to 90.6

Dukes 2 losses dropped their Pyth from 0.9685 to 0.9179. So the gap between UK and the Zags could close quickly.