PDA

View Full Version : Other Games - Saturday 1.10.2015



RenoZag
01-10-2015, 07:43 AM
Cinn @ UCONN ESPN2 8:00am
OSU @ Indiana ESPN 9:00am
Kentucky @ Tx A&M CBS 10:00 am
Louisville @ UNC ESPN 11:00 am
St. Joe’s @ VCU CBSSN 11:00 am
WSU @ UW Pac 12 Noon
DePaul @ Villanova CBSSN 1:00 pm
USF @ Portland The W.tv / Root 1:00 pm
Virginia @ ND ESPN2 3:00 pm
Pepp @ USD Root 3:00 pm
Georgia @ LSU ESPNU 6:00pm
LMU @ BYU byutv 6:00pm
St. Mary’s @ Pacific Comcast 8:00 pm

The one's in bold are on my personal "to do" list. . .FWIW, etc.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 08:39 AM
Indiana 28
Ohio St 21
under 4 min, 1st H

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 09:23 AM
UCONN holds serve at home, 62 - 56, over Cincy

UK trails @ Texas A&M, 16 - 6

hooter73
01-10-2015, 09:26 AM
UK is deceptive. they look like they cant do anything right... then they do everything right.

SteelZag
01-10-2015, 09:41 AM
Kentucky down by 11 with 4:50 left in 1st half. 28-17.

sittingon50
01-10-2015, 09:42 AM
Sac. St. (2 pt. underdog per KenPom) @ N. Colo.

Hous. Baptist @ SE Louis (6 pt. favorite)

Tex. So. (8 pt. fav) @ Prairie View

UC Santa Barbara @ Cal Poly (1 pt. fav.)

caduceus
01-10-2015, 11:06 AM
(1) Kentucky 51
Tx A&M 49
3:00 2nd

sittingon50
01-10-2015, 11:08 AM
St. Joe's down 16 @ half.

TheZagPhish
01-10-2015, 11:08 AM
C'mon, TA&M!

jazzdelmar
01-10-2015, 11:08 AM
Misery is listening to Mumbles Kellogg rave about Kentucky.

jazzdelmar
01-10-2015, 11:09 AM
St. Joe's down 16 @ half.

Geez, maybe it will die. :(

caduceus
01-10-2015, 11:14 AM
(1) Kentucky 53
Tx A&M 53
1.3 2nd

Timeout Kentucky (w/ball)

caduceus
01-10-2015, 11:17 AM
Overtime KY & A&M.
CBS

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 11:17 AM
Overtime for UK

jazzdelmar
01-10-2015, 11:17 AM
Kellogg's "lethal late game shooter" walked on the shot.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 11:18 AM
Misery is listening to Mumbles Kellogg rave about Kentucky.

QFT

jazzdelmar
01-10-2015, 11:21 AM
Kevin Harlan is no bargain either.

caduceus
01-10-2015, 11:26 AM
(1) Kentucky 55
Tx A&M 56
2:00 OT

zagamatic
01-10-2015, 11:31 AM
In a well officiated game, I think that most teams in the top 25 would make Kentucky look bad. They just have a hard time scoring and rely on being able to foul on defense and get away with it. But coach Cal is the best there is at working the ref's.

jazzdelmar
01-10-2015, 11:35 AM
I'm sorry, that man is just despicable to me.

caduceus
01-10-2015, 11:38 AM
Double OT

jazzdelmar
01-10-2015, 11:39 AM
WTF was that? Does AM have a coach?

Marcus
01-10-2015, 11:42 AM
WTF was that? Does AM have a coach?

I agree, worst last shot/possession they could have got.

sittingon50
01-10-2015, 11:42 AM
Does A & M have students there?

ZagLawGrad
01-10-2015, 11:47 AM
A & M and their FT shooting pretty sorry. Will be the reason for a loss if it gets to that result.

Marcus
01-10-2015, 11:48 AM
Not sure if the students are there but for having the number 1 team in double it, I can't believe how many people in the stands are still on there butts

Marcus
01-10-2015, 11:49 AM
Well they were, finally see them standing up, oops

SteelZag
01-10-2015, 11:58 AM
A&M sure had their chances.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 12:00 PM
Go Tar Heels

ZagLawGrad
01-10-2015, 12:02 PM
Kentucky is beatable.

zagfan24
01-10-2015, 12:04 PM
Kentucky is beatable.

I agree...great interior defense but not elite offensively.

spike_jr
01-10-2015, 12:05 PM
I haven't watched a whole lot of KY, but do they have anybody that can shoot the ball outside of 5 ft? I think they shot 28% for the game. If either team could shoot or if A&M could shoot free throws, it would have never made it to OT. That was painful to watch...

sittingon50
01-10-2015, 12:07 PM
Cougs up 4 with 17:00 to go.

WBM
01-10-2015, 12:08 PM
Just saw UNC beat Louisville! 72-71

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 12:10 PM
Spirited comeback by UNC, beats Louisville by 1. Can we officially admit that Kentucky is horribly overrated this year? 2 straight games they should've lost, went OT against very mediocre teams in the SEC. I'll say it again, they are getting more mileage out of their lopsided win against Kansas than I can I ever remember a single game generating previously. Could it be that Kansas just played really badly that game? UK is going down, probably more than once this year.

MississppiZag
01-10-2015, 12:20 PM
They also beat UNC, Louisville, Providence, UCLA, and Texas. 2 top 10 teams and two other top 25 teams.

They're clearly the best.

zagamatic
01-10-2015, 12:21 PM
Btw, I believe I also heard that A & M was missing their leading scorer due to a high ankle sprain. So.....you know. .....how can you not make the argument that Kentucky could beat a pro team seeing as how they dominated this game. Oh, wait! Was that. .......yup, that was sarcasm :roll:

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 12:23 PM
Texas was missing their PG. Yes Kentucky has a good resume, but they are still overrated. Just way too much hyperbole, and too many games where they've really struggled. Their offense is not very good. They play tough D, have a bunch of big bodies, hard to score inside against them, but they are nowhere near as good as the hype early on suggests.

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 12:25 PM
Dagger 3 from Seton Hall w/ 2 seconds left at Creighton. The Jays got a good look on the other end, but it didn't drop. Life without McDermott has been pretty tough so far. The Hall is having a nice season thus far, much better than predicted.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 12:39 PM
Dons 34
Pilots 27
<2 min

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 12:43 PM
Dons 34
Pilots 27
<2 min

Beat me to it. UP can't afford to lose this one at home.

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 12:43 PM
Cougs and Huskies going down to the wire. 71-68 WSU, 2:04 left.

Mantua
01-10-2015, 12:47 PM
Cougs and Huskies going down to the wire. 71-68 WSU, 2:04 left.

I wonder when Ernie Kent will be offered Romar's job?

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 12:52 PM
I wonder when Ernie Kent will be offered Romar's job?

Cougs just went up 4 w/ 45 seconds left. This would be HILARIOUS! Dawgs fans were merciless ragging on Kent the whole time he was at Oregon. Whether you think he's a good coach or not, he did take the Ducks to the Elite 8 twice, which is 2 more times than Romar ever managed at UW.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 12:55 PM
Beat me to it. UP can't afford to lose this one at home.

I thought Bailey's return to the line-up would be a difference. He has 11 and looked like the foot wasn't bothering him any more
Dons up by 4 at the half, 40 - 36

LIVE STATS (http://stats.statbroadcast.com/statmonitr/?id=73140&a=1)

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 12:58 PM
80-77 Cougs, game over. Poor Huskies, their return to relevance this year has gotten sidetracked.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 12:58 PM
WSU wins. . .80 - 77

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 01:02 PM
Dawgs have been down for long enough I've almost forgotten how arrogant and irritating their fans were at one point. Almost.

WBM
01-10-2015, 01:05 PM
Personally, I'm good with Kentucky going undefeated until the tournament. Is good for basketball on general...and maybe its okay if they go into the tournament without the fire a loss could provide

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 01:12 PM
USF 65
UP 48

7:50 to play

thespywhozaggedme
01-10-2015, 01:36 PM
Romar gets great recruits every year and every year underachieves. Has any coach consistently done so little with so much? How does he still have a job?

VinnyZag
01-10-2015, 01:36 PM
Seems like Kentucky is beatable by teams that Kentucky doesn't take very seriously, like A&M, Ole Miss, Buffalo and Columbia. But when Kentucky is engaged, look out -- see Kansas, UNC, UCLA, Texas.

I'd prefer Gonzaga doesn't have to face Kentucky, because I feel like the Wildcats would take the Zags seriously.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 01:37 PM
USF 68
UP 57

4:05 remains

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 01:38 PM
Villanova is smoking DePaul, 57 - 30, 12 minutes to play

thespywhozaggedme
01-10-2015, 01:47 PM
Sounds familiar. ;)
Seems like Kentucky is beatable by teams that Kentucky doesn't take very seriously, like A&M, Ole Miss, Buffalo and Columbia. But when Kentucky is engaged, look out -- see Kansas, UNC, UCLA, Texas.

I'd prefer Gonzaga doesn't have to face Kentucky, because I feel like the Wildcats would take the Zags seriously.

Mantua
01-10-2015, 01:53 PM
Romar gets great recruits every year and every year underachieves. Has any coach consistently done so little with so much? How does he still have a job?

Every year the recruits are probably thinking that they are the answer. This year he convinced the state's best talent to choose his program over an actual top ten program just a short hop away. How long can this last? Romar is a helluva salesman.

Next year won't be good for UW. Williams-Goss will no doubt bail to the NBA.

TheZagPhish
01-10-2015, 02:01 PM
Romar gets great recruits every year and every year underachieves. Has any coach consistently done so little with so much? How does he still have a job?


Every year the recruits are probably thinking that they are the answer. This year he convinced the state's best talent to choose his program over an actual top ten program just a short hop away. How long can this last? Romar is a helluva salesman.

What would compel him to change? He's effectively rewarded for this approach with every salary bump and contract extension. Reward poor performance and you're sure to get more.

Edited to add (http://scores.espn.go.com/ncb/recap?gameId=400593256):

Washington: The Huskies entered Saturday's contest shooting 26.3 percent from beyond the arc during their three-game skid, worse than their 31.3 percent season average. On Saturday, Washington hit just 4-of-19 attempts (21.1 percent).

I know schadenfreude is unbecoming, but we can snicker a little bit. I can't wait to restart the series.

Section 116
01-10-2015, 02:13 PM
USF 89 Portland 77 I would not have guessed that

FINAL STATS (http://stats.statbroadcast.com/statmonitr/?id=73140&a=1)

TheZagPhish
01-10-2015, 02:15 PM
I think Pepp is going to spank the Toreros.

Martin Centre Mad Man
01-10-2015, 03:01 PM
USF 89 Portland 77 I would not have guessed that

FINAL STATS (http://stats.statbroadcast.com/statmonitr/?id=73140&a=1)

Nobody would have guessed that. I would have expected Portland to win by 15+.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 03:05 PM
Notre Dame 27
Virginia 24

Half Time

#10 Texas lost to OK State, 69 - 58

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 03:25 PM
I know it's fun to poke fun at UW, I do it to, but other than Williams-Goss who on their roster would you call a big recruit? Doing less with more does not apply at all this year. It's not like the team with Ross and Wroten that missed the Tourney. Prior to the 4 game skid they had been overachieving this year I would say. We'll see about next year with a ballyhooed class coming in.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 03:29 PM
ND - Virginia tied @ 37, 10:51 to play

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 03:38 PM
I think Pepp is going to spank the Toreros.

PEPP 46
USD 32

7:26 to play in 2nd

Zagdawg
01-10-2015, 03:47 PM
I would say that they are speaking of Nigel being ranked as the #19 player in the country is a recent example of another 5-star player who made the mistake of trusting romar--along with many other players that have come and gone over the years at the uw. As far as the class coming in next year--agree it is a good class--we will see what they can do---hopefully close up and personal in Atlantis.

If a coach can't get a team up for an in state rival game at home......I don't know what to tell ya---but we will take the help on the RPI.

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 04:00 PM
UW losing to WSU at home is a very bad loss, no argument there. Romar has had an up and down career on Montlake, but he's definitely had some highlights. I don't think he's as bad of a coach as most on this site think he is. Williams-Goss could've gone somewhere else and been on better teams, no doubt. I don't think playing at UW is going to hurt him as far as an NBA career.

mtzaga
01-10-2015, 04:04 PM
Patriots 35 Ravens 31

Great game.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 04:57 PM
Pepperdine closed out San Diego, 59 - 47. Good weekend for the Waves

GAME STATS (http://stats.statbroadcast.com/statmonitr/?id=71874&a=1)

maynard g krebs
01-10-2015, 05:10 PM
Romar gets great recruits every year and every year underachieves. Has any coach consistently done so little with so much? How does he still have a job?

Since Harshman's success they had the succession of Lynn Nance, Andy Russo and Bob Bender. Look up their records, compare them to Romar's, and you'll have your answer.

Williams-Goss and Upshaw are the only high level talents on this year's UW roster; not really underachieving this year. They won the close ones early, incl Long Beach and UTEP, and now things are evening out.

maynard g krebs
01-10-2015, 05:21 PM
Cougs just went up 4 w/ 45 seconds left. This would be HILARIOUS! Dawgs fans were merciless ragging on Kent the whole time he was at Oregon. Whether you think he's a good coach or not, he did take the Ducks to the Elite 8 twice, which is 2 more times than Romar ever managed at UW.

It's also twice more than... never mind. Ernie has strengths and weaknesses as a coach. Having Greg Graham on the bench with him accentuates his strengths and minimizes his weaknesses; the program dropped off a lot at UO when Graham left. The cougs are outperforming their talent level the last 2 weeks. One thing Ernie is great at is building player confidence.

They were poised and made plays down the stretch today. Hawkinson may be the most improved player in college bb.

seacatfan
01-10-2015, 06:00 PM
It's also twice more than... never mind. Ernie has strengths and weaknesses as a coach. Having Greg Graham on the bench with him accentuates his strengths and minimizes his weaknesses; the program dropped off a lot at UO when Graham left. The cougs are outperforming their talent level the last 2 weeks. One thing Ernie is great at is building player confidence.

They were poised and made plays down the stretch today. Hawkinson may be the most improved player in college bb.

Yeah, in making a dig at one coach I inadvertently hit another target.

Definitely give Ernie some credit for having WSU playing well. 2 road wins early in the conference schedule is nothing to sneeze at. I thought both OSU and WSU would be terrible this year, but both of their first year coaches don't look like they're going to roll over and die even with rosters that aren't very talented.

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 07:04 PM
BYU 85
LMU 72

Collinsworth with a double - double
Haws - 26 points. Became the all-time school leader in made Free Throws

Game Stats (http://stats.statbroadcast.com/statmonitr/?id=68978&a=1)

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 07:24 PM
St Mary's - 15
Pacific - 10

4:30 to play 1st H. Atrocious Offense on both sides

LIVE STATS (http://stats.statbroadcast.com/statmonitr/?id=70612&a=1)

KStyles
01-10-2015, 07:41 PM
LSU over Georgia after double OT...87-84

Section 116
01-10-2015, 07:46 PM
Eastern 70 Idaho 67 8 minutes left

Section 116
01-10-2015, 08:12 PM
Final EWU over Idaho 89-86

RenoZag
01-10-2015, 08:40 PM
PACIFIC - 37
SMC - 36

7:08 to play, 2nd Half

Waldow on the bench with four fouls.

Ugliest WCC game ever ?

abarefootboy
01-10-2015, 08:42 PM
Pacific 37
St.Mary's 36

Waldow 4 fouls

with 7 minutes to go
[URL="http://thew.tv/live/mens-basketball-saint-marys-at-pacific"

sittingon50
01-10-2015, 09:26 PM
SMC 54-47 final.

SE Louis wins by 20.

Tex. So. by 4 over Prairie View.

Cal Poly upset @ home by 5.

Sac. St. loses by 11.

Thru all that, GU's NCSOS (per KenPom) improved to #47

DixieZag
01-10-2015, 09:42 PM
Thank God SMC won.

We'd reaeallly have been hurting in terms of quality wins had they taken the type of hit a loss to Pacific would do.

Nice to see TexSo continuing to win. They're my "second" team this year. Luv those guys. Always playing hard.

Zagdawg
01-10-2015, 09:49 PM
Great day for the state of Washington ----The Zags win, Washington State wins, Eastern wins and the Seahawks win.....and Univ of Washington loses. ;)

sittingon50
01-10-2015, 09:51 PM
:clap:

bigblahla
01-11-2015, 06:43 AM
Thank God SMC won.

We'd reaeallly have been hurting in terms of quality wins had they taken the type of hit a loss to Pacific would do.

Nice to see TexSo continuing to win. They're my "second" team this year. Luv those guys. Always playing hard.

Guess we look at it differently.....Having the minions of Moronga drop one won't hurt us at all and give us a cushion...We don't need any more quality wins we just don't need any losses and if by some chance we drop one to SMC it will be considered a bad loss even if the numbers contradict that opinion....IMO the WCC is zero help to Gonzaga come conference time....

Go!! Zags!!!

basketballzag
01-11-2015, 07:42 AM
Romar might have recieved another get out of jail free card because I'm hearing Jarreau may have retorn his acl last night. Depth getting thinner over there. Prediction Ernie Kent will resurrect his career at WSU the way he is coaching. Doing a dynamite job with the talent he has

hooter73
01-11-2015, 07:58 AM
Great day for the state of Washington ----The Zags win, Washington State wins, Eastern wins and the Seahawks win.....and Univ of Washington loses. ;)

lol, nice.

DixieZag
01-11-2015, 08:01 AM
Guess we look at it differently.....Having the minions of Moronga drop one won't hurt us at all and give us a cushion...We don't need any more quality wins we just don't need an losses and if by some chance we drop one to SMC it will be considered a bad loss even if the numbers contradict that opinion....IMO the WCC is zero help to Gonzaga come conference time....

Go!! Zags!!!

I guess I shouldn't have said "help" so much as "hurt less?"

I'm not really worried about a cushion because I don't see any way that they beat BYU twice, and I think they'll lose somewhere else. Had they lost to Pacific, that would have buried their RPI (I think?) and removed them from the top 100. I admit that since BYU lost to a 200 Pepperdine, the WCC really has nothing to offer. But, I would think it could hurt a little less if things get weird at the end of the year.

I don't know.

sittingon50
01-11-2015, 11:27 AM
LMU lost by 13 @ BYU playing without leading scorer Evan Payne (20.0), suspended due to violation of team rules.