PDA

View Full Version : GU @ BYU (12.27.14) Post-game Media



RenoZag
12-27-2014, 05:08 PM
A.P. Recap

PROVO, Utah -- Kyle Wiltjer scored 24 points and Kevin Pangos had 21 points and seven assists, leading No. 8 Gonzaga to an 87-80 win over Brigham Young in the West Coast Conference opener for both teams Saturday night.

Byron Wesley had 15 points and 10 rebounds for the Bulldogs. Przemek Karnowski added nine points and 10 boards.

Tyler Haws and reserve Anson Winder each scored 17 points for BYU (10-4, 0-1 WCC). Kyle Collinsworth had a triple-double with 11 points, 10 rebounds and 10 assists.

Gonzaga (12-1, 1-0) led by 16 points in the first half before falling behind by seven in the second. The Bulldogs rallied to take control in the final 10 minutes. They made 6 of 10 3-point shots in the second half.

The Bulldogs outscored BYU 36-24 in the paint and had 22 assists to BYU's 13.

The Cougars had 40 bench points to only 15 for the Bulldogs.

RenoZag
12-27-2014, 05:15 PM
From the Twitterverse:

Jeff Borzello
Byron Wesley has been a perfect addition for Gonzaga. Buys into his role, but is a guy that the Zags can throw it to late to get a bucket.

Fran Fraschilla
In early Zags' games w/healthy Josh Perkins, Kevin Pangos was great off the ball. Handling ball AND scoring can wear a PG down. Balance key.

Jeff Goodman
Gonzaga hangs on for a road win at BYU. Zags are a Wiltjer 3 in Tucson from being undefeated. Pangos finished with 21 & 7 tonight.

Jeff Goodman
Remember, Gonzaga gets Eric McClellan eligible on Jan. 8. He will give them an athletic guard who allows Pangos to play more off the ball.

@BYU Basketball
Don't forget to pick up your free 3 oz of yogurt at Yogurtland within the next 48 hours!!

@Seth Davis
Solid win for Gonzaga at BYU. Cougars gave em all they wanted. It was the Wiltjer and Pangos show as usual.

caduceus
12-27-2014, 05:23 PM
I'll bet Myron Medcalf was already in bed.

Section 116
12-27-2014, 06:13 PM
Twitter: Jim Meehan ‏
BYU coach Dave Rose: “Wiltjer hurt us in the high post, in the mid post, from the 3-point line."

Jim Meehan
Nunez said he felt fine at Friday's practice, but the flu bug hit him hard on Saturday.

Kyle Dranginis ‏
Great win in a crazy environment! Proud of our toughness

Przemek Karnowski ‏
Great win, wheels up! San Diego

Roxy Bernstein ‏@roxybernstein 2h2 hours ago
Strong way to close out on road for @ZagMBB at BYU. Impressive to go to Provo and come away with win. Pangos was terrific down stretch.

Kevin Pangos ‏
Great road win! Proud of the boys, on to the next one

Jim Meehan ‏
Few: "Because we were scoring, we were able to set our defense (more in 2nd half). The first half, our transition defense was a joke."

Jim Meehan ‏
Wesley on late FTs: "That Arizona game definitely made me get in the gym and work that much harder. I wanted to be in that position."

Jim Meehan ‏
Pangos on 18pt second half: "No, I don’t really plan stuff like that. It just kind of happened and shots came to me."

RenoZag
12-27-2014, 06:15 PM
I'll bet Myron Medcalf was already in bed.

He was out walking his pet rat

ZagNative
12-27-2014, 06:20 PM
Salt Lake Tribune (http://www.sltrib.com/sports/1992282-155/byu-basketball-cougars-fight-hard-but)


"Just a better job on Pangos," is how Collinsworth explained how the Cougars might have been able to pull off the upset.

Collinsworth finished with his second triple-double — 13 points, 10 rebounds and 10 assists — but he and Tyler Haws failed to deliver down the stretch and were outplayed by Pangos and Wiljer in crunch time. Haws gave another gutsy effort on his gimpy ankle, but seemed to tire in the second half and, like in the loss to Utah, drew the front iron several times when he had open looks.

Also note the photo gallery (http://www.sltrib.com/csp/mediapool/sites/sltrib/Pages/gallery.csp?cid=1992282&pid=2084633)attached to the article.

RenoZag
12-27-2014, 06:22 PM
Salt Lake Tribune (http://www.sltrib.com/sports/1992282-155/byu-basketball-cougars-fight-hard-but)



Also note the photo gallery (http://www.sltrib.com/csp/mediapool/sites/sltrib/Pages/gallery.csp?cid=1992282&pid=2084633)attached to the article.

Thanks for the link, ZN.

TheZagPhish
12-27-2014, 06:38 PM
Thanks for the links, everybody. Much appreciated.

Zagger
12-27-2014, 06:51 PM
Good story - thanks for the link. Tried the Spokesman Review but got a broken link note when I selected "read more". Gutsy game so I want to see what sports writers have to say + only got to see the 2nd half at "Metals" in Butte on a drive to Bozeman. There were some sad faced BYU jersey wearing fans in Butte as Pangos heated up.

caduceus
12-27-2014, 06:56 PM
Good story - thanks for the link. Tried the Spokesman Review but got a broken link note when I selected "read more". Gutsy game so I want to see what sports writers have to say + only got to see the 2nd half at "Metals" in Butte on a drive to Bozeman. There were some sad faced BYU jersey wearing fans in Butte as Pangos heated up.

Hehe, did you sit in the bank vault?

ZagNative
12-27-2014, 07:03 PM
I loved this pic of Kevin from the Salt Lake Trib story linked above:

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-yEojGeKHeQQ/VJ9_rtZgexI/AAAAAAAByQw/xBGIceS_Vg0/s640/2014-12-27%2520Kevin%2520Pangos%2520BYU-1.jpg

Gonzaga Bulldogs guard Kevin Pangos (4) celebrates a three-pointer as BYU hosts Gonzaga, men's college
basketball at the Marriott Center in Provo, Saturday December 27, 2014.

Zagger
12-27-2014, 07:09 PM
Hehe, did you sit in the bank vault?

No, didn't see the vault until we planted ourselves in front of 3 TVs that they put the game on for us. Great place! Good MT beer and the Bison Burger was top notch. :-)

RenoZag
12-27-2014, 08:37 PM
http://www.deseretnews.com/article/865618548/Slowing-down-BYUs-transition-was-key-for-Gonzaga-in-its-87-80-win-Saturday.html


Few was very complimentary toward the Cougars and their ability to push the basketball postgame.

“They are a terrific transition team,” Few said. “They’re as good (in transition) as probably anyone in the country. They are as good as anyone in the country and it cost us. It burned us.”

Another big key was the play of Gonzaga senior guard Kevin Pangos, who finished with 21 points and 5-8 shooting from 3-point range, but more importantly converted o


“I thought that Przemek was kind of our rock for long stretches there, we were kind of playing off him,” Few said. “And then a big key was Wiltjer settled down and found himself in some nice money areas against that zone. We found him and that was huge.”

Despite being favored, and ranked No. 8 nationally, Few, and his team, knew it would be tough against BYU and came away grateful for their first West Coast Conference win.

“It was a heck of a road win for us. We got pushed, and pushed, and tested by a really tough, hard-nosed and confident BYU team,” Few said. “It felt like four games within one there. Luckily we made the plays, and tightened up the (defense) down the stretch, and that’s kind of what got us the difference.”

ZagNative
12-27-2014, 09:52 PM
There's a nice photo album in that Deseretnews.com story, including this one of Silas, reacting after scoring:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Qm9O-utT67w/VJ-gXftu3kI/AAAAAAABySk/Slw7-kAdZdw/s600/2014-12-27%2520Silas%2520Melson%2520BYU-1.jpg

RenoZag
12-28-2014, 06:32 AM
MEEHAN GAMER (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2014/dec/28/bulldogs-men-rally-in-2nd-half-for-comeback-win/)


The Zags will only get credit for one win, but it was a big one that required them to dig out of a rare second-half deficit to defeat BYU 87-80 in the WCC opener for both teams in front of 20,900 at the Marriott Center.

It took Kevin Pangos’ 18 second-half points, Gary Bell’s seven boards and defensive work on Tyler Haws, Kyle Wiltjer’s 24 points, Przemek Karnowski’s near double-double, Kyle Dranginis’ and Silas Melson’s contributions off the bench and Byron Wesley’s clutch plays in the final 65 seconds.

“It was our scrappiness,” Bell pointed out, “and our will to win.”

The eighth-ranked Zags (12-1) led by 16 midway through the first half. They trailed by six in the second half – their largest deficit this season was eight against Southeastern Louisiana – before slowly taking control in the final 15 minutes. Pangos scored 10 consecutive points as GU pulled even at 57.

gonzagafan62
12-28-2014, 07:14 AM
He was out walking his pet rat

Post of the freakin year. That was great!

RenoZag
12-28-2014, 09:00 AM
Post game interview with Kevin by Stan Heath

http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=12085372&ex_cid=espnapi_public

TheZagPhish
12-28-2014, 09:59 AM
Not a lot of new detail here, but some nice praise for Kevin - NBC (http://collegebasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/2014/12/27/kevin-pangos-kyle-wiltjer-lead-no-8-gonzaga-past-byu/):


After scoring just three points in the first half Pangos racked up 18 in the second, as he was more aggressive in looking for openings to score himself against the BYU defense. Pangos made five of his seven second-half field goal attempts (4-for-5 3PT), and he finished the game with 21 points, seven assists and just one turnover. With Gonzaga’s lack of depth at the point guard position, Pangos has sacrificed some scoring opportunities to get his teammates quality looks. But while Pangos’ scoring average may have dipped from last season to this, the shooting percentages have improved and he’s also taken good care of the basketball.

TheZagPhish
12-28-2014, 10:03 AM
The Daily Herald (http://www.heraldextra.com/sports/college/byu/basketball/men/byu-gonzaga-notebook-haws-fights-ankle-injury/article_17070547-9a97-5e9f-a3e4-56f810407f12.html):


Moving on: Winder said the Cougars take plenty of positives from a good battle with a ranked team.

“Our toughness and our willingness to win down the stretch,” Winder said. “We played games like this where we battled and let it get away down the stretch. We’re getting better. Games like UMass and Stanford we were able to come out on top. This (Gonzaga) is a great team, a Top 10 team in the country. We knew we had our hands full going into it, but we’re growing. We’ll go back and watch film and use this to our advantage. Hopefully, we’ll win the rest of the games in our conference.”

TheZagPhish
12-28-2014, 10:05 AM
Salt Lake Tribune (http://www.sltrib.com/sports/1993985-155/kragthorpe-byu-needs-more-from-stars):


But the numbers speak the harsh truth: Collinsworth and Haws shot a combined 2 of 10 from the field in the second half, when BYU faded and Gonzaga asserted itself.

The game just lasted too long for BYU, because Gonzaga’s talent prevailed over 40 minutes. Or maybe the first half didn’t last long enough for the Cougars.

TheZagPhish
12-28-2014, 10:10 AM
A different Tribune article here (http://www.sltrib.com/sports/1994699-155/byu-basketball-cougars-impressed-by-no):


"We had a couple of possessions where they were better than we were, rebounding the ball," Rose said, after the Zags won the battle of the boards, 40-35. "And that is tough because we played small most of the night, because we didn’t get off to the best start with our big guys. So we will try to figure out a way to make that happen."

ZagNative
12-28-2014, 11:49 AM
Another article from the Daily Herald (http://www.heraldextra.com/sports/college/byu/basketball/men/big-second-half-propels-no-gonzaga-past-byu/article_382e7781-fc72-5c3b-ba52-75e3186e555d.html), with a great Few quote:

Gonzaga coach Mark Few knew his team was in a battle.

“In the first half, our transition defense was just a joke,” Few said. “They were just running by us like they were Roadrunner and we were Coyote or something. It was just ridiculous.”

There's a great photo album (http://www.heraldextra.com/sports/college/byu/basketball/photos-byu-vs-no-gonzaga/collection_d7d1bae9-bc0e-5d0c-b684-76a09a982735.html#0) with that story as well.

ZagNative
12-28-2014, 01:10 PM
Meehan Day-After BYU Post (http://www.spokesman.com/blogs/sportslink/2014/dec/28/day-after-byu/)
—The situations weren’t the same, but they were similar. Byron Wesley at the free-throw line in a crucial situation. Student section going bonkers in the background behind the basket. (Kudos to BYU students who stand, scream and raise their arms as visiting players start their shooting motion).

Flashback to the closing seconds against Arizona when Wesley drew a foul while attempting a 3-pointer. Needing three FTs to tie the score in overtime, Wesley came up empty, the last intentionally. On Saturday, Gonzaga was up by five, thanks to Wesley’s floater with 1:05 remaining and the USC transfer forcing a turnover on Kyle Collinsworth, when he was fouled with 38.1 seconds left.

Wesley made both free throws to put the game out of reach.

“B Wes made some plays seniors make, whether it was the free throws or that huge basket at the end of the shot clock and stripping Collinsworth,” coach Mark Few said. “That was basically the game.”

Wesley had 10 first-half points but was scoreless until dropping 1 of 2 free throws with 3:01 remaining.

“I started off the half and got some pretty good shots around the basket but I wasn’t able to finish them,” Wesley said. “Kevin (Pangos) and Gary (Bell Jr.) and Kyle (Wiltjer) did a good job stepping up. I just stayed on the bench and tried to stay ready.

Of his floater, Wesley said: “They were kind of sagging off me and a little late recovering. I saw a lane and took the shot.”

Wesley said he’s been taking extra free throws pre- and post-practice since the Arizona game.

bballbeachbum
12-29-2014, 12:24 PM
great thread, great pics, thanks to all of you who do this every game! The one of Silas is after he dunked, right? and of KP...well if you haven't checked out the 'Don't Wake the Sleeping Bear' thread yet, give it a read

RenoZag
12-29-2014, 04:39 PM
I loved this pic of Kevin from the Salt Lake Trib story linked above:

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-yEojGeKHeQQ/VJ9_rtZgexI/AAAAAAAByQw/xBGIceS_Vg0/s640/2014-12-27%2520Kevin%2520Pangos%2520BYU-1.jpg


. . .and of KP...well if you haven't checked out the 'Don't Wake the Sleeping Bear' thread yet, give it a read

That 'sleeping bear' thread might be HOF material