PDA

View Full Version : CBS NCAA Tournament Bracketology.



ZagaZags
12-16-2014, 07:29 AM
I know Bracketology is meaningless in December but it is still fun to check it out.

GU would be a 3 seed in the West.

http://cbssports.com/images/NCAA_on_CBS_printLogo.jpg

http://www.cbssports.com/collegebasketball/bracketology

gonzagafan62
12-16-2014, 07:32 AM
That draw would be pretty nice (overall) but I do not like the draw of North Florida at all.

DixieZag
12-16-2014, 07:32 AM
No respect.

However, at No. 8, and thus in the area of the last 2nd seed - lined in Kentucky's cross hairs, it is far better to be the highest 3.

But, I have a feeling that wherever AZ goes, we'll go. The committee talks their talk, and yet they can't help but try to be cute about things. Look for Wichita State to be the sweet sixteen game, or the UW :)

gonzagafan62
12-16-2014, 07:34 AM
CBS also has St. Mary's 10 seed and BYU (Last Four IN) in the tourney. Nice for the WCC so far.

EDIT: This means that we can count this as good wins when they pop on the schedule.

BULLDOG#1
12-16-2014, 07:56 AM
GU = 3 seed
UW = 3 seed

doesn't quite make sense.

bartruff1
12-16-2014, 08:02 AM
I would think that both Arizona and Gonzaga will have earned a high seed in the West....

I enjoy the brackets and they are right more often than not...

rennis
12-16-2014, 08:22 AM
LOL @ 8 teams better than GU right now.

VinnyZag
12-16-2014, 09:03 AM
The problem for GU at the end of the year is going to be resume. Their best wins are going to be UCLA, SMU and St. John's. That's fine, but it won't blow away the committee either.

DixieZag
12-16-2014, 09:16 AM
The problem for GU at the end of the year is going to be resume. Their best wins are going to be UCLA, SMU and St. John's. That's fine, but it won't blow away the committee either.

So long as our one loss remains a Wiltjer clang off the flat of the rim, we're fine.

gonzagafan62
12-16-2014, 09:18 AM
The problem for GU at the end of the year is going to be resume. Their best wins are going to be UCLA, SMU and St. John's. That's fine, but it won't blow away the committee either.

Doesn't really need to blow them away to get a protected seed. Get those wins, and a gaudy record + Top 15 RPI. You are in. Its how its always worked. SMC and BYU are also in this guys tournament. So if they happen to win most of their league games, they will be in as well. Add two more quality wins (possibly three) against those guys. Georgia should be top 100 too.

Chicken Ball
12-16-2014, 09:24 AM
GU = 3 seed
UW = 3 seed

doesn't quite make sense.

Doesn't make sense at all. UW's best win is against SDSU at home. GU is #8 on kenpom, UW #39.

Whatever.

MDABE80
12-16-2014, 09:33 AM
If we don
t lose a bunch more, we'll be a 2 or a 1 seed. Just keep winning. Others will lose. THIS GU team is very very good. AZ good at least.

gonzagafan62
12-16-2014, 09:37 AM
Doesn't make sense at all. UW's best win is against SDSU at home. GU is #8 on kenpom, UW #39.

Whatever.

Washington is perfect. Gonzaga is not. SDSU is ranked higher than St. Johns..... Its not too farfetched.....

EDIT: I take KenPom with a grain of salt.

VaBeachZAG
12-16-2014, 09:38 AM
If we don
t lose a bunch more, we'll be a 2 or a 1 seed. Just keep winning. Others will lose. THIS GU team is very very good. AZ good at least.

Considering the national perception of the WCC and our remaining games, a single loss eliminates any thought of a 1 seed in my opinion. I just don't want the last 2 seed.

jazzdelmar
12-16-2014, 10:05 AM
Considering the national perception of the WCC and our remaining games, a single loss eliminates any thought of a 1 seed in my opinion. I just don't want the last 2 seed.

Fraid so. Zona will lose 2-3 in the Pac and still get #1 in the west. Top seed clanged along w KW's shot. Don't sleep on Utah sneaking into top either. SDSU will lose 3-4.

coolhandzag
12-16-2014, 10:06 AM
The problem for GU at the end of the year is going to be resume. Their best wins are going to be UCLA, SMU and St. John's. That's fine, but it won't blow away the committee either.

There is not problem for GU right now. No one knows what will, or won't be, a quality win until then end of the season. What will be, will be. The next game is the only important one. Ask T. Haws.

CDC84
12-16-2014, 10:13 AM
Again, the 2003/04 team got a 2 seed with just one top 50 RPI win.

The 2013/14 team's best win was against Kansas State (#20 RPI), and they got a one seed. Most of the top 50 wins were against WCC teams.

Avoid bad losses.

jazzdelmar
12-16-2014, 10:20 AM
Again, the 2003/04 team got a 2 seed with just one top 50 RPI win.

The 2013/14 team's best win was against Kansas State (#20 RPI), and they got a one seed. Most of the top 50 wins were against WCC teams.

Avoid bad losses.


CD, I think the assumption here is one bad loss is unavoidable. Just a matter of in which dreary WCC high school gym it will occur. Beating a Zona level team inoculates against being penalized for that misstep.

Reborn
12-16-2014, 10:41 AM
Just like the '12-'13 Zags did, keep winning one game at a time. No need to focus on anything now accept the next game. That would be Cal Poly. Just keep winning and we will keep going up.

Go Zags!!!

Chicken Ball
12-16-2014, 11:08 AM
Washington is perfect. Gonzaga is not. SDSU is ranked higher than St. Johns..... Its not too farfetched.....

EDIT: I take KenPom with a grain of salt.

Colorado State is perfect, too. What's your point? Wait. You rely on rankings, but take kenpom with a grain of salt? Why?

Zagdawg
12-16-2014, 11:13 AM
As soon as the UW goes on the road a couple of times the wheels are going to come off their bus----we have seen this many times in the past with them.

gonzagafan62
12-16-2014, 11:27 AM
Colorado State is perfect, too. What's your point? Wait. You rely on rankings, but take kenpom with a grain of salt? Why?

I don't rely on either. But it is a good scale to show who are good teams, and which ones aren't. Last time I checked Colorado State didn't beat the #13 team in the country. TCU is unbeaten too If I remember right, but they aren't PROVEN yet to beat a quality team. Washington has beaten a quality team..... That's the difference. And they are uneaten.

SunDevilGolfZag
12-16-2014, 11:49 AM
Doesn't make sense at all. UW's best win is against SDSU at home. GU is #8 on kenpom, UW #39.

Whatever.

The other thing is that GU looks like a top 10 or better team and UW does not look like a true top 20 team. We'll see how things shake out but UCLA looks better than the Huskies to me

maynard g krebs
12-16-2014, 11:52 AM
UW barely got by LBSU, UTEP, and needed lots of striped help v Eastern as basketballzag noted in another thread. They play gread defense but are very offensively challenged. Remind me of the Fla St team the Zags beat in the 1st round a few yrs ago. They'll wind up an 8 or 9 seed imo.

And CBS bracketology is usually kind of goofy compared to ESPN imo.

MDABE80
12-16-2014, 12:02 PM
Plan on a stumble one dark night is some dark gym...... We have NO bad lossess. Not one. As the WCC unfolds for us, we should run the table as hard as that may be. I alwys dislike this part of the season because the guys from the D1 "all Evrything BCS" schools do the voting. Out WCC victories have limited value to them. But we did it two years ago so we'll see.

caduceus
12-16-2014, 12:37 PM
Relax....it's Jerry Palm. He typically mails it in. His bracket predictions are often laughable. I seem to recall he had the #1 Zags a couple of years ago several seed lines down from where they ended up.

Lunardi's S-curve from yesterday is probably at least a bit more realistic overall at this point in the season:

http://i.imgur.com/nznRRrN.jpg

caduceus
12-16-2014, 12:56 PM
First ESPN BPI rankings also came out today:

http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/bpi

BPI RK TEAM CONF BPI PVA CONF RK W-L RAW RAW RK SOS SOS RK VAR VAR RK 1 Kentucky SEC 96.0 25.8 1 11-0 91.0 2 55.0 90 3.2 351 2 Virginia ACC 92.9 20.9 1 9-0 91.2 1 51.7 147 6.0 341 3 Louisville ACC 92.4 20.2 2 9-0 85.3 8 57.1 73 4.1 349 4 Duke ACC 92.4 20.2 3 9-0 88.4 3 53.9 113 4.9 346 5 Ohio State Big Ten 91.7 19.4 1 8-1 84.5 9 57.1 71 4.0 350 6 Wisconsin Big Ten 91.4 19.2 2 10-1 84.5 10 57.0 75 6.9 337 7 Wichita State MVC 90.1 17.9 1 7-1 81.4 11 58.7 51 6.3 340 8 Gonzaga WCC 90.1 17.9 1 10-1 85.4 7 54.7 100 7.4 331 9 Kansas Big 12 89.6 17.5 1 8-1 66.8 75 72.8 2 9.8 310 10 Arizona Pac-12 89.4 17.3 1 10-0 81.4 12 58.0 63 6.5 339

007Zag
12-16-2014, 12:57 PM
If Lunardi's list holds true, we'll have played 8 tourney teams--9 if you count the scrimmage against Texas. We'll play one of those teams three times (probably BYU) and one of them twice. Depending on the outcome of the game in Provo, we'll be 10-1 or 9-2 against tourney teams with the scrimmage win in our back pocket. That's a damn good resume.

DixieZag
12-16-2014, 01:10 PM
I think we'll lose a game, somewhere. But, I think we'll still be a 2, hopefully a high two, but in some ways it doesn't matter b/c I truly think the committee is not above "loosening" those numbers up to - as the Brits say - "sex it up," some. I think we're bound for a rematch with AZ for the FF.

surfmonkey89
12-16-2014, 04:55 PM
Only thing that matters is getting a protected seed in the not-Kentucky, not-Duke region.

gonzagafan62
12-16-2014, 05:03 PM
Hmmm

Reborn
12-16-2014, 07:34 PM
Why plan on a stumble. Most insane I've ever heard of when it comes to sports. hahahahawh geeze. Could you imagine a coach telling his/her players to "plan on a stumble at some point this year." Zags don't have to look too far into the past to see what Zags can do. Here it is, only mid-December and some fans are already planning for a loss. Sorry! I don't get it. I expect them to win one game at a time. Why? Because in my honest opinion this is a special team. They'll figure out a way.

Go Zags!!!
One game at a time!

DixieZag
12-16-2014, 08:48 PM
Why plan on a stumble. Most insane I've ever heard of when it comes to sports. hahahahawh geeze. Could you imagine a coach telling his/her players to "plan on a stumble at some point this year." Zags don't have to look too far into the past to see what Zags can do. Here it is, only mid-December and some fans are already planning for a loss. Sorry! I don't get it. I expect them to win one game at a time. Why? Because in my honest opinion this is a special team. They'll figure out a way.

Go Zags!!!
One game at a time!

Reborn,

I'm not on the team. I can't impact it one way or another.

Sincerely,

DixieZag

caduceus
12-16-2014, 10:06 PM
I'm not on the team. I can't impact it one way or another.

Really? Well, this says otherwise!

http://i.imgur.com/JEx0Fhh.png


;)

MDABE80
12-16-2014, 11:11 PM
Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!

Zagger
12-17-2014, 03:11 AM
I'm stocked up on this .....
http://www.fowlplaces.com/zags/zagkoolaidsmall.png
..... and don't see the Zags losing another game before the NCAAs. Once both Eric & Josh are on the floor I'm going to make up a new batch of Zag Brew. I drink that stuff and it won't matter which seed we get (the lower the better - knock them higher seeds off sooner so someone else won't get the chance!)
Go Zags!

WBM
12-17-2014, 07:36 AM
For what it's worth, I like the look of the CBS bracket as they are predicting it now:

Rd64: North Florida
Rd32: Seton Hall or Minnesota
Rd16: Virginia or North Carolina or LSU or Murray State

I see a very good possibility of the Zags making it to the Elite 8 with those opponents. The other half of the West bracket has some interesting possibilities (Arizona, SMU, Oklahoma, West Virginia).

gonzagafan62
12-17-2014, 07:51 AM
For what it's worth, I like the look of the CBS bracket as they are predicting it now:

Rd64: North Florida
Rd32: Seton Hall or Minnesota
Rd16: Virginia or North Carolina or LSU or Murray State

I see a very good possibility of the Zags making it to the Elite 8 with those opponents. The other half of the West bracket has some interesting possibilities (Arizona, SMU, Oklahoma, West Virginia).

Arizona or Gonzaga would run right through the top half of that bracket no problem. ..... When the teams you listed above are there.

thespywhozaggedme
12-17-2014, 08:12 AM
Who was Witchita States best win last season? I don't think we're gonna lose another game all season. I think we'll be a #1 seed.
The problem for GU at the end of the year is going to be resume. Their best wins are going to be UCLA, SMU and St. John's. That's fine, but it won't blow away the committee either.