PDA

View Full Version : GU players going to NBA



germzag
12-15-2014, 10:28 AM
I have narrowed possible GU draft picks for 2015 to:

1) Pangos: he reminds me of Chris Herren back at Fresno state a little bit without the showboating. I think Herren was bigger and maybe a much better athlete. In terms of stats Herren was a much passer. I think Pangos might be a better shooter and presumably doesn't have Herren's off the field issues. I don't see him in any mock draft boards where he is projected to get drafted. I think he will get tryouts and summer league action. Maybe late second round.

2) Wiltjer: He has great touch and I think his offensive game would translate to the next level. His problem might still be his body and defense. I don't think he is going to come out after this season. I can see him getting picked, but probably later in the draft. Personally, I love his game. If not the NBA, he will make a lot of money in Europe.

3)Wesley: Tough player but don't really see him at next level in NBA. He is a smart player but unless he starts excelling at shooting threes to complement slashing ability, I don't see him as multi-dimensional enough.

4) Bell: Awesome college player but at 6-2 he doesn't have enough elite athleticism to compensate for his short stature. He will make money in Europe.

5) Saboneis: Doubt he is coming out after this season. He is only like 17 or 18 years old, so another season or two would do him good. No pressure on him financially due to his millionaire father. He is by far the best NBA prospect we currently have, though. Could be a realistic top 10 pick in 2016-2017.

6) Karnowski: He won't be coming out in 2015. Definitely a pro prospect. Somebody will look past his lack of athleticism and draft him. If not, he has EU work permit.

I think all these players have the potential to make millions, it just might not be in the NBA. Of course, if one of these players goes off in the tournament and leads us to the final four or NC, this could change. Hope it does.

cjm720
12-15-2014, 10:33 AM
Sabonis and Karno

mgadfly
12-15-2014, 10:39 AM
I think we have a bunch of third rounders. By that, I think all of our players lack a little something needed to be drafted into the NBA but plenty of skills to be stars in other highly paid leagues. I hope I'm wrong. I hope Pangos gets a look and shows he can be a good shooter/back up ball handler (specialist type) in the league. Karnowski might have the best shot as a reserve big man, but I expect he'll come back for a fourth year and then make money oversees.

Sabonis has a ton of upside and if he came out I could see a team picking him in the second round and then parking him in a league overseas and letting him develop more. However, I don't think money is an issue for his family so it'd make more sense to play another season or two at GU. If he keeps improving, come out after his junior year.

WBM
12-15-2014, 10:45 AM
I don't have enough experience watching basketball to pull from, but I see some comparison between Wesley and Jeff Green. Not sure how they compare in height/build but I see both driving well to the basket, getting the work done when it's needed.

VaBeachZAG
12-15-2014, 11:49 AM
Sabonis and Karno
None this year, a different story next year. Let's try to get through this season before pushing half the team out the door.

jazzdelmar
12-15-2014, 12:20 PM
For the NBA, the Bonus, in two years. All else, slim and none. But yes, pros somewhere.

gonzagafan62
12-15-2014, 12:27 PM
I agree with Jazz, but I do think Karnowski has a shot being 7 foot with a good hook shot, and mid range jumper. I give him a shot.... not much though.

cjm720
12-15-2014, 12:31 PM
Karnos a lock in the nba! Book it

NumberCruncher
12-15-2014, 12:37 PM
I'm no expert. But my eye sees a future NBA point guard in Perkins.

zag67
12-15-2014, 12:40 PM
I think this year, that Pangos might have a chance and GB and Wesley should have a super shot at overseas.
I do not think any of the rest will try this year. There are too many players that plan on going this year. Kentucky may have 8 that plan on going into the draft. Next year I see both Karno and Wiltjer, both being drafted in low first round and top of the second. If either one of them explode they could even be higher. Sabonis, I think will be ready the following year and if he keeps improving he could even make it to a lottery pick.

former1dog
12-15-2014, 01:26 PM
Well, I recall writing a long winded opinion about how much I loved Robert Sacre but he didn't have a snow balls chance in hell of making the league. Now's he's a regular on a crappy team, but a regular nonetheless.

On our current team, I think Sabonis and Karnowski both have good chances to make the NBA.

The rest, not so much.

LongIslandZagFan
12-15-2014, 01:32 PM
Funny... we are considered Guard U, but we seem to mostly be putting bigs in the Association.

maynard g krebs
12-15-2014, 02:04 PM
Sabonis has a ton of upside and if he came out I could see a team picking him in the second round and then parking him in a league overseas and letting him develop more. However, I don't think money is an issue for his family so it'd make more sense to play another season or two at GU. If he keeps improving, come out after his junior year.

Draftexpress.com has moved Sabonis up from 23 to 18 in the 2016 draft since the season began. I think they are considered fairly reputable.

I think Perkins has a great shot as well.

basketballzag
12-15-2014, 04:18 PM
Draftexpress.com has moved Sabonis up from 23 to 18 in the 2016 draft since the season began. I think they are considered fairly reputable.

I think Perkins has a great shot as well.

Wesley & Pangos next year will be signed to NBA teams.
Sabonis/Wiltjer/Karno will be signed to NBA teams in 2016.
Bell will be signed to a pro contract in Europe.

Marcus
12-15-2014, 08:07 PM
Well, I recall writing a long winded opinion about how much I loved Robert Sacre but he didn't have a snow balls chance in hell of making the league. Now's he's a regular on a crappy team, but a regular nonetheless.

On our current team, I think Sabonis and Karnowski both have good chances to make the NBA.

The rest, not so much.

I'm with you on the Sacre opinion for sure. I didn't see that coming but he has tremendous work ethic and it's nice to see him get minutes.

I think that it also bodes well for Karnowski, he's bigger than Rob, better hands, better finisher and 7'1" 280 doesn't come around everyday. A team will definitely take a chance on him.

I see Sabonis as a first rounder, and Wiltjer as a second rounder.

I think we will see an undrafted Pangos on an NBA roster next year and I think he will contribute and get minutes kind of what Delly has done in Cleveland.

DixieZag
12-15-2014, 08:18 PM
I don't know much basketball and even less NBA basketball.

But, I do wonder (think), that going to Gonzaga to play, as opposed to some square state school, will at least give them a little push because our recent pros have done so well. Not even so much as players, but it seems like the Lakers love GU, by bringing Elias in (who no one really thought would stick in the league) showed they have a respect for the program. Kelly is flat a shooting star, Pargo is in and out and I think could have stuck in a good situation. Even Adam, I think the injury and being at the worst club in the league for him mattered more than any other problems.

We know we develop great kids even more than basketball players and I suspect the word is out on that.

Marcus
12-15-2014, 08:26 PM
I don't know much basketball and even less NBA basketball.

But, I do wonder (think), that going to Gonzaga to play, as opposed to some square state school, will at least give them a little push because our recent pros have done so well. Not even so much as players, but it seems like the Lakers love GU, by bringing Elias in (who no one really thought would stick in the league) showed they have a respect for the program. Kelly is flat a shooting star, Pargo is in and out and I think could have stuck in a good situation. Even Adam, I think the injury and being at the worst club in the league for him mattered more than any other problems.

We know we develop great kids even more than basketball players and I suspect the word is out on that.

Well said Dixie. It was stated as much after summer league when Rob made the team. I remember assistant coaches saying that you don't have to worry about him picking up what they want out of their players. They said this was due to coming out of a program like Gonzaga where they really work on teaching the game and developing players.

DixieZag
12-15-2014, 09:17 PM
Well said Dixie. It was stated as much after summer league when Rob made the team. I remember assistant coaches saying that you don't have to worry about him picking up what they want out of their players. They said this was due to coming out of a program like Gonzaga where they really work on teaching the game and developing players.

Good response, b/c I was talking more their intelligence and just attitude toward life. It is good to know it goes beyond that, to the fundamentals. Thanks.

MDABE80
12-15-2014, 09:25 PM
I don't see any locks for the NBA. DOmas..ina few yers when he matures. We have good college players who form a suprerior team. Pretty rare for us to get a kid who's lock. Adam was.Daye took his changes.
We have great kids who pay gret ball.
Most of what we see will end in the Europe making very good money. Kevin deserves mention. His shooting from 3 land had beeter become a lot more consistent or he'll be coaching . Consistency is the hallmark fro a professional. Kevin need a string of consistent games. Kevin is among the smartest floor general we've had. He runs a team like few others can due to his relentless work.
But, nobody yet is eyepopping like Adam was.

DixieZag
12-15-2014, 09:33 PM
I think Gary will make even more money as a coach than as a player.

There are very few players that have come here that have that kind of quite strength, selflessness (to a fault) and basketball IQ. IF it is what he wants, I think he'll be a very good coach some day.

titopoet
12-16-2014, 03:59 AM
For the NBA, the Bonus, in two years. All else, slim and none. But yes, pros somewhere.

All three post players will be in the NBA. In today's specialized NBA, a big like KW who can drain 3s is a commodity. Karno, a skilled high IQ big, is also a need especially coming off the bench. Bonus needs to work on his face up and perimeter game, but again a high motor 4 is always a need. While I say this, they will be role players on a NBA team and all three have to work on areas to be more than role players. These are guys NBA teams love on the bench.

jazzdelmar
12-16-2014, 04:27 AM
I don't see any locks for the NBA. DOmas..ina few yers when he matures. We have good college players who form a suprerior team. Pretty rare for us to get a kid who's lock. Adam was.Daye took his changes.
We have great kids who pay gret ball.
Most of what we see will end in the Europe making very good money. Kevin deserves mention. His shooting from 3 land had beeter become a lot more consistent or he'll be coaching . Consistency is the hallmark fro a professional. Kevin need a string of consistent games. Kevin is among the smartest floor general we've had. He runs a team like few others can due to his relentless work.
But, nobody yet is eyepopping like Adam was.

Agree but I think if The Bonus stays two more years he is a lottery and a top 5 Wooden candidate. Team will flow around him with brilliant guards Jenks and Silas.

MJGoGaels
12-16-2014, 01:48 PM
None this year, a different story next year. Let's try to get through this season before pushing half the team out the door.

Great thread. I'd like to see about 6 leave next year. Zags off to a great start! It will be tough to keep up this year.

BTB
12-16-2014, 02:59 PM
I think this year, that Pangos might have a chance and GB and Wesley should have a super shot at overseas.
I do not think any of the rest will try this year. There are too many players that plan on going this year. Kentucky may have 8 that plan on going into the draft. Next year I see both Karno and Wiltjer, both being drafted in low first round and top of the second. If either one of them explode they could even be higher. Sabonis, I think will be ready the following year and if he keeps improving he could even make it to a lottery pick.

I completely agree. Pangos will get a look at the NBA this summer but will probably not make it. GBJ and Wesley will play summer league if they want but they would be extremely long shots. Karno and Wiltjer are right now slotted to be early/mid 2nd rounders, Karno could be a higher. Sabonis could be 1st round next year if he decides to go but could eventually play himself into a lottery candidate if he improves. Perkins and Melson obviously have a long ways to go but they will have a shot at some point.