PDA

View Full Version : Any news on Perkins?



zag67
12-01-2014, 06:57 PM
Just thought I would ask if any news on about how long he will be out? I thought he was to see a specialist today. Thanks

Zag 77
12-02-2014, 09:26 AM
:pray:

Vanzagger
12-02-2014, 09:35 AM
he's tough

ValencyLovesZagsInAtlanta
12-02-2014, 10:11 AM
The mental part of the recovery is a real challenge. Physically Josh may be able to do pushups and pullups and some light cardio within the next week or 2. Being on a high quality liquid diet will provide some of the basic nutrients to garner the energy needed for the workouts above. It all depends on his breathing. I have some ideas on how yoga could really benefit him right now. The greatest thing is his dad following the same diet his son is following. To be lucky enough in life to have a father like that is a true gift from god.

I think there is a good chance we see Josh again dealing this year.

ZaGranny
12-05-2014, 03:02 PM
Not sure this is the right place, but Meehan tweeted that Kenny Gaines reached out to Josh, and I found this article:

www.macon.com/2014/12/05/3463500_gaines-reached-out-to-injured.html

If that doesn't work, just google Kenny Gaines macon paper like I did

It worked, Here is part of it, rest at the link:

ATHENS - Georgia guard Kenny Gaines texted an apology to Gonzaga forward Josh Perkins, who is out indefinitely after breaking his jaw in last week's game in New York City.

The injury happened when Gaines took a leap towards the corner to defend what he thought would be a 3-point try by Perkins. But Perkins had faked the shot and taken a step towards the baseline when Gaines' lower leg collided with his jaw.

Perkins is reportedly out indefinitely. He's friends with reserve Georgia guard Dusan Langura, who passed along Perkins' cell number to Gaines.

"I sent him a text saying, I apologize that it happened, it wasn't on purpose," Gaines said Friday. "He texted back, saying: 'I figured it wasn't, it was just a basketball play.' But his jaw is broken. ... But he was in good spirits, that made me feel good about it."

Read more here: http://www.macon.com/2014/12/05/3463500_gaines-reached-out-to-injured.html?rh=1#storylink=cpy

Not sure if I agree with the rest of what Kenny said.

It appears that neither Kenny nor the refs understand that intentional is not part of the flagrant rules any more.

ZaGranny

DixieZag
12-05-2014, 03:11 PM
The mental part of the recovery is a real challenge. Physically Josh may be able to do pushups and pullups and some light cardio within the next week or 2. Being on a high quality liquid diet will provide some of the basic nutrients to garner the energy needed for the workouts above. It all depends on his breathing. I have some ideas on how yoga could really benefit him right now. The greatest thing is his dad following the same diet his son is following. To be lucky enough in life to have a father like that is a true gift from god.

I think there is a good chance we see Josh again dealing this year.

THAT is a great thought. The GU Athletic staff has been very progressive in this area. You might want to just write an email and check in with them. They likely have it available - just recommend it as something you know.

FuManShoes
12-05-2014, 03:13 PM
It appears that neither Kenny nor the refs understand that intentional is not part of the flagrant rules any more.

To wit:


"Some of the people from Gonzaga's bench were questioning the referees whether it was a flagrant foul or not," Gaines said. "The referees had rushed over there and said, 'We saw what happened, it wasn't intentional.' I made my way back to our bench and I guess they reviewed it and came to an agreement that it wasn't an intentional foul. Which, I mean, it wasn't."

Yup. I mean he more or less says the refs agreed with him that there was no intention to harm. Great! There doesn't need to be! And no it doesn't "matter" in the sense a flagrant called then or now won't fix Perkins' jaw but it could have affected the game and it definitely behooves everyone involved to have refs who actually know the rules and who apply them as intended, whether or not the players understand them as well.

TravelinZag
12-05-2014, 06:30 PM
I watched that play from extremely close, about 20-25 feet. Not being able to read minds, I cannot make a judgement on intention. I give Mr. Gaines credit for his apology, and feel certain he did not intend to consequences of his action. However, at very least, the move was desperate, reckless and willfully careless, and resulted in needless pain for both players. The fact that Josh's injuries were serious and included a probable concussion were apparent from his demeanor. He was initially disoriented and in obvious, serious pain. He is one tough young man, who conducted himself with great class when he returned with the team in street clothes two nights later. He will be impatient to return, but I hope not before completely healed. He will be a star and a leader for this team, and in life. We can await his return both eagerly, and patiently.

willandi
12-05-2014, 06:34 PM
Not wishing to beat a dead horse, but inquiring minds want to know...Has anything been done to the refs? At the least, they should be educated as per the rules...intent is not a requirement for a flagrant.

AnonAzZagTemp
12-05-2014, 07:19 PM
Not wishing to beat a dead horse, but inquiring minds want to know...Has anything been done to the refs? At the least, they should be educated as per the rules...intent is not a requirement for a flagrant.

I did not see the game or foul , are you saying it was not ruled a flagrant? How is that even possible? Some kid gets his jaw broken by another kid should be automatic...

seacatfan
12-05-2014, 07:44 PM
I've seen the replay multiple times. There's NO WAY Gaines wasn't trying to make contact with his leg against Perkins. I'm sure he didn't think he was going to break his jaw, but he was seeking contact with that leg. No other way to explain him lifting it so high and extending it. I'm sure he feels bad about the aftermath, but it was a ridiculous play that never should've happened. Apologizing after the fact...better than nothing. But if he doesn't do something that reckless to begin with, nothing to be apologizing for.

Vanzagger
12-05-2014, 08:12 PM
can you jump 40 inches in the air? I sure don't know what happens up there. I am good at kicking people in the head. Did we ever determine if a knee/shin = an elbow. Did the refs get it wrong for sure?

willandi
12-05-2014, 08:23 PM
can you jump 40 inches in the air? I sure don't know what happens up there. I am good at kicking people in the head. Did we ever determine if a knee/shin = an elbow. Did the refs get it wrong for sure?

I can't jump that high either, BUT an incidental elbow to the area above the shoulders (doesn't require jumping or intent) is a flagrant. The refs got it wrong. Intent is not the issue, results are. A knee/shin to the face WHETHER OR NOT THE INTENT WAS TO INJURE, is a flagrant foul. There is no other way to honestly judge it.

DixieZag
12-05-2014, 08:47 PM
I've seen the replay multiple times. There's NO WAY Gaines wasn't trying to make contact with his leg against Perkins. I'm sure he didn't think he was going to break his jaw, but he was seeking contact with that leg. No other way to explain him lifting it so high and extending it. I'm sure he feels bad about the aftermath, but it was a ridiculous play that never should've happened. Apologizing after the fact...better than nothing. But if he doesn't do something that reckless to begin with, nothing to be apologizing for.

This. I've seen it over and over, too. And I agree. I fully believe he was stopping that drive with a shin/knee to the head b/c he was already beaten with the body. I've said it on every thread on this subject which has been beaten to death, but I don't care. I can't read minds. I can read body language, some - and I will never believe that shin up high wasn't intentional. Never. And the more he apologizes and talks to Josh, the more I think that Gaines knows it, too. It sounds to me like a guy trying to convince himself it was an accident and also feels guilty. The guilt is at least some sign that he doesn't feel emboldened or proud about it. But, the apologies are not proof there was no underlying intent.

I am fully aware that all the above is speculation. I could be wrong. But my mind has not changed yet.

ETA: The refs should be suspended, if not fined. The rule is in place as a check on reckless play (never mind intent). It is a necessary means to protect players. If they can't recognize the rules on some of the most important aspects of their job, they do not belong on the court.

Zagricultural
12-05-2014, 08:53 PM
This. I've seen it over and over, too. And I agree. I fully believe he was stopping that drive with a shin/knee to the head b/c he was already beaten with the body. I've said it on every thread on this subject which has been beaten to death, but I don't care. I can't read minds. I can read body language, some - and I will never believe that shin up high wasn't intentional. Never. And the more he apologizes and talks to Josh, the more I think that Gaines knows it, too. It sounds to me like a guy trying to convince himself it was an accident and also feels guilty. The guilt is at least some sign that he doesn't feel emboldened or proud about it. But, the apologies are not proof there was no underlying intent.

I am fully aware that all the above is speculation. I could be wrong. But my mind has not changed yet.

ETA: The refs should be suspended, if not fined. The rule is in place as a check on reckless play (never mind intent). It is a necessary means to protect players. If they can't recognize the rules on some of the most important aspects of their job, they do not belong on the court.

Couldn't agree more

seacatfan
12-05-2014, 08:55 PM
I never had a 40 inch vert, but I was over 30 back in the day. What in the world does having a 40 inch vert have to do with throwing your leg out to the side to make contact with a player trying to drive past you? Correct, nothing. Red herring.

Zag 77
12-06-2014, 08:19 PM
What can anybody tell us about the nature of the surgery Perkins is having Monday? Will his healing process basically have to start over?

Section 116
12-06-2014, 08:32 PM
Tom Hudson related this on his pregame radio show today: Perkins still awaiting surgery. Few still expects 6-8 weeks. Downside, there in no way to protect a healing jaw and get back to playing basketball, those protective face shields do nothing for jaw protection. I think Hudson also said there are two separate procedures involved. None of this is really a good answer to your question Zag77 but it may be an update for some here.

MileHigh
12-08-2014, 02:14 PM
What can anybody tell us about the nature of the surgery Perkins is having Monday? Will his healing process basically have to start over?

Actually, the procedure is supposed to speed up the healing process and potentially cut in half the time period his jaw is immobilized.

He's also on a 4700 calorie a day "liquid diet", which should minimize his weight loss

He definitely plans on taking the court again this year

CDC84
12-08-2014, 02:26 PM
He's also on a 4700 calorie a day "liquid diet", which should minimize his weight loss

It's what he has to do, but man, that sounds so unappetizing.

ZaGranny
12-08-2014, 02:41 PM
Jim Meehan tweet:

Perkins will have jaw surgery on Tuesday. No timetable on return.

Get well, Josh!


ZaGranny

DixieZag
12-08-2014, 02:46 PM
It's what he has to do, but man, that sounds so unappetizing.

Agree.

Take a piece of pizza, your mouth waters, now put it in a blender on high for five minutes. Add straw.

Not good.

But, if anyone can do it, a Zag can.

GonzaGAW
12-08-2014, 04:17 PM
what worries me is this surgery is 10 days after the initial fx. makes we worry that it is a complicated fx. and hopes for josh's return are very iffy

Zagricultural
12-08-2014, 04:26 PM
Love this kid. Get well Josh!

JPtheBeasta
12-08-2014, 05:33 PM
I did not see the game or foul , are you saying it was not ruled a flagrant? How is that even possible? Some kid gets his jaw broken by another kid should be automatic...


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DdSy52wTI0k&feature=player_detailpage

Edit:
Better video here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7oqx7CEhN8E). The kick comes around the :30 mark...

MileHigh
12-09-2014, 11:46 AM
what worries me is this surgery is 10 days after the initial fx. makes we worry that it is a complicated fx. and hopes for josh's return are very iffy

Again, the prognosis at this point is that Josh will be back sooner than everyone initially expected. I don't want to get into too much detail but the procedure today is designed to hasten the healing process whereby the injury heals quicker than it would if you just did the standard immobilization. Josh is expected to be eating solid food again by the first week in january

Zag_Dad
12-09-2014, 11:52 AM
Again, the prognosis at this point is that Josh will be back sooner than everyone initially expected. I don't want to get into too much detail but the procedure today is designed to hasten the healing process whereby the injury heals quicker than it would if you just did the standard immobilization. Josh is expected to be eating solid food again by the first week in january

:clap: :cheers: :000tens:

gozagswoohoo
12-09-2014, 12:15 PM
Again, the prognosis at this point is that Josh will be back sooner than everyone initially expected. I don't want to get into too much detail but the procedure today is designed to hasten the healing process whereby the injury heals quicker than it would if you just did the standard immobilization. Josh is expected to be eating solid food again by the first week in january

GREAT. Thanks for the 'insider' tip, as I'm quite certain that it IS one!

Get well soon Josh!

ValencyLovesZagsInAtlanta
12-09-2014, 12:58 PM
Again, the prognosis at this point is that Josh will be back sooner than everyone initially expected. I don't want to get into too much detail but the procedure today is designed to hasten the healing process whereby the injury heals quicker than it would if you just did the standard immobilization. Josh is expected to be eating solid food again by the first week in january

GREAT NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing with us. I am thinking maybe a January 22nd return at home against St. Mary's. With the Kennel packed to the rafters and rocking Josh receives a resounding standing ovation for five minutes straight! He then proceeds to dish out three beautiful assists in his return game! Get better Jenks!. We need ya!

Zagdawg
12-09-2014, 01:54 PM
Great news --thank you for sharing.

Zagger
12-09-2014, 02:25 PM
Great news --thank you for sharing.
Ditto
When Josh is back I sure hope all Zags stay as injury free as possible. A home game return per Valency.... would sure be fun!
Go Zags!

kylasdad
12-09-2014, 03:00 PM
There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that we beat Arizona with Josh playing 15-20 min. Pangos was under attack the whole game and Josh would have provided major relief. Heal quickly Josh!

Zagricultural
12-09-2014, 03:14 PM
Again, the prognosis at this point is that Josh will be back sooner than everyone initially expected. I don't want to get into too much detail but the procedure today is designed to hasten the healing process whereby the injury heals quicker than it would if you just did the standard immobilization. Josh is expected to be eating solid food again by the first week in january

Awesome!

cjm720
12-09-2014, 03:51 PM
awesome....thanks for the update. We need him!!!

CdAZagFan
12-09-2014, 05:08 PM
Was just listening to Patchin, Lukins and Oso show on local radio (with no Patchin or Oso, but Vince Grippi tonight) and they were talking about Perkins perhaps not making it back at all, or if he does, back only for the playoffs possibly. I didn't catch the entire conversion - did anyone else hear this? Did they have new information? I was hoping he was back well before any playoffs...

MedZag
12-09-2014, 06:59 PM
what worries me is this surgery is 10 days after the initial fx. makes we worry that it is a complicated fx. and hopes for josh's return are very iffy

Honestly, theres so much variety in operative approach and timing of operative reduction in mandibular trauma you really can't read anything into it.

It's somewhat confusing to me that there were initial reports he was put in MMF but now he is going to the OR 10 days later. That's the only thing that doesn't make sense to me, but this is all being filtered secondhand/through the media so you cant trust anything. I guess if I couldn't reduce in the OR initially I may try MMF and then see if the fracture settles in to the point I can plate it.

I'll sometimes let mandible fractures cool off for a week or so, but mainly if I feel they are amenable to ORIF and I just need swelling to go down. Then I send them home on a soft diet and pain meds and wait it out. It's the fractures I dont think I can get reduced/plated with an open approach (condyle, ramus, some angle fractures) that I'll put in MMF right away.


Was just listening to Patchin, Lukins and Oso show on local radio (with no Patchin or Oso, but Vince Grippi tonight) and they were talking about Perkins perhaps not making it back at all, or if he does, back only for the playoffs possibly. I didn't catch the entire conversion - did anyone else hear this? Did they have new information? I was hoping he was back well before any playoffs...

Highly unlikely. I can think of situations where I hold my mandible fractures out longer than 8-10 weeks, but thats primarily when there's too much movement at the fracture and you get a non-union. It would be impossible for them to tell if there was a non-union at this point, as the bone is still early in it's healing. Also, the likelihood of getting a non-union in competent surgical hands in a 18-19 year old patient with a sports injury is essentially 0%.

Zag 77
12-09-2014, 08:26 PM
At a public lunchtime gathering today a knowledgeable source said that the NCAA will not give a medical redshirt if the player recovers before the season is up. Thus, if you are a quick healer, the friendly NCAA says tough noogies.

:confused:

thespywhozaggedme
12-09-2014, 08:52 PM
Mr. or Mrs. Perkins, I presume? Thanks for the scoop, thoughts and prayers going out to Josh
Actually, the procedure is supposed to speed up the healing process and potentially cut in half the time period his jaw is immobilized.

He's also on a 4700 calorie a day "liquid diet", which should minimize his weight loss

He definitely plans on taking the court again this year

MDABE80
12-09-2014, 09:22 PM
If you run and it hurts from the banging......you can't play...........sounds like a med shirt to me;)

ValencyLovesZagsInAtlanta
12-10-2014, 07:15 AM
Honestly, theres so much variety in operative approach and timing of operative reduction in mandibular trauma you really can't read anything into it.

It's somewhat confusing to me that there were initial reports he was put in MMF but now he is going to the OR 10 days later. That's the only thing that doesn't make sense to me, but this is all being filtered secondhand/through the media so you cant trust anything. I guess if I couldn't reduce in the OR initially I may try MMF and then see if the fracture settles in to the point I can plate it.

I'll sometimes let mandible fractures cool off for a week or so, but mainly if I feel they are amenable to ORIF and I just need swelling to go down. Then I send them home on a soft diet and pain meds and wait it out. It's the fractures I dont think I can get reduced/plated with an open approach (condyle, ramus, some angle fractures) that I'll put in MMF right away.



Highly unlikely. I can think of situations where I hold my mandible fractures out longer than 8-10 weeks, but thats primarily when there's too much movement at the fracture and you get a non-union. It would be impossible for them to tell if there was a non-union at this point, as the bone is still early in it's healing. Also, the likelihood of getting a non-union in competent surgical hands in a 18-19 year old patient with a sports injury is essentially 0%.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10883689

http://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/MMF

Thanks for helping me understand the intricacies of the condition our fabulous Freshman is enduring. Your expertise is welcome and appreciated. When you state "highly unlikely" what are you specifically referencing in the context of the post as it relates to the injury? To me as a lay person can you please clarify? :) So unless a non-union 8 weeks is a reasonable time frame for a possible return? 8 weeks from surgery or injury? Sorry for the idiotic uneducated questions but I am just trying to get a basic understanding of the healing process and anything that can be done to expedite. I think yoga can be helpful here on a few different secondary rehab fronts.

Anyways don't be a stranger ok? Thanks again for helping me understand better. Vxo

gonzagafan62
12-10-2014, 07:25 AM
Josh is a tough kid. We will see him very soon. No worries at all.

Zagdawg
12-10-2014, 08:15 AM
Would like for him to take whatever time he needs to get healed up completely-- we will be ok -- but he needs to get completely healthy -- no rush-- just get better.

Go Zags

MileHigh
12-10-2014, 08:41 AM
If you run and it hurts from the banging......you can't play...........sounds like a med shirt to me;)

Josh expects to play this year, but even if for some reason he didn't, he wont be seeking a med redshirt. He loves Gonzaga, but once he graduates (or sooner) he will move on to the next stage of his life.

jazzdelmar
12-10-2014, 09:12 AM
Josh expects to play this year, but even if for some reason he didn't, he wont be seeking a med redshirt. He loves Gonzaga, but once he graduates (or sooner) he will move on to the next stage of his life.

Wow, there's a bulletin right there.

bartruff1
12-10-2014, 09:17 AM
Would like for him to take whatever time he needs to get healed up completely-- we will be ok -- but he needs to get completely healthy -- no rush-- just get better.

Go Zags

Absolutely

Marcus
12-10-2014, 09:46 AM
Wow, there's a bulletin right there.

Holy Cow, you're not kidding. Well, if after next year his stock is high enough to bolt early, that's awesome. It will mean he has a huge year and with the rest of the talent that should be back next year, we're looking at another top 5-10 team. The March breakthrough is coming.

jazzdelmar
12-10-2014, 09:53 AM
Love the Team Perkins confidence, but don't see the harm in asking for one anyway.

"Genug shoyn, es ken nisht shatn."

MedZag
12-10-2014, 10:35 AM
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10883689

http://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/MMF

Thanks for helping me understand the intricacies of the condition our fabulous Freshman is enduring. Your expertise is welcome and appreciated. When you state "highly unlikely" what are you specifically referencing in the context of the post as it relates to the injury? To me as a lay person can you please clarify? :) So unless a non-union 8 weeks is a reasonable time frame for a possible return? 8 weeks from surgery or injury? Sorry for the idiotic uneducated questions but I am just trying to get a basic understanding of the healing process and anything that can be done to expedite. I think yoga can be helpful here on a few different secondary rehab fronts.

Anyways don't be a stranger ok? Thanks again for helping me understand better. Vxo

When I say "highly unlikely" I mean chances of a non-union happening in a blunt force jaw fracture in a healthy young athlete fixed by a good surgeon are <1%. They happen despite everything going according to plan but are extraordinarily rare. Even in the paper you quoted their rate of non-union was 2.8%, and almost all patients were drug/alcohol abusers, had poor dentition, or were not treated adequately with surgery. Perkins is going to heal just fine.

MMF stands for maxillomandibular fixation, which is our fancy term for having your jaw wired shut.

The time frame for when patients get released for contact is variable and depends on a bunch of things such as practice pattern/experience of the surgeon, where the fracture was and how many fractures there were (it's very rare for the jaw to break in only 1 spot, there are almost always 2 fractures, like breaking a pretzel), how well the fracture was brought together by surgery, and how comfortable the patient is feeling. 8 weeks is pretty average but some of my colleagues are more aggressive on when they release patients for contact, while some are more conservative. That they expect him to be cleared for solid foods within 4-6 weeks is promising. That being said, this is only conjecture on the internet and I would say to trust his surgeon and team physicians.

ZagNation
12-11-2014, 01:10 AM
Love the Team Perkins confidence, but don't see the harm in asking for one anyway.

"Genug shoyn, es ken nisht shatn."

+1
It can't hurt to take it if possible.

abarefootboy
12-17-2014, 12:26 PM
Josh flows through my mind each day ... of how it is for him ... i think of him when i yawn ... i think of him when i laugh out loud ... and yes .. when i eat a cheesburger ...
I think of him as though he had undertaken some mysterious vow of silence.
An endurance allowing him to sink deeper within.
I am certain this is another kind of training.
I all ways, like i know we all do .. send him , his dad and his family good wishes .. and all best blessings.

I came upon this beautiful work by Leonard Cohen just now .. If It Be Your Will

If it be your will
That I speak no more
And my voice be still

Leonard Cohen London 2009 live

http://youtu.be/hNfNdflTs5E?list=FLG0VL-p8e-FR5BzX9R-QmMQ

Lyrics:

If it be your will
That I speak no more
And my voice be still
As it was before
I will speak no more
I shall abide until
I am spoken for
If it be your will
If it be your will
That a voice be true
From this broken hill
I will sing to you
From this broken hill
All your praises they shall ring
If it be your will
To let me sing
From this broken hill
All your praises they shall ring
If it be your will
To let me sing

If it be your will
If there is a choice
Let the rivers fill
Let the hills rejoice
Let your mercy spill
On all these burning hearts in hell
If it be your will
To make us well

And draw us near
And bind us tight
All your children here
In their rags of light
In our rags of light
All dressed to kill
And end this night
If it be your will

If it be your will

TravelinZag
12-17-2014, 12:48 PM
Glad it is not up to Josh when he will return. He's so competitive he'd be in practice and suited up for games now, and obviously, that is not in his long-term interest. Feel for him watching from the sidelines, but there is much to be learned from there as well (ask Kelly). If he glances at this board, he knows how large his invisible family is, how much we are pulling for him, and how eager we are for his full recovery and return, whenever the time is right.

zag buddy
12-17-2014, 12:51 PM
My question is what conditioning can he do while mending?

ZaGranny
01-01-2015, 10:16 AM
http://m.spokesman.com/stories/2015/jan/01/gu-bulldogs/


Perkins update
Gonzaga freshman Josh Perkins, who suffered a broken jaw Nov. 26 against Georgia and underwent surgery Dec. 9, is hoping to have his wires removed Tuesday. That depends on a check-up, at which doctors will examine his jaw alignment and whether his mouth is opening straight up and down.

Perkins has been consuming roughly six chocolate and peanut butter shakes per day. Hes lost 15 pounds since the injury. The 6-foot-3 point guard is listed at 186 pounds on the roster.


The link also includes outlook for portland, league standings.

ZaGranny

Ekrub
01-01-2015, 10:31 AM
How much weight did his dad lose?

zag buddy
01-01-2015, 11:05 AM
Good one Ekrub 1+

DixieZag
01-01-2015, 11:29 AM
Obviously I know nothing about any of this, but it is weird to me that there is no way (or it is hard) to get him enough calories, proteins, fats, etc. to keep the weight loss to a minimum (15 lbs sounds like a lot). If someone could help us understand, I doubt I am the only one who would appreciate it.

I would also think that things like a stairmaster (not jarring) or bike would be a good way to keep cardio up, and light weights, would be safe. But, I'd like to hear that stuff, too.

RenoZag
01-01-2015, 11:30 AM
Thanks for the link, 'granny

ZaGranny
01-01-2015, 11:37 AM
Obviously I know nothing about any of this, but it is weird to me that there is no way (or it is hard) to get him enough calories, proteins, fats, etc. to keep the weight loss to a minimum (15 lbs sounds like a lot). If someone could help us understand, I doubt I am the only one who would appreciate it.

I would also think that things like a stairmaster (not jarring) or bike would be a good way to keep cardio up, and light weights, would be safe. But, I'd like to hear that stuff, too.

I was sick a few years ago for about the same amount of time--5 weeks--consuming nothing but dark chocolate ensure and chicken broth and I lost 25 pounds--and my appetite. So it doesn't sound like too much to me. Of course, I was not working with a nutritionist, etc.

ZaGranny

quadcityzag
01-02-2015, 08:35 AM
This may have been posted sometime ago. Is there a timetable for Joshs return. I haven't heard anything in a few weeks so I was just curious. I think we will need his ball handling skills come March.

sittingon50
01-02-2015, 09:05 AM
Check the last page of this:

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?51484-Any-news-on-Perkins

Bogozags
01-02-2015, 11:00 AM
Check the last page of this:

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?51484-Any-news-on-Perkins



:D Funny 50...chasing my own tail...

kitzbuel
01-02-2015, 12:08 PM
:D Funny 50...chasing my own tail...

In his defense, two threads were merged. But it does make for a bit of an intertubes maze.

sittingon50
01-02-2015, 02:50 PM
Sorry to quadcity, bogo or whomever; threads weren't merged (or moved) when I posted.

quadcityzag
01-05-2015, 02:40 PM
Any news or timetable? I guess no news is good news.

KStyles
01-05-2015, 03:08 PM
Any news or timetable? I guess no news is good news.

http://i.imgur.com/aTEeH4y.png (https://twitter.com/JonRothstein/status/552146294870118400)

Bogozags
01-05-2015, 04:48 PM
Sorry to quadcity, bogo or whomever; threads weren't merged (or moved) when I posted.

No worries here...just thought it was a "trick"...Kitzbuel straightened me out...:)

WallaWallaZag
01-05-2015, 10:43 PM
perkins is coming up on 6 weeks now so should theoretically be getting close...not sure how much additional time he might need to get back up to speed though...one thing for normal physical activity and another for competitive ncaa basketball.

webspinnre
01-06-2015, 01:00 AM
Especially given the amount of weight he's lost. Get well soon, Josh.

BULLDOG#1
01-06-2015, 07:42 AM
Is Perkins eligible for a medical redshirt?

MileHigh
01-06-2015, 08:13 AM
If all goes good today at the Dr. the wires will be off today, which means he (and his dad) can start eating food again. Next steps will be getting cleared for contact by the doctor, then gaining weight ,conditioning, and timing back.

No timetable at this point, a lot depends on when he can start practicing/playing full go again and that is really up to the Dr

Main thing at this point is to get that jaw healed and get the injury behind him.

cjm720
01-06-2015, 08:14 AM
Is Perkins eligible for a medical redshirt?

From what I've read here, maybe. Must play less than 20% of games (check) and not cleared to play before the season ends (question mark).

gonzagafan62
01-06-2015, 08:22 AM
Is Perkins eligible for a medical redshirt?

Honestly, I hope not. Go all in on this season.

Finish the Fight to the Top

Baseline
01-06-2015, 08:39 AM
I hope Perkins plays this year, he will want to be part of the winning of the National Title.

madness
01-06-2015, 09:16 AM
If all goes good today at the Dr. the wires will be off today, which means he (and his dad) can start eating food again. Next steps will be getting cleared for contact by the doctor, then gaining weight ,conditioning, and timing back.

No timetable at this point, a lot depends on when he can start practicing/playing full go again and that is really up to the Dr

Main thing at this point is to get that jaw healed and get the injury behind him.

Thank you so much for your updates MileHigh, the whole Zag nation really appreciates posts like this.

Get Healthy Josh!

Hoopaholic
01-06-2015, 09:19 AM
Stoked that he healed well and cant wait to see him back practicing and playing for the zags.....

kitzbuel
01-06-2015, 09:25 AM
If all goes good today at the Dr. the wires will be off today, which means he (and his dad) can start eating food again. Next steps will be getting cleared for contact by the doctor, then gaining weight ,conditioning, and timing back.

No timetable at this point, a lot depends on when he can start practicing/playing full go again and that is really up to the Dr

Main thing at this point is to get that jaw healed and get the injury behind him.

Good point. Just because the wires are off doesn't mean his jaw is healed. Do not want to have him risking injury scrapping for loose balls or taking charges. Get well and get strong.

HenneZag
01-06-2015, 10:49 AM
I broke my Jaw during Ice Hockey in High-School, had my jaw wired for about 7 weeks. I lost 20 Lbs so that was a battle in itself to get back into playing shape, and my cardio wasn't where it needed to be.

The next thing is how tender his Jaw will feel. Even though my wires were off it took some time to chew food, it was awkward for a bit and then still sore to the touch, I found myself shying away from contact when I was able to play for quite some time.

Perkins is a tough kid, I would love to have him back this year cause he can help us in March no question. With that said, he needs to let his jaw heal completely so that he has no set backs. I am no Dr, and i'm sure the medical staff and coaches understand this more than myself.

I would say it would take another 2 most likely 3 weeks until he is getting his mojo back. JMO

hooter73
01-06-2015, 11:30 AM
he very much does need to take his time and not rush back.... BUT he was playing 20 minutes a game and when he went down is about when we stopped being such an offensive juggernaut - the effect of his pressing, passing and giving Pangos a new lease on life, not to mention his defense. And IMO he was only just finding his stride. IF he had have been playing this whole time, I honestly would be beginning to worry about our guard depth in the next year or two.

ZaGranny
01-06-2015, 05:22 PM
Josh Perkins' twitter:

Licked my lips for the first time in 6 weeks today! All smiles lol

Zagranny

ETA another tweet:

Ya bois first food in forever lol

There jus a pic in the second tweet.

ZagNative
01-06-2015, 05:37 PM
Happy for ya boi, from twitter:


Josh Perkins ‏@JoshPerk13

Ya bois first food in forever lol


https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B6tr_O9CIAE20gj.jpg

Kiddwell
01-06-2015, 05:46 PM
God bless him.



:]

ZaGranny
01-07-2015, 03:02 PM
Jim Meehan ‏@SRJimm 7m7 minutes ago
GU's Perkins (jaw) had wires removed, can eat soft foods. He's able to work out, condition some, but no time table for returning to practice
3:55 PM - 7 Jan 2015 Details
0 replies 0 retweets 0 favorites

DixieZag
01-13-2015, 09:01 AM
Been near a week since the wires were removed.

Just wondering if anyone knows if the timetable looks clearer now and if he's doing well.

All the best to him and looking forward to seeing him back.

cjm720
01-13-2015, 09:17 AM
On the sideline of the last game, it sure looks like he lost a lot of weight.

Zag_Dad
01-13-2015, 09:31 AM
On the sideline of the last game, it sure looks like he lost a lot of weight.

I noticed the same thing. We were sitting behind the team bench during Santa Clara game and had a good view of team, including Perkins. I noticed how thin he looked. From appearances, it looks like he will be weak and likely to tire easily based on how thin he looks.

Hoping he can build strength and be ready for NCAA tournament.

GO ZAGS

DixieZag
01-15-2015, 09:06 AM
Again, just wondering if anyone has a vague timetable.

I'm not hoping he pushes it. Such a good kid who is so committed. I want it for him.

hondo
01-15-2015, 10:10 AM
I'm willing to donate 20 lbs or more if that is not a NCAA violation.

jchocolate99
01-15-2015, 11:12 AM
All the information that some board members get on this program and report you're telling me no one has any type of inside knowledge on what type of time frame Perkins or the coaching staff has for his return???

dnj116
01-15-2015, 11:29 AM
All the information that some board members get on this program and report you're telling me no one has any type of inside knowledge on what type of time frame Perkins or the coaching staff has for his return???

Thus far, people with "inside knowledge" have graciously provided us with a lot of information relative to Perkins' progress and status. We are fortunate to receive any insider knowledge, including what has already been shared.

Regardless, we will know in due time. It is very possible that Perkins, himself, does not yet know of a time frame for his return and is taking it day-by-day or week-by-week.

Patience, jchocolate99.

Zagricultural
01-15-2015, 11:47 AM
His time away has made me much more excited for him here! We missed him on the floor a lot more than I thought we would. Kind of opened my eyes. W/ Perkins, Melson, Alberts, and Wade our guard rotation already looks great beyond next year!

U Zig, I Zag
01-15-2015, 12:35 PM
You beat the Zags by meeting them at half court and harassing the heck out of them. Perkins' handles made him look like he had been here for 3 years and not 3 months when he was playing. I think he is key to a solid run through the WCC and the Tourney.

webspinnre
01-15-2015, 01:47 PM
Thus far, people with "inside knowledge" have graciously provided us with a lot of information relative to Perkins' progress and status. We are fortunate to receive any insider knowledge, including what has already been shared.

Regardless, we will know in due time. It is very possible that Perkins, himself, does not yet know of a time frame for his return and is taking it day-by-day or week-by-week.

Patience, jchocolate99.

No kidding. The amount of information we've received on Perkins' status since his injury is astounding.

zagamatic
01-15-2015, 07:15 PM
During the pregame radio show, they were saying things like he's still not able to really eat and is leaning towards trying to get a medical redshirt. But it didn't sound like a done deal on the redshirt.

quadcityzag
01-30-2015, 08:23 PM
Any encouraging news or updates?

JAGzag
01-30-2015, 10:52 PM
Any encouraging news or updates?

With how much weight he's lost he has to be weeks behind game shape ... even if he's cleared today. Coupled without a single word of encouragement from those in the know, my money's on shooting for a medical redshirt??

RenoZag
02-13-2015, 12:22 PM
In his "Day After" blog post, S-R Sportswriter Jim Meehan provides this in re: Josh:




Perkins has been seeing a doctor on a weekly basis but said it remains uncertain if/when he can return to practice. With just five regular-season games remaining and Perkins essentially on the sidelines for the last 2 months, it seems likely Perkins won’t return this season.

The freshman guard, who still has some of the wire/band framework in place, said he’s regaining his strength and his conditioning. If he doesn’t return, Perkins would be eligible to apply for a medical redshirt because he’s only appeared in five games.

ZagaZags
02-13-2015, 12:58 PM
In his "Day After" blog post, S-R Sportswriter Jim Meehan provides this in re: Josh:

I'm not sure why Josh Perkins wouldn't take the medical redshirt.




Josh expects to play this year, but even if for some reason he didn't, he wont be seeking a med redshirt. He loves Gonzaga, but once he graduates (or sooner) he will move on to the next stage of his life.

This reminds me of when we had relatives come visit us in SoCal, we all went to Sea World. The park had a California special. If you buy a single day admission you would get a season pass for the rest of the year. The relatives chose a single day pass and not get the season pass ( same price ) I asked them why wouldn't they take the season pass? They told me they probably wouldn't use it. Sure enough they came back to visit in 3 months and we all went to Sea World, we got in free and they had to pay.

jazzdelmar
02-13-2015, 01:01 PM
I'm not sure why Josh Perkins wouldn't take the medical redshirt.

.

This reminds me of when we had relatives come visit us in SoCal, we all went to Sea World. The park had a California special. If you buy a single day admission you would get a season pass for the rest of the year. The relatives chose a single day pass and not get the season pass ( same price ) I asked them why wouldn't they take the season pass? They told me they probably wouldn't use it. Sure enough they came back to visit in 3 months and we all went to Sea World, we got in free and they had to pay.


Myopia